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Juvenile Justice and Youth Aids Program 
 
 
 

 
 The 1993 and 1995 sessions of the Wisconsin 
Legislature enacted major revisions of the state's 
juvenile justice system. Under 1995 Wisconsin Act 
27, juvenile delinquency programs and services 
were transferred, on July 1, 1996, from the former 
Department of Health and Social Services to the 
Department of Corrections. Under prior law, 
Chapter 48 of the Wisconsin statutes (the 
Children's Code) described the legal framework of 
the state's child welfare and juvenile justice 
systems. Under 1995 Wisconsin Act 77, juvenile 
delinquency provisions were removed from 
Chapter 48 and revised and then incorporated into 
Chapter 938, referred to as "the Juvenile Justice 
Code." (Chapter 48 remains as the Children's Code, 
relating to child welfare and protection.)  In the 
1997 session of the Legislature, numerous 
additions and clarifications were made to the 
juvenile code.  
 
 Under Chapter 938, the Legislature states that 
its intent is to promote a juvenile justice system 
capable of dealing with the problem of juvenile 
delinquency, a system which will protect the 
community, impose accountability for violations of 
law and equip juvenile offenders with 
competencies to live responsibly and productively. 
Chapter 938 is also intended to accomplish the 
following: (a) protect citizens from juvenile crime; 
(b) hold each juvenile offender directly accountable 
for his or her acts; (c) provide an individualized 
assessment of each alleged and adjudicated 
delinquent juvenile, in order to prevent further 
delinquent behavior through the development of 
competency in the juvenile offender, so that he or 
she is more capable of living productively and 
responsibly in the community; (d) provide due 
process through which each juvenile offender and 
all other interested parties are assured fair 
hearings, during which constitutional and other 

legal rights are recognized and enforced; (e) divert 
juveniles from the juvenile justice system through 
early intervention as warranted, when consistent 
with the protection of the public; (f) respond to a 
juvenile offender's needs for care and treatment, 
consistent with the prevention of delinquency, each 
juvenile's best interest and protection of the public, 
by allowing a judge to utilize the most effective 
dispositional option; and (g) ensure that victims 
and witnesses of acts committed by juveniles are 
afforded the same rights as victims and witnesses 
of crimes committed by adults, and are treated 
with dignity, respect, courtesy and sensitivity 
throughout any proceedings. 
 
 This paper provides an overview of juvenile 
crime statistics in Wisconsin, the state's juvenile 
justice system, youth aids funding provided to 
counties, and community-based programming for 
juveniles.  
 
 

Wisconsin Juvenile Crime Statistics 

 
 This section provides information on total 
juvenile arrests and juvenile arrest rates in 
Wisconsin as well as statistics for specific types of 
offenses.  
 
 Under Wisconsin law, a juvenile is defined as 
any person under the age of 18 years, except that 
for purposes of investigating or prosecuting 
violations of state or federal criminal law, a 
"juvenile" does not include a person who has 
attained 17 years of age. Under prior law, 17-year-
old offenders were treated as juveniles. Under 1995 
Wisconsin Act 27, 17-year-old offenders began to 
be treated as adults, first effective January 1, 1996. 
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 Juveniles may be taken into custody by law 
enforcement personnel when the officer reasonably 
believes that the juvenile has committed an act in 
violation of state or federal criminal law, is a 
runaway or has violated some other law or court 
order. Juveniles who are taken into custody are not 
considered arrested under state law. However, the 
national Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) system, 
from which the following data is obtained, refers to 
the apprehension of both adults and juveniles as an 
arrest. Therefore, this paper refers to juvenile 
arrests. 
 
 The UCR system also records 17-year-old 
persons in the juvenile category. While this 
treatment is no longer consistent with Wisconsin 
law, this practice allows for comparisons with prior 
year statistics and data from other states. The arrest 
data provided in this section covers a 10-year 
period (1994 through 2003); further, the age of 
persons considered to be juveniles is consistent 
throughout this period. Additional crime data can 
be found in a document entitled "Crime and 
Arrests in Wisconsin – 2003," published by of the 
Office of Justice Assistance.  
 
Total Juvenile and Adult Arrests 
 
 Juveniles arrests were relatively stable in the 
mid-1980s, but increased each year from 1989 to 
1997. From 1997 to 2003, total juvenile arrests 
declined by 19.2%. Over the 10-year period 1994 to 
2003, the total number of juvenile arrests decreased 
by 13.7%, from 135,767 in 1994 to 117,224 in 2003. 
Juvenile arrests averaged 133,918 arrests annually 
during this 10-year period. In contrast, over the 
same period, total adult arrests increased 11.7%, 
from 287,807 arrests in 1994 to 321,478 arrests in 
2003. Figure 1 shows the total number of juvenile 
and adult arrests statewide for the years 1994 
through 2003. In 2003, juvenile arrests comprised 
approximately 26.7% of all arrests in Wisconsin, 
while the juvenile population in 2003 comprised 
approximately 25.5% of the total state population. 
 

 Of the juveniles arrested in 2003, 81,298 were 
male (69.4%) and 35,926 were female (30.6%). 
Offense categories that had the highest percentage 
of arrests of juvenile males included disorderly 
conduct, theft, liquor law violations, curfew 
violations, and vandalism. Offense categories that 
had the highest percentage of arrests of juvenile 
females included disorderly conduct, theft, liquor 
law violations, curfew violations, and runaways.  
 
Juvenile and Adult Arrest Rates 
 
 The population under age 18 in Wisconsin 
increased by 4.8% between 1994 and 2003, from 
1,336,450 juveniles to 1,400,133 juveniles. The arrest 
rate (expressed as the number of arrests per 100,000 
residents) removes the effect of population change 
on the number of arrests and permits the 
comparison of the number of arrests over time on a 
uniform population base. As shown in Figure 2, the 
overall juvenile arrest rate decreased from 10,159 
arrests per 100,000 juveniles in 1994 to 8,372 arrests 
per 100,000 juveniles in 2003. This represents a 
17.6% decrease in the overall juvenile arrest rate 
over the 10-year period. Figure 2 also shows that  
the adult arrest rate increased over the same 10-
year period (from 7,726 to 7,859 arrests per 100,000 
population), representing a 1.7% increase. 
Throughout the 10-year period, the juvenile arrest 
rate was consistently higher than the adult arrest 
rate. 
 

Figure 1 
Total Wisconsin Arrests by Year 
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Juvenile and Adult Arrests for Violent Offenses 
 
 Total juvenile arrests for Part I violent offenses 
as defined by the UCR (murder, forcible rape, 
robbery and aggravated assault) increased each 
year from 1988 through 1994 (from 1,151 to 2,674 
arrests) but have remained below the 1994 peak 
level since then. Juvenile arrests for violent offenses 
decreased from 2,674 arrests in 1994 to 1,969 in 
2003, a decrease of 26.4% (although arrests for 
murder increased be 41.9% and forcible rape 
increased by 47.4% during the period). Adult 
arrests for Part I violent offenses increased over the 
10-year period from 6,305 arrests in 1994 to 8,022 
arrests in 2003, a 27.2% increase. Figure 3 shows the 
total number of juvenile and adult arrests 
statewide for Part I violent offenses for the years 
1994 through 2003. In 2003, juvenile arrests 
comprised 19.7% of all arrests for Part I violent 
offenses in Wisconsin, less than the percentage of 
the juvenile population in the total state population 
(25.5%). 
 
Distribution of Juvenile Arrests 
 
 The 117,224 juvenile arrests in Wisconsin in 
2003 were distributed among four, broad 
categories of offenses:  (a) 1.7% were for violent 
offenses (murder, forcible rape, robbery and 
aggravated assault); (b) 15.9% were for property 

offenses (burglary, theft, motor vehicle theft and 
arson); (c) 20.5% were for status offenses (offenses 
which would not be crimes were they committed 
by an adult, such as liquor law violations, curfew 
violations and runaways); and (d) 61.9% were for 
other offenses (primarily, disorderly conduct, 
drug-related violations, weapons violations, simple 
assault and vandalism).  
 
 As noted above, arrests for violent offenses 
constituted less than two percent of all juvenile 
arrests in Wisconsin in 2003, and juvenile arrests 
for violent offenses decreased by 26.4% from 1994 
to 2003. The juvenile arrest rate for violent offenses 
also decreased by 29.7% over the same time period.  
 
 Between 1994 and 2003, the number of juvenile 
arrests for the category "other offenses," which 
constitute 61.9% of total juvenile arrests, increased 
by 3.3%, while the juvenile arrest rate for these 
offenses decreased by 1.4%. Juvenile property 
offense arrests (15.9% of total juvenile arrests in 
2003) decreased by 37.7% during the 10-year 
period, while the juvenile property offense arrest 
rate decreased by 40.5%.  
 
 Finally, status offense arrests (20.5% of all 
juvenile arrests in 2003) decreased by 27.0% from 
1994 to 2003, while the status offense arrest rate 
decreased by 30.3%. 

Figure 2 
Wisconsin Annual Arrest Rates (Per 100,000) 

 
 
 

Figure 3 
Arrests for Part I Violent Offenses 
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 For a more detailed look at Wisconsin juvenile 
crime statistics, Appendices I, II and III show, 
respectively, the number of juvenile arrests by 
offense for the years 1994 through 2003, the 
juvenile arrest rate by offense over the same time 
period, and total 2003 juvenile arrests by county. 
 
 

An Overview of the Juvenile Justice 
Process in Wisconsin 

 
 Chapter 938, of the statutes, delineates the 
justice system's jurisdiction concerning violations 
of state and federal criminal law, civil law, county, 
town or other municipal ordinances, as well as 
jurisdiction over juveniles alleged to be in need of 
protection and services. Depending on the nature 
of the juvenile's behavior, the public may be 
represented by a district attorney, a corporation 
counsel, a city, village or town attorney or by a 
person designated by a county board of 
supervisors. The procedural requirements, under 
Chapter 938, to address these various situations 
differ in some respects. However, the following 
discussion focuses on procedures relating to 
juveniles who are alleged to have violated state or 
federal criminal law and the responsibilities of the 
district attorney as the public's representative. 
 
 The juvenile court has exclusive jurisdiction 
over any juvenile 10 years of age or over who is 
alleged to have violated any state or federal 
criminal law, with the exception of youth who fall 
under the original jurisdiction of the adult court or 
who are waived into adult court, as described in 
the following section. Juvenile courts have 
concurrent jurisdiction with municipal courts over 
juveniles age 12 or older who are alleged to have 
violated a county, town or municipal ordinance. 
There is no separate juvenile court system in 
Wisconsin. The circuit courts serve as juvenile 
courts and are referred to as juvenile courts when 
exercising their jurisdiction under Chapters 48 and 

938. Under current law, juveniles under age 10 who 
commit a delinquent act are considered to be 
juveniles in need of protection or services (JIPS) 
and are not subject to delinquency proceedings. 
Proceedings for these juveniles are handled by the 
juvenile court under the JIPS provisions in Chapter 
938 of the statutes.  
 
 Under Chapter 938, a juvenile may be taken 
into custody when a law enforcement officer 
believes that the juvenile has committed an act in 
violation of a state or federal criminal law, that the 
juvenile is a runaway or that the juvenile has 
violated some other law or court order. The officer 
taking the juvenile into custody must immediately 
attempt to notify the juvenile's parent(s) or 
guardian and make every effort to release the 
juvenile, when appropriate, into that person's 
custody. A juvenile alleged to be delinquent may 
be referred to juvenile court intake by a law 
enforcement officer or others, including school 
officials or family members. 
 
Intake Process 
 
 A juvenile court or the county department 
responsible for providing intake services must 
specify at least one intake worker to provide the 
services required by state law. Intake workers 
provide services 24 hours a day, seven days a 
week, for the purpose of screening juveniles taken 
into custody, unless the juvenile is otherwise 
released under certain circumstances specified by 
statute. The intake worker is responsible for: (a) 
determining whether and where a juvenile is to be 
held in temporary custody; (b) receiving referral 
information and conducting intake inquiries to 
determine how the case is to proceed; and (c) 
providing counseling and referral services and 
other functions to assist the court. 
 
Temporary Custody 
 
 A juvenile may not be held in secure detention 
(generally, a county facility) unless first 
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interviewed in person by an intake worker. If the 
intake worker is in a place distant from where the 
juvenile is being held or the hour is unreasonable, 
as defined by written court intake rules, the worker 
may authorize holding the juvenile in secure 
custody while the intake worker is en route to the 
in-person interview or until 8:00 a.m. of the day 
following the night on which the juvenile was 
taken into custody. However, this procedure is 
only allowed if the worker determines, based upon 
a telephone conversation with the law enforcement 
officer who took the child into custody, that the 
juvenile meets the statutory criteria for holding a 
juvenile in secure detention. 
 
 A juvenile may be held in temporary custody if 
the intake worker determines that there is probable 
cause to believe the juvenile is within the 
jurisdiction of the court and if probable cause exists 
to believe one of the following: (a) that if the 
juvenile is not held he or she will commit injury to 
the person or property of others; (b) that the 
parent, guardian or legal custodian of the juvenile 
or other responsible adult is neglecting, refusing, 
unable or unavailable to provide adequate 
supervision and care and that services to ensure 
the juvenile's safety and well-being are not 
available or would be inadequate; or (c) that the 
juvenile will run away or be taken away and be 
unavailable for proceedings of the court. Under 
these circumstances, a juvenile may be held in 
nonsecure custody (for example, the home of a 
parent or a foster or group home) or, under certain 
circumstances, in a secure detention facility, a 
county jail or a municipal lockup facility. 
 
 If a juvenile is not released, but placed into 
temporary custody, a hearing must be held by a 
judge or circuit court commissioner within 24 
hours after the end of the day that the decision to 
hold the juvenile was made, excluding Saturdays, 
Sundays and legal holidays. A parent not present 
at the hearing must be granted a rehearing upon 
request for good cause shown. 
 
 By the time of the hearing, a petition to initiate 

proceedings against the juvenile must be filed 
unless the juvenile is taken into custody for: (a) a 
failure to obey a summons; (b) a violation relating 
to court-ordered or aftercare supervision or the 
conditions relating to a continued or temporary 
custody order; or (c) being a runaway from another 
state or the subject of a warrant issued for the 
juvenile's apprehension in another state. A written 
statement of the reasons for holding a juvenile in 
custody must be provided if a petition is not filed. 
If no hearing has been held within 24 hours or if no 
petition or statement has been filed at the time of 
the hearing, the juvenile must be released.  
 
 However, if no petition has been filed at the 
time of the hearing, a juvenile may be held in 
custody with the approval of the judge or circuit 
court commissioner for an additional 48 hours 
from the time of the hearing, but only if the judge 
or circuit court commissioner determines that 
probable cause exists to believe that the juvenile is 
an imminent danger to himself or herself or to 
others, or that probable cause exists to believe that 
the parent, guardian or legal custodian of the 
juvenile or other responsible adult is neglecting, 
refusing, unable or unavailable to provide 
adequate supervision and care. The extension may 
be granted only once for any petition. If a petition 
is not filed within the 48-hour extension period, the 
judge or circuit court commissioner must order the 
juvenile's immediate release from custody.  
 
Intake Inquiry 
 
 While some juveniles are held in temporary 
physical custody, many are quickly released to a 
parent or other responsible adult and their cases 
are subsequently reviewed by an intake worker. 
The intake worker makes recommendations as to 
what type of legal proceedings, if any, should be 
pursued with respect to the juvenile. The intake 
worker must make his or her determination, based 
on an intake inquiry, in no more than 40 days after 
receiving the referral information. The purpose of 
the intake inquiry is to determine whether there is 
sufficient evidence to establish the jurisdiction of 
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the juvenile court and to determine the best 
interests of the juvenile and the public with regard 
to any action to be taken. Three major courses of 
action are available to the intake worker:  (1) 
dismiss the case; (2) enter into a deferred 
prosecution agreement with the juvenile; or (3) 
initiate formal delinquency proceedings. 
 
 Dismissal. The intake worker may dismiss the 
case without further proceedings if sufficient 
evidence does not exist to establish juvenile court 
jurisdiction. In this case, the intake worker must 
make a reasonable attempt to inform all of the 
known victims of the juvenile's act that the case is 
being closed. Notwithstanding the intake worker's 
decision, the district attorney still has the authority 
to initiate a delinquency petition within 20 days 
after notice that the case has been closed. 
 
 Deferred Prosecution. The intake worker may 
enter into a written deferred prosecution 
agreement with the involved parties if the intake 
worker determines that neither the interests of the 
juvenile nor of the public require filing a petition 
and the jurisdiction of the court, if sought, would 
exist. Before entering into a deferred prosecution 
agreement, the intake worker is required to offer all 
of the victims of the juvenile's alleged act, who 
have requested the opportunity, an opportunity to 
confer with the intake worker concerning the 
proposed deferred prosecution agreement 
(although victims do not have the authority to 
approve or disapprove the agreement). The 
agreement also requires the consent of the juvenile 
and his or her parent, guardian or legal custodian. 
A deferred prosecution agreement may not include 
any form of out-of-home placement and may not 
exceed one year. If a petition has been filed, a 
deferred prosecution agreement may not be 
entered into or a case may not be closed unless the 
petition is withdrawn by the district attorney. The 
district attorney may also terminate a deferred 
prosecution agreement if he or she files a 
delinquency petition within 20 days of receipt of 
the notice concerning the agreement. In such a 

case, any statements made to the intake worker 
during the intake inquiry are inadmissible.  
 
