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CURRENT LAW 

  Current state law provides that no person may sell cigarettes or tobacco products at retail 
without first obtaining a retail license from the municipality in which the sale is to be made. This 
provision essentially prohibits direct market sales of cigarettes and tobacco products. In addition, 
under provisions referred to as the Jenkins Act, federal law requires a person who sells and ships 
cigarettes into another state to anyone other than a licensed distributor to file reports to the state 
on such sales. Federal law provides that a person who violates these provisions is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and is to be fined not more than $1,000, or imprisoned for not more than six 
months, or both. States, however, lack the authority to enforce the Jenkins Act.   

GOVERNOR 

 Create statutory provisions and change existing statutes to permit and regulate the sale of 
cigarettes and other tobacco products through direct marketing activities. 

 The bill would create state permits and associated reporting requirements and 
enforcement provisions for the direct marketing of cigarettes and tobacco products to Wisconsin 
consumers. 

 The main components of the direct marketing provisions recommended by the Governor 
are outlined below.  The Appendix provides a detailed description of the Governor's proposal. 

 • The bill would provide that a person holding a permit from the Department of 
Revenue (DOR) as a direct marketer of cigarettes or tobacco products and who sells such 
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products solely as a direct marketer could sell the products in Wisconsin without obtaining a 
municipal retailer's license.   

 • In order to obtain a direct marketing permit, a person would have to have to file an 
application with DOR and submit the following fee with the application: (a) $500 if the person 
sells fewer than 600,000 cigarettes annually; or (b) $1,000 if the person sells 600,000 or more 
cigarettes annually. The permit fee for a tobacco products direct marketing permit would be 
$500.  The bill also includes provisions regarding the qualifications of permitees. 

 • The bill would require that the state cigarette and tobacco products excise taxes and 
sales taxes be paid on sales of cigarettes and tobacco products through direct marketing. 

 • All sales of cigarettes and tobacco products to Wisconsin residents through direct 
marketing would have to be credit card transactions and direct marketers would have to provide 
DOR any information the Department considers necessary to administer these provisions. 

 • No person could sell cigarettes to consumers in this state by direct marketing unless 
the person verifies that the cigarette brands are approved by DOR and listed in the directory of 
certified tobacco product manufacturers and brands as provided under the cigarette Master 
Settlement Agreement (MSA). 

 • No cigarettes or tobacco products could be shipped to a person who is under 18 
years of age or to a post-office box.  Every package used to ship cigarettes or tobacco products 
from a direct marketer and delivered to a person in this state would have to be clearly labeled to 
indicate that the package contains cigarettes or tobacco products and could not be delivered to a 
person under 18 years of age. 

 • Direct marketers would be required to verify the consumer's identity and that the 
consumer is at least 18 years old by either:  (a) using a database, approved by DOR, that includes 
information based on public records; or (b) obtaining a notarized copy of an identification card, 
on which the name matches the name of the consumer and the birth date verifies that the 
purchaser is at least 18 years of age; or (c) a different mechanism, if approved by DOR.   

 • No sale of cigarettes to a consumer in this state by direct marketing could exceed 10 
cartons for each invoice or 20 cartons in a 30-day period for each purchaser or address.  

 • Under current law, with exceptions, it is unlawful for any person to possess in excess 
of 400 cigarettes (two cartons) unless the required tax stamps are properly affixed. The bill 
would delete the allowance of up to 400 unstamped cigarettes so that possession of any number 
of unstamped cigarettes would be illegal.   

 • The bill would provide that any person who manufactures or sells cigarettes in this  
state without holding the proper permit under the cigarette tax statutes is guilty of a Class I 
felony. The penalty for a Class I felony is a fine, not to exceed $10,000, or imprisonment, not to 
exceed three years and six months, or both. Under current law, any person who manufactures or 
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sells cigarettes in this state without holding the proper permit would be subject to the general 
penalty for violations of the cigarette and tobacco products tax statutes for which no other 
penalty is provided, which includes a fine of $100 to $1,000, imprisonment for 10 to 90 days, or 
both.  

 • The bill would create penalties for other violations of the new provisions, and a 
number of other penalties for violations of the statutes relating to the sale and taxation of 
cigarettes and tobacco products would be increased. 

 These provisions would take effect on July 1, 2006. The administration estimates that 
these provisions would result in additional cigarette and tobacco products tax revenues of 
$1,105,000 in 2006-07 and additional revenue from permit fees in 2006-07 of $161,500. 

DISCUSSION POINTS 

1. As described above, based on a requirement that a seller hold a retail permit to sell 
cigarettes and tobacco products to Wisconsin consumers, current state law essentially prohibits 
direct market sales of cigarettes and tobacco products in the state. The federal Jenkins Act requires a 
person who sells and ships cigarettes into another state to anyone other than a licensed distributor to 
file reports to the state on such sales. The Jenkins Act is intended to enable states to collect cigarette 
excise taxes from consumers associated with remote sales, such as sales through the Internet. 
According to a report by the General Accounting Office (GAO) in May, 2003, however, the federal 
government has had limited involvement with enforcing the Jenkins Act with respect to Internet 
cigarette sales. The GAO report refers to an estimate by a national research firm that states will lose 
approximately $1.4 billion in tax revenue to Internet tobacco sales in 2005. In the absence of federal 
enforcement of the Jenkins Act, it has not been possible for Wisconsin and other states to obtain 
comprehensive information about Internet sales of cigarettes and tobacco products to state residents 
on which taxes have not been paid. For any direct marketer without a physical presence in the state 
(nexus), Wisconsin lacks authority to require collection of state taxes and has limited ability to 
enforce current restrictions on sales into Wisconsin without appropriate municipal retailers' permits. 

2. AB 100 would create permits for direct marketing of cigarettes and tobacco products 
and associated administrative procedures and penalties for noncompliance. Holders of direct 
marketing permits would be authorized to sell cigarettes and tobacco products in Wisconsin through 
direct marketing without obtaining municipal retailer licenses. In addition, holders of direct 
marketing permits would be required to either pay the taxes on cigarettes and tobacco products or to 
purchase for resale products on which taxes had already been paid. Sales of such products by direct 
market permit holders would also have to include relevant sales or use taxes.  

3. The administration has requested a number of changes to the direct marketing 
provisions included in AB 100.  The requested changes are described below. 
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 Changes to AB 100 Requested by the Administration 

4. The first request is for a technical change to provisions related to sales and use tax 
with respect to the proposed direct marketing permits. As described in the Appendix, the 
administration's intention was to require a person with a permit to sell cigarettes or tobacco products 
as a direct marketer to either hold a seller's permit or to be registered to collect, report, and remit use 
tax under the sales and use tax statutes. However, as written, AB 100 would mistakenly modify a 
section of the statutes related to licenses or permits issued by municipalities, rather than permits that 
would be issued by DOR. The administration recommends deleting this language and, instead, 
inserting language that would require DOR to obtain proper proof that the direct marketer had a 
seller's permit or was or will be registered to collect, report, and remit use tax under the sales and 
use tax statutes before issuing a direct marketing permit. 

5. The second requested modification would be to clarify that DOR would be required 
to provide a copy of each application form for cigarette and tobacco retail licenses in the state to 
each city, village, and town, rather than to provide a copy of each application for such licenses 
(which are received by municipalities, rather than by DOR). 

6. The third request is for a technical change that would correct a reference under the 
proposed tobacco products direct marketing provisions to current law requirements applicable to all 
other cigarette and tobacco products permits. 

7. The administration has also requested that the current law definition of 
"manufacturer" under the tobacco products statutes be amended to be consistent with the proposed 
definition of the term in the cigarette statutes. To comply with this request, a tobacco products 
"manufacturer" would be defined to mean any person who directly manufactures tobacco products 
for the purpose of sale, including the authorized agent of a person who directly manufactures 
tobacco products for the purpose of sale. Under current law, a tobacco products manufacturer is a 
person who manufactures and sells tobacco. 

