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CURRENT LAW 

 Deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) analysis is a forensic tool utilized by law enforcement to 
solve crimes.  Under s. 165.77 of the statutes, the state crime laboratories at the Department of 
Justice (DOJ) are required to provide DNA analysis and maintain a DNA databank.  The 
laboratories are required to analyze the DNA in a human biological specimen, if requested: (a) 
by a law enforcement agency regarding an investigation; (b) pursuant to a court order; and (c) by 
an individual regarding his or her own specimen, subject to rules established by DOJ. 

 Under current law, the following persons are required to submit a biological specimen for 
development and inclusion in the state's DNA database: 

 1. Those found guilty or delinquent of first- or second-degree sexual assault, 
engaging in repeated sexual assaults of the same child, or sexual assault of a child placed in 
substitute care (this category includes those in institutional care or those found not guilty of such 
crimes by reason of mental disease or defect); 

 2. Those committed as sexually violent persons; 

 3. Those in prison for a felony committed in Wisconsin; 

 4. Those sentenced to prison or placed on probation for a felony conviction (this 
category includes those in institutional care, or those found not guilty of such crimes by reason 
of mental disease or defect); 
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 5. Those convicted of certain serious crimes ordered by a judge to submit a DNA 
sample (this category includes those in institutional care or those found not guilty of such crimes 
by reason of mental disease or defect); 

 6. Those on parole, extended supervision or on probation in another state (but 
supervised in Wisconsin) for a violation in the other state that the Department of Corrections 
determines would be subject to 1 or 4 above, if committed in Wisconsin; or 

 7. Those convicted of misdemeanor violations of: (a) intentional failure to submit a 
required biological specimen; (b) fourth-degree sexual assault; (c) lewd and lascivious behavior; 
and (d) exposing genitals or pubic area. This category includes those in institutional care, or 
those found not guilty of such crimes by reason of mental disease or defect.  

GOVERNOR 

 Provide $2,178,100 PR and 16.0 PR positions in 2013-14, and $3,930,400 PR and 26.0 
PR positions in 2014-15, to collect DNA samples at arrest or conviction from juveniles and 
adults for specified alleged offenses or convictions.  Funding would include: (a) $1,155,800 in 
2013-14, and $2,071,800 in 2014-15, in supplies and services costs; (b) $661,300 in 2013-14, 
and $1,274,600 in 2014-15 for salary and fringe benefit costs; (c) $192,600 in 2013-14, and 
$426,300 in 2014-15 in rent costs; (d) $168,400 in 2013-14, and $147,700 in 2014-15 for one-
time financing costs; and (e) $10,000 in 2014-15 for local assistance.   

 The DNA collection at arrest initiative would be provided additional expenditure 
authority of $2,178,100 PR in 2013-14, and $3,680,400 PR in 2014-15, which is supported by 
the $13 crime laboratory and drug law enforcement surcharge and the $250 DNA surcharge.  The 
bill would permit DOJ to pay persons in charge of law enforcement and tribal law enforcement 
agencies for the costs of collecting biological specimens.  Under current law, DOJ is limited to 
paying county sheriffs for costs incurred to collect biological specimens. 

 Delete current law which provides that a court must impose a $250 DNA surcharge if an 
individual is sentenced or placed on probation for the following violations: (a) sexual assault; (b) 
first or second degree sexual assault of a child; (c) engaging in repeated act of sexual assault of 
the same child; and (d) sexual assault of a child placed in substitute care.  Further, delete current 
law which provides that a court may impose a $250 DNA surcharge if an individual is sentenced 
or placed on probation for a felony violation.  

 Instead, provide that if a court imposes a sentence or places a person on probation for any 
felony or misdemeanor violation, the court must impose the DNA surcharge.  Under the bill, for 
each felony conviction a $250 DNA surcharge would be imposed, while for each misdemeanor 
conviction a $200 DNA surcharge would be imposed.  The administration estimates that these 
fee changes would generate additional revenue of $1,989,400 PR in 2013-14, and $3,546,800 PR 
in 2014-15.       

 The initiative would also be funded from $250,000 PR in additional expenditure authority 
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provided in 2014-15 to the crime laboratory equipment and supplies appropriation, which is 
supported by penalty surcharge revenue.  The bill would amend the appropriation to permit DOJ 
to utilize expenditure authority to pay for operating costs of the state crime laboratories.  Under 
current law, this appropriation may only be utilized to address crime laboratory equipment costs 
and crime laboratory equipment supply costs.  

 Collection of Biological Samples from Juveniles When Taken into Custody.  Provide 
that, subject to rules promulgated by DOJ, all persons in charge of law enforcement and tribal 
law enforcement agencies must obtain, when the individual's fingerprints or other identifying 
data are obtained, a biological specimen for DNA analysis from each minor taken into custody 
for an alleged violation that would be a felony if committed by an adult in this state or for an 
alleged misdemeanor violation constituting fourth degree sexual assault, endangering safety by 
use of a dangerous weapon, lewd and lascivious behavior, prostitution, pandering, patronizing 
prostitutes, failure to submit a biological specimen, or exposing genitals or pubic area to a child.  
The person in charge of the law enforcement or tribal law enforcement agency must submit the 
specimen to the State Crime Laboratories for DNA analysis and inclusion of the individual's 
DNA profile in the DOJ DNA data bank.  Provide that DNA samples must be obtained and 
submitted as specified in rule by DOJ.   

 If a juvenile has been taken into custody or is before the court on the basis of an alleged 
violation that would be a felony if committed by an adult in this state or for an alleged 
misdemeanor violation listed above, the court in certain juvenile delinquency proceedings must 
determine if a biological specimen has been obtained from the juvenile, and if not, the court must 
direct the law enforcement agency or tribal law enforcement agency to obtain a biological 
specimen from the juvenile and submit it to the State Crime Laboratories as specified in rule by 
DOJ.  

 Collection of Biological Samples from Juveniles at Other Times.  Provide that a court 
must require a juvenile to provide a biological specimen to the State Crime Laboratories for 
DNA analysis if: (a) the juvenile was found not responsible by reason of mental disease or 
defect; (b) the juvenile is before the court on a petition filed under a court order because there 
was a probable cause finding that the juvenile is dangerous and mentally ill or drug dependent or 
developmentally disabled and is a proper subject for treatment; and (c) the juvenile is found to 
have committed a violation that would be a felony if committed by an adult in this state or a 
misdemeanor violation listed above.  

 Provide that a juvenile must provide a biological specimen to the State Crime 
Laboratories for DNA analysis if the juvenile was adjudicated delinquent for an act that if 
committed by an adult in this state would be a felony or a misdemeanor violation listed above. 

 Delete the current law provision which provides that if a juvenile is adjudicated 
delinquent for any violation of chapters 940 (crimes against life and bodily security), 944 (crimes 
against sexual morality), 948 (crimes against children), s. 943.01 (damage to property); and s. 
943.15 (entry onto a construction site or into a locked building, dwelling, or room), the court 
may require the juvenile to provide a biological specimen for DNA analysis.  
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  [Under current law juveniles are generally not required to provide a biological specimen 
for a misdemeanor violation and are required to provide a biological specimen for the following 
felony violations: (a) sexual assault; (b) first or second degree sexual assault of a child; (c) 
engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child; and (d) sexual assault of a child 
placed in substitute care.]  

   Collection of Biological Samples from Adults at Arrest.  Provide that, subject to rules 
promulgated by DOJ, all persons in charge of law enforcement and tribal law enforcement 
agencies must obtain, when the individual's fingerprints or other identifying data are obtained, a 
biological specimen for DNA analysis from each individual arrested for an alleged felony or for 
an alleged misdemeanor violation constituting fourth degree sexual assault, endangering safety 
by use of a dangerous weapon, lewd and lascivious behavior, prostitution, pandering, patronizing 
prostitutes, failure to submit a biological specimen, or exposing genitals or pubic area to a child.  
The person in charge of the law enforcement or tribal law enforcement agency must submit the 
specimen to the State Crime Laboratories for DNA analysis and inclusion of the individual's 
DNA profile in the DOJ DNA data bank.  Provide that DNA samples must be obtained and 
submitted as specified in rule by DOJ.  

 If the alleged offense is a felony or an alleged misdemeanor violation listed above, the 
judge at the initial appearance must determine if a biological specimen has been obtained from 
the defendant, and if not, the judge must direct that a law enforcement agency or tribal law 
enforcement agency obtain a biological specimen from the defendant and submit it to the State 
Crime Laboratories as specified in rules by DOJ.   

 Collection of Biological Samples from Adults at Other Times.  Specify that if a court 
imposes a sentence or places a person on probation for any felony or misdemeanor conviction, 
the court must require the person to provide a biological specimen to the State Crime 
Laboratories for DNA analysis.  [Under current law, this requirement only applies to a felony 
conviction and for convictions for failure to submit a biological specimen, fourth degree sexual 
assault, lewd and lascivious behavior, and for a misdemeanor violation of exposing genitals or 
pubic area.]   

 Specify that an adult must provide a biological specimen to the State Crime Laboratories 
for DNA analysis: (a) for any misdemeanor conviction; or (b) if sentenced or placed on 
probation on or after August 12, 1993, for a sexual assault violation, first or second degree 
sexual assault of a child, or engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child.  

 If an individual is found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect for a 
misdemeanor violation constituting fourth degree sexual assault, endangering safety by use of a 
dangerous weapon, lewd and lascivious behavior, prostitution, pandering, or patronizing 
prostitutes, the court must require the person to provide a biological specimen to the State Crime 
Laboratories for DNA analysis.  Required biological specimens must be obtained and submitted 
as specified in administrative rules promulgated by DOJ.  [Under current law, if an individual is 
found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect for a felony, or for a misdemeanor 
violation of failure to submit a biological specimen or exposing genitals or pubic area to a child, 
the court must require the person to provide a biological specimen to the State Crime 
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Laboratories for DNA analysis.]   

 Authorized Use of Force and Immunity to Collect Biological Specimen.  A law 
enforcement officer, a jail officer, a tribal officer, a correctional officer, a probation, extended 
supervision or parole officer, or an employee of the Department of Health Services may use 
reasonable force to obtain a biological specimen from a person who intentionally refuses to 
provide a biological specimen that is required under state law.  These officers and employees are 
immune from civil or criminal liability for collecting a biological specimen if the individual is 
required to provide a specimen under state law, collection is completed in compliance with this 
section, and the collection is performed in good faith and in a reasonable manner.  

 Destruction of Collected Biological Specimens.  Delete the current law requirement that 
the State Crime Laboratories must destroy human biological specimens obtained under the DNA 
sample collection laws after analysis has been completed and the applicable court proceedings 
have concluded.   

 Removal of DNA Analysis Data from DOJ's DNA Data Bank. Delete current law which 
provides that a person whose DNA analysis data has been included in DOJ's DNA data bank 
may request expungement on the grounds that his or her conviction or adjudication has been 
reversed, set aside, or vacated.  Under current law, the State Crime Laboratories must purge all 
records and identifiable information in DOJ's DNA data bank pertaining to the person and 
destroy all samples from the person if it receives: (a) the person's written request for 
expungement; and (b) a certified copy of the court order reversing, setting aside or vacating the 
conviction or adjudication.   

 Instead, provide that a person whose DNA analysis data has been included in the DOJ 
DNA data bank may request expungement on the grounds that all of the following conditions are 
satisfied: 

 a. If the person was required to submit a biological specimen as the result of a 
criminal conviction, juvenile delinquency finding, or commitment, all convictions or 
adjudications for which the person was required to submit a biological specimen have been 
reversed, set aside, or vacated.  

 b. If the adult or juvenile was required to provide a biological specimen at arrest or 
taking into custody one of the following applies: (1) at least one year has passed since the person 
was arrested or taken into custody and no criminal complaint or delinquency petition alleging 
that the person committed a violation of law requiring the submission of a biological specimen 
has been filed against the person in connection with the arrest or taking into custody; (2) all 
charges, criminal complaints, or delinquency petitions alleging that the person violated a law 
requiring the submission of a biological specimen in connection with the arrest or taking into 
custody have been dismissed; (3) the trial court reached final disposition for all charges in 
connection with the arrest or taking into custody, and for any charges or allegations for which the 
person was required to provide a biological specimen, and the person was not convicted or 
adjudged delinquent in connection with the arrest or taking into custody or any charge for which 
the person was required to provide a biological specimen; and (4) the person was convicted or 
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adjudged delinquent for a crime or juvenile offense requiring the submission of a biological 
specimen in connection with the arrest or taking into custody and the conviction or delinquency 
adjudication has been reversed, set aside, or vacated.  

 Provide that if an individual has satisfied the conditions to request expungement of his or 
her DNA analysis data from DOJ's DNA data bank, the State Crime Laboratories must purge all 
records and identifiable information in the data bank pertaining to the person and destroy all 
samples from the person upon receiving the person's written request for expungement and any 
documentation DOJ requires under its administrative rules.   

 Allowance to Use any Data Residing in DOJ's DNA Data Bank, However Received. An 
entry in the DOJ DNA data bank that is found to be erroneous does not prohibit the legitimate 
use of the entry to further a criminal investigation or prosecution.  The failure of a law 
enforcement agency or the State Crime Laboratories to comply with state law regarding the 
collection of biological specimens, or any rules or procedures adopted to administer this law, is 
not grounds for challenging the validity of the data collection, for challenging the use of the 
sample, or for the suppression of evidence based upon or derived from any entry in the data 
bank.  

 Administration of DNA Sample Collection.  Delete current law which specifies that 
unless otherwise provided by rule a person who is required to provide a biological specimen 
must provide the biological specimen at the following time and place: 

 a. If the person has been placed on probation by a court in this state, as soon as 
practicable after placement at the office of a county sheriff, except, if directed otherwise by the 
person's probation, extended supervision, and parole agent, then as directed by the agent; 

 b. If the person has been on probation, parole, or extended supervision in this state 
from another state and the Department of Corrections directs the person to provide a biological 
specimen, as soon as practicable after placement at the office of a county sheriff, except, if 
directed otherwise by the person's probation, extended supervision, and parole agent, then as 
directed by the agent; 

 c. If the person has been placed on supervision as a juvenile, as soon as practicable 
after placement at the office of the county sheriff, except, if directed otherwise by the agency 
providing supervision, then as directed by the agency; 

 d. If the person has been sentenced to prison, while in prison as directed by the 
Department of Corrections; and if the person does not provide the biological sample while in 
prison, then as soon as practicable after release from the prison at the office of a county sheriff, 
except, if directed otherwise by his or her probation, parole, and extended supervision agent, then 
as directed by the agent; 

 e. If the person has been placed in a juvenile correctional facility or a secured 
residential care center for children and youth, while in the facility or center as directed by the 
Department of Corrections; and if the juvenile does not provide the biological specimen while in 
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the facility or center, then as soon as practicable after release from the facility or center, at the 
office of a county sheriff, except, if directed otherwise by the agency providing supervision, then 
as directed by the agency; 

 f. If the person has been sentenced to a county jail or county house of corrections, as 
directed by the office of the county sheriff as soon as practicable after sentencing; and if the 
person does not provide the biological specimen while in the county jail or county house of 
corrections, as soon after release from the county jail or county house of corrections as 
practicable, at the office of the county sheriff; 

 g. If the person has been involuntary committed for treatment, committed because 
found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect, or found to be a sexually violent person, 
then as directed by the Department of Health Services; 

 h. If a. through g. does not apply, as soon as practicable after the obligation to 
provide a biological specimen accrues at the office of a county sheriff, except, if directed 
otherwise by the agent or agency providing supervision or having legal or physical custody of 
the person.   

 In addition, delete current law which provides that if a county sheriff, the Department of 
Corrections, or the Department of Health Services determines that a person who is required to 
submit a biological specimen has submitted a biological specimen and that data obtained from 
analysis of the person's biological specimen is included in DOJ's DNA data bank, the person is 
not required to submit another biological specimen.   

 Instead, require DOJ to promulgate rules to: (a) establish procedures and time limits for 
obtaining and submitting biological specimens; (b) specify whether an individual who is required 
to provide a biological specimen for DNA analysis must provide a new biological specimen if 
the crime laboratories already have a biological specimen from the individual or if data obtained 
from DNA analysis of the individual's biological specimen are already included in the DOJ DNA 
data bank; (c) allow a biological specimen or data obtained from analysis of a biological 
specimen to be submitted for inclusion in one or more national index systems; and (d) provide 
reimbursement for the collection of biological specimens to a person in charge of a law 
enforcement agency or tribal law enforcement agency at a rate of $10 per specimen except that, 
if DOJ already has a biological specimen, or data obtained from analysis of a biological 
specimen, from the individual, DOJ may not reimburse the person in charge of the agency.   

 Further, amend current law to provide that DOJ must promulgate rules to carry out its 
DNA collection duties, instead of specifying that the Department may promulgate such rules.   

 Finally, provide that DOJ may, by rule, bring the method to obtain or to submit a 
biological specimen in conformity with the act of Congress known as the Katie Sepich Enhanced 
DNA Collection Act of 2012 (HR-6014) to apply for nonsupplanting grant funding under that 
Act.   

 [The federal Katie Sepich Enhanced DNA Collection Act creates a grant program funded 
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at $10 million annually to fund expenses incurred by a state to implement a DNA collection at 
arrest program.  As a condition to receiving a grant under the program, a state must have a 
procedure in place to: (a) provide written notification of expungement provisions and 
instructions for requesting expungement to all persons who submit a DNA profile; (b) provide 
the eligibility criteria for expungement and instructions for requesting expungement on an 
appropriate public Web site; and (c) make a determination on all expungement requests no later 
than 90 days after receipt and provide a written response of the determination to the requesting 
party.] 

 Nonstatutory Legislative Findings.  Under the bill, the Legislature finds that: 

 a. the state has a compelling interest in the accurate identification of criminal 
offenders and that there is a critical and urgent need to provide law enforcement officers and 
agencies with the latest scientific technology available for accurately and expeditiously 
identifying, apprehending, arresting, and convicting criminal offenders and exonerating 
individuals wrongly suspected or accused of a crime.   

 b. deoxyribonucleic acid testing allows a more certain and rapid identification of 
offenders as well as the exoneration of those wrongfully suspected or accused and that 
deoxyribonucleic acid data banks are an important tool in criminal investigations and in deterring 
and detecting recidivist acts.   

 c. deoxyribonucleic acid testing at the earliest stages of criminal and juvenile 
proceedings will help prevent perpetrators from concealing their identities and will prevent time-
consuming and expensive investigations of innocent individuals.   

 d. the degree of intrusion on an individual's privacy interests is minimized by the 
method of collection of the biological sample, by the policy of using only deoxyribonucleic acid 
sequences not currently associated with any known physical or medical characteristics in the 
creation of a deoxyribonucleic acid profile, by the limited purposes for which a deoxyribonucleic 
acid profile may be used under state and federal law, and by the availability of expungement for 
individuals who are not charged with or convicted of the offenses for which the deoxyribonucleic 
acid sample was collected.  

 Initial Applicability.  Provide that the changes made to the application and amount of the 
$250 DNA surcharge would first apply to sentences imposed or probation placements made on 
the day after publication of the 2013-15 biennial budget bill.  