 The obligations imposed under a deferred 
prosecution agreement and its effective date must 
be stated in writing. If the obligations imposed 
under the agreement are not being met, the intake 
worker may cancel the deferred prosecution 
agreement and, if cancelled, must request that a 
petition be filed. The juvenile and the juvenile's 
parent, guardian or custodian also have the right to 
terminate the deferred prosecution agreement at 
any time or to object to terms of the agreement. If 
an objection arises, the intake worker may alter the 
terms of the agreement. If the agreement is 
terminated by the juvenile or his or her parent, 
guardian or custodian, or an objection cannot be 
resolved, the intake worker may request that the 
district attorney file a petition. Again, the district 
attorney has 20 days to file the petition and any 
statements made to the intake worker during the 
intake inquiry are inadmissible.  
 
   If the obligations imposed under the deferred 
prosecution agreement are met, the intake worker 
informs the juvenile and a parent, guardian and 
legal custodian in writing, and no petition may be 
filed on the charges that brought about the 
deferred prosecution agreement. 
 
 A deferred prosecution agreement may provide 
for any one or more of the following actions: (a) 
individual, family or group counseling; (b) 
requirements to abide by such obligations as 
supervision, curfews and school attendance; (c) an 
alcohol and other drug abuse assessment; (d) 
participation in an alcohol and other drug abuse 
treatment programs; (e) restitution for damaged 
property or physical injury to another; (f) 
participation in a supervised work program or 
other community service work; and (g) placement 
with a volunteers in probation program or a teen 
court program.  
 
 Initiate Delinquency Proceedings. If, as a result of 
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the intake inquiry, the intake worker determines 
that the juvenile should be referred to the court, the 
intake worker must request that the district 
attorney file a formal delinquency petition with the 
juvenile court. The district attorney has the 
authority to initiate a delinquency petition within 
20 days after the request is made. 
 
Delinquency Proceedings 
 
 A district attorney must file a delinquency 
petition, close the case or refer the case back to the 
intake worker or to the law enforcement agency for 
further investigation within 20 days of the filing of 
the intake worker's request for a petition or notice 
of a deferred prosecution agreement. If referred 
back for investigation, the intake worker or law 
enforcement agency must complete its 
investigation within 20 days. If the case is referred 
back to the intake worker with a decision to not file 
a petition, the intake worker must close the case or 
enter into a deferred prosecution agreement within 
20 days. If a district attorney decides not to file a 
petition, he or she must make a reasonable attempt 
to inform all of the known victims of the juvenile's 
act that a petition will not be filed. Based on 
information from the Director of State Courts, 
approximately 15,700 juvenile petitions were filed 
in Wisconsin courts in 2003. 
 
 At any time after a petition is filed but before a 
determination is made at a fact-finding hearing, the 
juvenile court may suspend the proceedings and 
establish conditions applicable to the juvenile and 
the juvenile's family. If the juvenile, the juvenile's 
family and the person filing the petition agree to 
the conditions, they enter into a consent decree 
with the court. 
 
 The consent decree is a written court order, 
valid for up to one year, with a six-month 
extension possible. If the juvenile satisfactorily 
completes the period of supervision, the decree 
expires and the original delinquency petition is 
dismissed. If the juvenile breaks a condition of the 
consent decree, the court may take up the 

delinquency petition at the point where it left off 
and pursue an adjudication of delinquency and a 
formal disposition. Before entering into a consent 
decree, the district attorney is required to offer all 
of the victims of the juvenile's alleged act, who 
have requested the opportunity, an opportunity to 
confer with the district attorney concerning the 
proposed consent decree (although victims do not 
have the authority to approve or disapprove the 
consent decree). Victims also have the right to 
make a statement or provide a written statement to 
the court prior to the consent decree being entered 
into. 
 
Hearings 
 
 If a delinquency petition is filed and no consent 
decree is ordered, three types of hearings are 
provided for the adjudication and disposition of 
the case: (a) a plea hearing; (b) a fact-finding 
hearing; and (c) a dispositional hearing. 
Throughout these proceedings, the district attorney 
has certain consultation and notification 
responsibilities in regard to victims.  
 
 Plea Hearing. A plea hearing must be held 
(within 30 days of the filing of a delinquency 
petition or within 10 days if the juvenile is in secure 
custody) to determine the juvenile's plea to the 
petition for delinquency. If the juvenile contests the 
petition, the court must schedule a fact-finding 
hearing. If the juvenile does not contest the 
petition, the court must schedule a dispositional 
hearing (within 30 days of the plea hearing or 
within 10 days if the juvenile is in secure custody). 
 
 Fact-finding Hearing. If the alleged delinquent 
contests portions of the delinquency petition, the 
juvenile court must hold a fact-finding hearing 
(within 30 days of the plea hearing or within 20 
days if the juvenile is in secure custody). The fact-
finding hearing is to the court (that is, the juvenile 
does not have a right to a jury hearing). At the 
hearing, the prosecutor must prove beyond a 
reasonable doubt that the juvenile committed the 
offense(s) specified in the petition. At the 
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conclusion of the hearing, the juvenile court makes 
findings of fact and conclusions of law relating to 
the petition. If the court finds that the juvenile is 
not within the jurisdiction of the court or finds that 
the facts alleged in the petition are not proved, the 
court must dismiss the petition with prejudice (that 
is, the petition may not be brought again).  
 
 If the court determines that the juvenile 
committed the offense(s) specified in the 
delinquency petition or the juvenile does not 
contest the petition, the juvenile is adjudicated 
delinquent.  
 
 Being adjudicated delinquent is not the same as 
being convicted of a crime. Most of the civil 
disabilities  which may be imposed on an adult 
convicted of a crime may not be imposed on a 
juvenile found delinquent. For example, a person 
who was adjudicated delinquent may not be 
prohibited from holding public office because of 
the past delinquency determination once he or she 
reaches the age of majority. However, juveniles 
who are adjudicated delinquent for an act that 
would have been a felony if committed by an adult 
are prohibited from possessing a firearm, unless a 
court subsequently determines that the person is 
not likely to act in a manner dangerous to public 
safety. Further, if the juvenile is adjudicated 
delinquent for sexual assault or certain crimes 
against children (and at the court's discretion for 
certain other offenses), the juvenile may be 
required to comply with the reporting 
requirements of the sex offender registration 
program, unless the court determines, under 
certain circumstances and after a hearing on a 
motion made by the juvenile, that the juvenile is 
not required to comply. If the court orders a 
juvenile to comply with the reporting 
requirements, the court may order the juvenile to 
continue to comply with the requirements until his 
or her death. 
 
 Dispositional Hearing. Once a juvenile is 
adjudicated delinquent, the juvenile court must 

hold a dispositional hearing within 30 days of the 
fact-finding hearing or within 10 days if the 
juvenile is in secure detention. Victims also have 
the right to make a statement or provide a written 
statement to the court prior to the imposition of a 
disposition. At the dispositional hearing, on the 
request of any party, unless cause to the contrary is 
shown, the court may admit testimony on the 
record by telephone or live audiovisual means. At 
the conclusion of the hearing, the court must make 
a dispositional order. 
 
Dispositional Orders 
 
 The court must issue a written dispositional 
order, detailing its findings of fact and conclusions 
of law based on the evidence presented at the fact-
finding hearing. The dispositional order must list 
the specific services to be provided to the juvenile 
and the agencies responsible for the provision of 
those services. The order must also state the 
conditions with which the juvenile is required to 
comply. The adjudicated delinquent is given a 
disposition which outlines a plan of supervision, 
care and treatment. In deciding the disposition, the 
court must consider the seriousness of the act for 
which the juvenile is adjudicated delinquent and 
may consider any other delinquent act that is read 
into the record and dismissed at the time of the 
adjudication. The judge must select one or more 
dispositional alternatives to assure the care, 
treatment and rehabilitation of the delinquent, 
consistent with the protection of the public. 
Generally, dispositions may include a forfeiture, 
loss of driving privileges (for certain offenses), 
community supervision, community-based services 
and/or programming, electronic monitoring, 
orders of restitution, nonsecure placement outside 
the home, or placement in a secured correctional 
facility. (See Appendix IV for a list of dispositional 
alternatives available to the juvenile court.)  
 
 The dispositional order must be in writing and 
contain: (a) the date of the expiration of the court's 
order; (b) a statement of the conditions with which 
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the juvenile is required to comply; (c) the specific 
services or continuum of services to be provided to 
the juvenile and family; (d) the identity of the 
agencies which are to be primarily responsible for 
the provision of the services mandated by the 
court; (e) the identity of the person or agency who 
will provide case management or coordination of 
services, if any; and (f) if custody is to be 
transferred to effect the treatment plan, the identity 
of the legal custodian.  

 
 If the juvenile is placed outside the home, the 
order must provide: (a) the name of the place or 
facility, including transitional placements, where 
the juvenile will be cared for or treated; (b) a 
designation of the amount of support, if any, to be 
paid by the juvenile's parent, guardian or trustee; 
(c) a permanency plan; and (d) a finding that 
continued placement of the juvenile in his or her 
home would be contrary to the welfare of the 
juvenile or, under certain conditions a finding that 
the juvenile's current residence will not safeguard 
the welfare of the juvenile or the community due to 
the serious nature of the act for which the juvenile 
was adjudicated delinquent.  
 
 Nine major types of out-of-home placements 
are available as dispositions. Listed in order from 
least restrictive to most restrictive, the out-of-home 
placement options available to the court are:  (1) 
the home of a relative; (2) a non-relative's home not 
licensed for foster care for less than 30 days; (3) a 
licensed foster home; (4) a licensed treatment foster 
home; (5) a licensed group home providing 
residential care for five to eight juveniles; (6) a 
licensed residential care center providing 
residential care and treatment for more than eight 
juveniles; (7) a secure detention facility or juvenile 
portion of a county jail for no more than 30 days, 
provided a county board resolution has been 
passed authorizing use of the facility for 
dispositional purposes; (8) a Type 2 child caring 
institution under the supervision of the county 
department; or (9) a Type 1 secured correctional 
facility or a secured child caring institution under 

the supervision of the state or a secured group 
home under the supervision of a county 
department. 
 
 Generally, a dispositional order made before 
the juvenile reaches 18 years of age, that places or 
continues the placement of the juvenile in his or 
her home, must terminate one year after the order 
is entered unless the court specifies a shorter 
period of time or the court terminates the order 
sooner. An order made before the juvenile reaches 
18 years of age that places or continues the 
placement of the juvenile in a foster home, 
treatment foster home, group home, or residential 
care center for children and youth or in the home 
of a relative other than a parent terminates when 
any of the following occur:  (a) the juvenile reaches 
18 years of age; (b) one year after entry of the 
dispositional order; or (c) if the juvenile is a full-
time student at a secondary school or its vocational 
or technical equivalent and is reasonably expected 
to complete the program before reaching 19 years 
of age, when the juvenile reaches 19 years of age, 
whichever is later (unless the court specifies a 
shorter period of time or the court terminates the 
order sooner).  
 
 An order involving placement of the juvenile in 
a Type 2 child caring institution or in a secured 
correctional facility, made before the juvenile 
reaches 18 years of age, may apply for up to two 
years after the order's entry or until the juvenile's 
18th birthday, whichever is earlier, unless the court 
specifies a shorter period of time or the court 
terminates the order sooner. A serious juvenile 
offender disposition order, made before the 
juvenile reaches 18 years of age,  applies for five 
years after its entry if the adjudicated act was 
equivalent to a Class B felony offense if committed 
by an adult (or Class B or C felony offense, 
effective February 1, 2003), or until the juvenile 
reaches 25 years of age, if the juvenile is 
adjudicated delinquent for committing an act that 
would be punishable as a Class A felony offense if 
committed by an adult.  



 
 
10 

Extensions of and Revisions to Dispositional 
Orders 
 
 A parent or guardian, the juvenile, any agency 
bound by the order, the district attorney, 
corporation counsel or the court may request an 
extension of the original dispositional order, except 
that dispositional orders that placed a juvenile in 
detention, nonsecure custody or inpatient 
treatment may not be extended. The court must 
hold a hearing on the extension request at which 
the person or agency providing services to the 
juvenile provides a written evaluation of the 
juvenile's progress. Based on the evidence, the 
court may extend a dispositional order for a 
specified length of time. 
 
 With certain exceptions, an order that continues 
the placement of a juvenile in his or her home, or 
that extends an order relating to a Type 2 child 
caring institution, a secured correctional facility, 
the serious juvenile offender program or aftercare 
supervision must  be for a specified length of time 
not to exceed one year after its date of entry. An 
order that continues the placement of a juvenile in 
a foster home, treatment foster home, group home, 
or residential care center for children and youth or 
in the home of a relative other than a parent shall 
be for a specified length of time not to exceed the 
date on which the juvenile reaches 18 years of age, 
one year after the date of entry of the order, or, if 
the juvenile is a full-time student at a secondary 
school or its vocational or technical equivalent and 
is reasonably expected to complete the program 
before reaching 19 years of age, the date on which 
the juvenile reaches 19 years of age, whichever is 
later. No extension of an original dispositional 
order relating to a Type 2 child caring institution, a 
secured correctional facility, the serious juvenile 
offender program or aftercare supervision may be 
granted for a juvenile who is 17 years of age or 
older when the original dispositional order 
terminates. 
 
 A parent or guardian, the juvenile, any agency 

bound by the order, the district attorney, 
corporation counsel or the court may also request a 
revision of a dispositional order that does not 
involve a change in the juvenile's placement. A 
hearing regarding the requested revision is 
required unless all parties sign written waivers 
supporting the revision and the court approves the 
waivers.  
 
 A change in placement may be requested by the 
agency primarily responsible for implementing the 
order or the district attorney. A request for a 
change in placement requires that written notice be 
sent to the juvenile or the juvenile's legal counsel or 
guardian ad litem, and the parent, foster parent, 
treatment foster parent or other physical custodian, 
guardian and other legal custodian. The notice 
must describe the new placement and the reasons 
for the change. Any person receiving the notice 
may obtain a hearing on the matter by filing an 
objection with the court within 10 days of receiving 
the notice.  
 
 The juvenile, the parent, guardian or legal 
custodian of the juvenile, or any person or agency 
primarily bound by the dispositional order may 
also request a change in placement. In addition, the 
court may propose a change in placement on its 
own motion. Such requests require a hearing on the 
matter if the request states that new information is 
available which affects the advisability of the 
current placement, unless the requested or 
proposed change in placement involves any change 
in placement other than a change in placement of a 
juvenile placed in the home to a placement outside 
the home and written waivers of objection to the 
proposed change in placement are signed by all 
parties entitled to receive notice and the court 
approves. If a hearing is scheduled, the court must 
notify the juvenile, the parent, guardian and legal 
custodian of the juvenile, any foster parent, 
treatment foster parent or other physical custodian 
of the juvenile and all parties who are bound by the 
dispositional order at least three days prior to the 
hearing. If all the parties consent, the court may 
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proceed immediately with the hearing.  
 
 No change in placement may extend the 
expiration date of the original order, except that if 
the change in placement is from a placement in the 
juvenile's home to a placement in a foster home, 
treatment foster home, group home, or residential 
care center for children and youth or in the home 
of a relative who is not a parent, the court may 
extend the expiration date of the original order. 
The extension may be to the date on which the 
juvenile reaches 18 years of age, the date one year 
after the date of the change in placement order, or, 
if the juvenile is a full-time student at a secondary 
school or its vocational or technical equivalent and 
is reasonably expected to complete the program 
before reaching 19 years of age, to the date on 
which the juvenile reaches 19 years of age, 
whichever is later, or for a shorter period of time as 
specified by the court.  
 
 If the change in placement is from a placement 
in a foster home, treatment foster home, group 
home, or residential care center for children and 
youth or in the home of a relative to a placement in 
the juvenile's home and if the expiration date of the 
original order is more than one year after the date 
of the change in placement order, the court is 
required to shorten the expiration date of the 
original order to the date that is one year after the 
date of the change in placement order or to an 
earlier date as specified by the court. 
 
Juvenile Records 
 
 Juvenile court proceedings are typically not 
open to the general public; however, victims and 
any other person the court finds to have a proper 
interest in the case are specifically authorized to 
attend any hearing. In addition, police and court 
records relating to juveniles are generally not open 
for inspection nor may their contents be disclosed 

except to certain requesters for limited purposes. 
For example, victim and witness coordinators may 
request and review police and court records and 
make that information available only as necessary 
to ensure that victims and witnesses of crimes 
receive the rights and services to which they are 
entitled by law. In addition, police records may be 
inspected by representatives of the news media 
who wish to obtain information for the purpose of 
reporting news without revealing the identity of 
the juvenile involved. Confidential exchange of 
information between the police and school officials 
or other law enforcement or social welfare agencies 
is also permitted under certain conditions. 
 
 Two major exceptions to the confidentiality of 
juvenile court hearings and records are provided 
for certain juvenile offenders. The court is required 
to allow the general public to attend hearings and 
to open for inspection by any requester the records 
of a juvenile who: (a) has been alleged to be 
delinquent for committing a violation that would 
subject the juvenile to a Serious Juvenile Offender 
disposition; or (b) has been alleged to be 
delinquent for committing any felony offense, if the 
juvenile has been adjudicated delinquent at any 
time prior to the current proceeding and that 
previous adjudication remains unreversed. The 
requester receiving information under these 
provisions may further disclose the information to 
anyone. However, in neither of these cases is the 
court allowed to open hearings or allow the 
inspection of any records relating to physical, 
psychological, mental or developmental 
examinations of the juvenile, court reports relating 
to service planning for the juvenile or other records 
that deal with sensitive personal information of the 
juvenile and the juvenile's family. 
  