8. Finally, the administration also suggests revisions to two items pertaining to tobacco 
products permits. The first request is to change the title of the statutory section on tobacco products 
permits to read "Permits Required" rather than listing the permits in the title. As written, the bill 
would add "direct marketer" to the permits listed under current law. The requested modification 
would make the title consistent with the title of the corresponding section in the cigarette tax statutes 
and would accommodate the administration's second request related to tobacco products permits. 
Under the current permit provisions, a person engaged in business as a distributor or subjobber of 
tobacco products at any place of business is required to have a permit from DOR to engage in that 
business at the place specified in the permit. AB 100 would add "direct marketer" to this provision. 
The administration is requesting that this section be further modified to also specify that no person 
may manufacture tobacco products in this state or sell tobacco products in this state and no person 
may operate a warehouse in this state for the storage of tobacco products for another person without 
first obtaining the proper permit to perform such operations from DOR.  
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 Current law does not require out-of-state manufacturers to obtain permits to sell tobacco 
products in this state. However, in order to comply with requirements under the Master Settlement 
Agreement that DOR track sales of certain tobacco products in the state, current law requires 
manufacturers to keep records and make available for inspection records of all sales into the state. 
The requested modification to AB 100 that would require a permit for out-of-state tobacco products 
manufacturers would be consistent with the bill's treatment of the corresponding cigarette tax 
statutes and would enhance the state's ability to comply with the MSA requirements.  

 The request to include the warehouse provisions would be consistent with the current law 
cigarette tax statutes. If the requested change is approved, then a reference to the cigarette statutes 
related to warehouses for cigarettes would also have to be included under the tobacco products 
statutes. 

 Summary Comparison of AB 100 and AB 249 

9. With a number of exceptions, the direct marketing provisions under AB 100 are 
generally similar to the provisions of 2005 Assembly Bill 249, which was introduced on March 18, 
2005, and referred to the Assembly Committee on State Affairs. The differences between the two 
sets of provisions are briefly summarized in the following section. 

10. AB 249 would create an annual PR appropriation of $126,000 annually for the 
administration of cigarette direct marketing permits and penalties. The appropriation would be 
funded with monies received from direct marketers' permits issued by the Department, penalties 
assessed under the cigarette and tobacco products direct marketing provisions, and proceeds from 
the sale of cigarettes seized from direct marketers. AB 100 would provide no funding to DOR for 
administration and enforcement of the direct marketing provisions. 

11. A second difference between the direct marketing provisions under AB 100 and AB 
249 relates to fines and penalties. AB 249 would provide larger penalties for violations of the 
proposed direct marketing requirements than would AB 100. Under AB 100, a person who sold 
cigarettes in excess of the number permitted by the direct marketing permit would pay a penalty 
equal to the greater of $1,000 or $50 for every 200 cigarettes. Under AB 249, the penalty would be 
the greater of $5,000 or $50 for every 200 cigarettes. In addition, AB 249 would impose the 
following penalties for unlawful possession of cigarettes: (a) in the case of 6,000 or fewer cigarettes 
-- a fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than one year in the county jail or 
both [as compared to the penalty under both current law and AB 100 of not more than $200 or 
imprisonment for not more than six months or both]; and (b)  in the case of 6,001 to 36,000 
cigarettes -- classify the violation as a Class H felony, which carries penalties of a fine not to exceed 
$10,000, imprisonment for up to six years, or both [as compared to the penalty under both current 
law and AB 100 of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than six months or both]. 
DOR is in favor of the higher penalties under AB 249. 

12. In some cases, the Governor's proposal would also provide stricter limits related to 
direct marketing. For example, AB 100 would limit direct market purchases of cigarettes and 
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tobacco products to credit card transactions, while AB 249 would allow credit cards and personal 
checks. Also, AB 100 would create a new provision specifying that proof of four facts by a direct 
marketer who sells cigarettes or tobacco products to a person under the age of 18 pertaining to the 
purported age of the purchaser would be a defense to any prosecution for a violation of the 
restrictions on such sales. AB 249 would include a similar provision, but proof of any (rather than 
all) of the four facts would be considered a defense against prosecution.  

13. In multiple instances, AB 100 would include provisions that have similar intentions 
as those included under AB 249 but would further enhance clarity and as well as consistency with 
other statutory provisions. For example, AB 100 would provide a clearer definition of an 
"identification card" for purposes of verifying the age of a purchaser and would more clearly 
describe requirements related to salespersons of cigarettes and tobacco products, circumstances 
under which a municipal retail license would not be needed to sell cigarettes and tobacco products, 
and who a distributor would be permitted to acquire stamped cigarettes from. AB 100 would also 
provide a uniform application for retail licenses for cigarettes and tobacco products, which is not 
provided under current law or AB 249, and would authorize an alternate method of applying tax 
impressions in lieu of stamps to allow for newer methods that are now available.  

14. AB 100 would also attempt to provide clarity by separately defining a bonded and a 
nonbonded direct marketer, in acknowledgement that some direct marketers would buy unstamped 
cigarettes and affix the tax stamps while others would buy stamped cigarettes. The appropriate 
requirements for the two types of direct marketers would vary. AB 100 would define a "bonded 
direct marketer" as a person who acquires unstamped cigarettes from the manufacturer thereof, 
affixes stamps to the packages or other containers, stores them, and sells them by direct marketing 
to consumers for their own personal use. A bonded direct marketer would also be able to acquire 
stamped cigarettes from manufacturers or distributors for such sales. A "nonbonded direct marketer" 
would be any person who acquires stamped cigarettes from manufacturers or distributors, stores 
them, and sells them by direct marketing to consumers for their own personal use. This type of 
direct marketer would not be permitted to purchase unstamped cigarettes or to import cigarettes into 
the state on which the state's excise tax had not been paid. Bonded direct marketers would be 
subject to similar rules and regulations as distributors. However, nonbonded direct marketers would 
be treated more like jobbers, who can only purchase and sell stamped cigarettes. The distinction 
between the two types of direct marketers would make it easier to correctly refer to the type of 
direct marketer to whom certain requirements would apply. AB 249 would not distinguish between 
the two types of direct marketers.  

15. A final difference between the two sets of direct marketing provisions pertains to the 
fee for a permit as a direct marketer of cigarettes. Under AB 249, the permit fee would be as 
follows: (a) $1,000 if the person sells no more than 30,000 cigarettes annually; (b) $5,000 if the 
person sells more than 30,000 but no more than 600,000 cigarettes annually; or (c) $10,000 if the 
person sells more than 600,000 cigarettes annually. Under AB 100, the permit fee would be: (a) 
$500 if the person sells fewer than 600,000 cigarettes annually; or (b) $1,000 if the person sells 
600,000 or more cigarettes annually. In each case, the fee would be an annual fee. DOR believes 
that the lower fee structure under AB 100 would be preferable. 
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 Assembly Bill 411 

16. Assembly Bill 411, related to direct marketing of cigarettes, was introduced on May 
11, 2005, and referred to the Assembly Committee on State Affairs. The following section provides 
a brief description of the direct marketing provisions under AB 411. 

17. Unlike AB 100 and AB 249, AB 411 pertains to direct market sales of cigarettes 
only and does not address direct market sales of other tobacco products. In addition, and also unlike 
the other two proposals, AB 411 would not require a permit for direct marketing of cigarettes. 
Rather, AB 411 would specify that a person could not sell cigarettes to consumers in this state as a 
direct marketer or solicit sales of cigarettes to consumers in this state by direct marketing unless the 
person submitted to DOR the person's name, trade name, address of the person's principal place of 
business, phone number, email address, and Web site address and met certain additional 
requirements.  

18. While AB 411 would appear to allow direct marketing of cigarettes, the bill would 
not amend a provision under current law specifying that no person may sell cigarettes or tobacco 
products at retail without first obtaining a retail license from the municipality in which the sale is to 
be made. Therefore, as drafted, in order to sell cigarettes to consumers as a direct marketer, the 
seller would still be required to have a municipal license for each municipality into which such sales 
were made. 