 Specify that these remaining provisions would first apply on the first day of the 15th 
month beginning after publication of the 2013-15 biennial budget bill: 

 a. The expanded requirement that a juvenile as a part of a delinquency adjudication 
provide a biological specimen to the State Crime Laboratories for DNA analysis if the juvenile is 
found to have committed a violation that would be a felony if committed by an adult in this state 
or a misdemeanor violation constituting fourth degree sexual assault, endangering safety by use 
of a dangerous weapon, lewd and lascivious behavior, prostitution, pandering, patronizing 
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prostitutes, failure to submit a biological specimen, or exposing genitals or pubic area to a child.  

 b. The modified requirements applicable to requests for expungement of an 
individual's DNA analysis data included in the DOJ DNA data bank.  

 c. The requirement to collect biological specimens from juveniles when taken into 
custody and adults when arrested 

 d. The requirement that a court in certain juvenile delinquency proceedings must 
determine if a biological specimen has been obtained from the juvenile, and if not, the court must 
direct the law enforcement agency or tribal law enforcement agency to obtain a biological 
sample from the juvenile and submit it to the State Crime Laboratories. 

 e. The requirement that a judge at the initial appearance must determine if any 
required biological specimen has been obtained from the defendant, and if not, the judge must 
direct that a law enforcement agency or a tribal law enforcement agency obtain a biological 
specimen from the defendant and submit it to the State Crime Laboratories.  

 f. The expanded requirement to obtain biological specimens from defendants found 
not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect and provide these specimens to the State Crime 
Laboratories for DNA analysis.  

 g. The expanded requirement for a court to require a person to provide a biological 
sample to the State Crime Laboratories for DNA analysis any time the court imposes a sentence 
or places a person on probation for any misdemeanor conviction.   

 Effective Date.  The proposed law changes regarding the DNA surcharge would take 
effect on the day after publication of the 2013-15 biennial budget bill.  The remaining proposed 
law changes regarding biological specimen collection and analysis would take effect on the first 
day of the 15th month beginning after publication of the 2013-15 biennial budget bill.   

DISCUSSION POINTS 

1. Current law generally limits the collection of biological specimens from adults to 
those individuals who have been convicted of a felony.  Under current law, juveniles are generally 
not required to provide a biological specimen for a misdemeanor violation but are required to 
provide a biological specimen for the following felony violations: (a) sexual assault; (b) first or 
second degree sexual assault of a child; (c) engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same 
child; and (d) sexual assault of a child placed in substitute care.  Under current law, DOJ processes 
approximately 13,000 biological samples annually.    

2. The provisions of AB 40 would provide that all persons in charge of law 
enforcement and tribal law enforcement agencies must obtain, when an adult's fingerprints or other 
identifying data are obtained, a biological specimen for DNA analysis from each adult individual 
arrested for an alleged felony or for an alleged misdemeanor violation constituting fourth degree 
sexual assault, endangering safety by use of a dangerous weapon, lewd and lascivious behavior, 
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prostitution, pandering, patronizing prostitutes, failure to submit a biological specimen, or exposing 
genitals or pubic area to a child.  The Department estimates that expanding biological sample 
collection to adults arrested for a felony violation would increase the number of collected and 
processed biological samples by 25,000 annually.  In arriving at this estimate, DOJ excluded all 
individuals arrested for felony violations under current law who are convicted of these felony 
violations.  The 25,000 additional adults from whom biological samples would be collected 
annually under this provision include adults: (a) subsequently convicted of a misdemeanor; (b) 
subsequently found liable for a civil violation; (c) subsequently acquitted; (d) for whom charges are 
later dropped; and (e) never charged.  In addition, the provisions of AB 40 would also require law 
enforcement to collect biological samples from individuals at arrest who will go on to be convicted 
of a felony charge. 

3. Assembly Bill 40 would further provide that all persons in charge of law 
enforcement and tribal law enforcement agencies must obtain, when a minor's fingerprints or other 
identifying data are obtained, a biological specimen for DNA analysis from each minor taken into 
custody for an alleged violation that would be a felony if committed by an adult in this state, or for 
an alleged misdemeanor listed above.  The Department estimates that these provisions, in addition 
to the collection of biological samples from adults at arrest for the specified misdemeanors, would 
increase the number of collected and processed biological samples by 2,760 annually. 

4. This would include 1,600 samples collected annually from juveniles arrested for 
alleged felony violations.  As biological samples are only collected from juveniles under current law 
for four types of felony violations, the minors from whom samples would be collected under this 
provision would include minors: (a) subsequently convicted of a felony violation; (b) subsequently 
convicted of a misdemeanor violation; (c) subsequently found liable for a civil violation; (d) 
subsequently acquitted; (e) for whom charges are later dropped; and (f) never charged.   

5. The Department estimates that 1,160 samples would be collected annually from 
adults and juveniles arrested for the following misdemeanor violations: (a) fourth degree sexual 
assault; (b) endangering safety by use of a dangerous weapon; (c) lewd and lascivious behavior; (d) 
prostitution; (e) pandering; (f) patronizing prostitutes; (g) failure to submit a biological specimen; or 
(h) exposing genitals or pubic area to a child.  The individuals from whom samples would be 
collected under this provision would include individuals: (a) subsequently convicted of a 
misdemeanor violation; (b) subsequently found liable for a civil violation; (c) subsequently 
acquitted; (d) for whom charges are later dropped; and (e) never charged. 

6. Finally, AB 40 would require a court imposing a sentence or placing an adult on 
probation for any misdemeanor conviction to require the person to provide a biological specimen to 
the state crime laboratories for DNA analysis.  The Department estimates that an additional 40,000 
samples annually would be collected from these adults convicted of a misdemeanor. 

7. In summary, the additional caseload of biological samples collected under AB 40 
would be primarily attributable to individuals: (a) subsequently convicted of a misdemeanor 
violation (more than 40,000 annually); (b) subsequently found liable for a civil violation; (c) 
subsequently acquitted; (d) for whom charges are later dropped; and (e) never charged.  Of the 
67,760 additional samples estimated to be collected annually under the provisions of AB 40, an 
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estimated 1,600 annually would be collected from juveniles arrested for alleged felony violations.  
However, as with adults arrested for alleged felony violations, many of these juveniles may not 
ultimately be convicted of a felony violation. 

8. The possible collection of DNA at arrest under the provisions of AB 40 raises 
constitutional issues that are currently before the U.S. Supreme Court.  Department of Justice staff 
has indicated that they expect a decision in this case before the end of June, 2013, "Absent the very 
unusual circumstance in which the Supreme Court holds a case over to the next term."   

9. The Legislative Council staff summarized the Maryland case that is currently before 
the U.S. Supreme Court as follows: 

"In 2012, Maryland's highest court held that Maryland's law authorizing DNA collection 
from arrestees was unconstitutional as applied to the defendant in the case.  [King v. 

Maryland, 422 Md. 353 (2011).]  The defendant, Alonzo Jay King, Jr., was arrested in 2009 
on assault charges.  Pursuant to Maryland's law authorizing the collection of DNA from 
certain arrestees, law enforcement officials collected a buccal swab [mouth swab] sample 
from King on the day of his arrest.  An analysis of the sample showed a match with DNA 
collected from a rape victim in an unsolved case from 2003.  On the basis of that match, 
King was convicted of first-degree rape for the 2003 crime.  The government argued that it 
had an "overriding" interest in collecting DNA from arrestees in order to ensure that arrested 
persons were accurately identified. 

The court held that King's expectation of privacy outweighed the government's interest in 
using DNA to obtain accurate identification, particularly because fingerprinting and photo 
identification were sufficient, alternative means by which the government might have 
positively identified King.  However, the court explicitly left open the possibility that in a 
future case, a DNA sample might be a more necessary means by which the government 
might need to obtain an accurate identification prior to a defendant's conviction."   

 
10. In its review of the constitutionality of collecting DNA from arrestees, the 

Legislative Council staff concluded by stating that: 

"The flurry of judicial decisions with divergent outcomes sets the stage for U.S. Supreme 
Court consideration of the collection and analysis of arrestee DNA.  Until a Supreme Court 
ruling settles the question, the constitutionality of such collection and analysis remains 
uncertain.   

Judicial review of DNA collection could be complicated by developing scientific 
understandings of the nature of DNA.  To the extent that DNA collection may be compared 
with fingerprinting, a long accepted practice, it is more likely to survive judicial scrutiny.  In 
contrast, if DNA analysis of "junk DNA" is found to reveal more private or sensitive 
information than mere identity, it may be viewed as a greater privacy intrusion than 
fingerprinting and thus more legally suspect." 

 
11. When considering extending the collection of biological samples to arrest and for 

misdemeanor convictions, the Legislature will arguably be asked to balance the interests of the 
government in advancing public safety, with the rights of citizens under the Constitution to be 
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protected from government overreach.  

12. Under AB 40, the Governor has created a nonstatutory legislative findings section 
that states the Legislature finds that: 

 a. the state has a compelling interest in the accurate identification of criminal 
offenders and that there is a critical and urgent need to provide law enforcement officers and 
agencies with the latest scientific technology available for accurately and expeditiously 
identifying, apprehending, arresting, and convicting criminal offenders and exonerating 
individuals wrongly suspected or accused of a crime.   

 b. deoxyribonucleic acid testing allows a more certain and rapid identification of 
offenders as well as the exoneration of those wrongfully suspected or accused and that 
deoxyribonucleic acid data banks are an important tool in criminal investigations and in deterring 
and detecting recidivist acts.   

 c. deoxyribonucleic acid testing at the earliest stages of criminal and juvenile 
proceedings will help prevent perpetrators from concealing their identities and will prevent time-
consuming and expensive investigations of innocent individuals.   

 d. the degree of intrusion on an individual's privacy interests is minimized by the 
method of collection of the biological sample, by the policy of using only deoxyribonucleic acid 
sequences not currently associated with any known physical or medical characteristics in the 
creation of a deoxyribonucleic acid profile, by the limited purposes for which a deoxyribonucleic 
acid profile may be used under state and federal law, and by the availability of expungement for 
individuals who are not charged with or convicted of the offenses for which the deoxyribonucleic 
acid sample was collected.  

13. The Committee might conclude that collecting a biological sample from an arrestee 
is little different than the long established practice of collecting fingerprints from individuals at 
arrest.  Even though the individual has not been convicted of any wrongdoing, fingerprints are 
collected at arrest to assist law enforcement with establishing the identity of the individual.  These 
fingerprints are added to the state criminal database and represent an additional law enforcement 
tool to identify individuals and solve crimes.  If the Committee views the collection of biological 
samples from citizens as more akin to fingerprint collection, the Committee could approve the 
expansion of DNA collection under AB 40.  In addition, the Committee could view this proposal 
favorably as DNA collection at arrest would permit the state to advance the timeframe in which 
biological samples from individuals, who will ultimately be convicted of a felony, are collected. 

14. If the Committee were to adopt the DNA collection provisions under AB 40, 
developed DNA profiles from individuals arrested for a felony or specified misdemeanors could 
assist the state in accurately identifying these individuals.  In addition, it is estimated that the 
number of DNA profiles being added to the state DNA databank would increase from 13,000 
annually under current law, to an estimated 80,760 annually.  An expanded state DNA databank 
would serve as a resource for state law enforcement to solve crimes, and to prevent crimes from 
occurring by identifying individuals who have committed a crime before they can commit 



 
 
Justice -- DNA Collection (Paper #410) Page 13 

additional crimes.  

15. If the Committee agrees with the legislative findings regarding the DNA at arrest 
proposal, and in order to gain the public safety benefits associated with an expanded DNA databank, 
the Committee could consider adopting the recommendations under AB 40.  This would include 
providing $2,178,100 PR and 16.0 PR positions in 2013-14, and $3,930,400 PR and 26.0 PR 
positions in 2014-15, to DOJ to collect DNA samples at arrest or conviction from juveniles and 
adults for specified alleged offenses or convictions.  The funding for this proposal would primarily 
come from an amended and expanded DNA surcharge.  Under AB 40, it is estimated that the 
changes to the DNA surcharge, in particular creating a $200 DNA surcharge that would be applied 
to misdemeanor convictions, would generate additional revenue of $1,989,400 PR in 2013-14, and 
$3,546,800 PR in 2014-15.  [Alternative 1] 

16. Under 2011 Act 32, the Legislature required that DNA resources provided to DOJ 
be separately tracked for budgetary purposes.  As a result, these resources cannot be applied by the 
Department for other functions, but are dedicated to DNA.  Under AB 40, as introduced, the 
administration inadvertently provided the additional resources for DNA to DOJ's state crime 
laboratories subprogram.  As with other DNA resources, the Committee could consider providing 
any additional DNA resources to the DNA subprogram.  [Alternative 2] 

17. In reviewing the Department's request for additional resources to funded expanded 
DNA collection, the Department has not quantified how the additional requested resources correlate 
with the estimated increased caseload under the recommendation.  Department staff has indicated 
that, "Because of variability from case to case, the department cannot easily correlate a number of 
annual DNA cases to DNA analyst positions."  For the recommendation as a whole, or if the 
Committee approves either component of the recommendation (DNA collection at felony arrest or 
DNA collection from adults at misdemeanor conviction), the Committee could consider approving 
the surcharge changes to the DNA surcharge, but delete the funding and positions provided for the 
DNA collection expansion under the bill.  Under this alternative, resources to implement any 
expanded DNA collection could be provided to the Department under passive review based on a 
request that quantifies the need for resources based on the estimated caseload.  As the provisions 
providing for expanded DNA collection (other than provisions affecting the DNA surcharge) would 
not take effect until the first day of the 15th month beginning after publication of the 2013-15 
biennial budget bill, arguably DOJ would have the ability to re-examine the budget for any 
expanded DNA collection early in the 2013-15 biennium based on any statutory modifications 
adopted by the Legislature.  [Alternative 3] 

18. If the Committee does not approve both components of expanded DNA collection 
(DNA collection at felony arrest and DNA collection from adults at misdemeanor conviction), the 
Committee could still adopt Alternative 3.  While the revised DNA surcharge could generate more 
funding than may be required if the entire DNA collection recommendation is not approved, the 
state's recent history with surcharge collections has demonstrated that collections from these 
surcharges can be unpredictable.  The Committee could maintain the DNA surcharge changes as 
proposed under the bill and re-estimate the surcharge in 2015-17, based on actual collections 
experience.   
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19. If the Committee has concerns regarding the availability of initial resources prior to 
approval of any passive review request from the Department, the Committee could consider creating 
5.0 of the 16.0 first-year positions recommended under the bill, including one-time and annual 
supplies and services funding associated with the positions.  Under this alternative, DOJ would be 
provided 5.0 PR positions and $431,400 PR in 2013-14, and 5.0 PR positions and $400,000 PR in 
2014-15.  Under this alternative, the remaining resources provided under AB 40 (11.0 PR positions 
and $1,746,700 PR in 2013-14, and 21.0 PR positions and $3,530,400 PR in 2014-15) would be 
initially deleted until DOJ returns to the Committee under passive review.  [Alternative 4]  

20. On the other hand, concerns could be raised regarding requiring the collection of 
biological specimens at arrest for adults and juveniles arrested for either a felony violation or for a 
specified misdemeanor violation.  First, in terms of establishing the individual’s identity for law 
enforcement, law enforcement already has other very successful tools to establish an individual’s 
identity, including fingerprints and mug shots.  Second, the criminal justice system is built upon the 
idea of checks and balances.  In order to protect the rights of citizens from government power, an 
individual cannot be confined in prison based on the accusation of a law enforcement officer that a 
crime occurred.  Rather, law enforcement must make the case to a prosecutor that the case should be 
charged.  The prosecutor may elect to either pursue the case or drop the case for insufficient 
evidence to support the charge.  If the prosecutor does charge the individual with a crime, the 
prosecutor must then make a case to a jury that the individual committed a crime.  Under the 
criminal justice system, even the power of the jury is limited.  The jury cannot convict the 
individual unless the jury finds that the evidence supports the conclusion that the individual 
committed a crime beyond a reasonable doubt.   

21. While under current law only individuals duly convicted of a felony or other 
specified crime are required to provide a biological sample and have their DNA profile included in 
the DNA databank, under AB 40 an individual could be required to produce a biological specimen 
at arrest based only on the assertion of law enforcement that he or she committed a felony or 
specified misdemeanor. 

22. It is estimated that 25,000 people annually are arrested for, but not convicted of, a 
felony.  While the rationale for collecting biological samples from individuals arrested for a felony 
is arguably that such individuals represent a greater public safety threat, 25,000 individuals arrested 
every year for a felony are ultimately not convicted of a felony.     

23. For these reasons the Committee could consider deleting the element of the proposal 
requiring that biological samples be collected from adults and juveniles arrested for a felony or 
specified misdemeanor violations (including the collection of biological samples from juveniles 
found not responsible by reason of mental disease or defect).   [Alternative 5]   

24. Under AB 40, more than 40,000 adults who are convicted annually of misdemeanor 
violations would be required to provide biological specimens for inclusion in the state DNA 
databank.  Appendix I provides information compiled by the Legislative Reference Bureau as to all 
current law misdemeanors in statute.  Wisconsin law differentiates between felony violations, which 
are the most serious violations of the state’s criminal code, and misdemeanor violations, which 
while more substantial violations of state law and criminal in nature, do not rise to the level of a 
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felony violation.  Under AB 40, any individual convicted of violating any law identified in 
Appendix I would be required to provide a biological specimen and have his or her DNA profile 
included for the remainder of his or her life in the state DNA databank.   

25. In order to provide the Committee with some additional perspective on the question 
of requiring individuals convicted of a misdemeanor violation to provide a biological specimen for 
inclusion in the state’s DNA databank, Appendix II provides overview information on the 
misdemeanor caseload for the state’s circuit courts in 2012.   

26. If the Committee concludes that the public safety threat posed by individuals 
convicted of a misdemeanor does not generally warrant including these individuals in the state’s 
DNA databank, the Committee could delete the portion of the recommendation requiring adults 
convicted of a misdemeanor to provide a biological sample for inclusion in the state’s DNA 
databank (including the collection of biological samples from adults found not guilty by reason of 
mental disease or defect.  [Alternative 6] 

27. On the other hand, if the Committee concludes that the public safety threat posed by 
individuals convicted of a misdemeanor does warrant their inclusion in the state’s DNA databank, 
the Committee could approve the recommendation.  In addition, not all individuals who commit 
misdemeanor violations stop with misdemeanor violations.  Some individuals who commit 
misdemeanor violations may later go on to commit felony violations. 

28. If the Committee deletes the requirement to either collect biological specimens at 
arrest or for adult misdemeanor convictions, the Committee could also consider deleting the 
nonstatutory legislative findings if it concludes that these findings are incompatible in whole or in 
part with the remaining proposal.  Further, the appropriateness of legislative findings created by the 
executive branch could be questioned. [Alternative 7]     

29. Assembly Bill 40 would expand the collection of biological samples from juveniles 
at conviction to include adjudicated delinquencies for any act that if committed by an adult in this 
state would be a felony or a specified misdemeanor.  [Current law generally limits the required 
collection of biological samples from juveniles to the following felony violations: (a) sexual assault; 
(b) first or second degree sexual assault of a child; (c) engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of 
the same child; and (d) sexual assault of a child placed in substitute care.]  If the Committee 
concludes that biological samples should be collected from juveniles for felony violations just as 
they are collected from adults for felony violations, the Committee could adopt this provision under 
AB 40.  Alternatively, if the Committee concludes that juveniles should be distinguished from 
adults in this regard, the Committee could maintain current law and delete the provision.  
[Alternative 8] 

30. Under AB 40, if a biological specimen was collected from an individual at arrest and 
state law subsequently no longer justified the resulting DNA profile's continued inclusion in the 
state's DNA databank (if, for example, the individual was never charged), an individual would have 
to affirmatively request expungement of the record from DOJ.  Under the bill, the Department 
would not be required to proactively delete DNA profiles for which state law no longer justified 
their continued inclusion in the DNA databank.   
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31. The Department indicates that under current law the duty of seeking expungement 
also falls to the individual.  In addition, Department staff has expressed concerns that requiring the 
Department to proactively delete these records would be administratively burdensome and time 
consuming.  The Department has developed a high-order estimate that requiring the Department to 
proactively delete these records would require: (a) annual funding of $2,631,700 for 35 to 40 new 
criminal history records specialists; (b) one-time space costs of $1 million to $2 million; and (c) a 
two-year IT project to develop needed interfaces and infrastructure totaling $2 million to $3 million.  
Finally, the Department indicates that most states that have extended DNA collection to arrest place 
the burden on the individual to seek expungement of his or her record.  As a result of these 
considerations, the Committee could consider maintaining the expungement provisions as provided 
under AB 40.   

