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SCHOOL CHOICE OPTIONS IN WISCONSIN

OVERVIEW

A free public education is guaranteed
by the Wisconsin Constitution in Article X,
Section 3: “The legislature shall provide by
law for the establishment of district schools,
which shall be as nearly uniform as practica-
ble; and such schools shall be free and without
charge for tuition to all children...” Children
in Wisconsin are generally required to at-
tend school while they are between the ages
of 6 and 18 years (Section 118.15, Wisconsin
Statutes, “Compulsory school attendance.”)
and must participate in an educational pro-
gram as defined by law or be considered tru-
ant. This brief discusses the public and pri-
vate educational options available to parents
of school aged children.

Within the category of public schools,
parents have a number of options for educat-
ing their children. Among the options: par-
ents may choose to send their child to the el-
ementary or high school in the school district
to which the child is assigned based on resi-
dency; an intradistrict school if offered by the
district; a school in another public school dis-
trict under the interdistrict open enrollment
program; a brick-and-mortar charter school
or a virtual charter school; a public school
in a neighboring district under the School
Integration Transfer Aid Program; and one
or more classes at a University of Wisconsin
System institution or technical college un-
der the Youth Options Program or Course
Options Program.

Nonpublic educational options include
private schools or home schooling, generally
at the parents” expense. However, any eligi-
ble low-income student in the Milwaukee and

Racine school districts, and a limited number
of students in school districts throughout the
state may apply to attend private schools
through the state-funded Parental Choice
Programs.

PUBLIC SCHOOLS

About 87% of the state’s approximately
one million elementary and secondary pu-
pils are enrolled in schools in the state’s 424
public school districts. Apart from certain
extracurricular and other fees, a public edu-
cation is provided at no cost to an enrolled
student. Free transportation is also generally
provided to eligible students, based primar-
ily on the distance from a student’s home to
the school in which the pupil is enrolled. If
a district contains multiple facilities, students
are typically assigned to a particular elemen-
tary or secondary school based on location.
Intradistrict choice allows students to transfer
from the school in their assigned attendance
area to other public schools within the same
district. Intradistrict programs are developed
at the local level without state involvement
and permit selection of different programs
or different schools in the district. Magnet
schools offering specialized programs with
high academic standards in subject areas such
as mathematics, science, and the performing
arts are examples of intradistrict choice.

Full-Time Open Enrollment Inter-District
Transfers

Wisconsin’s inter-district open enroll-
ment program (also known as “Public School
Choice”) allows parents to apply to send their
children to a school in a school district other
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than the one in which they reside. Any stu-
dent in grades kindergarten to 12 may apply
to attend school in any public school district
in the state. However, students may apply for
4-year old kindergarten, prekindergarten, ear-
ly childhood education, and school-operated
day care only if the student’s resident school
district offers the same type of program and if
the student is eligible for that program in his
or her district of residence. An open enrolled
student has all the rights and privileges, in-
cluding participation in extracurricular activi-
ties, of resident students and is subject to the
same rules and regulations. During the 2013-
14 school year, approximately 50,000 students
statewide transferred to other districts using
open enrollment.

Space Available. Every school district
must accept eligible nonresident students
into all grades for which it has space avail-
able, although limitations may be imposed
due to racial balance, class size, particular
student needs, or transportation availability.
A school district may not refuse to participate
in the open enrollment program. The num-
ber of spaces must annually be determined by
the school board at its January meeting. The
board may take into account building capac-
ity and projected enrollment in all of the dis-
trict’s schools, programs, classes, and grades,
and may “reserve” some spaces for school
district population growth. It may not, how-
ever, set a maximum desired percentage of
nonresident students.

Applications. The open enrollment ap-
plication period begins on the first Monday
in February and ends at 4:00 p.m. on the last
weekday in April. While late applications may
generally not be accepted, 2011 Wisconsin Act
114 created an exception for out-of-cycle open
enrollments in certain circumstances: cases of
bullying and harassment; a recent move into
the state; homelessness; a change of address
due to military orders; the student having
been a victim of a violent criminal offense; a
change of residence as a result of a court order,

custody agreement, or foster placement; or
the parent and the nonresident school board
agreeing that attending school in the nonresi-
dent school district is in the best interests of
the student. A student may apply to no more
than three nonresident school districts in an
application period.

If there are more applications than spac-
es for a particular grade or program, prior-
ity goes to nonresident students currently
attending through open enrollment and any
of their siblings who have also applied. If
there are still spaces after approving all pri-
ority students, the remaining spaces must be
filled randomly. If, in the random selection
process, a student is selected, that student’s
siblings must be granted preference for the
next available spaces.

Applications may generally only be de-
nied if there is no space available, or for cer-
tain other reasons such as expulsion and tru-
ancy issues. A denial may be appealed to the
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
(DPI), and the state superintendent’s deci-
sion may be appealed to the resident’s circuit
court. The department is required to uphold
the board’s decision unless it finds it was “ar-
bitrary or unreasonable.”

