# Alcohol and Tobacco Taxes



Wisconsin Legislative Fiscal Bureau January, 2015

# Alcohol and Tobacco Taxes

Prepared by

Ryan Horton

Wisconsin Legislative Fiscal Bureau One East Main, Suite 301 Madison, WI 53703 http://legis.wisconsin.gov/lfb

# Alcohol and Tobacco Taxes

The state imposes a number of excise and occupational taxes on the sale of specific products in Wisconsin. An excise tax is a tax on the consumer, rather than the seller, while an occupational tax is imposed on the privilege of engaging in a particular business. State general fund excise or occupational taxes are currently levied on cigarettes, tobacco products, fermented malt beverages (primarily beer, but includes other malted beverages such as certain hard lemonades, maltbased coolers, and malt liquors), and intoxicating liquor (including wine, hard cider, and liquor). Information is presented in this paper on the taxes imposed on each of these products. In addition, a summary of the excise tax rates imposed on alcohol and tobacco products by the federal government and other states is included in the final sections of the paper. [The excise taxes charged on motor vehicle and alternate fuel, which are deposited in the transportation fund, are described in the Legislative Fiscal Bureau's informational paper entitled, "Motor Vehicle Fuel and Alternate Fuel Tax."]

#### Taxes on Alcohol and Tobacco In Wisconsin

### **Cigarette Tax**

The state imposes an excise tax on the sale of cigarettes. The tax rate is generally \$2.52 per pack, or 126 mills per cigarette, although for larger cigarettes (weighing more than three pounds per thousand) the tax rate is 252 mills per cigarette. A mill equals one-tenth of one cent.

The tax is paid through the purchase of tax stamps from the Department of Revenue (DOR), generally by a manufacturer or distributor. The tax stamp must be affixed to each pack of cigarettes prior to its first sale in the state. Manufacturers and distributors receive a 0.7% discount on stamp purchases (or tax payments) as compensation for their administrative costs.

Since the cigarette tax was first imposed in 1939, at a general tax rate of 2¢ per pack, the cigarette tax rate has been raised 17 times to its current rate of \$2.52 per pack. The current rate was established in 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, and became effective September 1, 2009. Changes in the cigarette tax rate are outlined in Table 1 below:

Table 1: Cigarette Tax Rates Per Pack

Effective Date	Tax Rate
September 20, 1939 July 21, 1949	\$0.02 0.03
July 1, 1955	0.04
July 1, 1957	0.05
September 1, 1961	0.06
August 15, 1963	0.08
August 1, 1965	0.10
September 1, 1969	0.14
November 5, 1971	0.16
August 1, 1981	0.20
May 1, 1982	0.25
September 1, 1987	0.30
May 1, 1992	0.38
September 1, 1995	0.44
November 1, 1997	0.59
October 1, 2001	0.77
January 1, 2008	1.77
September 1, 2009	2.52

Table 2 presents a summary of cigarette tax collections since 2003-04. Revenue "spikes" from the cigarette excise tax have been due to tax increases, rather than increased volume of sales. The 53.9% increase in revenues from the cigarette tax realized in state fiscal year 2007-08,

**Table 2: Cigarette Tax Collections (\$ in Millions)** 

Fiscal Year	Amount	Percent Change From Prior Year	Percent of General Fund Tax Collections
2003-04	\$291.32	-0.8%	2.71%
2004-05	294.30	1.0	2.58
2005-06	301.49	2.4	2.51
2006-07	296.13	-1.8	2.35
2007-08	455.72	53.9	3.49
2008-09	551.34	21.0	4.55
2009-10	644.27	16.9	5.31
2010-11	604.83	-6.1	4.68
2011-12	587.75	-2.8	4.35
2012-13	569.15	-3.2	4.04
2013-14	573.04	0.7	4.11

for example, followed a \$1.00 increase in the tax rate that took effect on January 1, 2008. In contrast, the number of packs of cigarettes for which tax stamps were purchased in that year dropped by over 9% from 2006-07. The same pattern holds for the revenue increases that were realized in fiscal years 2008-09 and 2009-10 -- while cigarette tax revenues increased, following a tax increase, taxable sales of cigarettes declined.