32.    On the other hand, under circumstances in which no provision of state law justifies 
the continued inclusion of a citizen's DNA profile in the state DNA databank, it could be argued that 
the state has a moral obligation to remove the citizen's profile from the databank.  If the Committee 
agrees, the Committee could require that DOJ proactively delete these records if the statute of 
limitations for the alleged violation that led to the arrest has expired.  As the statute of limitations 
for a felony violation is generally six years, this alternative would in addition to, and not in lieu of, 
an individual's right to petition for expungement.  Under this alternative, the Committee could 
provide $10,263,400 GPR in 2013-14, to the Joint Committee on Finance's GPR supplemental 
appropriation.  After the development of a detailed justification for the funding, a s. 13.10 request 
could be submitted to the Joint Committee on Finance for the release of the funding and creation of 
any approved positions.  [Alternative 9] 

33. Finally, AB 40 would provide that an entry in the state DNA data bank that was 
found to be erroneous would not prohibit the legitimate use of the entry to further a criminal 
investigation or prosecution.  The failure of a law enforcement agency or the State Crime 
Laboratories to comply with state law regarding the collection of biological specimens, or any rules 
or procedures adopted to administer this law, would not be grounds for challenging the validity of 
the data collection, for challenging the use of the sample, or for the suppression of evidence based 
upon or derived from any entry in the data bank.   

34. Department of Justice described the value of this provision as follows: 

"On rare occasions, officers acting in good faith collect biological specimens from 
individuals in the criminal justice system who are not obligated to provide a specimen.  The 
information subsequently results in a hit on a cold case offense.  Section 1935 [this provision 
under AB 40] protects the admissibility of the results in a court proceeding. 

Notably, if the collection of DNA was not in good faith and violates the 4th Amendment, the 
evidence would not be admissible as a matter of constitutional law.  Section 1935 thus 
strikes the proper balance to protect individual rights while not requiring an innocent error to 
undermine the prosecution of a murderer, rapist, or other criminal." 

35. If the Committee agrees with the Department, the Committee could adopt the 
provision as introduced under AB 40.  On the other hand, in order to encourage best practices and to 
protect the rights of citizens, statutory provisions may create penalties for government agencies if 
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relevant government staff does not comply with state law.  As a result, the Committee could also 
consider deleting this provision.  [Alternative 10] 

36. If, based on the issues identified above, the Committee would not want to extend 
DNA collection to either individuals arrested for a felony or to adults convicted of a misdemeanor, 
the Committee could delete the recommendation. If the Governor's recommendation is deleted, 
current law collections of DNA samples at conviction for a felony would continue to apply. 
[Alternative 11]  

ALTERNATIVES  

1. Approve the Governor's recommendation to provide $2,178,100 PR and 16.0 PR 
positions in 2013-14, and $3,930,400 PR and 26.0 PR positions in 2014-15, to collect DNA samples 
at arrest or conviction from juveniles and adults for specified alleged offenses or convictions.  
Delete current law which provides that a court may impose a $250 DNA surcharge if an individual 
is sentenced or placed on probation for a felony violation.  Instead, provide that if a court imposes a 
sentence or places a person on probation for any felony or misdemeanor conviction, the court must 
impose the DNA surcharge.  Provide that for each felony conviction a $250 DNA surcharge would 
be imposed, while for each misdemeanor conviction a $200 DNA surcharge would be imposed.  
[The administration estimates that these surcharge changes would generate additional revenue of 
$1,989,400 PR in 2013-14, and $3,546,800 PR in 2014-15.]  Adopt the related provisions of AB 40 
implementing an expanded collection of DNA at felony arrest and for adult misdemeanor 
convictions.   

2. Provide that the additional funding and positions for DNA be deleted from the crime 
laboratories subprogram and provided to the DNA subprogram.  [This alternative would place 
funding into the correct budgetary subprogram in DOJ.] 

3. Delete the funding and positions provided to DOJ under AB 40 to implement an 
expanded collection of DNA at felony arrest and for adult misdemeanor convictions.  [Under this 
alternative, funding and positions for any expanded collection of DNA could be provided to DOJ at 
a later time based on the demonstrated need for additional resources in a passive review request to 
the Joint Committee on Finance.] 

 

4. Delete 11.0 PR positions and $1,746,700 PR in 2013-14, and 21.0 PR positions and 
$3,530,400 PR in 2014-15.  [Under this alternative, DOJ would be provided 5.0 PR positions and 
$431,400 PR in 2013-14, and 5.0 PR positions and $400,000 PR in 2014-15, to begin 
implementation of any approved DNA collection expansion.] 

 

ALT 3 Change to Bill 

 Funding Positions 
 
PR - $6,108,500 - 26.00 
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5. Delete the requirement that biological samples be collected from adults and 
juveniles arrested for a felony or the following misdemeanor violations: (a) fourth degree sexual 
assault; (b) endangering safety by use of a dangerous weapon; (c) lewd and lascivious behavior; (d) 
prostitution; (e) pandering; (f) patronizing prostitutes; (g) failure to submit a biological specimen; or 
(h) exposing genitals or pubic area to a child.  In addition, delete a similar requirement that 
biological samples be collected from juveniles found not responsible by reason of mental disease or 
defect.   

6. Delete the requirement that biological samples be collected from adults convicted of 
a misdemeanor.  In addition, delete a similar requirement that biological samples be collected from 
adults found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect for specified misdemeanor violations. 

7. Delete the nonstatutory legislative findings. 

8. Delete the provision that would expand the collection of biological samples from 
juveniles at conviction to include adjudicated delinquencies for any act that if committed by an adult 
in this state would be a felony or one of the following misdemeanors: (a) fourth degree sexual 
assault; (b) endangering safety by use of a dangerous weapon; (c) lewd and lascivious behavior; (d) 
prostitution; (e) pandering; (f) patronizing prostitutes; (g) failure to submit a biological specimen; or 
(h) exposing genitals or pubic area to a child. 

9. Require the DOJ to delete the DNA profile of an individual from the state DNA 
databank, along with any related materials and file, if state law would not otherwise require the 
inclusion of the DNA profile in the state DNA databank and the statute of limitations for 
prosecuting the case has expired.  In addition, provide $10,263,400 GPR in 2013-14, to the Joint 
Committee on Finance's GPR supplemental appropriation to provide funding for a request from 
DOJ to implement this requirement.  [Under this alternative, after the development of a detailed 
justification for the funding, a s. 13.10 request could be submitted to the Joint Committee on 
Finance for the release of the funding and creation of any approved positions.] 

 

10. Delete the provision which provides that: (a) an entry in the state DNA databank that 
was found to be erroneous would not prohibit the legitimate use of the entry to further a criminal 
investigation or prosecution; and (b) failure of a law enforcement agency or the State Crime 
Laboratories to comply with state law regarding the collection of biological specimens, or any rules 
or procedures adopted to administer the law, would not be grounds for challenging the validity of 

ALT 4 Change to Bill 

 Funding Positions 
 
PR - $5,277,100 - 21.00 

ALT 9 Change to Bill 

 Funding 
 
GPR $10,263,400 
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the data collection, for challenging the use of the sample, or for the suppression of evidence based 
upon or derived from any entry in the data bank.   

11. Delete provision.   

 

 
 
 
 
Prepared by:  Paul Onsager 
Attachment

ALT 11 Change to Bill 

 Funding Positions 
 
PR-REV - $5,536,200 
 
PR - $6,108,500 - 26.00 





 

APPENDIX I 

 

Current Law Misdemeanor Offenses 
 

 

Statute Section 

 

Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 

Maximum 

Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

11.61(1)(c) Various campaign financing violations Max. $1,000, 6 months  $1,000   6 months 

12.03 and 
12.60(1)(b) 

Electioneering on election day by certain persons at 
certain locations 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

12.05 and 
12.60(1)(b) 

False representations affecting elections Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

12.07 and 
12.60(1)(b) 

Election restrictions on employers Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

12.08 and 
12.60(1)(b) 

Causing another to support a candidate by 
threatening to deny government benefits 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

12.13 (2) (b) 8. or 
(3) (b), (c), (d), 
(g), (i), (n) to (x), 
(ze), (zm) or (zn) 
and 12.60(1)(b) 

Certain acts of election fraud Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

12.60(1)(bm) Unauthorized release of records or investigatory 
information relating to elections 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

13.27(2) Contempt of the legislature Max. $200, 1 year  200   1 year 

13.69(3) Falsified statements on a lobbying expense statement Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

16.009(5)(b) Discriminating against any person cooperating with 
the Board on Aging and Long-Term Care 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

16.845(1) Use of state facilities without a permit Max. $100, 30 days  100   30 days 

16.846(1)(a) Violations of Department of Administration rules 
relating to the use, care, and preservation of property 
under department control 

Max. $100, 30 days  100   30 days 

19.24 Refusal by a public officer to deliver to a successor 
money and other property belonging to the office  

Max. $100, 6 months  100   6 months 

19.58(1)(a) Intentional violations of the code of ethics for public 
officials and employees 

$100-$5,000; Max. 1 
year 

$100  5,000   1 year 



 

 

Statute Section 

 

Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 

Maximum 

Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

20.906(3) Improper use of a receipts form issued by or for a 
state agency collecting or receiving money for the 
state 

     

23.095(3)(d)2. Intentional damage or attempt to damage an 
archaeological feature or natural resource 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  $10,000   9 months 

23.22(8)(b) and 
(c) 

Violations of Department of Natural Resources rules 
controlling invasive species 

$700-$5,000; 6-9 
months 

$700  5,000  6 months 9 months 

23.24(6)(b) Violations relating to aquatic plant management 
(second offense within five years) 

$700-$2,000; 6-9 
months 

700  2,000  6 months 9 months 

23.33(13)(b)2. Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or 
utility terrain vehicle (second offense within five 
years) 

$300-$1,100; 5 days-6 
months 

300  1,100  5 days 6 months 

23.33(13)(b)3. Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or 
utility terrain vehicle (third or subsequent offense 
within five years) 

$600-$2,000; 30 days- 1 
year 

600  2,000  30 days 1 year 

23.33(13)(c) Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or 
utility terrain vehicle causing injury 

$600-$2,000; 30 days- 1 
year 

300  2,000  30 days 1 year 

26.14(5) Failure to totally extinguish a fire (second or 
subsequent offense) 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

26.14(6) Causing a forest fire Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

26.14(7) Setting a fire upon marsh or other land to drive out 
game birds or animals 

Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

26.19(1) Destruction of forest protection equipment or notices Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

26.20(9)(b) Willful violations by a corporation relating to fire 
protection devices 

Max. $1,000  1,000    

26.985(2) Violations relating to the protection of forest lands 
and productivity (second or third offense within five 
years) 

Max. $100, 6 months  100   6 months 

26.985(3) Violations relating to the protection of forest lands 
and productivity (fourth or subsequent offense within 
three years) 

Max. $2,000, 9 months  2,000   9 months 



 

 

Statute Section 

 

Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 

Maximum 

Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

29.088(2) Taking, capturing, or killing wild animals with the 
aid of any explosive or poison gas 

Max. $300, 30 days  $300   30 days 

29.314(7)(a) Shining deer, elk, or bear while hunting or 
possessing weapons 

$1,000-$2,000; Max. 6 
months 

$1,000  2,000   6 months 

29.331(5)(b) Tampering with lawfully placed animal traps $300-$1,000; Max. 90 
days 

300  1,000   90 days 

29.341(2) Failure to follow lawful procedures and duties 
following an accidental shooting while hunting 

Max. $5,000, 9 months 
(neglect) or 1 year 
(intentional) 

 5,000   9 months 
(neglect); 1 
year 
(intentional) 

29.501(10) Violations relating to fur dealers Max. $1,000, 9 months  1,000   9 months 

29.601(1)(b) Use of explosives or stupefactives in state waters Max. $500, 90 days  500   90 days 

29.601(3)(c)2. Throwing or depositing deleterious substances in 
state waters 

Max. $200, 90 days  200   90 days 

29.604(5)(a)1. Intentionally taking, transporting, possessing, 
processing, or selling within the state an endangered 
or threatened wild animal 

$2,000-$5,000; Max. 9 
months 

2,000  5,000   9 months 

29.604(5)(a)2. Intentional violations relating to endangered and 
threatened plant species 

Max. $1,000, 9 months  1,000   9 months 

29.957 Tampering with Department of Natural Resources 
seals or tags attached to an animal, carcass, or object 

Max. $500, 90 days  500   90 days 

29.964(1) Changing or altering a Department of Natural 
Resources approval 

Max. $200, 90 days  200   90 days 

29.967(1)(b) Violations relating to a suspended or revoked 
Department of Natural Resources approval (second 
or subsequent offense within five years) 

$500-$1,000 500  1,000    

29.967(3) Obtaining a Department of Natural Resources 
approval during a period of time when that approval 
is revoked 

Max. $200, 90 days  200   90 days 

29.971(1)(b) Violations relating to taking, transporting, acquiring, 
selling, purchasing, or possessing fish 

$1,000-$5,000; Max. 30 
days 

1,000  5,000   30 days 

29.971(1m)(b) Violations relating to possession of clams Max. $5,000, 30 days  5,000   30 days 



 

 

Statute Section 

 

Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 

Maximum 

Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

29.971(5) Violations relating to the sale of wild animals $1,000-$2,000; Max. 6 
months 

$1,000  $2,000   6 months 

29.971(5g) Violations relating to serving game to guests of 
restaurants, clubs, hotels, boarding houses, taverns, 
or camps 

Max. $500, 90 days  500   90 days 

29.971(5m) Illegally taking or possessing lake sturgeon $1,500; Max. 90 days 1,500  1,500   90 days 

29.971(7) Hunting with the aid of an aircraft Max. $1,000 (1st 
offense) or $2,000 
(subsequent offenses), 
90 days 

 1,000 (1st 
violation); 

2,000 
(subsequent 
violations) 

 90 days 

29.971(11) Deer hunting violations $1,000-$2,000; Max. 6 
months 

1,000  2,000   6 months 

29.971(11g)(a) Elk hunting violations $1,000-$15,000; Max. 6 
months 

1,000  15,000   6 months 

29.971(11m)(a) Bear hunting violations $1,000-$2,000 (1st 
offense) or $10,000 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 6 months (1st 
offense) or 9 months 
(subsequent offenses) 

1,000  2,000 (1st 
violation); 

10,000 
(subsequent 
violations) 

 6 months (1st 
violation); 9 
months 
(subsequent 
violations) 

29.971(11p)(a) Entering the den of a hibernating black bear and 
harming the bear 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

29.974(1) Determination by a court following a conviction for 
a violation relating to wild animals and plants that 
the guilty person has a prior conviction within a 
period of five years 

Max. $100, 6 months  100   6 months 

29.974(2)(b) Determination by a court following a conviction for 
a violation relating to wild animals and plants that 
the guilty person has three prior convictions within a 
period of three years 

Max. $2,000, 9 months  2,000   9 months 

30.12(5) Unlawful structures and deposits in navigable waters Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

30.80(2) Reckless or negligent operation of a boat 
endangering life or property 

Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 



 

 

Statute Section 

 

Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 

Maximum 

Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

30.80(2g)(a) Failure to render aid in a boat accident (if the 
accident did not involve death or injury to a person) 

$300-$1,000; Max. 6 
months 

$300  $1,000   6 months 

30.80(2g)(b) Failure to render aid in a boat accident (if the 
accident involved injury to a person but the person 
did not suffer great bodily harm) 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

30.80(6)(a)2. Intoxicated boating (second offense within five 
years) 

$300-$1,000; 5 days-6 
months 

300  1,000  5 days 6 months 

30.80(6)(a)3. Intoxicated boating (third offense within five years) $600-$2,000; 30 days- 1 
year 

600  2,000  30 days 1 year 

30.80(6)(a)4. Intoxicated boating (fourth offense within five years) $600-$2,000; 60 days-1 
year 

600  2,000  60 days 1 year 

30.80(6)(a)5. Intoxicated boating (fifth or subsequent offense 
within five years) 

$600-$2,000; 6 months-
1 year 

600  2,000  6 months 1 year 

30.80(6)(b) Intoxicated boating causing an injury $300-$2,000; 30 days-1 
year 

300  2,000  30 days 1 year 

31.34 Violations of water flow and dam regulations $50-$1,000 50  1,000    

32.29 False statements by an employee of a governmental 
entity with condemnation power to an owner of 
property concerning the condemnation of such 
property 

$50-$1,000; Max. 1 
year 

50  1,000   1 year 

34.11 Violations relating to public deposits Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

36.11(1)(a) Violations of rules promulgated by the Board of 
Regents of the University of Wisconsin System to 
protect the lives, health, and safety of persons or 
property under its jurisdiction 

Max. $500, 90 days  500   90 days 

36.35(3) Entering campus property without permission 
following prior misconduct 

Max. $500, 3 months  500   3 months 

38.50(8)(i) Soliciting of students Max. $200, 3 months  200   3 months 

38.50(13)(b) Issuing or manufacturing a false academic credential A     

42.05(3) Unlawful auto racing without a properly equipped 
muffler 

Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 
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Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 
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Fine 
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Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

42.07(2) Ticket scalping for entry to an event under the 
auspices of the state fair park 

$10-$100; Max. 60 days $10  $100   60 days 

44.47(7)(a)2. Tampering with archaeological objects or data 
belonging to the state or intentionally interfering 
with related work 

$1,000-$5,000 1,000  5,000    

45.03(16)(b) False statements with the intent to secure veterans 
benefits 

Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

45.06(2) Withholding from a veteran any discharge paper, 
citation, warrant, medal, badge, or evidence that the 
veteran is entitled to certain rights 

Max. $100, 6 months  100   6 months 

46.10(14)(e)4. Denial of employment, discharge, or discipline of an 
employee by an employer based on an assignment of 
certain social services benefits 

Max. $500  500    

46.90(6)(d) Requesting or obtaining confidential information 
relating to the elder abuse reporting system under 
false pretenses 

Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

46.90(9)(d) Discriminating against any person for reporting in 
good faith under the elder abuse reporting system 

Max. $10,000, 6 months  10,000   6 months 

46.90(9)(e) Failure to report under the elder abuse reporting 
system 

Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

47.02(7)(c) Violations relating to vocational rehabilitation Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

47.03(3)(d) Advertising, selling, or distributing a product as 
being blind-made when less than 75% of the labor 
involved in creating the product was performed by 
visually impaired persons 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

48.025(6)(b) Intentionally obtaining, using, or disclosing 
confidential information relating to a declaration of 
paternal interest in matters affecting children 

Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

48.42(5) False statements in the course of a proceeding for the 
termination of parental rights with an intent to 
prevent a person from receiving notice of such 
proceeding 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 
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48.658(3)(a) Transporting a child to or from a child care provider 
in a child care vehicle in which a child safety alarm 
has not been installed or is not in good working order 

     

48.60 and 48.76 Violations relating to child welfare agency licensing Max. $500, 1 year  $500   1 year 

48.62 and 48.76 Violations relating to foster home licensing Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

48.625 and 48.76 Violations relating to group home licensing Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

48.63 and 48.76 Violations relating to child placements in foster 
homes or group homes 

Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

48.65 and 48.76 Violations relating to child care center licensing Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

48.825(5) Unlawful adoption advertising Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

48.981(6) Failure to report abused or neglected children or 
abused unborn children 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

48.981(7)(f) Confidentiality violations of records concerning the 
reporting of abused or neglected children or abused 
unborn children 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

49.141(7)(b) False statements, concealment, or failure to disclose 
information relating to eligibility for a payment 
under Wisconsin Works 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

49.22(4) Unlawful use or disclosure of information obtained 
by the state location service assisting in locating 
parents 

$25-$500; Max. 1 year $25  500   1 year 

49.345(14)(e)4. Denial of employment, discharge, or discipline of an 
employee by an employer based on an assignment of 
certain public assistance benefits 

Max. $500  500    

49.45(4m)(e) Unlawful disclosure or retention of information 
relating to the financial record matching program by 
a financial institution 

$50-$1,000; 10 days-1 
year 

50  1,000  10 days 1 year 

49.45(6m)(g) Refusal by an intermediate care facility or skilled 
nursing facility to recover costs reimbursable for 
persons eligible for certain Medicare benefits or to 
obtain Medicare certification required by federal law 

$10/day-$100/day 10/day 100/day   
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49.49(1)(b)2. False statements or concealments relating to the 
acquisition of Medical Assistance benefits or 
payments 

Max. $10,000, 1 year  $10,000   1 year 

49.688(9)(c) Violations of Department of Health Services rules 
relating to prohibitions on Medical Assistance fraud 

Max. $10,000, 1 year  10,000   1 year 

49.795(8)(a)1. First food stamp offense (if the value of the food 
coupons does not exceed $100) 

Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

49.795(8)(b)1. Second food stamp offense (if the value of the food 
coupons does not exceed $100) 

Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

49.83 Using or disclosing information concerning 
applicants to various public assistance programs for 
purposes not connected with the administration of 
the programs 

$25-$500; 10 days-1 
year 

$25  500  10 days 1 year 

49.853(3)(c) Disclosure or retention of information unrelated to 
matching records by a financial institution 
participating in the financial institution matching 
option. 

