

March 25, 2021

Honorable Howard Marklein, Co-Chair Joint Committee on Finance 316 East, State Capitol P.O. Box 7882 Madison, WI 53707 Honorable Mark Born, Co-Chair Joint Committee on Finance 308 East, State Capitol P.O. Box 8953 Madison, WI 53708

Honorable Robert Cowles, Co-Chair Joint Committee on Audit 118 South, State Capitol P.O. Box 7882 Madison, WI 53707 Honorable Samantha Kerkman, Co-Chair Joint Committee on Audit 315 North, State Capitol P.O. Box 8952 Madison, WI 53708

Mr. Mike Queensland Senate Chief Clerk P.O. Box 7882 Madison, WI 53707 Mr. Ted Blazel Assembly Chief Clerk Room 401, 17 West Main Street Madison, WI 53703

Subject: Investment Policies, Objectives and Guidelines

Members of the Legislature:

Pursuant to Section 25.17(14r) of the Wisconsin Statutes, I want to advise you that since our last report on December 22, 2020 there were some revisions to the SWIB Investment Committee (IC) Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS) Investment Guidelines.

At its February 25, 2021 meeting, the Investment Committee approved amendments to the SWIB IC WRS Investment Guidelines, which included:

- Modifying the portfolio guidelines for the mortgage-backed securities portfolio to permit investments in certain exchange-traded funds (ETFs);
- Adjusting the portfolio guidelines for the mortgage-backed securities and high yield bond portfolios to exclude ETF investments from certain guideline limits; and
- Incorporating guidelines and approved instruments related to the implementation of approved leverage that were previously approved by the Investment Committee but had resided in separate documents.

STATE OF WISCONSIN INVESTMENT BOARD

Page 2

The amendments listed above were all reported to the Board of Trustees at its March 17, 2021 meeting.

If you have questions on any of the changes, please contact me.

Sincerely,

Rochelle Klaskin

Deputy Executive Director/Chief Administrative Officer

cc: Jay Risch, SWIB Government Relations Liaison

Members, Joint Committee on Audit Members, Joint Committee on Finance Joe Chrisman, Legislative Audit Bureau Robert Lang, Legislative Fiscal Bureau