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Juvenile Justice and Youth Aids Program

The 1993 and 1995 sessions of the Wisconsin
Legislature enacted major revisions of the state's
juvenile justice system. Under 1995 Wisconsin
Act 27, juvenile delinquency programs and ser-
vices were transferred, on July 1, 1996, from the
former Department of Health and Social Services
to the Department of Corrections. Under prior
law, Chapter 48 of the Wisconsin statutes (the
Children's Code) described the legal framework
of the state's child welfare and juvenile justice
systems. Under 1995 Wisconsin Act 77, juvenile
delinquency provisions were removed from
Chapter 48 and revised and then incorporated in-
to Chapter 938, referred to as "the Juvenile Jus-
tice Code." (Chapter 48 remains as the Children's
Code, relating to child welfare and protection.)
In the 1997 session and 2005 session of the Leg-
islature, numerous additions and clarifications
were made to the juvenile code.

Under Chapter 938, the Legislature states that
its intent is to promote a juvenile justice system
capable of dealing with the problem of juvenile
delinquency, a system which will protect the
community, impose accountability for violations
of law and equip juvenile offenders with compe-
tencies to live responsibly and productively.
Chapter 938 is also intended to accomplish the
following: (a) protect citizens from juvenile
crime; (b) hold each juvenile offender directly
accountable for his or her acts; (c) provide an in-
dividualized assessment of each alleged and ad-
judicated delinquent juvenile, in order to prevent
further delinquent behavior through the develop-
ment of competency in the juvenile offender, so
that he or she is more capable of living produc-
tively and responsibly in the community; (d) pro-
vide due process through which each juvenile
offender and all other interested parties are as-
sured fair hearings, during which constitutional
and other legal rights are recognized and en-

forced; (e) divert juveniles from the juvenile jus-
tice system through early intervention as war-
ranted, when consistent with the protection of the
public; (f) respond to a juvenile offender's needs
for care and treatment, consistent with the pre-
vention of delinquency, each juvenile's best inter-
est and protection of the public, by allowing a
judge to utilize the most effective dispositional
option; and (g) ensure that victims and witnesses
of acts committed by juveniles are afforded the
same rights as victims and witnesses of crimes
committed by adults, and are treated with dignity,
respect, courtesy and sensitivity throughout any
proceedings.

This paper provides an overview of juvenile
crime statistics in Wisconsin, the state's juvenile
justice system, youth aids funding provided to
counties, and community-based programming for
juveniles.

Wisconsin Juvenile Crime Statistics

This section provides information on total ju-
venile arrests and juvenile arrest rates in Wiscon-
sin as well as statistics for specific types of of-
fenses.

Under Wisconsin law, a juvenile is defined as
any person under the age of 18 years, except that
for purposes of investigating or prosecuting vio-
lations of state or federal criminal law, a "juve-
nile" does not include a person who has attained
17 years of age. Under prior law, 17-year-old of-
fenders were treated as juveniles. Under 1995
Wisconsin Act 27, 17-year-old offenders began
to be treated as adults, first effective January 1,
1996.



Juveniles may be taken into custody by law
enforcement personnel when the officer reasona-
bly believes that the juvenile has committed an
act in violation of state or federal criminal law, is
a runaway or has violated some other law or
court order. Juveniles who are taken into custody
are not considered arrested under state law. How-
ever, the national Uniform Crime Reporting
(UCR) system, from which the following data is
obtained, refers to the apprehension of both
adults and juveniles as an arrest. Therefore, this
paper refers to juvenile arrests.

The UCR system also records 17-year-old
persons in the juvenile category. While this
treatment is no longer consistent with Wisconsin
law, this practice allows for comparisons with
prior year statistics and data from other states.
The arrest data provided in this section covers the
most recently available 10-year period (2003
through 2012). Additional crime data can be
found in a document entitled "Arrests in Wiscon-
sin — 2012," published by the Wisconsin Depart-
ment of Justice.

Total Juvenile and Adult Arrests

Juvenile arrests were relatively stable in the
mid-1980s, but increased each year from 1989 to
1997. Over the 10-year period from 2003 to
2012, however, total juvenile arrests declined by
41.7%, from 117,224 in 2003 to 68,359 in 2012.
In comparison, over the same period, total adult
arrests decreased 15.2%, from 321,478 arrests in
2003 to 272,534 arrests in 2012. Figure 1 shows
the total number of juvenile and adult arrests
statewide for the years 2003 through 2012. In
2012, juvenile arrests comprised approximately
20.1% of all arrests in Wisconsin, while the juve-
nile population in 2012 comprised approximately
23% of total state population.

Of the juveniles arrested in 2012, 46,121 were
male (67%) and 22,238 were female (33%). Of-

Figure 1
Total Wisconsin Arrests by Year, 2003-2012
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fense categories that had the highest percentage
of arrests of juvenile males included disorderly
conduct, theft, curfew violations, liquor law vio-
lations, and vandalism. Offense categories that
had the highest percentage of arrests of juvenile
females included theft, disorderly conduct, liquor
law violations, and curfew violations.

Juvenile and Adult Arrest Rates

The population under age 18 in Wisconsin
declined by 5.9% between 2003 and 2012, from
1,400,133 juveniles to 1,317,004 juveniles. The
arrest rate (expressed as the number of arrests per
100,000 residents) removes the effect of popula-
tion change on the number of arrests and permits
the comparison of the number of arrests over
time on a uniform population base. As shown in
Figure 2, the overall juvenile arrest rate de-
creased from 8,372 arrests per 100,000 juveniles
in 2003 to 5,190 arrests per 100,000 juveniles in
2012. This represents a 38% decrease in the
overall juvenile arrest rate over the 10-year peri-
od. Figure 2 also shows that the adult arrest rate
also decreased over the same 10-year period
(from 7,844 to 6,196 arrests per 100,000 popula-
tion), representing a 21% decrease. Throughout
the 10-year period, the juvenile arrest rate was
generally higher than the adult arrest rate.




Figure 2
Wisconsin Annual Arrest Rates (Per 100,000)
2003-2012

12,000
10,000
8,000 -
6,000 -
4,000 A
2,000 ~
04

03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12

@ Juvenile B Adult

Figure 3
Arrests for Part | Violent Offenses, 2003-2012
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Juvenile and Adult Arrests for Violent Offens-
es

Total juvenile arrests for Part | violent offens-
es as defined by the UCR (murder, forcible rape,
robbery and aggravated assault) increased each
year from 1988 through 1994 (from 1,151 to
2,674 arrests) but have remained below the 1994
peak level since then. Juvenile arrests for violent
offenses decreased from 1,969 arrests in 2003 to
1,392 in 2012, a decrease of 29.3%. Adult arrests
for Part | violent offenses decreased over the 10-
year period from 8,022 arrests in 2003 to 7,608
arrests in 2012, a 5.1% decrease. Figure 3 shows
the total number of juvenile and adult arrests
statewide for Part | violent offenses for the years
2003 through 2012. In 2012, juvenile arrests
comprised 15.4% of all arrests for Part | violent
offenses in Wisconsin, less than the percentage of
the juvenile population in the total state popula-
tion (23%).

Distribution of Juvenile Arrests

The 68,359 juvenile arrests in Wisconsin in
2012 were distributed among four, broad catego-
ries of offenses: (a) 2.0% were for violent of-
fenses (murder, forcible rape, negligent man-
slaughter, robbery and aggravated assault); (b)
15.6% were for property offenses (burglary, theft,
motor vehicle theft and arson); (c) 17.9% were

for status offenses (offenses which would not be
crimes were they committed by an adult, such as
liquor law violations, curfew violations and run-
aways); and (d) 64.5% were for other offenses
(primarily disorderly conduct, drug offenses,
weapons violations, simple assault and vandal-
ism).

As noted above, arrests for violent offenses
constituted two percent of all juvenile arrests in
Wisconsin in 2012, and juvenile arrests for vio-
lent offenses decreased by 29.3% from 2003 to
2012. The juvenile arrest rate (per 100,000) for
violent offenses also decreased by 25% over the
same time period.

Between 2003 and 2012, juvenile property
offense arrests (15.6% of total juvenile arrests in
2012) decreased by 43% during the 10-year peri-
od, while the juvenile property offense arrest rate
decreased by 39.4%. Status offense arrests
(17.9% of all juvenile arrests in 2012) decreased
by 49% over the 10-year period, while the status
offense arrest rate decreased by 45.8%. Finally,
the number of juvenile arrests for the category
"other offenses,” which constitute 64.5% of total
juvenile arrests, decreased by 39.3%, while the
juvenile arrest rate for these offenses decreased
by 35.4%.

For a more detailed look at Wisconsin juve-




nile crime statistics, Appendices I, Il and Il
show, respectively, the number of juvenile arrests
by offense for the years 2003 through 2012, the
juvenile arrest rate by offense over the same time
period, and total 2012 juvenile arrests by county.

An Overview of the Juvenile Justice
Process in Wisconsin

Chapter 938, of the statutes, delineates the
justice system's jurisdiction concerning violations
of state and federal criminal law, civil law, coun-
ty, town or other municipal ordinances, as well as
jurisdiction over juveniles alleged to be in need
of protection and services. Depending on the na-
ture of the juvenile's behavior, the public may be
represented by a district attorney, a corporation
counsel, a city, village or town attorney or by a
person designated by a county board of supervi-
sors. The procedural requirements, under Chapter
938, to address these various situations differ in
some respects. However, the following discus-
sion focuses on procedures relating to juveniles
who are alleged to have violated state or federal
criminal law and the responsibilities of the dis-
trict attorney as the public's representative.

The juvenile court has exclusive jurisdiction
over any juvenile 10 years of age or over who is
alleged to have violated any state or federal crim-
inal law, with the exception of youth who fall
under the original jurisdiction of the adult court
or who are waived into adult court, as described
in the following section. Juvenile courts have
concurrent jurisdiction with municipal courts
over juveniles age 12 or older who are alleged to
have violated a county, town or municipal ordi-
nance. There is no separate juvenile court system
in Wisconsin. The circuit courts serve as juvenile
courts and are referred to as juvenile courts when
exercising their jurisdiction under Chapters 48
and 938. Under current law, juveniles under age
10 who commit a delinquent act are considered to

be juveniles in need of protection or services
(JIPS) and are not subject to delinquency pro-
ceedings. Proceedings for these juveniles are
handled by the juvenile court under the JIPS pro-
visions in Chapter 938 of the statutes.

Under Chapter 938, a juvenile may be taken
into custody when a law enforcement officer be-
lieves that the juvenile has committed an act in
violation of a state or federal criminal law, that
the juvenile is a runaway or that the juvenile has
violated some other law or court order. The of-
ficer taking the juvenile into custody must imme-
diately attempt to notify the juvenile's parent(s)
or guardian and make every effort to release the
juvenile, when appropriate, into that person's cus-
tody. A juvenile alleged to be delinquent may be
referred to juvenile court intake by a law en-
forcement officer or others, including school of-
ficials or family members.

Intake Process

A juvenile court or the county department re-
sponsible for providing intake services must
specify at least one intake worker to provide the
services required by state law. Intake workers
provide services 24 hours a day, seven days a
week, for the purpose of screening juveniles tak-
en into custody, unless the juvenile is otherwise
released under certain circumstances specified by
statute. The intake worker is responsible for: (a)
determining whether and where a juvenile is to
be held in temporary custody; (b) receiving refer-
ral information and conducting intake inquiries to
determine how the case is to proceed; and (c)
providing counseling and referral services and
other functions to assist the court.

Temporary Custody

A juvenile may not be held in secure deten-
tion (generally, a county facility) unless first in-
terviewed in person by an intake worker. If the
intake worker is in a place distant from where the
juvenile is being held or the hour is unreasonable,
as defined by written court intake rules, the



worker may authorize holding the juvenile in se-
cure custody while the intake worker is en route
to the in-person interview or until 8:00 a.m. of
the day following the night on which the juvenile
was taken into custody. However, this procedure
is only allowed if the worker determines, based
upon a telephone conversation with the law en-
forcement officer who took the child into custo-
dy, that the juvenile meets the statutory criteria
for holding a juvenile in secure detention.

A juvenile may be held in temporary custody
if the intake worker determines that there is prob-
able cause to believe the juvenile is within the
jurisdiction of the court and if probable cause ex-
ists to believe one of the following: (a) that if the
juvenile is not held he or she will commit injury
to the person or property of others; (b) that the
parent, guardian or legal custodian of the juvenile
or other responsible adult is neglecting, refusing,
unable or unavailable to provide adequate super-
vision and care and that services to ensure the
juvenile's safety and well-being are not available
or would be inadequate; or (c) that the juvenile
will run away or be taken away and be unavaila-
ble for proceedings of the court. Under these cir-
cumstances, a juvenile may be held in nonsecure
custody (for example, the home of a parent or a
foster or group home) or, under certain circum-
stances, in a juvenile detention facility, a county
jail or a municipal lockup facility.

If a juvenile is not released, but placed into
temporary custody, a hearing must be held by a
judge or circuit court commissioner within 24
hours after the end of the day that the decision to
hold the juvenile was made, excluding Saturdays,
Sundays and legal holidays. A parent not present
at the hearing must be granted a rehearing upon
request for good cause shown.

By the time of the hearing, a petition to initi-
ate proceedings against the juvenile must be filed
unless the juvenile is taken into custody for: (a) a
failure to obey a summons; (b) a violation relat-
ing to court-ordered or aftercare supervision or

the conditions relating to a continued or tempo-
rary custody order; or (c) being a runaway from
another state or the subject of a warrant issued for
the juvenile's apprehension in another state. A
written statement of the reasons for holding a ju-
venile in custody must be provided if a petition is
not filed. If no hearing has been held within 24
hours or if no petition or statement has been filed
at the time of the hearing, the juvenile must be
released.

However, if no petition has been filed at the
time of the hearing, a juvenile may be held in
custody with the approval of the judge or circuit
court commissioner for an additional 48 hours
from the time of the hearing, but only if the judge
or circuit court commissioner determines that
probable cause exists to believe that the juvenile
is an imminent danger to himself or herself or to
others, or that probable cause exists to believe
that the parent, guardian or legal custodian of the
juvenile or other responsible adult is neglecting,
refusing, unable or unavailable to provide ade-
quate supervision and care. The extension may be
granted only once for any petition. If a petition is
not filed within the 48-hour extension period, the
judge or circuit court commissioner must order
the juvenile's immediate release from custody.

Intake Inquiry

While some juveniles are held in temporary
physical custody, many are quickly released to a
parent or other responsible adult and their cases
are subsequently reviewed by an intake worker.
The intake worker makes recommendations as to
what type of legal proceedings, if any, should be
pursued with respect to the juvenile. The intake
worker must make his or her determination,
based on an intake inquiry, in no more than 40
days after receiving the referral information. The
purpose of the intake inquiry is to determine
whether there is sufficient evidence to establish
the jurisdiction of the juvenile court and to de-
termine the best interests of the juvenile and the
public with regard to any action to be taken.



Three major courses of action are available to the
intake worker: (a) dismiss the case; (b) enter into
a deferred prosecution agreement with the juve-
nile; or (c) initiate formal delinquency proceed-
ings.

Dismissal. The intake worker may dismiss the
case without further proceedings if sufficient evi-
dence does not exist to establish juvenile court
jurisdiction. In this case, the intake worker must
make a reasonable attempt to inform all of the
known victims of the juvenile's act that the case
is being closed. Notwithstanding the intake
worker's decision, the district attorney still has
the authority to initiate a delinquency petition
within 20 days after notice that the case has been
closed.