The largest annual decrease in cigarette tax revenue was 6.1% for 2010-11. Beginning July 5, 2010, smoking is prohibited in most indoor public places, businesses, places of work, and certain outdoor areas in this state, pursuant to 2009 Wisconsin Act 12. As a result, tax collections for 2010-11 reflect the first year in which the state smoking ban contributed to reduced cigarette consumption.

In years in which the smoking ban was not enacted and there was no tax increase, there have been either moderate increases or decreases in cigarette tax revenues. In the 10 years leading up to fiscal year 2013-14, overall cigarette consumption in Wisconsin, as measured by the number of taxed cigarette packs sold to distributors, is estimated to have declined by 40%. Federal tax increases of 5¢ per pack on January 1, 2002, and

62¢ per pack on April 1, 2009, have also contributed to reduced cigarette consumption in the state. (The last increase brought the federal cigarette excise tax to \$50.33 per thousand, or \$1.0066 per pack.)

1997 Act 27 reduced the discount on stamp purchases for manufacturers and distributors from 2% to 1.6%. The discount was further reduced by 2007 Act 20 from 1.6% to 0.7%. As mentioned, the discount is provided to manufacturers and distributors as compensation for their administrative costs associated with the tax. The decrease in the rate of the discount was enacted to keep the total discount at approximately the same per pack level as it was prior to these increases in the cigarette tax rate. No reduction to the discount rate was included with the 2009 Act 28 cigarette tax increase.

2005 Act 25 authorized direct marketing of cigarettes to consumers in this state if a direct marketer meets certain requirements. Under prior law, direct marketing of cigarettes to Wisconsin consumers was prohibited unless the seller had a valid municipal retail permit for the municipality into which each sale was made. Act 25 authorized direct marketing for a direct marketer that registers with DOR and certifies that the direct marketer will sell only stamped cigarettes. In addition, the direct marketer must verify consumer names, addresses, and ages, and comply with certain other administrative requirements, including certain provisions that also apply to licensed cigarette distributors. The provisions took effect July 27, 2005. As of December, 2014, no direct marketers have registered under these provisions.

2013 Wisconsin Act 20 modified the definition of a "manufacturer" to include an owner of a roll-your-own (RYO) cigarette machine. Effective October 1, 2013, a person operating a RYO machine for non-personal uses is subject to the state cigarette tax (\$2.52 for a pack of 20).

#### **Tobacco Products Tax**

The state imposes an excise tax on the sale of all tobacco products except cigarettes. The tobacco products tax is paid by distributors at rates of 100% of the manufacturer's list price for moist snuff and 71% of the manufacturer's list price for all other tobacco products, with a maximum tax of 50¢ per cigar. The tax rates were raised to their current levels on September 1, 2009, pursuant to 2009 Act 28. Act 28 also converted the tax on moist snuff from a weight-based tax to a price-based tax. The tax is paid on the basis of monthly returns filed with the Department of Revenue. Table 3 shows tobacco products tax collections since 2003-04.

The tax on tobacco products was established at 20% of the manufacturer's list price for all tobacco products in Chapter 20, Laws of 1981, effective October 1, 1981. Table 4 shows the historical increases to the tobacco products tax rates. Prior to 2007 Act 20, all tobacco products other than cigarettes were subject to the same tax rates. Act 20 created a separate tax rate for moist snuff and established a maximum tax per cigar. Between 2003-04 and 2013-14, collections ranged from \$15.8 million to \$67.7 million. Unlike other state excise and occupational taxes which are imposed as a fixed amount per unit of product, the tobacco products tax is levied as a percentage of price (except for sales of moist snuff from January 1, 2008, through August 31, 2009). There-