 Figure 4 provides an overview of the juvenile 
adjudication process from intake to disposition. 
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Figure 4: Adjudication Process Following Referral to Intake Worker 
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Original Adult Court Jurisdiction and  
Waiver to Adult Court 

 Current law provides for original adult court 
jurisdiction over certain juveniles, as well as 
discretionary waiver of other juveniles to adult 
court jurisdiction. Beginning July 1, 1996, a 
"juvenile," as applied here, pertains to those under 
the age of 17 years. 
 
Original Jurisdiction of Adult Court 
 
 Adult criminal courts have original jurisdiction 
over juveniles under the following conditions: 
 
 a. If a juvenile is alleged to have attempted or 
committed first-degree intentional homicide or to 
have committed first-degree reckless homicide or 
second-degree intentional homicide on or after the 
juvenile's 10th birthday; 

 
 b. If a juvenile has been adjudicated 
delinquent and is alleged to have committed battery 
or assault while placed in a secured correctional 
facility, a secure detention facility, a secured child 
caring institution or a secured group home or 
against an aftercare agent or a probation, extended 
supervision and parole agent. 

 
 c. If a juvenile is alleged to have violated any 
state criminal law and has either been convicted of a 
previous violation in adult court (following waiver 
to adult court or under the original jurisdiction of 
the adult court) or has criminal proceedings 
pending in adult court (referred to as "once 
waived/always waived"). 

 
 In addition, a juvenile specified in (a) or (b), who 
is alleged to have attempted or committed a 
violation of any state criminal law in addition to the 
violation alleged under (a) or (b), is under the adult 
court's jurisdiction for all of the alleged violations  if 
the violations can be charged in the same complaint 

("joined").  
 
 If a preliminary examination (applicable to 
felony charges only) is held regarding a juvenile 
who is subject to the original jurisdiction of the 
adult court, the court is required to determine 
whether there is probable cause to believe that the 
juvenile has committed the violation of which he or 
she is accused. If the court does not make that 
finding, the court is required to discharge the 
juvenile from adult court; however, juvenile 
proceedings may still be brought.  
 
 If the adult court finds probable cause, it is 
required (except for certain 15- and 16-year-old 
juveniles, as noted below) to determine whether to 
retain jurisdiction or to transfer jurisdiction to the 
juvenile court (referred to as "reverse waiver"). The 
adult court must retain jurisdiction unless the 
juvenile proves by a preponderance of the evidence 
all of the following: 
 

a. That, if convicted, the juvenile could not 
receive adequate treatment in the criminal justice 
system;  
 

b. That transferring jurisdiction to the juvenile 
court would not depreciate the seriousness of the 
offense; and 
 

c. That retaining jurisdiction is not necessary 
to deter the juvenile or other juveniles from 
committing such violations. 
 
 A juvenile who is alleged to have attempted or 
committed first-degree intentional homicide or to 
have committed first-degree reckless homicide or 
second-degree intentional homicide on or after his 
or her 15th  birthday is not eligible for reverse waiver 
from the adult court to a juvenile court. 
 
 In adult court, the juvenile is subject to criminal 
court procedures and criminal penalties, except that 
the adult court may impose a disposition under the 
juvenile justice code under certain conditions. With 
the exception of certain 15- and 16-year-old 
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juveniles, the adult court must impose a juvenile 
disposition, in lieu of a criminal penalty, if either of 
the following conditions apply:  
 
 1. The adult court finds that the juvenile 
committed a lesser offense or a joined offense that is 
not any of the following:  (a) an attempt to commit 
first-degree intentional homicide on or after the 
juvenile's 10th birthday, but before the juvenile's 15th 
birthday; (b) first-degree reckless homicide or 
second-degree intentional homicide on or after the 
juvenile's 10th birthday, but before the juvenile's 15th 
birthday; (c) battery or assault while placed in a 
secured correctional facility, a secure detention 
facility or a secured child caring institution or 
against an aftercare agent or a probation, extended 
supervision and parole agent; or (d) an offense for 
which the juvenile court may waive its jurisdiction 
over the juvenile; or 

 
 2. The adult court finds that the juvenile 
committed a lesser offense that is an offense 
specified in (a), (b), (c) or (d) above and the court 
determines, based on certain criteria, that the 
juvenile has proved by clear and convincing 
evidence that it would be in the best interests of the 
juvenile and of the public to impose a juvenile 
disposition under the juvenile justice code. The 
criteria used by the adult court in making this 
determination are identical to those used by the 
juvenile court in determining whether a juvenile 
should be waived to adult court. These criteria are 
described in the next section. 
 
 A separate statutory provision governs juveniles 
alleged to have attempted or committed first-degree 
intentional homicide or to have committed first-
degree reckless homicide or second-degree 
intentional homicide on or after the juvenile's 15th 
birthday (including any additional crimes joined in 
the complaint). In these cases, if the juvenile is 
found to have committed a lesser offense that is not 
an offense specified in this paragraph, the court 
must impose a juvenile disposition, in lieu of a 
criminal penalty, if the court determines, after 

considering the criteria for waiver to adult court, 
that the juvenile has proved by clear and convincing 
evidence that it would be in the best interests of the 
juvenile and of the public to impose a juvenile 
disposition. 
 
Waiver To Adult Court 
 
 A district attorney or a juvenile may apply to the 
juvenile court to waive its jurisdiction in any of the 
following situations: 
 
 a. If the juvenile is alleged to have committed 
felony murder, second-degree reckless homicide, 
first- or second-degree sexual assault, taking 
hostages, kidnapping, armed robbery, armed 
burglary or the manufacture, distribution or 
delivery of a controlled substance on or after the 
juvenile's 14th birthday; 
 
 b. If the juvenile is alleged to have committed, 
on or after the juvenile's 14th birthday, a violation at 
the request of or for the benefit of a criminal gang, 
that would constitute a felony if committed by an 
adult; or 
 
 c. If the juvenile is alleged to have violated 
any state criminal law on or after the juvenile's 15th  
birthday. 
 
 The judge may also initiate a petition for waiver 
in any of these situations, if the judge disqualifies 
himself or herself from any future proceedings on 
the case. 
 
 The juvenile must be represented by counsel at 
the waiver hearing and the counsel must be 
provided access to the social records and other 
reports pertaining to the case. The juvenile has the 
right to present testimony on his or her own behalf, 
including expert testimony, and has the right to 
cross-examine witnesses at the hearing. The juvenile 
does not have the right to a jury at a waiver hearing. 
 
 If a petition for waiver of jurisdiction is 
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contested, the court must hear testimony and 
consider other relevant evidence. If uncontested, no 
testimony need be taken if the court determines that 
the decision not to contest the waiver of jurisdiction 
is knowingly, intelligently and voluntarily made. 
The court must base its decision whether to waive 
jurisdiction on criteria relating to: (a) the personality 
and prior record of the juvenile; (b) the type and 
seriousness of the offense; (c) the adequacy and 
suitability of facilities, services and procedures 
available for treatment of the juvenile and the 
protection of the public in the juvenile justice 
system; and (d) the desirability of trial and 
disposition of the entire offense in one court if the 
juvenile was allegedly associated in the offense with 
persons who will be charged with a crime in adult 
court. 
 
 After considering these criteria, the court must 
state its finding with respect to the criteria on the 
record. If the court determines that it is established 
by clear and convincing evidence that it would be 
contrary to the best interests of the juvenile or of the 
public to hear the case, the court must enter an order 
waiving jurisdiction and referring the matter to the 
district attorney for appropriate proceedings in 
criminal court. If the waiver is granted, the district 
attorney may charge the offense he or she deems 
appropriate and a court or jury may convict the 
juvenile in regard to any offense. If the waived 
juvenile is being held in secure custody, he or she is 
transferred to an appropriate officer or adult facility 
and is eligible for bail. 
 
 In a preliminary examination in adult court for a 
waived juvenile, for a violation alleged to have 
occurred prior to his or her 15th birthday, the court 
may bind the juvenile over for trial only if there is 
probable cause to believe that felony murder, 
second-degree reckless homicide, first- or second-
degree sexual assault, taking hostages, kid-  
 
 

napping, armed robbery, armed burglary, or the 
manufacture, distribution or delivery of a controlled 
substance has been committed or that a crime that 
would constitute a felony if committed by an adult 
has been committed at the request of or for the 
benefit of a criminal gang. If the court does not 
make that finding, the court is required to discharge 
the juvenile from adult court; however, juvenile 
proceedings may still be brought.  
 
Correctional Placement for Juveniles Sentenced in 
Adult Court 
 
 If a juvenile who has not attained the age of 16 
years is sentenced to a state prison, the Department 
of Corrections (DOC) must place the juvenile at a 
secured juvenile correctional facility or a secured 
child caring institution. While there are some 
inconsistencies in current law regarding the age at 
which a juvenile who has been convicted in adult 
court may be transferred to an adult prison, it 
appears that for a juvenile who has not attained the 
age of 16 years, DOC may determine that a prison 
placement is appropriate based on: (a) the juvenile's 
prior record of adjustment in a correctional setting, 
if any; (b) the juvenile's present and potential 
vocational and educational needs, interests and 
abilities; (c) the adequacy and suitability of available 
facilities; (d) the services and procedures available 
for treatment of the juvenile within the various 
institutions; (e) the protection of the public; and (f) 
any other considerations promulgated by the 
Department by rule. Current law does not preclude 
DOC from designating an adult correctional 
institution as a reception center for the juvenile and 
subsequently transferring the juvenile to a secured 
juvenile correctional facility or a secured child 
caring institution.  
 
 Figure 5 provides an outline of juvenile and 
adult criminal court jurisdiction for juveniles ages 
10 or older. 
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Figure 5: Court of Jurisdiction 
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or aggravated assault while in a secured correctional 
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County 
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services. 

Division of Juvenile Corrections
supervision: serious juvenile
offender program for ages 14-16
who have committed certain
serious offenses; secured cor-
rectional facility placements for
ages 12-16 and for ages 10-11
only if the Division determines
certain conditions apply; or
placement in a secured child
caring institution for ages 10-11. 

County supervision with
or without  community-
based or placement  ser-
vices (excludes place-
ment in secured cor-
rectional facility). 

The Division examines every juvenile placed under its supervision
to determine type of placement and eligibility for corrective
sanctions supervision or serious juvenile offender program
components. 

Under certain limited conditions
that vary, depending on the age
of the juvenile and the nature of
the conviction, the court must
impose a juvenile disposition. 

Criminal Penalties

Waiver to Adult Criminal Court. Can be requested
for a 14 year old who is alleged to have: (a)
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homicide, first-or second-degree sexual assault,
taking hostages, kidnapping, armed robbery, armed
burglary or the manufacture, distribution or delivery
of a controlled substance; or (b) committed a
violation, at the request or for the benefit of a
criminal gang, that would constitute a felony if
committed by an adult. Any 15 or 16 year old may
be waived for any violation of state criminal law. 

Reverse Waiver 
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Secure Detention 

 
State Law   
 
 Under current law, a county board, or two 
county boards jointly, may establish a secure 
detention facility for holding juveniles in secure 
custody. Secure detention may be used if the 
juvenile: (a) meets current law criteria for placing a 
juvenile in secure detention prior to disposition or 
trial, including a juvenile less than 15 years of age 
who is being held for criminal proceedings under 
original adult court jurisdiction; (b) is subject to a 
disposition that includes placement in secure 
detention; (c) is subject to short-term detention by a 
caseworker or other authorized person for an 
investigation relating to a violation of a condition 
of a dispositional order, including conditions 
relating to aftercare supervision or placement in an 
intensive supervision program; and (d) is subject to 
a secure detention sanction for a violation of a 
condition of a dispositional order, including 
conditions relating to aftercare supervision or 
placement in an intensive supervision program.  
 
 DOC has the statutory authority to establish 
standards and regulations for secure detention 
facilities to ensure compliance with both federal 
and state law. This authority is administered under 
Chapter DOC 346 of the Wisconsin Administrative 
Code. As of December, 2004, there are 16 county-
operated secure juvenile detention facilities 
approved by DOC, with a combined rated capacity 
of 593 beds. Counties may expand their existing 
secure juvenile detention bed capacity, under 
provisions in DOC 346, through the use of double-
celling. Several counties have increased capacity in 
this manner.  
 
 There are also several alternatives to the secure 
detention facilities operated by Wisconsin counties. 
First, a county board of supervisors may contract 
with DOC for the use of a state secured correctional 
facility for the secure detention of juveniles who 

meet certain criteria. A county may use a secured 
correctional facility for holding a juvenile only if 
any of the following criteria are met: (a) there is no 
county-operated secure detention facility within 40 
miles of the county seat; or (b) there is no bed space 
available in a county-operated secure detention 
facility within 40 miles of the county seat. The 
county may use a secured correctional facility for 
holding a juvenile only if DOC approves that use 
based on the availability of beds in the secured 
correctional facility and on the programming needs 
of the juvenile. 
 
 A county/DOC contract must specify: (a) the 
per person daily rate to be paid by the county for 
holding a juvenile; (b) the charges to be paid by the 
county for any extraordinary medical and dental 
expenses and any programming provided for the 
juvenile by DOC; and (c) any other matters that are 
necessary and appropriate concerning the 
obligations, responsibilities and rights of the 
contracting county and DOC. A juvenile held in 
custody under a county/DOC contract is under the 
supervision and control of DOC and is subject to 
the rules and discipline of the Department.  
 
 Second, one or more county boards of 
supervisors may contract with a privately operated 
secure detention facility for the secure detention of 
juveniles. A county board of supervisors may 
delegate the authority to contract with a private 
entity to its county department providing juvenile 
welfare services. A secure detention contract with a 
private entity requires the following: (a) that the 
facility meet or exceed the minimum requirements 
for the approval and operation of a secure 
detention facility established by DOC; (b) that the 
facility be approved by DOC; (c) that the facility 
provides educational programming, health care 
and other care that is equivalent to that which a 
juvenile would receive in a public secure detention 
facility; (d) the specification of the rates to be paid 
by the county for holding a juvenile in the facility 
and charges for any extraordinary medical and 
dental expenses and for any programming 
provided to a juvenile; (e) an agreement that the 
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county retains jurisdiction over a juvenile held at 
the facility; (f) an agreement that the facility is 
subject to inspection by DOC; and (g) a 
specification of any other matters that are 
necessary and appropriate concerning obligations, 
responsibilities and rights of the contracting 
counties and DOC. The statutory requirements and 
DOC rules for public secure detention facilities 
would also apply to private facilities. Currently, no 
private entities operate secure detention facilities in 
Wisconsin. 
 
 Finally, a county board of supervisors may 
contract with one or more counties in Minnesota 
that operate a secure detention facility for holding 
juveniles. The same requirements for contracting 
with a privately-operated secure detention facility 
apply to contracting with a Minnesota county. 
Currently, there are no contracts of this type 
approved by DOC. 
 
Federal Requirements   
 
 Federal law places strict limitations on holding 
juveniles in secure custody in certain types of 
facilities. The federal Juvenile Justice and 
Delinquency Prevention Act (JJDPA) authorizes the 
federal Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 
Prevention (OJJDP) to provide formula grants to 
states for juvenile justice and delinquency 
prevention programs. 
 
  In order to receive a formula grant, a state is 
required to submit a plan for carrying out the 
requirements of the JJDPA, which include:  (1) 
providing that no status offenders are placed in 
secure detention or secure correctional facilities, 
except for violations of valid court orders; (2) 
providing that no alleged or adjudicated 
delinquents are detained or confined in any 
institution in which they have contact with 
incarcerated adults; (3) reducing the 
overrepresentation in secure juvenile detention and 
correctional facilities of juveniles who are members 
of minority groups; and (4) providing that no 
juveniles are detained or confined in any adult jail 

or lockup. However, juveniles alleged to have 
committed a delinquent offense may be held in an 
approved juvenile portion of an adult jail or lockup 
for up to 24 hours outside a standard metropolitan 
statistical area (urban area). In addition, in 
standard metropolitan statistical areas, a juvenile 
may be held in an approved juvenile portion of an 
adult jail or lockup for up to six hours (an 
administrative hold). Juveniles detained for longer 
periods must be held in secure juvenile detention 
facilities. The JJDPA requirements do not apply to 
juveniles who have been waived into adult court 
for felony offenses. 
 
 Funding in 2004-05 for JJDPA is $1,174,000 FED. 
The Office of Justice Assistance (OJA) administers 
the program in Wisconsin and reports to OJJDP on 
the status of Wisconsin's compliance with the 
JJDPA requirements. OJA indicates that 
approximately 75% of the formula grant funds 
received annually by Wisconsin under the JJDPA 
are distributed to local governments for juvenile 
justice programs, including delinquency 
prevention and early intervention services, services 
for serious juvenile offenders and efforts to reduce 
the overrepresentation of minorities in secure 
juvenile facilities. 
 
 

Wisconsin's Secured Correctional  
Facilities for Juveniles 

 
 The Division of Juvenile Corrections (DJC) in 
DOC is authorized to operate secured correctional 
facilities. Currently there are two facilities for 
males and one facility for females for juveniles 
adjudicated delinquent.  
 
 The two male facilities are the Ethan Allen 
School, located near the village of Wales in 
southeastern Wisconsin (Waukesha County), and 
the Lincoln Hills School, located near the town of 
Irma in north-central Wisconsin (Lincoln County). 
In addition, an adventure-based education 
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program (SPRITE) for male juveniles in secure 
facilities utilizes an off-grounds facility in Oregon 
(Dane County).  
 
 The female facility, the Southern Oaks Girls 
School, is located in Union Grove in southeastern 
Wisconsin (Racine County). Prior to October, 1994, 
juvenile girls were located at the Lincoln Hills 
School.  
 