Deferred Prosecution. The intake worker may
enter into a written deferred prosecution agree-
ment with the involved parties if the intake work-
er determines that neither the interests of the ju-
venile nor of the public require filing a petition
and the jurisdiction of the court, if sought, would
exist. Before entering into a deferred prosecution
agreement, the intake worker is required to offer
all of the victims of the juvenile's alleged act,
who have requested the opportunity, an oppor-
tunity to confer with the intake worker concern-
ing the proposed deferred prosecution agreement
(although victims do not have the authority to
approve or disapprove the agreement). The
agreement also requires the consent of the juve-
nile and his or her parent, guardian or legal cus-
todian. A deferred prosecution agreement may
not include any form of out-of-home placement
and may not exceed one year. If a petition has
been filed, a deferred prosecution agreement may
not be entered into or a case may not be closed
unless the petition is withdrawn by the district
attorney. The district attorney may also terminate
a deferred prosecution agreement if he or she
files a delinquency petition within 20 days of re-
ceipt of the notice concerning the agreement. In
such a case, any statements made to the intake
worker during the intake inquiry are inadmissi-
ble.

The obligations imposed under a deferred
prosecution agreement and its effective date must
be stated in writing. The intake worker must pro-
vide a copy of the agreement and order to the ju-
venile, parent, guardian, and/or legal custodian,
and to any agency providing services under the
agreement.

If the obligations imposed under the agree-
ment are not being met, the intake worker may
cancel the deferred prosecution agreement and, if
cancelled, must request that a petition be filed.
The juvenile and the juvenile's parent, guardian
or custodian also have the right to terminate the
deferred prosecution agreement at any time or to
object to terms of the agreement. If an objection
arises, the intake worker may alter the terms of
the agreement. If the agreement is terminated by
the juvenile or his or her parent, guardian or cus-
todian, or an objection cannot be resolved, the
intake worker may request that the district attor-
ney file a petition. Again, the district attorney has
20 days to file the petition and any statements
made to the intake worker during the intake in-
quiry are inadmissible.

If the obligations imposed under the deferred
prosecution agreement are met, the intake worker
informs the juvenile and a parent, guardian and
legal custodian in writing, and no petition may be
filed on the charges that brought about the de-
ferred prosecution agreement.

A deferred prosecution agreement may pro-
vide for any one or more of the following actions:
(@) individual, family or group counseling; (b)
requirements to abide by such obligations as su-
pervision, curfews and school attendance; (c) an
alcohol and other drug abuse assessment; (d) par-
ticipation in an alcohol and other drug abuse
treatment programs; (e) restitution for damaged
property or physical injury to another; (f) partici-
pation in a supervised work program or other
community service work; and (g) placement with
a volunteers in probation program or a teen court
program.



Initiate Delinquency Proceedings. If, as a re-
sult of the intake inquiry, the intake worker de-
termines that the juvenile should be referred to
the court, the intake worker must request that the
district attorney file a formal delinquency petition
with the juvenile court. The district attorney has
the authority to initiate a delinquency petition
within 20 days after the request is made.

Delinquency Proceedings

A district attorney must file a delinquency pe-
tition, close the case or refer the case back to the
intake worker or to the law enforcement agency
for further investigation within 20 days after the
date of the filing of the intake worker's request
for a petition or notice of a deferred prosecution
agreement. If referred back for investigation, the
intake worker or law enforcement agency must
complete its investigation within 20 days after the
date of the referral. If the case is referred back to
the intake worker with a decision to not file a pe-
tition, the intake worker must close the case or
enter into a deferred prosecution agreement with-
in 20 days. If a district attorney decides not to file
a petition, he or she must make a reasonable at-
tempt to inform all of the known victims of the
juvenile's act that a petition will not be filed.
Based on yearend caseload data from the Director
of State Courts, there were 8,057 juvenile delin-
quency-related cases opened in Wisconsin courts
in 2013.

At any time after a petition is filed but before
a determination is made at a fact-finding hearing,
the juvenile court may suspend the proceedings
and establish conditions applicable to the juvenile
and the juvenile's family. If the juvenile, the ju-
venile's family and the person filing the petition
agree to the conditions, they enter into a consent
decree with the court.

The consent decree is a written court order,
valid for up to one year, with a six-month exten-
sion possible. If the juvenile satisfactorily com-
pletes the period of supervision, the decree ex-

pires and the original delinquency petition is
dismissed. If the juvenile breaks a condition of
the consent decree, the court may take up the de-
linquency petition at the point where it left off
and pursue an adjudication of delinquency and a
formal disposition. Before entering into a consent
decree, the district attorney is required to offer all
of the victims of the juvenile's alleged act, who
have requested the opportunity, an opportunity to
confer with the district attorney concerning the
proposed consent decree (although victims do not
have the authority to approve or disapprove the
consent decree). Victims also have the right to
make a statement or provide a written statement
to the court prior to the consent decree being en-
tered into.

Hearings

If a delinquency petition is filed and no con-
sent decree is ordered, three types of hearings are
provided for the adjudication and disposition of
the case: (a) a plea hearing; (b) a fact-finding
hearing; and (c) a dispositional hearing. Through-
out these proceedings, the district attorney has
certain consultation and notification responsibili-
ties in regard to victims.

Plea Hearing. A plea hearing must be held
(within 30 days of the filing of a delinquency pe-
tition or within 10 days if the juvenile is in secure
custody) to determine the juvenile's plea to the
petition for delinquency. If the juvenile contests
the petition, the court must schedule a fact-
finding hearing. If the juvenile does not contest
the petition, the court must schedule a disposi-
tional hearing (within 30 days of the plea hearing
or within 10 days if the juvenile is in secure cus-
tody).

Fact-finding Hearing. If the alleged delin-
quent contests portions of the delinquency peti-
tion, the juvenile court must hold a fact-finding
hearing (within 30 days of the plea hearing or
within 20 days if the juvenile is in secure custo-
dy). The fact-finding hearing is to the court (that



is, the juvenile does not have a right to a jury
hearing). At the hearing, the prosecutor must
prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the juvenile
committed the offense(s) specified in the petition.
At the conclusion of the hearing, the juvenile
court makes findings of fact and conclusions of
law relating to the petition. If the court finds that
the juvenile is not within the jurisdiction of the
court or finds that the facts alleged in the petition
are not proved, the court must dismiss the peti-
tion with prejudice (that is, the petition may not
be brought again).

If the court determines that the juvenile com-
mitted the offense(s) specified in the delinquency
petition or the juvenile does not contest the peti-
tion, the juvenile is adjudicated delinquent.

Being adjudicated delinquent is not the same
as being convicted of a crime. Most of the civil
disabilities which may be imposed on an adult
convicted of a crime may not be imposed on a
juvenile found delinquent. For example, a person
who was adjudicated delinquent may not be pro-
hibited from holding public office because of the
past delinquency determination once he or she
reaches the age of majority. However, juveniles
who are adjudicated delinquent for an act that
would have been a felony if committed by an
adult are prohibited from possessing a firearm,
unless a court subsequently determines that the
person is not likely to act in a manner dangerous
to public safety. Further, if the juvenile is adjudi-
cated delinquent for sexual assault or certain
crimes against children (and at the court's discre-
tion for certain other offenses), the juvenile may
be required to comply with the reporting re-
quirements of the sex offender registration pro-
gram, unless the court determines, under certain
circumstances and after a hearing on a motion
made by the juvenile, that the juvenile is not re-
quired to comply. If the court orders a juvenile to
comply with the reporting requirements, the court
may order the juvenile to continue to comply
with the requirements until his or her death.

Dispositional Hearing. Once a juvenile is ad-
judicated delinquent, the juvenile court must hold
a dispositional hearing within 30 days of the fact-
finding hearing or within 10 days if the juvenile
is in secure detention. Victims also have the right
to make a statement or provide a written state-
ment to the court prior to the imposition of a dis-
position. At the dispositional hearing, on the re-
quest of any party, unless cause to the contrary is
shown, the court may admit testimony on the
record by telephone or live audiovisual means. At
the conclusion of the hearing, the court must
make a dispositional order.

Dispositional Orders

The court must issue a written dispositional
order detailing the placement and treating of the
juvenile based on evidence submitted to the
court. In addition to the order, the court must
make written findings of fact and conclusions of
law based on evidence presented to the court, in-
cluding findings as the juvenile's condition and
need for special treatment or care if an examina-
tion or assessment was conducted.

The dispositional order must be in writing and
contain: (a) the specific services or continuum of
services to be provided to the juvenile and fami-
ly; (b) if custody is to be transferred to effect the
treatment plan, the identity of the legal custodian;
(c) notice that the juvenile's parent, guardian, or
legal guardian may request the service agency
make available any record or information about
the juvenile; (d) the date of the expiration of the
order; and (e) a statement of the conditions with
which the juvenile is required to comply. If the
juvenile is placed outside the home, the order
must provide: (a) the name of the place or facili-
ty, including transitional placements, where the
juvenile will be cared for or treated (certain ex-
ceptions may apply if the placement is a foster
home or treatment foster home); (b) a designation
of the amount of support, if any, to be paid by the
juvenile's parent, guardian or trustee; (c) an order
for the juvenile's parent, if they have not already,



to provide a statement of income, assets, debts,
and living expenses of the juvenile and parent to
the county department by a specified date (the
county department must use the information to
determine whether the department may claim
federal foster care and adoption assistance reim-
bursement for the costs of the juvenile's care); (d)
a permanency plan if one has been prepared; (e) a
finding that continued placement of the juvenile
in his or her home would be contrary to the wel-
fare of the juvenile or, under certain conditions a
finding that the juvenile's current residence will
not safeguard the welfare of the juvenile or the
community due to the serious nature of the act for
which the juvenile was adjudicated delinquent;
(F) if placed under the supervision of the county
department, assigning the county department
primary responsibility for providing services to
the juvenile; (g) if placed in a placement recom-
mended by a court-designated agency, a state-
ment that the court approves the recommended
placement; (h) if placed in a placement other than
that recommended by the court-designated agen-
cy, a statement that the court has given bona fide
consideration to the recommendations of the
agency and all parties; (i) if aggravated circum-
stances or sexual abuse were involved in the ju-
venile's home, a determination that the responsi-
ble agency or department is not required to make
reasonable efforts to make it possible for the ju-
venile to return safely to the home; or (j) if the
juvenile is an Indian juvenile in need of protec-
tion or services, a finding supported by clear and
convincing evidence that continued custody of
the Indian juvenile is likely to result in serious
emotional or physical damage.

In deciding the disposition, the court must
consider the seriousness of the act for which the
juvenile is adjudicated delinquent and may con-
sider any other delinquent act that is read into the
record and dismissed at the time of the adjudica-
tion. Dispositions may include counseling, super-
vision, teen court program, intensive supervision,
placement electronic monitoring, transfer of legal
custody, or restitution. (Appendix IV includes a

complete list of dispositional alternatives availa-
ble to the juvenile court.)

Generally, a dispositional order made before
the juvenile reaches 18 years of age, that places
or continues the placement of the juvenile in his
or her home, must terminate one year after the
order is entered unless the court specifies a short-
er period of time or the court terminates the order
sooner. An order made before the juvenile reach-
es 18 years of age that places or continues the
placement of the juvenile in a foster home, treat-
ment foster home, group home, or residential care
center for children and youth or in the home of a
relative other than a parent terminates when any
of the following occur: (a) the juvenile reaches
18 years of age; (b) one year after entry of the
dispositional order; or (c) if the juvenile is a full-
time student at a secondary school or its voca-
tional or technical equivalent and is reasonably
expected to complete the program before reach-
ing 19 years of age, when the juvenile reaches 19
years of age, whichever is later (unless the court
specifies a shorter period of time or the court
terminates the order sooner).

An order involving placement of the juvenile
in a Type 2 residential care center for children
and youth or in a juvenile correctional facility,
made before the juvenile reaches 18 years of age,
may apply for up to two years after the order's
entry or until the juvenile's 18" birthday, which-
ever is earlier, unless the court specifies a shorter
period of time or the court terminates the order
sooner. If the order does not specify a termination
date, it shall apply for one year after the date on
which the order is granted or until the juvenile's
18™ birthday, whichever is earlier, unless the
court terminates the order sooner.

A serious juvenile offender disposition order,
made before the juvenile reaches 18 years of age,
applies for five years after its entry if the adjudi-
cated act was equivalent to a Class B or C felony
offense if committed by an adult, or until the ju-
venile reaches 25 years of age, if the juvenile is



adjudicated delinquent for committing an act that
would be punishable as a Class A felony offense
if committed by an adult.

Out of Home Placements

Ten major types of out-of-home placements
are available as dispositions. Listed in order from
least restrictive to most restrictive, the out-of-
home placement options available to the court
are: (a) the home of a relative; (b) a non-
relative's home not licensed for foster care for
less than 30 days; (c) a licensed foster home; (d)
a licensed treatment foster home; (e) a licensed
group home providing residential care for five to
eight juveniles; (f) a licensed residential treat-
ment center; (g) an independent living situation,
on or after the juvenile's 17" birthday, under su-
pervision the court considers appropriate, if the
juvenile is of sufficient maturity and judgment to
live independently and upon proof of a reasona-
ble plan for supervision by an appropriate person
or agency; (h) a juvenile detention facility or ju-
venile portion of a county jail for no more than
365 days, provided a county board resolution has
been passed authorizing use of the facility for
dispositional purposes; (i) a Type 2 residential
care center for children and youth under the su-
pervision of the county department; or (j) a Type
1 juvenile correctional facility or a secured resi-
dential care center for children and youth.

Extensions of and Revisions to Dispositional
Orders

A parent or guardian, the juvenile, any agency
bound by the order, the district attorney, corpora-
tion counsel or the court may request an exten-
sion of the original dispositional order, except
that dispositional orders that placed a juvenile in
detention, nonsecure custody or inpatient treat-
ment may not be extended. The court must hold a
hearing on the extension request at which the
person or agency providing services to the juve-
nile provides a written report of the juvenile's
progress. Based on the evidence, the court may
extend a dispositional order for a specified length
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of time.

With certain exceptions, an order that contin-
ues the placement of a juvenile in his or her
home, or that extends an order relating to a Type
2 residential care center for children and youth, a
juvenile correctional facility, the serious juvenile
offender program or aftercare supervision must
be for a specified length of time not to exceed
one year after its date of entry. An order that con-
tinues the placement of a juvenile in a foster
home, treatment foster home, group home, or res-
idential care center for children and youth or in
the home of a relative other than a parent shall be
for a specified length of time not to exceed the
date on which the juvenile reaches 18 years of
age, one year after the date of entry of the order,
or, if the juvenile is a full-time student at a sec-
ondary school or its vocational or technical
equivalent and is reasonably expected to com-
plete the program before reaching 19 years of
age, the date on which the juvenile reaches 19
years of age, whichever is later. No extension of
an original dispositional order relating to a Type
2 residential care center for children and youth, a
juvenile correctional facility, the serious juvenile
offender program or aftercare supervision may be
granted for a juvenile who is 17 years of age or
older when the original dispositional order termi-
nates.

A parent or guardian, the juvenile, any agency
bound by the order, the district attorney, corpora-
tion counsel or the court may also request a revi-
sion of a dispositional order that does not involve
a change in the juvenile's placement. A hearing
regarding the requested revision is required un-
less all parties sign written waivers supporting
the revision and the court approves the waivers.

A change in placement may be requested by
the agency primarily responsible for implement-
ing the order or the district attorney. A request
for a change in placement requires that written
notice be sent to the juvenile or the juvenile's le-



gal counsel or guardian ad litem, and the parent,
foster parent, treatment foster parent or other
physical custodian, guardian and other legal cus-
todian. The notice must describe the new place-
ment and the reasons for the change. Any person
receiving the notice may obtain a hearing on the
matter by filing an objection with the court with-
in 10 days of receiving the notice.