$25-$500; 10 days-1 
year 

25  500  10 days 1 year 

49.853(4)(d) Unlawful request of information by a financial 
institution participating in the state matching option 
to the Department of Health Services 

$25-$500; 10 days-1 
year 

25  500  10 days 1 year 

49.95(1)(b) Making false representations to secure certain public 
assistance (if the value of the assistance exceeds 
$300 but does not exceed $1,000) 

Max. $250, 6 months  250   6 months 

49.95(1)(c) Making false representations to secure certain public 
assistance (if the value of the assistance exceeds 
$1,000 but does not exceed $2,000) 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

49.95(2) Willful interference with the proper administration of 
public assistance 

$10-$100; 10-60 days 10  100  10 days 60 days 

49.95(4m) Obtaining pecuniary advantage by sending, bringing, 
or advising another to secure certain public 
assistance benefits 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

50.03(1) Unlicensed operation of a community-based 
residential facility or nursing home 

Max. $500/day, 6 
months 

 500/day  6 months 

50.032(6) Uncertified operation of an adult family home Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 
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50.033(6) Unlicensed operation of an adult family home Max. $500, 1 year  $500   1 year 

50.07(2) Violations relating to uniform licensure Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

50.49(8) Unlicensed operation of a home health agency Max. $100 (1st 
offense), $200 (2nd 
offense) 

 100 (1st 
violation); 

200 (2nd 
violation) 

  

50.55(2) Actions intended to interfere with a Department of 
Health Services investigation of licensure violations 
by a rural medical center 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

51.30(10)(a) Intentionally unlawful violations relating to mental 
health records (if not for pecuniary gain) 

Max. $25,000, 9 months  25,000   9 months 

51.61(5)(d) Intentional retaliation or discrimination against a 
mental health patient for contacting or providing 
information to a state protection and advocacy 
agency 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

51.61(7m) Intentionally depriving a mental health patient of the 
ability to seek redress for an alleged violation of 
rights 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

54.62(8) Willful or inexcusable failure by a guardian to file a 
guardian's account as required by law or ordered by a 
court 

Max. $250, 10 days  250   10 days 

55.043(9m)(d) Retaliating or discriminating against a person for 
reporting an adult at risk in good faith 

Max. $10,000, 6 months  10,000   6 months 

55.043(9m)(e) Failure to report an adult at risk Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

59.39 Violations relating to a coroner or medical examiner 
performing funeral services upon the body whose 
death is required to be investigated by such office 

Max. $50  50    

59.66(2)(c) Violations relating to unclaimed funds in a county's 
public treasury 

$50-$200; 30 days-6 
months 

$50  200  30 days 6 months 

59.74(2)(e)1. Unlawful tampering with a landmark, monument of 
survey, corner post of government survey, survey 
made by the county surveyor, or survey of public 
record 

Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 
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Penalty or Class* 
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Jail 

59.76(2) Various violations by a register of deeds relating to 
registration of farms 

$5-$25; 10-30 days $5  $25  10 days 30 days 

62.23(8) Unlawful structure Max. $500  500    

63.17 Various county civil service system violations $50-$1,000; 30 days-1 
year 

50  1,000  30 days in 
county jail 

1 year 

63.20 Violation of a subpoena issued by a board of city 
service commissioners 

     

63.52(1) Various first class city civil service system violations $50-$1,000; Max. 6 
months 

50  1,000   6 months 

66.0413(1)(br)2. Renting, leasing, or occupying a building which has 
been condemned for human habitation, occupancy or 
use 

$5/week-$50/week; 30 
days/week 

5/week 50/week  30 days/week 

66.0417(5)(a) Violations relating to local enforcement of certain 
food and health regulations 

Max. $10,000, 1 year  10,000   1 year 

66.0417(5)(b) Obstructing a local inspector enforcing food and 
health regulation 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

66.0425(9) Violations relating to an obstruction or excavation 
beyond a lot line or within a highway 

$25-$500; 10 days-6 
months 

25  500  10 days 6 months 

66.0615(1m)(f)5. Failure to register with the Department of Revenue 
for the room tax 

     

66.0903(11)(b)1. Violations by a contractor, subcontractor, or agent 
relating to the municipal prevailing wage and hour 
scales 

Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

66.1207(1)(a) False representations to secure or assist in securing 
financial assistance for subsidized housing 
accommodations (if the financial assistance is more 
than $1,000 but less than $2,500) 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

69.24(2) Violations relating to the collection of vital statistics 
or documents 

Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

70.40(2) Willful failure or refusal by any person on whom an 
occupational iron ore concentrate tax is imposed to 
furnish a true list or statement of all iron ore 
concentrates received or handled 

Max. $1,000  1,000    
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70.41(2) Failure or refusal by an operator of a grain elevator 
or warehouse to furnish a true list or statement of all 
grain received or handled  

Max. $1,000  $1,000    

70.42(2) Failure or refusal by an operator of a coal dock to 
furnish a true list or statement of all coal received or 
handled  

Max. $1,000  1,000    

70.421(2) Failure or refusal by an operator of a refinery to 
furnish a true list or statement of all crude oil and 
petroleum products refined 

Max. $1,000  1,000    

70.47(18)(b) Intentional tampering with a public notice of a local 
board of review meeting before the expiration of the 
time for which the notice was posted 

Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

71.65(6) Willfully providing false information to the 
Department of Revenue by a construction contractor 
employer to evade income and franchise tax 
withholding requirements 

$25,000  $25,000  25,000    

71.66(1)(e) Willfully supplying an employer with false 
information regarding a withholding exemption 

Max. $200  200    

71.83(2)(a)1. Income and franchise tax violations: failure or 
refusal to make, render, sign, or verify a tax return on 
time; failure or refusal to make deposits of withheld 
taxes; false or fraudulent employer statements or 
deposit reports 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

71.83(2)(a)2. Willfully making or subscribing false documents 
relating to income and franchise taxes 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

71.83(2)(a)3. Divulging or circulating confidential information 
derived from income and franchise tax documents 

$100-$500; 1-6 months 100  500  1 month 6 months 

71.83(2)(a)3m. Unlawful browsing of another's confidential 
information derived from income and franchise tax 
documents 

$100-$500 100  500    

71.83(2)(a)4. Coercing an employee to prepay taxes $25-$200 25  200    

71.83(2)(a)5. Supplying an employer with a false income and 
franchise tax withholding agreement 

Max. $500  500    
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71.83(2)(a)6. Failure to file a surety bond with the Department of 
Revenue by a construction contractor 

$300-$5,000 $300  $5,000    

71.91(8)(e) Using information provided to a financial institution 
in the financial record matching program for 
purposes other than administration of the program 

$25-$500; 10 days-1 
year 

25  500  10 days 1 year 

75.375 Waste on lands subject to a tax certificate Max. $500, 90 days  500   90 days 

77.27 Intentionally falsifying value on a return for the real 
estate transfer fee 

Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

77.52(12) Operating as a seller without a permit      

77.52(16) Sales tax evasion using a resale certificate      

77.52(19) Failure to comply with rules relating to permitting 
for persons temporarily engaged in selling 

     

77.53(8) Sales and use tax violations: failure to collect the tax 
from a purchaser, give a purchaser a receipt, or 
display the tax separately from the list price 

     

77.60(6) Failure to provide a required tax return or data to the 
Department of Revenue 

     

77.60(7) Sales and use tax evasion through false or fraudulent 
reporting or failure to furnish a report 

     

77.60(10) Assisting another in making any false or fraudulent 
return or statement relating to the sales and use tax 

     

77.61(5)(g) Various violations relating to administration of sales 
and use taxes 

$100-$500; 1-6 months 100  500  1 month 6 months 

77.61(6)(d) Inspection of a return or claim for sales and use taxes 
by an unauthorized person 

$100-$500; 1-6 months 100  500  1 month 6 months 

77.61(9) Failure to file, submit, prepare, or retain sales and 
use tax documents required by the Department of 
Revenue 

     

77.982(4) Failure to register with the Department of Revenue 
for the local food and beverage tax 

     

77.991(4) Failure to register with the Department of Revenue 
for the local rental car tax 
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77.9951(3) Failure to register with the Department of Revenue 
for the state rental vehicle fee 

     

78.68(6) Failure to furnish a return or data relating to vehicle 
or general aviation fuel taxes required by the 
Department of Revenue 

Max. $500, 30 days  $500   30 days 

78.68(7) Making a false or fraudulent return or failure to 
furnish a return when due to evade vehicle or general 
aviation fuel taxes 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

78.68(8) Assisting another in evading vehicle or general 
aviation fuel taxes 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

78.73(1) Various violations relating to unlawful use or display 
of a license to sell vehicle or general aviation fuel 

Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

78.73(2) Selling vehicle or general aviation fuel without a 
license 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

78.73(3) Attempting to assign a license to sell vehicle or 
general aviation fuel or failure to display such 
license conspicuously at a place of business 

Max. $25, 10 days  25   10 days 

78.73(4) Failure to make a report or payment relating to 
vehicle or general aviation fuel taxes 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

83.027(12) Driving a vehicle into or from a controlled-access 
county highway (if not through an opening provided 
for that purpose) 

Max. $100, 30 days  100   30 days 

84.25(12) Driving a vehicle into or from a controlled-access 
state highway (if not through an opening provided 
for that purpose) 

Max. $100, 30 days  100   30 days 

86.01 Unlawfully leaving materials in a highway $10-$100 $10  100    

86.021(2) Highway damage by cultivation or a machine $10-$50; 10-30 days 10  50  10 days 30 days 

86.022 Obstructing a highway with an embankment or a 
ditch 

$10-$100 10  100    

86.025 Camping on highways or adjacent lands Max. $10, 30 days  10   30 days 
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86.03(6) Violations relating to trees or shrubs adjacent to a 
highway 

$25 per damaged tree or 
shrub 

 $25 per 
damaged tree 

or shrub 

  

86.03(7) Cutting of veterans memorial trees $10-$200; Max. 30 days $10  200   30 days 

86.06(2) Unlawfully traveling beyond or tampering with a 
highway barrier 

$10-$100; 10-60 days 10  100  10 days 60 days 

86.07(1) Drawing, painting, printing, or pasting upon a 
culvert, bridge, or guard rail 

$10-$200; Max. 30 days 10  200   30 days 

86.07(2) Unlawfully disturbing or making an alteration to a 
highway 

$5-$100; Max. 6 
months 

5  100   6 months 

86.17(2) Interference with the free use of water running across 
highways 

     

86.19(3) Unlawfully erecting a sign on a public highway $10-$100 (1st offense), 
$10-$500 (2nd offense) 

10  100 (1st 
violation); 

500 (2nd 
violation) 

  

86.191(5) Violations of highway advertisement prohibitions $25-$100; Max. 30 days 25  100   30 days 

86.192(2) Tampering with a sign, guide board, mile post, 
signal, or marker 

$25 (1st offense), $100 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 30 days (1st 
offense), 60 days 
(subsequent offenses) 

25 (1st 
violation); 100 
(2nd violation) 

25 (1st 
violation); 

100 
(subsequent 

violation) 

 30 days (1st 
violation); 60 
days 
(subsequent 
violation) 

87.17 Tampering with flood control improvements or 
personnel 

Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

87.30(2) Placing or maintaining a building within a floodplain 
in violation of a zoning ordinance 

Max. $50  50    

88.82(6) Tampering with a drain constructed by a drainage 
district 

Max. $100  100    

88.91(2) Placing an obstruction in a lawfully constructed 
drainage ditch 

Max. $100  100    

93.12(6) Operating a laboratory without a certificate of 
approval 

$100-$1,000 100  1,000    
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93.21(1) Failure by a manufacturer of dairy products to 
furnish required information to the person from 
whom milk is purchased or received 

Max. $200, 6 months  $200   6 months 

93.21(2)(a) Obstructing an officer performing inspection duties Max. $1,000  1,000    

93.21(4) Various violations for failing to obey orders relating 
to agriculture, trade, and consumer protection 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

93.21(6)(a) Fraudulent use of official seals of the Department of 
Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection 

Max. $10,000, 1 year  10,000   1 year 

93.23(8) Violations relating to local fairs Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

93.35(15)(a) Unlawful weather modification Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

94.46(4)(b) Various violations relating to seeds Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

94.64(12)(a) Willful violations of fertilizer regulations $250-$5,000; Max. 1 
year 

$250  5,000   1 year 

94.65(11)(b) Soil and plant additive violations Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

94.71(1)(a)2. Pesticide violations by a commercial applicator, 
dealer, or distributor 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

94.71(1)(a)2. Pesticide violations by a private applicator Max. $1,000, 30 days  1,000   30 days 

94.72(14)(a) Commercial animal feed violations Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

94.77(1) Various plant industry violations Max. $1,000 (1st 
offense), $500-$5,000 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 6 months 
(subsequent offenses) 

500 
(subsequent 

violation) 

1,000 (first 
violation); 

5,000 
(subsequent 

violation) 

 6 months 
(subsequent 
violation) 

95.21(10)(b) Refusal by an animal owner to comply with an order 
or quarantine 

$100-$1,000; Max. 60 
days 

100  1,000   60 days 

95.68(9) Conducting animal market business after revocation 
of a license 

$500-$1,000; Max. 6 
months 

500  1,000   6 months 

95.69(9) Conducting animal dealer business after revocation 
of a license 

$500-$1,000; Max. 6 
months 

500  1,000   6 months 

95.71(9) Conducting animal trucking business after revocation 
of a license 

$500-$1,000; Max. 6 
months 

500  1,000   6 months 
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95.99(1) Various animal health violations Max. $1,000 (1st 
offense), $500-$5,000 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 6 months 
(subsequent offenses) 

$500 
(subsequent 

violation) 

$1,000 (first 
violation); 

5,000 
(subsequent 

violation) 

 6 months 
(subsequent 
violation) 

96.17(3) Intentional violation of a Department of Agriculture, 
Trade, and Consumer Protection marketing order or 
agreement 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

97.12(2)(d)1. Violations relating to food regulation enforcement Max. $10,000  10,000    

97.12(4) Interfering with or giving false information to a food 
inspector 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

97.18(6) Violations of oleomargarine regulations $100-$500 (1st 
offense), $500-$1,000 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 3 months (1st 
offense), 6 months-1 
year (subsequent 
offenses) 

100 (1st 
violation); 500 

(subsequent 
violations) 

500 (1st 
violation); 

1,000 
(subsequent 
violations) 

6 months 
(subsequent 
violations) 

3 months (1st 
violation); 1 
year 
(subsequent 
violations) 

97.42(8) Interfering with inspection of animals, poultry, and 
carcasses 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

97.46(2) Unlawful refreezing or selling of refrozen fruit 
containing sulfur dioxide or sulfites as anti-oxidants 

$100-$500 (1st 
offense), $500-$1,000 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 3 months (1st 
offense), 6 months-1 
year (subsequent 
offenses) 

100 (1st 
violation); 500 

(subsequent 
violations) 

500 (1st 
violation); 

1,000 
(subsequent 
violations) 

6 months 
(subsequent 
violations) 

3 months (1st 
violation); 1 
year 
(subsequent 
violations) 

97.72(1) Various food regulation violations $100-$1,000 (1st 
offense), $500-$5,000 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 6 months (1st 
offense), 30 days-1 year 
(subsequent offenses) 

100 (1st 
violation); 500 

(subsequent 
violations) 

1,000 (1st 
violation); 

5,000 
(subsequent 
violations) 

30 days 
(subsequent 
violations) 

6 months (1st 
violation); 1 
year 
(subsequent 
violations) 

98.26(1) Various violations relating to weights and measures Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

99.07(2) Various violations relating to public warehouses $200-$1,000; Max. 6 
months 

200  1,000   6 months 
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Jail 
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Jail 

100.07(5) Milk payment violations Max. $200, 6 months  $200   6 months 

100.15 and 100.26 
(3) 

Use of trading stamps $25-$5,000; Max. 1 
year 

$25  5,000   1 year 

100.18 (9) and 
100.26(5) 

Deceptive advertising Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

100.182 and 
100.26 (7) 

Fraudulent drug advertising Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

100.19 and 100.26 
(3) 

Wasteful distribution methods and practices $25-$5,000; Max. 1 
year 

25  5,000   1 year 

100.195(5m)(e) Unfair billing for consumer goods or services $25-$5,000; Max. 9 
months 

25  5,000   9 months 

100.20 and 100.26 
(3) 

Violations relating to methods of competition and 
trade practices 

$25-$5,000; Max. 1 
year 

25  5,000   1 year 

100.2095(6)(d) Violations relating to labeling and materials of 
bedding 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

100.235(11)(b) Unfair trade practices in procurement of vegetable 
crops 

$100-$10,000; Max. 1 
year 

100  10,000   1 year 

100.26(1) Various marketing or trade practice violations Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

100.335(4)(b) Manufacturing or selling a child's container 
containing bisphenol A or failing to label a child's 
container as not containing bisphenol A 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

100.37(8) Violations of the hazardous substances act Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

100.38(7) Selling adulterated or misbranded antifreeze $50-$500 50  500    

100.383(5) Selling antifreeze without a bittering agent Max. $1,500, 90 days  1,500   90 days 

100.48(4)(a) Tampering with an hour meter attached to farm 
equipment 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

100.48(4)(c) Tampering with an hour meter attached to a 
snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, utility terrain 
vehicle, or boat 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

101.13(7) Use of an accessibility symbol in violation of 
standards 

$50  50  50    
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Jail 
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Jail 

101.14(4)(e) Failure to install required fire detection, prevention, 
or suppression devices 

$100-$500 $100  $500    

101.149(8)(c)1. Tampering with an installed carbon monoxide 
detector 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

101.16(5)(am) Unlawful filling, evacuating, or use of containers for 
liquefied petroleum gas; various violations relating 
to a failure to provide the Department of Safety and 
Professional Services with liquefied petroleum gas 
information 

$25-$2,000; 30 days-6 
months 

25  2,000  30 days 6 months 

101.16(5)(cm) Intentional violation by a retail supplier of liquefied 
petroleum gas of licensing and financial 
responsibility requirements 

$500-$1,000 (1st 
offense), $2,000-$5,000 
(subsequent offenses); 
30 days-6 months 

500 (1st 
violation); 

2,000 
(subsequent 
violations) 

1,000 (1st 
violation); 