19. AB 411 would require a direct marketer to keep similar records as those required of 
cigarette permittees. However, a direct marketer would be under no requirement by the state to 
provide such records to DOR.  As under current law, the federal Jenkins Act would still require a 
direct marketer to report all sales to DOR. However, as noted, federal enforcement of the Jenkins 
Act has been limited.  

20. Similar to AB 100 and AB 249, AB 411 would require a direct marketer to either 
acquire cigarettes to which tax stamps had already been applied or to acquire unstamped cigarettes 
and apply the tax stamps. AB 411 would require a direct marketer of cigarettes to register with 
credit card and debit card companies, but would permit purchases using checks as well as credit and 
debit cards. (AB 249 would also allow the use of personal checks for purchases of cigarettes via 
direct market transactions). 

21. AB 411 would provide that the provisions related to direct marketing would not 
apply to any retailer or wholesaler who sells cigarettes in the state and has a valid seller's permit. 
The intent and effect of this provision is unclear.  

22. Under AB 411, current law penalties for violations of selling cigarettes without the 
appropriate license or permit would apply to direct market sales of cigarettes. No penalties would be 
imposed specific to the direct marketing provisions. 

23. Finally, AB 411 would specify that no delivery of cigarettes could be made unless 
the seller provided proof to the delivery agent that the seller had complied with the direct marketing 
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provisions under the bill. While the method of providing such proof is unclear, it is possible that 
such a requirement could strengthen the provisions requiring direct marketers to provide certain 
information to DOR (described under #17, above). In addition, AB 411 would provide additional 
restrictions against a person providing cigarettes to any person under age 18 years of age and would 
specify associated penalties. 

Estimated Fiscal Effect 

24. Under AB 100, the administration estimated that cigarette and tobacco products tax 
revenues would increase by $1,105,000 in 2006-07 as a result of the proposed direct marketing 
provisions. It is not expected that the requested modifications, described above, would affect these 
projections.  

25. The basis for the administration's estimate is an effort made by California in 2000 to 
collect cigarette excise taxes on cigarettes sold over the Internet to California residents. At that time, 
the California Board of Equalization (BOE) contacted all of the Internet sites it could find selling 
cigarettes on the web and demanded that the web-based vendors provide the names and addresses of 
all California customers (as is required under the federal Jenkins Act). As a result of these efforts, 
the State of California collected $400,000 in excise taxes it would not have otherwise received. The 
estimate of revenue from the direct marketing provisions under AB 100 is based on the $400,000 
figure, adjusted to reflect differences between California and Wisconsin in terms of population and 
tax rates, and also adjusted to reflect current and projected total numbers of cigarettes sold in 
Wisconsin.  

26.  The California information is somewhat dated. According to DOR, to do a 
completely new estimate that would not rely solely on the California data would require an analysis 
of recent trends underlying the sale of cigarettes via the Internet and a search for additional data 
sources. However, for reasons discussed above related to lack of enforcement of current federal and 
state laws with respect to direct marketing, it is difficult to obtain information on the value of 
untaxed sales into the state. According to a briefing by Sonia Arrison of the Pacific Research 
Institute to the Tax Foundation in April, 2001, many on-line cigarette shops are refusing to provide 
information to states on privacy grounds. Some websites are using this refusal as a marketing tool. 
Growing interest among consumers in privacy rights provides an additional deterrent to any effort to 
make lists of purchasers available to government agencies.   

27. Even if more information was available to help estimate the loss in state tax revenue 
from Internet sales of cigarettes and tobacco, it is unclear whether vendors currently engaged in 
directly marketing into Wisconsin would actually apply for a direct marketer's permit and pay the 
taxes. While AB 100 would provide penalties for violating the direct marketing requirements, the 
state would still have limited ability to enforce the provisions with respect to out-of-state sellers that 
do not have nexus with the state. Vendors voluntarily agreeing to comply with the provisions would 
have to increase their prices to include Wisconsin taxes (approximately $1 per pack for the cigarette 
excise tax and sales tax). Therefore, it is expected that the number of vendors currently selling as 
direct marketers without paying Wisconsin taxes that would voluntarily agree to obtain a direct 
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marketing permit and pay such taxes would be minimal. 

28. On the other hand, it is possible that some manufacturers currently selling at 
wholesale to in-state distributors would prefer to obtain direct marketing permits and sell directly to 
customers over the Internet. In February, 2003, for example, a document by Philip Morris was 
released as a "Proposed Cigarette Delivery Sales Bill" for states to consider that would allow direct 
marketing of cigarettes and provide for the restriction of sales to minors, collection of state taxes, 
and the imposition of fines for violations. If a manufacturer that was currently selling through in-
state retailers were to obtain a direct marketer's permit, it is likely that the majority of subsequent 
Internet sales by the manufacturer would replace existing sales by the vendor on which taxes are 
currently being paid. Therefore, it does not appear likely that the direct marketing provisions could 
be counted on to result in increased revenues to the state either from vendors that are currently 
selling without paying taxes or manufacturers that are currently selling through in-state retailers and 
paying taxes. In addition, while a small amount of program revenue might be received from permit 
fees, in is anticipated that the amount would be minimal. 

29. An additional element of uncertainty about the effect of the proposal was introduced 
as a result of a recent decision by major credit card companies to no longer accept payment for 
tobacco products purchased on-line. The decision, which was announced on March 17, 2005 (after 
the Governor's budget proposal had been introduced), is the result of an agreement between the 
credit card companies and state and federal law enforcement officials aimed at reducing sales of 
cigarettes to minors and sales of untaxed cigarettes, generally. The agreement would not prevent 
smokers from buying cigarettes over the Internet, but they would not generally be allowed to do so 
using a major credit card. The New York Times reported on April 4, 2005, that scores of Internet 
cigarette merchants had effectively lost the means to do business profitably as a result of the 
agreement, and were either "limping along or have shut down their operations altogether." While 
some on-line vendors may attempt to create their own credit cards, it is generally expected that the 
credit card company embargo will significantly reduce cigarette sales over the Internet. 

30. AB 249 was introduced on March 18, 2005, and DOR provided a fiscal estimate of 
the bill on April 26, 2005. In describing the estimated fiscal effect, DOR stated that a fiscal estimate 
of the bill was not feasible. One of the reasons provided was the decision by major credit card 
companies to deny service to online vendors of cigarettes and tobacco. DOR has not yet provided a 
fiscal estimate of AB 411. However, it is expected that, as with AB 249, a fiscal estimate will not be 
feasible. 

31. The administration recommends approval of the direct marketing permit provisions 
in spite of the credit card issue and in spite of the lack of certainty that out-of-state direct marketers 
that are currently not paying Wisconsin taxes on cigarette and tobacco products sales would agree to 
obtain permits and to pay such taxes.  The administration's primary argument for doing so would be 
to send a clear message to direct marketers that they should be remitting the taxes. In addition, such 
legislation could be cited as evidence to the federal government of the continuing problem for the 
state of the lack of enforcement of the Jenkins Act. Currently, as reflected in the GAO report on 
Internet cigarette sales, states' efforts to promote compliance with the Jenkins Act have had limited 
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results.  State efforts to curb untaxed sales of cigarettes and tobacco products over the Internet also 
appear to have had little effect. While it is not clear that offering direct marketing permits would be 
a more successful route to curbing the sale of untaxed cigarettes and tobacco products, it is possible 
that more states will consider such permits as an alternate method of attempting to address the 
problem of lost tax revenues as a result of direct market sales of cigarettes and tobacco. It should be 
noted, however, that to the extent that persons applying for and obtaining direct market permits 
merely shifted in-state retail sales to direct market sales over the Internet, resultant sales through in-
state retail stores could be expected to decrease. 