The juvenile, the parent, guardian or legal
custodian of the juvenile, or any person or agency
primarily bound by the dispositional order may
also request a change in placement. In addition,
the court may propose a change in placement on
its own motion. Such requests require a hearing
on the matter if the request states that new infor-
mation is available which affects the advisability
of the current placement, unless the requested or
proposed change in placement involves any
change in placement other than a change in
placement of a juvenile placed in the home to a
placement outside the home and written waivers
of objection to the proposed change in placement
are signed by all parties entitled to receive notice
and the court approves. If a hearing is scheduled,
the court must notify the juvenile, the parent,
guardian and legal custodian of the juvenile, any
foster parent, treatment foster parent or other
physical custodian of the juvenile and all parties
who are bound by the dispositional order at least
three days prior to the hearing. If all the parties
consent, the court may proceed immediately with
the hearing.

No change in placement may extend the expi-
ration date of the original order, except that if the
change in placement is from a placement in the
juvenile's home to a placement in a foster home,
treatment foster home, group home, or residential
care center for children and youth or in the home
of a relative who is not a parent, the court may
extend the expiration date of the original order.
The extension may be to the date on which the
juvenile reaches 18 years of age, the date one
year after the date of the change in placement or-

der, or, if the juvenile is a full-time student at a
secondary school or its vocational or technical
equivalent and is reasonably expected to com-
plete the program before reaching 19 years of
age, to the date on which the juvenile reaches 19
years of age, whichever is later, or for a shorter
period of time as specified by the court.

If the change in placement is from a place-
ment in a foster home, treatment foster home,
group home, or residential care center for chil-
dren and youth or in the home of a relative to a
placement in the juvenile's home and if the expi-
ration date of the original order is more than one
year after the date of the change in placement or-
der, the court is required to shorten the expiration
date of the original order to the date that is one
year after the date of the change in placement or-
der or to an earlier date as specified by the court.

Juvenile Records

Juvenile court proceedings are typically not
open to the general public; however, victims and
any other person the court finds to have a proper
interest in the case are specifically authorized to
attend any hearing, including a state licensed at-
torney or a person engaged in bona fide research,
monitoring, or evaluation. In addition, police and
court records relating to juveniles are generally
not open for inspection nor may their contents be
disclosed except to certain requesters for limited
purposes. For example, victim and witness coor-
dinators may request and review police and court
records and make that information available only
as necessary to ensure that victims and witnesses
of crimes receive the rights and services to which
they are entitled by law. In addition, police rec-
ords may be inspected by representatives of the
news media who wish to obtain information for
the purpose of reporting news without revealing
the identity of the juvenile involved. Confidential
exchange of information between the police and
school officials or other law enforcement or so-
cial welfare agencies is also permitted under cer-

11



tain conditions.

Further, 2013 Act 252 provided that, upon
request of an entity engaged in bona fide re-
search, monitoring, or evaluation, as determined
by the Supreme Court's Director of State Courts,
to review court records for the purpose of that
research, monitoring, or evaluation, the court
must open those records for inspection and copy-
ing by authorized representatives of that entity.
The representatives must keep the records confi-
dential and may use and further disclose those
records only for the purpose for which the rec-
ords were requested.

There are major exceptions to the confidenti-
ality of juvenile court hearings and records for
certain juvenile offenders. The court is required
to allow the general public to attend hearings and
to open for inspection by any requester the rec-
ords of a juvenile who: (a) has been alleged to be
delinquent for committing a violation that would
subject the juvenile to a Serious Juvenile Offend-
er disposition; or (b) has been alleged to be de-
linquent for committing any felony offense, if the
juvenile has been adjudicated delinquent at any
time prior to the current proceeding and that pre-
vious adjudication remains unreversed. The re-
quester receiving information under these provi-
sions may further disclose the information to an-
yone. However, in neither of these cases is the
court allowed to open hearings or allow the in-
spection of any records relating to physical, psy-
chological, mental or developmental examina-
tions of the juvenile, court reports relating to ser-
vice planning for the juvenile or other records
that deal with sensitive personal information of
the juvenile and the juvenile's family. In addition,
local law enforcement may provide information
from the sex offender registry concerning a juve-
nile registrant or a juvenile proceeding in which
the registrant was involved. The information may
be released to an organization, an individual, or
the general public if the police chief or sheriff
determines that doing so is necessary to protect
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the public.

Figure 4 provides an overview of the juvenile
adjudication process from intake to disposition.

Original Adult Court Jurisdiction and
Waiver to Adult Court

Current law provides for original adult court
jurisdiction over certain juveniles, as well as dis-
cretionary waiver of other juveniles to adult court
jurisdiction. Beginning July 1, 1996, a "juvenile,”
as applied here, pertains to those under the age of
17 years.

Original Jurisdiction of Adult Court

Adult criminal courts have original jurisdiction
over juveniles under the following conditions:

a. If a juvenile is alleged to have attempted
or committed first-degree intentional homicide or
to have committed first-degree reckless homicide
or second-degree intentional homicide on or after
the juvenile's 10th birthday;

b. If a juvenile has been adjudicated delin-
quent and is alleged to have committed battery or
assault while placed in a juvenile correctional fa-
cility, a juvenile detention facility, a secured resi-
dential care center for children and youth or a se-
cured group home or against an aftercare agent or
a probation, extended supervision and parole
agent.

c. If a juvenile is alleged to have violated
any state criminal law and has either been convict-
ed of a previous violation in adult court (following
waiver to adult court or under the original jurisdic-
tion of the adult court) or has criminal proceedings
pending in adult court (referred to as "once
waived/always waived").



Figure 4: Adjudication Process Following Referral to Intake Worker
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In addition, a juvenile specified in a. or b., who
is alleged to have attempted or committed a viola-
tion of any state criminal law in addition to the
violation alleged under a. or b., is under the adult
court's jurisdiction for all of the alleged violations
if the violations can be charged in the same com-
plaint ("joined").

If a preliminary examination (applicable to fel-
ony charges only) is held regarding a juvenile who
IS subject to the original jurisdiction of the adult
court, the court is required to determine whether
there is probable cause to believe that the juvenile
has committed the violation of which he or she is
accused. If the court does not make that finding,
the court is required to discharge the juvenile from
adult court; however, juvenile proceedings may
still be brought.

If the adult court finds probable cause, it is re-
quired to determine whether to retain jurisdiction
or to transfer jurisdiction to the juvenile court (re-
ferred to as "reverse waiver”). The adult court
must retain jurisdiction unless the juvenile proves
by a preponderance of the evidence all of the fol-
lowing:

a. That, if convicted, the juvenile could not
receive adequate treatment in the criminal justice
system;

b. That transferring jurisdiction to the juve-
nile court would not depreciate the seriousness of
the offense; and

c. That retaining jurisdiction is not necessary
to deter the juvenile or other juveniles from com-
mitting such violations.

In adult court, the juvenile is subject to crimi-
nal court procedures and criminal penalties, except
that the adult court may impose a disposition un-
der the juvenile justice code under certain condi-
tions. The adult court must impose a juvenile dis-
position, in lieu of a criminal penalty, if either of
the following conditions apply:
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a. The adult court finds that the juvenile
committed a lesser offense or a joined offense that
is not any of the following: (1) an attempt to
commit first-degree intentional homicide on or
after the juvenile's 10" birthday; (2) first-degree
reckless homicide or second-degree intentional
homicide on or after the juvenile's 10™ birthday;
(3) battery or assault while placed in a juvenile
correctional facility, a juvenile detention facility or
a secured care center for children and youth or
against an aftercare agent or a probation, extended
supervision and parole agent; or (4) an offense for
which the juvenile court may waive its jurisdiction
over the juvenile; or

b. The adult court finds that the juvenile
committed a lesser offense that is an offense speci-
fied in (1), (2), (3) or (4) above and the court de-
termines, based on certain criteria, that the juve-
nile has proved by clear and convincing evidence
that it would be in the best interests of the juvenile
and of the public to impose a juvenile disposition
under the juvenile justice code. The criteria used
by the adult court in making this determination are
identical to those used by the juvenile court in de-
termining whether a juvenile should be waived to
adult court. These criteria are described in the next
section.

It should be noted that, under prior law, 15-
and 16-year olds alleged to have committed cer-
tain crimes were not eligible for reverse waiver.
These crimes included first-degree intentional
homicide, attempted first-degree intentional homi-
cide, first-degree reckless homicide, or second-
degree intentional homicide. Under 2005 Act 344,
this exclusion from reverse waiver was deleted.

A separate statutory provision governs juve-
niles alleged to have attempted or committed first-
degree intentional homicide or to have committed
first-degree reckless homicide or second-degree
intentional homicide on or after the juvenile's 15"
birthday (including any additional crimes joined in
the complaint). In these cases, if the juvenile is
found to have committed a lesser offense that is



not one of these offenses, the court must impose a
juvenile disposition, in lieu of a criminal penalty,
if the court determines, after considering the crite-
ria for waiver to adult court, that the juvenile has
proved by clear and convincing evidence that it
would be in the best interests of the juvenile and
of the public to impose a juvenile disposition.

Waiver To Adult Court

A district attorney or a juvenile may apply to
the juvenile court to waive its jurisdiction in any
of the following situations:

a. If the juvenile is alleged to have commit-
ted felony murder, second-degree reckless homi-
cide, first- or second-degree sexual assault, taking
hostages, kidnapping, armed robbery, armed bur-
glary, robbery of a financial institution, or the
manufacture, distribution or delivery of a con-
trolled substance on or after the juvenile's 14"
birthday;

b. If the juvenile is alleged to have commit-
ted, on or after the juvenile's 14™ birthday, a viola-
tion at the request of or for the benefit of a crimi-
nal gang, that would constitute a felony if commit-
ted by an adult; or

c. If the juvenile is alleged to have violated
any state criminal law on or after the juvenile's
15" birthday.

The judge may also initiate a petition for waiv-
er in any of these situations, if the judge disquali-
fies himself or herself from any future proceedings
on the case.

The juvenile must be represented by counsel at
the waiver hearing and the counsel must be pro-
vided access to the social records and other reports
pertaining to the case. The juvenile has the right to
present testimony on his or her own behalf, in-
cluding expert testimony, and has the right to
cross-examine witnesses at the hearing. The juve-
nile does not have the right to a jury at a waiver

hearing.

If a petition for waiver of jurisdiction is con-
tested, the court must hear testimony and consider
other relevant evidence. If uncontested, no testi-
mony need be taken if the court determines that
the decision not to contest the waiver of jurisdic-
tion is knowingly, intelligently and voluntarily
made. The court must base its decision whether to
waive jurisdiction on criteria relating to: (a) the
personality, including whether the juvenile has a
mental illness or developmental disability, and
prior record of the juvenile; (b) the type and seri-
ousness of the offense; (c) the adequacy and suita-
bility of facilities, services and procedures availa-
ble for treatment of the juvenile and the protection
of the public in the juvenile justice system; and (d)
the desirability of trial and disposition of the entire
offense in one court if the juvenile was allegedly
associated in the offense with persons who will be
charged with a crime in adult court.

After considering these criteria, the court must
state its finding with respect to the criteria on the
record. If the court determines that it is established
by clear and convincing evidence that it would be
contrary to the best interests of the juvenile or of
the public to hear the case, the court must enter an
order waiving jurisdiction and referring the matter
to the district attorney for appropriate proceedings
in criminal court. If the waiver is granted, the dis-
trict attorney may charge the offense he or she
deems appropriate and a court or jury may convict
the juvenile in regard to any offense. If the waived
juvenile is being held in secure custody, he or she
is transferred to an appropriate officer or adult fa-
cility and is eligible for bail.

In a preliminary examination in adult court for
a waived juvenile, for a violation alleged to have
occurred prior to his or her 15" birthday, the court
may bind the juvenile over for trial only if there is
probable cause to believe that felony murder, sec-
ond-degree reckless homicide, first- or second-
degree sexual assault, taking hostages, kidnap-
ping, armed robbery, armed burglary, robbery of a
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financial institution, or the manufacture, distribu-
tion or delivery of a controlled substance has been
committed or that a crime that would constitute a
felony if committed by an adult has been commit-
ted at the request of or for the benefit of a criminal
gang. If the court does not make that finding, the
court is required to discharge the juvenile from
adult court; however, juvenile proceedings may
still be brought.

Correctional Placement for Juveniles Sen-
tenced in Adult Court

If a juvenile who has not attained the age of 16
years is sentenced to a state prison, the Depart-
ment of Corrections (DOC) must place the juve-
nile at a secured juvenile correctional facility or a
secured residential care center for children and
youth. While there are some inconsistencies in
current law regarding the age at which a juvenile
who has been convicted in adult court may be
transferred to an adult prison, it appears that for a
juvenile who has not attained the age of 16 years,
DOC may determine that a prison placement is
appropriate based on: (a) the juvenile's prior rec-
ord of adjustment in a correctional setting, if any;
(b) the juvenile's present and potential vocational
and educational needs, interests and abilities; (c)
the adequacy and suitability of available facilities;
(d) the services and procedures available for
treatment of the juvenile within the various institu-
tions; (e) the protection of the public; and (f) any
other considerations promulgated by the Depart-
ment by rule. Current law does not preclude DOC
from designating an adult correctional institution
as a reception center for the juvenile and subse-
quently transferring the juvenile to a secured juve-
nile correctional facility or a secured residential
care center for children and youth.

Figure 5 provides an outline of juvenile and

adult criminal court jurisdiction for juveniles ag-
es 10 or older.
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Juvenile Detention

State Law

Under current law, a county board, or two
county boards jointly, may establish a juvenile
detention facility for holding juveniles in secure
custody. Secure detention may be used if the ju-
venile: (a) meets current law criteria for placing a
juvenile in secure detention prior to disposition
or trial, including a juvenile less than 15 years of
age who is being held for criminal proceedings
under original adult court jurisdiction; (b) is sub-
ject to a disposition that includes placement in
secure detention; (c) is subject to short-term de-
tention by a caseworker or other authorized per-
son for an investigation relating to a violation of
a condition of a dispositional order, including
conditions relating to aftercare supervision or
placement in an intensive supervision program;
and (d) is subject to a secure detention sanction
for a violation of a condition of a dispositional
order, including conditions relating to aftercare
supervision or placement in an intensive supervi-
sion program.

Corrections has the statutory authority to es-
tablish standards and regulations for juvenile fa-
cilities to ensure compliance with both federal
and state law. This authority is administered un-
der Chapter DOC 346 of the Wisconsin Adminis-
trative Code. As of October, 2014, there are 13
county-operated juvenile detention facilities ap-
proved by DOC, with a combined capacity of
526 beds. Counties may expand their existing
secure juvenile detention bed capacity, under
provisions in DOC 346, through the use of dou-
ble-celling. Several counties have increased ca-
pacity in this manner.



Figure 5: Court of Jurisdiction
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There are also several alternatives to the juve-
nile detention facilities operated by Wisconsin
counties. First, a county board of supervisors may
contract with DOC for the use of a state juvenile
correctional facility for the secure detention of
juveniles who meet certain criteria. A county
may use a juvenile correctional facility for hold-
ing a juvenile only if any of the following criteria
are met: (a) there is no county-operated juvenile
detention facility within 40 miles of the county
seat; or (b) there is no bed space available in a
county-operated juvenile detention facility within
40 miles of the county seat. The county may use
a juvenile correctional facility for holding a juve-
nile only if DOC approves that use based on the
availability of beds in the juvenile correctional
facility and on the programming needs of the ju-
venile.

