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CURRENT LAW  

 FoodShare Employment and Training Program (FSET).  Federal law requires that, as a 
condition of eligibility for food stamp benefits, certain household members comply with work 
requirements, including:  (a) registering for work at the time of application and every 12 months 
after initial registration; (b) participating in an employment and training program, if assigned by 
the state agency, to the extent required by the state agency; (c) participating in a workfare 
program, if assigned by the state agency; (d) providing the state agency or its designee with 
sufficient information  regarding employment status or availability for work; (e) reporting to an 
employer to whom referred by the state agency or its designee if the potential employment meets 
suitability requirements specified in federal law; (f) accepting a bona fide offer of suitable 
employment; and (g) not voluntarily, and without good cause, quitting a job of 30 or more hours 
a week or reducing work effort to less than 30 hours a week.  Federal law exempts certain 
individuals from these work requirements. 

 States are required to design and operate FSET programs that consist of one or more 
employment and training components described in federal rules.  These components include:  (a) 
a job search program; (b) a job search training program, which may include job skills 
assessments, training in techniques for employability, job placement services, or other direct 
training or support activities, including educational programs; (c) a workfare program; (d) a 
program designed to improve the employability of household members through actual work 
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experience or training, or both, and to enable individuals to move promptly into regular public or 
private employment; (e) a project, program or experiment, such as a supported work program, 
aimed at accomplishing the purpose of the FSET program; (f) educational programs or activities 
to improve basic skills or otherwise improve employability, including educational programs such 
as high school or equivalent educational programs, remedial education programs to achieve a 
basic literacy level, and instructional programs in English as a second language; and (g) a 
program designed to improve the self-sufficiency of recipients through self-employment. 

 Sanctions for Noncompliance with FSET Requirements.  Federal rules identify 
permissible disqualification periods for individuals who do not comply with FSET program 
requirements.  

  Wisconsin's statutes specify the following disqualification periods.  For a first occurrence 
of noncompliance (without good cause), the individual may be disqualified from receiving 
FoodShare benefits for one month or until the person complies with the work requirement, 
whichever is later.  For a second occurrence, the individual may be disqualified from receiving 
FoodShare benefits for three months, or until the person complies with the work requirements, 
whichever is later.  For a third or subsequent occurrence of noncompliance, the individual may 
be disqualified from receiving FoodShare benefits for six months, or until the person complies 
with the work requirements, whichever is later. 

 Federal law establishes greater sanctions for able-bodied adults without dependents 
(ABAWDs).  In Wisconsin, ABAWDs are FoodShare recipients who:  (a) are not under the age 
of 18, or 50 years old or older; (b) do not live in a household with a minor child; (c) are not 
pregnant; and (d) do not meet any exemption criterion for the FSET program.  

  Under federal law, enacted as part of the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity 
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (the federal welfare reform legislation that replaced the aid to 
families with dependent children program with the temporary assistance for needy families 
program), ABAWDs are limited to three months of food stamp benefits in a 36-month period if 
they fail to meet certain work-related requirements.  However, Wisconsin has received a waiver 
of this requirement, based on high unemployment rates in areas of Wisconsin where most 
ABAWD FoodShare recipients reside.  In order to be designated as an area with a high 
unemployment rate, an area's unemployment rate must be at least 20% above the national 
average unemployment rates during a recent 24-month time period. In Wisconsin, these areas 
had unemployment rates ranging from 5.9% to 10.3%. 

 In addition, federal law permits states to exempt up to 15% of the ABAWDs from the 
sanction provisions.   

 State and Local Administration.  DHFS contracts with the Department of Workforce 
Development (DWD) to administer the FSET program.  DWD contracts with Wisconsin Works 
(W-2) agencies to provide FSET services. Under the current contracts, W-2 is administered at the 
local level as follows:  (a) 45 counties are served by county human/social services agencies; (b) 
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26 counties outside of Milwaukee County are served by non-county agencies; and (c) four non-
county agencies cover five regions in Milwaukee County.  These agencies may subcontract with 
Job Service or other employment contractors.  FSET agencies have discretion on the number of 
hours per week they assign each program participant.  However, total individual hours of 
participation in the program, together with any hours of subsidized or unsubsidized work, cannot 
exceed 120 hours per month. 

