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May 19, 2009 Joint Committee on Finance Paper #483

Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Provisions (Insurance)

[LFB 2009-11 Budget Summary: Page 420, #17 through 20]

CURRENT LAW

Financial Responsibility. Wisconsin statutes set forth a number of requirements for
motor vehicle liability insurance policies sold in the state. Although drivers are not required to
purchase automobile insurance, all drivers must satisfy conditions of financial responsibility if
involved in a reportable accident resulting in damages over $1,000. The Department of
Transportation (DOT) requires the owner or operator of a motor vehicle who is at fault in a
reportable accident to deposit an amount with DOT that is sufficient to cover any judgment for
damages. An individual is not required to make this deposit if he or she has a motor vehicle
liability policy with the minimum limits described below. If the individual cannot satisfy this
requirement for deposit and is uninsured, the operator's license and the owner's registration
would be suspended. If the individual does satisfy the financial responsibility requirement, their
license or registration would be reinstated, and they would be required to satisfy financial
responsibility requirements for the future.

An individual may satisfy the proof of financial responsibility requirements by
purchasing a motor vehicle liability policy with certain minimum coverage limits. These limits
currently stand at $25,000 for bodily injury or death to one person, $50,000 for bodily injury or
death in one accident, and $10,000 for property damage (commonly referred to as limits of
25/50/10). All motor vehicle liability insurance policies sold in Wisconsin must meet these
minimum requirements to satisfy the financial responsibility requirement, although purchasing
motor vehicle liability insurance is not required.

Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage pays for an
insured's damages in an accident with an individual who does not have a motor vehicle liability
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insurance policy. All motor vehicle liability policies sold in Wisconsin must provide UM
coverage. An "uninsured motor vehicle” is defined in statute to also include the following
vehicles: (a) an insured vehicle where the insurer is insolvent; and (b) an unidentified vehicle
involved in a hit-and-run accident, interpreted by the Wisconsin Supreme Court to require
physical contact. UM coverage must cover a minimum of $25,000 per person, and $50,000 per
accident. UM coverage does not cover property damage.

Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Current law does not require motor vehicle
liability policies to provide underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage, but does require insurers to
provide written notice of the availability of such coverage. UIM coverage pays for damages that
an insured individual is legally entitled to recover from an underinsured motorist. Statute does
not define an "underinsured motor vehicle" (although most policies define this as a vehicle with a
liability policy with coverage limits that are less than the insured's UIM coverage limits). Motor
vehicle liability policies that include UIM coverage must provide a minimum coverage level of
$50,000 per person, and $100,000 per accident. UIM coverage does not cover property damage.

Medical Payments. Medical payments coverage covers medical or chiropractic payments
for persons injured while using the insured motor vehicle, including the driver and passengers.
Medical payments coverage must be offered as part of a motor vehicle liability policy, but
individuals may reject this coverage. Policies that include medical payments coverage must
provide minimum coverage of $1,000 per person.

Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance. Under administrative rule, umbrella and
excess liability insurance policies are exempt from the statutory requirement for motor vehicle
liability insurance policies to include UM coverage, and the statutory requirement to offer UIM
coverage.

Permissible Policy Provisions. Current law permits motor vehicle policies to contain
certain provisions. These include anti-stacking provisions, reducing clauses, and drive-other-car
exclusions, which are described below.

a. A policy may provide that regardless of the number of policies involved, vehicles
involved, persons covered, claims made, vehicles or premiums shown on the policy, or
premiums paid, the limits for any coverage under the policy may not be added to the limits for
similar coverage applying to other motor vehicles to determine the limit of insurance coverage
available for bodily injury or death suffered by a person in any one accident. This is referred to
as "anti-stacking” language, with "stacking” generally interpreted in this context as the
availability of more than one policy for the payment of an insured's damages.

b. A policy may provide that the maximum amount of UM, UIM or medical
payments motorist coverage available for bodily injury or death suffered by a person who was
not using a motor vehicle at the time of the accident is the highest single limit of UM, UIM or
medical payments coverage, whichever is applicable, for any motor vehicle with respect to
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which the individual is insured. This allows the prohibition of the stacking of policies for
individuals who are not using a motor vehicle at the time of an accident.