A county/DOC contract must specify: (a) the
per person daily rate to be paid by the county for
holding a juvenile; (b) the charges to be paid by
the county for any extraordinary medical and
dental expenses and any programming provided
for the juvenile by DOC; and (c) any other mat-
ters that are necessary and appropriate concern-
ing the obligations, responsibilities and rights of
the contracting county and DOC. A juvenile held
in custody under a county/DOC contract is under
the supervision and control of DOC and is sub-
ject to the rules and discipline of the Department.

Second, one or more county boards of super-
visors may contract with a privately operated ju-
venile detention facility for the secure detention
of juveniles. A county board of supervisors may
delegate the authority to contract with a private
entity to its county department providing juvenile
welfare services. A juvenile detention contract
with a private entity requires the following: (a)
that the facility meet or exceed the minimum re-
quirements for the approval and operation of a
juvenile detention facility established by DOC;
(b) that the facility be approved by DOC; (c) that
the facility provides educational programming,
health care and other care that is equivalent to
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that which a juvenile would receive in a public
juvenile detention facility; (d) the specification of
the rates to be paid by the county for holding a
juvenile in the facility and charges for any ex-
traordinary medical and dental expenses and for
any programming provided to a juvenile; (e) an
agreement that the county retains jurisdiction
over a juvenile held at the facility; (f) an agree-
ment that the facility is subject to inspection by
DOC; and (g) a specification of any other matters
that are necessary and appropriate concerning
obligations, responsibilities and rights of the con-
tracting counties and DOC. The statutory re-
quirements and DOC rules for public juvenile
detention facilities would also apply to private
facilities. Currently, no private entities operate
juvenile detention facilities in Wisconsin.

Finally, a county board of supervisors may
contract with one or more counties in Minnesota
that operate a juvenile detention facility for hold-
ing juveniles. The same requirements for con-
tracting with a privately-operated juvenile deten-
tion facility apply to contracting with a Minneso-
ta county. Currently, there are no contracts of this
type approved by DOC.

Federal Requirements

Federal law places strict limitations on hold-
ing juveniles in secure custody in certain types of
facilities. The federal Juvenile Justice and Delin-
quency Prevention Act (JJDPA) authorizes the
federal Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquen-
cy Prevention (OJJDP) to provide formula grants
to states for juvenile justice and delinquency pre-
vention programs.

In order to receive a formula grant, a state is
required to submit a plan for carrying out the re-
quirements of the JIDPA, which include: (a)
providing that no status offenders are placed in
juvenile detention or juvenile correctional facili-
ties, except for violations of valid court orders;
(b) providing that no alleged or adjudicated de-
linquents are detained or confined in any institu-



tion in which they have contact with incarcerated
adults; (c) reducing the overrepresentation in ju-
venile detention and correctional facilities of ju-
veniles who are members of minority groups; and
(d) providing that no juveniles are detained or
confined in any adult jail or lockup. However,
juveniles alleged to have committed a delinquent
offense may be held in an approved juvenile por-
tion of an adult jail or lockup for up to 24 hours
outside a standard metropolitan statistical area
(urban area). In addition, in standard metropoli-
tan statistical areas, a juvenile may be held in an
approved juvenile portion of an adult jail or lock-
up for up to six hours (an administrative hold).
Juveniles detained for longer periods must be
held in secure juvenile detention facilities. The
JIDPA requirements do not apply to juveniles
who have been waived into adult court for felony
offenses.

In the 2014 federal fiscal year, Wisconsin re-
ceived $639,300 FED in JIDPA grant funding.
Additionally, the state provided 10% match fund-
ing totaling $63,900 GPR. Wisconsin's Depart-
ment of Justice administers the grant and reports
to OJIDP on the status of the state's compliance
with the JJDPA requirements. The Department of
Justice has indicated it will utilize $267,400 of
the JJDPA grant award to provide grants to local
governments and tribes for juvenile justice sys-
tem improvement and detention reform initia-
tives. Additionally, Justice will award one grant
on a competitive basis, totaling $3,300, to a tribe
for juvenile justice system improvement and de-
tention reform initiatives. The remaining JJDPA
grant funds will be utilized to support: (a) plan-
ning and administration for traveling to national
and regional OJJDP-sponsored conferences, at-
tending local meetings and conferences, and
monitoring contracts and grants with local pro-
viders throughout the state; (b) the Governor's
Juvenile Justice Commission; (c) monitoring the
state's compliance with JJDPA; and (d) dispro-
portionate minority compliance initiatives.

Wisconsin's Juvenile
Correctional Facilities

The Division of Juvenile Corrections (DJC) in
DOC is authorized to operate juvenile correction-
al facilities. Currently there is one facility for
males and one facility for females for juveniles
adjudicated delinquent.

Both the male and female juvenile facilities
are located near the town of Irma in north-central
Wisconsin  (Lincoln County), Lincoln Hills
School for juvenile males; and Copper Lake
School for juvenile females. In addition, the
Grow Academy, a residential program with an
agricultural science-based curriculum and treat-
ment program for male juveniles, utilizes a facili-
ty in Oregon (Dane County).

Prior to 2011, in addition to Lincoln Hills
School, the Department operated Ethan Allen
School located near the Village of Wales in
southeastern Wisconsin. Also, the juvenile school
for females was Southern Oaks Girls School in
Union Grove, Wisconsin. These facilities were
closed in 2011 and the Copper Lake School for
females was opened on the grounds of Lincoln
Hills School.

The Department of Health Services (DHS)
also operates a secured mental health unit for ju-
veniles transferred from other juvenile correc-
tional facilities. The Mendota Juvenile Treatment
Center, located at the Mendota Mental Health
Institute (Dane County), provides treatment to
male juvenile offenders with complex emotional
and behavioral problems. Following treatment,
juveniles either are placed in the community or
are returned to the facility that they initially came
from. Corrections currently utilizes 29 beds at the
Center. In 2014-15, DOC is providing
$4,138,300 [$1,365,500 general purpose revenue
(GPR) and $2,772,800 program revenue (PR)] to
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DHS as reimbursement for the costs of the facili-
ty's operation.

Funding for the state costs of the juvenile jus-
tice system in 2014-15 totals $162.8 million, of
which approximately $88.6 million is provided to
counties for community youth and family aids,
known as "youth aids.” (Youth aids are discussed
in a separate section of this paper.) Of the re-
maining $74.2 million, $30.0 is allocated to the
operation of the state's juvenile correctional facil-
ities.

Table 1 shows the funding and positions allo-
cated to each juvenile facility in 2014-15, the
funding allocated to DHS for mental health
treatment, and the actual average daily population
(ADP) for each facility in fiscal year 2013-14.

Table 1: Secured Juvenile Facilities

2013-14

2014-15 Actual

Facility Funding  Positions ADP
Lincoln Hills School $21,556,900 240.35 221
Copper Lake School 4,317,100 _55.75 _30
Subtotal $25,874,000 296.10 251

Mendota Juvenile

Treatment Center $4,138,300 29

Total $30,012,300 280

The courts have two dispositional options that
result in a juvenile being placed in a juvenile cor-
rectional facility: (a) a direct secured correctional
placement; and (b) the disposition of the juvenile
as a serious juvenile offender.

Juvenile Correctional Placement

A court may place any adjudicated juvenile in
a juvenile correctional facility if the following
conditions are met: (a) the juvenile was found de-
linquent for the commission of an act which, if
committed by an adult, would be punishable by a
sentence of six months or more; and (b) the juve-
nile was found to be a danger to the public and to
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be in need of restrictive custodial treatment.

If the court has determined that a juvenile is
not appropriate for placement in the Serious Juve-
nile Offender Program (SJO), the following condi-
tions are deemed to provide sufficient evidence for
a finding that the juvenile is a danger to the public
and in need of restrictive custodial treatment: (a)
the juvenile has committed any one of various vio-
lent acts that would be a felony if committed by an
adult; (b) the juvenile possessed, used or threat-
ened to use a firearm while committing a delin-
quent act that would be a felony if committed by
an adult; or (c) the juvenile illegally possessed or
went armed with a dangerous weapon.

Serious Juvenile Offender Program

Certain juveniles who have committed offenses
equivalent to certain Class A, Class B, or Class C
felonies are subject to disposition under the SJO
program. This disposition provides an array of
component phases, including both juvenile correc-
tional facility and community placements, through
which the juvenile may pass. The initial placement
is in a juvenile correctional facility. This program
is described in greater detail in a later section of
this paper.

Institutional Demographic Data

The most recent demographic analysis availa-
ble from DOC is for juveniles who were placed at
juvenile correctional facilities in 2013. During
2013, juveniles ranged from 13 years of age to
over 17 years of age, with the average age of ju-
veniles admitted to the institutions was 16.16
years for males and 15.94 years for females. The
majority of juveniles committed to the facilities
came from the populous counties of southeastern
and southern Wisconsin, with 54.6% of male ju-
venile offenders and 39.3% of female juvenile of-
fenders coming from Milwaukee County. Minori-
ty juveniles comprised 74.9% of the male institu-
tional population and 71.4% of the female popula-
tion admitted in 2013.



Average Daily Population (ADP) Statistics

In recent years, the number of juveniles
placed at the institutions has been declining.
The average daily population (ADP) for the fa-
cilities was 408 in 2010, 319 in 2011, 301 in
2012, 274 in 2013, and 300 in October, 2014.
The average daily population data for calendar
years 2003 through 2014 are provided in Ap-
pendix V of this paper. This data is also depict-
ed in Figure 6 for the last 12 years. Historically,
the average daily populations at the institutions
rose steadily from 1991 through 1996. Between
1996 and 1997, populations declined by 7.3%,
but increased again in 1998, by 5.8%. From
2003 to 2014 (estimated), the ADP has declined
by approximately 59%. As of October, 2014, 301
juveniles (261 males and 40 females) resided at
Lincoln Hills and Copper Lake Schools.

Figure 7 shows the average length of stay for
delinquents placed at the secured juvenile correc-
tional facilities for calendar years 2006 through
2013. Data from years prior to 2006 is not shown
in Figure 7 since information prior to that is not
directly comparable as a result of: (a) differing
calculation methodologies (for example, whether
or not additional periods of placement after initial
release were included or not); and (b) data
changes that occurred as a result of transferring
information between an older database to a newer
database.

Figure 7
Average Length of Stay (Juvenile Correctional
Facilities)
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Generally, changes in the average length of
stay over time are affected by a variety of factors,
including: (a) the number, types and effective-
ness of treatment and rehabilitation programs; (b)
the degree to which institutional population ex-
ceeds or under-utilizes the capacity of available
facilities; (c) the nature of the delinquent acts
committed by juveniles and the dispositions that
result; and (d) the capacity of aftercare services
available at any given time.

Reception and Programming at the Institutions

Lincoln Hills School operates a reception cot-
tage where juvenile males are placed for approxi-
mately 21 days for assessment upon their arrival at

the institution. (There is also has an abbreviat-

Figure 6
Juvenile Correctional Facilities (Average Daily
Population)
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ed reception period for certain juveniles re-
ceiving alcohol and other drug abuse treat-
ment.) Similarly, there is a three-bed, recep-
tion and assessment unit at Copper Lake
School for females where staff assess each
girl's needs and develop individual treatment
plans. Thereafter, juveniles are placed in one
of the cottages or units most suited to their
treatment needs. Some cottages specialize in a
treatment area such as alcohol and other drug
abuse, mental health, cognitive intervention,
or sex offender treatment. Each of the juvenile
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correctional facilities also operates a security unit
where juveniles are placed temporarily as a conse-
quence of serious disciplinary violations or other
behavioral problems.

Educational Programming

Juvenile correctional facilities statutorily
serve juveniles ranging in age from 10 to 21
years. The Department indicates that there are a
total of 29 academic, special education, and voca-
tional teachers and two supervisory staff at Lin-
coln Hills School and Copper Lake School. Addi-
tional services are provided by a school counselor
and school psychologist.

Students can earn middle school and high
school credits while placed at the juvenile correc-
tional facilities. The credits can apply toward
promotion from middle school to high school, as
well as graduation from high school. In the 2012-
13 school year, 402 students earned credits to-
ward high school graduation. A total of 10 stu-
dents earned their high school diplomas, and 82
earned their high school equivalency diplomas
(HSEDs).

Educational staff conduct in-depth education-
al evaluations of students that include diagnostic
assessment in reading and mathematics. Evalua-
tion of academic gains is approached through the
implementation of formal testing administered at
intake and at exit. Periodic testing is completed
quarterly to assess a juvenile's appropriateness
for HSED programming. Results are reported to
the student's parents/guardian every 90 days.
Some general results in 2012-13 for the two
schools are as follows:

Copper Lakes School. In reading, 90% of stu-
dents maintained or improved grade levels and
78% maintained or improved their math scores.

Lincoln Hills School. In reading, 90% of stu-

dents maintained or improved grade levels and
88% maintained or improved their math scores.
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Career and technical education programming
is also provided at the schools, including Life-
Work Education and career development pro-
gramming. In addition, the schools offer special
education programming in accordance with the
federal Individuals with Disabilities Education
Act (IDEA) and state special education law. The
Department reports that a high proportion of stu-
dents enter the juvenile justice system with a his-
tory of special education needs, such as cognitive
disabilities, learning disabilities, emotional be-
havioral disabilities, speech and language disabil-
ities, and visual or hearing impairments. During
2012-13, approximately 42% of the students at
secured juvenile correctional facilities participat-
ed in special education programming compared
to a statewide participation level of 14%.

Planning and Release Decisions

Once a delinquent is placed at one of the juve-
nile correctional institutions, the Office of Juvenile
Offender Review (OJOR) in DJC is authorized to
make all placement decisions with respect to the
delinquent, including release from secure custody.
Consistent with Chapter 938, OJOR decisions are
made with the goal of placing juveniles in the least
restrictive setting consistent with their needs and
the protection of the public.

A Joint Planning and Review Committee
(JPRC) makes planning and placement recom-
mendations with respect to each delinquent. The
JPRC consists of a representative of the juvenile
correctional facility, a representative of the county
that committed the juvenile or an aftercare agent,
or both, and an OJOR representative. The JPRC
reviews the assessment of the juvenile conducted
in the reception cottage at the institution as well as
court records and other information obtained from
the county committing the juvenile. The JPRC
then recommends program objectives and makes a
placement recommendation for the juvenile. The
JPRC may recommend placement in a particular
cottage or placement outside the institution in an
alternate care facility such as a residential care



center, a group home or a foster home or in the
juvenile's own home. If the JPRC does not reach a
consensus, final decision-making authority with
respect to the juvenile's placement is delegated to
OJOR. The OJOR decisions may be appealed to
the DJC division administrator. A juvenile who
remains at the juvenile correctional facility gener-
ally is reviewed by OJOR every 90 days to: (a)
assess the juvenile's progress towards fulfilling
treatment goals and release from the institution;
and (b) recommend placement or program chang-
es, if necessary.

Aftercare Supervision

Dispositional orders cover the entire time a ju-
venile is under supervision, including the time
spent in a juvenile correctional facility and a peri-
od of time following the juvenile's return to the
community. Juveniles adjudicated delinquent are
generally released from the correctional facility
with time remaining on their dispositional orders
so that they may be placed on "aftercare supervi-
sion."

Following release from a juvenile correctional
facility, a juvenile is usually returned to his or her
family or to an alternate care facility such as a res-
idential care center for children and youth, group
home or foster home. Aftercare supervision is
provided to monitor juveniles following their re-
lease from secure care to ensure school attend-
ance, participation in treatment programs and
compliance with other conditions of the juvenile's
release. Counties may provide their own aftercare
supervision or purchase these services from the
state. Currently, the state is the designated after-
care provider for 20 counties. The average daily
population in state-provided aftercare was 63 ju-
veniles in 2013-14.

