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CURRENT LAW 

 Wisconsin's child care subsidy program, Wisconsin Shares, provides child care assistance 

for low-income families to enable parents and caretakers to work or prepare for employment 

through W-2, the FoodShare employment and training (FSET) program, or through a combination 

of work and education or training programs. Under the program, the state subsidizes the cost of 

child care charged by providers chosen by the parent. The parent must pay a copay amount based 

on income, family size, and the number of children in care. 

 In general, child care providers must be licensed by the Department of Children and Families 

(DCF) to receive compensation for caring for four or more children under the age of seven. 

Licensed group child care centers may provide care for nine or more children. Licensed family 

child care centers, usually operating out of the provider's home, may provide care for up to eight 

children.  

 Providers caring for three or fewer children under the age of seven must be certified by the 

local administrator in order to receive payment from Wisconsin Shares. There are two certification 

categories: Level I (regular) family child care and Level II (provisional) family child care. Certified 

programs must meet basic health and safety standards and are monitored for compliance with 

applicable state and federal law. For example, both regularly and provisionally certified providers, 

and all employees, substitutes, and volunteers of those providers, must complete training on the 

most current, medically accepted methods of preventing sudden infant death syndrome and shaken 

baby syndrome. In addition to meeting certification standards, Level I providers must complete an 

additional training in early childhood education. 
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 Payments to child care providers are capped at maximum weekly reimbursement rates set 

by DCF for each county. Separate rates are set based on the child's age. Separate rates are also 

provided for the different types of child care. By statute, the maximum rate for Level I certified 

providers cannot exceed 75% of the rate for licensed family child care providers, and the maximum 

rate for Level II certified providers cannot exceed 50% of the rate for licensed family child care 

providers. The maximum hourly rate for licensed providers is the maximum weekly rate divided 

by 35 hours. For regularly and provisionally certified providers, the maximum hourly rate is 75% 

and 50% of the licensed family hourly rate, respectively.  

GOVERNOR 

 Repeal the ceiling on reimbursement under Wisconsin Shares for regularly and provisionally 

certified providers, so that DCF could set the maximum reimbursement rate for these providers to 

be no more than the rates established for the licensed family hourly rate. The bill would allocate 

an additional $1,700,000 FED annually from federal temporary assistance for needy families 

(TANF) block grant funds to support the cost of increasing Wisconsin Shares child care subsidies 

paid to certified providers.  

DISCUSSION POINTS 

1. Unregulated child care providers do not qualify to participate in Wisconsin Shares. 

Certification requirements ensure that programs receiving public reimbursement through Wisconsin 

Shares adequately protect the health, safety, and development of children.  

2. According to DCF, certified child care is popular in areas that have fewer child care 

options available. The administration indicates that the most certified providers are located in rural 

areas of the state. Most certified child care is based in the provider's home. 

3. The availability of certified child care providers has decreased significantly in recent 

years. In 1998, there were 5,117 certified family providers. For comparison, according to the DCF 

annual report on early care and education in Wisconsin, as of December 31, 2014, there were 1,215 

certified providers serving an estimated 7,290 children. As of December 31, 2017, there were 748 

certified family provides serving an estimated 4,488 enrolled children. As of December 31, 2018, 

there were 580 certified family providers serving an estimated 3,480 enrolled children.  

4. The number of certified providers at the end of 2018 has declined by 22.5% compared 

to 2017, by 52.3% compared to 2014, and by 85% compared to 1998.  

5. Under current law, a parent choosing a Level I certified child care provider receives 75% 

of the amount that would have been available under if they had selected a licensed provider. The 

rating of a certified child care provider under the YoungStar quality rating and improvement system 

makes no difference as to whether the reduced payment rate applies. Thus, the subsidy for a four-star 

certified provider would be 75% of the subsidy for a three star licensed family provider (before 

accounting for the YoungStar bonus).  
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6. DCF indicates that this payment disparity discourages families participating in 

Wisconsin Shares from choosing certified child care over licensed child care.  

7. If the Committee determines that the statutory cap on reimbursement under Wisconsin 

Shares for certified providers has played a part in the significant decrease in availability of certified 

child care across the state, it could approve the Governor's recommendation (Alternative 1). The 

TANF allocation for Wisconsin Shares subsidies would increase by $1,700,000 FED annually, based 

on the assumption that DCF would increase payments for certified providers to be equal to those it 

sets for licensed family care.  

8. The bill would not require the payment rates for licensed family providers and certified 

providers to be equal. DCF could set the rates for certified providers at any amount, as long as these 

rates do not exceed the rates established for licensed providers. The Committee could decide to 

modify the Governor's recommendations to require DCF to set reimbursement under Wisconsin 

Shares for regularly and provisionally certified providers to be equal to the maximum reimbursement 

rates set by DCF for licensed providers (Alternative 2).  

9. Licensed child care providers have additional training and regulatory oversight 

compared to certified providers. The tiered reimbursement under current law is intended to reflect the 

additional costs of, and the quality benefits associated with, increased administration, compliance 

review, training, and continuing education.  Providing increased subsidies under Wisconsin Shares 

for licensed provide an incentive for providers caring for three or fewer children to become licensed 

and improve the quality of their services. 

10. The Committee could find that the maximum reimbursement rates for certified providers 

should not be the same as the rates for licensed providers. The Committee could instead choose to 

increase the cap on reimbursement to be 90% of the rates established for licensed providers 

(Alternative 3). Alternatively, the Committee could reject the Governor's recommendation and 

maintain the current limits on reimbursement for certified providers (Alternative 4).  

ALTERNATIVES  

1. Governor's Recommendation.  Approve the Governor's recommendation to repeal the 

limits on setting maximum reimbursement rates under Wisconsin Shares for regularly and 

provisionally certified providers, so that DCF could set the rates for these providers to be up to 100% 

of the licensed family hourly rate, instead of up to 75% and 50%, respectively.   Provide $1,700,000 

FED annually to increase rates for certified providers.  

 

2. Establish Certified Rates Equal to Licensed Rates.  Modify the Governor's 

recommendations to require DCF to set maximum reimbursement rates under Wisconsin Shares for 

ALT 1 Change to 

 Base Bill 

 

FED $3,400,000 $0 
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regularly and provisionally certified providers to be equal to the rates set by DCF for licensed family 

providers.  

 

3. Modify the bill to limit reimbursement under Wisconsin Shares for regularly and 

provisionally certified providers to be no more than 90% of the maximum reimbursement rates set by 

DCF for licensed family providers.   Reduce funding in the bill by $680,000 FED annually. 

 

4. Take no action on this item. 

 

 

 

 

Prepared by:  John D. Gentry 

ALT 2 Change to 

 Base Bill 

 

FED $3,400,000 $0 

ALT 3 Change to 

 Base Bill 

 

FED $2,040,000 - $1,360,000 

ALT 4 Change to 

 Base Bill 

 

FED $0 - $3,400,000 