C. A policy may provide that the limits under the policy for UM or UIM coverage
for bodily injury or death resulting from any one accident shall be reduced by any of the
following that apply: (a) amounts paid by or on behalf of any person or organization that may be
legally responsible for the bodily injury or death for which the payment is made; (b) amounts
paid or payable under any worker's compensation law; and (c) amounts paid or payable under
any disability benefits laws. Generally, this provision allows a policy to include a "reducing
clause," where payments made by a UM or UIM policy may be reduced by payments made from
other sources (including another driver's motor vehicle liability policy).

d. A policy may provide that any coverage under the policy does not apply to a loss
resulting from the use of a motor vehicle that meets all of the following conditions: (a) is owned
by the named insured, or is owned by the named insured's spouse or a relative of the named
insured if the spouse or relative resides in the same household as the named insured; (b) is not
described in the policy under which the claim is made; and (c) is not covered under the terms of
a policy as a newly acquired or replacement motor vehicle. This is referred to as a "drive-other-
car" exclusion, and does not allow coverage for an owned automobile not described under a
motor vehicle liability insurance policy.

GOVERNOR

Financial Responsibility. Increase the minimum limits required for a policy that meets
the requirements for proof of financial responsibility to $100,000 for bodily injury to or death of
one person, $300,000 for bodily injury to or death of more than one person, and $25,000 for
property damage (100/300/25).

Uninsured Motorist (UM). Coverage. Increase the minimum required level of UM
coverage to $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident. Define uninsured motorist to
include "unidentified motorist,” rather than "an unidentified motorist involved in a hit-and-run
accident.”

Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Require all motor vehicle liability policies sold
in Wisconsin to include UIM coverage, with minimum limits of $100,000 per person and
$300,000 per accident. Define "underinsured motor vehicle" as a motor vehicle to which all of
the following apply: (a) the motor vehicle is involved in an accident with a person who has
underinsured motorist coverage; (b) a bodily injury liability policy applies to the motor vehicle at
the time of the accident; and (c) the limits under the bodily injury liability insurance policy are
less than the amount needed to fully compensate the insured for his or her damages.

Medical Payments. Increase the minimum level of required medical payments coverage
to $10,000.
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Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance. Define "umbrella or excess liability policy" as
an insurance contract providing at least $1,000,000 of liability coverage per person or per
occurrence in excess of certain required underlying liability insurance coverage or a specified
amount of self-insured retention.

Require an insurer that writes umbrella or excess liability coverage, except for a town
mutual, to make a written offer of both UM and UIM coverage, whenever an application is made
for such coverage. For umbrella or excess liability insurance policies that are in effect on the
effective date of this provision, an insurer would be required to make a written offer of UM or
UIM coverage at the first renewal of a policy that does not include that coverage. An applicant or
insured would be able to reject this coverage, but this rejection would be required in writing. If
an insurer does not make a written offer of UM or UIM coverage for an umbrella or excess
liability policy issued after the effective date of these provisions, a court may reform the policy
(at the request of the insured) to include UM or UIM coverage with the same limits as the
liability coverage limits under the policy.

Prohibited Policy Provisions. Prohibit motor vehicle policies from containing certain
provisions, as described below.

a. No policy would be allowed to provide that, regardless of the number of policies
involved, vehicles involved, persons covered, claims made, vehicles or premiums shown on the
policy, or premiums paid, the limits for any coverage under the policy may not be added to the
limits for similar coverage applying to other motor vehicles to determine the limit of insurance
coverage available for bodily injury or death suffered by a person in any on accident.

b. No policy would be allowed to provide that the maximum amount of UM, UIM or
medical payments motorist coverage available for bodily injury or death suffered by a person
who was not using a motor vehicle at the time of the accident is any single limit of UM, UIM or
medical payments coverage, whichever is applicable, for any motor vehicle with respect to
which the individual is insured.

