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CURRENT LAW 

 Under current law, if the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requires a person to file 
information returns or wage statements electronically for federal income tax purposes, the person 
is required to also file comparable state information returns or wage statements electronically 
with the Department of Revenue (DOR). Under administrative rules, tax preparers or tax 
preparation entities are required to file individual income tax returns electronically, if the 
preparer or entity prepared 100 or more individual income tax returns in the prior year. 

GOVERNOR 

 Modify statutory provisions related to electronic filing of tax returns as follows: 

 a. Provide that, if a person is required to file 50 or more wage statements or 50 or 
more of any one type of information return with DOR, the person would be required to file the 
statements or the returns electronically. If a person failed to file a statement or return 
electronically, as required by DOR, a penalty of $10 for each case of noncompliance could be 
imposed. 

 b. Create a penalty for failure to electronically file an individual income tax return. 
If any tax return preparer or tax preparation entity that the Department required, by rule, to 
electronically file individual income tax returns prepared by the preparer or entity, failed to 
electronically file one or more returns, the tax return preparer or tax preparation entity would be 
subject to a $50 penalty for each return that was not electronically filed.  The Department would 
be required to waive a penalty if the tax return preparer or tax preparation entity showed that the 
violation resulted from a reasonable cause and not willful neglect. 
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 c. For the purposes of filing the rental vehicle or dry cleaning fee, define "file" to 
mean mail or deliver a document that DOR prescribes to the Department, or to use another 
method of submitting or submit to another destination, if prescribed by the Department. This 
would allow DOR to require electronic filing of those fee returns. 

 These provisions would take effect on January 1, 2010, and result in a minimal increase 
in revenues from the penalties. 

DISCUSSION POINTS 

1. Current law includes the following mandates for electronic filing of state tax returns 
and related information: 

 a.    DOR is authorized to require a person that is registered (or required to be registered) for 
Wisconsin sales and use tax purposes to file its sales and use tax returns by an electronic means.  

 b.      A tax preparer or tax preparation firm that prepared 100 or more Wisconsin individual 
income tax returns for the prior tax year is required to file the current year individual income tax 
returns by electronic means 

 c.      DOR may require an employer that is registered (or required to be registered) to 
withhold Wisconsin income taxes from employees' wages to file its WT-7 form by electronic 
means. The WT-7 form is the employer's annual reconciliation of Wisconsin income tax withheld 
from employee wages.   

2. The Secretary of Revenue may waive each of these electronic filing requirements, if 
the Secretary determines that the requirement causes an undue hardship. In determining whether the 
electronic filing requirement causes undue hardship, the Secretary can consider the following 
factors: (a) unusual circumstances that could prevent filing by an electronic means; or (b) any other 
factor the Secretary determines is pertinent. In order to receive a waiver, a person must request the 
waiver in writing, and clearly indicate why the electronic filing requirement causes undue hardship. 

3. There are no penalties imposed for failure to file in an electronic means, sales and 
use tax returns, tax preparer/tax preparation firm income tax returns, and WT-7 forms. 

4. Current law also requires wage statements and information returns to be filed 
electronically with DOR if: (a) the IRS requires comparable documents to be filed on magnetic 
media or in machine-readable form; and (b) the person filing the documents files more than 250 
wage statements or information returns with the state. 

5. The bill would make three changes to current law electronic-filing mandate 
provisions: 

 a.        The threshold number of wage statements and information returns required to be filed 
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with DOR that would trigger the electronic filing requirement for such forms would be lowered 
from 250 to 50, and a $10 penalty would be established for each case of failure to file electronically. 
According to DOR a total of 2,800 employers are currently subject to electronic filing requirements 
for wage statements and information returns. An additional 10,000 employers would be subject to 
the filing requirements due to the lower amount of statements and returns that establish the 
electronic filing requirement. 

 b.        A $50 penalty would be established for each individual income tax return that was 
not filed electronically by a tax preparer or tax preparation entity that was subject to electronic filing 
requirements. DOR indicates that 1,550 tax preparers/ tax preparation firms are subject to the 
current electronic filing requirement. 

 c.         DOR would be authorized to require that rental vehicle fee and dry cleaning facility 
fee returns be filed electronically. There are approximately 200 taxpayers subject to the rental 
vehicle fee, and 225 taxpayers subject to the dry cleaning facility fee. 

6. DOR indicates that the electronic filing provisions and related penalties would 
increase the use of electronic filing, and compliance with electronic filing requirements. Studies 
have found that increases in the fine rate on tax returns slightly increase compliance. The income 
fine rate elasticity is less than 0.1, meaning an overall 10% increase in all penalties would result in a 
less than 1% increase in collections (Alm, 2008). Electronic filing improves tax processing 
administration and reduces taxpayer errors. For example, paper income tax returns cost about $3.85 
to process compared with 0.82 cents for electronically filed returns. The error rate on paper sales tax 
returns is about 14.4% compared with 2.2% for electronically filed sales tax returns. 

7. By reducing the threshold amount of wage statements and information returns, a 
number of smaller businesses could be subject to the electronic filing requirements. In addition, 
individually owned dry cleaners and rent-a-car businesses could be required to file rental vehicle 
and dry cleaning facility fees electronically. Businesses filing paper returns might be forced to 
purchase software or other filing services from private vendors. A 2005 study of small businesses 
conducted by the National Federation of Independent Business ("NFIB National Small Business 
Poll, The State of Technology") indicated that 32% of respondents did not employ high-speed 
Internet in their business. The study notes that "the data suggest that most small businesses have 
relatively limited technological capabilities."  However, it is likely that this percentage is smaller in 
2009. 

8. There are no penalties for failure to file sales tax returns and WT-7 forms 
electronically, under current law, and no penalty provisions are included in the bill. To provide 
consistent treatment for e-filers, an alternative would be to also establish a $50 penalty for not filing 
sales tax returns electronically, and a penalty of $10 for not filing WT-7 forms electronically. For 
tax year 2008, approximately 488,600 sales tax returns were filed electronically. About 42,600 
WT-7 forms were filed electronically. There would be a minimal increase in revenues due to the 
penalties. 
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ALTERNATIVES  

 1. Adopt the Governor's recommendation to: (a) require a person that is required to 
file 50 or more wage statements or 50 or more of any one type of information return with DOR, 
to file the statements or the returns electronically subject to a penalty of $10 for each case of 
noncompliance; (b) create a penalty of $50 for each return for failure to electronically file an 
individual income tax return; (c) and authorize DOR to require electronic filing for the rental 
vehicle and dry cleaning fees. 

 2.  In addition to the Governor's recommendation:  (a) create a penalty of $10 for 
each case or noncompliance for failure to file a WT-7 form electronically; and (b) create a 
penalty of $50 for each return for failure to file a sales tax return electronically. 

 3. Delete the Governor's recommendation. 
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