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n Wisconsin, a crime is any conduct prohibited by state law that is punishable by a
fine, a term of imprisonment, or both. Crimes are classified as either felonies or mis-
demeanors, with the former generally considered more severe than the latter. This
brief offers an introduction to identifying and classifying misdemeanors followed by a

complete list of all statutory misdemeanors.

Felony or misdemeanor

Although both felonies and misdemeanors are punishable by fine or imprisonment, in
Wisconsin they are distinguished by the term and place of imprisonment. If a crime is
punishable by confinement in a state prison, it is a felony; all other crimes are misde-
meanors. Sentences of more than one year are served in a state prison and are therefore
telonies. Sentences of less than one year are served in a county jail and are therefore
misdemeanors. Sentences of exactly one year are misdemeanors if the sentence is to be
served in a county jail. If the place of imprisonment for a one-year sentence is not spec-
ified, the crime is a felony [State ex rel. McDonald v. Douglas County Circuit Ct. 100 Wis.
2d 569, 302 N.W.2d 462 (1981)].

(lasses and penalties

Misdemeanor offenses that are located in the criminal code, chapters 939 to 951 of the
statutes, are categorized into three classes. Each class has a specified maximum fine and

term of imprisonment under Wis. Stat. 939.51 (a) to (c):

Misdemeanor class Maximum fine  Maximum imprisonment
A $10,000 9 months
B $1,000 90 days
C $500 30 days

Misdemeanor offenses outside the criminal code generally do not have an assigned
class, but may have a specified fine and term of imprisonment. For offenses for which no
penalty is provided, Wis. Stat. 939.61 (2) provides for a fine of no more than $500, a term
of imprisonment of no more than 30 days, or both. Additionally, special circumstances
may provide for increased penalties. For example, Wis. Stat. 939.632 (2) provides for in-

creased penalties for certain violent misdemeanors committed in a school zone.

List of misdemeanors

The table below comprises all misdemeanors in the 2017-18 Wisconsin statutes. Each

row represents one statutory unit describing a criminal offense that is explicitly labeled
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a misdemeanor or includes penalties descriptive of a misdemeanor. Some apply only to

a single statute section or subunit, while others may apply to a broad range of statute

sections. The table is presented in ascending statutory order and includes the penalty or

class associated with each misdemeanor if applicable.

2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

11.1401 (1) (c)

Various campaign financing violations

max. $1,000, 6 months

12.03 and 12.60 (1)
(b)

Electioneering on election day by certain
persons at certain locations

max. $1,000, 6 months

12.05 and 12.60 (1)
(b)

False representations affecting elections

max. $1,000, 6 months

12.07 and 12.60 (1)
(b)

Election restrictions on employers

max. $1,000, 6 months

12.08 and 12.60 (1)
(b)

Causing another to support a candidate by
threatening to deny government benefits

max. $1,000, 6 months

12.13 (2) (b) 8., (3)
(b), (c), (d), (g), (@),

(n) to (x), (ze), (zm),

and (zn), (5), and
12.60 (1) (b) and

Certain acts of election fraud

max. $1,000, 6 months

(bm)

Unauthorized release of records or investigatory
information relating to elections

max. $10,000, 9 months

13.26 and 13.27

Contempt of the legislature

max. $200, 1 year

13.69 (3)

Falsified statements on a lobbying expense
statement

max. $1,000, 1 year

16.009 (5) (b)

Discriminating against any person cooperating
with the Board on Aging and Long-Term Care

max. $1,000, 6 months

16.845 (1)

Use of state facilities without a permit

max. $100, 30 days

16.846 (1) (a)

Violations of Department of Administration
rules relating to the use, care, and preservation
of property under department control

max. $100, 30 days

19.24

Refusal by a public officer to deliver to a
successor money and other property belonging
to the office

max. $100, 6 months

19.50 and 19.58 (4)

Unauthorized release of investigation or
prosecution records

max. $10,000, 9 months

19.58 (1) (a)

Intentional violations of the code of ethics for
public officials and employees

$100-$5,000, max. 1
year

20.906 (3)

Improper use of a receipts form issued by or for
a state agency collecting or receiving money for
the state

unclassified
misdemeanor
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2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

23.095 (3) (d) 2.

Intentional damage or attempt to damage an
archaeological feature or natural resource

max. $10,000, 9 months

23.22(8) (b) and (c)

Violations of Department of Natural Resources
rules controlling invasive species

$700-$5,000, 6-9
months

23.24 (6) (b)

Violations relating to aquatic plant management
(2nd offense in 5 years)

$700-$2,000, 6-9
months

23.33 (13) (b) 2.

Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or
utility terrain vehicle (2nd offense in 5 years)

$300-$1,100, 5 days—6
months

23.33 (13) (b) 3.

Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or
utility terrain vehicle (3rd+ offense in 5 years)

$600-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

23.33 (13) (¢)

Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or
utility terrain vehicle causing injury

$300-$2,000, 30 days-1
year

23.335(23) (c) 2.

Intoxicated operation of an oft-road motorcycle
(2nd offense in 5 years)

$300-$1,100, 5 day's—6
months

23.335 (23) (c) 3.

Intoxicated operation of an off-road motorcycle
(3rd offense in 5 years)

$600-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

23.335 (23) (d)

Intoxicated operation of an off-road motorcycle
and causing injury

$300-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

26.14 (5) Failure to totally extinguish a fire (2nd+ offense) max. $500, 30 days

26.14 (6) Causing a forest fire max. $1,000, 90 days

26.14 (7) Setting a fire upon marsh or other land to drive ~ max. $1,000, 90 days
out game birds or animals

26.19 (1) Destruction of forest protection equipment or max. $10,000, 9 months

notices

26.20 (9) (b)

Willful violations by a corporation relating to
fire protection devices

max. $1,000

26.985 (2) Violations relating to the protection of forest max. $100, 6 months
lands and productivity (2nd or 3rd offense in 5
years)

26.985 (3) Violations relating to the protection of forest max. $2,000, 9 months
lands and productivity (4th+ offense in 3 years)

29.088 (2) Taking, capturing, or killing wild animals with ~ max. $300, 30 days

the aid of any explosive or poison gas

29314 (7) (a)

Shining deer, elk, or bear while hunting or
possessing weapons

$1,000-$2,000, max. 6
months

29.331 (5) (b)

Tampering with lawfully placed animal traps

$300-$1,000, max. 90
days

29.341 (2) Failure to follow lawful procedures and duties max. $5,000, 9 months
following an accidental shooting while hunting  (negligent) or 1 year
(intentional)
29.501 (10) Violations relating to fur dealers max. $1,000, 9 months
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2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

29.601 (1) (b)

Use of explosives or stupefactives in state waters

max. $500, 90 days

29.601 (3) (c) 2.

Throwing or depositing deleterious substances
in state waters

max. $200, 90 days

29.604 (5) (a) 1.

Intentionally taking, transporting, possessing,
processing, or selling within the state an
endangered or threatened wild animal

$2,000-$5,000, max. 9
months

29.604 (5) (a) 2.

Intentional violations relating to endangered
and threatened plant species

max. $1,000, 9 months

29.957 Tampering with Department of Natural $250-$2,000
Resources seals or tags attached to an animal,
carcass, or object

29.967 (1) (b) Violations relating to a suspended or revoked $500-$1,000

Department of Natural Resources approval
(2nd+ offense in 5 years)

29.967 (3)

Obtaining a Department of Natural Resources
approval during a period of time when that
approval is revoked

max. $200, 90 days

29.971 (1) (b)

Violations relating to taking, transporting,
acquiring, selling, purchasing, or possessing fish

$1,000-$5,000, max. 30
days

29.971 (1m) (b)

Violations relating to possession of clams

max. $5,000, 30 days

29.971 (5) Violations relating to the sale of wild animals $1,000-$2,000, max. 6
months
29.971 (5g) Violations relating to serving game to guests max. $500, 90 days
of restaurants, clubs, hotels, boarding houses,
taverns, or camps
29.971 (5m) Illegally taking or possessing lake sturgeon $1,500, max. 90 days
29.971 (7) Hunting with the aid of an aircraft max. $1,000 (1st
offense) or $2,000, 90
days (2nd+ offenses)
29.971 (11) Deer hunting violations $1,000-$2,000, max. 6

months

29.971 (11g) (a)

Elk hunting violations

$1,000-$15,000, max.
6 months (1st offense);
max. $20,000, 1 year
(2nd+ offenses)

29.971 (11r) (am) 1.

Interfering with lawful hunting, fishing, or
trapping (2nd violation in 5 years)

$1,000, 90 days

29.971 (11r) (am) 2.

Interfering with lawful hunting, fishing, or
trapping (3rd+ violation in 5 years)

$10,000, 9 months

29.971 (11m) (a)

Bear hunting violations

$1,000-$2,000, max. 6
months (1st offense);
$10,000, 9 months
(2nd+ offenses)
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2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

29.971 (11p) (a)

Entering the den of a hibernating black bear and
harming the bear

max. $10,000, 9 months

29.974 (1)

Determination by a court following a conviction
for a violation relating to wild animals and
plants that the guilty person has a prior
conviction within a period of 5 years

max. $100, 6 months

29.974 (2) (b)

Determination by a court following a conviction
for a violation relating to wild animals and
plants that the guilty person has 3 prior
convictions within a period of 3 years

max. $2,000, 9 months

30.12 (5) Unlawful structures and deposits in navigable max. $1,000, 6 months
waters
30.80 (2) Reckless or negligent operation of a boat max. $200, 6 months

endangering life or property

30.80 (2g) (a)

Failure to render aid in a boat accident (if the
accident did not involve death or injury to a
person)

$300-$1,000, max. 6
months

30.80 (2g) (b)

Failure to render aid in a boat accident (if the
accident involved injury to a person but the
person did not suffer great bodily harm)

max. $10,000, 9 months

30.80 (6) (a) 2.

Intoxicated boating (2nd offense in 5 years)

$300-$1,000, 5 days-6
months

30.80 (6) (a) 3.

Intoxicated boating (3rd offense in 5 years)

$600-$2,000, 30 days- 1
year

30.80 (6) () 4.

Intoxicated boating (4th offense in 5 years)

$600-$2,000, 60 days-1
year

30.80 (6) (a) 5.

Intoxicated boating (5th+ offense in 5 years)

$600-$2,000, 6
months-1 year

30.80 (6) (b)

Intoxicated boating causing an injury

$300-$2,000, 30 days-1
year

31.34 Violations of water flow and dam regulations $50-$1,000

32.29 False statements by an employee of a $50-$1,000, max. 1 year
governmental entity with condemnation
power to an owner of property concerning the
condemnation of such property

34.11 Violations relating to public deposits max. $500, 6 months

36.11 (1) (a)

Violations of rules promulgated by the Board of
Regents of the University of Wisconsin System
to protect the lives, health, and safety of persons
or property under its jurisdiction

max. $500, 90 days

36.35(3)

Entering campus property without permission
following prior misconduct

max. $500, 6 months
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2017 Statute section ~ Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

42.05 (3) Unlawful auto racing without a properly max. $200, 6 months
equipped muftler

42.07 (2) Ticket scalping for entry to an event under the ~ $10-$100, max. 60 days

auspices of the state fair park

44.47 (7) (a) 2.

Tampering with archaeological objects or
data belonging to the state or intentionally
interfering with related work

$1,000-$5,000

45.03 (16) (b)

False statements with the intent to secure
veterans benefits

max. $500, 6 months

45.06 (2)

Withholding from a veteran any discharge
paper, citation, warrant, medal, badge, or
evidence that the veteran is entitled to certain
rights

max. $100, 6 months

46.10 (14) (e) 4.

