## Assembly

# **PUBLIC HEARING**

# **Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety**

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Thursday, November 30, 2023 11:00 AM 225 Northwest

#### Assembly Bill 637

Relating to: removing a catalytic converter without consent and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Rettinger, Donovan, Allen, Behnke, Dittrich, Duchow, Goeben, Maxey, Melotik, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Palmeri, Penterman, Sapik, Sortwell and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Knodl, Ballweg, Carpenter, Marklein, Nass and Roys.

### **Assembly Bill 634**

Relating to: immunity for certain controlled substances offenses for aiders and aided persons.

By Representatives Rozar, Ortiz-Velez, C. Anderson, Andraca, Baldeh, Billings, Cabrera, Clancy, Conley, Considine, Dittrich, Doyle, Drake, Edming, Krug, Madison, Moses, Mursau, Ohnstad, Plumer, Sinicki, Stubbs and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators James, Taylor, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Hesselbein, Knodl, Roys, Smith, Spreitzer and Testin.

#### Assembly Bill 433

Relating to: bail for criminal defendants who have a previous conviction for bail jumping and Department of Justice collection and reporting of certain criminal case data.

By Representatives Donovan, Allen, Brandtjen, Edming, Gundrum, Maxey, Murphy, O'Connor, Penterman, Sortwell, Dittrich and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Bradley, Hutton, Nass, Stroebel and Ballweg.

#### **Assembly Bill 620**

Relating to: training expenses for officers.

By Representatives Donovan, Kurtz, Spiros, Allen, Armstrong, Behnke, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Edming, Goeben, Green, Gundrum, Magnafici, Maxey, Michalski, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petryk, Rettinger, Sapik, Schutt, Shankland, Sinicki, Tittl, Tusler, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Wittke, Zimmerman, Melotik and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Stafsholt, Wanggaard, James, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Felzkowski, Feyen, Hutton, Marklein, Nass, Pfaff, Quinn and Testin.

## Assembly Bill 542

Relating to: grants to schools to acquire proactive firearm detection software and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Callahan, Spiros, Allen, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Goeben, Green, Michalski, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Rettinger, Rodriguez, Schmidt, Steffen and Summerfield; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, James, Cabral-Guevara, Feyen, L. Johnson and Quinn.

> Representative John Spiros Chair