Under the open enrollment program,
students apply to districts, and not to indi-
vidual schools. A student may request place-
ment in a particular school or program, but
assignment to that school or program is not
guaranteed. Similarly, a student may request
placement in a charter school established by
the school board of the nonresident school
district, including a virtual, online charter
school, but assignment to the charter school is
not guaranteed. Once a student is attending
a nonresident school district under open en-
rollment, the student may continue to attend
without reapplication, except that the nonres-
ident district may require the student to reap-
ply, but only once, and only when the student
is entering middle school, junior high, or high
school.
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Cost. There is no tuition cost to parents
for participation in open enrollment, and par-
ents of nonresident students may be charged
only the same fees as resident students. For
regular education students, open enrollment
is funded by a transfer of state aids from the
student’s resident school district to the non-
resident school district. The transfer amount
is equal to the statewide average per pupil
school district cost for regular instruction, co-
curricular activities, instructional support ser-
vices, and pupil support services in the previ-
ous school year. The amount, $6,635 for the
2014-15 school year, is an approximation of
the “marginal cost” to the nonresident school
district of educating an additional student.
The resident district counts that student as
part of its membership for state aid and rev-
enue limit purposes.

For special education students, the resi-
dent school district directly pays the nonresi-
dent district the cost of the special education,
which includes the transfer amount for regu-
lar education students plus any actual, addi-
tional, special education costs to educate the
student. Open enrollment may be denied by
the resident school district if the cost of a stu-
dent’s special education in the nonresident
school district imposes an undue financial
burden on the resident school district.

Transportation. Parents of open enrolled
students are generally responsible for trans-
porting their child to and from school in the
nonresident school district. The primary ex-
ception is when the individualized education
program for a disabled student specifically
requires that transportation be provided. In
that case, the nonresident school district is
responsible for providing the transportation.
Low-income parents may be eligible for re-
imbursement of transportation costs by DPL
Either district may choose to provide trans-
portation to an open enrolled student, but the
nonresident school district may not pick up
or drop off any open enrolled student within
the boundaries of the student’s resident dis-

trict without the approval of the resident dis-
trict’s school board. If the nonresident district
chooses to provide transportation to an open
enrolled student, it may charge parents for
the cost, or the district may receive categori-
cal transportation aid if it does not charge the
parent. It may also decide to provide trans-
portation through a “parent contract,” under
which it reimburses the parent’s transporta-
tion costs.

History and More Information. The
Open Enrollment Program, Section 118.51,
Wisconsin Statutes, was created by 1997
Wisconsin Act 27. For more information: DPI
Web site: http://oe.dpi.wi.gov/. Telephone:
888-245-2732. E-mail: openenrollment@dpi.
wi.gov.

Course Options Program

The Course Options Program allows stu-
dents enrolled in Wisconsin public school
districts to attend up to two courses at a time
in a variety of educational institutions. The
Course Options Program, which was created
by 2013 Wisconsin Act 20, supersedes the
Part-Time Open Enrollment Program, which
had permitted students only to enroll in up
to two courses at a time in another school dis-
trict. The Course Options Program continues
to allow attendance at a nonresident school
district, but expands the eligible choices to a
University of Wisconsin System institution,
a technical college, a nonprofit institution of
higher education, a tribal college, a charter
school (including a virtual charter school),
and any nonprofit organization that has been
approved by DPL

Any public school district student, in-
cluding those enrolled in a nonresident dis-
trict through the Full-Time Open Enrollment
program, my apply to an eligible educational
institution provided a course satisfies a high
school graduation requirement and, if ap-
plicable, conforms to or supports a pupil’s
academic and career plan. Courses taken
through the program are free for students
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and their families, with the student’s resident
school district paying the cost to the other
educational institution. Courses conducted
wholly or partially online are eligible for the
program. Because there are no grade level re-
strictions on eligibility, students in kindergar-
ten through eighth grade may apply to attend
a course as long as they meet any entrance
and enrollment criteria and prerequisites es-
tablished by the educational institution from
which the student wants to take the course.

Parents are generally responsible for
providing transportation, unless the school
district chooses to cover the costs. Eligible
low-income parents may apply to DPI for
transportation financial assistance.

The Course Options Program is similar in
some respects to the Youth Options Program,
although there are different rules, limitations,
and processes. Students may participate in
both programs provided they meet the re-
quirements and procedures for each.

History and More Information. 2013
Wisconsin Act 20 amended Section 118.52,
previously the Part-Time Open Enrollment
program, which had been created by 1997
Wisconsin Act 27. For more information: DPI
Web site:  http://courseoptions.dpi.wi.gov/.
Telephone: 608-267-3161. E-mail: http://
courseoptions.dpi.wi.gov/user/507/contact.