 Caretaker Exemption from the Work Requirement.  In addition, the statutes permit, but do 
not require, DWD to require all able FoodShare recipients between the ages of 18 to 60 who are 
not participants in a W-2 employment position to participate in the FSET program, except: (a) 
caretakers of a child under the age of 12 weeks; and (b) individuals who are enrolled at least 
half-time in a recognized school, training program, or institution of higher education. Such 
individuals must comply with the other requirements for FoodShare eligibility. 

GOVERNOR 

Make Program Voluntary.  Reduce funding by $709,200 (-$354,600 GPR and -$354,600 
FED) annually to reflect projected reductions in state and county costs of administering the FSET 
program by permitting, but not requiring, individuals to participate in the FSET program as a 
condition of receiving FoodShare benefits.  This item includes: (a) reducing funding for FSET 
services (-$250,000 GPR and -$250,000 FED annually); and (b) eliminating funding for FSET fair 
hearings (-$104,600 GPR and -$104,600 FED annually).  No statutory changes have been requested 
because the administration believes such a policy change is allowable under current law. 

 Expand Exemptions from FSET Requirement.  Increase the number of individuals who 
would be exempt from the FSET program requirements by prohibiting DHFS from requiring any 
FoodShare recipient who is a caretaker of a child under the age of 26 weeks to participate in the 
FSET program.  

 The Governor's proposal to transfer the program from DWD to DHFS is addressed in a 
separate paper. 

 
DISCUSSION POINTS      

1. Under the Governor's proposal, both ABAWDs and other FoodShare recipients 
would participate in the FSET program on a voluntary basis. ABAWDs would not be required to 
participate in FSET if the current waiver is extended and exemptions to the FSET requirements are 
approved by the United States Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), the 
federal administering agency.  Counties would continue to offer FSET services to FoodShare 
recipients who wished to participate in the program, since federal law requires states to administer 
FSET programs and make these services available to certain groups of food stamp recipients. 

2. The state's current waiver exempts ABAWDs who fail to meet minimum FSET 
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work participation requirements from the 36-month period of ineligibility for FoodShare benefits 
(during which time they may receive a maximum of three months of FoodShare benefits).  The 
current waiver applies to ABAWDs in 10 counties and seven cities, because these areas have high 
unemployment rates.   In other areas of the state, the federal FoodShare sanctions for ABAWDs still 
apply.    

Table 1 lists the counties and cities that are currently exempt from the ABAWD 36-month 
disqualification period. 

TABLE 1 

Counties 
 

 
 Adams Forest Langlade  
 Ashland Iron Marquette 
 Bayfield Juneau Menominee 
   Rusk 
 

Cities 
 
 Beloit Manitowoc West Bend 
 Green Bay Milwaukee 
 Kenosha Racine   

 
 

Under the current waiver, FNS stipulated that DHFS could exempt all remaining ABAWDs 
in the state under the 15% exemption.   

 3. DHFS has requested an extension of the current ABAWD waiver, which would 
exempt a total of 21 counties and seven cities.  This waiver was approved by the regional USDA 
office and is currently under review at the national office.  USDA has indicated that Wisconsin will 
receive notice by the end of April.  Should the waiver be granted, it would be retroactive to April 1, 
2007.  DHFS expects USDA to approve the extension.   

 Table 2 lists the counties and cities in which DHFS proposes to exempt ABAWDs from the 
36-month disqualification period. 
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TABLE 2 

Individuals in Counties and Cities Exempt from ABAWD 36-Month Disqualification Period  
(Proposed) 

 
 

Counties 
 
 Adams Juneau Oneida  
 Ashland Langlade Racine 
 Bayfield Marinette Rusk 
 Burnett Marquette Sawyer 
 Forest Menominee Taylor 
 Florence Milwaukee Vilas 
 Iron Oconto Washburn 
 
 

Cities   
 

  Appleton Janesville West Bend 
  Beloit Kenosha 
  Green Bay Manitowoc 
 

 

4. Currently, many individuals lose eligibility for FoodShare benefits due to their 
failure to comply with FSET requirements.  According to DHFS, of the 94,100 FSET participants 
who were required to participate in 2005-06, 68,900 (73%) were sanctioned for noncompliance.  On 
average, approximately 5,700 unduplicated individuals are sanctioned each month due to non-
participation in FSET activities. 