Denial of employment, discharge, or discipline
of an employee by an employer based on an
assignment of certain social services benefits

max. $500

46.90 (6) (d)

Requesting or obtaining confidential
information relating to the elder abuse reporting
system under false pretenses

max. $500, 1 year

46.90 (9) (d)

Discriminating against any person for reporting
in good faith under the elder abuse reporting
system

max. $10,000, 6 months

46.90 (9) (e)

Failure to report under the elder abuse reporting
system

max. $500, 6 months

47.02 (7) (c)

Violations relating to vocational rehabilitation

max. $500, 6 months

47.03 (3) (d)

Advertising, selling, or distributing a product
as being blind-made when less than 75% of
the labor involved in creating the product was
performed by visually impaired persons

max. $10,000, 9 months

48.025 (6) (b)

Intentionally obtaining, using, or disclosing
confidential information relating to a
declaration of paternal interest in matters
affecting children

max. $1,000, 90 days

48.42 (5)

False statements in the course of a proceeding
for the termination of parental rights with an
intent to prevent a person from receiving notice
of such proceeding

max. $10,000, 9 months

48.658 (3) (a)

Transporting a child to or from a child care
provider in a child care vehicle in which a child
safety alarm has not been installed or is not in
good working order

max. $1,000, 1 year

48.60 and 48.76

Violations relating to child welfare agency
licensing

max. $500, 1 year

48.62 and 48.76

Violations relating to foster home licensing

max. $500, 1 year
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2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

48.625 and 48.76

Violations relating to group home licensing

max. $500, 1 year

48.63 and 48.76

Violations relating to child placements in foster
homes or group homes

max. $500, 1 year

48.65 and 48.76

Violations relating to child care center licensing

max. $500, 1 year

48.825 (5)

Unlawful adoption advertising

max. $10,000, 9 months

48.979 (1m) (g)

Unlawful delegation of powers regarding care
and custody of child

max. $10,000, 9 months

48.981 (6)

Failure to report abused or neglected children or
abused unborn children

max. $1,000, 6 months

48.981 (7) (f)

Confidentiality violations of records concerning
the reporting of abused or neglected children or
abused unborn children

max. $1,000, 6 months

49.22 (4)

Unlawful use or disclosure of information
obtained by the state location service assisting in
locating parents

$25-$500, max. 1 year

49.345 (14) (e) 4.

Denial of employment, discharge, or discipline
of an employee by an employer based on an
assignment of certain public assistance benefits

max. $500

49.45 (4m) (e)

Unlawful disclosure or retention of information
relating to the financial record matching
program by a financial institution

$50-$1,000, 10 days-1
year

49.45 (6m) (g)

Refusal by an intermediate care facility or skilled
nursing facility to recover costs reimbursable

for persons eligible for certain Medicare benefits
or to obtain Medicare certification required by
federal law

$10/day-$100/day

49.688 (9) (¢)

Violations of Department of Health Services
rules relating to prohibitions on Medical
Assistance fraud

max. $10,000, 1 year

49.83

Using or disclosing information concerning
applicants to various public assistance
programs for purposes not connected with the
administration of the programs

$25-$500, 10 days-1
year

49.853 (3) (¢)

Disclosure or retention of information unrelated
to matching records by a financial institution
participating in the financial institution
matching option.

$25-$500, 10 days-1
year

49.853 (4) (d)

Unlawful request of information by a financial
institution participating in the state matching
option to the Department of Health Services

$25-$500, 10 days-1
year

50.03 (1)

Unlicensed operation of a community-based
residential facility or nursing home

max. $500/day, 6
months (1st offense);
$5,000/day, 1 year (2nd+
offenses)
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2017 Statute section ~ Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

50.032 (6) Uncertified operation of an adult family home max. $500, 1 year

50.033 (6) Unlicensed operation of an adult family home max. $500, 1 year

50.07 (2) Violations relating to uniform licensure max. $1,000, 6 months

50.49 (8) Unlicensed operation of a home health agency max. $100 (1st offense);
$200 (2nd offense)

50.55 (2) Actions intended to interfere with a Department max. $1,000, 6 months

of Health Services investigation of licensure
violations by a rural medical center

51.30 (10) (a)

Intentionally unlawful violations relating to
mental health records (if not for pecuniary gain)

max. $25,000, 9 months

51.61 (5) (d)

Intentional retaliation or discrimination against
a mental health patient for contacting or
providing information to a state protection and
advocacy agency

max. $1,000, 6 months

51.61 (7m) Intentionally depriving a mental health patient =~ max. $1,000, 6 months
of the ability to seek redress for an alleged
violation of rights

54.62 (8) Willful or inexcusable failure by a guardian to max. $250, 10 days

file a guardian’s account as required by law or
ordered by a court

55.043 (9m) (d)

Retaliating or discriminating against a person
for reporting an adult at risk in good faith

max. $10,000, 6 months

55.043 (9m) (e)

Failure to report an adult at risk

max. $500, 6 months

59.39

Violations relating to a coroner or medical
examiner performing funeral services upon the
body whose death is required to be investigated
by such office

max. $50

59.66 (2) (c)

Violations relating to unclaimed funds in a
county’s public treasury

$50-$200, 30 days-6
months

59.74 (2) (e) 1.

Unlawful tampering with a landmark,
monument of survey, corner post of government
survey, survey made by the county surveyor, or
survey of public record

max. $1,000, 1 year

62.23 (8) Unlawful structure max. $500
63.17 Various county civil service system violations $50-$1,000, 30 days-1
year
63.2 Violation of a subpoena issued by a board of city unclassified
service commissioners misdemeanor
63.52 (1) Various first class city civil service system $50-$1,000, max. 6

violations

months

66.0413 (1) (br) 2.

Renting, leasing, or occupying a building which
has been condemned for human habitation,
occupancy, or use

$5/week-$50/week, 30
days/week
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2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

66.0417 (5) (a)

Violations relating to local enforcement of
certain food and health regulations

max. $10,000, 1 year

66.0417 (5) (b)

Obstructing a local inspector enforcing food
and health regulation

max. $5,000, 1 year

66.0425 (9)

Violations relating to an obstruction or
excavation beyond a lot line or within a highway

$25-$500, 10 days-6
months

66.0615 (1m) (£) 5.

Failure to register with the Department of
Revenue for the room tax

unclassified
misdemeanor

66.1207 (1) (a)

False representations to secure or assist in
securing financial assistance for subsidized
housing accommodations (if the financial
assistance is more than $1,000 but less than
$2,500)

max. $10,000, 9 months

69.24 (2)

Violations relating to the collection of vital
statistics or documents

max. $1,000, 90 days

70.40 (2)

Willful failure or refusal by any person on
whom an occupational iron ore concentrate tax
is imposed to furnish a true list or statement of
all iron ore concentrates received or handled

max. $1,000

70.42 (2)

Failure or refusal by an operator of a coal dock
to furnish a true list or statement of all coal
received or handled

max. $1,000

70.421 (2)

Failure or refusal by an operator of a refinery to
furnish a true list or statement of all crude oil
and petroleum products refined

max. $1,000

70.47 (18) (b)

Intentional tampering with a public notice

of a local board of review meeting before the
expiration of the time for which the notice was
posted

max. $200, 6 months

71.65 (6) Willfully providing false information to the $25,000
Department of Revenue by a construction
contractor employer to evade income and
franchise tax withholding requirements

71.66 (1) (e) Willfully supplying an employer with false max. $200

information regarding a withholding exemption

71.83(2) (a) 1.

Income and franchise tax violations: failure
or refusal to make, render, sign, or verify a
tax return on time; failure or refusal to make
deposits of withheld taxes; false or fraudulent
employer statements or deposit reports

max. $10,000, 9 months

71.83 (2) (a) 2.

Willfully making or subscribing false documents
relating to income and franchise taxes

max. $10,000, 9 months

71.83 (2) (a) 3.

Divulging or circulating confidential
information derived from income and franchise
tax documents

$100-$500, 1-6 months
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2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

71.83 (2) (a) 3m.

Unlawful browsing of another’s confidential
information derived from income and franchise
tax documents

$100-$500, 1-6 months

71.83 (2) (a) 4.

Coercing an employee to prepay taxes

$25-$200

71.83 (2) (a) 5.

Supplying an employer with a false income and
franchise tax withholding agreement

max. $500, 6 months

71.83 (2) (a) 6.

Failure to file a surety bond with the
Department of Revenue by a construction
contractor

$300-$5,000

71.91 (8) (e)

Using information provided to a financial
institution in the financial record matching
program for purposes other than administration
of the program

$25-$500, 10 days-1
year

75.375 Waste on lands subject to a tax certificate max. $500, 90 days
77.27 Intentionally falsifying value on a return for the  max. $1,000, 1 year
real estate transfer fee
77.52 (12) Operating as a seller without a permit unclassified
misdemeanor
77.52 (16) Sales tax evasion using a resale certificate unclassified
misdemeanor
77.52 (19) Failure to comply with rules relating to unclassified
permitting for persons temporarily engaged in ~ misdemeanor
selling
77.53 (8) Sales and use tax violations: failure to collect the unclassified
tax from a purchaser, give a purchaser a receipt, ~misdemeanor
or display the tax separately from the list price
77.60 (6) Failure to provide a required tax return or data  unclassified
to the Department of Revenue misdemeanor
77.60 (7) Sales and use tax evasion through false or unclassified
fraudulent reporting or failure to furnish a misdemeanor
report
77.60 (10) Assisting another in making any false or unclassified
fraudulent return or statement relating to the misdemeanor

sales and use tax

77.61 (5) (g)

Various violations relating to administration of
sales and use taxes

$100-$500, 1-6 months

77.61 (6) (d)

Inspection of a return or claim for sales and use
taxes by an unauthorized person

$100-$500, 1-6 months

77.61 (9) Failure to file, submit, prepare, or retain unclassified
sales and use tax documents required by the misdemeanor
Department of Revenue

77.982 (4) Failure to register with the Department of unclassified
Revenue for the local food and beverage tax misdemeanor
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2017 Statute section ~ Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

77.991 (4) Failure to register with the Department of unclassified
Revenue for the local rental car tax misdemeanor

77.9951 (3) Failure to register with the Department of unclassified
Revenue for the state rental vehicle fee misdemeanor

78.68 (6) Failure to furnish a return or data relating to max. $500, 30 days
vehicle or general aviation fuel taxes required by
the Department of Revenue

78.68 (7) Making a false or fraudulent return or failureto  max. $500, 30 days
furnish a return when due to evade vehicle or
general aviation fuel taxes

78.68 (8) Assisting another in evading vehicle or general ~ max. $500, 30 days
aviation fuel taxes

78.73 (1) Various violations relating to unlawful use or max. $500, 6 months
display of a license to sell vehicle or general
aviation fuel

78.73 (2) Selling vehicle or general aviation fuel without =~ max. $5,000, 1 year
a license

78.73 (3) Attempting to assign a license to sell vehicleor ~ max. $25, 10 days
general aviation fuel or failure to display such
license conspicuously at a place of business

78.73 (4) Failure to make a report or payment relatingto  max. $5,000, 1 year
vehicle or general aviation fuel taxes

83.027 (12) Driving a vehicle into or from a controlled- max. $100, 30 days
access county highway (if not through an
opening provided for that purpose)

84.25 (12) Driving a vehicle into or from a controlled- max. $100, 30 days
access state highway (if not through an opening
provided for that purpose)

86.01 Unlawfully leaving materials in a highway $10-$100

86.021 (2) Highway damage by cultivation or a machine $10-$50, 10-30 days

86.022 Obstructing a highway with an embankment or ~ $10-$100
a ditch

86.025 Camping on highways or adjacent lands max. $10, 30 days

86.03 (6) Violations relating to trees or shrubs adjacent to ~ $25 per damaged tree or
a highway shrub

86.03 (7) Cutting of veterans memorial trees $10-$200, max. 30 days

86.06 (2) Unlawfully traveling beyond or tampering with ~ $10-$100, 10-60 days
a highway barrier

86.07 (1) Drawing, painting, printing, or pastingupona  $10-$200, max. 30 days
culvert, bridge, or guard rail

86.07 (2) Unlawfully disturbing or making an alteration $50-$500, max. 6

to a highway

months
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2017 Statute section ~ Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
86.17 (2) Interference with the free use of water running  unclassified
across highways misdemeanor
86.19 (3) Unlawfully erecting a sign on a public highway ~ $10-$100 (1st offense);
$10-$500 (2nd offense)
86.191 (5) Violations of highway advertisement $25-$100, max. 30 days
prohibitions
86.192 (2) Tampering with a sign, guide board, mile post, $25, max. 30 days (Ist
signal, or marker offense); $100, 60 days
(2nd+ offenses)
87.17 Tampering with flood control improvements or ~ max. $1,000, 1 year

personnel

87.30 (2) (a) Placing or maintaining a building within a max. $50
floodplain in violation of a zoning ordinance

88.82 (6) Tampering with a drain constructed by a max. $100
drainage district

88.91 (2) Placing an obstruction in a lawfully constructed max. $100
drainage ditch

89.05 (3) Practicing veterinary medicine without a $1,000 (1st offense);

license

$3,000 (2nd offense in 3
years)

89.079 (4) (b)

Violation of temporary restraining order or
injunction

$25-$5,000, 1 year

93.12 (6) Operating a laboratory without a certificate of ~ $100-$1,000
approval
93.21 (1) Failure by a manufacturer of dairy productsto ~ max. $200, 6 months

furnish required information to the person from
whom milk is purchased or received

93.21 (2) (a)

Obstructing an officer performing inspection
duties

max. $1,000, 6 months

93.21 (4)

Various violations for failing to obey orders
relating to agriculture, trade, and consumer
protection

max. $5,000, 1 year

93.21 (6) (a)

Fraudulent use of official seals of the
Department of Agriculture, Trade, and
Consumer Protection

max. $10,000, 1 year

93.23 (8)

Violations relating to local fairs

max. $200, 6 months

93.35 (15) (a)

Unlawful weather modification

max. $1,000, 6 months

94.46 (4) (b)

Various violations relating to seeds

max. $500, 6 months

94.64 (12) (a)

Willful violations of fertilizer regulations

$250-$5,000, max. 1
year

94.65 (11) (b)

Soil and plant additive violations

max. $5,000, 1 year
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2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

94.71 (1) (a) 2.