 Finally, the Department of Health and Family 
Services (DHFS) operates a secured mental health 
unit for juveniles transferred from other secured 
correctional facilities. The Mendota Juvenile 
Treatment Center, located at the Mendota Mental 
Health Institute (Dane County), provides treatment 
to male juvenile offenders with complex emotional 
and behavioral problems. Following treatment, 
juveniles either are placed in the community or are 
returned to the facility that they came from. The 
Center has a capacity of 43 beds, but fewer beds are 
utilized due to declining juvenile populations 
placed at the facilities and budget constraints. In 
2004-05, DOC is providing $3,534,900 [$1,379,300 
general purpose revenue (GPR) and $2,155,600 
program revenue (PR)] to DHFS as reimbursement 
for the costs of the facility's operation. 
 
 Funding for the state costs of the juvenile justice 
system in 2004-05 totals $188.8 million, of which 
approximately $88.3 million is provided to counties 
for community youth and family aids, known as 
"youth aids". (Youth aids are discussed in a 
separate section of this paper.)  Of the remaining 
$100.5 million, $54.1 million is allocated to the 
operation of the state's secured juvenile 
correctional facilities.  
 
 Table 1 shows the funding (PR) and positions 
allocated to each DOC juvenile facility in 2004-05, 
the funding allocated to DHFS (all funds) for 
mental health treatment, and the actual average 
daily population for each facility in 2003-04. 
 
 The courts have two dispositional options that 
result in a juvenile being placed in a secured 

correctional facility: (a) a direct secured correctional 
placement; and (b) the disposition of the juvenile as 
a serious juvenile offender.  
 
Secured Correctional Placement  
 
 A court may place any adjudicated juvenile in a 
secured correctional facility if the juvenile is 12 years 
of age or over. If the juvenile is under 12 years of 
age, he or she may be placed in a secured child 
caring institution or in a secured group home. 
However, in some cases a placement in a secured 
correctional facility is permissible, if the following 
conditions are met: (a) DOC determines, following 
an examination of the juvenile, that placement in a 
secured correctional facility is more appropriate; (b) 
the juvenile was found delinquent for the 
commission of an act which, if committed by an 
adult, would be punishable by a sentence of six 
months or more; and (c) the juvenile was found to 
be a danger to the public and to be in need of 
restrictive custodial treatment.  
 
 If the court has determined that a juvenile is not 
appropriate for placement in the Serious Juvenile 
Offender Program, the following conditions are 
deemed to provide sufficient evidence for a finding 
that the juvenile is a danger to the public and in 
need of restrictive custodial treatment: (a) the 
juvenile has committed any one of various violent 
acts that would be a felony if committed by an adult; 
(b) the juvenile possessed, used or threatened to use 
a firearm while committing a delinquent act that 

Table 1:  Secured Juvenile Facilities 
    2003-04 
  2004-05  Actual 
Facility Funding Positions ADP 
 
Ethan Allen School $22,448,500 357 322 
Lincoln Hills School 19,032,200 285 263 
SPRITE 545,000 8 9 
Southern Oaks Girls School     8,579,400    132    70 
  Subtotal $50,605,100 782 664 

Mendota Juvenile  
  Treatment Center $3,534,900   29 
 

Total $54,140,000  693
 



 
 
20 

would be a felony if committed by an adult; or (c) 
the juvenile illegally possessed or went armed with 
a dangerous weapon. 
 
Serious Juvenile Offender (SJO) Program  
 
 Certain juveniles who have committed offenses 
equivalent to certain Class A, Class B, or Class C 
felonies are subject to disposition under the SJO 
program. This disposition provides an array of 
component phases, including both secured 
correctional facility and community placements, 
through which the juvenile may pass. The initial 
placement is in a secured juvenile correctional 
facility. This program is described in greater detail 

in a later section of this paper. 
 
Institutional Demographic Data 
 
 The most recent demographic analysis available 
from DOC is for juveniles who were placed at 
secured correctional facilities in 2003. During 2003, 
juveniles ranged from 12 years of age to over 20 
years of age (due to extended juvenile court 
jurisdiction). The 2003 data indicates that the 
average age of juveniles admitted to the institutions 
was 15.3 years for males and 15.0 years for females. 
The majority of juveniles committed to the facilities 
came from the populous counties of southeastern 
and southern Wisconsin, with 47% of male juvenile 

offenders and 25% of female juvenile 
offenders coming from Milwaukee County. 
Minority juveniles comprised 63% of the male 
institutional population and 51% of the female 
population admitted in 2003.  
 
Average Daily Population (ADP) Statistics 
 
 As of December 17, 2004, 663 juveniles (616 
males and 47 females) resided at the secured 
correctional facilities. The number of juveniles 
placed at the institutions has been declining in 
the last four years. The average daily 
population (ADP) for all institutions was 948 
in 2000, 923 in 2001, 836 in 2002, 737 in 2003, 
and is estimated at 668 in 2004. The average 
daily population data for calendar years 1994 
through 2004 are provided in Appendix V of 
this paper. This data is also depicted in Figure 
6 for the last 10 years. Historically, the average 
daily populations at the institutions rose 
steadily from 1991 through 1996. Between 
1996 and 1997, populations declined by 7.3%, 
but increased again in 1998, by 5.8%. Then, 
from 1998 to 2004 (estimated), the ADP has 
declined by nearly 31%. 
 
 Figure 7 shows the average length of stay 
for delinquents placed at the secured juvenile 
correctional facilities (Ethan Allen School, 
Lincoln Hills School and Southern Oaks Girls 

 

Figure 6   
Juvenile Correctional Facilities (Average Daily 
 Population) 
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Figure 7 
Average Length of Stay (Juvenile Correctional 
 Facilities) 
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School) for calendar years 1994 through 2003. 
Historically, after remaining fairly constant 
between 1990 and 1994, the average length of stay 
increased from 8.1 months in 1994, to 8.9 months in 
1995 and 1996. In the following two years, the 
average declined to 8.8 in 1997 and to 8.6 in 1998. 
The average returned to 8.9 months in 1999 and 
increased to 9.1 months in 2000 and to 9.6 months 
in 2001.  
 
 After 2001, however, DOC instituted a different 
method of calculating the average length of stay, 
which takes into account additional periods of 
placement after initial release, such as sanctions for 
violations of supervision rules. Under this new 
method, average length of stay for juveniles whose 
commitments ended in 2002 was 12.3 months, and 
was 12.8 months for juveniles whose commitments 
ended in 2003. Because the calculation method is 
different, the 2002 and 2003 figures are not strictly 
comparable to those from previous years. 
Generally, changes in the average length of stay 
over time are affected by a variety of factors, 
including:  (a) the number, types and effectiveness 
of treatment and rehabilitation programs; (b) the 
degree to which institutional population exceeds or 
under-utilizes the capacity of available facilities; (c) 
the nature of the delinquent acts committed by 
juveniles and the dispositions that result; and (d) 
the capacity of aftercare services available at any 
given time.  
 
Reception and Programming at the Institutions 
 
 Ethan Allen School and Lincoln Hills School 
each operate a reception cottage where juveniles are 
placed for approximately 30 days for assessment 
upon their arrival at the institution. (Lincoln Hills 
School also has an abbreviated reception period for 
certain juveniles receiving alcohol and other drug 
abuse treatment.) Similarly, there is a six-bed, 
reception and assessment unit at Southern Oaks 
Girls School where staff assess each girl's needs and 
develop individual treatment plans. Thereafter, 
juveniles are placed in one of the cottages or units 
most suited to their treatment needs. Some cottages 

specialize in a treatment area such as alcohol and 
other drug abuse, mental health or sex offender 
treatment. Each of the juvenile correctional facilities 
also operates a security unit where juveniles are 
placed temporarily as a consequence of serious 
disciplinary violations or other behavioral problems.  
 
Educational Programming 
 
 Juvenile correctional facilities serve juveniles 
ranging in age from 10 to 21 years. The Department 
indicates that there are a total of 78 academic and 
vocational teachers and five supervisory staff at 
Ethan Allen School, Lincoln Hills School, and the 
Southern Oaks Girls School. Addition services are 
provided by guidance counselors and school 
psychologists. In 2003, combined enrollment for 
the three schools was 704 students, resulting in a 
teacher-to-student ratio of approximately 1:9.  
 
 Students can earn high school credits while 
placed at the secured juvenile facilities. The credits 
can apply toward graduation after release. In 2003, 
students earned more than 2,210 credits toward 
high school graduation, an average of 3.14 credits 
per student. On average, more than 96 students are 
enrolled in the high school equivalency diploma 
(HSED) preparation programs at any given time 
and 116 students earned their HSED in 2003.  
 
 Vocational programming is also emphasized at 
the three schools. Approximately 538 vocational 
credits were earned during the 2002-03 school year.  

  
 Educational staff conduct in-depth educational 
evaluations of students that include diagnostic 
assessment in reading and mathematics. 
Evaluation of academic gains is approached 
through the implementation of formal testing 
administered at intake and at least every six 
months thereafter. Results are reported to the 
student's parents/guardian every 90 days. Some 
general results in 2002-03 for the three schools are 
as follows:  
 
 Southern Oaks Girls School. Students generally 
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made academic gains in reading and mathematics 
equivalent to two grade levels throughout the 
average period of incarceration. 
 
 Ethan Allen School. Juveniles with initial test 
scores at or below 75 percent of their same-age 
peers had a median level of improvement of 0.8 
grade level in reading and 1.1 grade levels in 
mathematics. Juveniles who tested in the upper 25 
percent of same-age peers at admission had a 
median level of improvement of 2.6 grade levels in 
reading and 3.0 grade levels in mathematics. 
 
 Lincoln Hills School. Students had average gains 
in reading of approximately 1.3 grade levels in 
comprehension and 0.8 grade levels in vocabulary. 
Average mathematics gains showed an increase of 
approximately 0.8 grade level. 
 
 In addition, the schools offer special education 
programming in accordance with the federal 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 
and state special education law. The Department 
reports that a high proportion of students enter the 
juvenile justice system with a history of special 
education needs. During 2002-03, some 41% of the 
students at secured juvenile correctional facilities 
participated in special education programming 
compared to a statewide participation level of 12%. 
 
 Between December 2, 2002, and December 1, 
2003, 27 special education students at the three 
schools graduated with either a high school degree 
or HSED diploma. Over 350 special education 
students returned to public school to continue their 
education, and 31 special education students were 
referred to treatment facilities for further 
assessment and treatment. 
  
Planning and Release Decisions 
 
 Once a delinquent is placed at one of the juvenile 
correctional institutions, the Office of Juvenile 
Offender Review (OJOR) in DJC is authorized to 
make all placement decisions with respect to the 
delinquent, including release from secure custody. 

Consistent with Chapter 938, OJOR decisions are 
made with the goal of placing juveniles in the least 
restrictive setting consistent with their needs and the 
protection of the public. 
 
 A Joint Planning and Review Committee (JPRC) 
makes planning and placement recommendations 
with respect to each delinquent. The JPRC consists 
of a representative of the juvenile correctional 
facility, a representative of the county that 
committed the juvenile or an aftercare agent, or 
both, and an OJOR representative. The JPRC 
reviews the assessment of the juvenile conducted in 
the reception cottage at the institution as well as 
court records and other information obtained from 
the county committing the juvenile. The JPRC then 
recommends program objectives and makes a 
placement recommendation for the juvenile. The 
JPRC may recommend placement in a particular 
cottage or placement outside the institution in an 
alternate care facility such as a residential care 
center, a group home or a foster home or in the 
juvenile's own home. If the JPRC does not reach a 
consensus, final decision-making authority with 
respect to the juvenile's placement is delegated to 
OJOR. OJOR decisions may be appealed to the DJC 
division administrator. A juvenile who remains at 
the juvenile correctional facility generally is 
reviewed by OJOR every 90 days to: (a) assess the 
juvenile's progress towards fulfilling treatment goals 
and release from the institution; and (b) recommend 
placement or program changes, if necessary. 
 
Aftercare Supervision 
 
 Dispositional orders cover the entire time a 
juvenile is under supervision, including the time 
spent in a secured correctional facility and a period 
of time following the juvenile's return to the 
community. Juveniles adjudicated delinquent are 
generally released from the secured facility with 
time remaining on their dispositional orders so that 
they may be placed on "aftercare supervision."  
 
 Following release from a secured correctional 
facility, a juvenile is usually returned to his or her 
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family or to an alternate care facility such as a child 
caring institution, group home or foster home. 
Aftercare supervision is provided to monitor 
juveniles following their release from secure care to 
ensure school attendance, participation in treatment 
programs and compliance with other conditions of 
the juvenile's release. Counties may provide their 
own aftercare supervision or purchase these services 
from the state. Currently, the state is the designated 
aftercare provider for 22 counties. The average daily 
population in state-provided aftercare was 177.8 
juveniles in 2003-04.  
 
 An aftercare plan for a juvenile placed in a 
secured correctional facility or a secured child caring 
institution must be prepared, within certain time 
limits, by the aftercare provider (DOC or the 
county). An aftercare plan must include all of the 
following: (a) the minimum number of supervisory 
contacts per week; (b) the conditions, if any, under 
which the juvenile's aftercare status may be revoked; 
(c) the services or programming to be provided to 
the juvenile while on aftercare; and (d) the estimated 
length of time that aftercare supervision and 
services will be provided to the juvenile. A juvenile 
may, however, be released from a secured 
correctional facility or a secured child caring 
institution whether or not an aftercare plan has been 
prepared. 
 
 Subject to certain written policies, if a juvenile 
who is on aftercare supervision administered by the 
county department violates a condition of that 
supervision, the juvenile's aftercare caseworker or 
any other authorized person may, without a 
hearing, take the juvenile into custody and place the 
juvenile in a secure detention facility, the juvenile 
portion of a county jail or in a place of nonsecure 
custody for not more than 72 hours while the 
alleged violation and the appropriateness of 
revoking the juvenile's aftercare status are being 
investigated. This provision only applies if, before 
the violation, the juvenile has acknowledged in 
writing that he or she has read (or has had read to 
him or her) and understands those conditions. 
 

Type 2 Institutional Status  
 
 Type 2 institutional status is available to both 
DOC, as a condition of aftercare, and to the juvenile 
court, as a dispositional option. When given "Type 
2" institutional status by DOC or the court, a 
juvenile is allowed to serve all or part of his or her 
dispositional period in a less restrictive community 
placement, rather than in a "Type 1" secured 
correctional facility. Legally, the juvenile in a Type 2 
placement continues to be on institutional status and 
may be administratively transferred to different 
placements, including more restrictive placements.  
 
 A Type 2 administrative transfer does not 
require a hearing. This provides the Department 
with an alternative to releasing a juvenile to 
aftercare with the right to a hearing in the event of 
future changes in placement. Thus, a juvenile with 
Type 2 status who violates a condition of his or her 
placement in a Type 2 facility may be returned to a 
secured correctional facility without an 
administrative revocation hearing.  
 
 At the discretion of the court, a juvenile may be 
given a disposition that places the juvenile in a 
Type 2 child caring institution under the 
supervision of the county and subject to Type 2 
status, if all of the following apply: (a) the juvenile 
has been found to be delinquent for an act that 
would be punishable by a sentence of six months 
or more, if committed by an adult; and (b) the 
juvenile has been found to be a danger to the 
public and to be in need of restrictive custodial 
treatment. This disposition provides the court with 
an alternative to placement in a secured 
correctional facility for appropriate juveniles. It 
also provides the counties with the ability to 
administratively transfer a juvenile who violates a 
condition of his or her placement in the Type 2 
child caring institution to a secured correctional 
facility, without a hearing, for not more than 10 
days. 
 
 DOC may contract with a child welfare agency 
to operate a Type 2 facility in the community. As of 
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October, 2004, there are 14 licensed child welfare 
agencies authorized to operate 18 designated Type 2 
facilities. The concept of Type 2 status is also used 
for other departmental programs. Juveniles placed 
by DOC in the Corrective Sanctions Program 
(described in greater detail in a later section of this 
paper) are under Type 2 status when placed in the 
community, as well as juveniles placed in the 
Serious Juvenile Offender Program.  
 
 As of October 20, 2004, 304 juveniles were placed 
in a Type 2 facility or assigned to another 
community placement under Type 2 status. 
 
 

Serious Juvenile Offender Program 

 
 The Serious Juvenile Offender (SJO) program 
was created under 1995 Wisconsin Act 27. A 
juvenile is subject to an SJO placement for certain 
acts committed on or after July 1, 1996, as follows: 
(a) if the juvenile is 14 years of age or more and has 
been adjudicated delinquent for committing a 
delinquent act that is equivalent to certain Class A, 
Class B, or Class C felony offenses; or (b) the 
juvenile is 10 years of age or more and has been 
adjudicated delinquent for attempting or 
committing first-degree intentional homicide or for 
committing first-degree reckless homicide or 
second-degree intentional homicide. An SJO 
disposition may only be made for these juveniles if 
the judge finds that the only other disposition that 
would be appropriate is placement in a secured 
correctional facility.  
 
 For a juvenile receiving a disposition as a Serious 
Juvenile Offender, the court is required to make the 
order apply for a period of five years if the 
adjudicated act was a Class B or Class C felony 
offense, or until the juvenile reaches 25 years of age 
if the adjudicated act was a Class A felony offense. 
The disposition includes the concept of Type 2 
status, which allows the Department to 
administratively transfer a juvenile through an array 

of component phases, including both secured 
correctional facility and community placements.  
 
 All components of the SJO disposition, described 
below, are state funded; counties have no financial 
responsibility for a juvenile placed in the SJO 
program. Prior to July 1, 1996, the state was required 
to fund the correctional costs of: (a) violent juvenile 
offenders who committed one of six violent felony 
offenses; and (b) persons over the age of 19 who had 
committed one of four violent felony offenses and 
were placed in either a juvenile correctional 
institution or a prison under the extended 
jurisdiction of the juvenile court. Beginning July 1, 
1996, the SJO program assumed the placement costs 
associated with these violent and extended 
jurisdiction juveniles.  
 