ALTERNATIVES 

1. Approve the Governor's proposal, as modified by one or more of the following 
changes requested by the administration.  

 a. Approve the following technical corrections to AB 100: (i) eliminate the bill’s 
modification to certain statutes related to licenses or permits issued by municipalities with respect to 
licensing requirements for direct marketing permits and, instead, insert language requiring DOR to 
obtain the proper proof that a direct marketer has a seller’s permit or is or is to be registered by 
DOR to collect, report, and remit use tax under the sales and use taxes before issuing a direct 
marketing permit; (ii) clarify that DOR will make a copy of each application form for cigarette and 
tobacco retail licenses to municipalities (rather than a copy of each application); and (iii) correct a 
reference under the proposed tobacco direct marketing provisions related to current law 
requirements applicable to all other cigarette and tobacco products permits. 

 b. Modify the current law definition of “manufacturer” under the tobacco statutes to be 
consistent with the proposed definition for the cigarette statutes. 

 c. Change the title of the statutory section on tobacco products permits to read "Permits 
Required" and modify the section to include a provision specifying that no person may manufacture 
tobacco products in this state without first obtaining the proper permit to perform such operations 
from DOR.  

 d. In addition to option 1c, modify the section to include a provision specifying that no 
person may operate a warehouse in this state for the storage of tobacco products for another person 
without first obtaining the proper permit to perform such operations from DOR. Also, update a 
reference under the tobacco products statutes related to warehouses for cigarettes to a related section 
of the cigarette statutes. 

 In addition, eliminate the estimated increase in tax revenues under the bill of $1,105,000 in 
2006-07 and reduce estimated GPR-Earned by $161,500 as a result of estimating minimal program 
revenues from direct marketing permit fees. The total reduction to the general fund would be 
$1,266,500 in 2006-07.  
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Alternative 1 GPR-REV 

2005-07 REVENUE (Change to Bill)   - $1,266,500 

 

2. In addition to the alternatives selected above, substitute the larger penalties for 
violations of the proposed direct marketing requirements that would be provided under AB 249 for 
the violations provided under the bill.  

3. Maintain current law. Eliminate estimated tax revenues of $1,105,000 in 2006-07 
and reduce estimated GPR-Earned by $161,500 associated with direct marketing permit fees. The 
total reduction to the general fund would be $1,266,500 in 2006-07. 

Alternative 3 GPR-REV 

2005-07 REVENUE (Change to Bill)   - $1,266,500 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Prepared by:  Faith Russell 
Attachment 
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APPENDIX 
 

Summary Of Cigarette And Tobacco Products Direct Marketing Provisions In AB 100 
 
 
 

Modifications Related To Retail Licenses And Restrictions On Cigarette And Tobacco 
Products Sales Or Gifts 

 The following section describes proposed changes to provisions related to municipal 
retail licenses to sell cigarettes and tobacco products as well as restrictions on sales and gifts of 
such products. 

 Cigarette and Tobacco Products Municipal Retail Licenses  

 Under current law, as provided in the statutes relating to cigarette and tobacco products 
retailer licenses under Chapter 134, "Miscellaneous Trade Regulations", no person may sell, 
expose for sale, possess with intent to sell, exchange, barter, dispose of, or give away any 
cigarettes or tobacco products to any person not holding a license or permit for the sale of 
cigarettes or tobacco products without first obtaining a license from the clerk of the city, village, 
or town where such products are to be sold or otherwise disposed of. Under this provision, a 
direct marketer is not allowed to sell to consumers in Wisconsin without holding a municipal 
retail license in each municipality into which a sale is made. The bill would provide that a person 
holding a permit from the Department of Revenue as a direct marketer of cigarettes or tobacco 
products and who sells such products solely as a direct marketer could sell the products in 
Wisconsin without obtaining a municipal retailer's license.   

 Current law prohibits a city, village, or town clerk whose duty it is to issue licenses or 
permits to engage in a business involving retail sales subject to the sales and use tax from issuing 
such licenses or permits without proof that the applicant holds a seller's permit or has been 
informed by DOR that a seller's permit will be issued to the applicant. The bill would modify this 
provision to permit a municipality to also issue municipal licenses and permits if the applicant is 
registered to collect, report, and remit use tax or has been informed by DOR that the Department 
will register the applicant to do so. (However, the administration has indicated that the intention 
was to require a person with a permit to sell cigarettes or tobacco products as a direct marketer to 
either hold a seller's permit or to be registered to collect, report, and remit use tax under the sales 
and use tax statutes. The bill would have to be amended to accomplish this intent.) 

 The bill would require DOR to prepare an application form for cigarette and tobacco 
products retailers' licenses. In addition to providing information required under current law with 
respect to whether the cigarettes or tobacco products are to be sold over the counter, or in a 
vending machine, or both, the application form would have to require all of the following 
information: (a) the applicant's history relevant to the applicant's fitness to hold a license; (b) the 
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kind of license for which the applicant is applying; (c) the premises where cigarettes or tobacco 
products will be sold or stored; (d) if the applicant is a corporation, the identity of the corporate 
officers and agent; (e) if the applicant is a limited liability company (LLC), the identity of the 
company members or managers and agent; (f) the applicant's trade name, if any; and (g) any 
other information required by the Department. 

 Each applicant for a cigarette and tobacco products retailer license would be required to 
use the application form prepared by DOR, to swear to the application, and to submit the 
application with the clerk of every city, village, or town where the intended place of sale is 
located. The Department would be required to provide a copy of the application to each city, 
village, and town. Within 10 days of any change in any fact set forth in an application, the 
applicant or license holder would have to file a written description of the change with the clerk 
of the city, village, or town where the application was submitted. 

 The bill would authorize any person to inspect an application for a cigarette or tobacco 
products retailer license.  The clerk of each city, village, or town where such applications are 
submitted would be required to retain all applications submitted for five years. 

 The bill would prohibit a municipality from issuing a cigarette or tobacco products 
retailer's license to any person who: (a) has an arrest record or conviction record (subject to 
nondiscrimination provisions); (b) has been convicted of a felony, or as a repeat or habitual 
offender, unless pardoned (also subject to nondiscrimination provisions); (c) or has not submitted 
proof that the person holds a sales tax seller's permit or that DOR will issue a seller's permit to 
the person. These requirements would apply to all partners of a partnership, all members and 
agents of an LLC, and all agents and officers of a corporation.  Subject to nondiscrimination 
provisions, if a business entity has been convicted of a crime, the entity could not be issued a 
license unless the entity had terminated its relationship with the individuals whose actions 
directly contributed to the conviction. 

 Under current law, any person violating the cigarette and tobacco products retailer license 
provisions is subject to a fine of $25 to $100 for a first offense and a fine of $25 to $200 for a 
second or subsequent offense. If, upon such a second or subsequent violation, the person was 
personally guilty of a failure to exercise due care to prevent the violation, the person is subject to 
a fine of $25 to $300, imprisonment for up to 50 days, or both. Technically, these penalties 
currently apply in the case of a direct marketer selling without a municipal retail license. 
However, the administration indicates that it is not practical to enforce such penalties with 
respect to direct marketers.  

 The bill would modify this provision by increasing the penalty for a first offense to a fine 
of $500 to $1,000 and by increasing the penalty for a second or subsequent offense to a fine of 
$1,000 to $5,000, imprisonment for up to 180 days, or both. The current provision imposing 
additional fines and/or imprisonment for individuals who are guilty of failing to exercise due 
care to avoid a second or subsequent violation would be deleted. Under the bill, a direct marketer 
holding a permit from DOR as a direct marketer (as provided under the bill) would not be subject 
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to the penalties described above but would be subject to specific penalties provided under the 
bill, as described below. 

 Current law also provides that the municipality must terminate the license of any person 
who is convicted of being personally guilty of a failure to exercise due care to prevent the 
violation for a period of five years, during which the person may not act as the servant or agent 
of a licensed cigarette or tobacco products retailer for the performance of acts authorized by the 
license. The proposal would make this provision apply only to second or subsequent convictions. 