Pesticide violations by a commercial applicator,
dealer, or distributor

max. $5,000, 1 year

94.71 (1) (a) 2.

Pesticide violations by a private applicator

max. $1,000, 30 days

94.72 (14) (a) 2.

Commercial animal feed violations

$1,000-$5,000, 30
days-1 year

94.77 (1)

Various plant industry violations

max. $1,000 (1st
offense); $500-$5,000,
max. 6 months (2nd+
offenses)

95.21 (10) (b)

Refusal by an animal owner to comply with an
order or quarantine

$100-$1,000, max. 60
days

95.68 (9) Conducting animal market business after $500-$1,000, max. 6
revocation of a license months
95.69 (9) Conducting animal dealer business after $500-$1,000, max. 6
revocation of a license months
95.71 (9) Conducting animal trucking business after $500-$1,000, max. 6
revocation of a license months
95.99 (1) Various animal health violations max. $1,000 (1st
offense); $500-$5,000,
max. 6 months (2nd+
offenses)
96.17 (3) Intentional violation of a Department of max. $10,000, 9 months

Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection
marketing order or agreement

97.12(2) (d) 1.

Violations relating to food regulation
enforcement

max. $10,000

97.12 (4) Interfering with or giving false informationtoa  max. $5,000, 1 year
food inspector
97.18 (6) Violations of oleomargarine regulations $100-$500, max. 3
months (1st offense);
$500-$1,000, 6
months-1 year (2nd+
offenses)
97.42 (8) Interfering with inspection of animals, poultry,  max. $5,000, 1 year
and carcasses
97.627 (1) Causing fire by tobacco smoking $50-$250, 10 days-6
months
97.638 (1) Failure by hotel to post rates $50-$100
97.638 (2) (d) Failure by hotel to post notice of fee for use of $50-$100

telephone

97.65 (5) (a)

Violation of order prohibiting sale or movement
of food

$10,000, 1 year
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2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

97.65 (5) (b)

Threatening or providing false information
to a Department of Agriculture, Trade, and
Consumer Protection inspector

$5,000, 1 year

97.72 (1) Various food regulation violations $100-$1,000, max. 6
months (1st offense);
$500-$5,000, 30 days-1
year (2nd+ offenses)

98.26 (1) Various violations relating to weights and max. $10,000, 9 months

measures

99.07 (2) Various violations relating to public warehouses  $200-$1,000, max. 6
months

100.07 (5) Milk payment violations max. $200, 6 months

100.15 and 100.26 (3)

Use of trading stamps

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

100.18 (9) and 100.26

(5)

Deceptive advertising

max. $10,000, 9 months

100.182 and 100.26

(7)

Fraudulent drug advertising

max. $10,000, 9 months

100.19 and 100.26 (3)

Wasteful distribution methods and practices

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

100.195 (5m) (e)

Unfair billing for consumer goods or services

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

100.20 and 100.26 (3)

Violations relating to methods of competition
and trade practices

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

100.2095 (6) (d)

Violations relating to labeling and materials of
bedding

max. $10,000, 9 months

100.235 (11) (b)

Unfair trade practices in procurement of
vegetable crops

$100-$10,000, max. 1
year

100.26 (1)

Various marketing or trade practice violations

max. $200, 6 months

100.335 (4) (b)

Manufacturing or selling a child’s container
containing bisphenol A or failing to label a
child’s container as not containing bisphenol A

max. $5,000, 1 year

100.37 (8) Violations of the hazardous substances act max. $5,000, 1 year
100.38 (7) Selling adulterated or misbranded antifreeze $50-$500
100.383 (5) Selling antifreeze without a bittering agent max. $1,500, 90 days

100.48 (4) (a)

Tampering with an hour meter attached to farm
equipment

max. $5,000, 1 year

100.48 (4) (¢)

Tampering with an hour meter attached to a
snowmobile, all- terrain vehicle, utility terrain
vehicle, or boat

max. $5,000, 1 year

101.13 (7) Use of an accessibility symbol in violation of $50
standards
101.14 (4) (e) Failure to install required fire detection, $100-$500

prevention, or suppression devices
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2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

101.149 (8) (¢) 1.

Tampering with an installed carbon monoxide
detector

max. $10,000, 9 months

101.16 (5) (am)

Unlawful filling, evacuating, or use of containers
for liquefied petroleum gas; various violations
relating to a failure to provide the Department
of Safety and Professional Services with
liquefied petroleum gas information

$25-$2,000, 30 days-6
months

101.16 (5) (cm)

Intentional violation by a retail supplier of
liquefied petroleum gas of licensing and
financial responsibility requirements

$500-$1,000 (1st
offense); $2,000-$5,000,
30 days-6 months
(2nd+ offenses)

101.16 (5) (cn)

Intentional violation by a retail supplier

of liquefied petroleum gas who only fills
Department of Transportation cylinders
and containers of licensing and financial
responsibility requirements

$200-$400 (1st offense);
$800-$2,000, 30 days-6
months (2nd+ offenses)

101.9209 (5) (b)

Intent to defraud during a transfer of interest in
a manufactured home

max. $1,000, 30 days

101.937 (5) (b)

Rule violations relating to water and sewer
service to manufactured home communities

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

101.94 (8) (b)

Violations by a corporation that threaten the
health or safety of a purchaser of manufactured
homes and mobile homes

max. $10,000, 9 months

101.951 (8)

Violations relating to manufactured home
dealers

$25-$100

101.953 and 101.965
(1)

Violations relating to warranty and disclosure
for manufactured homes

max. $1,000, 6 months

101.955 and 101.965
(1)

Violations relating to jurisdiction and
venue over out-of-state manufacturers of
manufactured homes

max. $1,000, 6 months

101.988 (3) Violations relating to elevators, escalators, and ~ max. $1,500, 30 days
other conveyances
102.17 (3) Willfully failing to testify or produce documents $25-$100, max. 30 days

as required for a worker’s compensation hearing

102.835 (18)

Discrimination by an employer against an
employee whose earnings have been subject
to a levy for delinquent uninsured employer
payments

max. $10,000, 9 months

102.88 (1) 2nd worker’s compensation related offensein 5 max. $2,000, 90 days
years

102.88 (2) 3rd or subsequent worker’s compensation max. $10,000, 9 months
related offense in 3 years

103.13 (8) Violations by an employer relating to records $10-$100

open to an employee
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2017 Statute section ~ Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
103.15 (2) or (3) and  Requiring an HIV test for employment max. $100
103.20
103.16 Failure by an employer to provide seats for $10-$30
employees
103.165 (4) Violations relating to an employee’s cash bonds ~ amount of the bond,
held in a trust 10-60 days
103.17 and 103.20 Failure by a manufacturing employer to max. $100
mutually forfeit
103.18 and 103.20 Threatening to reduce wages or discharge max. $100

employees to influence their votes

103.29 (1)

Violations relating to employment of minors in
street trades

$250-$5,000, max. 30
days

103.34 (12) (a)

Repeat offenses relating to traveling sales crews

$250-$5,000, max. 30
days

103.37 (4) Requiring an employee to pay for a medical max. $100
examination as a condition of employment

103.43 (2) Fraudulent advertising for labor max. $2,000, 1 year

103.45 Unlawful payments of wages with time checks $10-$100

103.545 (5) Recruiting strikebreakers max. $2,000, 1 year

103.61 Contempt for violation of a restraining order or ~ max. $25, 10 days
injunction issued by a court

103.75 (2) False evidence of age to obtain an age certificate max. $100, 3 months

or altering an age certificate

103.82 (1) (a)

Repeat offenses of employing a minor for
certain jobs

$250-$5,000, max. 30
days

103.86 (1) Failure by an employer to make required max. $200
payments to employee welfare funds
103.87 Disciplining an employee for testifying in max. $200
a proceeding pertaining to a crime of the
children’s code or juvenile justice code
104.10 Employer intimidation of a witness in a $25
minimum wage investigation or proceeding
107.02 Violation of mining statement requirements min. $100, max. 3

months

107.15 (6) (a)

Violations of reporting requirements for
mineral exploration

max. $50,000

107.15 (6) (¢)

Violations of confidentiality requirements for
mineral exploration

$50-$50,000, 1-6
months

108.16 (8) (m) 3.

False statements relating to determining the
assignment of unemployment insurance
contribution rates

A
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2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

108.223 (5)

Unlawful use of debtor information

$50-$1,000, 10 days-1
year

108.225 (18)

Discriminating terms and conditions of
employment against an employee whose
earnings have been subject to a levy for
delinquent unemployment insurance
contributions

max. $10,000, 9 months

108.24 (1) False statements to obtain unemployment max. $10,000, 9 months
insurance benefit payments

108.24 (2) False statements or other information required ~ $100-$500, max. 90
by the Department of Workforce Development  days
for unemployment insurance

108.24 (2m) Misclassifying an employee by a construction $1,000 per violation,

contractor to evade unemployment insurance
payments

max. $25,000

108.24 (3) (a)

Violations relating to acts against an employee
or former employee concerning unemployment
insurance

$100-$1,000, max. 90
days

108.24 (4) Unlawful disclosure or inspection of $25-$500, max. 1 year
unemployment insurance documents

109.11 (3) Failure by an employer to pay wages due max. $500, 90 days

111.14 Interfering with the Employment Relations max. $500, 1 year
Commission

111.62 Strikes, work stoppages, slowdowns, and unclassified
lockouts by employees of a public utility misdemeanor

111.70 (7m) (c) 2. Striking following an injunction against a strike ~ $10

114.09 (2) (a) 2.

Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the
number of prior convictions of causing injury
from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus
the total number of other suspensions and
revocations equals 2)

$350-$1,100, 5 days—6
months

114.09 (2) (a) 3.

Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the
number of prior convictions of causing injury
from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus
the total number of other suspensions and
revocations equals 3)

$600-$2,000, 60 days-1
year

114.09 (2) (a) 4.

Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the
number of prior convictions of causing injury
from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus
the total number of other suspensions and
revocations equals 4)

$600-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

114.09 (2) (c) 2.

2 or more reckless flying convictions within 4
years

$50-$500, max. 1 year

114.103 (3)

Failure by private security personnel to report to
a law enforcement authority

max. $500, 30 days

Statutory Misdemeanors in Wisconsin 17



2017 Statute section ~ Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
114.27 Various violations relating to aeronautics and max. $500, 90 days
astronautics
115.31 (7) Failure by a school administrator to report max. $1,000, 6 months
various crimes or acts committed by an
employee of an educational agency to the state
superintendent of public instruction
118.03 (4) Unlawful textbook pricing $25-$100

118.15(5) (a) 1.a.

Compulsory school attendance violation (1st
offense)

max. $500, 30 days

118.15 (5) (a) L.b.

Compulsory school attendance violation (2nd+
offenses)

max. $1,000, 90 days

118.20 (5)

Discrimination against applicants for teaching
or administrative positions

$25-$50, 5-30 days

120.13 (35) (b) 1.

Unlawful presence in school buildings that
provokes a breach of peace

max. $10,000, 90 days

125.04 (13)

Selling or manufacturing alcoholic beverages
without a required license or permit

max. $10,000, 9 months

125.07 (1) (b) 2.b.

Facilitating underage drinking (2nd offense in
30 months)

max. $500, 30 days

125.07 (1) (b) 2.c.