 The SJO program is funded under a separate 
appropriation (with 2004-05 funding of $15.3 
million) and is authorized to pay the costs of: (a) the 
care of juveniles, including aftercare services, who 
have been adjudicated as serious juvenile offenders; 
(b) the care of juveniles waived into adult court and 
sentenced to state prison, but placed by DOC at a 
secured juvenile correctional facility or a secured 
child caring institution; (c) correctional or aftercare 
services for juveniles adjudicated as violent juvenile 
offenders for certain offenses committed prior to 
July 1, 1996; and (d) correctional or aftercare services 
for juveniles under extended jurisdiction orders 
prior to July 1, 1996. Counties are required to pay 
the costs of all other adjudicated juveniles.  
 
 Under the SJO program, a juvenile is subject to 
supervision, care and rehabilitation that is more 
restrictive than ordinary supervision in the 
community. The program provides for component 
phases (various sanctions) that are intensive, highly 
structured and based on both public safety 
considerations and the participant's needs. The 
Department of Corrections determines that one or 
more component phases are provided to each 
juvenile in the program. The Department is 
authorized to contract with the Department of 
Health and Family Services, a county department or 
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any public or private agency for the purchase of 
goods, care and services for SJO participants. The 
available component phases include the following:   
 

 •   Placement in a secured correctional facility or 
a secured child caring institution for a period of not 
more than three years (except that, if the juvenile 
committed a Class A felony offense, he or she is 
subject to a mandatory minimum period of 
confinement of not less than one year and no 
maximum period of confinement, within the 
duration of the order). 
 

 • Placement in alternate care, including 
placement in a foster home, treatment foster home, 
group home, residential care center, or secured child 
caring institution. 
 

 • Intensive or other field supervision, including 
corrective sanctions supervision or aftercare 
supervision. 
 

 • Electronic monitoring. 
 

 • Substance abuse outpatient treatment and 
services. 
 

 • Mental health treatment and services. 
 

 • Community service. 
 

 • Restitution. 
 

 • Transitional services for education and 
employment. 
 

 • Other programs as prescribed by DOC. 
 
 Prior to July 3, 1998, Wisconsin law provided 
that an SJO participant, age 17 or older, could be 
placed in an adult prison as a component phase of 
the SJO program. In addition, DOC had statutory 
authority to transfer a juvenile to the Racine 
Youthful Offender Correctional Facility, an adult 
prison, if the juvenile was 15 years of age or more 
and the Office of Juvenile Offender Review 
determined that the conduct of the juvenile in a 
secured correctional facility presented a serious 
problem to the juvenile or others.  
 

 However, on July 3, 1998, the Wisconsin 
Supreme Court decided (State of Wisconsin v. Hezzie 
R.), which held that the placement of juveniles in an 
adult prison, based on a juvenile adjudication 
process that does not allow for a jury trial, was 
unconstitutional in violation of Article I, s. 7 of the 
Wisconsin Constitution and the 6th and 14th 
Amendments of the U. S. Constitution,. 
 
 The Department may provide the sanctions 
listed above in any order, provide more than one 
sanction at a time and return to a sanction that was 
used previously for a participant. A participant is 
not entitled to a hearing on the Department's 
exercise of authority regarding the selected 
sanctions unless a hearing is required by rule. (The 
community placement components under SJO are 
classified as Type 2 secured correctional placements. 
Such placements allow DOC to provide less 
restrictive placements while keeping the juvenile in 
a custodial status that allows for a return to a more 
restrictive placement, without a hearing, if the 
conditions of the placement are violated by the 
juvenile.)   
 
 A juvenile under the SJO program always begins 
his or her placement in a secured correctional 
facility. The Office of Juvenile Offender Review has 
the authority to release a participant to aftercare 
supervision at any time after the participant has 
completed two years of participation in the SJO 
program. Aftercare supervision under SJO is 
provided by DOC at state expense. The Department 
may discharge a participant from the program and 
from DOC supervision and control at any time after 
the participant has completed three years of 
participation in the program.  
 
 

Other Placement Alternatives  
Operated by the State 

 
 Two alternative programs for juveniles placed at 
secured correctional facilities are available under 
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current law: the juvenile corrective sanctions 
program and the SPRITE program. 
 
Juvenile Corrective Sanctions Program 
 
 Under current law, DOC is required to provide a 
corrective sanctions program to serve an average 
daily population of 136 juveniles (or more, if 
additional funding and positions are provided by 
the Joint Committee on Finance or otherwise 
become available) in not less than three counties, 
including Milwaukee County. The Office of Juvenile 
Offender Review evaluates and selects juveniles for 
the program who have been placed in a secured 
correctional facility. Under the program, a juvenile 
is placed in the community and provided with 
intensive surveillance. In addition, an average of not 
more than  $3,000 annually is provided to purchase 
community-based treatment services for each 
corrective sanctions slot. Funding for the corrective 
sanctions program in 2004-05 is $4.3 million, with 
53.22 positions allocated to the program. Any 
county may request corrective sanctions services 
and, in September, 2004, 21 counties were being 
billed for corrective sanctions services. 
 
 The intensive surveillance component of the 
program must be available 24 hours a day, seven 
days a week, and DOC may provide electronic 
monitoring of program participants. Corrective 
sanctions caseloads are specified by statute. A 
contact worker providing services under the 
program has a caseload of approximately 10 
juveniles and, during the initial phase of placement 
in the community, the contact worker must have at 
least one face-to-face contact per day with the 
juvenile. Case management services are provided by 
a corrective sanctions agent, who has a caseload of 
approximately 15 juveniles. The Department must 
also provide a report center in Milwaukee County to 
provide on-site programming after school and in the 
evening for juveniles from Milwaukee County who 
are placed in the corrective sanctions program. The 
center also houses an alternative school operated by 
the Milwaukee Metropolitan School District 
providing educational programming to an average 

of 10 to 12 juveniles each school day. 
 
 A participant in the program remains under the 
supervision of DOC and in Type 2 status. If a 
juvenile violates a condition of the program, DOC 
may, without a hearing, take the juvenile into 
custody and place the juvenile in a secured 
detention facility or return the juvenile to a secured 
correctional facility or a secured child caring 
institution.  
 
SPRITE Program 
 
 Male juveniles placed in secured correctional 
facilities may also participate in SPRITE (Support, 
Pride, Respect, Initiative, Teamwork, Education), a 
28-day intensive, adventure-based education 
program held off-grounds (Oregon, Wisconsin). The 
program is designed to teach juveniles problem 
solving, independent living skills, responsibility 
through wilderness expeditions, rock climbing, 
problem-solving exercises, urban exploration, and 
community service. The program can serve 12 
juveniles per month. The program also accepts 
juveniles directly from counties. 
 
 Girls at the Southern Oaks Girls School 
participate in a separate program, supervised by 
SPRITE staff, that currently operates one or two, 
eight-day sessions annually.  
 
 

Recidivism of Juvenile Offenders 

 
 The effectiveness of correctional programs is 
often measured by examining recidivism rates. 
Although there are many ways to measure 
recidivism, reduction in the frequency and severity 
of offenses committed by juveniles following 
release is an important measure of program 
effectiveness. DOC published its most recent report 
on juvenile recidivism in May, 2004. This report 
provides an analysis of recidivism over a two-year 
follow-up period for juveniles released in 2000 and 
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2001. The report defined recidivism as placement 
in either a Wisconsin secured juvenile correctional 
facility or an adult prison as a consequence for a 
new offense, including  an adult probation rule 
violation, after being released from a secured 
juvenile correctional facility.  
 
 The number of juveniles released in 2000 
totaled 763 youth. As a result of new offenses, 251 
of these juveniles were returned either to a secured 
juvenile correctional facility or to an adult prison 
(or, in some cases to both types of facilities) within 
a two-year period. This is a recidivism rate of 
32.9%. In 2001, 851 juveniles were released from 
secured juvenile correctional facilities, with 258 
returning to a juvenile or an adult facility for a new 
offense; a recidivism rate of 30.3%.  
 
 The combined data for these two years is 
summarized in Table 2. This data is presented for 
each of the juvenile facilities in operation during 
these years. The overall recidivism rate for the two 
years totaled 31.5%. Recidivism was significantly 
higher for male juveniles (34.3%), than for female 
juveniles (10.9%).  
 
 A similar two-year follow-up study was 

published by the Department in March 2000, for 
juveniles released in 1993, 1994, and 1995. This 
study showed that recidivism rates declined from 
31.6% of juveniles released in 1993 to 29.5% of those 
released in 1994, and 29.4% in 1995. [A similar 
study, published in May, 1996 by the Office of 
Policy and Budget in the Department of Health and 
Social Services (now the Department of Health and 
Family Services) showed that the two-year 
recidivism rate for juvenile offenders released in 
1992 was 42.4%.] 
 
 It appears that recidivism has remained 
relatively constant, at around the 30% level, in both 
of the DOC studies described above. This rate is 
lower than the 42.4% reported by the Department 
of Health and Social Services for juvenile offenders 
released in 1992. However, comparisons between 
the three studies are difficult to make. Crime and 
arrest rates have changed over these years and 
significant public policy changes have occurred. 
For example, in 1996, the age of criminal court 
jurisdiction was lowered from 18 to 17 and the age 
of waiver to adult court for certain offenses was 
lowered from 16 to 15 years. This means that 
certain juveniles committing serious offenses were 
never placed in secured juvenile correctional 

facilities after 1996, as they would 
have been prior to this time. 
Further, the Department indicates 
that beginning in the late 1990s, 
counties increased their resources 
for community programming, 
diverting youth from state 
correctional placement.  
 
 As a result of such changes, 
DOC believes that increasingly it 
is caring for a higher proportion of 
complex, behaviorally challenging 
and emotionally disturbed juve-
niles. For this reason, maintaining 
recidivism rates near 30% for the 
juveniles now being released from 
secured juvenile correctional fa-
cilities, may arguably be viewed as 

Table 2: Two-Year Recidivism of Released Juveniles -- Calendar 
Years 2000 and 2001 
 
  Returned  Returned 
  to Returned to Juv. 
  Juvenile to Facility 
 Number Facility Prison and Total Recidivism 
Released From Released Only Only Prison Returned Rate 
 
Ethan Allen School 671 42 198 12 252 37.6% 
Lincoln Hills School 634 51 142 5 198 31.2 
Mendota Juvenile  
  Treatment Center 41 6 13 0 19 46.3 
Juvenile Boot Camp*     75     5   12   2   19 25.3 
    Subtotal Boys 1,421 104 365 19 488 34.3 
 
Southern Oaks Girls School 184 17 3 0 20 10.9 
Other**        9     1     0   0     1 11.1 
 
Total 1,614 122 368 19 509 31.5% 
 
*The juvenile boot camp program ended in March, 2002. 
**Due to data-entry errors, juveniles in the other category cannot be identified with a 
specific juvenile facility. 
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a positive result.     
 
   

Youth Aids 

 
 Under current law, counties are financially 
responsible for the costs of juvenile delinquency-
related services, except for: (a) the care of a juvenile 
who has been adjudicated as a serious juvenile 
offender; (b) juveniles under the original jurisdiction 
of or waived into adult court and sentenced to state 
prison, but placed by DOC at a juvenile facility; (c) 
correctional or aftercare services for juveniles 
adjudicated as violent juvenile offenders for certain 
offenses committed prior to July 1, 1996; and (d) 
juveniles under extended jurisdiction orders prior to 
July 1, 1996, who receive juvenile services. 
 
 The community youth and family aids program 
(youth aids) provides each county with an annual 
allocation of state and federal funds from which a 
county may pay for juvenile delinquency-related 
services, including out-of-home placements and 
non-residential, community-based services for 
juveniles. Counties may supplement their 
expenditures on juvenile delinquency-related 
services with funding from other sources, including 
community aids, other state aids to counties, county 
tax revenues and special grant monies.  
 
 The state bills each county for the cost of its 
juveniles placed in the state's secured 
correctional facilities (with the exceptions 
noted above) and for subsequent community 
placements and programming for juveniles 
returning to the community following 
placement in a secured correctional facility. 
Charges are based on statutory daily rates 
established under each biennial budget. Daily 
rates for a given year are calculated by 
dividing the total budget for each type of care by the 
projected number of juveniles expected to receive 
that type of care in a year, divided by 365 days. 
Table 3 shows the statutory daily rates for the period 

July 1, 2004, through June 30, 2005. Based on the 
statutory rate, a one-year secured correctional 
facility placement would cost $68,300.  
 

 Table 4 summarizes youth aids funding levels by 
fiscal year for the period 2002-03 through 2004-05. 
As shown in Table 4, current law provides a total of 
$88,290,200 ($85,841,000 GPR and $2,449,200 PR) 
annually in the 2003-05 biennium in youth aids 
funding for counties. The program revenue funding 
comes from federal funds received by the 
Department of Health and Family Services (DHFS) 
and transferred to DOC for out-of-home care for 
certain eligible juveniles. Youth aids funding  has 
remained unchanged since the 2002-03 fiscal year. 
The most recent increases in youth aids funding 
were provided in the 2001-03 biennial budget act 
and totaled $1.0 million in 2001-02 and $2.1 million 
in 2002-03.  

 
Historical Development of Youth Aids Funding 
 
 The youth aids program was enacted as part of 
Chapter 34, Laws of 1979. Prior to the 

Table 3: Statutory Daily Rates, July 1, 2004 - June 30, 
2005 
 

  Amount 
 
     Secured Correctional Facilities* $187.00  
     Residential Care Center 239.00 
     Group Homes 149.00 
     Corrective Sanctions 87.00 
     Treatment Foster Homes 92.00 
     Regular Foster Homes 49.00 
     Aftercare Supervision 26.00 
 
*Includes transfers to the Mendota Juvenile Treatment Center. 

Table 4:  Total Youth Aids Funding - By Funding Source 
 
     Current Law  
Fiscal Year 2002-03 2003-04 2004-05 
 
GPR Funding $85,841,000 $85,841,000 $85,841,000 
PR Funding  2,449,200 2,449,200 2,449,200 
Total All Funds $88,290,200 $88,290,200 $88,290,200 
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establishment of youth aids, each county social 
service agency paid for community-based juvenile 
delinquency programs with its community aids 
allocation and county funds. However, counties 
were not financially responsible for juveniles that 
were placed in the state's secured juvenile 
correctional institutions. Concerned that the system 
created a fiscal incentive for counties to 
recommend the placement of juveniles in secure 
care, the Legislature enacted the youth aids 
program. Under youth aids, counties assumed 
responsibility for the costs of caring for juveniles 
placed at the juvenile correctional institutions, 
thereby eliminating the financial incentive to place 
juveniles at the institutions. The state, in turn, 
allocated funds that were formerly appropriated to 
the Department of Health and Social Services for 
operating the juvenile correctional schools, state 
aftercare and alternate care to the counties through 
youth aids. 
 
 The youth aids program was implemented over 
a two-year period. In 1980, 10 pilot counties 
received youth aids formula funding as well as 
capacity building funds for the development of 
community programs. In 1981, approximately $25.5 
million in youth aids base funding was distributed 
among all 72 counties. Additional capacity 
building money was also provided in 1981. 
Counties were also required to determine the 
amount of community aids and other funding they 
expended on the youth aids target population in 
1979. Counties were required to expend this 
amount as a maintenance of effort before they 
could expend youth aids funds. In 1988, over $26 
million in community aids funding earmarked for 
juvenile delinquency-related services (the youth 
aids maintenance-of-effort) was transferred from 
community aids to youth aids and was 
consolidated within youth aids base funding.  
 
Youth Aids Allocations 
 
 Original Allocation. Counties' original base 
youth aids allocations were determined by a three-
factor formula with an additional override factor. 

The basic formula calculated each county's 
percentage of:  (a) the total state juvenile 
population (ages 0 through 17) in 1979; (b) 
statewide juvenile arrests for Part I crimes as 
defined by the federal Uniform Crime Reporting 
System for the period 1975 to 1978; and (c) 
statewide secured juvenile correctional placements 
for the same period. The override factor provided 
that no county could receive an allocation which 
was less than 93% nor more than 115% of the 
amount it would have received if juvenile 
correctional placements were the sole factor used 
to determine county allocations.  
 
 A second override factor was soon enacted, 
effective January 1, 1982. This new factor provided 
that no county would receive less than $19,000 or 
less than 65% of the amount it would have received 
by using the three-factor formula. The first of these 
two override factors had the effect of placing 
greater emphasis on juvenile correctional 
institution placements in that minimum and 
maximum allocations were established based on 
the variation of placement rates from the average 
rate under all three factors. The second override 
factor ensured a minimum allocation to certain 
smaller counties. 
 
 While youth aids funding levels have increased 
over the 24-year period since the youth aids 
program was implemented, the initial base funding 
provided to counties has never been redistributed 
according to the initial, three-factor formula plus 
override provisions, as updated for current 
population, arrest and placement data. 
 
 Previous Youth Aids Funding Adjustments. Youth 
aids funding is typcially adjusted as part of the 
state's biennial budget process. Some funding 
increases become a part of each county's 
continuing base allocation after an initial 
distribution is made. For example, under previous 
law, if the daily rate for the juvenile correctional 
facilities, alternate care, state aftercare or corrective 
sanctions increased, the state was required to 
increase the total youth aids funds available to 
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counties proportionately. (This statutory 
requirement was eliminated, effective July 1, 1996, 
under 1995 Wisconsin Act 27.)  Typically, youth 
aids funding provided in prior years to offset rate 
increases was distributed to counties as a separate 
allocation during the year it was initially provided. 
The distribution was based on each county's 
relative usage (over the previous three years) of 
each of the state-provided services for which the 
daily rate increased. In subsequent years, that 
amount was incorporated into each county's 
continuing base allocation. For example, if a county 
received a youth aids increase of $5,000 in a given 
year for a juvenile correctional institution rate 
increase and $500 for a state aftercare rate increase, 
a total of $5,500 would be incorporated into the 
county's base youth aids allocation in the following 
year.  
 