 Restrictions on Sales or Gifts of Cigarettes or Tobacco Products 

 The bill would add a definition of a "direct marketer" in Chapter 134 through a reference 
to a proposed definition of the term in Chapter 139 (described below). 

 Under current law, with certain exceptions, none of the following persons may sell, or 
provide for nominal or no consideration, cigarettes or tobacco products to any person under the 
age of 18: (a) a retailer, manufacturer, distributor, jobber, or subjobber; (b) an agent, employee, 
or independent contractor of a retailer, manufacturer, distributor, jobber, or subjobber; or (c) an 
agent or employee of an independent contractor. However, a vending machine operator is not 
liable for the purchase of cigarettes or tobacco products from his or her vending machine by a 
person under the age of 18 if the vending machine operator was unaware of the purchase. 
Current law also prohibits the persons described above from selling, or providing for nominal or 
no consideration, cigarettes or tobacco products to any person except in a place where no person 
younger than 18 years of age is present or permitted to enter unless that person is accompanied 
by his or her parent or guardian or by his or her spouse who has attained the age of 18 years. The 
bill would add the term "direct marketer" to the list of persons to whom these provisions would 
apply. 

 Current law prohibits a retailer from selling cigarettes in a form other than as a package 
or container on which a cigarette tax stamp is affixed. Under the bill, this provision would also 
apply in the case of a direct marketer.  

 The bill would create a new provision specifying that proof of all of the following facts 
by a direct marketer who sells cigarettes or tobacco products to a person under the age of 18 
would be a defense to any prosecution for a violation of the restrictions on such sales: (a) that the 
direct marketer used a mechanism, approved by DOR, for verifying the age of the purchaser; (b) 
that the purchaser falsely represented that he or she had attained the age of 18 and presented a 
copy or facsimile of an identification card; (c) that the name and birth date of the purchaser, as 
indicated by the purchaser, matched the name and birth date on the identification card; and (d)  
that the sale was made in good faith, in reasonable reliance on the mechanism approved by DOR 
and the representation of identification as required above, and in the belief that the purchaser had 
attained the age of 18.  Similar provisions currently exist for persons who sell cigarettes directly 
to consumers. 
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Modifications To The Cigarette Tax Statutes  

 The following section describes proposed changes to the cigarette tax statutes under 
Chapter 139 to permit and regulate direct marketing of cigarettes. 

 Definitions 

 The bill would create the following new definitions: 

 a. "Bonded direct marketer" would mean any person who acquires unstamped 
cigarettes from the manufacturer thereof, affixes stamps to the packages or other containers, 
stores them and sells them by direct marketing to consumers for their own personal use, and who 
may also acquire stamped cigarettes from manufacturers or distributors for such sales; 

 b. "Consumer" would mean any individual who receives cigarettes for his or her 
personal use or consumption or any individual who has title to or possession of cigarettes for any 
purpose other than for sale or resale; 

 c. "Direct marketer" would mean a bonded direct marketer or a nonbonded direct 
marketer;  

 d. "Direct marketing" would mean publishing or making accessible an offer for the 
sale of cigarettes to consumers in this state, or selling cigarettes to consumers in this state, using 
any means by which the consumer is not physically present at the time of sale on a premise that 
sells cigarettes. 

 e.  "Identification card" would have the meaning provided in Chapter 134, which 
defines the term to mean either a Wisconsin driver's license containing a photograph, an 
alternative approved for state residents who do not have a driver's license, or certain cards that 
had been approved under 1987 law related to identification cards for alcohol beverages;  

 f. "Nonbonded direct marketer" would mean any person who acquires stamped 
cigarettes from manufacturers or distributors, stores them, and sells them by direct marketing to 
consumers for their own personal use; and 

 g. "Person" would mean any individual, sole proprietorship, partnership, LLC, 
corporation, or association or any owner of a single-owner entity that is disregarded as a separate 
entity under the income and franchise tax statutes.  

 The bill would also modify certain current law definitions in the cigarette tax statutes. 
Currently, a "distributor" means any person who: (a) acquires unstamped cigarettes from the 
manufacturer, affixes stamps to the packages or other containers, stores them, and sells for 
resale; or (b) who acquires stamped cigarettes from another permittee for such sales. The bill 
would modify the definition so that "a" (which is the acquisition of unstamped cigarettes from a 
manufacturer) would be the key component of the definition, rather than one of two possibilities. 
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Under the bill, a person who bought unstamped cigarettes from a manufacturer could also buy 
stamped cigarettes and still be a distributor. But a person who bought only stamped cigarettes 
would not be a distributor. (Such a person would qualify for a jobber's permit, as under current 
law.) This modification would make the definition of "distributor" more consistent with other 
provisions related to distributors under current law.   

 The bill would also change part "b" of the current definition of distributor to specify that 
the stamped cigarettes that a distributor could purchase would have to be from a manufacturer or 
distributor, rather than a permittee. This modification would prohibit a distributor from 
purchasing stamped cigarettes from jobbers, multiple retailers, or vending machine operators, 
which is possible under current law, and would reflect the intended pattern of wholesale cigarette 
sales.  

 The bill would strike the current law definition in the cigarette tax statutes of "retailer" as 
a person who sells, exposes for sale, or possesses with intent to sell cigarettes to consumers. 
Instead  "retailer" would be defined through a reference to a definition of the term under Chapter 
134 (where a retailer means a person with a municipal retail license to sell cigarettes and tobacco 
products). The current law definition of a "retailer" could include a direct marketer. However, 
under these modifications, "retailer" would only include a direct marketer who also held a 
municipal cigarette or tobacco products retailer license.  

 The current law definition of a manufacturer as any person who manufactures cigarettes 
for the purpose of sale, including the authorized agent of such a person, would be modified to 
refer to a person who directly manufactures cigarettes for the purpose of sale.  

 Payment of Cigarette Tax 

 The cigarette tax is paid through the purchase of tax stamps from DOR, generally by a 
manufacturer or distributor. The tax stamp must be affixed to each pack of cigarettes prior to its 
first sale in the state. Under current law, "first sale" excludes a sale by a manufacturer to a 
distributor or by a distributor to certain permittees who are allowed to possess unstamped 
cigarettes (for example, cigarettes sold to post exchanges of the armed forces of the United States 
and cigarettes sold for shipment outside this state in interstate commerce). The bill would also 
permit a manufacturer to sell unstamped cigarettes to a bonded direct marketer.  

 The bill would permit the Secretary of DOR to authorize the use of impressions applied 
by the use of machines in lieu of tax stamps. Current law allows authorization of meter machines 
in lieu of stamps. 

 The bill would extend the following provisions that apply to manufacturers and 
distributors with a permit from DOR under current law to all manufacturers, authorized 
distributors, and bonded direct marketers: (a) the availability of a discount of 1.6% of the tax 
paid on stamp purchases; (b) the requirement to pay DOR for the cost of printing and shipping 
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stamps purchased; and (c) permission to purchase stamps on credit under conditions prescribed 
by DOR by rule. 

 Unlawful Possession of Cigarettes   

 Under current law, with exceptions, it is unlawful for any person to possess in excess of 
400 cigarettes (two cartons) unless the required stamps are properly affixed. These provisions do 
not apply to manufacturers, distributors, or warehouse operators possessing valid permits issued 
by DOR. The bill would delete the allowance of up to 400 unstamped cigarettes and add bonded 
direct marketers to the list of persons to whom the provision does not apply. 

 Use Tax on Cigarettes  

 Currently, only licensed distributors may import more than 400 cigarettes on which the 
excise tax has not been paid into this state. Such cigarettes must be declared and the tax on them 
paid within 15 days.  However, members of the armed forces are exempt from these 
requirements if the cigarettes have been issued by the government or purchased in military post 
exchanges or service stores. A penalty of $25 per 200 cigarettes is imposed if the tax is not paid 
when due, and interest on the delinquent tax and penalty accrues at the rate of 1.5% per month, 
or fraction thereof, from the date the tax became due until paid. The bill would modify these 
requirements to: (a) delete the current allowance of 400 unstamped cigarettes; (b) provide that a 
bonded direct marketer authorized by DOR to purchase and affix tax stamps is also excluded 
from the restriction on importing unstamped cigarettes; and (c) provide that the exclusion for 
members of the armed forces applies only with respect to cigarettes for their personal use or 
consumption. 