Facilitating underage drinking (3rd offense in 30
months)

max. $1,000, 90 days

125.07 (1) (b) 2.d.

Facilitating underage drinking (4th+ offense in
30 months)

max. $10,000, 9 months

125.07 (2) (b)

Selling alcohol to an intoxicated person

$100-$500, max. 60
days

125.085 (3) (a) 1.

Falsification of proof of age to show that an
underage person has attained the legal drinking
age

$300-$1,250, 10-30
days

125.105 (2) (a)

Impersonating an inspector of the Department
of Revenue or Department of Justice with the
intent to mislead

max. $10,000, 9 months

125.11 (1)

Various violations relating to alcoholic
beverages

max. $1,000, 90 days

125.28 (5) (d) 1.

Violations relating to fermented malt beverage
wholesalers’ permits

max. $10,000

125.315 (2)

Evading provisions of law by giving away
fermented malt beverages

max. $10,000, 9 months

125.33 (7) (d)

Violations by fermented malt beverage retail
licensees relating to retail purchase credit

max. $1,000

125.33 (9)

Campuses purchasing fermented malt beverages
from anybody other than a licensed wholesaler

max. $10,000, 9 months

125.54 (7) (¢) 1.

Violations of wholesaler requirements

max. $10,000
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2017 Statute section ~ Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

125.545 (7) (a) Distributing wine directly to a retailer rather max. $10,000
than a wholesaler by a winery

125.545 (7) (b) Preferential treatment to a Wisconsin winery or  max. $10,000

discrimination against an out-of-state winery by
a cooperative wholesaler

125.65 (9) Violations relating to permits for wholesale $100-$500, 30 days-6
sales for future delivery to solicit orders of months
intoxicating liquor

125.66 (1) Selling intoxicating liquor without a required max. $10,000, 9 months
license or permit

125.66 (4) Selling of intoxicating liquor by a Class A liquor max. $100
licensee to a Class B liquor licensee for resale

125.67 Evading provisions of law by giving away max. $10,000, 9 months

intoxicating liquor

125.68 (8) (a)

Selling diluted intoxicating liquor as undiluted
intoxicating liquor

$150-$500, 60 days—6
months

125.68 (9) (g)

Intoxicating liquor violations relating to labels,
contents, and packaging

$500-$1,000, 3
months-1 year

125.69 (4) (d)

Violations by intoxicating liquor retail licensees
relating to retail purchase credit

max. $1,000

125.69 (6) (b)

Campuses purchasing intoxicating liquor from
anybody other than a licensed wholesaler (if the
total volume of liquor in1 month is more than
12 liters)

$1,000-$10,000

125.69 (6) (¢)

Purchasing of intoxicating liquor by a Class B
liquor licensee from a Class A liquor licensee for
resale

max. $100

126.87 (2) (b)

Various violations relating to agricultural
producer security

max. $10,000, 1 year

132.01 and 132.03

Violations relating to labeling marks

max. $10,000, 6 months

132.02 and 132.03

Violations relating to duplication or
reproduction of labeling marks

max. $10,000, 6 months

132.032 Fraudulent labeling mark filing max. $10,000, 6 months

132.07 Willfully and unlawfully converting a labeling max. $10,000, 6 months
mark to one’s own use

132.13 (3) Possession of unlabeled convict- made products  $100-$500, max. 90
for the purpose of sale days

132.16 (7) Unlawful use of registered organizations’ max. $100, 60 days
insignia or names

132.17 Unauthorized wearing of certain badges max. $20, 30 days

132.18 (5) Unlawful use of gaseous compounds in max. $1,000, 1 year

containers
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132.19 Use of a labeling mark without authority max. $100, 3 months

133.04 (2) Price discrimination with the intent to destroy max. $25,000, 1 year
competition

133.05 (3) Unfair trade practices through secret rebates max. $25,000, 1 year

134.01 Willfully or maliciously causing injury to the max. $500, 1 year
reputation or trade of a business

134.02 (1) Blacklisting and coercion of employees $100-$500

134.03 Preventing pursuit of work max. $100, 6 months

134.04 (2) Sale of certain merchandise by employers to $100-$500 (1st offense);
employees $500-$1,000 (2nd+

offenses)

134.05 (4) Bribery of an agent or employee with intent to ~ max. $10,000, 9 months
influence business action

134.06 Bonus to chauffeurs for purchases max. $25

134.10 (1) Invading a right to choose an insurance agent or  $50-$200, max. 6
insurer by persons engaged in financing months

134.11 (1) Invading a right to choose an insurance agent or ~ $50-$200, max. 6
insurer by persons engaged in selling property =~ months

134.15 (1) Issuing and using counterfeit money max. $100, 6 months

134.17 (1) Unlawful use of a corporate name with the max. $1,000, 1 year
intent to obtain credit

134.19 Fraud on exemption laws $10-$50

134.21 Unauthorized presentation of dramatic plays $5-$100, max. 60 days

134.25 (1) (a) and
134.32

Misbranding of gold articles

$25-$500, max. 3
months

134.26 (1) and 134.32

Misbranding of sterling silver articles

$25-$500, max. 3
months

134.27 (1) and 134.32

Misbranding of coin silver articles

$25-$500, max. 3
months

134.28 and 134.32

Misbranding of base silver articles

$25-$500, max. 3
months

134.30 and 134.32

Misbranding of gold-plated articles

$25-$500, max. 3
months

134.31 and 134.32

Misbranding of silver-plated articles

$25-$500, max. 3

months
134.33 (8) Unlawful platinum stamping max. $1,000, 6 months
134.35 (2) Violation of endorsed time of filing on telegrams unclassified
misdemeanor
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134.36 Unlawfully divulging a telegraph message or max. $500, 1 year
giving preference in the transmission of such
messages

134.37 Unlawfully divulging a telegraph message or max. $500, 1 year
forging the name of the intended receiver

134.39 Fraudulent knowledge of a telegraph dispatch or max. $1,000, 1 year

injury or interference with wires

134.405 (5) (ad)

Violations relating to the purchase and sale of
certain scrap material (1st offense)

max. $1,000, 90 days

134.405 (5) (ah)

Violations relating to the purchase and sale of
certain scrap material (2nd offense)

max. $10,000, 9 months

134.41 (1)

Poles and wires on private property without the
owner’s consent

max. $25

134.45 (3) (a)

Entering into a contract to restrict days for
exhibiting motion picture films

$25-$300 (1st offense);
$300-$500 (2nd+

offenses)
134.50 (3) Violations relating to poultry dealing $10-$100 (1st offense);
$25-$500, 90 days
(2nd+ offenses)
134.50 (4) Giving a false name or address to a poultry 30 days-1 year
dealer by any person selling poultry
134.52 (4) Unlawful shipment of chickens $10-$50, 10-30 days
134.53 (4) Transporting cattle without documents max. $500, 3 months
containing required information
134.57 Failure by an employer or its employed detective  $100-$500, 3 months-1
to submit facts of a case relating to settlement year
with an employee
134.6 Unlawful cutting or transportation of evergreen  $10-$500
trees
134.65 (5) Violations relating to cigarette and tobacco $25-$100 (1st offense);
products retailer licenses $25-$300, 60 days
(2nd+ offenses)
134.69 Peddling finger alphabet cards $25-$100, max. 90 days
134.715 (3) Selling certain merchandise without proof of max. $500, 30 days

ownership at a flea market

134.97 (4) (b)

Possession of a record that was disposed of by
a financial institution, medical business, or tax
preparation business

max. $1,000, 90 days

137.01 (1) (k)

Violations relating to actions of a notary public
(1st offense)

max. $10,000, 9 months

138.05 and 138.06 (2)

Violations relating to the maximum lending
rate, prepayment, and disclosure

$25-$500, max. 6
months
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Summary of misdemeanor
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138.051 and 138.06
)

Violations relating to residential mortgage loans

$25-$500, max. 6
months

138.052 and 138.06
)

Violations relating to residential mortgage loans

$25-$500, max. 6
months

138.09 (10)

Violations relating to licensed lenders

max. $500, 6 months

138.10 (14)

Receiving interest or charges greater than
permitted by a pawnbroker

max. $500, 1 year

138.12 (3) (a)

Engaging in the business of financing insurance
premiums without a license

max. $200

138.14 (15) (a)

Violations relating to payday loans

max. $500, 6 months

138.20 (2)

Discrimination in granting credit or loans

max. $1,000

139.03 (5) (c)

Entering the state in unlawful possession of
intoxicating liquor or wine

$25-$500, max. 90 days
(1st offense); $100-
$500, 6 months (2nd+
offenses)

139.05 (7) (d) Shipping into the state or knowingly receiving unclassified
fermented malt beverages from a brewer misdemeanor
without a valid license

139.05 (7) (f) Shipping into the state, receiving, or selling unclassified
within the state fermented malt beverages misdemeanor

produced in a state with laws discriminating
against any production ingredient

139.25 (6) Failure to furnish data or returns relating to max. $500, 30 days
beverage taxes to the Department of Revenue

139.25 (7) Evading beverage taxes through fraudulent max. $500, 30 days
reporting

139.25 (8) Assisting another in evading beverage taxes max. $500, 30 days
through fraudulent reporting

139.25 (10) Various violations relating to beverage taxes $50-$500, 10-90 days

139.44 (2) Assisting another in evading cigarette taxes max. $10,000, 9 months
through fraudulent reporting

139.44 (3) Failure to keep required records relating to $100-$500, max. 6
cigarette and tobacco taxes months

139.44 (4) Refusal by a cigarette or tobacco retailer to max. $500, 90 days
permit a state inspector to examine records

139.44 (5) Various violations relating to cigarette and $100-$1,000, 10-90
tobacco taxes days

139.44 (6) Various violations of Department of Revenue $100-$500, max. 6

rules relating to cigarette and tobacco taxes

months

139.44 (8) (a)

Unlawful possession of cigarettes (if the number
of cigarettes does not exceed 6,000)

max. $200, 6 months
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139.44 (8) (b)

Unlawful possession of cigarettes (if the number
of cigarettes exceeds 6,000 but does not exceed
36,000)

max. $1,000, 1 year

139.85 (1) Violations relating to tobacco tax records or max. $10,000, 9 months
returns

145.12 (1) Acting as a plumber or automatic fire sprinkler ~ $100-$500, 30 days
contractor without a license

145.12 (2) Various violations relating to plumbing, fire max. $500, 3 months
protection, or swimming pools

145.12 (3) Falsely representing an apprentice to be a max. $25, 30 days
journeyman by a master plumber

145.26 (6) Violations relating to public swimming pool $100-$5,000
plan reviews

146.085 (2) Charging an admission fee to use a toilet $10-$50

146.60 (9) (ag)

Failure to provide notice of a release of
genetically engineered organisms into the
environment (1st offense)

$100-$25,000, max. 1
year

146.60 (9) (am)

Failure to provide notice of a release of
genetically engineered organisms into the
environment (2nd+ offenses)

max. $50,000, 9 months

146.60 (9) (b)

Confidentiality violation relating to records for
notices of a release of genetically engineered
organisms into the environment

$50-$50,000; 1-6
months

146.84 (2) (a)

Violations relating to patient health care records

max. $25,000, 9 months

153.45 (5) and 153.78
(1)

Unlawful release of certain health care
information by the Department of Health
Services

max. $15,000, 1 year

153.50 and 153.78 (1)

Patient confidentiality violations relating to
health care information

max. $15,000, 1 year

153.75 (1) (a) and

Violations of Department of Health Services

max. $15,000, 1 year

153.78 (1) rules relating to certain health care information

154.15 (1) Intentionally tampering with a declaration to max. $500, 30 days
physicians without the consent of the declarant

154.29 (1) Willfully tampering with the do-not-resuscitate  max. $500, 30 days
bracelet of another person without that person’s
consent

154.29 (3) Intimidating another into signing a do-not- max. $500, 30 days
resuscitate order

154.30 (10) Intentionally tampering with an authorization max. $500, 30 days
for final disposition of another without the
declarant’s consent

155.80 (1) Intimidating another into executing a power of ~ max. $500, 30 days

attorney for health care instrument
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155.80 (2) Intentionally tampering with a power of max. $500, 30 days
attorney for health care instrument

155.80 (3) Falsifying a power of attorney for health care max. $1,000, 9 months
instrument

155.80 (4) Intentionally withholding knowledge of the max. $1,000, 9 months
revocation of a power of attorney for health care
or of the falsification of a power of attorney for
health care instrument