**Table 3: Tobacco Products Tax Collections** (\$ in Millions)

		Percent	Percent of
Fiscal		Change From	General Fund
Year	Amount	Prior Year	Tax Collections
2003-04	\$16.10	3.8%	0.15%
2004-05	15.84	-1.6	0.14
2005-06	16.42	3.7	0.14
2006-07	17.52	6.7	0.14
2007-08	29.75	69.8	0.23
2008-09	42.24	42.0	0.35
2009-10	59.89	41.8	0.49
2010-11	60.89	1.7	0.47
2011-12	65.52	7.6	0.48
2012-13	63.02	-3.8	0.45
2013-14	67.69	7.4	0.49

fore, collections of the tobacco products tax increase over time as prices rise. The largest annual increases in revenues from the tax over this period, 69.8% in 2007-08, 42.0% in 2008-09, and 41.8% in 2009-10, reflect implementation of higher tax rates.

#### **Refunds to Native American Tribes**

Federal law prohibits states from imposing a cigarette tax or a tobacco products tax on sales by Native Americans to Native Americans on reservations or trust land. To discourage purchases of non-taxed cigarette and tobacco products on reservations by non-Native Americans, state law permits the Department of Revenue to enter into agreements with Native American tribes to impose these excise taxes. The agreements permit-

**Table 4: Tobacco Products Tax Rates** 

Effective Date	Moist Snuff Tax Rate	Other Tobacco Products Tax Rate	Cigar Tax Rate
October 1, 1981	20% of the manuf. list price	20% of the manuf. list price	20% of the manuf. list price
October 1, 2001	25% of the manuf. list price	25% of the manuf. list price	25% of the manuf. list price
January 1, 2008	\$1.31 per ounce	50% of the manuf. list price	50% of the manuf. list price, but not more than 50¢ per cigar
September 1, 2009	100% of the manuf. list price	71% of the manuf. list price	71% of the manuf. list price but not more than 50¢ per cigar

ted under state law are described below.

The tax on cigarettes was converted from an occupational tax to an excise tax in 1983. This change allowed the state to impose the tax on sales of cigarettes made by Native Americans to non-Native Americans on reservations. Currently, the state has agreements with all 11 Native American tribes in Wisconsin through which Native American retailers purchase and sell only stamped (taxed) cigarettes to non-Native American purchasers. The state then provides a refund to the tribes of 70% of the tax paid on sales to non-Native Americans and 100% of the tax paid on sales to eligible Native American tribal members. Eligible tribal members must reside on the reservation or trust land of the tribe where the sale took place and be an enrolled member of that tribe. As noted, the refund provision was enacted to encourage Native American retailers to sell only stamped cigarettes. Previously, unstamped cigarettes were sold on reservations, which raised concern regarding competition and the administration and collection of taxes for sales to non-Native Americans. The refund provision was enacted as part of the 1983-85 biennial budget (1983 Act 27).

The tax on tobacco products was converted from an occupational tax to an excise tax under 1999 Act 9 (the 1999-01 biennial budget act). Prior to Act 9, it was common for distributors to sell untaxed tobacco products to Native American retailers and to claim exemptions from the tax for such sales when filing tax returns with DOR. Act 9 specified that all tobacco products were subject to the tax unless specifically exempted, and imposed penalties on distributors who failed to collect and remit the appropriate tax. These changes meant that tribal retailers would no longer be able to purchase untaxed tobacco products. However, Act 9 authorized the Department to enter into agreements with the tribes to refund 100% of tobacco products taxes paid on sales to eligible tribal members on reservations and 50% of such taxes paid on sales to non-tribal members. The Department has entered into such agreements with 10 out of the 11 Wisconsin tribes. Although the refund rates for sales to non-tribal members differ, the provisions for tobacco products tax refunds are comparable to those for cigarette tax refunds to the tribes.

Table 5 shows cigarette and tobacco products refunds that have been paid to tribes since 2003-04. The largest annual increases in tribal refunds, 72.2% in 2007-08, 52.4% in 2008-09, and 37.5% in 2009-10 correspond to years in which cigarette and tobacco product taxes were increased. Growth rate volatility of between 16.3% and -25.5% during years in which tax increases did not occur was primarily caused by the timing of refund claims submitted by tribes near the end of the fiscal year. In 2013-14, \$32.7 million in refunds were paid to tribes in this state, with refunds from cigarettes accounting for 96% of total refunds paid to tribes.