 Permit Requirements for Cigarette Manufacturers and Distributors 

 Under current law, no person may manufacture cigarettes in this state or sell cigarettes in 
this state as a distributor, jobber, vending machine operator, or multiple retailer and no person 
may operate a warehouse in this state for the storage of cigarettes for another person without first 
filing an application for and obtaining the proper permit to perform such operations from DOR. 
This provision applies to all officers, directors, agents, and stockholders holding 5% or more of 
the stock of any corporation applying for a permit. The proposal would apply the permit 
requirement to direct marketers, and would also clarify that an out-of-state manufacturer selling 
in this state would be required to have a permit. [This provision is needed to assist Wisconsin in 
complying with a requirement under the Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) between 46 states 
and certain tobacco companies with respect to reporting of cigarette sales.] In addition, the 
provision regarding corporate officers, directors, agents, and stockholders would be repealed.   

 Under current law, subject to nondiscrimination provisions, a permit to manufacture or 
sell cigarettes may not be granted to any person to whom any of the following applies: (a) the 
person has been convicted of a misdemeanor not involving Chapters 340 to 349 (relating to 
motor vehicles) at least three times; (b) the person has been convicted of a felony, unless 
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pardoned; (c) the person is addicted to the use of a controlled substance or controlled substance 
analog; (d) the person has income that comes principally from gambling or has been convicted of 
two  or more gambling offenses; (e) the person has been guilty of crimes relating to prostitution; 
(f) the person has been guilty of crimes relating to loaning money or anything of value to persons 
holding licenses or permits pursuant to the provisions regarding the regulation of alcohol 
beverages; or (g) the person does not hold a sales tax seller's permit, if the person is a retailer. 

 The proposal would repeal items (a) through (f) and, instead, provide that no permit could 
be granted to any person who: (a) has an arrest record or a conviction record (subject to 
nondiscrimination provisions); (b) has been convicted of a felony, or as a repeat or habitual 
offender, unless pardoned (also subject to nondiscrimination provisions); or (c) has not submitted 
proof that the person holds a sales tax seller's permit or that DOR will issue a seller's permit to 
the person.  The proposal would also specify that these provisions apply to: all partners of a 
partnership; all members of an LLC; all agents, directors, or shareholders of an LLC or 
corporation; and all officers of a corporation.  In addition, subject to nondiscrimination 
provisions, if a business entity had been convicted of a crime, the entity could not be issued a 
permit unless the entity had terminated its relationship with the individuals whose actions 
directly contributed to the conviction. 

 Prior to affixing tax stamps to cigarettes, current law requires a distributor of cigarettes to 
certify to DOR, in a manner prescribed by DOR, that the cigarettes to which it will attach the tax 
stamps required under these provisions were purchased directly from a manufacturer. The bill 
would apply this requirement to a bonded direct marketer as well as a distributor. 

 Currently, a separate permit is required for each class of permittee under the cigarette tax 
statutes, and the holder of any permit may only perform the operations thereby authorized. Such 
a permit is not transferable among persons or premises. A separate permit is required for each 
place where cigarettes are stored for sale at wholesale, through vending machines, or multiple 
retail outlets. Under the bill, a separate permit would also be required for each place where 
cigarettes are stored for sale by direct marketing.  

 Current law authorizes a vending machine operator or a multiple retailer to acquire 
unstamped cigarettes from manufacturers thereof and affix the stamps to packages or other 
containers only if the vending machine operator or multiple retailer also holds a permit as a 
distributor. Under the bill, a vending machine operator or multiple retailer could also satisfy 
these requirements by holding a permit as a bonded direct marketer. 

 The law also currently provides that the holder of a warehouse permit is entitled to store 
cigarettes on the premises described in the permit. The warehouse permit does not authorize the 
holder to sell cigarettes. Unstamped cigarettes stored in a warehouse for a manufacturer or 
distributor may be delivered only to a person holding a permit as a manufacturer or distributor. 
The bill would provide that a bonded direct marketer authorized by DOR to purchase and affix 
tax stamps would also be permitted to receive deliveries of unstamped cigarettes stored in a 
warehouse. 
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 Direct Marketing of Cigarettes 

 The proposal would specify that no person could sell cigarettes to consumers in this state 
as a direct marketer or solicit sales of cigarettes to consumers in this state by direct marketing 
unless the person has obtained a permit from DOR to make such sales or solicitations.  The 
person would have to file an application for a permit with DOR, in the manner prescribed by the 
Department, and submit the following fee with the application: (a) $500 if the person sells fewer 
than 600,000 cigarettes annually; or (b) $1,000 if the person sells 600,000 or more cigarettes 
annually. A permit issued under this provision would expire on December 31 of each year. 

 DOR would be prohibited from issuing a direct marketing permit to a person unless the 
person certifies to the Department, in the manner prescribed by the Department, that the person 
will: (a) acquire unstamped cigarettes from the manufacturer, pay the state cigarette tax, affix tax 
stamps to the cigarette packages or containers, store such packages or containers, and sell only 
such packages or containers to consumers in this state by direct marketing; or (b) purchase 
stamped cigarettes from a licensed distributor and sell only such packages or containers to 
consumers in this state by direct marketing. 

 No person could be issued a direct marketer's permit unless the person certifies to DOR, 
in the manner prescribed by the Department, that all cigarette sales to consumers in this state will 
be credit card transactions; that the invoices and all means of solicitation for all shipments of 
cigarette sales from the person will bear the person’s name, address, and permit number; and that 
the person will provide DOR any information the Department considers necessary to administer 
this provision. 

 No direct marketer could purchase tax stamps or sell cigarettes in excess of the number of 
cigarette sales specified in his or her permit unless the person pays the applicable higher permit 
fee. Any person who sells cigarettes in excess of the number of cigarette sales specified in his or 
her permit would have to pay a penalty to DOR of the greater of $1,000 or an amount equal to 
$50 for every 200 cigarettes or fraction thereof. 

 No person could sell cigarettes to consumers in this state by direct marketing unless the 
cigarette tax is paid on such cigarettes and tax stamps are affixed to the cigarette packages or 
containers. No person could sell cigarettes to consumers in this state by direct marketing unless 
the sales or use tax is paid on the sale of such cigarettes. 

 No person could sell cigarettes to consumers in this state by direct marketing unless the 
person verifies that the cigarette brands are approved by DOR and listed in the directory of 
certified tobacco product manufacturers and brands as provided under the MSA. In addition, to 
sell cigarettes to a consumer in this state by direct marketing, a person would be required to 
verify the consumer's identity and that the consumer is at least 18 years old by either:  (a) using a 
data base, approved by DOR, that includes information based on public records; or (b) obtaining 
a notarized copy of an identification card, on which the name matches the name of the consumer 
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and the birth date verifies that the purchaser is at least 18 years of age; or (c) a different 
mechanism, if approved by DOR.   

 Any person who, without having a valid permit, sells or solicits sales of cigarettes to 
consumers in this state by direct marketing would have to pay a penalty to DOR of the greater of 
$5,000 or an amount equal to $50 for every 200 cigarettes, or fraction thereof, sold to consumers 
in this state by direct marketing 

 No sale of cigarettes to a consumer in this state by direct marketing could exceed 10 
cartons for each invoice or 20 cartons in a 30-day period for each purchaser or address. Any 
person who sells cigarettes that exceed these maximum amounts would have to pay a penalty to 
DOR of the greater of $5,000 or an amount equal to $50 for every 200 cigarettes, or fraction 
thereof, sold above the maximum amounts.  Any person who purchases cigarettes that exceed the 
maximum amount permissible for direct marketers to sell to a consumer in this state would have 
to pay a penalty to DOR of $25 per carton.  In addition, the person would have to apply for a 
wholesale cigarette permit with DOR.  (While it is unlikely that the person would subsequently 
qualify to obtain a wholesaler's permit, the provision is intended to make it clear that a consumer 
could not purchase quantities of cigarettes from a direct marketer without acting in a wholesaler 
capacity and satisfying associated requirements.) 