5,000 
(subsequent 
violations) 

30 days 6 months 

101.16(5)(cn) Intentional violation by a retail supplier of liquefied 
petroleum gas who only fills Department of 
Transportation cylinders and containers of licensing 
and financial responsibility requirements 

$200-$400 (1st 
offense), $800-$2,000 
(subsequent offenses); 
30 days-6 months 

200 (1st 
violation); 800 

(subsequent 
violations) 

400 (1st 
violation); 

2,000 
(subsequent 
violations) 

30 days 6 months 

101.9209(5)(b) Intent to defraud during a transfer of interest in a 
manufactured home 

Max. $1,000, 30 days  1,000   30 days 

101.937(5)(b) Rule violations relating to water and sewer service to 
manufactured home communities 

$25-$5,000; Max. 1 
year 

25  5,000   1 year 

101.94(8)(b) Violations by a corporation that threaten the health 
or safety of a purchaser of manufactured homes and 
mobile homes 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

101.951(8) Violations relating to manufactured home dealers $25-$100 25  100    

101.953 and 
101.965 (1) 

Violations relating to warranty and disclosure for 
manufactured homes 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

101.955 and 
101.965 (1) 

Violations relating to jurisdiction and venue over 
out-of-state manufacturers of manufactured homes 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

101.988(3) Violations relating to elevators, escalators, and other 
conveyances 

Max. $1,500, 30 days  1,500   30 days 
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102.07(8)(d) Misclassifying an employee by a construction 
contractor to evade worker's compensation 

$25,000  $25,000  $25,000    

102.17(3) Willfully failing to testify or produce documents as 
required for a worker's compensation hearing 

$25-$100; Max. 30 days 25  100   30 days 

102.835(18) Discrimination by an employer against an employee 
whose earnings have been subject to a levy for 
delinquent uninsured employer payments 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

102.88(1) Second worker's compensation related offense in five 
years 

Max. $2,000, 90 days  2,000   90 days 

102.88(2) Third or subsequent worker's compensation related 
offense in three years 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

103.13(8) Violations by an employer relating to records open to 
an employee 

$10-$100 10  100    

103.16 Failure by an employer to provide seats for 
employees 

$10-$30 10  30    

103.165(4) Violations relating to an employee's cash bonds held 
in a trust 

Amount of the bond; 
10-60 days 

amount of the 
bond 

amount of 
the bond 

10 days 60 days 

103.15 (2) or (3) 
and 103.20 

Requiring an HIV test for employment Max. $100  100    

103.17 and 103.20 Failure by a manufacturing employer to mutually 
forfeit 

Max. $100  100    

103.18 and 103.20 Threatening to reduce wages or discharge employees 
to influence their votes 

Max. $100  100    

103.19 and 103.20 Employing children in certain shows Max. $100  100    

103.29(1) Violations relating to employment of minors in street 
trades 

$250-$5,000; Max. 30 
days 

250  5,000   30 days 

103.34(12)(a) Repeat offenses relating to traveling sales crews $250-$5,000; Max. 30 
days 

250  5,000   30 days 

103.37(4) Requiring an employee to pay for a medical 
examination as a condition of employment 

Max. $100  100    

103.43(2) Fraudulent advertising for labor Max. $2,000, 1 year  2,000   1 year 
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103.45 Unlawful payments of wages with time checks $10-$100 $10  $100    

103.49(6m)(am) Violations by a contractor, subcontractor, or agent 
relating to wage rates on state work 

Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

103.50(7)(a) Violations by a contractor, subcontractor, or agent 
relating to wage rates and hours of labor for highway 
contracts 

Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

103.545(5) Recruiting strikebreakers Max. $2,000, 1 year  2,000   1 year 

103.61 Contempt for violation of a restraining order or 
injunction issued by a court 

Max. $25, 10 days  25   10 days 

103.75(2) False evidence of age to obtain an age certificate or 
altering an age certificate 

Max. $100, 3 months  100   3 months 

103.82(1)(a) Repeat offenses of employing a minor for certain 
jobs 

$250-$5,000; Max. 30 
days 

250  5,000   30 days 

103.86(1) Failure by an employer to make required payments 
to employee welfare funds 

Max. $200  200    

103.87 Disciplining an employee for testifying in a 
proceeding pertaining to a crime of the children's 
code or juvenile justice code 

Max. $200  200    

104.10 Employer intimidation of a witness in a minimum 
wage investigation or proceeding 

$25  25  25    

107.02 Violation of mining statement requirements Min. $100; Max. 3 
months 

100    3 months 

107.15(6)(a) Violations of reporting requirements for mineral 
exploration 

Max. $50,000  50,000    

107.15(6)(c) Violations of confidentiality requirements for 
mineral exploration 

$50-$50,000; 1-6 
months 

50  50,000  1 month 6 months 

108.16(8)(m)3. False statements relating to determining the 
assignment of unemployment insurance contribution 
rates 
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108.225(18) Discriminating terms and conditions of employment 
against an employee whose earning have been 
subject to a levy for delinquent unemployment 
insurance contributions 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  $10,000   9 months 

108.24(1) False statements to obtain unemployment insurance 
benefit payments 

$100-$500; Max. 90 
days 

$100  500   90 days 

108.24(2) False statements or other information required by the 
Department of Workforce Development for 
unemployment insurance 

$100-$500; Max. 90 
days 

100  500   90 days 

108.24(2m) Misclassifying an employee by a construction 
contractor to evade unemployment insurance 
payments 

$25,000  25,000  25,000    

108.24(3)(a) Violations relating to acts against an employee or 
former employee concerning unemployment 
insurance 

$100-$1,000; Max. 90 
days 

100  1,000   90 days 

108.24(4) Unlawful disclosure or inspection of unemployment 
insurance documents 

$100-$500; Max. 1 year 100  500   1 year 

109.11(3) Failure by an employer to pay wages due Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

111.14 Interfering with the Employment Relations 
Commission 

Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

111.327 Misclassifying an employee by a construction 
contractor to evade fair employment requirements 

$25,000  25,000  25,000    

111.62 Strikes, work stoppages, slowdowns, and lockouts by 
employees of a public utility 

     

111.70(7m)(c)2. Striking following an injunction against a strike $10  10  10    

114.09(2)(a)2. Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the number of 
prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated 
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other 
suspensions and revocations equals two) 

$350-$1,100; 5 days-6 
months 

350  1,100  5 days 6 months 

114.09(2)(a)3. Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the number of 
prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated 
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other 
suspensions and revocations equals three) 

$600-$2,000; 30 days- 1 
year 

600  2,000  30 days 1 year 
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114.09(2)(a)4. Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the number of 
prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated 
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other 
suspensions and revocations equals four) 

$600-$2,000; 30 days- 1 
year 

$600  $2,000  30 days 1 year 

114.09(2)(c)2. Two or more reckless flying convictions within four 
years 

$50-$500; Max. 1 year 50  500   1 year 

114.103(3) Failure by private security personnel to report to a 
law enforcement authority 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

114.27 Various violations relating to aeronautics and 
astronautics 

Max. $500, 90 days  500   90 days 

115.31(7) Failure by a school administrator to report various 
crimes or acts committed by an employee of an 
educational agency to the state superintendent of 
public instruction 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

118.03(4) Unlawful textbook pricing $25-$100 25  100    

118.15(5)(a)1.a. Compulsory school attendance violation (first 
offense) 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

118.15(5)(a)1.b. Compulsory school attendance violation (second or 
subsequent offenses) 

Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

118.20(5) Discrimination against applicants for teaching or 
administrative positions 

$25-$50; 5-30 days 25  50  5 days 30 days 

120.13(35)(b)1. Unlawful presence in school buildings that provokes 
a breach of peace 

Max. $10,000, 90 days  10,000   90 days 

125.04(13) Selling or manufacturing alcoholic beverages 
without a required license or permit 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

125.07(1)(b)2.b. Facilitating underage drinking (second offense 
within 30 months) 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

125.07(1)(b)2.c. Facilitating underage drinking (third offense within 
30 months) 

Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

125.07(1)(b)2.d. Facilitating underage drinking (fourth or subsequent 
offense within 30 months) 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 
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125.07(2)(b) Selling alcohol to an intoxicated person $100-$500; Max. 60 
days 

$100  $500   60 days 

125.085(3)(a)1. Falsification of proof of age to show that an 
underage person has attained the legal drinking age 

$300-$1,250; 10-30 
days 

300  1,250  10 days 30 days 

125.105(2)(a) Impersonating an inspector of the Department of 
Revenue or Department of Justice with the intent to 
mislead 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

125.11(1) Various violations relating to alcoholic beverages Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

125.28(5)(d)1. Violations relating to fermented malt beverage 
wholesalers' permits 

Max. $10,000  10,000    

125.315(2) Evading provisions of law by giving away fermented 
malt beverages 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

125.33(7)(d) Violations by fermented malt beverage retail 
licensees relating to retail purchase credit 

Max. $1,000  1,000    

125.33(9) Campuses purchasing fermented malt beverages 
from anybody other than a licensed wholesaler 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

125.54(7)(c)1. Violations of wholesaler requirements Max. $10,000  10,000    

125.545(7)(a) Distributing wine directly to a retailer rather than a 
wholesaler by a winery 

Max. $10,000  10,000    

125.545(7)(b) Preferential treatment to a Wisconsin winery or 
discrimination against an out-of-state winery by a 
cooperative wholesaler 

Max. $10,000  10,000    

125.65(9) Violations relating to permits for wholesale sales for 
future delivery to solicit orders of intoxicating liquor 

$100-$500; 30 days-6 
months 

100  500  30 days 6 months 

125.66(1) Selling intoxicating liquor without a required license 
or permit 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

125.66(4) Selling of intoxicating liquor by a Class A liquor 
licensee to a Class B liquor licensee for resale 

Max. $100  100    

125.67 Evading provisions of law by giving away 
intoxicating liquor 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

125.68(8)(a) Selling diluted intoxicating liquor as undiluted 
intoxicating liquor 

$150-$500; 60 days-6 
months 

150  500  60 days 6 months 
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125.68(9)(g) Intoxicating liquor violations relating to labels, 
contents, and packaging 

$500-$1,000; 3 months-
1 year 

$500  $1,000  3 months 1 year 

125.69(4)(d) Violations by intoxicating liquor retail licensees 
relating to retail purchase credit 

Max. $1,000  1,000    

125.69(6)(b) Campuses purchasing intoxicating liquor from 
anybody other than a licensed wholesaler (if the total 
volume of liquor in one month is more than 12 liters) 

$1,000-$10,000 1,000  10,000    

125.69(6)(c) Purchasing of intoxicating liquor by a Class B liquor 
licensee from a Class A liquor licensee for resale 

Max. $100  100    

126.87(2)(b) Various violations relating to agricultural producer 
security 

Max. $10,000, 1 year  10,000   1 year 

132.01 and 132.03 Violations relating to labeling marks Max. $10,000, 6 months  10,000   6 months 

132.02 and 132.03 Violations relating to duplication or reproduction of 
labeling marks 

Max. $10,000, 6 months  10,000   6 months 

132.032 Fraudulent labeling mark filing Max. $10,000, 6 months  10,000   6 months 

132.07 Willfully and unlawfully converting a labeling mark 
to one's own use 

Max. $10,000, 6 months  10,000   6 months 

132.13(3) Possession of unlabeled convict-made products for 
the purpose of sale 

$100-$500; Max. 90 
days 

100  500   90 days 

132.16(7) Unlawful use of registered organizations' insignia or 
names 

Max. $100, 60 days  100   60 days 

132.17 Unauthorized wearing of certain badges Max. $20, 30 days  20   30 days 

132.18(5) Unlawful use of gaseous compounds in containers Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

132.19 Use of a labeling mark without authority Max. $100, 3 months  100   3 months 

133.04(2) Price discrimination with the intent to destroy 
competition 

Max. $25,000, 1 year  25,000   1 year 

133.05(3) Unfair trade practices through secret rebates Max. $25,000, 1 year  25,000   1 year 

134.01 Willfully or maliciously causing injury to the 
reputation or trade of a business 

Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

134.02(1) Blacklisting and coercion of employees $100-$500 100  500    
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134.03 Preventing pursuit of work Max. $100, 6 months  $100   6 months 

134.04(2) Sale of certain merchandise by employers to 
employees 

$100-$1,000 (1st 
offense), $500-$1,000 
(subsequent offenses) 

$100 for first 
violation; 500 

for subsequent 
violations 

500 for first 
violation; 
1,000 for 

subsequent 
violations 

  

134.05(4) Bribery of an agent or employee with intent to 
influence business action 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

134.06 Bonus to chauffeurs for purchases Max. $25  25    

134.10(1) Invading a right to choose an insurance agent or 
insurer by persons engaged in financing 

$50-$200; Max. 6 
months 

50  200   6 months 

134.11(1) Invading a right to choose an insurance agent or 
insurer by persons engaged in selling property 

$50-$200; Max. 6 
months 

50  200   6 months 

134.15(1) Issuing and using counterfeit money Max. $100, 6 months  100   6 months 

134.17(1) Unlawful use of a corporate name with the intent to 
obtain credit 

Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

134.19 Fraud on exemption laws $10-$50 10  50    

134.21 Unauthorized presentation of dramatic plays $5-$100; Max. 60 days 5  100   60 days 

134.25(1)(a) Misbranding of gold articles $25-$500; Max. 3 
months 

25  500   3 months 

134.26(1) Misbranding of sterling silver articles $25-$500; Max. 3 
months 

25  500   3 months 

134.27(1) Misbranding of coin silver articles $25-$500; Max. 3 
months 

25  500   3 months 

134.28 Misbranding of base silver articles $25-$500; Max. 3 
months 

25  500   3 months 

134.30 Misbranding of gold-plated articles $25-$500; Max. 3 
months 

25  500   3 months 

134.31 Misbranding of silver-plated articles $25-$500; Max. 3 
months 

25  500   3 months 

134.33(8) Unlawful platinum stamping Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 
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134.35(2) Violation of endorsed time of filing on telegrams      

134.36 Unlawfully divulging a telegraph message or giving 
preference in the transmission of such messages 

Max. $500, 1 year  $500   1 year 

134.37 Unlawfully divulging a telegraph message or forging 
the name of the intended receiver 

Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

134.39 Fraudulent knowledge of a telegraph dispatch or 
injury or interference with wires 

Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

134.405(5)(a)1. Violations relating to the purchase and sale of certain 
scrap material (first offense) 

Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

134.405(5)(a)2. Violations relating to the purchase and sale of certain 
scrap material (second offense) 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

134.41(1) Poles and wires on private property without the 
owner's consent 

Max. $25  25    

134.45(3)(a) Entering into a contract to restrict days for exhibiting 
motion picture films 

$25-$300 (1st offense), 
$300-$500 (subsequent 
offenses) 

$25 (1st 
violation); 300 

(subsequent 
violations) 

300 (1st 
violation); 

500 
(subsequent 
violations) 

  

134.50(3) Violations relating to poultry dealing $10-$100 (1st offense), 
$25-$500 (subsequent 
offenses) 

10 (1st 
violation); 25 

(subsequent 
violations) 

100 (1st 
violation); 

500 
(subsequent 
violations) 

  

134.50(4) Giving a false name or address to a poultry dealer by 
any person selling poultry 

30 days-1 year   30 days 1 year 

134.52(4) Unlawful shipment of chickens $10-$50; 10-30 days 10  50  10 days 30 days 

134.53(4) Transporting cattle without documents containing 
required information 

Max. $500, 3 months  500   3 months 

134.57 Failure by an employer or its employed detective to 
submit facts of a case relating to settlement with an 
employee 

$100-$500; 3 months-1 
year 

100  500  3 months 1 year 

134.60 Unlawful cutting or transportation of evergreen trees $10-$500 10  500    
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134.65(5) Violations relating to cigarette and tobacco products 
retailer licenses 

$25-$100 (1st offense), 
$25-$300 (subsequent 
offenses) 

$25  $100 (1st 
violation); 

300 
(subsequent 
violations) 

  

134.69 Peddling finger alphabet cards $25-$100; Max. 90 days 25  100   90 days 

134.715(3) Selling certain merchandise without proof of 
ownership at a flea market 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

134.97(4)(b) Possession of a record that was disposed of by a 
financial institution, medical business, or tax 
preparation business 

Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

137.01(1)(k) Violations relating to actions of a notary public (first 
offense) 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

138.05 and 
138.06(2) 

Violations relating to the maximum lending rate, 
prepayment, and disclosure 

$25-$500; Max. 6 
months 

25  500   6 months 

138.051 and 
138.06(2) 

Violations relating to residential mortgage loans $25-$500; Max. 6 
months 

25  500   6 months 

138.052 and 
138.06(2) 

Violations relating to residential mortgage loans $25-$500; Max. 6 
months 

25  500   6 months 

138.09(10) Violations relating to licensed lenders Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

138.10(14) Receiving interest or charges greater than permitted 
by a pawnbroker 

Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

138.12(3)(a) Engaging in the business of financing insurance 
premiums without a license 

Max. $200  200    

138.14(15)(a) Violations relating to payday loans Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

138.20(2) Discrimination in granting credit or loans Max. $1,000  1,000    

139.03(5)(c) Entering the state in unlawful possession of 
intoxicating liquor or wine 

$25-$500 (1st offense), 
$100-$500 (subsequent 
offenses); Max. 90 days 
(1st offense), 6 months 
(subsequent offenses) 

25 (1st 
violation); 100 

(subsequent 
violations) 

500   90 days (1st 
violation); 6 
months 
(subsequent 
violations) 
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Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 
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Fine 
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Fine 
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Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

139.05(7)(d) Shipping into the state or knowingly receiving 
fermented malt beverages from a brewer without a 
valid license 

     

139.05(7)(f) Shipping into the state, receiving, or selling within 
the state fermented malt beverages produced in a 
state with laws discriminating against any production 
ingredient 

     

139.25(6) Failure to furnish data or returns relating to beverage 
taxes to the Department of Revenue 

Max. $500, 30 days  $500   30 days 

139.25(7) Evading beverage taxes through fraudulent reporting Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

139.25(8) Assisting another in evading beverage taxes through 
fraudulent reporting 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

139.25(10) Various violations relating to beverage taxes $50-$500; 10-90 days $50  500  10 days 90 days 

139.44(2) Assisting another in evading cigarette taxes through 
fraudulent reporting 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

139.44(3) Failure to keep required records relating to cigarette 
and tobacco taxes 

$100-$500; Max. 6 
months 

100  500   6 months 

139.44(4) Refusal by a cigarette or tobacco retailer to permit a 
state inspector  to examine records 

Max. $500, 90 days  500   90 days 

139.44(5) Various violations relating to cigarette and tobacco 
taxes 

$100-$1,000; 10-90 
days 

100  1,000  10 days 90 days 

139.44(6) Various violations of Department of Revenue rules 
relating to cigarette and tobacco taxes 

$100-$500; Max. 6 
months 

100  500   6 months 

139.44(8)(a) Unlawful possession of cigarettes (if the number of 
cigarettes does not exceed 6,000) 

Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

139.44(8)(b) Unlawful possession of cigarettes (if the number of 
cigarettes exceeds 6,000 but does not exceed 36,000) 

Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

139.85(1) Violations relating to tobacco tax records or returns Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

139.95(4) Confidentiality violation by the Department of 
Revenue in administering the tax on controlled 
substances 

Max. $1,000, 60 days  1,000   60 days 
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145.12(1) Acting as a plumber or automatic fire sprinkler 
contractor without a license 

$100-$500; 30 days $100  $500  30 days 30 days 

145.12(2) Various violations relating to plumbing, fire 
protection, or swimming pools 

Max. $500, 3 months  500   3 months 

145.12(3) Falsely representing an apprentice to be a 
journeyman by a master plumber 