 Similarly, inflationary increases for community 
programs (which were also eliminated under 1995 
Wisconsin Act 27) were initially distributed 
separately, based on each county's relative portion 
of the statewide annual average balance of youth 
aids funding available for community programs 
over the previous three years. In subsequent years 
these amounts would be incorporated into the 
county's continuing base youth aids allocation. 
 
 Over time, therefore, each county's base 
allocation consisted of the sum of: (a) its original 
base allocation; (b) its original maintenance-of-
effort amount; (c) its share of any special 
adjustments to the base allocation; (d) its share of 
increased funding provided in the past to offset 
daily rate increases; and (e) its share of any past 
inflationary increases provided in the past for 
community programs.  
 
 Other Youth Aids Components. Within the base 
funding amount, however, there is a share of 
funding that is adjusted annually, relating to 
$1,333,400 that is designated for alcohol and other 
drug abuse (AODA) treatment programs. This 
earmarked funding is allocated each year on the 
basis of each county's youth aids balance available 

for community expenditures for the previous three 
calendar years divided by the statewide 
community programs balance. While considered a 
base allocation, the amount distributed to each 
county varies annually and is not incorporated as a 
fixed amount into a county's overall base allocation 
 
 Further, recent biennial budget increases are 
also currently reallocated between counties 
according to certain criteria. These annual 
reallocations are required by statute to continue 
through the first six months of 2005 (that is, 
through the end of the 2004-05 fiscal year). The 
Legislature may, or may not, extend the required 
annual reallocation of these funds beyond 2004-05. 
The increases were provided in 1999 Wisconsin Act 
9 and 2001 Wisconsin Act 16.  
 
 Under 1999 Wisconsin Act 9, $4,000,000 in 2000-
01 was provided as an increase to youth aids and is 
required to be reallocated each calendar year 
(through the first six months of 2005) based on 
three equally-weighted factors. The three factors 
are: (a) each county's proportion of the total 
statewide juvenile population for the most recent 
year for which that information is available; (b) 
each county's proportion of the total Part I juvenile 
arrests reported statewide under the uniform crime 
reporting system of the Office of Justice Assistance 
during the most recent three-year period for which 
that information is available; and (c) each county's 
proportion of the number of juveniles statewide 
who are placed in a secured correctional facility, a 
secured child caring institution or a secured group 
home during the most recent three-year period for 
which that information is available. (In making the 
initial 2005 county allocations to counties, DOC 
assumed this funding will be continued in the 
2005-07 biennial budget and reallocated $4,000,000 
in 2005 according to the three-factor formula, 
updated for recent data. This funding is shown 
separately in Appendix VI.) 
  
 Under 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, an increase of 
$2,106,500 was provided in 2002-03 and is required 
to be reallocated each calendar year (through the 
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first six months of 2005) based on the three factors 
described above, plus an additional override factor. 
The override factor provides that no county will 
receive an allocation of this additional funding that 
is less than 93%, nor more than 115% of the amount 
it would have received if juvenile correctional 
placements (the third factor in the three-factor 
formula) were the sole factor used to determine 
county allocations. (In making the initial 2005 
county allocations to counties, DOC assumed this 
funding will be continued in the 2005-07 biennial 
budget and reallocated $2,106,500 in 2005 
according to the three-factor formula and override 
provision, updated for recent data. This funding is 
also shown separately in Appendix VI.) 
 
 In addition to these provisions, there are several 
other components of youth aids funding that are 
allocated annually on the basis of varying criteria. 
These include: (1) a supplement of $2,124,800 
annually in corrective sanctions funding, provided 
to counties on the basis of the number of approved 
corrective sanctions slots utilized by each county in 
that year (with funding allocated following close of 
calendar year); (2) emergency funds totaling 
$250,000 annually awarded to counties with 
populations under 45,000 that demonstrate 
unplanned but appropriate juvenile correctional 
facility or residential care center placements; and 
(3) a nonstatutory arrest supplement of $200,000 
annually  for counties with populations under 
50,000, based on each county's share of Part I 
juvenile arrests for all counties under 50,000 in the 
two most recent years for which data is available. 
(The arrest supplement provision was repealed 
under 1995 Wisconsin Act 27, but the associated 
funding was not deleted. The Department 
continues to allocate the funding as it was allocated 
prior to the repeal.)    
 

 Finally, certain adjustments to county youth 
aids funding are made to reflect overpayments or 
under-spending by counties. First, if moneys 
generated by the daily rate exceed actual fiscal year 
foster care, treatment foster care, group home care 
and institutional child care costs by 2% or more, all 

moneys in excess of 2% must be remitted to the 
counties during the subsequent calendar year (or 
transferred to a DOC appropriation account during 
the subsequent fiscal year to reflect such 
overpayments by the state for serious juvenile 
offenders). Each county and DOC must receive a 
proportionate share of this excess revenue 
depending on the total number of days of 
placement in foster care, treatment foster care, 
group home care or institutional child care. 
Counties are required to use these funds for 
juvenile delinquency purposes. 
 
 Second,  DOC may carry forward for a county 
from one calendar year to another youth aids funds 
that are not spent or encumbered. The amount of 
carryover for a county may not exceed 5% of the 
amount allocated to the county for the 12-month 
period ending December 31 of a given year. The 
funds carried forward do not affect a county's base 
youth aids allocation. (A state carryover provision, 
as described in Appendix VI, may also result in 
additional funding for some counties.) 
 
 An explanation of each component of the 
annual youth aids funding allocation to counties is 
provided in Appendix VI. In summary, these 
allocation components are as follows:  
 

• Base allocation 
• Alcohol and other drug abuse base allocation 
• 1999 Wisconsin Act 9 increase ($4,000,000 

annually) 
• 2001 Wisconsin Act 16 increase ($2,106,500 

annually) 
• Arrest supplement for small counties 
• Correctional refunds 
• Corrective sanctions funds 
• Emergency funds 
• County and state carryovers 

 
 Current County Youth Aids Allocations. Based on 
these components of youth aids funding, the initial 
2005 allocations to counties total $86.2 million, 
including correctional refunds relating to 2003-04. 
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This amount does not include corrective sanctions 
funds, emergency funds or county carryover 
amounts, which are allocated late in, or following 
the close of, the calendar year. Because the state 
budgets on a July 1 to June 30 fiscal year basis, only 
the first six months of youth aids funding for 2005 
has been appropriated by the Legislature. Counties 
have been notified that an estimated total of $88.6 
million in youth aids funding (including $2.1 
million in corrective sanctions funding and 
$250,000 in emergency funding not yet allocated) 
will be provided in 2005, based on the assumption 
that the Legislature will appropriate the same 
amount in the second half of calendar year 2005 as 
it did in the first half. The actual youth aids 
allocation for 2005 could be higher or lower 
depending on the Legislature's action on the 2005-
07 biennial budget.  
 
 Appendix VII shows the initial youth aids 
allocation to each county in 2005.  
 
Factors Affecting Juvenile Facility Care Costs 

 
 While the last increase in youth aids funding 
was provided in 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, the state 
has attempted to relieve county spending for 
juvenile correctional costs through other budgetary 
means. Under this approach, budget provisions 
have been enacted that provide financial benefits to 
counties that place juveniles in secured correctional 
facilities by lowering the daily rate for secured 
correctional facility care. As noted above, the 
projected cost for a given type of care and 
population projections are used to establish daily 
rates.  
 Daily rate reductions relating to secured 
correctional facilities are accomplished both by 
directly reducing the costs of facility care and by 
partially funding certain juvenile facilities with 
GPR funds. (These provisions affect the daily rates 
for facility care, but do not affect the daily rates for 
other types of juvenile care. ) 
 
 With respect to reducing facility costs, several 
legislative actions have been taken in recent years. 

In 1999 Wisconsin Act 9, $1,273,900 GPR in 1999-00 
and $1,379,300 GPR in 2000-01 was provided to 
partially fund the cost of care for juveniles at the 
Mendota Juvenile Treatment Center (MJTC). Base 
funding of $1,379,300 GPR annually continues to be 
provided for this purpose. This funding results in 
the deletion of equivalent amounts of program 
revenue for this purpose, thus reducing daily rates 
for facility care. Under 2001 Wisconsin Act 16 
$2,172,400 PR annually was deleted relating to the 
funding of 53.25 vacant positions. Finally, under 
2003 Wisconsin Act 33, two cost-reduction actions 
were taken: (1) $2,615,200 PR and 46.0 PR positions 
annually were deleted relating to the elimination of 
the juvenile boot camp program; and (2) $3,591,200 
PR and 46.04 PR positions annually were deleted 
from other juvenile correctional facility operations. 
All of these reductions reduce the cost basis for the 
calculation of daily rates for care in secured 
juvenile correctional facilities, resulting in lower 
daily rates for facility care.  
 
 Such spending reductions have been made 
possible in large part because of the decline in 
average daily populations in recent years at the 
secured juvenile correctional facilities. Appendix V 
shows that populations at secured juvenile 
correctional facilities have declined 31% between 
1998 and 2004. However, a population decline of 
this magnitude has resulted in increasing daily 
rates for facility care during this period, despite the 
cost reduction measures described above. 
Consequently, daily rates have increased by over 
21% between 1999-00 and 2004-05. Thus, the 
annual cost for a single juvenile placement for a 
one-year period has increased from $56,200 in 
1999-00 to $68,300 in 2004-05. Such increases in the 
cost of juvenile care are a concern for counties, 
particularly in the absence of funding increases for 
youth aids.  
 
Out-of-Home Placement Costs and Youth Aids 
Allocations  
 
 In prior years, counties reported expenditure 
data and associated information for social service 
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spending each calendar year under the Human 
Services Reporting System (HSRS), maintained by 
the Department of Health and Family Services. 
This data was self-reported and unaudited and, at 
least for some counties, contained inaccuracies. 
However, it was the only data available to indicate 
relative spending for various out-of-home 
placements. While individual county data for 
spending in these areas may not have been entirely 
accurate, the statewide totals likely reflected the 
relative spending in these areas.  
 
 Between 2001 and 2004, counties have 
participated in a transition to a new reporting and 
case management system for child welfare cases: 
the Wisconsin statewide automated child welfare 
information system (WISACWIS). This new 
database is an automated child welfare system that 
assists case workers and administrators in 
managing child welfare services, and may include 
juveniles adjudicated delinquent or juveniles in 
need of protection and services (JIPS). Counties are 
now required to report certain data through HSRS 
(the number of clients served, services received, 
and overall expenditures for services) for all youth 
who are provided services under youth aids or 
other county resources. In addition, counties must 
report more detailed information for juveniles in 
the child welfare system through WISACWIS, 
including information on the type of out-of-home 
placements being made and placement payments.  
 
 Due to problems in the transition of these 
reporting systems, county data on juveniles in out-
of-home placements in 2002 and 2003 cannot be 
accurately summarized or reconciled at this time. 
The most recent reliable data available on the 
numbers of juveniles in out-of-home placements, 
by type of placement and by county, is the 2001 
HSRS data. Appendix VIII provides the reported 
spending for various out-of-home placements of 
juveniles by counties in 2001, based on HSRS 
reporting for all counties except Milwaukee, which 
discontinued HSRS reporting in 1999. The 
Milwaukee County data for 2001 was provided 
separately, based on other data sources. Appendix 

VIII will not be updated for a more recent year 
until the transitional problems between the two 
systems are resolved.  
 
 Out-of home placement costs include both 
state- provided care at secured correctional 
facilities, as well as community-based facilities. 
These costs reflect the care of many juveniles who 
are never disposed to state care. Counties use 
various funding sources to pay for out-of-home 
placement costs, including youth aids funding. It 
should be noted that youth aids are not intended to 
cover the total costs of out-home placements. 
However, the data provided in Appendix VIII 
illustrates the significant cost to counties of out-of 
home placements and the relative extent to which 
youth aids may help to defray these costs.  
 
 According to the data, a total of $90.4 million 
was expended on out-of-home placements in 2001. 
Out-of-home placement categories include: foster 
homes (with $6.8 million in total spending); group 
homes ($14.2 million); child caring institutions, 
which are now designated as residential care 
centers ($27.1 million); and secured correctional 
facilities ($42.3 million). The expenditures for state 
secured correctional facilities represent 47% of total 
out-of-home placement spending. On a statewide 
basis, the 2001 costs of out-of-home care for 
juveniles ($90.4 million) exceed 2001 youth aids 
funding ($87.0 million) by $3.4 million. At the 
county level, out-of-home placement costs 
exceeded youth aids allocations in 35 counties. 
While comparable data for 2002 and 2003 is not 
available at this time, it is likely that this general 
pattern continues.  
 
 

Other State Funding for Juvenile  
Delinquency-Related Services  

 
 In addition to youth aids, the state provides 
significant amounts of funding to counties through 
community aids, other general state aids and 
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grants which counties may use to offset the costs of 
providing juvenile delinquency-related services. 
The state also provides direct funding for 
institutional and administrative costs, as discussed 
below.  
 
Other State Aids to Counties   
 
 Community Aids. State funding through 
community aids is provided to counties for human 
services in several broad functional areas, 
including social services for juvenile offenders. Of 
the estimated $206.2 million in community aids 
provided in calendar year 2005, $186.5 million, or 
90%, represents the basic county allocation; this 
funding may be spent for any eligible community 
aids service. The remainder of community aids is 
provided to counties or tribes for five categorical 
allocations. Counties are required to provide a local 
match of 9.89% to the basic county allocation and 
one of the five categorical allocations. Counties that 
exceed their youth aids allocation for juvenile 
delinquency-related expenditures may use 
community aids funds to provide social services 
for juvenile offenders. 
 
 Community Intervention Program. DOC 
distributes $3.8 million GPR annually for early 
intervention services for first-time juvenile 
offenders and for intensive community-based 
intervention services for seriously chronic juvenile 
offenders. The community intervention program 
was formerly termed capacity building funds. 
Funding is distributed to eligible counties using a 
formula that calculates each county's allocation on 
the basis of data for the previous two years, as 
follows:  
 
 • 33% of the funds are allocated on the basis of 
juvenile arrests for Part I violent crimes (murder, 
forcible rape, robbery and aggravated assault); 
 
 • 34% of the funds are allocated on the basis of 
juvenile arrests for all Part I crimes (violent crime 
plus serious property crimes); and 
 

 • 33% of the funds are allocated on the basis of 
juvenile correctional placements.  
 
 In order to be eligible to receive community 
intervention program funds, a county must submit 
a plan to DOC that ensures that the county targets 
the funding to appropriate programs. The plan 
must include measurable objectives and an 
evaluation of the preceding year's activities. 
 
 Youth Diversion Program. A total of $1,396,400 is 
provided to the Office of Justice Assistance (OJA) 
in 2004-05 for youth diversion programming 
($380,000 GPR, $716,400 PR from penalty 
assessment revenue administered by OJA and 
$300,000 PR from federal funds administered by 
DHFS.) Of this total, $498,400 combined GPR and 
PR from penalty assessment funds is distributed to 
an organization in Milwaukee County to provide 
services designed to divert juveniles from gang 
activities into productive activities. The $300,000 
provided from DHFS federal funding is designated 
for the provision of substance abuse education and 
treatment services for juveniles participating in the 
organization's youth diversion program. In 2004-
05, this organization is the Social Development 
Commission, which provides or subcontracts for 
youth diversion services, including substance 
abuse services. 
 
 In addition, $598,000 (composed of GPR and PR 
from penalty assessment funds) is budgeted for 
organizations in Brown, Kenosha, and Racine 
Counties and the City of Racine. These 
organizations provide gang diversion services, 
including substance abuse education and treatment 
services for program participants. OJA is required 
to distribute $149,500 annually to one organization 
in each site to provide or subcontract services for 
the youth diversion program. Currently, these 
organizations are: the Boys' and Girls' Club in 
Brown County, the Kenosha County Department of 
Social Services, the Taylor Home in Racine County 
and the George Bray Center in the City of Racine.  
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 Shared Revenue and County and Municipal Aid. 
Through the shared revenue and county and 
municipal aid programs, Wisconsin distributes 
state tax revenues to county governments to use at 
their discretion for any service provided by the 
county. In 2004, counties received state shared 
revenue funding of $17.1 million and a total of 
$157.2 million in county and municipal aid 
payments. 
 
 Grants through the Office of Justice Assistance. As 
discussed above in the section on secure detention, 
OJA has 2004-05 federal funding of $1,174,000 as a 
result of its participation in the Juvenile Justice 
Delinquency Prevention Act (JJDPA) formula grant 
program. The Office  indicates that approximately 
75% of these formula grant funds under JJDPA are 
distributed to local governments for juvenile justice 
programs, including delinquency prevention, early 
intervention and other services and efforts to 
reduce the overrepresentation of minorities in 
secure juvenile facilities. 
 
Direct State Funding 
 
 The state directly funds the costs of correctional 
care, alternate care and aftercare for serious 
juvenile offenders and juveniles sentenced to 
extended jurisdiction. While the authority to 
extend the jurisdiction of the juvenile court in this 
manner was repealed, effective July 1, 1996, a small 
number of juveniles under extended jurisdiction 
remain in the system. The state also funds the 
correctional, parole and probation costs of all 
juveniles sentenced under the original jurisdiction 
of an adult court or who are waived into adult 
court and sentenced to prison or probation, under 
either adult or juvenile corrections state funding. 
For juveniles that fall into these categories, counties 
are no longer responsible for the cost of their 
correctional care.  
 