 No cigarettes could be shipped to a person who is under 18 years of age or to a post-
office box.  Every package used to ship cigarettes from a direct marketer and delivered to a 
person in this state would have to be clearly labeled to indicate that the package contains 
cigarettes and could not be delivered to a person under 18 years of age. 

 Cigarette Tax -- Administrative Procedures  

 The following modifications related to administrative procedures would also be provided: 

 Transfers.  A current law provision requiring all sales and transfers of tax stamps to be 
made only by DOR to permit-holding manufacturers and distributors would be modified to also 
permit sales and transfers of tax stamps by DOR to bonded direct marketers who have been 
authorized to purchase and affix tax stamps.  

 Records. Under current law, every distributor is required to keep records of purchases 
and sales of cigarettes. Every manufacturer and distributor holding a permit from DOR with the 
right to purchase and apply stamps must also keep records of purchases and distributions of 
stamps. These provisions would be modified to also require every direct marketer to keep 
records of purchases and sales of cigarettes. In addition, the requirement to keep records of 
purchases and disposition of stamps mentioned above would apply for every manufacturer, 
bonded direct marketer, and distributor authorized by DOR to purchase and apply stamps. 

 In general, cigarette permittees currently must render a true and correct invoice of every 
sale of cigarettes at wholesale and, on or before the 15th day of each calendar month, file a 
verified report of all cigarettes purchased, sold, received, warehoused, or withdrawn during the 
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preceding calendar month. However, certain permittees may be allowed to file the reports 
quarterly  rather than monthly.  The bill would also apply these provisions to direct marketers, 
and would allow a nonbonded direct marketer who only sells cigarettes taxed under these 
provisions to file on a quarterly basis. 

 Under the bill, the records of purchases and sales of cigarettes that direct marketers are 
required to keep must indicate the following: the invoice date and number; the quantity of 
cigarettes shipped; the brand name of the cigarettes shipped; the manufacturer of the cigarettes 
shipped and the point of origin; the purchaser's name, address, and birth date; the name of the 
person to whom the cigarettes were shipped; the address to which the cigarettes were shipped; 
and any other information DOR requires. This information would be required for each shipment 
of cigarettes into the state in the month preceding the verified report described above. 

 Personal Liability.  The bill would provide that any officer, employee, fiduciary, or 
agent who is responsible for paying taxes, interest, penalties, or other charges incurred by 
another person is personally liable for those taxes, interest, penalties or other charges.  Certain 
provisions related to appeals of income or franchise tax assessments would apply to appeals of 
assessments related to the administration and enforcement of cigarette taxes. 

 Theft of Tax Moneys.  Current law provides that all cigarette tax moneys received by a 
distributor or manufacturer for the sale of cigarettes on which the cigarette tax has become due 
and has not been paid are trust funds in the hands of the distributor or manufacturer and are the 
property of this state. In addition, any distributor or manufacturer who fraudulently withholds, 
appropriates, or otherwise uses cigarette tax moneys that are the property of the state is guilty of 
theft, regardless of whether or not the person has or claims to have an interest in the moneys. 
These provisions would be modified to also apply with respect to bonded direct marketers.  

 Seizures.  Current law provides that all cigarettes acquired, owned, imported, possessed, 
kept, stored, made, sold, distributed, or transported in violation if the cigarette tax statutes, and 
all personal property used in connection therewith is unlawful property and subject to seizure by 
the Secretary of DOR or any peace officer. If cigarettes that do not bear the proper tax stamps or 
on which the tax has not been paid are seized under these provisions, they may be given to law 
enforcement officers for use in criminal investigations or sold to qualified buyers by DOR, 
without notice. If the cigarettes are sold, the proceeds of the sale, after deducting for costs of the 
sale and the keeping of the property, are to be paid into the state treasury. The Secretary of DOR 
may also order the cigarettes to be destroyed or given to a charitable or penal institution for free 
distribution to patients or inmates. Under the bill, these provisions would apply to any cigarettes 
that have been seized as a result of violations of the cigarette tax statutes (not just those that do 
not bear a tax stamp or on which the tax has not been paid).  

 Class I Felony.  The bill would provide that any person who manufactures or sells 
cigarettes in this state without holding the proper permit under the cigarette tax statutes is guilty 
of a Class I felony. The penalty for a Class I felony is a fine, not to exceed $10,000, or 
imprisonment, not to exceed three years and six months, or both. Under current law, any person 
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who manufactures or sells cigarettes in this state without holding the proper permit would be 
subject to the general penalty for violations of the cigarette and tobacco products tax statutes for 
which no other penalty is provided, which includes a fine of $100 to $1,000, imprisonment for 
10 to 90 days, or both. 

 Prosecutions by Attorney General.  Under current law, upon request by the Secretary 
of DOR, the Attorney General may represent this state or assist a district attorney in prosecuting 
any case arising under the cigarette tax statutes.  The bill would extend this authority to 
violations of Chapter 134 involving cigarette and tobacco products retail licenses and restrictions 
on sales and gifts of such products. 

Modifications To Tobacco Products Tax Statutes  

 In order to permit and regulate the direct marketing of tobacco products, the bill would 
make the following modifications to the tobacco products tax statutes under Chapter 139: 

 Definitions 

 The bill would create the following definitions: 

 a. "Direct marketer" would mean any person who solicits or sells tobacco products 
to consumers in this state by direct marketing; 

 b. "Direct marketing" would mean publishing or making accessible an offer for the 
sale of tobacco products to consumers in this state, or selling tobacco products to consumers in 
this state, using any means by which the consumer is not physically present on a premise that 
sells tobacco products; 

 c. "Person" would mean any individual, sole proprietorship, partnership, LLC, 
corporation, association, or any owner of a single-owner entity that is disregarded as a separate 
entity under the income tax statutes; and 

 d.  "Identification card" would reference the meaning provided under Chapter 134, 
as described above with respect to the cigarette tax. 

 The bill would also modify a number of definitions under the current tobacco products 
tax statutes. Currently, a "consumer" means any person who has title to, or possession of, 
tobacco products in storage for use or other consumption in this state. The bill would change the 
definition to mean any individual who receives tobacco products for his or her own personal use 
or consumption or any individual who has title to, or possession of, tobacco products for any 
purposes other than sale or resale.  

 Under current law, a tobacco products "distributor" means, among other things, any 
person engaged in the business of selling tobacco products in this state who brings, or causes to 
be brought, into this state from outside the state any tobacco products for sale. The bill would 
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change this definition to specify that "distributor" would mean, among other things, any person 
in this state engaged in the business of selling tobacco products who brings, or causes to be 
brought, into this state from outside the state any tobacco products for sale (underline added to 
emphasize the location of the phrase "in this state"). These modifications would clarify current 
law and reflect current practice. 

 The current definition of "distributor" also includes any person engaged in the business of 
selling tobacco products outside this state who ships or transports tobacco products to retailers in 
this state to be sold by those retailers. The proposal would modify this definition to refer to any 
person outside this state engaged in the business of selling tobacco products who ships or 
transports tobacco products to retailers in this state to be sold by those retailers (underline added 
to emphasize location of the phrase "outside of this state"). These modifications would clarify 
current law and reflect current practice.  

 The definition of "distributor" would also be expanded to include any person outside this 
state engaged in the business of selling tobacco products who ships or transports tobacco 
products to consumers in this state. Under this provision, a person outside this state that sells 
tobacco products to consumers in the state through direct marketing would be defined as a 
distributor (in addition to a direct marketer) and would be required to obtain a permit as a 
distributor (in addition to a permit as a direct marketer). The modification is intended to make it 
clear that a direct marketer would be responsible for collecting and remitting the excise tax on 
tobacco products and also for submitting to DOR required reports on any wholesale sales of 
tobacco products made by the direct marketer. 