5. The administration's primary argument for making FSET a voluntary program is that 
no person who meets the financial eligibility requirements for the program would lose their 
FoodShare benefits due to failure to comply with a work requirement.  Based on the average 
number of individuals subject to sanctions each month and the average FoodShare payment level, it 
is estimated that eliminating the current sanctions would increase 100% federal FoodShare benefits 
to Wisconsin residents by approximately $5.5 million annually (5,700 individuals x $80 per month 
x 12 months).  In addition to directly helping the individuals and families who receive these federal 
benefits, the increase in federally-funded benefits may help the local economies to which the 
families belong. 

6. In addition, county and tribal income maintenance agencies spend time referring, 
tracking, sanctioning, and re-authorizing sanctioned participants.  While the Governor's proposal 
would eliminate time local income maintenance (IM) staff currently spend relating to these 
sanctions, the bill would not reduce funding to IM agencies to reflect anticipated savings in IM staff 
time.   Any savings in staff time relating to FoodShare sanctions would be available to support other 
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IM activities.     

7. Additionally, income maintenance workers and hearing examiners spend time 
attending hearings conducted by the Department of Administration’s Division of Hearing and 
Appeals. DHFS expended approximately $104,600 GPR in 2005-06 to support fair hearings 
conducted by DOA relating to these cases.  Since these costs would no longer be incurred, the 
Governor's budget bill would delete this amount of base funding from DHFS that would otherwise 
support the costs of these hearings. 

8. The bill would reduce funding for FSET services by $500,000 (-$250,000 GPR and 
-$250,000 FED) annually.  This amount represents approximately 6.2% of the total base funding 
budgeted for FSET services (approximately $8.1 million, all funds).  This funding reduction 
recognizes a likely decrease in the number of FoodShare recipients who would voluntarily 
participate in the FSET program, and the uncertainty regarding the reduction in the demand for 
services funded under the FSET program. 

9. Because the FSET program has been mandatory in Wisconsin since its inception, it 
is difficult to know what would happen if program participation became voluntary.  However, it is 
assumed that participation would likely decrease if the program is no longer mandatory.  Given this, 
the Committee could choose to reduce funding for services, either by the amount recommended by 
the Governor, or by a greater amount.  Since funding for these services is 50% GPR and 50% FED, 
any reduction in GPR would result in an equal reduction in FED.  

 10. South Carolina is the only other state that currently has a voluntary FSET program.  
Following its change to a voluntary program, the number of individuals participating in South 
Carolina's FSET program decreased by 90%.  In Wisconsin, in 2005-06, of the 28,300 FSET 
participants who were not sanctioned, 3,200 were voluntary.  Given that only 11% of non-
sanctioned participants are voluntary, it may be reasonable to assume that the South Carolina 
experience is applicable to Wisconsin. 

  However, there may be substantial fixed costs counties and W-2 agencies incur in offering 
FSET services.  If participation in the program decreased 90%, there would unlikely be a 
corresponding 90% decrease in program costs.  For this reason, if the Committee determines that 
participation in the program will decrease significantly if the program became voluntary, it could 
reduce funding for FSET services by more than the amount of the funding reduction in the 
Governor's bill. 

 For example, the Committee could reduce funding for services to reflect an assumption that 
there would be a 50% decrease in the number of clients that would voluntarily participate in the 
program, beginning in calendar year 2008.   Under this alternative, if participation decreased by 
90%, rather than 50%, counties would be better able to serve clients who voluntarily participate in 
the program.    Under this alternative, the Committee could reduce funding for FSET services by an 
additional $1,165,400 ($582,700 GPR and $582,700 FED) in 2007-08 and $2,830,600 ($1,415,300 
GPR and $1,415,300 FED) in 2008-09. 
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11. On the other hand, some argue that FoodShare, like other forms of public assistance, 
should be connected to work.  As a result of the FSET program, in 2006, approximately 15,000 
FSET participants obtained jobs, 10,000 of which were full-time jobs and were expected to last 
more than 30 days.  Allowing individuals to participate in FSET on a voluntary basis removes the 
tie between benefits and work, and may eliminate the incentive for individuals to work.   

12. Since the statutes already permit, but do not require, nonexempt individuals to 
participate in the FSET program, the administration has indicated that it will make the FSET 
program entirely voluntary for all nonexempt FoodShare recipients, including ABAWDs, unless 
legislation is enacted to require individuals to participate in the program.  