Table 5: Cigarette and Tobacco Products Refunds Paid to Tribes (\$ in Millions)

Fiscal Year	Cigarette Refunds	Tobacco Products Refunds	Total Refunds	% Change From Prior Year
2003-04	\$12.82	\$0.17	\$12.99	10.4%
2004-05	11.26	0.21	11.47	-11.7
2005-06	12.37	0.26	12.63	10.1
2006-07	11.57	0.21	11.78	-6.7
2007-08	19.94	0.34	20.28	72.2
2008-09	30.15	0.75	30.90	52.4
2009-10	41.28	1.21	42.49	37.5
2010-11	38.89	1.10	39.99	-5.9
2011-12	36.04	1.76	37.80	-5.5
2012-13	27.03	1.12	28.15	-25.5
2013-14	31.42	1.31	32.73	16.3

## **Liquor, Wine, and Cider Taxes**

The state imposes occupational taxes on the sale of liquor, wine, and fermented cider at the rates shown in Table 6.

Table 6: Liquor, Wine and Cider Tax Rates

Beverage	Tax Rate Per Liter	Tax Rate Per Gallon
Liquor*	85.86¢	\$3.25
Wine Up to 14% Alcohol 14% to 21% Alcohol	6.605 11.89	0.25 0.45
Cider	1.71	0.06

\*Excludes administrative fee of 11¢/gallon that is levied by the Department of Revenue.

In addition to the \$3.25 per gallon tax on liquor, an administrative fee of  $11\phi$ /gallon is also imposed. The administrative fee was increased from  $3\phi$  per gallon under 2005 Act 25, effective August 15, 2005. The fee, which is paid by distributors along with liquor taxes, is deposited to a program revenue appropriation and used for costs incurred by the Department in administering the state liquor tax and enforcing the three-tier system for alcohol beverage production, distribution, and sale.

Liquor, wine, and cider taxes are collected through monthly payments by distributors and out-of-state direct shippers, based on the actual tax liability for the previous month. The tax payments and a tax return are due on the 15th day of each month.

The occupational tax on liquor and wine has not been modified since Chapter 20, Laws of 1981, effective August 1, 1981. The tax rate on hard cider, defined as fermented apple juice that contains 0.5% to 7.0% alcohol by volume, has not been modified since it was established July 1, 1998, pursuant to 1997 Act 136. A summary of liquor and wine tax revenues since 2003-04 is presented in Table 7.

#### **Beer Tax**

An occupational tax is imposed by the state on the sale of beer and other fermented malt

Table 7: Liquor and Wine Tax Collections (\$ in Millions)

		Percent	Percent of
Fiscal		Change From	<ul> <li>General Fund</li> </ul>
Year	Amount	Prior Year	Tax Collections
2003-04	\$38.47	6.7%	0.36%
2004-05	39.53	2.8	0.35
2005-06	41.02	3.8	0.34
2006-07	42.67	4.0	0.34
2007-08	45.17	5.8	0.35
2008-09	44.13	-2.3	0.36
2009-10	44.18	0.1	0.36
2010-11	45.80	3.7	0.35
2011-12	47.04	2.7	0.35
2012-13	48.29	2.7	0.34
2013-14	48.99	1.4	0.35

beverages. The tax rate is \$2 per barrel of 31 gallons, or approximately 6.5¢ per gallon. A 50% tax credit on the first 50,000 barrels produced is available to brewers who produce less than 300,000 barrels per year. The tax is paid by brewers, bottlers, and wholesalers on a monthly basis. The tax on beer was established at its current \$2 per barrel level in Chapter 185, Laws of 1969. A summary of recent collection amounts is presented in Table 8.