An aftercare plan for a juvenile placed in a ju-
venile correctional facility or a secured residential
care center for children and youth must be pre-
pared, within certain time limits, by the aftercare
provider (DOC or the county). An aftercare plan
must include all of the following: (a) the minimum

number of supervisory contacts per week; (b) the
conditions, if any, under which the juvenile's af-
tercare status may be revoked; (c) the services or
programming to be provided to the juvenile while
on aftercare; and (d) the estimated length of time
that aftercare supervision and services will be pro-
vided to the juvenile. A juvenile may, however, be
released from a juvenile correctional facility or a
secured residential care center for children and
youth whether or not an aftercare plan has been
prepared.

Subject to certain written policies, if a juvenile
who is on aftercare supervision administered by
the county department violates a condition of that
supervision, the juvenile's aftercare caseworker or
any other authorized person may, without a hear-
ing, take the juvenile into custody and place the
juvenile in a juvenile detention facility, the juve-
nile portion of a county jail or in a place of nonse-
cure custody for not more than 72 hours while the
alleged violation and the appropriateness of revok-
ing the juvenile's aftercare status are being investi-
gated. This provision only applies if, before the
violation, the juvenile has acknowledged in writ-
ing that he or she has read (or has had read to him
or her) and understands those conditions.

Type 2 Juvenile Correctional Facility Status

Type 2 juvenile correctional facility status is
available to both DOC, as a condition of aftercare,
and to the juvenile court, as a dispositional option.
When given "Type 2" institutional status by DOC
or the court, a juvenile is allowed to serve all or
part of his or her dispositional period in a less re-
strictive community placement, rather than in a
Type 1 juvenile correctional facility. Legally, the
juvenile in a Type 2 placement continues to be on
institutional status and may be administratively
transferred to different placements, including more
restrictive placements.

A Type 2 administrative transfer does not re-

quire a hearing. This provides the Department
with an alternative to releasing a juvenile to after-
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care with the right to a hearing in the event of fu-
ture changes in placement. Thus, a juvenile with
Type 2 status who violates a condition of his or
her placement in a Type 2 facility may be re-
turned to a juvenile correctional facility without
an administrative revocation hearing.

At the discretion of the court, a juvenile may
be given a disposition that places the juvenile in a
Type 2 residential care center for children and
youth under the supervision of the county and
subject to Type 2 status, if all of the following
apply: (a) the juvenile has been found to be de-
linquent for an act that would be punishable by a
sentence of six months or more, if committed by
an adult; and (b) the juvenile has been found to
be a danger to the public and to be in need of re-
strictive custodial treatment. This disposition
provides the court with an alternative to place-
ment in a juvenile correctional facility for appro-
priate juveniles. It also provides the counties with
the ability to administratively transfer a juvenile
who violates a condition of his or her placement
in the Type 2 residential care center for children
and youth to a juvenile correctional facility,
without a hearing, for not more than 10 days.

Corrections may contract with a child welfare
agency to operate a Type 2 facility in the commu-
nity. As of September, 2014, there are nine li-
censed child welfare agencies authorized to oper-
ate 11 designated Type 2 facilities. The concept of
Type 2 status is also used for other departmental
programs. Juveniles placed by DOC in the Correc-
tive Sanctions Program (described in greater detail
in a later section of this paper) are under Type 2
status when placed in the community, as well as
juveniles placed in the Serious Juvenile Offender
Program.

In September, 2014, there were 29 juveniles
receiving care in Type 2 facilities.
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Serious Juvenile Offender Program

The Serious Juvenile Offender (SJO) program
was created under 1995 Wisconsin Act 27. Under
the program, a juvenile is subject to an SJO
placement for certain acts, as follows: (a) if the
juvenile is 14 years of age or more and has been
adjudicated delinquent for committing a delin-
quent act that is equivalent to certain Class A,
Class B, or Class C felony offenses; or (b) the ju-
venile is 10 years of age or more and has been ad-
judicated delinquent for attempting or committing
first-degree intentional homicide or for commit-
ting first-degree reckless homicide or second-
degree intentional homicide. An SJO disposition
may only be made for these juveniles if the judge
finds that the only other disposition that would be
appropriate is placement in a juvenile correctional
facility.

For a juvenile receiving a disposition as a Seri-
ous Juvenile Offender, the court is required to
make the order apply for a period of five years if
the adjudicated act was a Class B or Class C felo-
ny offense, or until the juvenile reaches 25 years
of age if the adjudicated act was a Class A felony
offense. The disposition includes the concept of
Type 2 status, which allows the Department to
administratively transfer a juvenile through an ar-
ray of component phases, including both juvenile
correctional facility and community placements.

All components of the SJO disposition, de-
scribed below, are state funded; counties have no
financial responsibility for a juvenile placed in the
SJO program. The SJO program is funded under a
separate appropriation (with 2014-15 funding of
$14.5 million) and is authorized to pay the costs
of: (a) the care of juveniles, including aftercare
services, who have been adjudicated as serious
juvenile offenders; and (b) the care of juveniles
waived into adult court and sentenced to state
prison, but placed by DOC at a juvenile correc-
tional facility or a secured residential care center



for children and youth. Counties are required to
pay the costs of all other adjudicated juveniles.
The average daily population for the SJO program
was 206 in 2013-14.

Under the SJO program, a juvenile is subject to
supervision, care and rehabilitation that is more
restrictive than ordinary supervision in the com-
munity. The program provides for component
phases (various sanctions) that are intensive, high-
ly structured and based on both public safety con-
siderations and the participant's needs. The De-
partment of Corrections determines that one or
more component phases are provided to each ju-
venile in the program. The Department is author-
ized to contract with the Department of Health
Services, a county department or any public or
private agency for the purchase of goods, care and
services for SJO participants. The available com-
ponent phases include the following:

» Placement in a juvenile correctional facility
or a secured residential care center for children
and youth for a period of not more than three years
(except that, if the juvenile committed a Class A
felony offense, he or she is subject to a mandatory
minimum period of confinement of not less than
one year and no maximum period of confinement,
within the duration of the order).

* Placement in alternate care, including place-
ment in a foster home, treatment foster home,
group home, residential care center, or secured
care center for children and youth.

* Intensive or other field supervision, includ-
ing corrective sanctions supervision or aftercare
supervision.

» Electronic monitoring.

 Substance abuse outpatient treatment and
services.

» Mental health treatment and services.

« Community service.
* Restitution.

» Transitional services for education and em-
ployment.

* Other programs as prescribed by DOC.

Prior to July 3, 1998, Wisconsin law provided
that an SJO participant, age 17 or older, could be
placed in an adult prison as a component phase of
the SJO program. In addition, DOC had statutory
authority to transfer a juvenile to the Racine
Youthful Offender Correctional Facility, an adult
prison, if the juvenile was 15 years of age or more
and the Office of Juvenile Offender Review de-
termined that the conduct of the juvenile in a juve-
nile correctional facility presented a serious prob-
lem to the juvenile or others.

However, on July 3, 1998, the Wisconsin Su-
preme Court decided that the placement of juve-
niles in an adult prison, based on a juvenile adju-
dication process that does not allow for a jury trial,
was unconstitutional in violation of Article I, s. 7
of the Wisconsin Constitution and the 6™ and 14"
Amendments of the U. S. Constitution (State of
Wisconsin v. Hezzie R.).

The Department may provide the sanctions
listed above in any order, provide more than one
sanction at a time and return to a sanction that was
used previously for a participant. A participant is
not entitled to a hearing on the Department's exer-
cise of authority regarding the selected sanctions
unless a hearing is required by rule. (The commu-
nity placement components under SJO are classi-
fied as Type 2 secured correctional placements.
Such placements allow DOC to provide less re-
strictive placements while keeping the juvenile in
a custodial status that allows for a return to a more
restrictive placement, without a hearing, if the
conditions of the placement are violated by the
juvenile.)
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A juvenile under the SJO program always be-
gins his or her placement in a juvenile correctional
facility. The Office of Juvenile Offender Review
has the authority to release a participant to after-
care supervision at any time after the participant
has completed two years of participation in the
SJO program. Aftercare supervision under SJO is
provided by DOC at state expense. The Depart-
ment may discharge a participant from the pro-
gram and from departmental supervision and con-
trol at any time after the participant has completed
three years of participation in the program.

Other Placement Alternatives
Operated by the State

Two alternative programs for juveniles placed
at juvenile correctional are available under current
law: the juvenile corrective sanctions program and
Grow Academy.

Juvenile Corrective Sanctions Program

Under current law, DOC is required to provide
a corrective sanctions program to serve an average
daily population of 136 juveniles (or more, if addi-
tional funding and positions are provided by the
Joint Committee on Finance or otherwise become
available) in not less than three counties, including
Milwaukee County. The Office of Juvenile Of-
fender Review evaluates and selects juveniles for
the program who have been placed in a juvenile
correctional facility. Under the program, a juvenile
is placed in the community and provided with in-
tensive surveillance. In addition, an average of not
more than $3,000 annually is provided to purchase
community-based treatment services for each cor-
rective sanctions slot. Funding for corrective sanc-
tions in 2014-15 is $4.2 million PR, with 43.3 po-
sitions allocated to the program. Any county may
request corrective sanctions services and, during
2013-14, 16 counties were billed for corrective
sanctions services.
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The intensive surveillance component of the
program must be available 24 hours a day, seven
days a week, and DOC may provide electronic
monitoring of program participants. Corrective
sanctions caseloads are specified by statute. A
contact worker providing services under the pro-
gram has a caseload of approximately 10 juveniles
and, during the initial phase of placement in the
community, the contact worker must have at least
one face-to-face contact per day with the juvenile.
Contact workers may be juvenile corrections pro-
bation and parole agents, juvenile corrections
youth counselors or, in rural areas, contracted in-
dividuals or private agencies serving as a contact
worker.

Case management services are provided by a
juvenile corrections probation and parole agent,
who has a caseload of approximately 15 juveniles.
The Department must also provide a report center
in Milwaukee County to provide on-site pro-
gramming after school and in the evening for ju-
veniles from Milwaukee County who are placed in
the corrective sanctions program.

A participant in the program remains under the
supervision of DOC and in Type 2 status. If a ju-
venile violates a condition of the program, DOC
may, without a hearing, take the juvenile into cus-
tody and place the juvenile in a juvenile detention
facility or return the juvenile to a juvenile correc-
tional facility or a secured residential care center
for children and youth.

Grow Academy

Male juveniles placed in juvenile correctional
facilities may also participate in the Grow Acade-
my, a 120-day agriculture science-based experien-
tial education program held at a facility in Oregon,
Wisconsin. The program offers comprehensive
treatment for youth that consists of: (a) supervi-
sion and support 24 hours, seven days a week; (b)
an agricultural science curriculum; (c) youth en-
gagement in the local food economy through eco-
nomic and community partnerships; and (d) an



evidence-based skill development treatment pro-
gram to help youth identify, control, and change
thinking and beliefs that increase their risk of re-
cidivating. The program begin in June, 2014, with
an average daily population of 10 juveniles to
date. Program capacity is 12 juveniles. Grow
Academy accepts juveniles directly from counties.

Recidivism of Juvenile Offenders

The effectiveness of correctional programs is
often measured by examining recidivism rates.
Although there are many ways to measure recidi-
vism, reduction in the frequency and severity of
offenses committed by juveniles following re-
lease is an important measure of program effec-
tiveness. Previously, the Department defined re-
cidivism as youth who were released from a ju-
venile correctional facility and returned to either
a juvenile correctional facility with a new adjudi-
cation or sentenced to a new adult prison within a
two-year period after release; or youth who were
transferred to an adult prison directly from a ju-
venile correctional facility as a result of a new
sentence within a two-year period after release.

In order to align recidivism measures depart-
mentwide, the Department changed its definition

of juvenile recidivism to be a youth committed to
the Division of Juvenile Corrections, who within
three-years after release in the community com-
mits a new offense resulting in a court disposition
involving the Department. This new definition of
recidivism differs from the prior definition in
four ways: (a) it increases the reviewed time pe-
riod from two years to three years; (b) juveniles
ordered to probation are now included; (c) the
event of recidivism assumes the date of the of-
fense as opposed to the date of commitment; and
(d) it only includes time in the community, so
youth transferred to an adult prison directly from
a juvenile facility as the result of a new sentence
are no longer included. The updated definition
generally results in a higher recidivism rate.

The most recent recidivism data available for
juveniles is from 2009 (this allows for a three-
year follow up through 2012). Reviewing the da-
ta indicates that 617 juveniles were released in
2009 from juvenile correctional facilities, with
370 returning to either a juvenile correctional fa-
cility, an adult prison, or placed on probation for
a new offense, a recidivism rate of 59.9%. The
majority of recidivists resulted in probation
placements (previously excluded from prior re-
cidivism rates). This data is presented in Table 2
for each of the juvenile facilities in operation dur-
ing these years. Recidivism was significantly
higher for male juveniles (64.2%), than for fe-

Table 2: Three-Year Recidivism of Released Juveniles -- Calendar Year 2009

Returned
to Juvenile

Number  Facility
Released From Released  Only
Ethan Allen School 241 9
Lincoln Hills School 267 15

Mendota Juvenile

Treatment Center 24 1
Subtotal Boys 532 25
Southern Oaks Girls School 85 _ 2
Total 617 27

Returned  Returned
to Prison to Total Recidivism
Only Probation  Returned Rate
51 95 155 64.3%
47 112 174 65.1
_2 _10 _ 13 54.0
100 217 342 64.2%
3 23 28 32.9%
103 240 370 59.9%
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male juveniles (32.9%).

Youth Aids

Under current law, counties are financially re-
sponsible for the costs of juvenile delinquency-
related services, except for: (a) the care of a juve-
nile who has been adjudicated as a serious juvenile
offender; and (b) juveniles under the original ju-
risdiction of or waived into adult court and sen-
tenced to state prison, but placed by DOC at a ju-
venile facility.

The community youth and family aids program
(youth aids) provides each county with an annual
allocation of state and federal funds from which a
county may pay for juvenile delinquency-related
services, including out-of-home placements and
non-residential, community-based services for ju-
veniles. Counties may supplement their expendi-
tures on juvenile delinquency-related services with
funding from other sources, including community
aids, other state aids to counties, county tax reve-
nues and special grant monies.

The state bills each county for the cost of its
juveniles placed in the state's juvenile correctional
facilities (with the exceptions noted above) and for
subsequent community placements and program-
ming for juveniles returning to the community fol-
lowing placement in a juvenile correctional facili-
ty. Charges are based on statutory daily rates es-
tablished under each biennial budget. Daily rates
for a given year are calculated by dividing the total
budget for each type of care by the projected
number of juveniles expected to receive that type
of care in a year, divided by 365 days. Table 3
shows the statutory daily rates for the period July
1, 2014, through June 30, 2015. Based on the stat-
utory rate, a one-year juvenile correctional facility
placement would cost $109,865.
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Table 3: Statutory Daily Rates, July 1, 2014 - June
30, 2015

Amount
Juvenile Correctional Facilities* $301
Corrective Sanctions 128
Aftercare Supervision 41

*Includes transfers to the Mendota Juvenile Treatment Center.