Max. $25, 30 days  25   30 days 

145.26(6) Violations relating to public swimming pool plan 
reviews 

$100-$5,000 100  5,000    

146.085(2) Charging an admission fee to use a toilet $10-$50 10  50    

146.60(9)(ag) Failure to provide notice of a release of genetically 
engineered organisms into the environment (first 
offense) 

$100-$20,000; Max. 1 
year 

100  25,000   1 year 

146.60(9)(am) Failure to provide notice of a release of genetically 
engineered organisms into the environment (second 
and subsequent offenses) 

Max. $50,000, 90 
months 

 50,000   9 months 

146.60(9)(b) Confidentiality violation relating to records for 
notices of a release of genetically engineered 
organisms into the environment 

$50-$50,000; 1-6 
months 

50  50,000  1 month 6 months 

146.84(2)(a) Violations relating to patient health care records Max. $25,000, 9 months  25,000   9 months 

153.45(5) and 
153.78(1) 

Unlawful release of certain health care information 
by the Department of Health Services 

Max. $15,000, 1 year  15,000   1 year 

153.50 and 
153.78(1) 

Patient confidentiality violations relating to health 
care information 

Max. $15,000, 1 year  15,000   1 year 

153.75(1)(a) and 
153.78(1) 

Violations of Department of Health Services rules 
relating to certain health care information 

Max. $15,000, 1 year  15,000   1 year 

154.15(1) Intentionally tampering with a declaration to 
physicians without the consent of the declarant 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

154.29(1) Willfully tampering with the do-not-resuscitate 
bracelet of another person without that person's 
consent 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

154.29(3) Intimidating another into signing a do-not-resuscitate 
order 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 
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154.30(10) Intentionally tampering with an authorization for 
final disposition of another without the declarant's 
consent 

Max. $500, 30 days  $500   30 days 

155.80(1) Intimidating another into executing a power of 
attorney for health care instrument 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

155.80(2) Intentionally tampering with a power of attorney for 
health care instrument 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

155.80(3) Falsifying a power of attorney for health care 
instrument 

Max. $1,000, 9 months  1,000   9 months 

155.80(4) Intentionally withholding knowledge of the 
revocation of a power of attorney for health care or 
of the falsification of a power of attorney for health 
care instrument 

Max. $1,000, 9 months  1,000   9 months 

155.80(5) Attempting to act as a health care agent based on a 
false power of attorney for health care 

Max. $1,000, 9 months  1,000   9 months 

157.60 Making a public easement in a cemetery Max. $300, 1 year  300   1 year 

157.64(2) Various violations relating to the disposition of 
human remains 

Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

157.70(10)(e) Disturbing a burial site for commercial gain not 
related to use of the land where a burial site is 
located 

Max. 2x value gained or 
lost 

 2 times the 
gross value 

gained or 
lossed 

  

165.55(13) Neglect by an officer to comply with certain arson 
investigation requirements 

$25-$200 $25  200    

165.765(1) Failure to comply with a requirement to submit a 

biological specimen 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

165.77(5) Intentionally disseminating a biological specimen in 
an unauthorized manner 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

167.07(5) Violations relating to the manufacture, storage, or 
distribution of matches 

$5-$25 (1st offense), 
$25 (subsequent 
offenses) 

5 (1st 
violation); 25 

(subsequent 
violations) 

25    
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167.10(9)(a) Violation of a court order enjoining the sale, use, 
storage, or handling of fireworks 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  $10,000   9 months 

167.151 Unlawful operation of corn shredders $25-$100 $25  100    

167.18 Failure to cover or secure threshing machine joints $2-$50 2  50    

167.20(2) Failure to provide stairway guards $25-$100; 30 days-6 
months 

25  100  30 days 6 months 

167.25(1) Discarding or abandoning a refrigerator without its 
door removed 

Max. $50, 30 days  50   30 days 

167.26(6) Leaving unguarded ice holes Max. $100, 6 months  100   6 months 

167.27(7) Violations relating to capping and filling wells or 
similar structures 

$10-$200; Max. 6 
months 

10  200   6 months 

167.30(1) Use of firearms near a public park, square, or 
enclosure 

$1-$25; Max. 60 days 1  25   60 days 

167.31(3)(c) Unlawful transport of a firearm, bow, or crossbow on 
an aircraft 

Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

168.12(6)(f) Signing or verifying a fraudulent claim for aviation 
fuel allowance 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

168.12(6)(g) Assisting another in making a fraudulent claim for 
aviation fuel allowance 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

169.45(2)(b) Unlawfully selling or purchasing a live wild animal $100-$2,000; Max. 6 
months 

100  2,000   6 months 

169.45(2)(d) Unlawfully taking bear or deer from the wild $1,000-$2,000; Max. 6 
months 

1,000  2,000   6 months 

169.45(2)(e) Unlawfully taking a harmful wild animal from the 
wild 

$500-$5,000; Max. 6 
months 

500  5,000   6 months 

169.45(2)(g) Obtaining a license relating to captive wildlife during 
a period of revocation 

Max. $200, 90 days  200   90 days 

169.45(5)(a) Repeat violations relating to captive wildlife within a 
period of five years 

Max. $100, 6 months  100   6 months 

169.45(8)(a)2. Engaging in activity authorized by a captive wildlife 
license during a period of revocation or suspension 

$500-$1,000 500  1,000    
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172.015 Permitting livestock on highways Max. $200  $200    

173.41(15)(a) Operating an animal shelter  or dog dealer without a 
license 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

174.15 Violations relating to dogs Max. $500, 60 days  500   60 days 

175.05(2)(b) Willfully entering upon certain posted premises 
without permission 

Max. $50, 30 days  50   30 days 

175.05(5) Going upon closed or restricted highways Max. $50, 10 days  50   10 days 

175.09(3) Failure to use standard time in a place of business $25-$500; 10-30 days $25  500  10 days 30 days 

175.10(2) Sale of certain merchandise to employees by state 
agencies or any political subdivision thereof 

$100-$500; 30-90 days 100  500  30 days 90 days 

175.15(2) Attending an endurance contest lasting more than 16 
hours in any 24 hour period over a period of more 
than six days in one month 

$5-$25; Max. 10 days 5  25   10 days 

175.15(3) Operating an endurance contest lasting more than 16 
hours in any 24 hour period over a period of more 
than six days in one month 

$100-$500; 10 days-1 
year 

100  500  10 days 1 year 

175.20(3) Operating an amusement place without a required 
license 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

175.25(5) Violations relating to the storage of junk automobiles $10-$50; Max. 30 days 10  50   30 days 

175.35(3) Intentional violations relating to waiting periods for 
the purchase of handguns 

$500-$10,000; Max. 9 
months 

500  10,000   9 months 

175.37(2) Failure to provide to the buyer of a firearm a written 
warning before transferring the firearm 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

175.60(17)(ag) Violations relating to the maintenance, use and 
publication of records relating to licenses to carry a 
concealed weapon 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

175.60(17)(ar) Use of excessive force by a law enforcement officer 
based solely on an individual's status as a licensee to 
carry a concealed weapon 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

175.60(17)(b) Carrying a concealed weapon in certain places Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 
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Fine 
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175.60(17)(e) Failure to relinquish or deliver a revoked or 
suspended license to carry a concealed weapon 

Max. $500, 30 days  $500   30 days 

177.34(4) Willfully refusing, after written demand by an 
administrator, to pay or deliver property 

$100-$5,000; Max. 9 
months 

$100  5,000   9 months 

182.0175(3)(b) Damage to transmission facilities Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

185.94(2) Improper use of the term "cooperative" Max. $100  100    

186.03(4) Improper use of the term "credit union" Max. $5,000  5,000    

191.13(6) Falsely representing a temporary railroad to be 
something other than a temporary railroad 

Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

192.292 Trains obstructing highways Max. $500, 15 days  500   15 days 

192.327(8) Violation by a railroad company to comply with an 
order from the Office of the Commissioner of 
Railroads relating to transport of railroad workers by 
motor vehicle 

Max. $500  500    

193.105(2) Misuse of the term "cooperative" Max. $250  250    

193.311(6)(c) Agricultural product and commodity marketing 
contract interference 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

195.286(6) Interference with advance warning signs for railroad 
highway crossings 

Max. $25  25    

196.171(3) Obstructing an officer performing inspections duties 
for meters, pipes, fittings, wires, and works 

Max. $25  25    

196.525(3) Unlawful loans to officers or directors of a public 
utility and loans to and investments in securities of 
holding companies 

Max. $10,000  10,000    

196.60(1)(b) Discrimination in services or charges by an officer of 
a public utility  

$50-$5,000 50  5,000    

196.604 Unlawful rebates, concessions, and discriminations 
from a public utility service 

$50-$5,000 50  5,000    

196.65(1) Violations by an officer or agent of a public utility 
relating to information and records 

$100-$5,000 100  5,000    
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196.65(3)(b) Violations by telecommunications workers relating 
to information and records 

$100-$25,000 $100  $25,000    

196.65(3)(c) Violations relating to information and records under 
the direction of a telecommunications provider 

$500-$25,000 500  25,000    

196.67(3) Failure by a public utility to place warning signs near 
certain overhead electrical supply lines 

$50-$5,000 50  5,000    

196.69(1) Interference with Public Service Commission 
equipment 

Max. $5,000, 30 days  5,000   30 days 

199.105(3) Interfering with the utility service of another who 
contributes to the Citizens Utility Board 

Max. $1,000  1,000    

199.14(3) Corrupt practices and conflicts of interest with the 
Citizen Utility Board 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

200.35(6)(b) Failure to comply with a requirement by the 
Metropolitan Sewerage District Commission to 
remove obstructions 

$100  100  100    

213.15 Offering for sale nonstandard hose couplings, 
fittings, or apparatus fittings for fire hoses 

$100-$500 100  500    

215.11(7) Failure to furnish a surety bond $10  10  10    

215.21(23) False statement in a loan application Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

215.26(6) Acting on behalf of any unauthorized savings and 
loan association 

$100-$500 100  500    

216.03 Business with or for an unauthorized investment 
association 

$100-$1,000; 3 months-
1 year 

100  1,000  3 months in 
county jail 

1 year 

217.16 Various violations relating to a seller of checks Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

218.0147(3) Unlawful sale of a motor vehicle to a minor Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

218.02(10) Violations relating to adjustment service companies Max. $500, 90 days  500   90 days 

218.04(12) Violations relating to collection agencies Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

218.05(15) Violations relating to community currency 
exchanges 

Max. $2,000, 9 months  2,000   9 months 

218.11(5m) Violations relating to recreational vehicle dealers $25-$100 25  100    
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218.205(1) Conducting the business of a motor vehicle salvage 
dealer without a license 

$500-$5,000; Max. 60 
days 

$500  $5,000   60 days 

218.23(3) Violations relating to the sale of a vehicle to motor 
vehicle salvage dealers and maintenance of records 

$25-$200; Max. 60 days 25  200   60 days 

218.24(4) Failure to lawfully display a salvage dealer license 
number on trucks and truck-tractors 

$25-$200; Max. 60 days 25  200   60 days 

218.305 Auctioning motor vehicles at wholesale without a 
license 

$25-$200; Max. 60 days 25  200   60 days 

218.33(3) Violations relating to conducting the business of a 
motor vehicle auction dealer 

$25-$200; Max. 60 days 25  200   60 days 

218.43 Violations relating to moped dealers $25-$100 25  100    

218.53 Violations relating to motor vehicle salvage pools 
and buyer identification 

$1,000-$10,000; Max. 
90 days 

1,000  10,000   90 days 

220.06(3)(b) Redisclosure of information in examination reports 
possessed by a bank 

$100-$1,000; Max. 6 
months 

100  1,000   6 months 

221.0525 Failure to comply with certification requirements for 
the transfer of shares of stock 

Max. $100  100    

221.0610(5)(c) False entries in the minute book for meetings of the 
board of directors of a bank 

$100-$500; 30 days-6 
months 

100  500  30 days 6 months 

223.08 Unlawful use of the word "trust" $300-$1,000; 60 days-1 
year 

300  1,000  60 days 1 year 

224.03 Unlawful banking without a charter $300-$1,000; 60 days-1 
year 

300  1,000  60 days 1 year 

224.06(7) Violations relating to fidelity bonds for bank officers 
and employees 

$100  100  100    

224.07 Violation of requirements to clear checks at par      

224.80(1) Various violations relating to mortgage bankers, loan 
originators, and mortgage brokers 

Max. $25,000, 9 months  25,000   9 months 

230.43 Obstruction or falsifications of civil service 
examinations 

$50-$1,000; Max. 1 
year 

50  1,000   1 year 
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231.02(6)(a) Conflicts of interest for members of the Wisconsin 
Health and Educational Facilities Authority 

$50-$1,000; Max. 30 
days 

$50  $1,000   30 days 

236.31(1) Transfer of lots without a recorded plat Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

236.32 Disturbing or not placing monuments Max. $250, 1 year  250   1 year 

236.33 Unlawfully dividing land into small parcels in cities 
of the first class 

$100-$500; Max. 6 
months 

100  500   6 months 

236.35(2) Sale of lands abutting on a private way outside the 
corporate limits of a municipality 

Max. $200, 30 days  200   30 days 

241.025 Contracts for employment      

250.04(7) Violations of Department of Health Services rules 
governing the duties of local health officers 

$10-$100 10  100    

250.045(5)(a) Violations relating to pharmaceutical drugs and order 
authority of the Department of Health Services 

Max. $10,000, 1 year  10,000   1 year 

250.045(5)(b) Obstructing a Department of Health Services 
employee in performing duties relating to 
pharmaceutical drugs 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

252.06(4)(b)2. Unauthorized entrance into isolation or quarantine 
premises 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

252.15(9) Unlawful disclosure of the results of an HIV test 
causing bodily or psychological harm 

Max. $50,000, 90 
months 

 50,000   9 months 

252.25 Various violations relating to communicable diseases Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

254.30(2)(b) Various violations relating to toxic substances and 
environmental health 

$100-$5,000 100  5,000    

254.47(3) Violations relating to recreational sanitation permits 
and fees 

$25-$250 25  250    

254.59(2) Maintaining certain human health hazards Max. $300, 90 days  300   90 days 

254.59(4) Refusal to allow a local health officer to enter into 
and examine a place to ascertain health conditions 

$10-$100 10  100    

254.59(5) Maintaining certain human health hazards Max. $300, 90 days  300   90 days 
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254.76(1) Causing fires by tobacco smoking $50-$250; 10 days-6 
months 

$50  $250  10 days 6 months 

254.83(1) Failure to post hotel rates or changing rates $50-$100  50  $100   

254.83(2)(d) Failure to post a notice of special hotel rates $50-$100 50  100    

254.84(6) Violations relating to motel rates Max. $300, 6 months  300   6 months 

254.85(5)(a) Violations relating to enforcement of food and 
lodging protections 

Max. $10,000, 1 year  10,000   1 year 

254.85(5)(b) Obstructing a state officer in the performance of 
duties relating to food and lodging protections 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

254.88 Various violations relating to food and lodging 
protections 

$100-$1,000 100  1,000    

254.92(2m)(b) Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (second 
offense within 30 months) 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

254.92(2m)(c) Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (third 
offense within 30 months) 

Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

254.92(2m)(d) Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (fourth or 
subsequent offenses within 30 months) 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

255.04(10)(a) Unlawful use of information from cancer reporting Max. $15,000, 1 year  15,000   1 year 

256.30(7) Refusal or delay of emergency service Max. $1,000  1,000    

256.35(10)(a) Unlawfully dialing "911" $100-$600; Max. 90 
days 

100  600   90 days 

256.35(10)(b) Unlawful use of information from emergency 
medical services 

Max. $10,000  10,000    

280.97 Various violations relating to pure drinking water $10-$100; Max. 30 days 10  100   30 days 

283.91(3) Various violations relating to pollution discharge $10-$25,000 (1st 
offense), $10-$50,000 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 6 months (1st 
offense), 1 year 
(subsequent offenses) 

10  25,000 (1st 
violation); 

50,000 
(subsequent 
violations) 

 6 months (1st 
violation); 1 
year 
(subsequent 
violations) 
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283.91(4) False statements in pollution discharge elimination 
documents 

$10-$10,000; Max. 6 
months 

$10  $10,000   6 months 

285.87(2)(a) Various violations relating to air pollution Max. $25,000, 6 months  25,000   6 months 

291.97(2)(a) False statements or tampering with hazardous waste 
management documents 

$100-$20,000; Max. 1 
year 

100  25,000   1 year 

293.87(2) False statements in a metallic mining application $1,000-$5,000 1,000  5,000    

295.37(1) False statements in an application relating to oil and 
gas 

$1,000-$5,000 1,000  5,000    

299.53(4)(c)2. False statements in a use oil fuel notification Max. $25,000, 1 year  25,000   1 year 

299.62(3)(b) Second violation relating to unlawful transport of oil 
or hazardous material in bulk on certain waterways 

$10,000-$25,000; Max. 
6 months 

10,000  25,000   6 months 

299.83(10) False statements relating to the Green Tier Program $10-$10,000; Max. 6 
months 

10  10,000   6 months 

299.85(10) False statements relating to the Environmental 
Compliance Audit Program 

$10-$10,000; Max. 6 
months 

10  10,000   6 months 

301.12(14)(e)4. Using an assignment of child support to discriminate 
against an employee 

Max. $500  500    

301.45(6)(a)2. Failure to provide information for sex offender 
registration 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

301.45(6)(ag)2. Unlawful establishment or change of residence by a 
sex offender 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

301.45(6)(am) Failure to keep confidential information relating to 
sex offender registration 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

301.47(3)(b) Sex offender name changes Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

302.07 Failure to obey commands to maintain order in a 
prison 

Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

302.375(1m) Selling or giving a prisoner liquor or dangerous 
drugs 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

302.375(2) Use of intoxicating liquor by a prisoner Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 
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302.375(3)(a) Allowing prisoners of different sexes to participate 
together in treatment or activities 

Max. $500, 6 months  $500   6 months 

321.62(5)(d) Making or using a false affidavit relating to service 
members civil relief 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

321.62(11)(c) Taking part in the eviction of family of a service 
member during a period of state active duty 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

321.62(12)(c)2. Causing a foreclosure, sale, or seizure of property for 
any breach of terms occurring within 90 days after a 
service member's period of active duty 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

321.62(14)(e) Seizing or retaining personal property belonging to a 
service member who lawfully terminates a lease 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

321.62(15)(c) Enforcing a lien for storage of household  goods or 
furniture of a service member during a period of state 
active duty 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

322.048 Contempt before a military judge $100  $100  100    

323.60(11)(d) Releasing certain trade secrets relating to hazardous 
substances entitled to protection 

$100-$20,000; Max. 1 
year 

100  20,000   1 year 

341.45(6)(a) False information in a form relating to the regulation 
of importation in vehicle tanks 

Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

341.45(6)(b) Failure or refusal to make a report or payment 
relating to the regulation of importation in vehicle 
tanks 

Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

341.60 Fraudulent application for a vehicle registration or 
license 

Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

342.15(5m)(b) Fraud relating to a transfer of interest in a vehicle Max. $5,000  5,000    

342.15(6)(b) Failure to apply for a new certificate of title 
immediately upon transfer of a vehicle with intent to 
defraud 

Max. $1,000, 30 days  1,000   30 days 

342.16(4)(b) Transferring a motor vehicle without disclosing 
certain information with intent to defraud 

Max. $5,000  5,000    

343.05(5)(am)1. Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing (first 
offense) 

$200-$600; Max. 6 
months 

200  600   6 months 
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343.05(5)(am)2. Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing 
(second offense within three years) 

$300-$1,000; 5 days-6 
months 

$300  $1,000  5 days 6 months 

343.05(5)(am)3. Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing (third 
or subsequent offenses within three years) 

$1,000-$2,000; 10 days-
6 months 

1,000  2,000  10 days 6 months 

343.05(5)(b)1. Operating a non-commercial motor vehicle without a 
required license 