**Table 8: Beer Tax Collections (\$ in Millions)** 

Fiscal Year	Amount	Percent Change From Prior Year	Percent of General Fund Tax Collections
2003-04	\$9.60	0.9%	0.09%
2004-05	9.77	1.8	0.09
2005-06	9.76	-0.1	0.08
2006-07	9.53	-2.3	0.08
2007-08	9.62	1.0	0.07
2008-09	9.91	3.0	0.08
2009-10	9.61	-3.1	0.08
2010-11	9.33	-2.9	0.07
2011-12	9.24	-0.9	0.07
2012-13	9.00	-2.6	0.06
2013-14	8.97	-0.4	0.06

#### **Federal Taxes on Alcohol and Tobacco**

The federal excise tax on cigarettes is

currently \$1.0066 per pack. This rate took effect on April 1, 2009. Previous per-pack federal excise tax rates, and the periods during which those rates were in effect, are shown in Table 9.

**Table 9: Federal Cigarette Tax Rates Since 1940** 

Effective Date	Tax Rate
July 1, 1940	\$0.065
November 1, 1942	0.07
November 1, 1951	0.08
January 1, 1983	0.16
January 1, 1991	0.20
January 1, 1993	0.24
January 1, 2000	0.34
January 1, 2002	0.39
April 1, 2009	1.0066

The current federal taxes on tobacco products are as follows:

Snuff	\$1.51 per pound
Chewing Tobacco	50.33¢ per pound
Pipe Tobacco	\$2.8311 per pound
Roll-Your-Own	
Tobacco	\$24.78 per pound
Cigarette Papers	3.15¢ for 50 papers
Cigarette Tubes	6.30¢ for 50 tubes
Small Cigars	\$50.33 per 1,000
Large Cigars	52.75% of the manufacturer's or
	importer's sales price, but not more
	than 40.26¢ per cigar

These rates took effect April 1, 2009, and are higher than the previous tax rates.

The federal liquor tax is \$13.50 per proof gallon (one gallon of 100 proof liquor). For example, a gallon of 80 proof alcohol is taxed at \$10.80 (80% of \$13.50). The Wisconsin liquor tax, in contrast, is based on the volume of the beverage in liters and does not consider the alcohol content.

Federal law provides five separate rates for the taxation of wine, as outlined below. These taxes are based on wine gallons (128 fluid ounces) rather than proof gallons.

Less than 14% alcohol	\$1.07 per gallon
14% to 21% alcohol	1.57 per gallon
21% to 24% alcohol	3.15 per gallon
Artificially carbonated wine	3.30 per gallon
Champagne and other sparkling wines	3.40 per gallon

In addition, a separate rate of 22.6¢/gallon is imposed on hard cider from apples containing at least 0.5% and less than 7% alcohol. A credit of 90¢ per gallon of wine or 5.6¢ per gallon of hard cider may be available for the first 100,000 gallons sold by a small winery producing not more than 150,000 gallons per year, with decreasing credit rates for a winery producing up to 250,000 gallons per year. Champagne and other sparkling wines are excluded from this federal tax credit.

The federal beer tax is \$18 per barrel of 31 gallons (approximately 58¢ per gallon). A reduced rate of \$7 per barrel for the first 60,000 barrels of beer annually is provided for brewers who produce not more than two million barrels in a calendar year.

#### Taxes on Alcohol and Tobacco in Other States

Information on the excise taxes imposed by other states on cigarettes, tobacco products, liquor, and beer is summarized in the following tables. These tables reflect state tax law changes in other states as of December, 2014.

Table 10 identifies the cigarette tax rates in effect in other states. These rates apply to packages of 20 cigarettes. Some states impose a higher tax rate on cigarettes weighing more than three pounds per thousand. In such cases, the rates shown in Table 10 are for packages of cigarettes weighing not more than three pounds per thousand, which is the most common type of package sold.