Youth Options Program

Wisconsin’s Youth Options Program al-
lows eligible juniors and seniors enrolled in
public high schools to take approved postsec-
ondary courses at a University of Wisconsin
System institution, a Wisconsin technical col-
lege, one of the state’s participating private
nonprofit institutions of higher education,
or tribally-controlled colleges. Students who
complete the courses may receive high school
credits that count toward high school gradu-
ation requirements or they may receive col-
lege credits, or both high school and college
credits.

The Youth Options Program provides an
alternative educational mechanism for stu-
dents who are considering a technical career,
wish to begin college early, or want to pre-
pare for entering the workforce immediately
after graduating from high school. All 11th
and 12th grade students enrolled in a public
school may apply, including full- and part-
time open enrolled students, but not includ-
ing private school or home-schooled students.

If a school board approves a college
course as qualifying for high school credit and
determines that the course is not comparable
to a course already offered in the district, then
the board will pay the tuition, and for the cost
of any books, fees, and materials required for
the course that will not become the property
of the student. However, a student or parent
or guardian must reimburse the district if the
student takes the course for college credit or if
the student receives a failing grade in a course
or fails to complete a course. A school board
may establish a policy limiting the number of
college credits the school board will pay for
through the program at 18 credits, although it
may set a higher limit or decline to set a limit.
Parents or students are responsible for trans-
portation costs relating to the college courses,
but eligible low-income students may apply
to DPI for transportation financial assistance.

History and More Information. 1991
Wisconsin Act 39 created the postsecondary
enrollment options (PSEO) program. 1997
Wisconsin Act 27 renamed the PSEO program
to the “Youth Options Program” in Section
118.55, Wisconsin Statutes. For more infor-
mation: DPI Web site: http://youthoptions.
dpi.wi.gov. Telephone: 800-441-4563. E-mail:
Kevin.miller@dpi.wi.gov.

Charter Schools

Charter schools are public schools that
operate with fewer mandates and a more flex-
ible structure than the typical public school.
They are created through a contract, the
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“charter,” between the charter school’s gov-
erning board and the sponsoring authority.

The sponsoring authority may be the
board of a school district or it may be one of
four specific entities identified by statute: the
Common Council of the City of Milwaukee,
the Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-
Milwaukee, the Chancellor of the University
of Wisconsin-Parkside, or the district board of
the Milwaukee Area Technical College. The
latter category of charter schools are known
as independent, or “2R” schools, in reference
to the program’s statutory citation, Section
118.40 (2r), Wisconsin Statutes.

There are currently 242 charter schools
authorized in the state, of which 23 are inde-
pendent “2R” schools, and 30 are virtual, or
online, charter schools. In the 2013-14 school
year, approximately 48,000 students were
enrolled in charter schools. Of these, about
9,000 attended “2R” schools, and over 7,000
were enrolled in virtual charter schools.

How Established. Local school boards
may authorize charter schools in two ways.
First, a school board, on its own, may contract
with a person or private organization to oper-
ate a school as a charter school. The school
board must hold a public hearing on the
proposed contract. Second, a school board
may authorize the establishment of a charter
school upon receipt and approval of a writ-
ten petition requesting the board to do so. The
petition must be signed by at least 10% of the
teachers employed by the district or by at least
50% of the teachers employed at one school
in the district. The board must hold a public
hearing within 30 days of receiving the peti-
tion. At any public hearing, the board must
consider the level of employee and parental
support for the school and the fiscal impact
of the charter school on the district. A school
district must notify DPI of its intention to cre-
ate a charter school and include a description
of the proposed school in the notice, but the
department does not have the authority to ap-
prove or deny charter school requests.

Requirements. Charter schools are gen-
erally not subject to most of the laws that gov-
ern elementary and secondary education, but
they are required to: 1) administer the stan-
dardized examinations administered to pu-
pils attending public schools, and adopt pupil
academic standards in mathematics, science,
reading and writing, geography, and history;
2) develop and enforce a policy specifying cri-
teria for promoting a pupil from 4th grade to
5th grade, from 8th grade to 9th grade, and
for granting a high school diploma; and 3)
ensure that all of the school’s instructional
staff hold a license or permit to teach issued
by DPIL. The school district in which a char-
ter school is located must include the charter
school in the school district’'s annual school
performance report.

A charter school may not charge tuition
and must be nonsectarian in its programs,
admission policies, employment practices,
and all other operations. Charter schools are
prohibited from discriminating in admission
or denying participating in any program or
activity on the basis of a person’s sex, race,
religion, national origin, ancestry, pregnancy,
marital or parental status, sexual orientation,
or physical, mental, emotional or learning dis-
ability, and are subject to the federal laws gov-
erning education, including the Individuals
with Disabilities Education Act.

Virtual Charter Schools. Virtual char-
ter schools are public, nonsectarian charter
schools under contract with a school board
in which all or a portion of the instruction is
provided over the Internet. The pupils en-
rolled in and instructional staff employed by
the school are typically not in the same loca-
tion, with pupils attending from their homes
and communicating with teachers using elec-
tronic mail, by telephone, or through online
discussions.