 If the Committee determines that it wishes to retain a mandatory program, SB 40 could be 
amended to specify that nonexempt FoodShare recipients are required to participate in the FSET 
program.   Under this alternative, the Committee would restore funding for the program that would 
be deleted under the Governor's bill, and the current statutory sanctions for noncompliance with the 
FSET program requirements would apply to all mandatory participants, including ABAWDs.  
However, the ABAWDS would not be subject to the 36-month period of ineligibility for FoodShare 
due to their failure to comply with the FSET requirements.   

13. SB 40 contains a provision to extend the amount of time an eligible caretaker of a 
newborn infant could receive a monthly W-2 grant from 12 weeks, under current law, to 26 weeks.  
In relation to this provision, SB 40 would also extend the FSET exemption for caretakers of infants 
from 12 weeks, under current law, to 26 weeks.  The Governor's provision to extend FSET 
exemptions to caretakers with children under the age of 26 weeks could be deleted from the bill if 
the Committee adopts the Governor's provision to make the program entirely a voluntary program.  
However, if the Committee wished to modify the statutes to require DHFS to administer a 
mandatory program (where participants would be subject to the state sanctions), the Committee 
could retain this provision. 

ALTERNATIVES TO BILL 

1. Approve the Governor’s recommendation. 

  

2. Approve the Governor's funding modifications.  However, delete the provision that 
would extend the work requirement exemption to caretakers with children under the age of 26 
weeks to participate in the FSET program, since all caretakers would no longer be required to 
participate in the FSET program as a condition of receiving FoodShare benefits.  

ALT 1 Change to Bill Change to Base 
 Funding Funding 
 

GPR $0 - $709,200 
FED   0     - 709,200 
Total $0 - $1,418,400 
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3. Modify the Governor's recommendation by: (a) deleting the provision that would 
extend the work requirement exemption to caretakers with children under the age of 26 weeks to 
participate in the FSET program, since all caretakers would no longer be required to participate in 
the FSET program as a condition of receiving FoodShare benefits; and (b) reducing funding for the 
program by $1,165,400 ($582,700 GPR and $582,700 FED) in 2007-08 and $2,830,600 
($1,415,300 GPR and $1,415,300 FED) in 2008-09 to reflect a funding level for services that 
assumes a 50% caseload decrease. 

  

4.   Delete all of the Governor's provisions.  Instead, modify current law to:  (a) require 
able individuals who are 18 to 60 years of age who are not participants in a Wisconsin Works 
employment position to participate in the employment and training program, if required under 
federal law; and (b) specify that ABAWDs would not be subject to the 36-month period 
disqualification period, if the state obtains required waivers of federal law.  Increase funding in the 
bill by $709,200 ($354,600 GPR and $354,600 FED annually). 

 
 

5. Delete all of the Governor's provisions, except the provision that would increase the 
number of individuals who would be exempt from the FSET program requirements by prohibiting 
DHFS from requiring any FoodShare recipient who is a caretaker of a child under the age of 26 
weeks to participate in the FSET program.  In addition, modify current law to:  (a) require able 
individuals who are 18 to 60 years of age who are not participants in a Wisconsin Works 
employment position to participate in the employment and training program, if required under 
federal law; and (b) specify that ABAWDs would not be subject to the 36-month period 
disqualification period, if the state obtains required waivers of federal law.  Increase funding in the 

ALT 2 Change to Bill Change to Base 
 Funding Funding 
 

GPR $0 - $709,200 
FED    0     - 709,200 
Total $0 - $1,418,400 

ALT 3 Change to Bill Change to Base 
 Funding Funding 
 

GPR - $1,998,000 - $2,707,200 
FED - 1,998,000 - 2,707,200 
Total - $3,996,000 - $5,414,400 

ALT 4 Change to Bill Change to Base 
 Funding Funding 
 

GPR $709,200 $0 
FED      709,200   0 
Total $1,418,400 $0 
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bill by $709,200 ($354,600 GPR and $354,600 FED annually). 

 
 

 6. Delete provision. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prepared by:  Katie Maguire 

ALT 5 Change to Bill Change to Base 
 Funding Funding 
 

GPR $709,200 $0 
FED      709,200   0 
Total $1,418,400 $0 

ALT 6 Change to Bill Change to Base 
 Funding Funding 
 

GPR $709,200 $0 
FED      709,200   0 
Total $1,418,400 $0 