Table 11 presents a summary of excise tax rates on tobacco products in other states. As not-

Table 10: Cigarette Tax Rates by State as of January, 2015

State	Tax Per Pack	State	Tax Per Pack	State	Tax Per Pack
New York	\$4.350	Montana	\$1.700	Mississippi	\$0.680
Rhode Island*	4.040	Utah	1.700	Nebraska	0.640
Massachusetts	3.510	New Mexico	1.660	Tennessee	0.620
Connecticut	3.400	Delaware	1.600	Kentucky	0.600
Hawaii	3.200	Pennsylvania	1.600	Wyoming	0.600
Washington	3.025	South Dakota	1.530	Idaho	0.570
District of Columbia*	* 2.900	Texas	1.410	South Carolina	0.570
Minnesota	2.900	Iowa	1.360	West Virginia	0.550
Vermont	2.750	Florida	1.339	North Carolina	0.450
New Jersey	2.700	Oregon***	1.310	North Dakota	0.440
WISCONSIN	2.520	Ohio	1.250	Alabama	0.425
Alaska	2.000	Arkansas	1.150	Georgia	0.370
Arizona	2.000	Oklahoma	1.030	Louisiana	0.360
Maine	2.000	Indiana	0.995	Virginia	0.300
Maryland	2.000	California	0.870	Missouri	0.170
Michigan	2.000	Colorado	0.840		
Illinois	1.980	Nevada	0.800		
New Hampshire	1.780	Kansas	0.790		

<sup>\*</sup> Rate includes \$0.54 prepaid sales tax for each pack of cigarettes.

Sources: Federation of Tax Administrators, state tax publications, and state websites.

ed, Wisconsin caps its tax on cigars at 50¢ each. Other states also have caps on their cigar taxes, but these are not shown in Table 11. Table 12 summarizes the excise tax rates imposed on liquor for the 33 states (plus the District of Columbia) that license the sale of liquor by private individuals. [Tax rates for the 17 states that maintain a complete or partial government monopoly on the sale of liquor are not provided. Such states generate revenue from a variety of taxes, fees, and net liquor profits.] Many states have separate rates for wine, champagne, and other alcoholic beverages. In some cases, the tax imposed on liquor depends on the percentage of alcohol content by volume. In addition, a number of states impose an additional tax based on: (a) a percentage of the wholesale price; (b) a percentage of the retail price for on-premise and/or off-premise consumption; and (c) a charge per bottle or per volume sold. In all cases where such variation

exists, Table 12 provides only the primary liquor tax rate.

Table 13 presents a summary of the excise tax rates levied in other states on the sale of beer. In addition to the rates shown, some states offer a reduced tax rate for beer sold by smaller breweries. In a number of states, the tax rate depends on the alcohol content of the beer. Also, some states impose an additional tax based on the wholesale or retail price or on a per unit basis, sometimes in connection with the location of the sale. Table 13 provides only the primary tax rate on beer, both by the gallon and by the barrel. In cases where the rate per barrel varies with the volume of beer included in the packaging sold (for example, a half barrel of beer has a different tax rate than a case of beer), the state's highest statutory tax rate is shown in Table 13.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Rate includes \$0.40 surtax for each pack of cigarettes, which replaces the sales tax on cigarettes.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>Rate will increase to 1.32 in 2016 and 1.33 in 2018

# Table 11: Tobacco Products Tax Rates by State as of December, 2014

# States That Impose Tax as a Percentage of the Price

State	Tax	State	Tax
Alaska	75.0% of wholesale price	Nevada	30.0% of wholesale price
California	28.95% of wholesale value	New Hampshire	65.03% of wholesale price
Colorado	40.0% of manuf. list price	New Mexico	25.0% of wholesale product value
District of Columbia	70.0% of wholesale price	North Carolina	12.8% of cost price
Florida	85.0% of wholesale price		
		South Carolina	5.0% of manuf. price
Idaho	40.0% of wholesale price	South Dakota	35.0% of wholesale price
Kansas	10.0% of wholesale price	Tennessee	6.6% of wholesale price
Maryland	30.0% of wholesale price		
•	-	Virginia	10.0% of manuf. selling price
Michigan	32.0% of wholesale price	West Virginia	7.0% of wholesale price
Minnesota	95.0% of wholesale price	_	•
Mississippi	15.0% of manuf. list price		
Missouri	10.0% of manuf. invoice price		