 The state also directly funds certain 
administrative costs of the Division of Juvenile 
Corrections in DOC. In 2004-05, $0.9 million GPR 
was appropriated for the general program 

operations of the Division. 
 
 

Community-Based Juvenile Justice Programs 

 
 Studies have indicated that an effective and 
comprehensive community juvenile justice 
program should include a sufficient range of 
services to meet the needs of juveniles entering the 
juvenile justice system. Wisconsin counties either 
directly provide or contract with private 
organizations to provide a wide variety of 
community-based programs and services for 
juvenile delinquents and juveniles at risk of 
becoming delinquents. Some common non-
residential community programs include early 
intervention programs, day treatment programs, 
intensive supervision programs and restitution 
programs. The following sections provide a brief 
summary of these major types of community-based 
programs. 
 
Early Intervention Programs 
 
 Early intervention programs encompass a 
variety of programs targeting juveniles at risk of 
committing delinquent acts or juveniles who have 
committed a minor offense and are at risk of 
further delinquent behavior. They include school 
programs designed to: (a) identify children at risk 
and intervene to strengthen the skills of the 
children and their families; (b) provide volunteer 
programs linking juveniles at risk with adult 
mentors; and (c) provide individual counseling and 
treatment programs and intensive in-home family 
treatment programs. 
 
Day Treatment Programs 
 
 Day treatment programs generally provide 
specialized educational programming for 
delinquent juveniles in a structured, self-contained 
environment. Services may also include individual, 
group and/or family counseling, structured 
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recreational activities and supervised work 
programs. Juveniles are on-site during the school 
day and remain on-site for additional after-school 
activities at some day treatment programs.  
 
Intensive Supervision Programs 
 
 Counties are also authorized to provide 
intensive supervision for juveniles who have been 
adjudicated delinquent and ordered to participate 
in an intensive supervision program. Under the 
program, a county must purchase or provide 
intensive surveillance and community-based 
treatment services for participants. Electronic 
monitoring may also be provided. A caseworker 
providing intensive supervision services may not 
have a caseload of more than 10 juveniles and must 
have at least one face-to-face contact per day with 
each juvenile. If a juvenile violates a condition of 
the program, the juvenile's caseworker or other 
authorized person may, without a hearing, take the 
juvenile into custody and place the juvenile in a 
secure detention facility for not more than 72 hours 
while the alleged violation is being investigated. 
Placement in a secure detention facility for up to 72 
hours is also a possible sanction for violating a 
condition of the program. If the juvenile is held in a 
secure detention facility for more than 72 hours, he 
or she has a right to a hearing. The caseworker may 
also, without a hearing, take the juvenile into 
custody and place the juvenile in a place of 
nonsecure custody for not more than 30 days as 
crisis intervention, if the juvenile is in need of crisis 
intervention. 
 

 Restitution Programs 
 
 If a juvenile commits an offense which results in  
damage to the property of another or physical 
injury to another, excluding pain and suffering, a 
court may order the juvenile (either alone or with 
the assistance of a parent with custody of the 
juvenile) to make reasonable restitution for the 
damage or injury as a condition of a deferred 
prosecution agreement, a consent decree or as part 
of a formal delinquency disposition. Restitution 
programs attempt to restore the losses of the victim 
as well as hold offenders accountable for their 
actions. Forms of restitution include: (a) monetary 
restitution requiring a juvenile to make payments 
to compensate the victim for damages; (b) 
community service requiring a juvenile to provide 
meaningful work to the community rather than 
monetary compensation; (c) direct victim services, 
if the victim agrees, requiring a juvenile to work for 
the victim to repair damage done; and (d) victim-
offender reconciliation wherein, with the victim's 
consent, the victim and the offender meet with a 
professional mediator to discuss the offense. 
 
 To enter a restitution program, a finding must 
be made that the juvenile alone (or a parent, if 
applicable) is financially able to pay or that the 
juvenile is physically able to perform the services. 
Juveniles under 14 years of age cannot be ordered 
to make more than $250 in restitution or perform 
more than 40 hours of services for the victim. 
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Appendices 
 
 
 
 Appendices to this paper provide the following summary data pertaining to Wisconsin's juvenile justice 
system: 
  
 Appendix I  State of Wisconsin Total Juvenile Arrests, 1994 through 2003 
  
 Appendix II  State of Wisconsin Juvenile Arrest Rates, 1994 through 2003 
 
 Appendix III Juvenile Arrests by Wisconsin County in 2003 
 
 Appendix IV Dispositional Options Available to the Juvenile Court 
 
 Appendix V  Average Daily Populations of Juvenile Correctional Facilities, 1994-2004 
 
 Appendix VI Youth Aids Formula -- Calendar Year 2005 
 
 Appendix VII Initial 2005 Youth Aids Allocations by County 
 
 Appendix VIII  Out-of-Home Placement Costs and Youth Aids Allocations, 2001 
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APPENDIX III
 

Juvenile Arrests by Wisconsin County, 2003 
 
 

  

  Juvenile Total Juvenile Total Arrests Total Part I Total Part II Total Status 
 County Population Arrests Per 100,000 Arrests * Arrests ** Arrests*** 

  
 Adams 5,214 63 1,208 15 48 0 
 Ashland 4,314 322 7,464 67 255 62 
 Barron 11,700 454 3,880 107 347 71 
 Bayfield 3,923 145 3,696 15 130 23 
 Brown 59,858 4,960 8,286 1,115 3,845 980 
  
 Buffalo 3,564 53 1,487 15 38 6 
 Burnett 4,113 23 559 6 17 5 
 Calumet 7,905 260 3,289 37 223 46 
 Chippewa 14,121 749 5,304 131 618 186 
 Clark 8,931 254 2,844 44 210 64 
  
 Columbia 13,763 816 5,929 81 735 266 
 Crawford 4,438 134 3,019 15 119 48 
 Dane 113,566 7,868 6,928 1,579 6,289 1,641 
 Dodge 21,033 1,872 8,900 366 1,506 539 
 Door 7,349 334 4,545 48 286 118 
  
 Douglas 11,112 752 6,767 117 635 202 
 Dunn 10,535 394 3,740 87 307 101 
 Eau Claire 24,961 2,017 8,081 364 1,653 485 
 Florence 1,324 13 982 1 12 0 
 Fond du Lac 24,449 1,914 7,829 292 1,622 423 
  
 Forest 2,590 314 12,124 43 271 49 
 Grant 12,870 517 4,017 112 405 135 
 Green 8,812 507 5,754 56 451 153 
 Green Lake 4,931 286 5,800 49 237 44 
 Iowa 5,912 338 5,717 66 272 57 
  
 Iron 1,769 47 2,657 11 36 28 
 Jackson 4,982 196 3,934 44 152 46 
 Jefferson 21,291 2,310 10,850 292 2,018 638 
 Juneau 6,459 357 5,527 47 310 38 
 Kenosha  39,330 3,718 9,453 614 3,104 1,414 
  
 Kewaunee 5,265 144 2,735 24 120 10 
 LaCrosse 27,743 3,293 11,870 487 2,806 709 
 Lafayette 4,122 184 4,464 26 158 92 
 Langlade 5,374 363 6,755 74 289 50 
 Lincoln 7,655 1,022 13,351 95 927 139 
  
 Manitowoc 21,507 2,469 11,480 284 2,185 462 
 Marathon 32,474 2,369 7,295 584 1,785 453 
 Marinette 11,211 479 4,273 83 396 226 
 Marquette 3,796 66 1,739 14 52 0 
 Menominee 1,171 433 36,977 49 384 121 
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APPENDIX III (continued)
 

Juvenile Arrests by Wisconsin County, 2003 
 
 

  Juvenile Total Juvenile Total Arrests Total Part I Total Part II Total Status 
 County Population Arrests Per 100,000 Arrests * Arrests ** Arrests*** 

 
 Milwaukee 240,059 30,593 12,744 5,363 25,230 4,064 
 Monroe 10,724 1,247 11,628 180 1,067 285 
 Oconto 9,506 466 4,902 62 404 77  
 Oneida 9,552 889 9,307 152 737 195 
 Outagamie 45,410 3,999 8,806 809 3,190 937 
 
 Ozaukee 21,524 970 4,507 101 869 195 
 Pepin 1,913 42 2,196 6 36 5 
 Pierce 10,327 346 3,350 67 279 117 
 Polk 11,017 610 5,537 173 437 48 
 Portage 17,513 1,149 6,561 229 920 269 
 
 Price 4,052 191 4,714 42 149 48 
 Racine 48,725 2,934 6,022 583 2,351 488 
 Richland 4,605 243 5,277 36 207 61 
 Rock 39,423 5,845 14,826 1,044 4,801 1,041 
 Rusk 3,912 393 10,046 78 315 72 
 
 Saint Croix 17,275 739 4,278 120 619 150 
 Sauk 14,649 1,425 9,728 299 1,126 357 
 Sawyer 4,268 205 4,803 43 162 76 
 Shawano 10,549 818 7,754 238 580 170 
 Sheboygan 29,247 2,897 9,905 419 2,478 647 
 
 Taylor 5,030 201 3,996 25 176 42 
 Trempealeau 7,038 157 2,231 41 116 45 
 Vernon 7,309 188 2,572 33 155 34 
 Vilas 5,523 353 6,391 40 313 127 
 Walworth 25,081 2,614 10,422 496 2,118 583 
 
 Washburn 4,224 175 4,143 39 136 67 
 Washington 31,093 2,879 9,259 509 2,370 515 
 Waukesha 94,667 5,475 5,783 753 4,722 1,806 
 Waupaca 13,859 1,151 8,305 146 1,005 242 
 Waushara 6,265 207 3,304 26 181 54 
 
 Winnebago 40,887 3,077 7,526 570 2,507 654 
 Wood 19,474 1,707 8,766 378 1,329 355 
 DNR 0 189 0 0 189 72 
 State Patrol               0          41        0          0        41          0 
 
 Total State 1,400,137 117,224 8,372 20,656 96,568 24,028 
 

 
 

 Because one arrest may be for more than one offense, the total number of arrests may be less than the number of arrests by offense. 
   *Part I Offenses: Murder, manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, theft, motor vehicle theft and arson. 
 **Part II offenses include simple assault, driving while intoxicated, disorderly conduct, weapons violations, liquor and drug-related violations, vandalism, fraud, family offenses, 

and status offenses. 
 ***Status offenses are offenses only when they are committed by a juvenile, such as curfew violations, runaways and certain liquor law violations. Status offenses are a 

subset of Part II offenses. 
 

 Source:  Office of Justice Assistance, Crime and Arrests in Wisconsin -- 2003. 
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APPENDIX IV 
 

Dispositional Options Available to the Juvenile Court 
For Delinquency Adjudications (not all options available for all offenses) 

 
 
 • Counseling for the juvenile or the parent, 
guardian or legal custodian. 
 
 • Supervision of the juvenile provided by an 
agency (typically a county social services 
department), the Department of Corrections or, 
with DOC approval, a suitable adult, under 
conditions prescribed by the court. 
 
 • For a misdemeanor offense, participation in a 
volunteers in probation program under conditions 
determined by the court. 
 
 • For a misdemeanor offense, participation in a 
teen court program if the juvenile admits or pleads 
no contest to the allegations and the juvenile has 
not successfully completed participation in a teen 
court program during the previous two years. 
 
 • Participation in a county intensive 
supervision program. 
 
 • If it is shown that the rehabilitation, treatment 
and care of the juvenile cannot be accomplished by 
means of voluntary consent of the parent or 
guardian, transfer of legal custody of the juvenile 
to a relative, a county department or a licensed 
child welfare agency. 
 
 • Placement in one of the following: (a) the 
home of a parent or other relative of the juvenile; 
(b) an unlicensed home if placement is for less than 
30 days; (c) a foster home or treatment foster home 
or a group home; or (d) a residential care center. 
 
 • Placement in an independent living situation 
effective on or after the juvenile's 17th birthday, 
under a supervision plan approved by the court. 
 
 • Placement in a secure detention facility, the 

juvenile portion of a county jail or in a place of 
nonsecure custody for a total of not more than 30 
days and allow the juvenile to attend school, work 
or approved activities, if the county board has 
approved the use of those placements as a 
disposition. 
 
 • Placement in a Type 2 child caring institution 
under the supervision of the county department 
and subject to automatic placement in a more 
restrictive setting if the juvenile violates the 
conditions of the original placement. 
 
 • Placement in the Serious Juvenile Offender 
program.  
 
 • Placement in a secured correctional facility or 
a secured child caring institution under the 
supervision of DOC or in a secured group home 
under the supervision of a county. A secured 
group home is subject to the same limit of five to 
eight juveniles as a regular group home, but the 
facility is treated in the same manner and subject to 
the same requirements as secured correctional 
facilities and secured child caring institutions, 
except that educational provisions applicable to 
secured child caring institutions do not apply to 
secured group homes. 
 
 • Aftercare supervision for juveniles who have 
been released from a secured correctional facility or 
a secured child caring institution (must be ordered 
with all correctional placement orders). 
 
 • Electronic monitoring of a juvenile placed in 
the community under the following dispositions: 
(a) supervision; (b) intensive supervision; (c) a 
nonsecure placement; (d) the Serious Juvenile 
Offender Program; or (e) aftercare supervision.  
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 • Restitution to repair the damage to property 
or for the damage or injury to a person that results 
from a delinquent act. 
 

 • Participation in a supervised work program.  
 
 • Participation in a community service work 
program. 
 
 • Participation in a victim-offender mediation 
program if the victim of the juvenile's delinquent 
act agrees. 
 
 • Order for the juvenile's parent to provide the 
special treatment or care that the court determines 
is needed. 
 
 • Order for an integrated service plan to be 
developed and implemented, if the court 
determines one is needed.  
 
 • Alcohol or drug treatment, education or drug 
testing. 
 
 • Attendance at a nonresidential educational 
program provided by the school district in which 
the juvenile resides or by a subcontractor of the 
school district. 
 
 • Participation in a wilderness challenge 
program or other experiential education program. 
 
 • Order the juvenile to report to a youth 
report center after school, in the evening, on 
weekends, on other nonschool days, or at any other 
time that the juvenile is not under immediate adult 
supervision, for participation in the social, 
behavioral, academic, community service, and 
other programming of the center. 
 
 • Participation in an educational program that 
is designed to deter future delinquent behavior. 
 
 • Participation in vocational assessment, 
counseling and training. 
 

 • Participation in a day treatment program, if 
specialized educational needs are identified. 

 • Forfeiture (generally in the amount of the 
adult fine for the equivalent offense or $100 for a 
status offense), based upon a determination that 
this disposition is in the best interest of the juvenile 
and his or her rehabilitation and that the juvenile 
alone is financially able to pay the forfeiture. 
 

 • Delinquency victim and witness surcharge 
payment of $20. 
 

 • Order to restrict or suspend the operating 
privilege of a juvenile who is adjudicated 
delinquent under a violation of any law in which a 
motor vehicle is involved or for a controlled 
substances violation.  
 

 • Suspend the juvenile's vehicle operating 
privilege for certain bomb scares and firearm 
violations 
 

 • Restrictions on the juvenile's use of computers 
if the juvenile committed a computer crime. 
 

 • If the juvenile is adjudicated delinquent for 
sexual assault (and at the court's discretion for 
certain other offenses and where the juvenile is 
found not responsible for an action by reason of 
mental disease or defect), require the juvenile to 
provide a biological specimen to the state crime 
laboratories for DNA analysis.  
 

 • If the juvenile is adjudicated delinquent for 
sexual assault or certain crimes against children 
(and at the court's discretion for certain other 
offenses), require the juvenile to comply with the 
reporting requirements of the sex offender 
registration program, unless the court determines, 
under certain circumstances and after a hearing on 
a motion made by the juvenile, that the juvenile is 
not required to comply. If ordered to comply, the 
court may require the juvenile to continue to com-
ply with the reporting requirements until his or her 
death. 
 
 • Stay of dispositional order contingent on the 
juvenile's satisfactory compliance with any condi-
tions specified in the order and explained to the 
juvenile by the court.  
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APPENDIX V 
 

Average Daily Populations of 
Secured Juvenile Correctional Facilities 

1994 - 2004 
 
 
  Average  Annual 
  Daily          Change In Population          
 Calendar Year Population Number  Percent 
 
 1994 867 --- --- 
 1995 963 96 11.1% 
 1996 981 18 1.9 
 1997 909 -72 -7.3 
 1998 962 53 5.8 
 1999 947 -15 -1.6 
 2000  948 1 0.1 
 2001 923 -25 -2.6 
 2002  836 -87 -9.4 
 2003 737 -99 -11.8 
 2004 (estimated) 668 -69 -9.4 
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APPENDIX VI 
 

Youth Aids Formula – Initial Calendar Year 2005 Allocations 
(GPR Funds Except as Indicated) 

 
 
 

Base Allocation  $78,275,500 
 (including 
 $2,449,200 
 PR) 

1. Original allocation, based on three factors with override: 
• County juvenile population (0-17/1980 census) 
• Average # arrests/county for Part I arrests (1975-78) 
• Average # county juvenile correctional placements (1975-78) 
• Overrides:  counties would receive no less than 93% nor more than 115% of amount if correctional 

placements were only factor; also, counties would receive no less than 65% of amount provided by 
using the three-factor formula. 