Table 4 summarizes youth aids funding levels
by fiscal year for the period 2012-13 through
2014-15. As shown in Table 4, current law pro-
vides a total of $91,039,500 ($88,590,300 GPR
and $2,449,200 PR) in the second year of the
2013-15 biennium in youth aids funding for coun-
ties. The program revenue funding comes from
federal funds received by the Department of
Health Services and transferred to DOC for out-
of-home care for certain eligible juveniles. Fund-
ing was decreased in the 2011-13 biennial budget
act associated with a 10% reduction to supplies
and other nonpersonnel costs (-$9,834,100 annual-
ly). An additional $83,400 GPR was provided in
2014-15 associated with legislation related to ex-
tending out-of-home placements for juveniles up
to 21 years of age with individualized education
programs.

Table 4: Total Youth Aids Funding - By Funding
Source

Fiscal Year 2012-13 2013-14 2014-15
GPR Funding  $88,506,900 $88,506,900 $88,590,300
PR Funding 2,449,200 2,449,200 2,449,200
Total All Funds $90,956,100 $90,956,100 $91,039,500

Historical Development of Youth Aids Fund-
ing

The youth aids program was enacted as part
of Chapter 34, Laws of 1979. Prior to the estab-
lishment of youth aids, each county social service
agency paid for community-based juvenile delin-
quency programs with its community aids alloca-



tion and county funds. However, counties were
not financially responsible for juveniles that were
placed in the state's secured juvenile correctional
institutions. Concerned that the system created a
fiscal incentive for counties to recommend the
placement of juveniles in secure care, the Legis-
lature enacted the youth aids program. Under
youth aids, counties assumed responsibility for
the costs of caring for juveniles placed at the ju-
venile correctional institutions, thereby eliminat-
ing the financial incentive to place juveniles at
the institutions. The state, in turn, allocated funds
that were formerly appropriated to the Depart-
ment of Health and Social Services for operating
the juvenile correctional schools, state aftercare
and alternate care to the counties through youth
aids.

The youth aids program was implemented
over a two-year period. In 1980, 10 pilot counties
received youth aids formula funding as well as
capacity building funds for the development of
community programs. In 1981, approximately
$25.5 million in youth aids base funding was dis-
tributed among all 72 counties. Additional capac-
ity building money was also provided in 1981.
Counties were also required to determine the
amount of community aids and other funding
they expended on the youth aids target population
in 1979. Counties were required to expend this
amount as a maintenance of effort before they
could expend youth aids funds. In 1988, over $26
million in community aids funding earmarked for
juvenile delinquency-related services (the youth
aids maintenance-of-effort) was transferred from
community aids to youth aids and was consoli-
dated within youth aids base funding.

Youth Aids Allocations

Original Allocation. Counties' original base
youth aids allocations were determined by a
three-factor formula with an additional override
factor. The basic formula calculated each coun-
ty's percentage of: (a) the total state juvenile
population (ages 0 through 17) in 1979; (b)

statewide juvenile arrests for Part | crimes as de-
fined by the federal Uniform Crime Reporting
System for the period 1975 to 1978; and (c)
statewide secured juvenile correctional place-
ments for the same period. The override factor
provided that no county could receive an alloca-
tion which was less than 93% nor more than
115% of the amount it would have received if
juvenile correctional placements were the sole
factor used to determine county allocations.

A second override factor was soon enacted,
effective January 1, 1982. This new factor pro-
vided that no county would receive less than
$19,000 or less than 65% of the amount it would
have received by using the three-factor formula.
The first of these two override factors had the
effect of placing greater emphasis on juvenile
correctional institution placements in that mini-
mum and maximum allocations were established
based on the variation of placement rates from
the average rate under all three factors. The sec-
ond override factor ensured a minimum alloca-
tion to certain smaller counties.

While funding levels have increased since the
youth aids program was implemented, the initial
base funding provided to counties has continued
to be distributed according to the initial, three-
factor formula plus override provisions, and has
not been updated for current population, arrest
and placement data.

Previous Youth Aids Funding Adjustments.
Youth aids funding has historically been adjusted
as part of the state's biennial budget process.
Some funding increases become a part of each
county's continuing base allocation after an initial
distribution is made. For example, under previous
law, if the daily rate for the juvenile correctional
facilities, alternate care, state aftercare or correc-
tive sanctions increased, the state was required to
increase the total youth aids funds available to
counties proportionately. (This statutory require-
ment was eliminated, effective July 1, 1996, un-
der 1995 Wisconsin Act 27.) Typically, youth
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aids funding provided in prior years to offset rate
increases was distributed to counties as a separate
allocation during the year it was initially provid-
ed. The distribution was based on each county's
relative usage (over the previous three years) of
each of the state-provided services for which the
daily rate increased. In subsequent years, that
amount was incorporated into each county's con-
tinuing base allocation. For example, if a county
received a youth aids increase of $5,000 in a giv-
en year for a juvenile correctional institution rate
increase and $500 for a state aftercare rate in-
crease, a total of $5,500 would be incorporated
into the county's base youth aids allocation in the
following year.

Similarly, inflationary increases for communi-
ty programs (which were also eliminated under
1995 Wisconsin Act 27) were initially distributed
separately, based on each county's relative por-
tion of the statewide annual average balance of
youth aids funding available for community pro-
grams over the previous three years. In subse-
quent years these amounts would be incorporated
into the county's continuing base youth aids allo-
cation.

Over time, therefore, each county's base allo-
cation consisted of the sum of: (a) its original
base allocation, with override factors; (b) its
share of increased funding provided in the past to
offset daily rate increases; and (c) its share of any
past inflationary increases provided in the past
for community programs.

Other Youth Aids Components. Within the
base funding amount, however, there is a share of
funding that is adjusted annually, relating to
$1,333,400 that is designated for alcohol and oth-
er drug abuse (AODA) treatment programs. This
earmarked funding is allocated each year on the
basis of each county's youth aids balance availa-
ble for community expenditures for the previous
three calendar years divided by the statewide
community programs balance. While considered
a base allocation, the amount distributed to each
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county varies annually and is not incorporated as
a fixed amount into a county's overall base allo-
cation.

Further, recent biennial budget increases are
also currently reallocated between counties ac-
cording to certain criteria. These annual realloca-
tions are required by statute to continue through
the first six months of 2015 (that is, through the
end of the 2014-15 fiscal year). The Legislature
may, or may not, extend the required annual real-
location of these funds beyond 2014-15. The in-
creases were initially provided in 1999 Act 9,
2001 Act 16, and 2007 Act 20, and have been
extended ever since.

Under 1999 Act 9, $4.0 million in 2000-01
was provided as an increase to youth aids and is
required to be reallocated each calendar year
(through the first six months of 2015) based on
three equally-weighted factors. The three factors
are: (a) each county's proportion of the total
statewide juvenile population for the most recent
year for which that information is available; (b)
each county's proportion of the total Part | juve-
nile arrests reported statewide under the uniform
crime reporting system of the Office of Justice
Assistance during the most recent three-year pe-
riod for which that information is available; and
(c) each county's proportion of the number of ju-
veniles statewide who are placed in a juvenile
correctional facility, a secured residential care
center for children and youth or a secured group
home during the most recent three-year period for
which that information is available. [The funding
allocations are shown in Appendix VI.]

Under 2001 Act 16, an increase of $2,106,500
was provided in 2002-03 and is required to be
reallocated each calendar year (through the first
six months of 2015) based on the three factors
described above, plus an additional override fac-
tor. The override factor provides that no county
will receive an allocation of this additional fund-
ing that is less than 93%, nor more than 115% of
the amount it would have received if juvenile



correctional placements (the third factor in the
three-factor formula) were the sole factor used to
determine county allocations. [The funding allo-
cations are shown in Appendix VI1.]

Under 2007 Act 20, $23.0 million was pro-
vided for the 2007-09 biennium, with $10.5 mil-
lion to be allocated in 2007-08 and $12.5 million
to be allocated each year after. Allocations are
based on each county’s proportion of the number
of juveniles statewide who are placed in a juve-
nile correctional facility during the most recent
three-year period for which information is avail-
able.

In addition to these provisions, there are sev-
eral other components of youth aids funding that
are allocated annually on the basis of varying cri-
teria. These include: (a) a supplement of
$2,124,800 annually in corrective sanctions fund-
ing, provided to counties on the basis of the
number of approved corrective sanctions slots
utilized by each county in that year (with funding
allocated following close of calendar year); (b)
emergency funds totaling $250,000 annually
awarded to counties with populations under
45,000 that demonstrate unplanned but appropri-
ate juvenile correctional facility or residential
care center placements; and (c) a non-statutory
arrest supplement of $200,000 annually for
counties with populations under 50,000, based on
each county's share of Part | juvenile arrests for
all counties under 50,000 in the two most recent
years for which data is available. (The arrest sup-
plement provision was repealed under 1995 Act
27, but the associated funding was not deleted.
The Department continues to allocate the funding
as it was allocated prior to the repeal.)

Finally, certain adjustments to county youth
aids funding are made to reflect overpayments or
under-spending by counties. First, if moneys
generated by the daily rate exceed actual fiscal
year foster care, treatment foster care, group
home care and institutional child care costs by
2% or more, all moneys in excess of 2% must be

remitted to the counties during the subsequent
calendar year (or transferred to a DOC appropria-
tion account during the subsequent fiscal year to
reflect such overpayments by the state for serious
juvenile offenders). Each county and DOC must
receive a proportionate share of this excess reve-
nue depending on the total number of days of
placement in foster care, treatment foster care,
group home care or institutional child care.
Counties are required to use these funds for juve-
nile delinquency purposes.

The Department may carry forward for a
county from one calendar year to another youth
aids funds that are not spent or encumbered. The
amount of carryover for a county may not exceed
5% of the amount allocated to the county for the
12-month period ending December 31 of a given
year. The funds carried forward do not affect a
county's base youth aids allocation. (A state car-
ryover provision, as described in Appendix VI,
may also result in additional funding for some
counties.)

An explanation of each component of the an-
nual youth aids funding allocation to counties is
provided in Appendix VI. In summary, these al-
location components are as follows:

« Base allocation

« Alcohol and other drug abuse base allocation

« 1999 Act 9 increase ($4.0 million annually)

« 2001 Act 16 increase ($2.1 million annually)

« 2007 Act 20 increase ($23.0 million bienni-
ally)

* Arrest supplement for small counties

» Correctional refunds

« Corrective sanctions funds

» Emergency funds

« County and state carryovers

Current County Youth Aids Allocations.
Based on these components of youth aids fund-
ing, the initial 2014 allocations to counties total
$88.4 million. This amount does not include $2.1
million in corrective sanctions funds, $250,000 in
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emergency funds, or county carryover amounts,
which are allocated late in, or following the close
of, the calendar year. Because the state budgets
on a July 1 to June 30 fiscal year basis, only the
first six months of youth aids funding for 2015
has been appropriated by the Legislature. Coun-
ties have been notified that an estimated total of
$88.4 million in youth aids funding (excluding
corrective sanctions and emergency funding not
yet allocated) will be provided in 2015, based on
the assumption that the Legislature will appropri-
ate the same amount in the second half of calen-
dar year 2015 as it did in the first half. The actual
youth aids allocation for 2015 could vary depend-
ing on the Legislature's action in the 2015-17 bi-
ennial budget.

Appendix VII shows the initial youth aids al-
location to each county in 2014.

Factors Affecting Juvenile Facility Care Costs

In addition to providing youth aids funding,
the state has attempted to relieve county spending
for juvenile correctional costs through other
budgetary means. Under this approach, budget
provisions have been enacted that provide finan-
cial benefits to counties that place juveniles in
juvenile correctional facilities by lowering the
daily rate for juvenile correctional facility care.
As noted above, the projected cost for a given
type of care and population projections are used
to establish daily rates.

Daily rate reductions relating to juvenile cor-
rectional facilities are accomplished both by di-
rectly reducing the costs of facility care and by
partially funding certain juvenile facilities with
GPR funds. (These provisions affect the daily
rates for facility care, but do not affect the daily
rates for other types of juvenile care.)

With respect to reducing facility costs, several
legislative actions have been taken in over the
years. In 1999 Act 9, $1,273,900 GPR in 1999-00
and $1,379,300 GPR in 2000-01 was provided to
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partially fund the cost of care for juveniles at the
Mendota Juvenile Treatment Center (MJTC).
Base funding of $1,379,300 GPR annually con-
tinues to be provided for this purpose. This fund-
ing results in the deletion of equivalent amounts
of program revenue for this purpose, thus reduc-
ing daily rates for facility care. Under 2001 Act
16, $2,172,400 PR annually was deleted relating
to the funding of 53.25 vacant positions. Under
2003 Act 33, two cost-reduction actions were
taken: (a) $2,615,200 PR and 46.0 PR positions
annually were deleted relating to the elimination
of the juvenile boot camp program; and (b)
$3,591,200 PR and 46.04 PR positions annually
were deleted from other juvenile correctional fa-
cility operations. Also, funding and positions
were deleted annually in the 2005-07, 2007-09,
2011-13, and 2013-15 budgets in order to reduce
the cost basis for the calculation of daily rates for
care in juvenile correctional facilities, resulting in
lower daily rates for facility care.

Such spending reductions have been made
possible in large part because of the decline in
average daily populations in recent years at the
juvenile correctional facilities. Appendix V
shows that populations at juvenile correctional
facilities have declined 55% between 2004 and
2014. However, a population decline of this
magnitude has resulted in increasing daily rates
for facility care during this period, despite the
cost reduction measures described above. Conse-
quently, daily rates have increased by over 48%
between 2004-05 and 2014-15. Thus, the annual
cost for a single juvenile placement for a one-
year period has increased from $74,095 in 2005-
06 to $109,865 in 2014-15.

Due to the decline in juvenile populations,
under the 2011-13 biennial budget act, two of the
juvenile schools, Ethan Allen and Southern Oaks
Girls School, were closed, with a new juvenile
school for female juveniles, Copper Lake School,
opening in Irma, Wisconsin, on the grounds of
the existing Lincoln Hills School. The schools
were closed and juveniles moved to Lincoln Hills



and Copper Lake in July, 2011.

Other State Funding for Juvenile
Delinquency-Related Services

In addition to youth aids, the state provides
significant amounts of funding to counties
through community aids, other general state aids
and grants which counties may use to offset the
costs of providing juvenile delinquency-related
services. The state also provides direct funding
for institutional and administrative costs, as dis-
cussed below.

Other State Aids to Counties

Community Aids. State funding through com-
munity aids (in the Department of Health Ser-
vices) and children and family aids (in the De-
partment of Children and Families) is provided to
counties for human services in several broad
functional areas, including social services for ju-
venile offenders. Of the estimated $256.7 million
provided in calendar year 2015, $238.5 million,
or 93%, comes from two sources that counties
may use for a broad range of services: (a) $169.9
million from the basic county allocation for any
eligible community aids services; and (b) $68.6
million from the children and family aids alloca-
tion for any eligible children and family aids ser-
vice. The remainder is provided to counties or
tribes for four categorical allocations. Counties
are required to provide a local match of 9.89% to
the basic county allocation and one of the four
categorical allocations. Counties that exceed their
youth aids allocation for juvenile delinquency-
related expenditures may use community aids
funds to provide social services for juvenile of-
fenders.

Community Intervention Program. Correc-
tions distributes $3.7 million GPR annually for
early intervention services for first-time juvenile

offenders and for intensive community-based in-
tervention services for seriously chronic juvenile
offenders. The community intervention program
was formerly termed capacity building funds.
Funding is distributed to eligible counties using a
formula that calculates each county's allocation
on the basis of data for the previous two years, as
follows:

* 33% of the funds are allocated on the basis
of juvenile arrests for Part | violent crimes (mur-
der, forcible rape, robbery and aggravated as-
sault);

* 34% of the funds are allocated on the basis
of juvenile arrests for all Part | crimes (violent
crime plus serious property crimes); and

* 33% of the funds are allocated on the basis
of juvenile correctional placements.