States That Impose Tax That Differs by Product				
State/Product	Range of Tax Rates	State/Product	Range of Tax Rates	
Alabama Cigars Little Cigars Filtered Cigars Smoking Tobacco Chewing Tobacco	\$40.50/1,000 4¢ per 10 15¢ per 10 Up to 6¢ per ounce 1.5¢ per ounce	Indiana Cigarette Tubes Cigarette Papers Moist Snuff Other Tobacco	1¢ per 50 tubes 12¢ per 1200 papers 40¢ per ounce 24% of wholesale price	
Snuff Arizona Cigars Little Cigars	Up to 12¢ per ounce 21.8¢ for 3 to 21.8¢ each 44.10¢ per 20	Iowa Little Cigars Snuff All other Tobacco	6.8¢ per cigar \$1.19 per ounce 50.0% of wholesale price	
Plug Tobacco Other Tobacco Arkansas Cigarette Papers Other Tobacco	5.50¢ per ounce 22.3¢ per ounce 25¢ per 32 sheets 68% of manuf. selling price	Kentucky Snuff All Other Tobacco Louisiana	19¢ per 1.5 ounces 15% of wholesale price	
Connecticut Snuff All Other Tobacco	\$1.00 per ounce 50% of wholesale price	Cigars Smoking Tobacco Smokeless Tobacco Maine	8% to 20% of manuf. invoice price 33% of invoice price 20% of invoice price	
<b>Delaware</b> Moist Snuff All Other Tobacco	54¢ per ounce 15% of wholesale price	Smokeless Tobacco Smoking Tobacco Massachusetts	\$2.02 per ounce 20% of wholesale sales price	
Georgia Cigars Little Cigars Loose/Smokeless	23% of wholesale price 2.5¢ per 10	Little Cigars Smoking Tobacco Smokeless Tobacco	\$3.51 per pack of 20 40% of wholesale price 210% of wholesale price	
Tobacco <b>Hawaii</b> Little Cigars	10% of wholesale price  16¢ per cigar	Montana Moist Snuff All Other Tobacco	85¢ per ounce 50% of wholesale price	
Cigars Other Tobacco  Illinois	50% of wholesale price 70% of wholesale price	Nebraska Snuff Other Tobacco	44¢ per ounce 20.0% of manuf. selling price	
Moist Snuff Other Tobacco	30¢ per ounce 36% of wholesale price	New Jersey Moist Snuff All Other Tobacco	75¢ per ounce 30.0% of wholesale price	

Table 11: Tobacco Products Tax Rates by State as of December, 2014 (continued)

### States That Impose Tax That Differs by Product (continued)

State/Product	Range of Tax Rates	State/Product	Range of Tax Rates
New York Snuff Little Cigars All Other Tobacco	\$2.00 per ounce \$4.35 per pack of 20 75% of wholesale price	<b>Texas</b> Little Cigars Cigars All Other Tobacco	1¢ per 10 \$7.50/1,000 to \$15/1,000 \$1.22 per ounce
North Dakota Cigars & Pipe Tobacco Snuff Chewing Tobacco	28% of wholesale price 60¢ per ounce 16¢ per ounce	Utah Moist Snuff Little Cigars All Other Tobacco	\$1.83 per ounce 8.5¢ per cigar 86% of manuf. sales price
Ohio Little Cigars All Other Tobacco	37% of wholesale price 17% of wholesale price	Vermont Snuff and Other Smokeless Tobacco Little Cigars Cigars All Other Tobacco	\$2.29 per ounce 13.75¢ per cigar \$2 per cigar if >\$2.18, \$4 per cigar if >\$10 92% of wholesale price
Oklahoma Cigars Smoking Tobacco Snuff; Chewing and Smokeless Tobacco	36¢ to 120¢ per 10 80% of factory list price 60% of factory list price	Washington Moist Snuff Little Cigars All Other Tobacco	\$2.526 per unit of 1.2 ounces 15.125¢ per cigar 95% of taxable sales price
Oregon Moist Snuff All Other Tobacco	\$1.78 per ounce 65.0% of wholesale price	WISCONSIN Moist Snuff All Other Tobacco	100% of manuf. sales price 71% of manuf. sales price
Pennsylvania Little Cigars Rhode Island Snuff Little Cigars All Other Tobacco	8¢ per cigar \$1.00 per ounce 20.2¢ per cigar 80% of wholesale cost	Wyoming Moist Snuff All Other Tobacco	60¢ per ounce 20.0% of wholesale price