C. No policy would be allowed to provide that the limits under the policy for UM or
UIM coverage for bodily injury or death resulting from any one accident shall be reduced by any
of the following that apply: (a) amounts paid by or on behalf of any person or organization that
may be legally responsible for the bodily injury or death for which the payment is made; (b)
amounts paid or payable under any worker's compensation law; or (c) amounts paid or payable
under any disability benefits laws.

d. No policy would be allowed to provide that any coverage under the policy does
not apply to a loss resulting from the use of a motor vehicle that meets all of the following
conditions: (a) is owned by the named insured, or is owned by the named insured's spouse or a
relative of the named insured if the spouse or relative resides in the same household as the named
insured; (b) is not described in the policy under which the claim is made; and (c) is not covered
under the terms of a policy as a newly acquired or replacement motor vehicle.
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Health Insurer Coverage of Claims. Prohibit a health insurer from refusing to cover
health care services that are provided under a health care plan on the basis that there may be
coverage for the services under a liability insurance policy.

Effective Date. These provisions would take effect on the first day of the fifth month
beginning after publication.

DISCUSSION POINTS

1. The following points briefly describe bodily injury, uninsured (UM) coverage,
underinsured (UIM) coverage, and medical payments coverage, and the situations in which each
type of coverage takes effect.

a. Bodily injury liability coverage pays for claims made by individuals who sustain
damages in an accident caused by an insured individual.

b. Property damage liability coverage pays for any damage that an insured individual
causes to another individual's or entity's property.

C. UM coverage provides coverage to the policyholder, the policyholder's family, or
other occupants of the policyholder's vehicle, when damages are incurred in an accident with an
uninsured motorist or in an accident with a hit-and-run driver.

d. UIM coverage provides coverage to the policyholder, the policyholder's family, and
other occupants of the policyholder's vehicle, when the party who caused the accident has lower
bodily injury limits than the UIM coverage limits.

e. Medical payments coverage pays medical payments or chiropractic payments for the
policyholder or other individuals using the insured vehicle who incur damages in an accident,
regardless of who caused the accident.

2. Table 1 compares the minimum required limits for each type of coverage under
current law and under AB 75, and the year when the current minimum limits were last revised.
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TABLE 1
Minimum Required Limits, Current Law and AB 75

Year Current Limit
Current Was Last Revised AB 75

Liability Coverage

Bodily Injury or Death to One Person in an Accident $25,000 1982 $100,000
Bodily Injury or Death to More than One Person in an Accident 50,000 1982 300,000
Property Damage 10,000 1978 25,000
Uninsured Motorist Coverage

Per Person 25,000 1982 100,000
Per Accident 50,000 1982 300,000
Underinsured Motorist Coverage*

Per Person 50,000 1995 100,000
Per Accident 100,000 1995 300,000
Medical Payments 1,000 1976 10,000

*Current law does not require motor vehicle liability insurance policies to include UIM coverage; the bill
would require motor vehicle liability insurance policies to include UIM coverage at the new minimum
coverage levels.

3. Legislation enacted in 1995 (1995 Wisconsin Act 21) allowed a motor vehicle
liability policy to include the following provisions: (a) anti-stacking language; (b) reducing clauses;
and (c) drive-other-car exclusions.

4. The following discussion points provide simplified examples of how each of these
provisions may work under current law and under the bill. These examples should not be interpreted
as applicable to every incident where UM or UIM coverage take effect, as the circumstances of any
given incident and the wording of any given policy affect how these provisions may be interpreted.
Further, these provisions have been the subject of extensive litigation, which cannot be summarized
in this document. These examples are provided to explain the general effect of the provisions in the
bill, when applied to a simplified situation.

