# Assembly

# **PUBLIC HEARING**

# **Committee on Campaigns and Elections**

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Tuesday, January 9, 2024 10:00 AM 328 Northwest

## Assembly Bill 563

Relating to: top-five primaries and instant runoff voting for the offices of U.S. senator and U.S. representative in Congress.

By Representatives Tusler, Kurtz, Riemer, Andraca, Drake, Joers, S. Johnson, Kitchens, Mursau, Novak, Donovan, Doyle, Shankland, Steffen, Subeck, Zimmerman, J. Anderson and Clancy; cosponsored by Senators James, Smith, Cowles and Spreitzer.

#### Assembly Bill 749

Relating to: postelection audits by the Legislative Audit Bureau and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Allen, Murphy, Behnke, Bodden, Brandtjen, Goeben, O'Connor, Rettinger and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Tomczyk and Nass.

#### Assembly Bill 760

Relating to: recommendations from the Ethics Commission regarding campaign finance, lobbying, open records, and closed sessions.

By Representatives Novak, Melotik, Conley, Gundrum, Mursau, Ortiz-Velez, Penterman and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Knodl and James.

## Assembly Bill 664

Relating to: disclosures regarding content generated by artificial intelligence in political advertisements, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Neylon, C. Anderson, J. Anderson, Armstrong, Bare, Behnke, Conley, Considine, Dittrich, Emerson, Gundrum, Joers, Kitchens, Krug, Mursau, O'Connor, Riemer, Rettinger, Schraa, Snodgrass, Snyder, Tittl, Wichgers and Goeben; cosponsored by Senators Quinn, Spreitzer, Feyen, Hesselbein and Cabral-Guevara.

#### Assembly Bill 599

Relating to: expressly prohibiting a foreign national from making a contribution to a referendum committee.

By Representatives Ratcliff, Sinicki, Ortiz-Velez, Conley, J. Anderson, Emerson, Snodgrass, Subeck, Baldeh, Bare, Shelton, Cabrera, Considine, Palmeri, Stubbs, C. Anderson, Joers and Shankland; cosponsored by Senators Larson, Spreitzer, Taylor, Roys, L. Johnson and Hesselbein.

## **Assembly Bill 892**

Relating to: compliance with the federal Electoral Count Reform Act. By Representatives Maxey, Michalski, O'Connor and Schmidt; cosponsored by Senators Feyen and Quinn.

01/05/2024: AJR101 was removed from the list of items to be heard.

Representative Scott Krug Chair