Sources: Commerce Clearing House, state tax publications, and state websites.

Table 12: Liquor Tax Rates for License States as of December, 2014

State	Tax Per Gallon	State	Tax Per Gallon	State	Tax Per Gallon
Washington	\$14.27	Georgia	\$4.54	Arkansas	\$2.50
Alaska	12.80	Tennessee	4.40	Kansas	2.50
Illinois	8.55	Massachusetts	4.05	Louisiana	2.50
Florida	6.50	South Dakota	3.93	North Dakota	2.50
New York	6.44	Delaware	3.75	Texas	2.40
New Mexico	6.06	Nebraska	3.75	Colorado	2.28
Hawaii	5.98	Nevada	3.60	Missouri	2.00
Oklahoma	5.56	California	3.30	Kentucky	1.92
New Jersey	5.50	WISCONSIN	3.25	District of Columbia	a 1.50
Connecticut	5.40	Arizona	3.00	Maryland	1.50
Rhode Island	5.40	South Carolina	2.72	•	
Minnesota	5.03	Indiana	2.68		

Sources: Commerce Clearing House, state tax publications, and state websites.

Table 13: Beer Tax Rates by State as of December, 2014

State	Tax in ¢ Per Gallon	Tax in \$ Per Barrel	State	Tax in ¢ Per Gallon	Tax in \$ Per Barrel
Tennessee*	128.7¢	\$39.89	Texas	19.4¢	\$6.00
Alaska	107.0	33.17	Iowa	19.0	5.89
Alabama**	105.3	32.64	Kansas	18.0	5.58
Hawaii	93.0	28.83	Ohio	18.0	5.58
Georgia***	85.5	26.50	West Virginia	17.7	5.50
South Carolina	76.8	23.81	Arizona	16.0	4.96
North Carolina	61.7	19.13	Nevada	16.0	4.96
Florida	48.0	14.88	North Dakota	16.0	4.96
Mississippi	42.7	13.23	Delaware	15.6	4.85
Utah	41.3	12.80	Idaho	15.0	4.65
New Mexico	41.0	12.71	Minnesota	14.8	4.60
Oklahoma	40.3	12.50	New York	14.0	4.34
Maine	35.0	10.85	Montana	13.9	4.30
Louisiana	32.3	10.00	New Jersey	12.0	3.72
Nebraska	31.0	9.61	Indiana	11.5	3.57
New Hampshire	30.0	9.30	Massachusetts	10.6	3.30
South Dakota	27.4	8.50	Rhode Island	10.6	3.30
Vermont	26.5	8.22	District of Columbi	a 9.0	2.79
Washington	26.1	8.08	Maryland	9.0	2.79
Virginia	25.7	7.95	Oregon	8.4	2.60
Connecticut	24.0	7.44	Kentucky	8.1	2.50
Arkansas	23.4	7.27	Colorado	8.0	2.48
Illinois	23.1	7.16	Pennsylvania	8.0	2.48
Michigan	20.3	6.30	WISCONSIN	6.5	2.00
California	20.0	6.20	Missouri	6.0	1.86
			Wyoming	1.9	0.59

Sources: Commerce Clearing House, state tax publications, and state websites.

<sup>\*</sup>Includes a local beer wholesale tax of 35.60 per barrel

\*\* Includes uniform local tax rate of \$0.52 per gallon

\*\*\*Includes a uniform local tax rate of \$16.50 per barrel, though additional local excise taxes may apply