History and More Information. 1993
Wisconsin Act 16 authorized school boards to
establish up to 20 charter schools exempt from
most laws governing public schools. With
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the approval of the State Superintendent of
Public Instruction, up to two charters schools
could be established in each of no more than
10 school districts. School boards could con-
tract for the operation of a school as a charter
school either on its own initiative or upon re-
ceipt of a petition signed by at least 50% of
the teachers employed at a school. Charter
school staff remained school district employ-
ees and remained eligible to participate in
the Wisconsin Retirement System. The limit
on the number of school districts that were
permitted to establish charter schools was re-
pealed by 1995 Wisconsin Act 27.

1997 Wisconsin  Act 27 authorized
the City of Milwaukee, the University of
Wisconsin-Milwaukee, and the Milwaukee
Area Technical College to establish and op-
erate, or contract for the operation of, char-
ter schools for pupils residing with the
Milwaukee Public Schools (MPS) school dis-
trict. 2001 Wisconsin Act 16 expanded the en-
tities authorized to establish a charter school
to include UW-Parkside.

2007 Wisconsin Act 222 authorized school
districts to establish virtual charter schools, in
which all or a portion of the instruction is pro-
vided via the Internet and the teachers and
pupils are geographically remote from each
other. It also permitted the acceptance of pu-
pils for attendance at virtual charter schools
through the Open Enrollment Program and
required instructional staff of virtual charter
schools to hold teacher licenses issued by DPI.
Total enrollment in all virtual charter schools
was limited to 5,250 pupils beginning in the
2009-10 school year. 2011 Wisconsin Act 32
eliminated the limit on the number of pupils
who may enroll in virtual charter schools un-
der the Open Enrollment Program.

2013 Wisconsin Act 20 allowed UW-
Milwaukee to establish an independent char-
ter school anywhere in Milwaukee County
or in an adjacent county and allows a pupil
who resides in Milwaukee County or in an
adjacent county to attend any independent
charter school in Milwaukee County or in an

adjacent county. Previously, UW-Milwaukee
could establish a charter school only within
the Milwaukee school district, and, with one
exception, a pupil who resided in MPS could
attend only an independent charter school lo-
cated in MPS.

Charter Schools law is in Section 118.40,
Wisconsin Statutes. For more information:
DPI Web site: http://dpi.wi.gov/sms_csindex.
Telephone: 888-245-2732. E-mail: openenroll-
ment@dpi.wi.gov.

Technical College Option

With approval from the school board,
and with the written approval of the parent
or guardian, any child who is at least 16 years
old and meets the definition of being “at risk,”
may attend a technical college in lieu of high
school or on a part-time basis. Technical col-
leges are required to admit eligible students
that reside within the technical college district
and must, as a condition of receipt of any state
aid, offer day class programs satisfactory to
meet the requirements leading to the child’s
high school graduation. [Section 118.15 (1)
(b), Wisconsin Statutes.] DPI Web site: http://
alternativeed.dpi.wi.gov/files/alternativeed/
pdf/contracting_techcolleges.pdf.

Work Based Learning Programs

2013 Wisconsin Act 20 (Section 118.56,
Wisconsin Statutes), authorized a public
school board, the governing body of a char-
ter school, or the governing body of a pri-
vate school to create a work based learning
program for pupils in grades 9 to 12. If es-
tablished, the program must require a par-
ticipating pupil to work at least 280 hours per
year for an eligible employer, with hours of
instruction not allowed to satisfy the work re-
quirements.

The pupil must complete the required
work hours by working no fewer than 40
and no more than 50 days per school year, by
working no fewer than six and no more than
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eight hours per day, and by working no more
than two days per week.

In determining eligibility for the pro-
gram, the pupil may be required to demon-
strate employability through an interview
process, teacher recommendations, previous
work, internship, or volunteer experience. A
pupil who wishes to participate must enter
into a signed agreement with the participat-
ing school and the pupil’s parent or guardian.

Participating employers must comply
with child labor laws, and provide each pupil
with: occupational training and work based
learning experiences, at least 30 hours of train-
ing, and a mentor to supervise the work and
prepare a year-end evaluation. The school
board or governing body of the charter or pri-
vate school must provide free transportation
to and from the workplace.

School Integration Transfer Aid Program
(“Chapter 220”)

The Special Transfer Aid Program pro-
motes the cultural and racial integration of
minority group pupils with nonminority pu-
pils. It was created by Chapter 220, Laws of
1975, and is thus often referred to as “Chapter
220,” although the program is in Subchapter
VI of Chapter 121, Wisconsin Statutes.

The program provides additional state
aid to each school district that establishes a
program in which students are transferred
from a racially imbalanced district to another
school district or from one attendance area
within a single district to another attendance
area within that district. Under the program,
a “minority group pupil” is one who is Black
or African American, Hispanic, American
Indian, or an Alaskan native, or who is of
Asian or Pacific island origin. Transfers can
be made only with the approval, documented
by written consent, of the pupil’s parent or
guardian.

