

STATE OF WISCONSIN

Legislative Council Study Committee on Emergency Detention and Civil Commitment of Minors

Chair Jesse James, Senator Altoona, WI 54720

Sheila Carlson, Behavioral Health Officer Green Bay Police Department Green Bay, WI 54301

Cody Horlacher, Judge Waukesha County Circuit Court Waukesha, WI 53188

Maryam James, Human Services Supervisor Crisis Intervention Services Waukesha County Department of Health and Human Services Waukesha, WI 53188

Sharon McIlquham, County Corporation Counsel Eau Claire County Office of Corporation Counsel Eau Claire, WI 54703

Tony Thrasher, President Wisconsin Psychiatric Association Vice Chair Patrick Snyder, Representative Schofield, WI 54476

Jill Chaffee, Vice President of Community Based Services Lutheran Social Services of WI and Upper MI, Inc. Chippewa Falls, WI 54729

Kristen Iniguez, Director/Medical Director Marshfield Child Advocacy Center Marshfield, WI 54449

LaTonya Johnson, Senator Milwaukee, WI 53707

Shelia Stubbs, Representative Madison, WI 53713

Katie York, Deputy State Public Defender Wisconsin State Public Defender Madison, WI 53703

August 2024

<u>STUDY ASSIGNMENT</u>: The study committee is directed to study the appropriateness of current emergency detention and civil commitment laws as applied to minors. The committee shall review whether special emergency detention procedures should be established for minors, including whether persons other than law enforcement either be permitted or required to take a minor into custody for the purpose of emergency detention. The committee shall also review current civil commitment placement options for minors, with an emphasis on examining the appropriateness of placements outside Wisconsin and feasibility of creating psychiatric residential treatment facilities for minors in Wisconsin. After these reviews, the committee shall recommend legislation that creates child-appropriate emergency detention and civil commitment placement options for minors in Wisconsin.

11 MEMBERS: 2 Representatives; 2 Senators; and 7 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Margit Kelley and David Moore, Principal Attorneys, Kelly McGraw, Staff Attorney, and Kelly Mautz, Administrative Staff.