155.80 (5) Attempting to act as a health care agent based max. $1,000, 9 months
on a false power of attorney for health care

157.6 Making a public easement in a cemetery max. $3,000, 1 year

157.64 (2) Various violations relating to the disposition of =~ max. $5,000, 90 days

human remains

(1st offense); $10,000, 9
months (2nd+ offenses)

157.70 (10) (e)

Disturbing a burial site for commercial gain not
related to use of the land where a burial site is
located

max. 2x value gained or
lost, 1 year

165.55 (13) Neglect by an officer to comply with certain $25-$200
arson investigation requirements

165.77 (5) Intentionally disseminating a biological max. $500, 30 days
specimen in an unauthorized manner

167.07 (5) Violations relating to the manufacture, storage,  $5-$25 (1st offense);

or distribution of matches

$25 (2nd+ offenses)

167.10 (9) (a)

Violation of a court order enjoining the sale,
use, storage, or handling of fireworks

max. $10,000, 9 months

167.151 Unlawful operation of corn shredders $25-$100
167.18 Failure to cover or secure threshing machine $2-$50
joints
167.20 (2) Failure to provide stairway guards $25-$100, 30 days-6
months
167.25 (1) Discarding or abandoning a refrigerator without max. $50, 30 days
its door removed
167.26 (6) Leaving unguarded ice holes max. $100, 6 months
167.27 (7) Violations relating to capping and filling wells or  $10-$200, max. 6
similar structures months
167.30 (1) Use of firearms near a public park, square, or $1-$25, max. 60 days

enclosure

167.31 (3) (¢)

Unlawful transport of a firearm, bow, or
crossbow on an aircraft

max. $1,000, 90 days

168.12 (6) (f)

Signing or verifying a fraudulent claim for
aviation fuel allowance

max. $500, 30 days
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168.12 (6) (g)

Assisting another in making a fraudulent claim
for aviation fuel allowance

max. $500, 30 days

169.45 (2) (b)

Unlawfully selling or purchasing a live wild
animal

$100-$2,000, max. 6
months

169.45 (2) (d)

Unlawfully taking bear or deer from the wild

$1,000-$2,000, max. 6
months

169.45 (2) (e)

Unlawfully taking a harmful wild animal from
the wild

$500-$5,000, max. 6
months

169.45 (2) (g)

Obtaining a license relating to captive wildlife
during a period of revocation

max. $200, 90 days

169.45 (5) (a)

Repeat violations relating to captive wildlife
within a period of 5 years

max. $100, 6 months

169.45 (8) (a) 2. Engaging in activity authorized by a captive $500-$1,000
wildlife license during a period of revocation or
suspension

172.015 Permitting livestock on highways max. $200

173.41 (15) (a)

Operating an animal shelter or dog dealer
without a license

max. $10,000, 9 months

174.15

Violations relating to dogs

max. $500, 60 days

175.05 (2) (b)

Willfully entering upon certain posted premises
without permission

max. $50, 30 days

175.05 (5) Going upon closed or restricted highways max. $50, 10 days

175.09 (3) Failure to use standard time in a place of $25-$500, 10-30 days
business

175.10 (2) Sale of certain merchandise to employees by $100-$500, 30-90 days
state agencies or any political subdivision
thereof

175.15 (2) Attending an endurance contest lasting more $5-$25, max. 10 days
than 16 hours in any 24 hour period over a
period of more than 6 days in 1 month

175.15 (3) Operating an endurance contest lasting more $100-$500, 10 days-1
than 16 hours in any 24 hour period over a year
period of more than 6 days in 1 month

175.20 (3) Operating an amusement place without a max. $10,000, 9 months
required license

175.25 (5) Violations relating to the storage of junk $10-$50, max. 30 days

automobiles

175.35 (3) (a) and
(b) 1.

Intentional violations relating to waiting periods
for the purchase of handguns

$500-$10,000, max. 9
months

17537 (2)

Failure to provide to the buyer of a firearm a
written warning before transferring the firearm

max. $500, 30 days
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175.60 (17) (ag)

Violations relating to the maintenance, use and
publication of records relating to licenses to
carry a concealed weapon

max. $500, 30 days

175.60 (17) (ar)

Use of excessive force by a law enforcement
officer based solely on an individual’s status as a
licensee to carry a concealed weapon

max. $500, 30 days

175.60 (17) (b)

Carrying a concealed weapon in certain places

max. $500, 30 days

175.60 (17) (e)

Failure to relinquish or deliver a revoked or
suspended license to carry a concealed weapon

max. $500, 30 days

177.34 (4)

Willfully refusing, after written demand by an
administrator, to pay or deliver property

$100-$5,000, max. 9
months

182.0175 (3r)

Damage to transmission facilities

max. $500, 30 days

185.94 (2) Improper use of the term “cooperative” max. $100
186.03 (4) Improper use of the term “credit union” max. $5,000
191.13 (6) Falsely representing a temporary railroad tobe ~ max. $500, 6 months
something other than a temporary railroad
192.292 Trains obstructing highways max. $500, 15 days
192.327 (8) Violation by a railroad company to comply with  max. $500
an order from the Office of the Commissioner
of Railroads relating to transport of railroad
workers by motor vehicle
193.105 (2) Misuse of the term “cooperative” max. $250

193.311 (6) (¢)

Agricultural product and commodity marketing
contract interference

max. $1,000, 6 months

195.286 (6) Interference with advance warning signs for max. $25
railroad highway crossings

196.171 (3) Obstructing an officer performing inspections ~ max. $25
duties for meters, pipes, fittings, wires, and
works

196.525 (3) Unlawful loans to officers or directors of a max. $10,000
public utility and loans to and investments in
securities of holding companies

196.60 (1) (b) Discrimination in services or charges by an $50-$2,500
officer of a public utility

196.604 Unlawful rebates, concessions, and $50-$5,000
discriminations from a public utility service

196.65 (1) Violations by an officer or agent of a public $100-$5,000

utility relating to information and records

196.65 (3) (b)

Violations by telecommunications workers
relating to information and records

$100-$25,000
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196.65 (3) (¢)

Violations relating to information and records
under the direction of a telecommunications
provider

$500-$25,000

196.67 (3) Failure by a public utility to place warning signs ~ $50-$5,000
near certain overhead electrical supply lines

196.69 (1) Interference with Public Service Commission max. $5,000, 30 days
equipment

199.105 (3) Interfering with the utility service of another max. $1,000, 6 months
who contributes to the Citizens Utility Board

199.14 (3) Corrupt practices and conflicts of interest with max. $1,000, 6 months

the Citizen Utility Board

200.35 (6) (b)

Failure to comply with a requirement by the
Metropolitan Sewerage District Commission to
remove obstructions

$100

202.06 (6) (c) 2.

Violating a restraining order or injunction

$25-5,000, 1 year

213.15 Offering for sale nonstandard hose couplings, $100-$500
fittings, or apparatus fit- tings for fire hoses
215.11 (7) Failure to furnish a surety bond $10
215.21 (23) False statement in a loan application max. $1,000, 6 months
215.26 (6) Acting on behalf of any unauthorized savings $100-$500
and loan association
216.03 Business with or for an unauthorized investment $100-$1,000, 3
association months-1 year
217.16 Various violations relating to a seller of checks ~ max. $500, 6 months

218.0147 (3)

Unlawful sale of a motor vehicle to a minor

max. $200, 6 months

218.02 (10) Violations relating to adjustment service max. $500, 90 days
companies

218.04 (12) Violations relating to collection agencies max. $1,000, 6 months

218.05 (15) Violations relating to community currency max. $2,000, 9 months
exchanges

218.11 (5m) Violations relating to recreational vehicle $25-$100
dealers

218.205 (1) Conducting the business of a motor vehicle $500-$5,000, max. 60

salvage dealer without a license

days

218.23 (3) (a)

Violations relating to the sale of a vehicle to
motor vehicle salvage dealers and maintenance
of records

$25-$200, max. 60 days

218.23 (3) (b)

Violation relating to junking or wrecking a
motor vehicle

$250 (1st offense); $750
(2nd offense); $1,500
(3rd+ offense)
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218.24 (4) Failure to lawfully display a salvage dealer $25-$200, max. 60 days
license number on trucks and truck-tractors

218.305 Auctioning motor vehicles at wholesale without ~ $25-$200, max. 60 days
a license

218.33 (3) Violations relating to conducting the business of = $25-$200, max. 60 days
a motor vehicle auction dealer

218.43 Violations relating to moped dealers $25-$100

218.53 Violations relating to motor vehicle salvage $1,000-$10,000, max.

pools and buyer identification

90 days

220.06 (3) (b)

Redisclosure of information in examination
reports possessed by a bank

$100-$1,000, max. 6
months

221.0525

Failure to certify transferred stock

max. $100

221.0610 (5) ()

False entries in the minute book for meetings of
the board of directors of a bank

$100-$500, 30 days—6
months

223.08 Unlawful use of the word “trust” $300-$1,000, 60 days-1
year
224.03 Unlawful banking without a charter $300-$1,000, 60 days-1
year
224.06 (7) Violations relating to fidelity bonds for bank $100
officers and employees
224.07 Violation of requirements to clear checks at par  unclassified
misdemeanor
224.80 (1) Various violations relating to mortgage bankers, max. $25,000, 9 months
loan originators, and mortgage brokers
230.43 Obstruction or falsifications of civil service $50-$1,000, max. 1 year

examinations

231.02 (6) (a)

Conflicts of interest for members of the
Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities
Authority

$50-$1,000, max. 30
days

236.31 (1) Transfer of lots without a recorded plat max. $500, 6 months

236.32 Disturbing or not placing monuments max. $250, 1 year

236.33 Unlawfully dividing land into small parcels in $100-$500, max. 6
cities of the first class months

236.35 (2) Sale of lands abutting on a private way outside max. $200, 30 days
the corporate limits of a municipality

241.025 Contracts for employment unclassified

misdemeanor
250.04 (7) Violations of Department of Health Services $10-$100

rules governing the duties of local health officers
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250.045 (5) (a)

Violations relating to pharmaceutical drugs and
order authority of the Department of Health
Services

max. $10,000, 1 year

250.045 (5) (b)

Obstructing a Department of Health Services
employee in performing duties relating to
pharmaceutical drugs

max. $5,000, 1 year

252.06 (4) (b) 2.

Unauthorized entrance into isolation or
quarantine premises

max. $10,000, 9 months

252.15 (9) Unlawful disclosure of the results of an HIV test max. $50,000, 90
causing bodily or psychological harm months
252.25 Various violations relating to communicable max. $500, 30 days

diseases

254.30 (2) (b)

Various violations relating to toxic substances
and environmental health

$100-$5,000

254.59 (2) Maintaining certain human health hazards max. $300, 90 days
254.59 (4) Refusal to allow a local health officer to enter $10-$100

into and examine a place to ascertain health

conditions
254.59 (5) Maintaining certain human health hazards max. $300, 90 days

254.92 (2m) (b)

Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (2nd
offense in 30 months)

max. $500, 30 days

254.92 (2m) (c)

Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (3rd
offense in 30 months)

max. $1,000, 90 days

254.92 (2m) (d)

Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (4th+
offenses in 30 months)

max. $10,000, 9 months

255.04 (10) (a)

Unlawful use of information from cancer
reporting

max. $15,000, 1 year

256.30 (7)

Refusal or delay of emergency service

max. $1,000

256.35 (10) (a)

Unlawfully dialing “911”

$100-$600, max. 90
days

256.35 (10) (b)

Unlawful use of information from emergency
medical services

max. $10,000

280.97 Various violations relating to pure drinking $10-$100, max. 30 days
water
283.91 (3) Various violations relating to pollution $10-$25,000, max. 6
discharge months (1st offense);
$10-$50,000, 1 year
(2nd+ offenses)
28391 (4) False statements in pollution discharge $10-$10,000, max. 6

elimination documents

months

285.87 (2) (a)

Various violations relating to air pollution

max. $25,000, 6 months
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291.97 (2) (a)

False statements or tampering with hazardous
waste management documents

$100-$20,000, max. 1
year

293.87 (2) False statements in a metallic mining $1,000-$5,000
application

295.37 (1) False statements in an application relating to oil ~ $1,000-$5,000
and gas

295.79 (3) False statements in a mining permit application ~ $1,000-$5,000

299.53 (4) (¢) 2.