In order to be eligible to receive community
intervention program funds, a county must sub-
mit a plan to DOC that ensures that the county
targets the funding to appropriate programs. The
plan must include measurable objectives and an
evaluation of the preceding year's activities.

Youth Diversion Program. The youth diver-
sion program provides grants from a mix of GPR,
program revenue, and federal funding to a limited
number of local organizations to support gang
diversion programming. In 2014-15, a total of
$1,275,000 is budgeted for youth diversion pro-
gramming.

For more information on youth diversion
funding, see Legislative Fiscal Bureau informa-
tional paper "State Criminal Justice Functions."

Utility Aid and County and Municipal Aid.
Through the utility aid and the county and munic-
ipal aid programs, Wisconsin distributes state tax
revenues to county governments to use at their
discretion for any service provided by the county.
In 2015, counties are estimated to receive $33.9
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million from the utility aid appropriation, and
$122.7 million under the county and municipal
aid program.

Grants Through the Department of Justice. As
discussed previously in the section on secure de-
tention, Justice has federal funding for the 2014
federal fiscal year of $639,300 under the Juvenile
Justice Delinquency Prevention Act (JJDPA).
Approximately 75% of these formula grant funds
under JJDPA are distributed to local governments
for juvenile justice programs, including delin-
quency prevention, early intervention and other
services and efforts to reduce the overrepresenta-
tion of minorities in secure juvenile facilities.

Direct State Funding

The state directly funds the costs of correc-
tional care, alternate care and aftercare for seri-
ous juvenile offenders. The state also funds the
correctional, parole, extended supervision, and
probation costs of all juveniles sentenced under
the original jurisdiction of an adult court or who
are waived into adult court and sentenced to pris-
on or probation, under either adult or juvenile
corrections state funding. For juveniles that fall
into these categories, counties are no longer re-
sponsible for the cost of their correctional care.

The state also directly funds certain adminis-
trative costs of the Division of Juvenile Correc-
tions in DOC. In 2014-15, $2.3 million GPR was
appropriated for the general program operations
of the Division.

Community-Based Juvenile Justice Programs

Studies have indicated that an effective and
comprehensive community juvenile justice pro-
gram should include a sufficient range of services
to meet the needs of juveniles entering the juve-
nile justice system. Wisconsin counties either di-
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rectly provide or contract with private organiza-
tions to provide a wide variety of community-
based programs and services for juvenile delin-
quents and juveniles at risk of becoming delin-
guents. Some common non-residential communi-
ty programs include early intervention programs,
day treatment programs, intensive supervision
programs and restitution programs. The follow-
ing sections provide a brief summary of these
major types of community-based programs.

Early Intervention Programs

Early intervention programs encompass a va-
riety of programs targeting juveniles at risk of
committing delinquent acts or juveniles who have
committed a minor offense and are at risk of fur-
ther delinquent behavior. They include school
programs designed to: (a) identify children at risk
and intervene to strengthen the skills of the chil-
dren and their families; (b) provide volunteer
programs linking juveniles at risk with adult
mentors; and (c) provide individual counseling
and treatment programs and intensive in-home
family treatment programs.

Day Treatment Programs

Day treatment programs generally provide
specialized educational programming for delin-
quent juveniles in a structured, self-contained en-
vironment. Services may also include individual,
group and/or family counseling, structured recre-
ational activities and supervised work programs.
Juveniles are on-site during the school day and
remain on-site for additional after-school activi-
ties at some day treatment programs.

Intensive Supervision Programs

Counties are also authorized to provide inten-
sive supervision for juveniles who have been ad-
judicated delinquent and ordered to participate in
an intensive supervision program. Under the pro-
gram, a county must purchase or provide inten-
sive surveillance and community-based treatment



services for participants. Electronic monitoring
and drug screening may also be provided. A
caseworker providing intensive supervision ser-
vices may not have a caseload of more than 10
juveniles and must have at least one face-to-face
contact per day with each juvenile. If a juvenile
violates a condition of the program, the juvenile's
caseworker or other authorized person may,
without a hearing, take the juvenile into custody
and place the juvenile in a juvenile detention fa-
cility for not more than 72 hours while the al-
leged violation is being investigated. Placement
in a juvenile detention facility for up to 72 hours
is also a possible sanction for violating a condi-
tion of the program. If the juvenile is held in a
juvenile detention facility for more than 72 hours,
he or she has a right to a hearing. The caseworker
may also, without a hearing, take the juvenile in-
to custody and place the juvenile in a place of
nonsecure custody for not more than 30 days as
crisis intervention, if the juvenile is in need of
crisis intervention.

Restitution Programs

If a juvenile commits an offense which results
in damage to the property of another or physical
injury to another, excluding pain and suffering, a
court may order the juvenile (either alone or with

the assistance of a parent with custody of the ju-
venile) to make reasonable restitution for the
damage or injury as a condition of a deferred
prosecution agreement, a consent decree or as
part of a formal delinquency disposition. Restitu-
tion programs attempt to restore the losses of the
victim as well as hold offenders accountable for
their actions. Forms of restitution include: (a)
monetary restitution requiring a juvenile to make
payments to compensate the victim for damages;
(b) community service requiring a juvenile to
provide meaningful work to the community ra-
ther than monetary compensation; (c) direct vic-
tim services, if the victim agrees, requiring a ju-
venile to work for the victim to repair damage
done; and (d) victim-offender reconciliation
wherein, with the victim's consent, the victim and
the offender meet with a professional mediator to
discuss the offense.

To enter a restitution program, a finding must
be made that the juvenile alone (or a parent, if
applicable) is financially able to pay or that the
juvenile is physically able to perform the ser-
vices. Juveniles under 14 years of age cannot be
ordered to make more than $250 in restitution or
perform more than 40 hours of services for the
victim.
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APPENDICES

Appendices to this paper provide the following summary data pertaining to Wisconsin's juvenile justice
system:

Appendix |
Appendix Il
Appendix 111
Appendix IV
Appendix V
Appendix VI

Appendix VII

State of Wisconsin Total Juvenile Arrests, 2003 through 2012

State of Wisconsin Juvenile Arrest Rates, 2003 through 2012

Juvenile Arrests by Wisconsin County, 2012

Dispositional Options Available to the Juvenile Court for Delinquency Adjudication
Average Daily Populations of Juvenile Correctional Facilities, 2004-2014

Youth Aids Formula -- Calendar Year 2014 Allocations

2014 Youth Aids Allocations by County



Offense

Murder
Forcible Rape
Robbery
Agg. Assault

Total Violent

Burglary
Theft

Auto Theft
Arson

Total Property

Status Offenses

Other Offenses*

Total Arrests

* Includes negligent manslaughter (a Part | offense) and all Part Il offenses excluding status offenses.

APPENDIX |

State of Wisconsin Total Juvenile Arrests

2003 through 2012
2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012
132 288 13 23 23 31 10 15 16 12
196 253 223 147 176 155 157 172 156 121
510 554 475 622 675 654 505 569 711 517
1,131 1,001 873 982 919 818 757 677 670 742
1,969 2,096 1,584 1,774 1,793 1,658 1429 1433 1553 1,392
2,292 2,023 1,768 1,892 1,961 1,651 1598 1,393 1330 1,165
14,991 14560 12,669 12294 12,957 12,821 11,869 9,724 9,041 9,024
1,224 1,012 1,288 1,362 1,049 778 502 393 455 391
176 189 172 168 121 97 88 79 59 70
18,683 17,784 15897 15716 16,088 15347 14,057 11,589 10,885 10,650
24,028 21,967 22,964 23053 22,273 21200 17,158 14,095 13,392 12,253
72544 71,761 68240 69,275 64,737 62,539 55438 47,759 _46,072 _44,064
117,224 113,608 108,685 109,818 104,891 100,744 88,082 74,876 71,902 68,359

% Change
2003-2012

-90.9%

-38.3
14

-34.4

-29.3%

-49.2%
-39.8
-68.1
-60.2

-43.0%

-49.0

-39.3

-41.7%

10-Year
Average

56
176
579

_857

1,668

1,707
11,995
845
122

14,670

19,238



Offense

Murder
Forcible Rape
Robbery
Agg. Assault

Total Violent

Burglary
Theft

Auto Theft
Arson

Total Property

Status Offenses

Other Offenses™

Total Arrests

Juvenile
Population

APPENDIX 11

State of Wisconsin Juvenile Arrest Rates
Number of Arrests Per 100,000 Juveniles

2003 through 2012

2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012
9 20 1 2 2 2 1 1 1 1
14 18 16 11 13 12 12 13 12 9
36 39 35 46 50 50 38 43 54 39
_81 _7 _64 _72 _68 _62 _57 _51 _50 _56
141 149 116 131 133 126 107 108 117 106
164 143 130 139 145 126 119 105 100 88
1,071 1,032 930 906 958 977 886 736 681 685
87 72 95 100 78 59 37 30 34 30
13 13 13 12 9 7 7 6 4 5
1,334 1,260 1,167 1,158 1,189 1,169 1,049 877 820 809
1,716 1,557 1,686 1,699 1,646 1,615 1,281 1,067 1,009 930
5,181 5,086 5,011 5,104 4,784 4,764 4,139 3,614 3,472 3,346
8,372 8,052 7,982 8,092 7,752 7,674 6,576 5,667 5,418 5,190
1,410,904 1,361,705 1,357,139 1,353,148 1,312,805 1,339,492 1,321,325 1,327,130 1,317,004

1,400,133

*Includes negligent manslaughter (a Part | offense) and all Part 11 offenses excluding status offenses.

% Change
2003-2012

-89.9%

-34.4
9.0

-30.4

-25.0%

-46.1%
-36.0
-65.9
-59.1

-39.4%

-45.8

-35.4

-38.0%

10-Year
Average

4
13
43

_63

123

126
886
62
9

1,083

1,421

-5.9% 1,350,079



APPENDIX 111
Juvenile Arrests by Wisconsin County, 2012

Juvenile  Total Juvenile Total Arrests  Total Part1  Total Part 11 Total Status

County Population Arrests Per 100,000 Arrests * Arrests **  Arrests***
Adams 2,714 93 3,427 27 66 9
Ashland 3,539 252 7,121 82 170 32
Barron 9,407 96 1,021 29 67 9
Bayfield 2,791 36 1,290 9 27 3
Brown 61,166 3,415 5,583 623 2,792 869
Buffalo 2,903 21 723 4 17 0
Burnett 2,570 30 1,167 3 27 2
Calumet 13,828 281 2,032 27 254 41
Chippewa 14,462 506 3,499 87 419 101
Clark 10,104 207 2,049 22 185 40
Columbia 12,219 418 3,421 54 364 62
Crawford 3,589 39 1,087 7 32 6
Dane 111,676 4,501 4,030 1,071 3,430 634
Dodge 18,847 799 4,239 130 669 156
Door 4,304 185 4,298 24 161 44
Douglas 9,128 405 4,437 51 354 94
Dunn 9,952 168 1,688 29 139 22
Eau Claire 22,847 1,015 4,443 223 792 193
Florence 671 6 894 0 6 0
Fond du Lac 22,363 978 4,373 195 783 163
Forest 1,751 145 8,281 11 134 15
Grant 11,075 141 1,273 15 126 53
Green 8,684 255 2,936 32 223 74
Green Lake 4,098 270 6,589 27 243 115
lowa 5,657 94 1,662 10 84 20
Iron 807 13 1,611 0 13 11
Jackson 4,476 65 1,452 17 48 8
Jefferson 19,750 835 4,228 137 698 208
Juneau 5,343 204 3,818 24 180 8
Kenosha 40,728 2,457 6,033 332 2,125 712
Kewaunee 4,828 251 5,199 40 211 47
LaCrosse 25,605 2,405 9,393 255 2,150 385
Lafayette 4,026 93 2,310 10 83 30
Langlade 3,830 113 2,950 23 90 4
Lincoln 5,943 511 8,598 97 414 85
Manitowoc 17,619 1,695 9,620 325 1,370 209
Marathon 31,489 1,236 3,925 228 1,008 202
Marinette 7,700 313 4,065 54 259 84
Marquette 2,752 16 581 2 14 0

Menominee 1,208 82 6,788 6 76 0



APPENDIX 111 (continued)
Juvenile Arrests by Wisconsin County, 2012

Juvenile  Total Juvenile Total Arrests  Total Part1  Total Part 11 Total Status

County Population Arrests Per 100,000 Arrests * Arrests **  Arrests***
Milwaukee 230,710 16,734 7,253 3,352 13,382 2,483
Monroe 11,296 569 5,037 101 468 100
Oconto 7,911 144 1,820 25 119 37
Oneida 5,973 373 6,245 83 290 59
Outagamie 44,554 2,594 5,822 485 2,109 541
Ozaukee 20,064 587 2,926 82 505 182
Pepin 1,667 22 1,320 4 18 3
Pierce 9,826 246 2,504 31 215 46
Polk 9,637 135 1,401 34 101 10
Portage 15,320 790 5,157 155 635 86
Price 2,398 108 4,504 12 96 9
Racine 47,676 2,532 5,311 462 2,070 449
Richland 4,030 81 2,010 16 65 7
Rock 38,322 3,881 10,127 509 3,372 711
Rusk 2,871 66 2,299 3 63 16
St. Croix 22,586 435 1,926 79 356 97
Sauk 14,103 1,141 8,090 170 971 409
Sawyer 2,991 218 7,289 6 212 8
Shawano 9,390 506 5,389 62 444 150
Sheboygan 27,401 1,282 4,679 209 1,073 181
0
Taylor 4,731 310 6,553 18 292 45
Trempealeau 6,524 73 1,119 27 46 6
Vernon 7,809 93 1,191 12 81 0
Vilas 3,203 462 14,424 48 414 198
Walworth 23,857 1,158 4,854 178 980 280
Washburn 3,000 126 4,200 15 111 17
Washington 30,789 1,948 6,327 265 1,683 212
Waukesha 93,688 2,518 2,688 501 2,017 415
Waupaca 11,014 781 7,001 148 633 118
Waushara 4,302 130 3,022 22 108 14
Winnebago 37,437 1,943 5,190 342 1,601 302
Wood 15,475 1,263 8,162 241 1,022 189
DNR 399 3 396 34
State Patrol 66 0 66 4
Total State 1,317,004 68,359 5,190 12,042 56,317 12,168

Because one arrest may be for more than one offense, the total number of arrests may be less than the number of arrests by offense.

*Part | Offenses: Murder, manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, theft, motor vehicle theft and arson.
**Part || offenses include forgery, fraud, embezzlement, stolen property, vandalism, drug offenses, weapons, prostitution, sex offenses,
gambling, operating while intoxicated, liquor violations, disorderly conduct, and vagrancy, curfew, and runaway.

***Status offenses are offenses only when they are committed by a juvenile, such as curfew violations, runaways and certain liquor
law violations. Status offenses are a subset of Part 11 offenses.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Justice, Arrests in Wisconsin -- 2012.



APPENDIX IV

Dispositional Options Available to the Juvenile Court
For Delinquency Adjudications (not all options available for all offenses)

* Counseling for the juvenile or the parent,
guardian or legal custodian.

* Supervision of the juvenile provided by an
agency (typically a county social services de-
partment), the Department of Corrections or, with
DOC approval, a suitable adult, under conditions
prescribed by the court.

* For a misdemeanor offense, participation in
a volunteers in probation program under condi-
tions determined by the court.

* For a misdemeanor offense, participation in
a teen court program if the juvenile admits or
pleads no contest to the allegations and the juve-
nile has not successfully completed participation
in a teen court program during the previous two
years.