The program applies to interdistrict or
intradisctrict transfers between an atten-
dance area within or outside a school district

in which minority group pupils constitute
30% or more of the number of pupils in the
school in which the pupil would normally at-
tend, and a school district attendance area in
which minority group pupils constitute less
than 30% of the number of pupils enrolled in
the school. Participating minority group pu-
pils transfer to a school in another district or
school district attendance area where minori-
ty group pupils constitute less than 30% of the
number of pupils enrolled in the school. The
reverse applies to transfers of nonminority
pupils: they may transfer from schools where
minority group pupils constitute less than
30% of enrollment, to schools in another dis-
trict or attendance area within the same dis-
trict where minority group pupils constitute
more than 30% of enrollment. Transportation
for students involved in a transfer program
must be provided if required by law, with
transportation costs being reimbursed by the
state.

The school board of each school district
lying wholly or partially within Milwaukee
County must annually organize a plan-
ning council with the school board of the
Milwaukee Public Schools to make a recom-
mendation to the school board on a coopera-
tive program designed to facilitate interdis-
trict transfers to promote cultural and racial
integration. Each school board must then
determine the extent to which its district will
participate in the cooperative program and
must disseminate information concerning the
program to pupils and parents and guardians
of pupils in the school district. The school
district must provide information about the
availability of transfers, transportation ar-
rangements, and the courses and programs to
be available to transferred pupils.

State law specifies that a school district
that is eligible for interdistrict or intradis-
trict Chapter 220 integration aid may not ac-
cept an application for transfer into or out of
the school district under the Full-Time Open
Enrollment program if the transfer would in-
crease racial imbalance in the school district.
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State law also requires a nonresident school
district that receives applications for transfer
into the district under both the Chapter 220
program and the open enrollment program
to accept or reject all Chapter 220 applica-
tions before it accepts or rejects open enroll-
ment applications. However, an opinion of
the Wisconsin Attorney General (OAG-4-07,
December 20, 2007) indicated that this provi-
sion is inconsistent with the equal protection
guarantees of the U.S. Constitution as applied
by the U.S. Supreme Court in cases dealing
with pupil assignment plans in other school
districts.  [Parents Involved in Community
Schools, et al. v. Seattle School District No. 1, 551
SSI U.S. 701, 127 S.Ct. 2738 (2007)] Chapter
220 pupils may also participate in the Course
Options Program.

More Information. DPI Web site: http://
sfs.dpi.wi.gov/sfs_aid220. Telephone: 608-
267-3752. E-mail: bradley.adams@dpi.wi.gov

National Guard Challenge Academy

The Wisconsin National Guard Challenge
Academy is a residential program authorized
by federal and state law, the purpose of which
is improving the quality of life for 16 to 18
year old at-risk teens. Participants selected
to attend the Challenge Academy, known as
“cadets,” stay at the Fort McCoy army base in
a quasi-military environment but are consid-
ered enrolled in the student’s school district
of residence for purposes of district equaliza-
tion aid eligibility, special education respon-
sibility, and revenue limit authority. Federal
law authorizes the Department of Defense to
assume up to 75% of the cost of the program.

Cadets spend much of their time in class-
rooms preparing to test for a High School
Equivalency Diploma. Cadets receive class-
room instruction from licensed teachers and
also participate in activities including anger
management classes, a character develop-
ment curriculum, community service projects,
and various physical fitness challenges and
leadership experiences. During a 12 month

post-residential phase, graduates of the resi-
dential phase are matched with community
volunteers (mentors) who help the cadets as
they continue to grow and become contribut-
ing citizens.

History and More Information. The
Youth Challenge Program, now Academy,
was created by 1997 Wisconsin Act 237, and
is in Section 321.03 (1) (c), Wisconsin Statutes.
For more information: DPI Web site: http://
sfs.dpi.wi.gov/sfs_youthchall. Telephone:
608-267-9114. E-mail: dpifin@dpi.wi.gov.

Program or Curriculum Modification

If requested by a child who is 16 years of
age or older, and with the written approval
of the child’s parent or guardian, a school
board may excuse the child from regular
school attendance if the child, his or her par-
ent or guardian, and the school board enter
into a written agreement that the child will
participate in a program or receive curricu-
lum modifications leading to the child’s high
school graduation. Similarly, with the same
conditions, a child who is 17 years or older
may receive program or curriculum modifi-
cations leading to the child receiving a high
school equivalency diploma.

The child or his or her parent or guardian
may request that the school board provide the
child with program or curriculum modifica-
tions, including: 1) modifications within the
child’s current academic program, 2) a school
work training or work study program, 3) en-
rollment in any alternative public high school
or program located in the school district of
residence, 4) enrollment in any nonsectarian
private school or program, or tribal school, lo-
cated in the school district in which the child
resides, if a contractual agreement is reached
between the schools that provides for payment
of the child’s tuition by the school district, 5)
homebound study, including nonsectarian
correspondence courses or other courses of
study approved by the school board or non-
sectarian tutoring provided by the school in
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which the child is enrolled, or 6) enrollment in
any public educational program located out-
side the child’s resident school district, which
may be pursuant to a contractual agreement
between the districts. [Section 118.15 (1) (c)
and (d), Wisconsin Statutes.]