False statements in a use oil fuel notification

max. $25,000, 1 year

299.62 (3) (b)

2nd violation relating to unlawful transport
of oil or hazardous material in bulk on certain
waterways

$10,000-$25,000, max.
6 months

299.83 (10) False statements relating to the Green Tier $10-$10,000, max. 6
Program months
299.85 (10) False statements relating to the Environmental $10-$10,000, max. 6

Compliance Audit Program

months

301.12 (14) (e) 4.

Using an assignment of child support to
discriminate against an employee

max. $500

301.45 (6) (a) 2.

Failure to provide information for sex offender
registration

max. $10,000, 9 months

301.45 (6) (ag) 2.

Unlawful establishment or change of residence
by a sex offender

max. $10,000, 9 months

301.45 (6) (am)

Failure to keep confidential information relating
to sex offender registration

max. $500, 30 days

301.47 (3) (b)

Sex offender name changes

max. $10,000, 9 months

301.475 (2) (a)

Sex offender on school premises without
providing notice

max. $10,000, 9 months

302.07

Failure to obey commands to maintain order in
a prison

max. $500, 1 year

302.375 (1m)

Selling or giving a prisoner liquor or dangerous
drugs

max. $10,000, 9 months

302.375 (2)

Use of intoxicating liquor by a prisoner

max. $10,000, 9 months

302.375 (3) (a)

Allowing prisoners of different sexes to
participate together in treatment or activities

max. $500, 6 months

321.62 (5) (d)

Making or using a false affidavit relating to
service members civil relief

max. $10,000, 9 months

321.62 (11) (c)

Taking part in the eviction of family of a service
member during a period of state active duty

max. $10,000, 9 months

321.62 (12) (c) 2.

Causing a foreclosure, sale, or seizure of
property for any breach of terms occurring
within 90 days after a service member’s period
of active duty

max. $10,000, 9 months
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321.62 (14) (e)

Seizing or retaining personal property belonging
to a service member who lawfully terminates a
lease

max. $10,000, 9 months

321.62 (15) (c)

Enforcing a lien for storage of household goods
or furniture of a service member during a
period of state active duty

max. $10,000, 9 months

322.048

Contempt before a military judge

$100, 30 days

323.60 (11) (d)

Releasing certain trade secrets relating to
hazardous substances entitled to protection

$100-$20,000, max. 1
year

341.45 (6) (a)

False information in a form relating to the
regulation of importation in vehicle tanks

max. $500, 6 months

341.45 (6) (b)

Failure or refusal to make a report or payment
relating to the regulation of importation in
vehicle tanks

max. $5,000, 1 year

341.6

Fraudulent application for a vehicle registration
or license

max. $200, 6 months

342.15 (5m) (b)

Fraud relating to a transfer of interest in a
vehicle

max. $5,000

342.15 (6) (b)

Failure to apply for a new certificate of title
immediately upon transfer of a vehicle with
intent to defraud

max. $1,000, 30 days

342.16 (4) (b)

Transferring a motor vehicle without disclosing
certain information with intent to defraud

max. $5,000

343.05 (5) (am) 1.

Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing
(1st offense)

$200-$600, max. 6
months

343.05 (5) (am) 2.

Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing
(2nd offense in 3 years)

$300-$1,000, 5 days-6
months

343.05 (5) (am) 3.

Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing
(3rd+ offenses in 3 years)

$1,000-$2,000, 10
days—6 months

343.05 (5) (b) 1.

Operating a non-commercial motor vehicle
without a required license

max. $300, max. 30 days
(2nd offense); $500, 6
months (3rd+ offenses)

343.12 (9) (a)

Operating a school bus without authorization
(1st offense)

$200-$600, max. 6
months

343.12 (9) (b)

Operating a school bus without authorization
(2nd offense in 3 years)

$300-$1,000, 5 days—6
months

343.12 (9) (c)

Operating a school bus without authorization
(3rd+ offenses in 3 years)

$1,000-$2,000, 10
days—6 months

343.14 (9)

Committing fraud in an application for a motor
vehicle license or identification card

max. $1,000, 6 months

343.16 (7) (a)

Securing the services of another person to take
an examination for a vehicle license

$100-$200, max. 6
months
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343.16 (7) (b)

Taking an examination for a vehicle license in
the place of another person

$100-$200, max. 6
months (1st offense);
$200-$500, 1 year
(2nd+ offenses)

343.19 (4)

False statements relating to duplicate motor
vehicle licenses or identification cards

max. $1,000, 6 months

343.245 (4) (b)

Allowing certain unauthorized employees to
operate a commercial motor vehicle

$2,750-$25,000, max.
90 days

343.28 (4)

Failure to comply with requirements for
courts to forward records of convictions to the
Department of Transportation

max. $100, 6 months

343.315 (1Im)

Employers allowing drivers to operate a
commercial motor vehicle during a period of
disqualification

max. $5,000, 90 days

343.43 (3) (a)

Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (1st
offense)

$200-$600, max. 6
months

343.43 (3) (b)

Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (2nd
offense in 3 years)

$300-$1,000, 5 days—6
months

343.43 (3) (c)

Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (3rd+
offenses in 3 years)

$1,000-$2,000, 10
days—6 months

343.43 (3m)

Violations relating to operating a “Class D” or
“Class M” vehicle

max. $300, max. 30 days
(2nd offense); $500, 6
months (3rd+ offenses)

343.44 (2) (ar) 2.

Operating a vehicle while revoked (if the
revocation did not result from causing bodily
harm)

max. $2,500, 1 year

343.44 (2) (ar) 3.

Operating a vehicle while revoked (if the
operator causes great bodily harm to another
person and does not know his or her operating
privileges had been revoked)

$5,000-$7,500, max. 1
year

343.44 (2) (ar) 4.

Operating a vehicle while revoked (if the

operator causes the death of another person and

does not know his or her operating privileges
had been revoked)

$7,500-$10,000, max.
1 year

343.44 (2) (br)

Operating a vehicle while disqualified

max. $2,500, 1 year

344.48 (2)

Forged proof relating to financial responsibility

of a vehicle

max. $10,000, 9 months

345.37 (6)

Failure to forward records of convictions to the

Department of Transportation

max. $100

346.17 (2t)

Knowingly resisting a traffic officer by failing to
stop a vehicle after receiving a visible or audible

signal to stop

max. $10,000, 9 months

346.65 (1) (b)

2 or more reckless driving convictions within a
4-year period

$50-$500, max. 1 year
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346.65 (2) (am) 3.

Operating a vehicle under the influence of an
intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior
convictions of causing injury from intoxicated
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of
other suspensions and revocations equals 3)

$600-$2,000, 45 days-1
year

346.65 (2) (am) 4.

Operating a vehicle under the influence of an
intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior
convictions of causing injury from intoxicated
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of
other suspensions and revocations equals 4)

$600-$2,000, 60 days-1
year

346.65 (2) (f) 1.

Operating a vehicle under the influence of an
intoxicant or other drug (if there was a minor
passenger in the motor vehicle at the time of the
violation)

$350-$1,100, 5 days-6
months

346.65 (2j) (am) 2.

Operating a vehicle with an alcohol
concentration of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08
(if the number of prior convictions of causing
injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle
plus the total number of other suspensions and
revocations equals 2)

$300-$1,000, 5 days—6
months

346.65 (2j) (am) 3.

Operating a vehicle with an alcohol
concentration of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08
(if the number of prior convictions of causing
injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle
plus the total number of other suspensions and
revocations equals 3 or more)

$600-5$2,000, 45 days-1
year

346.65 (2q) Operation of a vehicle by a person who hasnot ~ $400
attained the legal drinking age with an alcohol
concentration of more than 0.0 but less than
0.08 (if accompanied by a minor under 16 years
of age)
346.65 (3) Causing bodily harm to another by the negligent $300-$2,000, 30 days-1
operation of a vehicle year
346.65 (3m) Causing injury to another by operating a $300-$2,000, 30 days-1
vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant year
or other drug (if the driver has a prohibited
alcohol concentration under 0.08 or detectable
controlled substance in his or her blood)
346.65 (4) Employment of drunken operators $50-$500, max. 6

months

346.74 (5) (a)

Failure to fulfill a required duty upon striking
a person or an occupied vehicle (if the accident
did not involve death or injury to a person)

$300-$1,000, max. 6
months

346.74 (5) (b)

Failure to fulfill a required duty upon striking
a person or an occupied vehicle (if the accident
involved injury but not great bodily harm)

max. $10,000, 9 months
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347.50 (1m) Operating a vehicle equipped with a transmitter max. $10,000, 1 year
emitting a signal to activate an emergency
preemption device
347.50 (1s) Tampering with an ignition interlock device or ~ $150-$600 (1st offense);
immobilization device $300-$1,000, max. 6
months (2nd+ offenses)
347.50 (2) Tampering with an odometer or airbag max. $5,000, 1 year
349.25(1) Operating a vehicle for hayrack, sleigh, boxsled, max. $100, 30 days

or bobsled rides without a license

350.11 (3) (a) 2.

Intoxicated snowmobiling (2nd offense in 5
years)

$300-$1,000, 5 days—6
months

350.11 (3) (a) 3.

Intoxicated snowmobiling (3rd offense in 5
years)

$600-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

350.11 (3) (b)

Causing injury to another by intoxicated
snowmobiling; refusal to stop for a law
enforcement officer

$300-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

351.08 Operation of a motor vehicle by a habitual max. $5,000, 180 days
traffic offender or repeat habitual traffic offender

425.401 (1) Various violations relating to consumer max. $2,000
transactions

425.401 (2) Intentional violation of requirements to notice max. $500

law enforcement about repossessing certain
motor vehicle collateral or goods

440.03 (14) (f)

Violations relating to practicing certain
therapies

max. $200, 6 months

440.032 (9)

Violations relating to sign language interpreting

max. $200, 6 months

440.21 (4) (b)

Violating a temporary restraining order or
injunction issued by a court relating to engaging
in a practice without a credential required by
the Department of Safety and Professional
Services

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

440.26 (8) Acting as a private detective, investigator, or $100-$500, 3-6 months
private security person without a license or
permit

440.311 (2) Using the title “behavior analyst” without a max. $250, 3 months
license

440.495 Violating Department of Safety and Professional max. $1,000
Services rules relating to transportation network
companies

440.86 (1) Various violations relating to crematory max. $1,000, 6 months
authorities

440.95 (1) Knowing failure by a cemetery authority to be max. $100

licensed
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440.95 (2) Failure by a cemetery salesperson to register $25-$200, max. 6
with the Department of Safety and Professional ~ months
Services
440.95 (3) Violations relating to cemetery authoritiesand  max. $5,000, 6 months
cemetery salespersons (1st offense); $10,000, 9
months (2nd+ offenses)
440.95 (4) Violations relating to cemetery preneed sellers ~ max. $1,000, 90 days
440.968 (2) Using the title “Wisconsin registered interior $100-$500, max. 3
designer” without being registered months
440.981 (2) Using the title “licensed midwife” without a max. $250, 3 months

license

440. 9965 and 440.997

Violations by an athlete agent intending to
induce a student athlete to enter into an agency
contract

max. $10,000, 9 months

441.13 (1)

Various violations relating to nursing regulation

max. $250, 1 year

44211

Violations relating to practicing as a certified
public accountant without the required
credentials

max. $500, 1 year

443.18 (1) (a)

Violations relating to practicing as an architect
or engineer without the required credentials

$100-$500, max. 3
months

443.18 (3) Various violations relating to architects, max. $500, 3 months
engineers, designers, and surveyors

445.15 (1) Various violations relating to funeral directors max. $5,000, 30 days-3

months

445.15 (1m) Requirements by a funeral director or operator ~ max. $5,000
for a client who enters into a burial agreement
to purchase a life insurance policy used to
fund the agreement from a specified insurance
intermediary

446.07 Various violations relating to the practice of max. $10,000, 9 months
chiropractic

447.09 Various violations relating to the practice of max. $1,000, 1 year
dentistry

448.09 (1) Billing a patient for a test performed by the state max. $250
laboratory of hygiene by a Medical Examining
Board licensee

448.09 (1) Various violations by any person relating to the ~ max. $10,000, 9 months
Medical Examining Board

448.09 (1m) Various violations by a physician relating to the  max. $25,000, 9 months
Medical Examining Board

448.59 Various violations relating to the Physical max. $10,000, 9 months

Therapy Examining Board
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448.69 (1) (a)

