Senate

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Committee on Education

The committee will hold an executive session on the following items at the time specified below:

Monday, February 5, 2024 10:00 AM 131 South

Pursuant to Senate Rule 25 (4) (am), the Senate Committee on Education will vote by paper ballot on the following items:

Senate Bill 489

Relating to: rights reserved to a parent or guardian of a child.

By Senators Wanggaard, Quinn, Marklein and Nass; cosponsored by Representatives Wittke, Gundrum, Maxey, Nedweski, Schmidt, Binsfeld, Rettinger, Allen, Magnafici, Steffen, Brooks, Armstrong, Callahan, O'Connor, Goeben, Bodden, Sapik, Tittl, Michalski, Schutt, Penterman, Dittrich, Murphy, Green, Behnke, Mursau, Brandtjen, Wichgers, VanderMeer and Edming.

Senate Bill 833

Relating to: funding for the Nathan and Esther Pelz Holocaust Education Resource Center and making an appropriation.

By Senators Knodl, Tomczyk, Spreitzer, Carpenter and Hesselbein; cosponsored by Representatives Plumer, Spiros, Andraca, Steffen, Melotik, Murphy, Goeben, Penterman, Michalski, Subeck, O'Connor, Hong, Sinicki, Riemer, Emerson, C. Anderson, Bare and Behnke.

Senate Bill 206

Relating to: maintaining a supply of usable opioid antagonist at a school.

By Senators James, Hesselbein, Feyen and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Zimmerman, Allen, C. Anderson, Behnke, Brandtjen, Cabrera, Dittrich, Duchow, Kitchens, Moses, Mursau, O'Connor, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Sinicki, Spiros and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 335

Relating to: allowing school boards to employ a school district administrator who is not licensed by the department of public instruction.

By Senators Stroebel, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Jagler, Marklein and Nass; cosponsored by Representatives Wittke, Binsfeld, Bodden, Brandtjen, Brooks, Donovan, Gundrum, Gustafson, Magnafici, Maxey, Murphy, O'Connor, Rettinger and Schraa.

Senate Bill 742

Relating to: an alternative teacher certification program for an initial license to teach.

By Senator Knodl; cosponsored by Representatives Snyder, Allen, Armstrong, Bodden, Brandtjen, Goeben, Murphy, O'Connor and Dittrich.

Senate Bill 707

Relating to: national reading program grants.

By Senators Felzkowski, Bradley, Cabral-Guevara and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Representatives August, Kitchens, O'Connor, Subeck, Krug, Plumer, Novak, Penterman, Hurd, Binsfeld, Allen, Rettinger, Murphy, Brandtjen, Melotik, Mursau, Gustafson, Petryk, Michalski and Schmidt.

Senate Bill 653

Relating to: state aid adjustments under the full-time open enrollment program. By Senators Stroebel, Cabral-Guevara, Felzkowski, Jagler, Marklein, Nass, Quinn and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Wittke, Brandtjen, Brooks, Dittrich, Goeben, Penterman, Sortwell and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 917

Relating to: student teaching requirement for teacher preparatory programs and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Feyen, Jacque, Knodl, Bradley and Tomczyk; cosponsored by Representatives Penterman, Armstrong, Maxey, Mursau and Binsfeld.

Senate Bill 549

Relating to: allowing representatives of certain federally chartered youth membership organizations to provide information to pupils on public school property.

By Senators Cabral-Guevara and Tomczyk; cosponsored by Representatives Rettinger, Dittrich, Edming, Rozar, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Donovan, Gustafson, Maxey, Michalski, Murphy, Petryk, Schmidt, Tusler and Melotik.

Paper ballots are due back to Senator Jagler's office (131 South) by 12:00 PM on Monday, February 5, 2024. Those not returning their ballots by that time will be recorded as not voting.

•	Senator John Jagler
	Chair