 "Retail outlet" is currently defined to mean each place of business from which tobacco 
products are sold to consumers. The bill would clarify that the definition applies to such products 
sold to consumers by a retailer. 

 A "retailer" is currently defined to mean any person engaged in the business of selling 
tobacco products to ultimate consumers. The bill would delete this definition and replace it with 
a reference to the definition under Chapter 134, which means any person with a municipal 
cigarette or tobacco products retailer license. 

 Tobacco Products Tax and Associated Permits 

 With certain exceptions, the bill would specify that no person could possess tobacco 
products in this state unless the excise tax on tobacco products is paid on such products, and that 
no person other than a distributor with a valid permit under these provisions could import into 
this state tobacco products for which the tobacco products tax has not been paid. 

 Currently, no person may engage in the business of a distributor or subjobber of tobacco 
products at any place of business unless that person has filed an application for and obtained a 
permit from DOR to engage in that business at such place. The bill would similarly prohibit a 
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person from engaging in the business of a direct marketer of tobacco products without a proper 
permit. 

 Direct Marketing of Tobacco Products 

 The bill would prohibit a person from selling tobacco products by direct marketing to 
consumers in this state as a direct marketer or soliciting sales of tobacco products to consumers 
in this state by direct marketing unless the person has obtained a permit from DOR to make such 
sales or solicitations.  The person would have to file an application for a permit with DOR, in the 
manner prescribed by the Department, and submit a $500 fee with the application. 

 No person could be issued a direct marketing permit unless the person holds a valid 
tobacco products distributor’s permit.  

 Under current law, the following provisions that apply with respect to cigarette permits 
also apply in the case of tobacco products wholesaler permits: (a) the provisions requiring denial 
of a permit by DOR to persons who have been convicted of certain crimes; (b) requirements 
related to certification from the Department of Financial Institutions before a foreign corporation 
or a foreign LLC may be granted a permit; and (c) the requirements that: a separate permit be 
issued for each class of permittee; that the holder of any permit could only perform the 
operations thereby authorized; that such a permit could not be transferred among persons or 
premises; and that a separate permit would be needed for each place where tobacco products are 
stored for sale at wholesale, through vending machines, through direct marketing, or through 
multiple retail outlets. The bill would also provide that these requirements apply in the case of a 
permit for direct marketing of tobacco products. (It should be noted, however, that the reference 
under these provisions in the bill to the requirement described under "c" is incorrect, and refers, 
instead, to a provision related to cigarette tax stamps. The administration has indicated that the 
reference should be corrected to accomplish the intent of the bill.) 

 No person could be issued a permit under these provisions unless the person certifies to 
DOR, in the manner prescribed by the Department, that all tobacco product sales to consumers in 
this state will be credit card transactions; that the invoice for all shipments of tobacco product 
sales from the person will bear the person’s name, address, and permit number; and that the 
person will provide DOR any information the Department considers necessary to administer 
these provisions. 

 No person could sell tobacco products by direct marketing to consumers in this state 
unless the tobacco products tax and sales or use tax have been paid with regard to such products. 

 No person could sell tobacco products to consumers in this state by direct marketing 
unless the person:  (a) verifies the consumer's age, using a mechanism approved by DOR; (b) 
receives from the consumer, at the time of purchase, a copy or facsimile of an identification card 
and the name specified on the card matches the name of the consumer; or (c) uses another 
mechanism approved by DOR to verify the age and identity of the consumer.   
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 Any person who, without having a valid direct marketing permit, sells or solicits sales of 
tobacco products to consumers in this state by direct marketing would have to pay a penalty to 
DOR of the greater of $5,000 or an amount that is equal to 50% of the tax due on the tobacco 
products the person sold, without having a valid permit, to consumers in this state by direct 
marketing. 

 No tobacco products could be shipped to a person who is under 18 years of age or to a 
post-office box.  Every package used to ship tobacco products that are sold as provided under 
these provisions and delivered to a person in this state would have to be clearly labeled to 
indicate that the package contains tobacco products and may not be delivered to a person who is 
under 18 years of age. 

Additional Provisions  

 Provisions Affecting Both Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Statutes 

 The following modifications would apply to both the cigarette and tobacco products tax 
provisions. 

 Salespersons of Cigarettes and Tobacco Products.   Current law provides that no 
person may sell or take orders for cigarettes or tobacco products for resale in Wisconsin for a 
manufacturer or permittee without first obtaining a salesperson's permit from DOR.  Further, 
under current law no manufacturer or permittee can authorize a person to sell or take orders for 
cigarettes or tobacco products without that person having secured a salesperson's permit. 
Currently, DOR must issue the required number of permits to manufacturers and permittees who 
hold a valid business tax registration certificate. Each application for a permit must disclose the 
name and address of the employer, and the permit will remain effective only while the 
salesperson represents that employer. If the salesperson is later employed by another 
manufacturer or permittee, the salesperson must obtain a new salesperson's permit. Each 
manufacturer or permittee is required to notify DOR within 10 days after the resignation or 
dismissal of a salesperson holding a permit. 

 The bill would modify these requirements to provide that:  (a) no person in this state 
could sell or solicit sales of cigarettes or tobacco products unless the person has filed for and 
obtained a valid Wisconsin business tax registration certificate and a salesperson's permit; (b) no 
permittee could authorize a person to sell or take orders for cigarettes or tobacco products 
without that person having secured a valid Wisconsin business tax registration certificate and a 
salesperson's permit; (c) no person could authorize the sale or solicitation of cigarettes or tobacco 
products in this state unless that person had a valid business tax registration certificate and a 
valid permit under the cigarette or tobacco products tax statutes; and (d) soliciting sales of 
cigarettes or tobacco products would be covered under these provisions in addition to actual 
sales. References to employers of salespersons would be modified so that brokers soliciting sales 
on behalf of a person other than an employer would be subject to the same requirements as those 
applicable to a salesperson of an employer. In addition, certain references to a "manufacturer and 
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a permittee"  would be changed to a "permittee." (Under the bill, a "permittee" would include 
any manufacturer manufacturing or selling in this state.)  

 Penalties for Failure to Keep Required Records or to Allow Inspection.  Under 
current law, any cigarette or tobacco products permittee who fails to keep the records required 
under the cigarette or tobacco products tax statutes may be fined not less than $100 nor more 
than $500 or imprisoned not more than six months or both.  The proposal would, instead, specify 
that the penalty for a first offense would be a fine of $500 to $1,000.  For a second or subsequent 
offense, the penalty would be a fine of $1,000 to $5,000, imprisonment for up to 180 days, or 
both. 

 Currently, any person who refuses to permit any examination or inspection of its 
premises or records as authorized under the cigarette or tobacco products tax statutes may be 
fined not more than $500 or imprisoned not more than 90 days or both.  The proposal would 
increase the penalty to a fine of $500 to $1,000, imprisonment for up to 180 days, or both. 

 Other Penalties.  Under current law, in addition to the penalties imposed for violations 
of the cigarette or tobacco products tax statutes or any of the rules of DOR, the permit of any 
person convicted must be automatically revoked and he or she may not be granted another permit 
for a period of two years following the revocation.  Under the bill, revocation of the permit 
would automatically occur after a second or subsequent conviction and would be for a period of 
five years, during which the person could not act as the employee or agent of a cigarette 
permittee to perform acts authorized by any permit issued under the cigarette tax provisions. 

 Effective Date and Estimated Fiscal Effect 

 These provisions would take effect on July 1, 2006. The administration estimates that the 
direct marketing provisions would result in additional cigarette and tobacco products tax 
revenues of $1,105,000 in 2006-07 and additional program revenue from permit fees in 2006-07 
of $161,500. The program revenue would be transferred to the general fund as GPR-Earned.   

 

 
 