5. Stacking. As an example of how stacking may be treated under current law and
under the bill, consider a situation where an individual ("Driver A™) owns two cars. Driver A has a
separate motor vehicle liability policy on each of those cars, and each of these policies include
unambiguous anti-stacking language, as permitted under current law. The UM coverage limit for
each policy is $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident.

a. Under current law, if Driver A is involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist,
Driver A would be able to use the coverage limits from the vehicle which was being used at the
time to compensate for damages, but not the coverage limits under the vehicle that was not involved
in the accident. The maximum coverage that Driver A would be allowed to apply to the incident
would be $100,000.
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b. Under the bill, the policies held by Driver A would not be allowed to include anti-
stacking language. Driver A would be able to "stack™ the coverage of the two policies, and the UM
coverage limits under both policies would be available to compensate for losses. The maximum
coverage that Driver A would be allowed to apply to the incident would be $200,000, the total limit
on the two separate policies.

6. Reducing. The attachment to this paper illustrates three examples that compare how
a reducing clause may be applied under current law, and how these situations would work under the
bill. The three scenarios involve an accident between two vehicles, where Driver A sustains a
certain amount of damages in an accident caused by Driver B. Driver A has $100,000 of UIM
coverage for one person involved in an accident, and Driver B has $50,000 of liability coverage for
bodily injury to one person. In these examples, Driver A's UIM policy contains a reducing clause, as
permitted under current law. The following describe each example illustrated in Attachment 1:

a. In Example 1, Driver A sustains $80,000 of damages. Driver B's liability policy
would pay $50,000, and Driver A's UIM policy would pay $30,000, for a total of $80,000. This
situation would be the same under current law and AB 75.

b. In Example 2, Driver A sustains $120,000 of damages. Under current law, Driver
B's liability policy would pay $50,000, and Driver A's UIM policy would pay $50,000, for a total of
$100,000. In this scenario, Driver A's UIM policy is "reduced” by the amount paid by Driver B's
liability policy. Under the bill, Driver B's liability policy would pay $50,000, and Driver A's UIM
policy would pay $70,000, for a total of $120,000.

C. In Example 3, Driver A sustains $180,000 of damages. Under current law, Driver
B's liability policy would pay $50,000, and Driver A's UIM policy would pay $50,000, for a total of
$100,000. In this scenario, Driver A's UIM policy is "reduced" by the amount paid by Driver B's
liability policy. Under the bill, Driver B's liability policy would pay $50,000, and Driver A's UIM
policy would pay $100,000, for a total of $150,000.

7. Drive-other-car. Under the provisions in the Governor's bill, no policy could provide
that the policy's coverage does not apply to a vehicle owned by the named insured (or the named
insured's spouse or relative that resides in the same household as the named insured) that is not
listed under the motor vehicle liability policy, and is not covered as a newly acquired or replacement
motor vehicle. This would allow an insured to list one automobile on a policy, pay the premium for
that automobile, then extend the coverage under that policy to other vehicles owned by the insured
or members of the insured's household.

8. The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) has not prepared, nor does it
plan to prepare, an estimate of the effect the provisions in AB 75 would have on premiums paid for
motor vehicle liability insurance. However, OCI expects that the provisions of AB 75 would
increase motor vehicle liability insurance premiums, reflecting the increase in coverage that would
be provided by these policies.

9. The Wisconsin Insurance Alliance (WIA), an organization that represents property
and casualty insurance companies, estimates that auto insurance premiums for individuals that
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currently purchase the minimum liability coverage levels of 25/50/10 would increase by 33% to
43%, if limits are raised to 100/300/25 and the provisions relating to stacking policies were enacted.