Various violations relating to the Podiatry
Affiliated Credentialing Board

max. $10,000, 9 months

448.69 (1) (b)

Billing a patient for a test performed by the state
laboratory of hygiene by a Podiatry Affiliated
Credentialing Board licensee

max. $250

448.94 Various violations relating to the Dietitians max. $1,000, 6 months
Affiliated Credentialing Board

448.959 Various violations relating to the Athletic max. $10,000, 9 months
Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board

448.970 (1) Various violations relating to the Occupational ~ max. $10,000, 9 months
Therapists Affiliated Credentialing Board

449.11 Various violations relating to the Optometry $50-$200, max. 3

Examining Board

months (1st offense);
$200-$500, 3—6 months
(2nd+ offenses)

450.11 (9) (a)

Violations relating to prescription drugs and
devices

max. $500, 6 months

450.155 (2) (b)

Exhibition, display, or advertisement of certain
vending machines by use of material harmful to
minors

max. $10,000, 9 months

450.16 (3) Sale of contraceptives in a public school max. $10,000, 9 months

450.18 Various violations relating to the Pharmacy $50-$100, 30-90 days
Examining Board

451.16 Various violations relating to acupuncture $100-$1,000, max. 90

days

452.17 (1) Acting as a broker or salesperson without a max. $1,000, 6 months
license

452.17 (3) Various violations relating to real estate practice max. $1,000, 6 months

454.16 Various violations relating to the Cosmetology ~ $100-$5,000, 10-90
Examining Board days

454.295 Various violations relating to barbering $100-$5,000, 10-90

days

455.11 Various violations relating to the Psychology max. $200, 6 months
Examining Board

456.09 (2) Violations relating to nursing home max. $1,000, 1 year
administration

458.3 Various violations relating to the Real Estate max. $1,000, 6 months
Appraisers Board

463.18 Violation of laws relating to body art max. $500, 30 days

470.09 (2) Various violations relating to the Examining max. $10,000

Board of Professional Geologists, Hydrologists,
and Soil Scientists
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480.26 (1)

Various violations relating to the Auctioneer
Board

max. $1,000, 6 months

562.025 and 562.13
(2) (o)

Conflicts of interest relating to racing and pari-
mutuel wagering

max. $10,000, 9 months

562.05 (1) and 562.13
(2) (0

Engaging in racing or pari-mutuel wagering
activities without a license

max. $10,000, 9 months

562.06 (5) and 562.13
(2) (0

Accepting a wager or making a payout on a
wager to a minor

max. $10,000, 9 months

562.11 (1) and 562.13
(2) (¢

Violations relating to certain racing or pari-
mutuel wagering activities

max. $10,000, 9 months

562.13 (2) False statements in an application for a license max. $10,000, 9 months
relating to racing and pari-mutuel wagering

563.73 (1) Violations relating to restrictions on the conduct max. $10,000, 9 months
of bingo

563.73 (2) Various violations relating to bingo and raffle max. $5,000, 90 days
control

563.99 (1) Various violations relating to raffles max. $1,000, 30 days

565.02 (2m) and
565.50 (1)

False statements in applications for positions
administering state lottery operations

max. $10,000, 9 months

565.05 and 565.50 (1)

Contflicts of interest for employees
administering the state lottery

max. $10,000, 9 months

565.10 (3m) and
565.50 (1)

False statements by retailers applying for a state
lottery retail contract

max. $10,000, 9 months

565.17 and 565.50 (1)

Violations relating to limitations on state lottery
ticket and share sales and purchases

max. $10,000, 9 months

565.25 (3m) and
565.50 (1)

False statements in proposing to contract for a
major procurement for the state lottery

max. $10,000, 9 months

565.32 (1), (2) (b), or
(3) and 565.50 (1)

Violations relating to advertising and ticket and
share contents for the state lottery

max. $10,000, 9 months

565.50 (3)

Possessing an altered or forged lottery ticket
with intent to defraud

max. $10,000, 9 months

610.70 (7) (a)

Willfully obtaining information about an
individual from an insurer under false pretenses

max. $25,000, 9 months

647.07 Various violations relating to continuing care max. $10,000, 9 months
contracts

708.03 Designation of an attorney by a lender for a max. $100
mortgagor

756.255 Use of jury duty service by an employer for a max. $200
discriminatory action

757.22 (5) Judges acting as an attorney or attorneys having max. $100

office with a judge

Statutory Misdemeanors in Wisconsin 37



2017 Statute section

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

757.295 (4) Barratry max. $500, 6 months

757.30 (1) Practicing law without a license $50-$500, max. 1 year

757.45 Sharing of compensation by attorneys max. $500, 6 months

765.30 (1) Marriage outside the state to circumvent laws max. $10,000, 9 months

765.30 (2) False statements in applying for a marriage max. $10,000, 9 months
license

765.30 (3) Unlawful solemnization of marriage $100-$500, max. 6

months

765.30 (4) Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the $10-$200, max. 3
parties to the marriage months

765.30 (5) Various violations relating to marriage $10-$50

767.75 (6) (c) Use of a child or family support assignment max. $500

by an employer to discriminate against an
employee or applicant

768.07 Various violations relating to the abolishment max. $10,000, 9 months
of actions for breach of promise, alienation of
affection, or criminal conversation

778.16 Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to $50-$300, 3-6 months
perform forfeiture collection duties

778.30 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning max. $500
an employee’s income to pay forfeitures to
discriminate against the employee

779.02 (7) Wrongful use of materials by a contractor max. $300, 3 months

779.42 Obtaining a mechanic’s services by max. $200, 6 months
misrepresentation of interest in personal
property

779.49 (2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam max. $10, 60 days
(animal)

782.38 Reimprisonment max. $1,000, 6 months

782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of max. $1,000, 6 months
habeas corpus

784.1 Failure to deliver books or papers unclassified

misdemeanor

785.04 (2) (a)

Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure

max. $5,000, 1 year

785.04 (2) (b)

Contempt of court in a summary procedure

max. $500, 30 days

800.095 (1) (¢) 11. Use by an employer of an assignment for failure  max. $500
to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate
against the employee

800.12 (3) Contempt of court including misconduct in the =~ max. 7 days

presence of the court or the refusal of a witness
to appear
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813.12 (8) (a)

Violation of a temporary domestic abuse
restraining order or injunction

max. $10,000, 9 months

813.122 (11)

Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining
order or injunction

max. $1,000, 9 months

813.123 (10)

Violation of a temporary restraining order or
injunction for individuals at risk

max. $1,000, 9 months

813.125 (7) Violation of a temporary harassment restraining max. $10,000, 9 months
order or injunction
813.128 (4) Violation of a condition of a foreign protection =~ max. $1,000, 9 months

order

813.1285 (8)

Violation of court order to surrender a firearm

max. $10,000, 9 months

823.12

Violation of various injunctions relating to
nuisances

$200-$1,000, 3-6
months

846.40 (10) (d) 1.

Fraud relating to foreclosure reconveyances

max. $50,000, 1 year

846.45 (6) ()

Violations relating to foreclosure consultants

$25-$10,000, max. 1
year

856.05 (3) Failure to deliver a will or suppression of awill ~ max. $500, 1 year

885.11 (3) Inexcusable failure by a witness to attend a court max. $200
of record

939.32 (1) (bm) Attempt to commit a Class I felony A

939.615 (7) (b) 1. Violation of a condition of lifetime supervision =~ A

940.19 (1) Battery A

940.195 (1) Battery to an unborn child A

940.22 (3) (d) Failure by a therapist to report sexual A
exploitation by another therapist

940.22 (4) (d) Failure to maintain confidentiality of reports A
and records relating to sexual exploitation by a
therapist

940.225 (3m) 4th degree sexual assault A

940.285 (2) (b) 4. Subjecting an individual at risk to abuse under A
circumstances causing bodily harm

940.285 (2) (b) 5. Subjecting an individual at risk to abuse under B
circumstances not causing bodily harm

940.291 (1) Failure by a law enforcement officer to render A
first aid

940.291 (2) Law enforcement officer permitting another to A
fail to render first aid

940.295 (3) (b) 4. Reckless abuse or neglect of patients or residents A

at community residential facilities under
circumstances causing bodily harm
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940.295 (3) (b) 5. Reckless abuse or neglect of patients or residents B
at community residential facilities under
circumstances not causing bodily harm

940.315 (1) Violations relating to use of global positioning A
systems

940.34 (1) (a) Failure to summon law enforcement for a victim C
of a crime causing bodily harm

940.34 (1) (b) Failure by a private detective to notify law C
enforcement of a crime

940.34 (1) (¢) Failure by a private security person to notify law C
enforcement of a crime

940.42 Intimidation of witnesses A

940.44 Intimidation of victims

941.01 (1) Negligent operation of a vehicle endangering
another’s safety

941.10 (1) Negligent handling of burning material A

941.12 (2) Interfering with fire fighting A

941.12 (3) Interfering with accessibility to a fire hydrant C

941.13 False alarms A

941.20 (1) Endangering safety by use of a dangerous A
weapon

941.23 (2) Unqualified carrying of a concealed weapon A

941.231 Carrying a concealed knife

941.235 (1) Unqualified carrying of a firearm in a public A
building

941.237 (2) Carrying a handgun where alcoholic beverages A
may be sold and consumed

941.26 (2) (¢) Possession of a bomb A

941.26 (4) (b) Intentional use of pepper spray to cause bodily A
harm

941.26 (4) (j) Selling pepper spray without adequate labeling A

941.26 (4) (L) Possession of pepper spray by a felon A

941.299 (3) (a) Directing a laser pointer at law enforcement B

941.315 (2) Possession or inhalation of nitrous oxide A

941.316 (2) Possession or abuse of hazardous substances A

941.36 (1) Fraudulent tapping of electric wires, gas, water, C

meters, or pipes
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941.37 (2) Obstructing emergency or rescue personnel A

941.38 (3) Violation of a court order to refrain from A
contacting a criminal gang member

941.39 (2) Violation of a court order prohibiting contact A
with victims

941.40 (1) Disturbing telecommunications or electricity B
lines by affecting a structure

941.40 (2) Intentional disturbance of telecommunications B
or electricity lines

941.40 (3) Intentionally causing an electrical connection A
with telecommunications or electricity lines

942.01 (1) Defamation A

942.03 Giving false information for publication A

942.05 Opening letters A

942.06 (3) Use of polygraphs and similar tests B

942.07 (4) Use of genetics tests B

942.08 (2) Invasion of privacy A

942.09 (3m) (a) Posting or publishing certain depictions of A
persons

942.09 (5) (a) Capturing a representation of a nude personina A
locker room

943.01 (1) Damage to physical property

943.014 (2) Demolition of a historic building without A
authorization

943.017 (1) Graffiti A

943.07 (3) Throwing or shooting at railroads B

943.07 (4) Depositing dangerous debris on a railroad track B

943.11 Entry into a locked vehicle A

943.125 (1) Entry into a locked coin box A

943.125 (2) Possession of a device intended for breaking A
into a coin box

943.14 Criminal trespass to dwellings A

943.145 (2) Criminal trespass to a medical facility

943.15 (1) Entry onto a construction site or into a locked A
building, dwelling, or room

943.20 (3) (a) Theft (if the value of the property does not A

exceed $2,500)
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943.207 (3m) (a)

Unlawful transfer of recorded sounds (if
involving fewer than 1,000 recordings that do
not exceed $2,500 in value)

A

943.208 (2) (a)

Recording a performance without the consent
of the performance owner (if involving fewer
than 1,000 sound recordings or 100 audiovisual
recordings during a 180-day period and the
value of the recordings does not exceed $2,500)

943.209 (2) (a)

Failure to disclose the manufacturer of

a recording (if involving fewer than 100
recordings during a 180-day period and the
value of the recordings does not exceed $2,500)

943.21 (3) (am) 1.