2. One-time adjustments to base allocation  3. Adjustment to correctional rates in prior years 
4. Inflation increase for community programs in prior years 
The county allocations of this base amount are not subject to change under current law.  

AODA Base 
Allocation 

 1,333,400 • Earmarked for AODA treatment 
• County youth aids balance available for community expenditures, CY 1999 thru 2001  ÷  statewide 

community programs balance  =  County % 
• County  %  x  $1,333,400 = County allocation 
• While considered a base allocation, the amount distributed to each county varies annually and is not 

incorporated as a fixed amount into a county's overall base allocation 
Budget Increase 
(1999 Wisconsin Act 
9) 

       4,000,000 • Under 1999 Wisconsin Act 9, $4,000,000 was appropriated in 2000-01 as ongoing funding and will 
continue unless modified in subsequent legislation. The amount is allocated on the basis of the 
following factors, each factor weighted equally: (1) each county's proportion of the total statewide 
juvenile population for the most recent year for which that information is available; (2) each county's 
proportion of the total Part I juvenile arrests reported statewide under the uniform crime reporting 
system of the Office of Justice Assistance during the most recent three-year period for which that 
information is available; and (3) each county's proportion of the number of juveniles statewide who 
are placed in a secured correctional facility, a secured child caring institution or a secured group 
home during the most recent three-year period for which that information is available.  

Budget Increase 
(2001 Wisconsin Act 
16)  

 2,106,500 • Under 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, $2,106,500 was appropriated in 2002-03 as ongoing funding and will 
continue unless modified in subsequent legislation. The amount is allocated on the basis of the three 
factors described above, but with an override provision that no county receives less than 93% nor 
more than 115% of the amount it would have received if juvenile correctional placements (the third 
factor) were the sole factor used to determine county allocations.  

Arrest Supplement 
For Small Counties 

 200,000 • Statutory provision governing the payment of supplemental funds repealed under 1995 Wisconsin 
Act 27, but funding left in youth aids appropriation 

• Only counties with population of less than 50,000 eligible for supplemental funds 
• Funds prorated on basis of each county's share of Part I juvenile arrests for all counties under 50,000 

population for the most recent two years for which data is available 
Prior-Year 
Correctional Refunds 

          293,241 • If dollars paid by counties in daily rates exceed state expenditures, the state may retain 2% of surplus. 
The remainder is returned to counties and the state in the same proportion as paid in by each. 

Initial Allocations  $86,208,641 • Initial allocations do not include other funds allocated late in, or after the end of, the calendar year. 
See below. 

Other Funds: 
1. Corrective Sanctions  - 2,124,800 annually: 136 slots available; a county arranges with the state to receive services and is allocated funding 

based on the number of approved slots actually used (at an estimated $62 per day of service). Funding allocated following close of calendar year. 
2. Emergency Funds - $250,000 annually:  Only a county with population under 45,000 is eligible. Eligible counties must demonstrate unplanned 

but appropriate juvenile correctional facility or CCI placements. Funding allocated late in calendar year.
 

3. County Carryover - If unexpended youth aids at year end, county may carry over balance up to 5% of youth aids allocation or its unexpended 
balance, whichever is lower.

 
4. State Carryover - Up to $500,000 of youth aids or 10% of the total dollars unexpended by counties after county carryover is allocated, whichever 
is greater. DOC may allocate these funds to counties with persistently high rates of  juvenile arrests for serious offenses, or for community-based 
juvenile delinquency-related services. The allocation of these monies is separate from the youth aids allocation and does not affect a county's base 
allocation. 

 
Note:  Initial allocations ($86,208,641), corrective sanctions funds ($2,124,800) and emergency funds ($250,000) total $88,583,441 in currently projected 
allocations in 2005. Amounts shown are funded with GPR, unless otherwise indicated.
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APPENDIX VII 
 

Initial 2005 Youth Aids Allocations by County 
 
 
   1999 2001  Prior Year Initial 
 Initial Base AODA Base Act 9 Act 16 Arrest Correctional 2005 
 Allocation Allocation Increase Increase Supplement Refunds Allocation  

 
Adams $201,146 $5,616 $6,837 $2,481 $806  $0 $216,886 
Ashland 200,707 5,640 12,020 5,956 6,012 0  230,335 
Barron 437,723 12,524 24,178 6,947 10,264 0  491,636 
Bayfield 145,564 5,145 6,250 1,489 2,419 0  160,867 
Brown 1,950,413 51,622 156,072 50,130 0 167 2,208,404 
 
Buffalo 54,365 2,474 4,740 496 953 0   63,028 
Burnett 199,829 1,529 7,926 4,816 696 0  214,796 
Calumet 275,988 8,863 11,658 3,971 2,163 0  302,643 
Chippewa 552,743 13,196 35,024 17,869 0 0  618,832 
Clark 464,470 18,231 13,118 1,489 4,032 0  501,340 
 
Columbia 336,353 11,352 24,233 3,971 0 4,043 379,952 
Crawford 138,466 4,531 7,246 1,489 2,053 1,970 155,755 
Dane 5,219,794 84,654 300,833 158,590 0 22,624 5,786,495 
Dodge 634,309 19,338 44,469 7,942 0 6,387 712,445 
Door 194,739 8,025 9,843 496 2,896 0  215,999 
 
Douglas 1,040,231 40,441 21,450 4,962 9,604 0  1,116,688 
Dunn 214,508 3,278 20,204 8,933 6,562 0  253,485 
Eau Claire 1,019,018 19,200 73,220 29,285 0 13,546 1,154,269 
Florence 53,987 2,183 1,310 0 113 0  57,593 
Fond Du Lac 888,426 23,411 51,517 17,373 0 0  980,727 
 
Forest 65,866 1,327 5,781 1,985 2,529 0  77,488 
Grant 253,533 6,766 20,299 5,460 0 0  286,058 
Green 222,371 5,212 14,682 1,489 5,352 2,189 251,295 
Green Lake 123,136 2,657 9,712 3,971 3,152 0  142,628 
Iowa 158,427 6,571 9,579 0 4,985 0  179,562 
 
Iron 43,619 1,862 2,301 0 880 0  48,662 
Jackson 175,878 7,144 9,389 496 4,839 0  197,746 
Jefferson 600,133 22,067 45,892 3,475 0 0  671,567 
Juneau 233,529 9,338 9,485 991 3,372 0  256,715 
Kenosha 2,930,882 43,111 135,884 88,306 0 0  3,198,183 
 
Kewaunee 112,075 3,398 8,507 1,985 2,603 0  128,568 
La Crosse 1,212,879 38,581 76,477 24,320 0 0  1,352,257 
Lafayette 70,833 3,022 5,235 0 1,576 0  80,666 
Langlade 364,627 12,446 12,480 3,971 5,169 489 399,182 
Lincoln 354,735 11,089 17,995 4,467 8,248 0  396,534 
 
Manitowoc 583,430 0 59,425 28,787 0 2,215 673,857 
Marathon 1,410,193 37,605 82,731 28,291 0 0  1,558,820 
Marinette 495,073 13,567 23,969 11,416 8,358 0  552,383 
Marquette 89,507 0 7,285 3,841 1,246 721 102,600 
Menominee 486,584 14,100 9,128 7,224 3,702 0  520,738 
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APPENDIX VII (continued) 
 

Initial 2005 Youth Aids Allocations by County 
 
 
   1999 2001  Prior Year Initial 
 Initial Base AODA Base Act 9 Act 16 Arrest Correctional 2005 
 Allocation Allocation Increase Increase Supplement Refunds Allocation 

 
Milwaukee $28,940,959 $106,745 $1,251,794 $1,029,162 $0 $199,925 $31,528,585 
Monroe 666,626 20,065 30,406 10,918 14,699 554 743,268 
Oconto 320,222 8,700 17,875 5,956 5,828  0 358,581 
Oneida 500,087 13,345 26,909 10,918 13,013 0  564,272 
Outagamie 1,631,913 41,694 110,618 37,227 0 0  1,821,452 
 
Ozaukee 640,729 19,891 31,127 5,956 0 0  697,703 
Pepin 59,422 2,493 2,571 496 623 0  65,605 
Pierce 279,383 11,376 14,576 1,489 4,949 0  311,773 
Polk 402,155 11,242 24,096 6,452 11,217 0  455,162 
Portage 488,891 13,055 36,221 9,431 0 824 548,422 
 
Price 132,618 3,900 7,017 1,985 2,603 386 148,509 
Racine 3,902,132 36,236 199,068 154,936 0 7,366 4,299,738 
Richland 86,270 2,075 8,183 2,481 2,639 0  101,648 
Rock 3,106,628 78,312 138,662 68,494 0 0  3,392,096 
Rusk 215,479 7,944 8,838 2,481 4,802 0  239,544 
 
St. Croix 565,718 21,318 23,880 2,977 0 0  613,893 
Sauk 464,912 0 38,761 19,854 0 5,949 529,476 
Sawyer 175,451 5,465 7,804 2,481 2,933 0  194,134 
Shawano 505,371 18,250 30,214 11,416 16,090 0  581,341 
Sheboygan 1,097,098 12,297 81,923 43,184 0 8,241 1,242,743 
 
Taylor 192,480 5,606 7,714 1,985 1,650 0  209,435 
Trempealeau 118,604 3,301 11,398 2,481 3,996 0  139,780 
Vernon 195,215 8,102 8,832 0 1,979 0  214,128 
Vilas 263,003 8,111 11,185 5,460 3,666 0  291,425 
Walworth 836,757 17,775 63,832 19,358 0 7,417 945,139 
 
Washburn 154,703 5,698 7,753 2,977 2,786 0  173,917 
Washington 1,196,968 37,845 63,559 10,422 0 4,661 1,313,455 
Waukesha 3,459,707 132,056 152,918 18,364 0 77 3,763,122 
Waupaca 505,580 12,076 27,929 11,912 0 0  557,497 
Waushara 254,070 8,004 9,580 3,971 1,943 39 277,607 
 
Winnebago 1,480,631 34,081 101,234 46,160 0 3,451 1,665,557 
Wood      1,225,629        45,226        45,139         5,956              0    0     1,321,950 
 
Total $78,275,500 $1,333,400 $4,000,000 $2,106,500 $200,000 $293,241 $86,208,641 
 
 
 
       
 Corrective Sanctions funding allocated following the close of the calendar year $2,124,800 
        
 Emergency funding allocated late in calendar year   $250,000 
        
 Total Projected Youth Aids in 2005    $88,583,441 
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APPENDIX VIII
 

 

Out-of-Home Placement Costs and Youth Aids Allocations 
2001 

 
       Youth Aids Allocation 
    Secured Total Youth Over (Under) 
 Foster Group Child Caring Correctional Out-of-Home Aids Out-of-Home 
 Homes Homes Institutions* Facilities Expenditures Allocation Costs 
 
Adams $36,313 $9,920 $53,917 $1,541 $101,691 $229,163 $127,472 
Ashland 30,276 209,617 320,495 197,738 758,126 247,135 -510,991 
Barron 171,288 299,478 547,575 123,098 1,141,439 503,017 -638,422 
Bayfield 4,734 20,596 140,001 66,474 231,805 160,562 -71,243 
Brown 158,114 265,215 333,504 853,344 1,610,177 2,176,958 566,781 
 
Buffalo 17,250 149,285 0 0 166,535 65,670 -100,865 
Burnett 79,498 39,646 96,468 217,020 432,632 233,314 -199,318 
Calumet 58,015 138,037 0 93,051 289,103 324,661 35,558 
Chippewa 224,541 47,003 199,752 219,702 690,998 627,049 -63,949 
Clark 81,828 23,733 360,719 27,022 493,302 512,194 18,892 
 
Columbia 27,870 13,071 198,551 81,080 320,572 391,284 70,712 
Crawford 11,166 139,963 107,902 23,125 282,156 167,367 -114,789 
Dane 647,788 1,906,804 2,904,859 2,873,505 8,332,956 5,926,072 -2,406,884 
Dodge 108,265 78,846 581,493 56,038 824,642 708,980 -115,662 
Door 32,060 35,196 225,006 0 292,262 218,898 -73,364 
 
Douglas 101,288 89,837 240,163 92,619 523,907 1,125,844 601,937 
Dunn 66,700 172,583 170,586 226,317 636,186 299,224 -336,962 
Eau Claire 258,564 478,441 365,786 503,294 1,606,085 1,175,241 -430,844 
Florence 18,548 0 0 0 18,548 58,696 40,148 
Fond Du Lac 125,831 458,789 570,058 312,446 1,467,124 969,611 -497,513 
 
Forest 7,257 0 0 0 7,257 76,100 68,843 
Grant 46,817 0 83,592 118,558 248,967 287,968 39,001 
Green 13,719 74,228 227,928 80,841 396,716 265,767 -130,949 
Green Lake 41,758 92,597 49,641 114,600 298,596 169,263 -129,333 
Iowa 21,842 110,663 274,751 0 407,256 178,019 -229,237 
 
Iron 0 0 0 0 0 52,544 52,544 
Jackson 23,457 18,771 206,368 0 248,596 211,999 -36,597 
Jefferson 119,698 129,139 556,127 59,902 864,866 672,110 -192,756 
Juneau 12,312 27,714 40,322 10,323 90,671 258,549 167,878 
Kenosha 266,607 991,898 942,329 2,231,704 4,432,538 3,153,163 -1,279,375 
 
Kewaunee 14,131 72,437 11,794 0 98,362 130,494 32,132 
La Crosse 147,666 107,736 98,690 336,811 690,903 1,340,084 649,181 
Lafayette 43,572 39,012 91,038 0 173,622 81,143 -92,479 
Langlade 64,626 25,709 230,852 58,721 379,908 420,063 40,155 
Lincoln 0 4,160 31,203 78,769 114,132 395,538 281,406 
 
Manitowoc 228,378 381,925 730,272 616,804 1,957,379 690,675 -1,266,704 
Marathon 375,549 839,504 1,194,519 392,252 2,801,824 1,548,053 -1,253,771 
Marinette 38,261 60,426 5,561 84,229 188,477 545,832 357,355 
Marquette 53,088 0 64,913 116,767 234,768 125,348 -109,420 
Menominee 34,309 33,284 52,958 158,515 279,066 543,143 264,077 
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APPENDIX VIII (continued)
 

 

Out-of-Home Placement Costs and Youth Aids Allocations 
2001 

 
 
       Youth Aids Allocation 
    Secured Total Youth Over (Under) 
 Foster Group Child Caring Correctional Out-of-Home Aids Out-of-Home 
 Homes Homes Institutions* Facilities Expenditures Allocation Costs 
 
Milwaukee $476,742 $2,013,535 $5,070,873 $22,716,084 $30,277,234 $31,419,750 $1,142,516 
Monroe 110,850 236,984 100,165 50,360 498,359 746,036 247,677 
Oconto 88,905 39,510 89,750 159,989 378,154 357,338 -20,816 
Oneida 13,827 193,801 388,093 149,113 744,834 574,329 -170,505 
Outagamie 228,030 192,657 427,406 787,446 1,635,539 1,870,902 235,363 
 
Ozaukee 6,033 57,136 186,458 155,339 404,966 703,162 298,196 
Pepin 0 0 0 0 0 85,773 85,773 
Pierce 26,203 66,580 97,578 29,275 219,636 314,044 94,408 
Polk 70,358 57,426 428,913 143,269 699,966 464,333 -235,633 
Portage 151,702 48,590 128,898 179,571 508,761 541,329 32,568 
 
Price 17,829 80,163 27,829 39,529 165,350 160,215 -5,135 
Racine 217,437 428,845 1,828,155 2,319,471 4,793,908 4,463,911 -329,997 
Richland 19,026 0 0 13,741 32,767 112,527 79,760 
Rock 147,440 294,206 1,118,284 1,256,113 2,816,043 3,472,841 656,798 
Rusk 7,938 0 25,863 0 33,801 239,592 205,791 
 
St. Croix 91,840 119,776 163,423 41,429 416,468 630,143 213,675 
Sauk 55,489 41,483 227,113 474,364 798,449 526,852 -271,597 
Sawyer 16,871 39,105 34,723 94,513 185,212 198,069 12,857 
Shawano 11,280 0 35,861 99,967 147,108 602,814 455,706 
Sheboygan 156,801 590,872 612,455 867,976 2,228,104 1,240,406 -987,698 
 
Taylor 41,813 30,559 28,232 29,492 130,096 210,685 80,589 
Trempealeau 23,144 13,427 125,814 36,602 198,987 159,997 -38,990 
Vernon 469 100,223 102,894 0 203,586 217,845 14,259 
Vilas 45,705 174,225 182,454 152,847 555,231 285,931 -269,300 
Walworth 114,616 145,714 796,657 392,144 1,449,131 915,427 -533,704 
 
Washburn 76,407 35,298 89,850 16,422 217,977 184,884 -33,093 
Washington 80,592 167,741 528,490 405,049 1,181,872 1,348,356 166,484 
Waukesha 84,687 156,099 572,329 372,940 1,186,055 3,786,202 2,600,147 
Waupaca 16,597 55,828 124,694 276,674 473,793 582,522 108,729 
Waushara 51,760 34,706 93,300 36,435 216,201 273,842 57,641 
 
Winnebago 290,034 971,131 733,813 470,838 2,465,816 1,688,826 -776,990 
Wood 277,409 181,470 438,781 113,834 1,011,494 1,369,952 358,458 
 
Total $6,830,818 $14,152,353 $27,118,841 $42,307,035 $90,409,047 $87,015,630 -$3,393,417 
        
Without  
Milwaukee $6,354,076 $12,138,818 $22,047,968 $19,590,951 $60,131,813 $55,595,880 -$4,535,933 
 
 
 
      *Child caring institutions are now termed residential care centers. 
        
        
 

 