High School Equivalency Diploma Program

The school board must excuse a child who
is 17 years or older from regular school atten-
dance if, upon a child’s request and with the
approval of the parent or guardian, the child
began a program leading to a high school
equivalency diploma while in a juvenile cor-
rectional or detention facility, a juvenile por-
tion of a county jail, or a secured residential
care center for children and youth. [Section
118.15 (1) (cm), Wisconsin Statutes. ]

PRIVATE SCHOOLS

Attendance at a private school satisfies
the requirements of the compulsory atten-
dance law if the educational program offered
by the school is privately controlled; provides
at least 875 hours of instruction each school
year; and provides a sequentially progres-
sive curriculum of fundamental instruction
in reading, language arts, mathematics, social
studies, science, and health. The institution
may request the state superintendent of pub-
lic instruction to approve the private school’s
educational program as being compliant with
the law. A school is not required to include in
its curriculum any concept, topic, or practice
in conflict with the program’s religious doc-
trines or to exclude from its curriculum any
concept, topic, or practice consistent with the
program’s religious doctrines.

1997 Wisconsin Act 27 provided that
private school students may take up to two
high school courses per semester at no charge
in the student’s resident school district if the
student meets the high school’s admission
standards and there is space available in the
course or courses.

Transportation. A pupil attending a pri-
vate school is generally entitled to transporta-
tion by the public school district in which the
student resides if the pupil resides two miles
or more from the private school the pupil at-
tends, the pupil’s residence is in the private
school’s approved attendance area, and the
private school is located within the boundar-
ies of the pupil’s resident school district or not
more than five miles beyond the boundaries
of the school district as measured along the
usually traveled route.

Tuition Tax Deduction. A family send-
ing a child to a private school is responsible
for paying for tuition, fees, books, and as-
sociated costs, other than transportation.
However, 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 provides for
an income tax deduction for tuition and man-
datory school fees paid to a private school
beginning in tax year 2014. The income tax
deduction is limited to up to $4,000 per year
per pupil enrolled in grades K-8 and $10,000
per year per pupil in grades 9-12.

Statutes and More Information. Some
key statutes relating to private schools are
Sections 118.15 (1), 118.165, and 121.54 (2).
DPI private schools Web site: http://sms.dpi.
wi.gov/sms_private.  Telephone: 608-266-
2803. E-mail: http://sms.dpi.wi.gov/user/220/
contact.

Home Schooling

Instruction in a qualified home-based pri-
vate educational program may be substituted
for attendance at a public or private school. If
the child’s parent or guardian chooses home-
schooling as the alternative to enrollment in
a public school, the family is responsible for
all costs involved. No financial aid is avail-
able from the state or school district for home-
schooled students or their families. Generally,
school districts receive state aid for each pupil
enrolled in public schools in the district. A
homeschooled student is not included in the
school district’s enrollment count. As a result,
the resident’s school district receives no state


http://sms.dpi.wi.gov/sms_private
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aid for that student. Approximately 21,000
children are homeschooled in Wisconsin

Requirements. Parents or guardians
who chose to home school their children must
satisfy the compulsory attendance require-
ments under state law if the educational pro-
gram meets the same criteria established for
private schools. Specifically, the home-based
private educational program must provide at
least 875 hours of instruction per year and its
primary purpose must be to provide private
or religious-based education. It must pro-
vide a sequentially progressive curriculum of
fundamental instruction in reading, language
arts, mathematics, social studies, science, and
health, consistent with any of the program’s
religious doctrines. Finally, it must be pri-
vately controlled and not be operated for the
purpose of avoiding or circumventing the
compulsory school attendance requirements.

It is the responsibility of the parent or
guardian to ensure that the child’s education-
al program meets all of the requirements. The
parent is also responsible for establishing the
curricula and obtaining educational materials
to use for instruction. A homeschool parent
may do the teaching or designate someone
else to do so. There are no minimum educa-
tional requirements for parents who home-
school their children, nor are parents required
to hold a teaching certificate or license. DPI
does not provide instruction or curricula for
homeschooling. Parents also have the option
of enrolling their children, at their own ex-
pense, in privately operated correspondence
or virtual schools located either within or out-
side this state. Parents who choose this option
are responsible for ensuring that their child’s
educational program meets the requirements
for a home-based educational program.

Not Regulated. There is no express au-
thority under the law for DPI or any school
district to regulate home-schooling or to mon-
itor whether or not the instruction provided
in a home-based educational program satis-
fied the requirements under the compulsory

attendance law. The homeschooling laws do
not require any form of testing or assessment.
A home-based private educational program
does not lead to a traditional Wisconsin high
school diploma, and homeschooled students
may wish to pursue a General Educational
Development certificate and/or a High School
Equivalency Diploma. Some private compa-
nies offer correspondence courses and grant
diplomas upon completion of certain require-
ments.