10.  This office shared the results of the WIA analysis with faculty at the University of
Wisconsin-Madison Department of Actuarial Science, Risk Management, and Insurance, and with
faculty at the School of Risk Management and Actuarial Science at St. John's University in New
York. In both cases, the faculty members opined that the approach WIA used to reach its conclusion
appeared reasonable.

11. It should be noted that the effect on premiums cited in the previous point represents
the estimated effect on individuals who purchase the current minimum level needed to satisfy
financial responsibility requirements. Individuals who purchase more than these minimum levels
would expect to see smaller premium increases, and any actual effect would depend upon the
characteristics of the insured individual in question. It is estimated that approximately 20% to 25%
of insured drivers currently purchase less than the 100/300/25 levels of liability coverage that would
be required under the bill.

12.  Wisconsin and New Hampshire are the only states that do not currently have
compulsory motor vehicle liability policy laws. Although Wisconsin does not require drivers to
have motor vehicle liability insurance, the rate of uninsured motorists in the state was 15% in 2007,
slightly above the national average of 13.8% at that time. Table 2 provides the estimated percentage
of uninsured motorists by state in 2007.

TABLE 2

Estimated Percentage of Uninsured Motorists, 2007
Source: Insurance Research Council

New Mexico 29% Nevada 15% Kansas 10%
Mississippi 28 Texas 15 Connecticut 9
Alabama 26 Wisconsin 15 Idaho 9
Oklahoma 24 Indiana 14 South Carolina 9
Florida 23 Missouri 14 Virginia 9
Tennessee 20 Rhode Island 14 Wyoming 9
Arizona 18 Alaska 13 Nebraska 8
California 18 Georgia 12 New Jersey 8
Michigan 17 Hawaii 12 Utah 8
Kentucky 16 lowa 12 West Virginia 8
Ohio 16 Louisiana 12 Pennsylvania 7
Washington 16 Maryland 12 South Dakota 7
Arkansas 15 Minnesota 12 Vermont 6
Colorado 15 North Carolina 12 New York 5
D.C. 15 New Hampshire 11 North Dakota 5
lllinois 15 Oregon 11 Maine 4
Montana 15 Delaware 10 Massachusetts 1
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13.  To the extent that individuals are unable or unwilling to pay a potential increase in
premiums, the number of uninsured drivers in Wisconsin may rise. However, it is not possible to
project the percentage of drivers that would decide to drop motor vehicle liability insurance
coverage as a result of these provisions.

14.  The purpose of these provisions is to increase insurance coverage available to
individuals who are involved in motor vehicle accidents. If the Committee determines that the need
to provide this additional coverage is a priority at this time, it could approve all of the Governor's
recommendations (Alternative 1). A technical modification is required to change a reference in
Section 3161 of the bill from "uninsured motorist coverage™ to "underinsured motorist coverage."
An additional modification should be made so that it is clear that umbrella and excess liability
insurance policies are not subject to the statutory requirement to provide UM or UIM coverage. This
corrects a possible contradiction in the bill language.

15. However, the Committee could decide to delete some or all of these provisions from
the bill, due to concerns over the potential effect of these changes on the cost of motor vehicle
liability coverage (Alternative 3).

16.  The Committee could decide also decide that increasing the minimum limits for
motor vehicle liability insurance policies, and the prohibition of certain policy provisions, are
separate issues. Consequently, the Committee could delete the prohibition of certain policy
provisions (described on page 4), while maintaining the remaining provisions in the bill.
Alternatively, it could delete the provisions that increase in the minimum mandated limits only,
while maintaining the remaining provisions in the bill (Alternative 2). If the Committee acts on any
one of these alternatives, all other provisions in the bill relating to motor vehicle liability insurance
policies would remain in the bill.

ALTERNATIVES

1. Approve the Governor's recommendations, but change a reference in Section 3161
of the bill from "uninsured motorist coverage" to "underinsured motorist coverage,” and clarify that
umbrella and excess liability policies are not mandated to include UM and UIM coverage.