Max. $300 (2nd 
offense), $500 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 30 days (2nd 
offense), 6 months 
(subsequent offenses) 

 300 (2nd 
violation); 

500 
(subsequent 
violations) 

 30 days (2nd 
violation); 6 
months 
(subsequent 
violations) 

343.12(9)(a) Operating a school bus without authorization (first 
offense) 

$200-$600; Max. 6 
months 

200  600   6 months 

343.12(9)(b) Operating a school bus without authorization (second 
offense within three years) 

$300-$1,000; 5 days-6 
months 

300  1,000  5 days 6 months 

343.12(9)(c) Operating a school bus without authorization (third 
or subsequent offenses within three years) 

$1,000-$2,000; 10 days-
6 months 

1,000  2,000  10 days 6 months 

343.14(9) Committing fraud in an application for a motor 
vehicle license or identification card 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

343.16(7)(a) Securing the services of another person to take an 
examination for a vehicle license 

$100-$200; Max. 6 
months 

100  200   6 months 

343.16(7)(b) Taking an examination for a vehicle license in the 
place of another person 

$100-$200 (1st 
offense), $200-$500 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 6 months (1st 
offense), 1 year 
(subsequent offenses) 

100 (1st 
violation); 200 

(subsequent 
violations) 

200 (1st 
violation); 

500 
(subsequent 
violations) 

 6 months (1st 
violation); 1 
year 
(subsequent 
violations) 

343.19(4) False statements relating to duplicate motor vehicle 
licenses or identification cards 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

343.245(4)(b) Allowing certain unauthorized employees to operate 
a commercial motor vehicle  

$2,750-$25,000; Max. 
90 days 

2,750  25,000   90 days 

343.28(4) Failure to comply with requirements for courts to 
forward records of convictions to the Department of 
Transportation 

Max. $100, 6 months  100   6 months 
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343.315(1m) Employers allowing drivers to operate a commercial 
motor vehicle during a period of disqualification 

Max. $5,000, 90 days  $5,000   90 days 

343.43(3)(a) Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (first 
offense) 

$200-$600; Max. 6 
months 

$200  600   6 months 

343.43(3)(b) Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (second 
offense within three years) 

$300-$1,000; 5 days-6 
months 

300  1,000  5 days 6 months 

343.43(3)(c) Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (third of 
subsequent offenses within three years) 

$1,000-$2,000; 10 days-
6 months 

1,000  2,000  10 days 6 months 

343.43(3m) Violations relating to operating a "Class D" or "Class 
M" vehicle 

Max. $300 (2nd 
offense), $500 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 30 days (2nd 
offense), 6 months 
(subsequent offenses) 

 300 (2nd 
violation); 

500 
(subsequent 
violations) 

 30 days (2nd 
violation); 6 
months 
(subsequent 
violations) 

343.44(2)(ar)2. Operating a vehicle while revoked (if the revocation 
did not result from causing bodily harm) 

Max. $2,500, 1 year  2,500   1 year 

343.44(2)(ar)3. Operating a vehicle while revoked (if the operator 
causes great bodily harm to another person and does 
not know his or her operating privileges had been 
revoked) 

$5,000-$7,500; Max. 1 
year 

5,000  7,500   1 year 

343.44(2)(ar)4. Operating a vehicle while revoked (if the operator 
causes the death of another person and does not 
know his or her operating privileges had been 
revoked) 

$7,500-$10,000; Max. 1 
year 

7,500  10,000   1 year 

343.44(2)(br) Operating a vehicle while disqualified Max. $2,500, 1 year  2,500   1 year 

344.48(2) Forged proof relating to financial responsibility of a 
vehicle 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

345.37(6) Failure to forward records of convictions to the 
Department of Transportation 

Max. $100  100    

346.17(2t) Knowingly resisting a traffic officer by failing to 
stop a vehicle after receiving a visible or audible 
signal to stop 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

346.65(1)(b) Two or more reckless driving convictions within a 
four-year period 

$50-$500; Max. 1 year 50  500   1 year 
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346.65(2)(am)2. Operating a vehicle under the influence of an 
intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior 
convictions of causing injury from intoxicated 
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other 
suspensions and revocations equals two) 

$350-$1,100; 5 days-6 
months 

$350  $1,100  5 days 6 months 

346.65(2)(am)3. Operating a vehicle under the influence of an 
intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior 
convictions of causing injury from intoxicated 
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other 
suspensions and revocations equals three) 

$600-$2,000; 30 days- 1 
year 

600  2,000  45 days 1 year 

346.65(2)(am)4. Operating a vehicle under the influence of an 
intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior 
convictions of causing injury from intoxicated 
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other 
suspensions and revocations equals four) 

$600-$2,000; 60 days-1 
year 

600  2,000  60 days 1 year 

346.65(2)(f)1. Operating a vehicle under the influence of an 
intoxicant or other drug (if there was a minor 
passenger in the motor vehicle at the time of the 
violation) 

$350-$1,100; 5 days-6 
months 

350  1,100  5 days 6 months 

346.65(2j)(am)2. Operating a vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 
0.04 or more but less than 0.08 (if the number of 
prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated 
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other 
suspensions and revocations equals two) 

$300-$1,000; 5 days-6 
months 

300  1,000  5 days 6 months 

346.65(2j)(am)3. Operating a vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 
0.04 or more but less than 0.08 (if the number of 
prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated 
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other 
suspensions and revocations equals three or more) 

$600-$2,000; 30 days- 1 
year 

600  2,000  45 days 1 year 

346.65(2q) Operation of a vehicle by a person who has not 
attained the legal drinking age with an alcohol 
concentration of more than 0.0 but less than 0.08 (if 
accompanied by a minor under 16 years of age) 

$400  400  400    

346.65(3) Causing bodily harm to another by the negligent 
operation of a vehicle 

$300-$2,000; 30 days-1 
year 

300  2,000  30 days 1 year 
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346.65(3m) Causing injury to another by operating a vehicle 
under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug (if 
the driver has a prohibited alcohol concentration 
under 0.08 or detectable controlled substance in his 
or her blood) 

$300-$2,000; 30 days-1 
year 

$300  $2,000  30 days 1 year 

346.65(4) Employment of drunken operators $50-$500; Max. 6 
months 

50  500   6 months 

346.74(5)(a) Failure to fulfill a required duty upon striking a 
person or an occupied vehicle (if the accident did not 
involve death or injury to a person) 

$300-$1,000; Max. 6 
months 

300  1,000   6 months 

346.74(5)(b) Failure to fulfill a required duty upon striking a 
person or an occupied vehicle (if the accident 
involved injury but not great bodily harm) 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

347.50(1m) Operating a vehicle equipped with a transmitter 
emitting a signal to activate an emergency 
preemption device 

Max. $10,000, 1 year  10,000   1 year 

347.50(1s) Tampering with an ignition interlock device or 
immobilization device 

$150-$600 (1st 
offense), $300-$1,000 
(subsequent offenses); 
Max. 6 months 

150 (1st 
violation); 300 

(subsequent 
violations) 

600 (1st 
violation); 

1,000 
(subsequent 
violations) 

 6 months 

347.50(2) Tampering with an odometer or airbag Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

349.25(1) Operating a vehicle for hayrack, sleigh, boxsled, or 
bobsled rides without a license 

Max. $100, 30 days  100   30 days 

350.11(3)(a)2. Intoxicated snowmobiling (second offense within 
five years) 

$300-$1,000; 5 days-6 
months 

300  1,000  5 days 6 months 

350.11(3)(a)3. Intoxicated snowmobiling (third offense within five 
years) 

$600-$2,000; 30 days- 1 
year 

600  2,000  30 days 1 year 

350.11(3)(b) Causing injury to another by intoxicated 
snowmobiling; refusal to stop for a law enforcement 
officer 

$300-$2,000; 30 days-1 
year 

300  2,000  30 days 1 year 

351.08 Operation of a motor vehicle by a habitual traffic 
offender or repeat habitual traffic offender 

Max. $5,000, 180 days  5,000   180 days 

425.401(1) Various violations relating to consumer transactions Max. $2,000  2,000    
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425.401(2) Intentional violation of requirements to notice law 
enforcement about repossessing certain motor 
vehicle collateral or goods 

Max. $500  $500    

440.03(14)(f) Violations relating to practicing certain therapies Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

440.032(9) Violations relating to sign language interpreting Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

440.21(4)(b) Violating a temporary restraining order or injunction 
issued by a court relating to engaging in a practice 
without a credential required by the Department of 
Safety and Professional Services 

$25-$5,000; Max. 1 
year 

$25  5,000   1 year 

440.26(8) Acting as a private detective, investigator, or private 
security person without a license or permit 

$100-$500; 3-6 months 100  500  3 months 6 months 

440.311(2) Using the title "behavior analyst" without a license Max. $250, 3 months  250   3 months 

440.86(1) Various violations relating to crematory authorities Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

440.95(1) Knowing failure by a cemetery authority to be 
licensed 

Max. $100  100    

440.95(2) Failure by a cemetery salesperson to register with the 
Department of Safety and Professional Services 

$25-$200; Max. 6 
months 

25  200   6 months 

440.95(3) Violations relating to cemetery authorities and 
cemetery salespersons 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

440.95(4) Violations relating to cemetery preneed sellers Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

440.968(2) Using the title "Wisconsin registered interior 
designer" without being registered 

$100-$500; Max. 3 
months 

100  500   3 months 

440.981(2) Using the title "licensed midwife" without a license Max. $250, 3 months  250   3 months 

440.9965 Violations by an athlete agent intending to induce a 
student athlete to enter into an agency contract 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

441.13(1) Various violations relating to nursing regulation Max. $250, 1 year  250   1 year 

442.11 Violations relating to practicing as a certified public 
accountant without the required credentials 

Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

443.18(1)(a) Violations relating to practicing as an architect or 
engineer without the required credentials 

$100-$500; Max. 3 
months 

100  500   3 months 
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443.18(3) Various violations relating to architects, engineers, 
designers, and surveyors 

Max. $500, 3 months  $500   3 months 

444.16(1) Violations relating to boxing and mixed martial arts 
fighting 

     

445.15(1) Various violations relating to funeral directors Max. $5,000; 30 days-3 
months 

 5,000  30 days 3 months 

445.15(1m) Requirements by a funeral director or operator for a 
client who enters into a burial agreement to purchase 
a life insurance policy used to fund the agreement 
from a specified insurance intermediary 

Max. $5,000  5,000    

446.07 Various violations relating to the practice of 
chiropractic 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

447.09 Various violations relating to the practice of dentistry Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

448.09(1) Billing a patient for a test performed by the state 
laboratory of hygiene by a Medical Examining Board 
licensee 

Max. $250  250    

448.09(1) Various violations by any person relating to the 
Medical Examining Board 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

448.09(1m) Various violations by a physician relating to the 
Medical Examining Board 

Max. $25,000, 9 months  25,000   9 months 

448.59 Various violations relating to the Physical Therapy 
Examining Board 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

448.69(1)(a) Various violations relating to the Podiatry Affiliated 
Credentialing Board 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

448.69(1)(b) Billing a patient for a test performed by the state 
laboratory of hygiene by a Podiatry Affiliated 
Credentialing Board licensee 

Max. $250  250    

448.94 Various violations relating to the Dietitians 
Affiliated Credentialing Board 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

448.959 Various violations relating to the Athletic Trainers 
Affiliated Credentialing Board 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 
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448.970(1) Various violations relating to the Occupational 
Therapists Affiliated Credentialing Board 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  $10,000   9 months 

449.11 Various violations relating to the Optometry 
Examining Board 

$50-$200 (1st offense), 
$200-$500 (subsequent 
offenses); Max. 3 
months (1st offense), 3-
6 months (subsequent 
offenses) 

$50 (1st 
violation); 200 

(subsequent 
violations) 

200 (1st 
violation); 

500 
(subsequent 
violations) 

3 months 
(subsequent 
violations) 

3 months (1st 
violation); 6 
months 
(subsequent 
violations) 

450.11(9)(a) Violations relating to prescription drugs and devices Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

450.155(2)(b) Exhibition, display, or advertisement of certain 
vending machines by use of material harmful to 
minors 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

450.16(3) Sale of contraceptives in a public school Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

450.18 Various violations relating to the Pharmacy 
Examining Board 

$50-$100; 30-90 days 50  100  30 days 90 days 

451.16 Various violations relating to acupuncture $100-$1,000; Max. 90 
days 

100  1,000   90 days 

452.17(1) Acting as a broker or salesperson without a license Max. $1,000  1,000    

452.17(2) Acting as a time-share salesperson without being 
registered 

$25-$200; 10 days-6 
months 

25  200  10 days 6 months 

452.17(3) Various violations relating to real estate practice Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

453.05(3) Violations relating to veterinary practice Max. $1,000 (1st 
offense) or $3,000 (2nd 
offense within 3 years) 

 1,000 (1st 
violation); 

3,000 
(second 

violation 
within three 

years) 

  

454.16 Various violations relating to the Cosmetology 
Examining Board 

$100-$5,000; 10-90 
days 

100  5,000  10 days 90 days 

454.295 Various violations relating to barbering $100-$5,000; 10-90 
days 

100  5,000  10 days 90 days 
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455.11 Various violations relating to the Psychology 
Examining Board 

Max. $200, 6 months  $200   6 months 

456.09(2) Violations relating to nursing home administration Max. $1,000, 1 year  1,000   1 year 

458.30 Various violations relating to the Real Estate 
Appraisers Board 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

470.09(2) Various violations relating to the Examining Board 
of Professional Geologists, Hydrologists, and Soil 
Scientists 

Max. $10,000  10,000    

480.26(1) Various violations relating to the Auctioneer Board Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

562.025 and 
562.13 (2) (c) 

Conflicts of interest relating to racing and pari-
mutuel wagering 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

562.05 (1) and 
562.13 (2) (c) 

Engaging in racing or pari-mutuel wagering 
activities without a license 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

562.06 (5) and 
562.13 (2) (c) 

Accepting a wager or making a payout on a wager to 
a minor 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

562.11 (1) and 
562.13 (2) (c) 

Violations relating to certain racing or pari-mutuel 
wagering activities 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

562.13(2) False statements in an application for a license 
relating to racing and pari-mutuel wagering 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

563.73(1) Violations relating to restrictions on the conduct of 
bingo 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

563.73(2) Various violations relating to bingo and raffle control Max. $5,000, 90 days  5,000   90 days 

563.99(1) Various violations relating to raffles Max. $1,000, 30 days  1,000   30 days 

565.02(2m) and 
565.50(1) 

False statements in applications for positions 
administering state lottery operations 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

565.05 and 
565.50(1) 

Conflicts of interest for employees administering the 
state lottery 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

565.10(3m) and 
565.50(1) 

False statements by retailers applying for a state 
lottery retail contract 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

565.17 and 
565.50(1) 

Violations relating to limitations on state lottery 
ticket and share sales and purchases 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 
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565.25(3m) and 
565.50(1) 

False statements in proposing to contract for a major 
procurement for the state lottery 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  $10,000   9 months 

565.32(1),(2)(b), 
or (3) and 
565.50(1) 

Violations relating to advertising and ticket and share 
contents for the state lottery 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

565.50(3) Possessing an altered or forged lottery ticket with 
intent to defraud 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

610.70(7)(a) Willfully obtaining information about an individual 
from an insurer under false pretenses 

Max. $25,000  25,000    

647.07 Various violations relating to continuing care 
contracts 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

708.03 Designation of an attorney by a lender for a 
mortgagor 

Max. $100  100    

756.255 Use of jury duty service by an employer for a 
discriminatory action 

Max. $200  200    

757.22(5) Judges acting as an attorney or attorneys having 
office with a judge 

Max. $100  100    

757.295(4) Barratry Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

757.30(1) Practicing law without a license $50-$500; Max. 1 year $50  500   1 year 

757.45 Sharing of compensation by attorneys Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

765.30(1) Marriage outside the state to circumvent laws Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

765.30(2) False statements in applying for a marriage license Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

765.30(3) Unlawful solemnization of marriage $100-$500; Max. 6 
months 

100  500   6 months 

765.30(4) Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties to 
the marriage 

$10-$200; Max. 3 
months 

10  200   3 months 

765.30(5) Various violations relating to marriage $10-$50 10  50    

767.75(6)(c) Use of a child or family support assignment by an 
employer to discriminate against an employee or 
applicant  

Max. $500  500    
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768.07 Various violations relating to the abolishment of 
actions for breach of promise, alienation of affection, 
or criminal conversation 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  $10,000   9 months 

778.16 Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform 
forfeiture collection duties 

$50-$300; 3-6 months $50  300  3 months 6 months 

778.30(4) Use by an employer of an order assigning an 
employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate 
against the employee 

Max. $500  500    

779.02(7) Wrongful use of materials by a contractor Max. $300, 3 months  300   3 months 

779.42 Obtaining a mechanic's services by 
misrepresentation of interest in personal property 

Max. $200, 6 months  200   6 months 

779.49(2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam 
(animal) 

Max. $10, 60 days  10   60 days 

782.38 Reimprisonment Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas 
corpus 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

785.04(2)(a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. $5,000, 1 year  5,000   1 year 

785.04(2)(b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

800.095(1)(c)11. Use by an employer of an assignment for failure to 
pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the 
employee 

Max. $500  500    

800.12(3) Contempt of court including misconduct in the 
presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to 
appear 

Max. 7 days    7 days 

813.12(8)(a) Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining 
order or injunction  

Max. $1,000, 9 months  1,000   9 months 

813.122(11) Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining 
order or injunction  

Max. $1,000, 9 months  1,000   9 months 

813.123(10) Violation of a temporary restraining order or 
injunction for individuals at risk 

Max. $1,000, 9 months  1,000   9 months 

813.125(7) Violation of a temporary harassment restraining 
order or injunction  

Max. $1,000, 9 months  1,000   9 months 



 

 

Statute Section 

 

Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 

Maximum 

Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

813.128(2) Violation of a condition of a foreign protection order Max. $1,000, 9 months  $1,000   9 months 

823.12 Violation of various injunctions relating to nuisances $200-$1,000; 3-6 
months 

$200  1,000  3 months 6 months 

846.40(10)(d)1. Fraud relating to foreclosure reconveyances Max. $50,000, 1 year  50,000   1 year 

846.45(6)(e) Violations relating to foreclosure consultants $25-$10,000; Max. 1 
year 

25  10,000   1 year 

856.05(3) Failure to deliver a will or suppression of a will Max. $500, 1 year  500   1 year 

885.11(3) Inexcusable failure by a witness to attend a court of 
record 

Max. $200  200    

939.32(1)(bm) Attempt to commit a Class I felony A     

939.615(7)(b)1. Violation of a condition of lifetime supervision A     

940.19(1) Battery A     

940.195(1) Battery to an unborn child A     

940.22(3)(d) Failure by a therapist to report sexual exploitation by 
another therapist 

A     

940.22(4)(d) Failure to maintain confidentiality of reports and 
records relating to sexual exploitation by a therapist 

A     

940.225(3m) Fourth degree sexual assault A     

940.285(2)(b)4. Subjecting an individual at risk to abuse under 
circumstances causing bodily harm 

A     

940.285(2)(b)5. Subjecting an individual at risk to abuse under 
circumstances not causing bodily harm 

B     

940.291(1) Failure by a law enforcement officer to render first 
aid 

A     

940.291(2) Law enforcement officer permitting another to fail to 
render first aid 

A     

940.295(3)(b)4. Reckless abuse or neglect of patients or residents at 
community residential facilities under circumstances 
causing bodily harm 

A     



 

 

Statute Section 

 

Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 

Maximum 

Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

940.295(3)(b)5. Reckless abuse or neglect of patients or residents at 
community residential facilities under circumstances 
not causing bodily harm 

B     

940.34(1)(a) Failure to summon law enforcement for a victim of a 
crime causing bodily harm 