Part-Time Public School Attendance.
Homeschooled students may take up to two
courses per semester in any grade in either
their resident or a nonresident school district.

School Services May be Offered. School
districts are required to identify and evaluate
all children in the district who may have a dis-
ability and must offer a placement that would
provide the child a free appropriate public
education, which generally means enrollment
in a public school. However, school districts
are not required to provide special education
and related services to children with disabili-
ties who are homeschooled. If a school dis-
trict chooses to do so, the district will not be
reimbursed by federal or state aids.

School districts are not required to per-
mit homeschooled students to participate in
any clubs or activities. However, districts are
not prohibited from allowing homeschooled
students to participate in extracurricular ac-
tivities and may choose to do so. In high
school sports governed by the Wisconsin
Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA),
any participation by homeschooled students
will be dependent upon applicable WIAA eli-
gibility rules.

Statutes and History. Key provisions
relating to home schooling are in Sections
118.15 (4) and 118.165 (1), Wisconsin Statutes.
1983 Wisconsin Act 512 first specifically pro-
vided that instruction in a qualified “home-
based private educational program” is a per-
missible option. However, the statutes had
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previously, since at least 1889, provided that
instruction elsewhere than at a formal pub-
lic or private school may be substituted for
school attendance, as long as the instruction
was substantially equivalent to that provided
to children in formal school settings. Act 512
was prompted by a 1983 Wisconsin Supreme
Court decision, Wisconsin v. Popanz, 112 Wis.
2d 166.

In that decision, the supreme court held
that parents who chose to send their children
to a private school that was not included in
a directory of private schools maintained by
DPI could not be prosecuted under the com-
pulsory attendance law because that law did
not provide sufficient information about what
constitutes a “private school” for purposes of
satisfying the compulsory attendance law.

PARENTAL CHOICE PRIVATE
SCHOOL PROGRAMS

Under the state’s private school choice
programs, eligible low-income students
may attend a participating private school
with financial assistance from the state. The
Milwaukee Parental Choice Program, estab-
lished in 1990, was the nation’s first large-
scale program in which public funding was
used to educate students in private schools.
Private school choice has expanded consid-
erably since then, and there are now three
private school voucher programs, with simi-
lar eligibility requirements and operational
rules, in the state: the Milwaukee Parental
Choice Program (MPCP), the Racine Parental
Choice Program (RPCP), and the statewide
Wisconsin Parental Choice Program (WPCP).

Eligibility. The Choice Programs are
generally open to pupils in grades kinder-
garten through 12 whose family income does
not exceed a certain percentage of the federal
poverty level. In the WPCP, family income
may not exceed 185%, and in the MPCP and
RPCP, family income may not exceed 300%
of the federal poverty level. For the 2014-15
school year, the income limit for the MPCP

and RPCP is $59,409 for a family of three. If
the child’s parents/legal guardians are mar-
ried their income is reduced by $7,000 when
determining income eligibility. A pupil at-
tending a private school under any of the pro-
grams, or a student waiting list for a space un-
der the statewide WPCP in the previous year,
does not have to show income eligibility if the
pupil’s family income rises above the poverty
threshold, and he or she may continue to at-
tend school under the program.

There is no limit on the number of stu-
dents who may participate in the Milwaukee
and Racine programs, but there is a limit of
1,000 students that may enroll in private
schools through the statewide program, and
no more than 1% of the pupil membership of
a school district may participate in the WPCP.

Participating private schools must accept
all eligible Choice applicants for which they
have room, and must generally have a ran-
dom drawing to select the students if there
are more eligible applicants submitted than
slots available. However, a school may give
preference in accepting siblings of pupils that
were accepted on a random basis. A student
may apply to more than one Choice school
during the open application periods. Schools
may not use, during the admissions process,
information about an applicant’s race, eth-
nic background, religion, prior test scores,
grades, recommendations, or membership in
the church parish.

Funding and Payments. The Racine
and Statewide programs are fully funded
from state general purpose revenues. The
Milwaukee program is currently funded
by a mix of state general purpose revenues
and a reduction in state general aid to the
Milwaukee Public Schools, but the state aid
reduction component is being gradually
phased out so that the MPCP will become
fully state-funded.

The state issues payments directly, on be-
half of the child’s parent or guardian, to the
Choice school in which the child is enrolled.
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The payment is equal to the amount of the pri-
vate school’s operating and debt service cost
per pupil that is related to educational pro-
gramming, or an amount set by law, which-
ever is less. For the 2013-14 school year, the
state-paid maximum expense is $6,442. For
the 2014-15 school year, the payments will
be a maximum of $7,210 for pupils in grades
K-8 and $7,856 for pupils in grades 9-12. If
the school spends less than the maximum per
pupil, it will receive that amount from the
state, and the school may spend the payment
for any educational purpose. A student may
be charged reasonable fees for personal items
such as towels, clothes, or uniforms; social
and extracurricular activities if the activity is
not a part of the required curriculum; musical
instruments; meals; high school classes not
required or credited for graduation; trans-
portation; and before-school and after-school
child care. A participating private school
may not charge additional tuition payments
for a Choice student in grades kindergarten
through 8, but may charge a Choice student,
attending the school in grades 9 through 12
tuition above the state aid payment, in an
amount determined by the school, if that stu-
dent’s family income exceeds 220% of the fed-
eral poverty level. A school is not required
to provide transportation to Choice students,
and may charge the parent or guardian if it
provides the service. In some cases, a school
district may choose to provide transportation.