2. Delete the following provisions from the bill:

a. Delete the provision provides that no policy would be allowed to provide that,
regardless of the number of policies involved, vehicles involved, persons covered, claims made,
vehicles or premiums shown on the policy, or premiums paid, the limits for any coverage under
the policy may not be added to the limits for similar coverage applying to other motor vehicles to
determine the limit of insurance coverage available for bodily injury or death suffered by a
person in any on accident.

b. Delete the provision provides that no policy would be allowed to provide that the
maximum amount of UM, UIM or medical payments motorist coverage available for bodily
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injury or death suffered by a person who was not using a motor vehicle at the time of the
accident is any single limit of UM, UIM or medical payments coverage, whichever is applicable,
for any motor vehicle with respect to which the individual is insured.

C. Delete the provision provides that no policy would be allowed to provide that the
limits under the policy for UM or UIM coverage for bodily injury or death resulting from any
one accident shall be reduced by any of the following that apply: (a) amounts paid by or on
behalf of any person or organization that may be legally responsible for the bodily injury or
death for which the payment is made; (b) amounts paid or payable under any worker's
compensation law; or (c) amounts paid or payable under any disability benefits laws.

d. Delete the provision provides that no policy would be allowed to provide that any
coverage under the policy does not apply to a loss resulting from the use of a motor vehicle that
meets all of the following conditions: (a) is owned by the named insured, or is owned by the
named insured's spouse or a relative of the named insured if the spouse or relative resides in the
same household as the named insured; (b) is not described in the policy under which the claim is
made; and (c) is not covered under the terms of a policy as a newly acquired or replacement
motor vehicle.

e. Delete the provision that would prohibit a health insurer from refusing to cover
health care services that are provided under a health care plan on the basis that there may be
coverage for the services under a liability insurance policy.

f. Delete the provisions that increase the minimum limits that a motor vehicle
liability insurance policy must have to satisfy requirements for financial responsibility.

g. Delete the provisions that increase the minimum required coverage limits of UM
coverage.

h. Delete the provisions that increase the minimum required coverage limits of UIM
coverage.

I. Delete the provisions that increase the minimum required coverage limits of
medical payments coverage.

3. Delete all of the provisions relating to motor vehicle liability insurance in the bill.

Prepared by: Sam Austin
Attachment
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ATTACHMENT 1

Reducing Clauses Example 1

Current Law AB 75
$100,000
$80,000 $80,000 $80,000
Driver § Driver §
Driver Damages (ﬁ):vléjrlz;vl e 8 (ﬁ):vléjrlz;vl e 8
A: UIM $50,000 Incurgad ’ e ) e
Coverage
Driver B: by Driver B: Driver B:
Bodily Driver A Bodily | 8 Bodily | 8
Injury njury | & njury | S
Liability Liability | 8 Liability | 8
Coverage Coverage Coverage
Reducing Clauses Example 2
Current Law AB 75
$120,000 $120,000
$100,000 $100,000 .
Driver o
Driver | o A:UIM | 8
Damages A UIM 8_ Coverage |
. Incurred Coverage | Q b
Driver by &
A-UIM $50,000 Driver A
Coverage Driver B: Driver B: Driver B:
Bodily Bodily S Bodily 8
- - o - o
Injury Injury S Injury S
Liability Liability | 8 Liability | £
Coverage Coverage Coverage
Reducing Clauses Example 3
Current Law AB 75
$180,000
$150,000
$100,000 $100,000 .
Driver
Damages Driver o A:UIM | o
: =] Coverage | S
Incurred AUIM | 8 ge | S
by Coverage | Q S
Driver Driver A & 2
A: UM $50,000
Coverage Driver B: Driver B: Driver
Bodily Bodily | 8 B:Bodily | S
Injury njury | S Injury | &
Liability Liability | 2 Liability | £
Coverage Coverage Coverage
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