C     

940.34(1)(b) Failure by a private detective to notify law 
enforcement of a crime 

C     

940.34(1)(c) Failure by a private security person to notify law 
enforcement of a crime 

C     

940.42 Intimidation of witnesses A     

940.44 Intimidation of victims A     

941.01(1) Negligent operation of a vehicle endangering 
another's safety 

A     

941.10(1) Negligent handling of burning material A     

941.12(2) Interfering with fire fighting A     

941.12(3) Interfering with accessibility to a fire hydrant C     

941.13 False alarms A     

941.20(1) Endangering safety by use of a dangerous weapon A     

941.23(2) Unqualified carrying of a concealed weapon A     

941.235(1) Unqualified carrying of a firearm in a public building A     

941.237(2) Carrying a handgun where alcoholic beverages may 
be sold and consumed 

A     

941.24(1) Possession of a switchblade knife A     

941.26(2)(c) Possession of a bomb A     

941.26(4)(b) Intentional use of pepper spray to cause bodily harm A     

941.26(4)(h) Selling pepper spray where customers have direct 
access to it 

A     

941.26(4)(i)1. Selling pepper spray that does not meet state 
requirements 

A     



 

 

Statute Section 

 

Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 

Maximum 

Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

941.26(4)(j)1. Selling pepper spray without adequate labeling A     

941.26(4)(L) Possession of pepper spray by a felon A     

941.299(3)(a) Directing a laser pointer at law enforcement B     

941.315(2) Possession or inhalation of nitrous oxide A     

941.316(2) Possession or abuse of hazardous substances A     

941.318(2) Manufacture, distribution, or delivery of salvinorin A 
with intent that it be consumed 

Max. $10,000  $10,000    

941.36(1) Fraudulent tapping of electric wires, gas, water, 
meters, or pipes 

C     

941.37(2) Obstructing emergency or rescue personnel A     

941.38(3) Violation of a court order to refrain from contacting 
a criminal gang member 

A     

941.39(2) Violation of a court order prohibiting contact with 
victims 

A     

941.40(1) Disturbing telecommunications or electricity lines by 
affecting a structure 

B     

941.40(2) Intentional disturbance of telecommunications or 
electricity lines 

B     

941.40(3) Intentionally causing an electrical connection with 
telecommunications or electricity lines 

A     

942.01(1) Defamation A     

942.03 Giving false information for publication A     

942.05 Opening letters A     

942.06(3) Use of polygraphs and similar tests B     

942.07(4) Use of genetics tests B     

942.08(2) Invasion of privacy A     

942.09(5)(a) Capturing a representation of a nude person in a 
locker room 

B     



 

 

Statute Section 

 

Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 

Maximum 

Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

942.09(5)(b)1. Capturing and distributing a representation of a nude 
person in a locker room 

A     

943.01(1) Damage to physical property A     

943.014(2) Demolition of a historic building without 
authorization 

A     

943.017(1) Graffiti A     

943.07(3) Throwing or shooting at railroads B     

943.07(4) Depositing dangerous debris on a railroad track B     

943.11 Entry into a locked vehicle A     

943.125(1) Entry into a locked coin box A     

943.125(2) Possession of a device intended for breaking into a 
coin box 

A     

943.14 Criminal trespass to dwellings A     

943.145(2) Criminal trespass to a medical facility B     

943.15(1) Entry onto a construction site or into a locked 
building, dwelling, or room 

A     

943.20(3)(a) Theft (if the value of the property does not exceed 
$2,500) 

A     

943.207(3m)(a) Unlawful transfer of recorded sounds (if involving 
fewer than 1,000 recordings that do not exceed 
$2,500 in value) 

A     

943.208(2)(a) Recording a performance without the consent of the 
performance owner (if involving fewer than 1,000 
sound recordings or 100 audiovisual recordings 
during a 180-day period and the value of the 
recordings does not exceed $2,500) 

A     

943.209(2)(a) Failure to disclose the manufacturer of a recording 
(if involving fewer than 100 recordings during a 180-
day period and the value of the recordings does not 
exceed $2,500) 

A     
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Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 

Maximum 

Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

943.21(3)(am)1. Fraud on a hotel or restaurant keeper, recreational 
attraction, taxicab operator, or gas station (if the 
value of the service is $2,500 or less) 

A     

943.215(1) Absconding without paying rent A     

943.23(3m) Operating a vehicle without the owner's consent for 
less than 24 hours 

A     

943.23(4m) Riding as a passenger in a vehicle operated without 
the owner's consent 

A     

943.23(5) Removal of minor parts of a vehicle without the 
owner's consent 

A     

943.24(1) Issuing worthless checks for $2,500 or less A     

943.26(1) Removing or damaging encumbered real property A     

943.34(1)(a) Receiving stolen property (if the value of the 
property does not exceed $2,500) 

A     

943.37 Alteration of property identification marks A     

943.38(3) Forgery; falsely making or altering objects and 
certain writings or documents 

A     

943.392 Fraudulent data alteration A     

943.395(2)(a) Fraudulent insurance and employee benefit program 
claims (if the value of the claim does not exceed 
$2,500) 

A     

943.41(8)(a) Making false statements to procure a financial 
transaction card; theft by taking a card or signing 
another's card 

A     

943.41(8)(c) Fraudulent use of a financial transaction card  (if the 
value of the money, goods, services, or property does 
not exceed $2,500) 

A     

943.45(3)(b) Theft of telecommunications service (second or 
subsequent offenses) 

B     

943.45(3)(c) Theft of telecommunications service (for direct or 
indirect commercial advantage or private financial 
gain) 

A     
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Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 
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Fine 
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Fine 
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Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

943.455(4)(b) Theft of commercial mobile service (second or 
subsequent offenses) 

B     

943.455(4)(c) Theft of commercial mobile service (for direct or 
indirect commercial advantage or private financial 
gain) 

A     

943.46(4)(b) Theft of cable television service (second or 
subsequent offenses) 

B     

943.46(4)(c) Theft of cable television service (for direct or 
indirect commercial advantage or private financial 
gain) 

A     

943.47(3)(b) Theft of satellite cable programming (second or 
subsequent offenses) 

B     

943.47(3)(c) Theft of satellite cable programming (for direct or 
indirect commercial advantage or private financial 
gain) 

A     

943.49(2)(b)1. Use of a recording device in a movie theater without 
written consent 

A     

943.50(4)(a) Retail theft (if the value of the merchandise does not 
exceed $500) 

A     

943.61(5)(a) Theft of library material (if the value of the library 
materials does not exceed $2,500) 

A     

943.62(4)(a) Unlawful receipt of payments to obtain a loan for 
another (if the value of the payment does not exceed 
$2,500) 

A     

943.70(2)(b)1. Computer crimes; offenses against computer data 
and programs 

A     

943.70(3)(b)1. Computer crimes; offenses against computers, 
computer equipment, or supplies 

A     

943.74(3)(a) Theft of farm-raised fish A     

943.75(2) Unauthorized release of animals C (first offense), A 
(second offense) 
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Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 
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Fine 
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Fine 
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Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

943.76(3)(a) Infecting livestock with a contagious disease through 
reckless conduct 

A     

943.76(3)(b) Infecting wild deer with a contagious disease through 
reckless conduct 

A     

943.81 and 943.91 
(1) 

Theft from a financial institution (if the value of the 
money, funds, credits, assets, securities, or property 
does not exceed $500) 

A Subject to 
penalty of a 

class B 
misdemeanor, 

persuant to 
s.939.32 (2m) 

   

943.82 (1) and 
943.91 (1) 

Fraud against a financial institution (if the value of 
the money, funds, credits, assets, securities, or 
property does not exceed $500) 

A Subject to 
penalty of a 

class B 
misdemeanor, 

persuant to 
s.939.32 (2m) 

   

943.83 and 943.91 
(1) 

Loan fraud (if the value of the loan does not exceed 
$500) 

A Subject to 
penalty of a 

class B 
misdemeanor, 

per s.939.32 
(2m) 

   

943.84 and 943.91 
(1) 

Transfer of encumbered property (if the value of the 
property does not exceed $500) 

A Subject to 
penalty of a 

class B 
misdemeanor, 

persuant to 
s.939.32 (2m) 

   

944.15(2) Public fornication A     

944.17(2) Sexual gratification A     

944.20(1) Lewd or lascivious behavior A     

944.21(5)(b) Obscenity (if the person has one prior obscenity 
conviction) 

A     

944.23 Making, lewd, obscene, or indecent drawings in 
public 

C     
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Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 
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Fine 
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Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

944.25(2) Sending obscene or sexually explicit electronic 
messages 

A     

944.30 Prostitution A     

944.31 Patronizing prostitutes A     

944.33(1) Pandering A     

944.36 Solicitation of drinks by an entertainer or employee 
of a licensee, permittee, or bartender of a retail 
alcohol beverage establishment 

B     

945.02 Gambling B     

945.04(1m) Permitting premises to be used for commercial 
gambling 

A     

945.07(1) Gambling by participants in a contest A     

945.08(2) Agreeing to being bribed as a participant in a contest A     

946.06(1) Improper use of the flag A     

946.15(2) Public construction contracts at less than full rate 
(kickbacks) 

C     

946.15(4) Public construction contracts at less than full rate 
(targeting) 

C     

946.16 Judicial officer collecting claims B     

946.17 Corrupt means to influence legislation; disclosure of 
interest 

A     

946.32(2) False swearing A     

946.40(1) Refusing to aid an officer C     

946.41(1) Resisting or obstructing an officer A     

946.42(2) Escape from custody A     

946.425(1m)(a) Failure to report to jail (for a person who receives a 
stay of execution of imprisonment of less than 10 
days) 

A     
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Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 

Minimum 

Fine 
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Fine 
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Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

946.425(1r)(a) Failure to report to jail (for a person who is subject to 
a confinement order as the result of a conviction for 
a misdemeanor) 

A     

946.45(1) Negligently allowing escape B     

946.46 Encouraging a violation of probation, extended 
supervision, or parole 

A     

946.49(1)(a) Bail jumping (if the offense with which the person is 
charged is a misdemeanor) 

A     

946.495 Violation of a nonsecure custody order A     

946.50(6) Absconding (if the person was adjudicated 
delinquent for committing a misdemeanor if 
committed by an adult) 

A     

946.67(1) Compounding crime A     

946.70(1)(a) Impersonating a peace officer with intent to mislead 
others 

A     

946.70(1)(b) Impersonating a fire fighter with intent to mislead 
others 

A     

946.70(1)(c) Impersonating an emergency medical technician with 
intent to mislead others 

A     

946.70(1)(d) Impersonating a first responder with intent to 
mislead others 

A     

946.71(2) Unlawful use of a license for carrying concealed 
weapons 

A     

946.72(2) Tampering with public notices B     

946.73 Violation of laws governing state fair park or any 
state or county charitable, curative, reformatory, or 
penal institution while within the same grounds 

C     

946.74(1) Aiding escape from mental institutions A     

946.75 Denial of right of counsel A     

947.01(1) Disorderly conduct B     
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Penalty or Class* 
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Fine 
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Jail 
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Jail 

947.011(3)(a) Disrupting a funeral or memorial service A     

947.012(1) Unlawful use of a telephone B     

947.0125(2) Unlawful use of computerized communication 
systems 

B     

947.013(1r) Harassment accompanied by a credible threat that 
places the victim in reasonable fear of death or great 
bodily harm 

A     

947.02 Vagrancy C     

947.04(1) Drinking in common carriers C     

947.06(3) Intentional failure or refusal to withdraw from an 
unlawful assembly which the person knows has been 
ordered to disperse 

A     

947.07(2) Causing violence or a breach of peace by damaging 
or destroying a U.S. flag 

A     

948.09 Sexual intercourse with a child age 16 or older A     

948.10(1)(b) Exposing genitals or pubic area to a child, or causing 
a child to expose genitals or pubic area, for purposes 
of sexual arousal or sexual gratification (when the 
actor is a child) 

A     

948.11(2)(b) Intent to expose a child to harmful material A     

948.21(1)(a) Neglecting a child (when no bodily harm is a 
consequence) 

A     

948.22(3) Failure to provide spousal, grandchild, or child 
support (for less than 120 consecutive days) 

A     

948.23(3)(c)1. Failure to report the disappearance of a child (when 
no bodily harm is a consequence) 

A     

948.40(4) Contributing to the delinquency of a child A     

948.45(1) Contributing to truancy C     

948.50(3) Strip search of a pupil by a school employee B     
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948.51(3)(a) Hazing (if the act results in or is likely to result in 
bodily harm to another) 

A     

948.53(2)(b)1. Child left unattended in a child care vehicle (when 
no bodily harm is a consequence) 

A     

948.55(2) Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within the reach 
or easy access of a child (if the child discharges the 
firearm causing bodily harm) 

A     

948.55(3) Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within the reach 
or easy access of a child (if the child possesses or 
exhibits the firearm in a public place) 

C     

948.60(2)(a) Possession of a dangerous weapon by a person under 
18 

A     

948.61(2)(a) Possession of a dangerous weapon other than a 
firearm on school premises 

A     

948.62(1)(a) Receiving stolen property from a child (if the value 
of the property does not exceed $500) 

A     

948.63 Receiving property from a child A     

949.165(14) Violations relating to payment to and establishment 
of escrow accounts 

Max. $500, 30 days  $500   30 days 

949.17(2) Misrepresentation associated with the crime victim 
compensation program 

Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

949.37(2) Misrepresentation associated with awards for sexual 
assault forensic examination compensation 

Max. $500, 6 months  500   6 months 

951.02 and 
951.18(1) 

Mistreating animals A     

951.025 and 
951.18(1) 

Killing an animal by means of decompression A     

951.03 and 
951.18(1) 

Dognapping and catnapping A     

951.04 and 
951.18(1) 

Leading an animal upon a highway from a motor 
vehicle 

A     
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951.05 and 
951.18(1) 

Transportation of animals in a cruel manner A     

951.06 and 
951.18(1) 

Exposing a domestic animal to poisonous or 
controlled substances 

A     

951.07 and 
951.18(1) 

Using certain devices on animals to ready them for 
an exhibition, competition, rodeo, circus, or other 
performance 

A     

951.08 (2m) and 
951.18 (2) 

Owning an animal within 5 years of conviction for 
instigating fights between animals 

A     

951.08 (3) and 
951.18 (2) 

Spectating a cockfight, dog fight, bullfight, or other 
fight between animals 

A     

951.09 and 951.18 
(1) 

Shooting at caged or staked animals A     

951.095 and 
951.19 (2m) 

Harassment of police and fire animals (when no 
injury is a consequence) 

A     

951.097 (1) (b) 1. 
or (2) (a) and 
951.18 (2s) 

Reckless harassment of service dogs B     

951.097 (1) (b) 2., 
(2) (b), or (3) (a) 
and 951.18 (2s) 

Intentional harassment of service dogs or  recklessly 
injuring a service dog 

A     

951.10 and 951.18 
(1) 

Unlawful sale of baby rabbits, chicks, and other fowl A     

951.11 and 951.18 
(1) 

Artificially coloring animals A     

951.13 and 951.18 
(1) 

Failure to provide proper food and drink to confined 
animals 

A     

951.14 and 951.18 
(1) 

Failure to provide proper shelter to confined animals A     

951.15 and 951.18 
(1) 

Abandoning animals A     
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Fine 

Maximum 
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961.41(3g)(b) Possession of a controlled substance not included in 
schedule I or II that is a narcotic drug 

     

961.41(4)(bm) Manufacture, delivery, distribution, or dispensation 
of imitation controlled substances 

Max. $500, 6 months  $500   6 months 

961.435 Use or prescription by a practitioner of a controlled 
substance in schedule I, II, III, or IV 

Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

961.573(1) Possession of drug paraphernalia Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

961.574(1) Manufacture or delivery of drug paraphernalia Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

961.575(1) Delivery of drug paraphernalia to a minor Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

961.576 Advertisement of drug paraphernalia Max. $500, 30 days  500   30 days 

968.075(5)(a)2. Contact with an alleged victim immediately 
following an arrest for a domestic abuse incident 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

968.255(4) Intentional violation of strip search requirements Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

968.34(3) Unlawful use of a pen register or trap and trace 
device 

Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

968.49 Failure to attend as a grand juror after being lawfully 
summoned without a sufficient excuse 

Max. $40  40    

973.05(5)(g) Use by an employer of an assignment for an 
employee's failure to pay certain fines, surcharges, 
costs, or fees to discriminate against the employee 

Max. $500  500    

973.07 Failure to pay a fine, fees, surcharges, or costs or to 
comply with certain community service work 

Max. 6 months    6 months 

976.03(11) Officer delivering a person in custody to an 
extradition agent of another state 

Max. $1,000, 6 months  1,000   6 months 

979.01(2) Violations relating to reporting deaths Max. $1,000, 90 days  1,000   90 days 

979.10(4) Unlawful cremation without a permit Max. $10,000, 9 months  10,000   9 months 

985.03(2) Causing a legal notice to be published in an 
ineligible newspaper or failure to cause such legal 
notice in any newspaper 

Max. $100  100    
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Summary of Misdemeanor 

 

Penalty or Class* 
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Fine 
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Fine 

Minimum 

Jail 

Maximum 

Jail 

995.67(2)(b) Disclosure by a domestic abuse services organization 
of the location of certain people to a service recipient 

Max. $500, 30 days  $500   30 days 

 
 
 
 

*Misdemeanor Penalties 
Class A: Fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment not to exceed nine months, or both. 
Class B: Fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 90 days, or both. 
Class C: Fine not to exceed $500 or imprisonment not to exceed 30 days, or both.





 
 
Justice -- DNA Collection (Paper #410) Page 85 

APPENDIX II 

 

Misdemeanor Disposition Summary 

Statewide Report 
 

     Plead Dismissed 
 Total Total Jury Court Before Before  
Categories Opened Disposed Trial Trial Trial Trial Other
        
Battery 7,811 7,780 118 12 5,342 2,282 26 
4th Degree Sexual Assault 201 222 10 0 166 45 1 
Intimidate Witness/Victim 228 256 1 0 186 69 0 
Crimes Against Children 476 509 7 2 351 148 1 
Resisting An Officer 6,115 6,008 51 4 4,973 960 20 
Theft 3,893 3,742 15 4 2,812 903 8 
Retail Theft (Shoplifting) 2,994 2,723 8 2 2,225 483 5 
Receiving Stolen Property 319 317 2 0 213 101 1 
Operate Vehicle w/o Consent 95 92 0 0 69 22 1 
Entering Locked vehicle 21 22 2 0 16 4 0 
Criminal Damage 3,100 3,085 18 0 2,239 819 9 
Disorderly Conduct 10,166 10,153 65 15 7,355 2,698 20 
Criminal Trespass 418 408 1 1 287 119 0 
Weapons/Explosives 885 772 10 2 592 168 0 
Sex Crimes 270 254 3 1 198 51 1 
Drug Possessions 4,582 4,481 6 3 3,516 951 5 
Drug Paraphernalia 1,548 1,502 2 1 1,180 318 1 
Other Drug Offenses 2 2 0 0 2 0 0 
Forgery 5 3 0 0 3 0 0 
Worthless Checks 1,355 1,657 1 0 1,046 609 1 
Public Assistance Fraud 2 1 0 0 1 0 0 
Other Fraud 313 265 2 0 179 84 0 
Violation of TRO 779 737 10 4 450 266 7 
Contempt of Court 94 112 0 0 23 87 2 
Escape 35 37 0 0 33 4 0 
Bail Jumping 6,267 6,149 24 5 3,582 2,519 19 
Misdemeanor Traffic 27,488 27,598 169 23 22,796 4,565 45 
Other Misdemeanor 1,167 1,124 8 2 710 396 8 
Unidentified Misdemeanor      96      184      1      0      118      64      1 
        
Total 80,725 80,195 534 81 60,663 18,735 182 

 
 
 
 