» Participation in a county intensive supervi-
sion program.

 If it 1s shown that the rehabilitation, treat-
ment and care of the juvenile cannot be accom-
plished by means of voluntary consent of the par-
ent or guardian, transfer of legal custody of the
juvenile to a relative, a county department or a
licensed child welfare agency.

* Placement in one of the following: (a) the
home of a parent or other relative of the juvenile;
(b) an unlicensed home if placement is for less
than 30 days; (c) a foster home or treatment fos-
ter home or a group home; or (d) a residential
care center.

* Placement in an independent living situation
effective on or after the juvenile's 17th birthday,

under a supervision plan approved by the court.

» Placement in a juvenile detention facility,
the juvenile portion of a county jail or in a place
of nonsecure custody for a total of not more than
365 days and allow the juvenile to attend school,
work or approved activities, if the county board
has approved the use of those placements as a
disposition.

* Placement in a Type 2 residential care center
for children and youth under the supervision of
the county department and subject to automatic
placement in a more restrictive setting if the ju-
venile violates the conditions of the original
placement.

* Placement in the Serious Juvenile Offender
program.

* Placement in a juvenile correctional facility
or a secured care center for children and youth
under the supervision of DOC or in a secured
group home under the supervision of a county. A
secured group home is subject to the same limit
of five to eight juveniles as a regular group home,
but the facility is treated in the same manner and
subject to the same requirements as juvenile cor-
rectional facilities and secured care center for
children and youths, except that educational pro-
visions applicable to secured care center for chil-
dren and youths do not apply to secured group
homes.

* Aftercare supervision for juveniles who have
been released from a juvenile correctional facility
or a secured care center for children and youth
(must be ordered with all correctional placement
orders).

41



* Electronic monitoring of a juvenile placed in
the community under the following dispositions:
(@) supervision; (b) intensive supervision; (c) a
nonsecure placement; (d) the Serious Juvenile
Offender Program; or (e) aftercare supervision.

* Restitution to repair the damage to property
or for the damage or injury to a person that re-
sults from a delinquent act.

« Participation in a supervised work program.

* Participation in a community service work
program.

* Participation in a victim-offender mediation
program if the victim of the juvenile's delinquent
act agrees.

* Order for the juvenile's parent to provide the
special treatment or care that the court determines
IS needed.

* Order for an integrated service plan to be
developed and implemented, if the court deter-
mines one is needed.

* Alcohol or drug treatment, education or drug
testing.

 Attendance at a nonresidential educational
program provided by the school district in which
the juvenile resides or by a subcontractor of the
school district.

* Participation in a wilderness challenge pro-
gram or other experiential education program.

*  Order the juvenile to report to a youth
report center after school, in the evening, on
weekends, on other nonschool days, or at any
other time that the juvenile is not under immedi-
ate adult supervision, for participation in the so-
cial, behavioral, academic, community service,
and other programming of the center.
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* Participation in an educational program that
is designed to deter future delinquent behavior.

» Participation in vocational assessment,
counseling and training.

* Participation in a day treatment program, if
specialized educational needs are identified.

* Forfeiture (generally in the amount of the
adult fine for the equivalent offense or $100 for a
status offense), based upon a determination that
this disposition is in the best interest of the juve-
nile and his or her rehabilitation and that the ju-
venile alone is financially able to pay the forfei-
ture.

* Delinquency victim and witness surcharge
payment of $20.

* Order to restrict or suspend the operating
privilege of a juvenile who is adjudicated delin-
quent under a violation of any law in which a
motor vehicle is involved or for a controlled sub-
stances violation.

* Suspend the juvenile's vehicle operating
privilege for certain bomb scares and firearm vio-
lations

* Restrictions on the juvenile's use of comput-
ers if the juvenile committed a computer crime.

* If the juvenile is adjudicated delinquent for
sexual assault (and at the court's discretion for
certain other offenses and where the juvenile is
found not responsible for an action by reason of
mental disease or defect), require the juvenile to
provide a biological specimen to the state crime
laboratories for DNA analysis.

* If the juvenile is adjudicated delinquent for
sexual assault or certain crimes against children
(and at the court's discretion for certain other of-
fenses), require the juvenile to comply with the



reporting requirements of the sex offender regis-
tration program, unless the court determines, un-
der certain circumstances and after a hearing on a
motion made by the juvenile, that the juvenile is
not required to comply. If ordered to comply, the
court may require the juvenile to continue to
comply with the reporting requirements until his

or her death.

* Stay of dispositional order contingent on the
juvenile's satisfactory compliance with any con-
ditions specified in the order and explained to the

juvenile by the court.
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APPENDIX V

Average Daily Populations of
Secured Juvenile Correctional Facilities

2004 - 2014
Average Daily Annual Change in Population
Calendar Year Population Number Percent
2004 668 - --
2005 639 -29 -4.3%
2006 572 -67 -10.5
2007 591 19 33
2008 591 0 0.0
2009 510 -81 -13.7
2010 408 -102 -120.0
2011 319 -89 -21.8
2012 301 -18 -5.6
2013 274 -27 -8.9

2014 (estimated) 300 26 9.4



APPENDIX VI

Youth Aids Formula — Initial Calendar Year 2014 Allocations
(GPR Funds Except as Indicated)

Base Allocation $68,441,400 | 1. Original allocation, based on three factors with override:
(including * County juvenile population (0-17/1980 census)
$2,449,200 * Average # arrests/county for Part I arrests (1975-78)
PR) * Average # county juvenile correctional placements (1975-78)

* Overrides: counties would receive no less than 93% nor more than 115% of amount if correctional
placements were only factor; also, counties would receive no less than 65% of amount provided by
using the three-factor formula.

2. One-time adjustments to base allocation

3. Adjustment to correctional rates in prior years

4. Inflation increase for community programs in prior years

The county allocations of this base amount are not subject to change under current law.

AODA Base 1,333,400 | « Earmarked for AODA treatment

Allocation » County youth aids balance available for community expenditures, CY 1999 thru 2001 + statewide
community programs balance = County %

» County % x $1,333,400 = County allocation

»  While considered a base allocation, the amount distributed to each county varies annually and is not
incorporated as a fixed amount into a county's overall base allocation

Budget Increase 4,000,000 | + Under 1999 Wisconsin Act 9, $4,000,000 was appropriated in 2000-01 as ongoing funding and will
(1999 Wisconsin continue unless modified in subsequent legislation. The amount is allocated on the basis of the
Act 9) following factors, each factor weighted equally: (1) each county's proportion of the total statewide

juvenile population for the most recent year for which that information is available; (2) each county's
proportion of the total Part I juvenile arrests reported statewide under the uniform crime reporting
system of the Office of Justice Assistance during the most recent three-year period for which that
information is available; and (3) each county's proportion of the number of juveniles statewide who are
placed in a juvenile correctional facility, a secured care center for children and youth or a secured group
home during the most recent three-year period for which that information is available.

Budget Increase 2,106,500 | < Under 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, $2,106,500 was appropriated in 2002-03 as ongoing funding and will
(2001 Wisconsin continue unless modified in subsequent legislation. The amount is allocated on the basis of the three
Act 16) factors described above, but with an override provision that no county receives less than 93% nor more

than 115% of the amount it would have received if juvenile correctional placements (the third factor)
were the sole factor used to determine county allocations.

Budget Increase 12,500,000 | « Under 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, $12,500,000 was appropriated in 2008-09 as ongoing funding and
(2007 Act 20) allocated based on each county's proportion of the number of juveniles statewide who are placed in a

juvenile correctional facility during the most recent three-year period for which information is available.
Avrrest Supplement 200,000 | = Statutory provision governing the payment of supplemental funds repealed under 1995 Wisconsin Act
For Small Counties 27, but funding left in youth aids appropriation

Only counties with population of less than 50,000 eligible for supplemental funds
» Funds prorated on basis of each county's share of Part | juvenile arrests for all counties under 50,000
population for the most recent two years for which data is available

Initial Allocations $88,581,300 | « Initial allocations do not include other funds allocated late in, or after the end of, the calendar year. See
below.

Other Funds:
1. Corrective Sanctions - $2,124,800 annually: 136 slots available; a county arranges with the state to receive services and is allocated funding based
on the number of approved slots actually used (at an estimated $74 per day of service). Funding allocated following close of calendar year.

2. Emergency Funds - $250,000 annually: Only a county with population under 45,000 is eligible. Eligible counties must demonstrate unplanned but
appropriate juvenile correctional facility or CCI placements. Funding allocated late in calendar year.

3. County Carryover - If unexpended youth aids at year end, county may carry over balance up to 5% of youth aids allocation or its unexpended
balance, whichever is lower.

4. State Carryover - Up to $500,000 of youth aids or 10% of the total dollars unexpended by counties after county carryover is allocated, whichever
is greater. DOC may allocate these funds to counties with persistently high rates of juvenile arrests for serious offenses, or for community-based
juvenile delinquency-related services. The allocation of these monies is separate from the youth aids allocation and does not affect a county's base
allocation.

Note: Initial allocations ($88,581,300), corrective sanctions funds ($2,124,800) and emergency funds ($250,000) total $90,956,100 in currently
projected allocations in 2014. Amounts shown are funded with GPR, unless otherwise indicated.
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County

Adams
Ashland
Barron
Bayfield
Brown

Buffalo
Burnett
Calumet
Chippewa
Clark

Columbia
Crawford
Dane
Dodge
Door

Douglas
Dunn

Eau Claire
Florence
Fond Du Lac

Forest
Grant
Green
Green Lake
lowa

Iron
Jackson
Jefferson
Juneau
Kenosha

Kewaunee
Lacrosse
Lafayette
Langlade
Lincoln

Manitowoc
Marathon
Marinette
Marquette
Menominee

Milwaukee
Monroe
Oconto
Oneida
Outagamie
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Initial Base
Allocation

$175,875
175,491
382,730
127,276
1,705,374

47,535
174,724
241,314
483,299
406,117

294,095
121,070
4,564,008
554,618
170,273

909,542
187,558
890,994

47,204
776,809

57,591
221,681
194,434
107,666
138,523

38,139
153,782
524,736
204,190

2,562,662

97,995
1,060,500
61,934
318,817
310,168

510,131
1,233,024
432,875
78,262
425,452

25,304,977
582,875
279,991
437,259

1,426,888

APPENDIX VII

2014 Youth Aids Allocations by County

AODA
Allocation

$3,635
4,500
8,866
2,469
37,813

1,164
3,832
6,095
10,785
9,662

5,410
3,000
68,815
13,865
4,172

20,341
4,728
19,386
1,081
20,374

1,391
5,104
4,687
2,648
3,296

899
3,476
11,545
5,063
52,265

2,364
24,404
1,664
6,567
6,332

12,739
28,796
10,707
1,883
9,032

381,787
14,798
6,456
8,778
29,689

1999
Act9

$10,606
11,307
18,979
4,673
154,863

3,194
4,361
18,123
30,105
13,214

26,805
4,035
391,254
34,963
6,555

19,534
12,686
57,844

856
50,962

4,277
13,850
13,470

7,607

6,820

1,076
7,162
45,279
10,710
137,639

7,069
60,230
5,451
9,412
20,555

46,872
67,680
16,251
3,574
9,978

1,387,542
18,683
13,533
25,155

126,176

2001
Act 16

$5,900
1,459
5,836
1,459
61,280

0
1,459
2,918

13,132
1,459

11,672
0
226,547
4,377

0

4,377
0
17,509
0
14,591

1,459
1,459
1,459
1,459

0

0
1,459
10,213
2,918
80,235

0
13,132
0
4,377
7,295

4,377
8,754
4,377
0
10,619

1,178,753
0

5,836
15,339
35,017

$200,000 Special
Supplement

$5,111
12,010
8,262
1,363
0

596
767
5111
0
3,918

0

937

0

0
2,470

10,221
5,877
0

85

0

2,044

0
4,940
4,174
2,044

0
2,981
0
4,003
0

4,770
0
1,789
5111
19,506

0

0
9,455
596
1,278

13,374
3,663
10,052

Total Initial

JCI Youth Aids
Supplement Allocation
$36,808 $237,935
7,362 212,129
29,446 454,119
7,362 144,602
309,187 2,268,517
0 52,489

7,362 192,505
14,723 288,284
66,254 603,575
7,362 441,732
58,893 396,875
0 129,042
1,413,428 6,664,052
22,085 629,908
0 183,470
22,085 986,100
0 210,849
88,339 1,074,072
0 49,226
73,616 936,352
7,362 74,124
7,362 249,456
7,362 226,352
7,362 130,916

0 150,683

0 40,114

7,362 176,222
51,531 643,304
14,723 241,607
500,589 3,333,390
0 112,198
66,254 1,224,520
0 70,838
22,085 366,369
36,808 400,664
22,085 596,204
44,170 1,382,424
22,085 495,750
0 84,315
66,254 522,613
7,354,238 35,607,297
0 629,730
29,446 338,925
95,701 592,284
176,678 1,794,448



County

Ozaukee
Pepin
Pierce
Polk
Portage

Price
Racine
Richland
Rock
Rusk

Saint Croix
Sauk
Sawyer
Shawano
Sheboygan

Taylor
Trempealeau
Vernon
Vilas
Walworth

Washburn
Washington
Waukesha
Waupaca
Waushara

Winnebago
Wood

County Total

APPENDIX VII (continued)

2014 Youth Aids Allocations by County

Total Initial

Initial Base AODA 1999 2001 $200,000 Special JCI Youth Aids
Allocation Allocation Act9 Act 16 Supplement Supplement Allocation
$560,231 $13,027 $36,138 $14,591 $0 $73,616 $697,603
51,957 1,233 2,028 0 767 0 55,985
244,283 6,030 14,025 0 8,177 0 272,515
351,630 9,078 14,150 1,459 6,218 7,362 389,897
427,469 7,807 38,971 14,591 0 73,616 562,454
115,957 2,769 4,386 0 2,470 0 125,582
3,411,890 77,907 148,027 77,954 0 434,335 4,150,113
75,432 1,644 6,952 1,459 2,215 7,362 95,064
2,716,328 63,240 133,670 70,394 0 360,718 3,344,350
188,407 4,731 4,653 0 1,022 0 198,813
494,644 10,197 33,003 4,377 0 22,085 564,306
406,503 11,795 38,301 8,754 0 44,170 509,523
153,408 3,836 7,819 4,720 937 29,446 200,166
441,879 10,157 21,440 7,295 11,158 36,808 528,737
959,265 19,677 62,732 23,345 0 117,786 1,182,805
168,298 3,920 9,056 4,377 3,237 22,085 210,973
103,703 1,739 11,104 4,377 3,237 22,085 146,245
170,689 4,027 8,560 0 1,533 0 184,809
229,961 5,258 12,451 7,080 6,303 44,170 305,223
731,631 18,740 43,123 5,836 0 29,446 828,776
135,267 3,175 6,086 2,918 2,129 14,723 164,298
1,046,588 23,270 75,489 20,427 0 103,062 1,268,836
3,025,049 69,785 160,202 27,722 0 139,870 3,422,628
442,062 8,028 31,724 11,672 0 58,893 552,379
222,150 5,771 7,292 0 4,089 0 239,302
1,294,613 35,932 89,007 27,722 0 139,870 1,587,144
1,071,648 24,264 38,641 2,918 0 14,723 1,152,194
$68,441,400 $1,333,400 $4,000,000 $2,106,500 $200,000 $12,500,000 $88,581,300
Corrective Sanctions funding allocated following the close of the calendar year $2,124,800
Emergency funding allocated late in calendar year $250,000

Total Projected Youth Aids in 2014 $90,956,100
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