Fraud on a hotel or restaurant keeper,
recreational attraction, taxicab operator, or gas
station (if the value of the service is $2,500 or
less)

943.215 (1)

Absconding without paying rent

943.23 (3m)

Operating a vehicle without the owner’s consent
for less than 24 hours

943.23 (4m)

Riding as a passenger in a vehicle operated
without the owner’s consent

943.23 (5)

Removal of minor parts of a vehicle without the
owner’s consent

943.24 (1)

Issuing worthless checks for $2,500 or less

943.26 (1)

Removing or damaging encumbered real
property

943.34 (1) (a)

Receiving stolen property (if the value of the
property does not exceed $2,500)

943.37

Alteration of property identification marks

943.38 (3)

Forgery; falsely making or altering objects and
certain writings or documents

943.392

Fraudulent data alteration

943.395 (2) (a)

Fraudulent insurance and employee benefit
program claims (if the value of the claim does
not exceed $2,500)

943.41 (8) (a)

Making false statements to procure a financial
transaction card; theft by taking a card or
signing another’s card

943.41 (8) (c)

Fraudulent use of a financial transaction card
(if the value of the money, goods, services, or
property does not exceed $2,500)

943.45 (3) (a)

Theft of telecommunications service (1st
offense)
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943.45 (3) (b) Theft of telecommunications service (2nd+ B
offenses)

943.45 (3) (¢) Theft of telecommunications service (for direct A
or indirect commercial advantage or private
financial gain)

943.455 (4) (b) Theft of commercial mobile service (2nd+ B
offenses)

943.455 (4) (¢) Theft of commercial mobile service (for direct A
or indirect commercial advantage or private
financial gain)

943.46 (4) (a) Theft of cable television service (1st offense) C

943.46 (4) (b) Theft of cable television service (2nd+ offenses)

943.46 (4) (c) Theft of cable television service (for direct A
or indirect commercial advantage or private
financial gain)

943.47 (3) (b) Theft of satellite cable programming (2nd+ B
offenses)

943.47 (3) (c) Theft of satellite cable programming (for direct A
or indirect commercial advantage or private
financial gain)

943.49 (2) (b) 1. Use of a recording device in a movie theater A
without written consent

943.50 (4) (a) Retail theft (if the value of the merchandise does A
not exceed $500)

943.61 (5) (a) Theft of library material (if the value of the A
library materials does not exceed $2,500)

943.62 (4) (a) Unlawful receipt of payments to obtain a loan A
for another (if the value of the payment does not
exceed $2,500)

943.70 (2) (b) 1. Computer crimes; offenses against computer A
data and programs

943.70 (3) (b) 1. Computer crimes; offenses against computers, A
computer equipment, or supplies

943.74 (3) (a) Theft of farm-raised fish A

943.75 (2) Unauthorized release of animals C (1st offense); A (2nd
offense)
943.76 (3) (a) Infecting livestock with a contagious disease A
through reckless conduct
943.76 (3) (b) Infecting wild deer with a contagious disease A

through reckless conduct
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943.81 and 943.91 (1) Theft from a financial institution (if the value of A
the money, funds, credits, assets, securities, or
property does not exceed $500)

943.82 (1) and 943.91 Fraud against a financial institution (if the value A

(1) of the money, funds, credits, assets, securities, or
property does not exceed $500)

943.83 and 943.91 (1) Loan fraud (if the value of the loan does not A
exceed $500)

943.84 and 943.91 (1) Transfer of encumbered property (if the value of A
the property does not exceed $500)

944.15 (2) Public fornication A

944.17 (2) Sexual gratification A

944.20 (1) Lewd or lascivious behavior A

944.21 (5) (b) Obscenity (if the person has 1 prior obscenity A
conviction)

944.23 Making lewd, obscene, or indecent drawingsin ~ C
public

944.25 (2) Sending obscene or sexually explicit electronic A
messages

944.3 Prostitution A

944.31 (1) Patronizing prostitutes (1st or 2nd violation) A

944.33 (1) Pandering A

944.36 Solicitation of drinks by an entertainer or B
employee of a licensee, permittee, or bartender
of a retail alcohol beverage establishment

945.02 Gambling B

945.04 (1m) Permitting premises to be used for commercial =~ A
gambling

945.07 (1) Gambling by participants in a contest

945.08 (2) Agreeing to being bribed as a participant in a A
contest

946.06 (1) Improper use of the flag A

946.16 Judicial officer collecting claims

946.17 Corrupt means to influence legislation; A
disclosure of interest

946.32 (2) False swearing

946.40 (1) Refusing to aid an officer C

946.41 (1) Resisting or obstructing an officer
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946.42 (2) Escape from custody A

946.425 (1m) (a) Failure to report to jail (for a person who A
receives a stay of execution of imprisonment of
less than 10 days)

946.425 (1r) (a) Failure to report to jail (for a person who is A
subject to a confinement order as the result of a
conviction for a misdemeanor)

946.45 (1) Negligently allowing escape B

946.46 Encouraging a violation of probation, extended A
supervision, or parole

946.49 (1) (a) Bail jumping (if the offense with which the A
person is charged is a misdemeanor)

946.495 Violation of a nonsecure custody order

946.50 (6) Absconding (if the person was adjudicated A
delinquent for committing a misdemeanor if
committed by an adult)

946.52 Failure to submit required biological specimen A

946.67 (1) Compounding crime

946.70 (1) (a) Impersonating a peace officer with intent to A
mislead others

946.70 (1) (b) Impersonating a fire fighter with intent to A
mislead others

946.70 (1) (c) Impersonating an emergency medical services A
practitioner with intent to mislead others

946.70 (1) (d) Impersonating an emergency medical responder A
with intent to mislead others

946.71 (2) Unlawful use of a license for carrying concealed A
weapons

946.72 (2) Tampering with public notices

946.73 Violation of laws governing state fair park C
or any state or county charitable, curative,
reformatory, or penal institution while within
the same grounds

946.74 (1) Aiding escape from mental institutions A

946.75 Denial of right of counsel A

946.78 (2) False statements regarding military service A

946.90 (2) False statements in Wisconsin Works A
application

946.93 (2) False statements in application for public A

assistance
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946.93 (4) Obtaining public assistance through a third C
party
947.01 (1) Disorderly conduct B
947.011 (3) (a) Disrupting a funeral or memorial service A
947.012 (1) Unlawful use of a telephone B
947.0125 (2) Unlawful use of computerized communication B
systems
947.013 (1r) Harassment accompanied by a credible threat A
that places the victim in reasonable fear of death
or great bodily harm
947.02 Vagrancy
947.04 (1) Drinking in common carriers
947.06 (3) Intentional failure or refusal to withdraw from
an unlawful assembly which the person knows
has been ordered to disperse
947.07 (2) Causing violence or a breach of peace by A
damaging or destroying a U.S. flag
947.2 Violation of right to work laws
947.21 Labor peace agreements prohibited A
948.09 Sexual intercourse with a child age 16 or older,
if defendant is age 19 or older when violation
occurs
948.10 (1) (b) Exposing genitals or pubic area to a child, or A
causing a child to expose genitals or pubic
area, for purposes of sexual arousal or sexual
gratification (when the actor is a child)
948.11 (2) (b) Intent to expose a child to harmful material A
948.21 (3) (f) Neglecting a child, if natural and probable
consequences would be harmful although no
harm occurred
948.22 (3) Failure to provide spousal, grandchild, or child A
support (for less than 120 consecutive days)
948.23 (3) (¢) 1. Failure to report the disappearance of a child A
(when no bodily harm is a consequence)
948.25 (1) Unauthorized interstate placement of a child A
948.40 (4) Contributing to the delinquency of a child A
948.45 (1) Contributing to truancy C
948.50 (3) Strip search of a pupil by a school employee B
948.51 (3) (a) Hazing (if the act results in or is likely to result A

in bodily harm to another)
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948.53 (2) (b) 1. Child left unattended in a child care vehicle A
(when no bodily harm is a consequence)

948.55 (2) Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within A
the reach or easy access of a child (if the child
discharges the firearm causing bodily harm)

948.55 (3) Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within C
the reach or easy access of a child (if the child
possesses or exhibits the firearm in a public
place)

948.60 (2) (a) Possession of a dangerous weapon by a person A
under 18

948.61 (2) (a) Possession of a dangerous weapon other thana A
firearm on school premises

948.62 (1) (a) Receiving stolen property from a child (if the A
value of the property does not exceed $500)

948.63 Receiving property from a child A

949.165 (14)

Violations relating to payment to and
establishment of escrow accounts

max. $500, 30 days

949.17 (2) Misrepresentation associated with the crime max. $500, 6 months
victim compensation pro- gram
949.37 (2) Misrepresentation associated with awards max. $500, 6 months

for sexual assault forensic examination
compensation

951.02 and 951.18 (1)

Mistreating animals

951.025and 951.18  Killing an animal by means of decompression A

(1)

951.03 and 951.18 (1) Dognapping and catnapping A

951.04 and 951.18 (1) Leading an animal upon a highway from a A
motor vehicle

951.05 and 951.18 (1) Transportation of animals in a cruel manner A

951.06 and 951.18 (1) Exposing a domestic animal to poisonous or A
controlled substances

951.07 and 951.18 (1)  Using certain devices on animals to ready them A
for an exhibition, competition, rodeo, circus, or
other performance

951.08 (2m) and Owning an animal within 5 years of conviction A

951.18 (2) for instigating fights between animals

951.08 (3) and 951.18 Spectating a cockfight, dog fight, bullfight, or A

2) other fight between animals

951.09 and 951.18 (1) Shooting at caged or staked animals A

951.095 and 951.19 Harassment of police and fire animals (whenno A

(2m)

injury is a consequence)
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951.097 (1) (b) 1.or  Reckless harassment of service dogs B
(2) (a) and 951.18 (2s)
951.097 (1) (b) 2., Intentional harassment of service dogs or A
(2) (b), or (3) (a) and  recklessly injuring a service dog
951.18 (2s)
951.10 and 951.18 (1) Unlawful sale of baby rabbits, chicks, and other A
fowl
951.11 and 951.18 (1) Artificially coloring animals A
951.13 and 951.18 (1) Failure to provide proper food and drink to
confined animals
951.14 and 951.18 (1) Failure to provide proper shelter to confined A
animals
951.15and 951.18 (1) Abandoning animals A
961.41 (3g) (b) Possession of a controlled substance not unclassified
included in schedule I or II that is a narcotic misdemeanor

drug

961.41 (3g) (c)

Possession of cocaine and cocaine base (1st
offense)

max. $5,000, 1 year

961.41 (3g) (d)

Possession of certain hallucinogenic and
stimulant drugs (1st offense)

max. $5,000, 1 year

961.41 (3g) (e)

Possession of tetrahydrocannabinols (1st
offense)

max. $1,000, 6 months

961.41 (3g) (em)

Possession of synthetic cannabinoids (1st
offense)

max. $1,000, 6 months

961.41 (4) (bm)

Manufacture, delivery, distribution, or
dispensation of imitation controlled substances

max. $500, 6 months

961.435 Use or prescription by a practitioner of a max. $500, 30 days
controlled substance in schedule I, II, III, or IV

961.573 (1) Possession of drug paraphernalia max. $500, 30 days
961.574 (1) Manufacture or delivery of drug paraphernalia ~ max. $1,000, 90 days
961.575 (1) Delivery of drug paraphernalia to a minor max. $10,000, 9 months
961.576 Advertisement of drug paraphernalia max. $500, 30 days
961.69 (2) Use of a masking agent max. $500, 30 days
961.69 (3) Manufacture or delivery of a masking agent max. $1,000, 90 days
961.69 (4) Advertisement of a masking agent max. $500, 30 days

968.075 (5) (a) 2.

Contact with an alleged victim immediately
following an arrest for a domestic abuse incident

max. $10,000, 9 months

968.255 (4)

Intentional violation of strip search
requirements

max. $1,000, 90 days
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968.26 (4) (d)

Violation of a secrecy order

max. $10,000, 9 months

968.34 (3) Unlawful use of a pen register or trap and trace  max. $10,000, 9 months
device

968.49 Failure to attend as a grand juror after being max. $40
lawfully summoned without a sufficient excuse

973.05 (5) (g) Use by an employer of an assignment for max. $500

an employee’s failure to pay certain fines,
surcharges, costs, or fees to discriminate against
the employee

973.07 Failure to pay a fine, fees, surcharges, or costs or max. 6 months
to comply with certain community service work
976.03 (11) Officer delivering a person in custody to an max. $1,000, 6 months
extradition agent of another state
979.01 (2) Violations relating to reporting deaths max. $1,000, 90 days
979.10 (4) Unlawful cremation without a permit max. $10,000, 9 months
985.03 (2) Causing a legal notice to be published in an max. $100

ineligible newspaper or failure to cause such
legal notice in any newspaper

995.67 (2) (b)

Disclosure by a domestic abuse services
organization of the location of certain people

max. $500, 30 days
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