Academic Requirements. In general,
participating private schools must be accred-
ited by an approved accrediting organization,
and all of the private school’s teachers and
administrators must have at least a bachelor’s
degree from an accredited institution of high-
er education. Participating private schools
must annually provide at least 1,050 hours of
direct pupil instruction in grades 1 to 6 and at
least 1,137 hours of direct pupil instruction in
grades 7 to 12.

Participating private schools must meet
at least one of the following standards: 1) at

least 70% of the pupils in the program ad-
vance one grade level each year, 2) the private
school’s average attendance rate for the pu-
pils in the program is at least 90%, 3) at least
80% of the pupils in the program demonstrate
significant academic progress, or 4) at least
70% of the families of pupils in the program
meet parent involvement criteria established
by the private school.

Participating private schools must ad-
minister the state standardized reading test
to 3rd grade pupils and must also administer
all other standardized examinations required
to be administered to public school pupils.
Schools must adopt academic standards in
conformity with state law, maintain progress
records for at least five years after the pupil
ceases to attend the school, and issue a high
school diploma or certificate to each student
who satisfactorily completes the course of in-
struction and any other requirements neces-
sary for high school graduation.

Other Rules.  Participating private
schools must meet all federal nondiscrimina-
tion and state and local health and safety laws
or codes that apply to public schools. They
must have a municipal certificate of occupan-
cy if applicable and develop and implement
a plan for maintaining indoor environmental
quality.

A school may ask a parent to raise funds
for or contribute volunteer time to the school,
but cannot require it as a condition of admis-
sion or impose any penalties on a parent or
child for failure to participate in such activi-
ties or volunteer time. Students may not be
required to participate in any religious activ-
ity if the parent or guardian submits a written
request for excusal. A participating private
school may not discriminate against a child
with special needs during the admissions
process but a Choice school, as with all pri-
vate schools, is required to offer only those
services to assist students with special needs
that it can provide with minor adjustments.
Participating private schools must have writ-
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ten procedures in place regarding suspen-
sions and expulsions. The state superinten-
dent may issue an order barring a private
school from participating in the program or
terminating its participation or may withhold
payment if the school has violated certain
program requirements.

History. The Milwaukee Parental Choice
Program was created by 1989 Wisconsin Act
336. Beginning in the 1990-91 school year,
up to 1% of the MPS membership was autho-
rized to attend private, nonsectarian schools
in grades kindergarten through 12 at state ex-
pense provided the total family income did
not exceed 175% of the federal poverty level.
No more than 49% of a private school’s en-
rollment could consist of Choice pupils. 1995
Wisconsin Act 27 authorized religious schools
to participate in the program. 2011 Wisconsin
Act 32 eliminated the cap on the number of
pupils that may participate in the MPCP and
allowed any private school to participate,
not just private schools located in the City of
Milwaukee. The act also increased the family
income limit to 300% of the federal poverty
level.

2011 Wisconsin Act 32 created a Parental
Choice Program for Eligible School Districts
that is similar to the Milwaukee Parental
Choice Program but was limited to any
school district located in a city of the second
class and meeting certain criteria related to
income and state aid as determined by DPL
The Racine School District was the only eli-
gible district identified as being eligible for
the 2011-12 school year. Participation was
limited to 250 pupils in the first school year
of the program and 500 pupils in the second
year, with no limit in subsequent years. 2011
Wisconsin Act 215 closed the Parental Choice
Program for Eligible School Districts to ad-
ditional schools, leaving the Racine School
District the only eligible participant.

2013 Wisconsin Act 20 created a limited
statewide voucher program for eligible school
districts other than Milwaukee and Racine.

Enrollment was limited to 500 students state-
wide in the first year of the program, with a
limit of 1,000 participants beginning in 2014-
15 and subsequent school years.

Statutes and More Information. The
Milwaukee Parental Choice Program is in
Section 119.23, Wisconsin Statutes, and the
Racine Parental Choice Program and the state-
wide Wisconsin Parental Choice Program are
in Section 118.60. For more information, see
the Wisconsin DPI Choice Programs Web
site: http://sms.dpi.wi.gov/choice_programs.
Telephones: 608-266-8066 or 608-266-0523.
E-mails to: http://sms.dpi.wi.gov/user/519/
contact or http://sms.dpi.wi.gov/user/525/
contact.
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