Senate

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

The committee will hold an executive session on the following items at the time specified below:

Thursday, February 8, 2024 2:00 PM 122 South

Pursuant to Senate Rule 25 (4) (am) the Senate Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety will vote by paper ballot on the following items:

Senate Bill 11

Relating to: expanding the treatment alternatives and diversion programs. By Senators Jacque, Spreitzer, Cabral-Guevara, Carpenter, Felzkowski, Hesselbein, James, Roys, Taylor and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Tittl, Goyke, C. Anderson, J. Anderson, Andraca, Baldeh, Bare, Billings, Cabrera, Clancy, Conley, Considine, Doyle, Emerson, Haywood, Hong, Joers, Krug, Madison, Moore Omokunde, Mursau, Novak, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Riemer, Rozar, Schraa, Shelton, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Snyder, Spiros, Subeck, Vining and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 87

Relating to: restitution upon conviction of vehicular homicide.

By Senators James, Cabral-Guevara, Jacque and Tomczyk; cosponsored by Representatives Kitchens, Tusler, Sortwell, Armstrong, Behnke, Dittrich, Gustafson, Murphy, Mursau, O'Connor, Rettinger and Rozar.

Senate Bill 133

Relating to: sexual assault by a health care provider and providing a penalty. By Senators Ballweg, Agard, Roys, Hesselbein, Spreitzer, Stroebel, Larson, Wirch and Marklein; cosponsored by Representatives Dittrich, Subeck, Penterman, Krug, Gundrum, Bodden, Rozar, Emerson, Rodriguez, Schutt, Kitchens, Sinicki, Andraca, Brooks, Green, Joers, Brandtjen, Ortiz-Velez, Conley, Gustafson, Jacobson, Allen, J. Anderson, Clancy, C. Anderson, Ohnstad, Madison, Considine, S. Johnson, Baldeh, Mursau and Stubbs.

Assembly Bill 129

Relating to: sexual assault by a health care provider and providing a penalty. By Representatives Dittrich, Subeck, Penterman, Krug, Gundrum, Bodden, Rozar, Emerson, Rodriguez, Schutt, Kitchens, Sinicki, Andraca, Brooks, Green, Joers, Brandtjen, Ortiz-Velez, Conley, Gustafson, Jacobson, Allen, J. Anderson, Clancy, C. Anderson, Ohnstad, Madison, Considine, S. Johnson, Baldeh, Shankland, Mursau and Stubbs; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Agard, Roys, Hesselbein, Spreitzer, Stroebel, Larson, Wirch and Marklein.

Senate Bill 275

Relating to: statutory recognition of specialized treatment court and commercial court dockets.

By Senators Jacque, Wimberger and Felzkowski; cosponsored by Representatives Tusler, Rettinger, Brandtjen, Murphy, Mursau, Snyder and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 514

Relating to: fleeing an officer and providing a penalty.

By Senators Knodl, Hutton, Bradley, Ballweg, James, Marklein and Nass; cosponsored by Representatives Donovan, Tusler, Rettinger, Allen, Behnke, Bodden, Brandtjen, Brooks, Duchow, Goeben, Gundrum, Maxey, Melotik, Michalski, Murphy, O'Connor and Penterman.

Senate Bill 516

Relating to: expediting criminal proceedings when a victim or witness is an elder person and preserving the testimony of a crime victim or witness who is an elder person.

By Senators Testin, Carpenter, Ballweg, Hesselbein, Marklein and Quinn; cosponsored by Representatives Macco, Wittke, C. Anderson, Armstrong, Behnke, Conley, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Gustafson, Joers, Kitchens, Maxey, Michalski, O'Connor, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Petryk, Snyder and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 874

Relating to: counting convictions and findings for the purpose of the sex offender registry and notifications.

By Senators Wimberger, Felzkowski, Jacque, James, Nass and Tomczyk; cosponsored by Representatives Born, Behnke, Binsfeld, Dallman, Dittrich, Donovan, Duchow, Goeben, Gundrum, Gustafson, Hurd, Maxey, Michalski, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Rettinger, Schmidt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Shankland and Melotik.

Senate Bill 879

Relating to: removing a catalytic converter without consent and providing a penalty.

By Senators Knodl, Ballweg, Carpenter, Marklein, Nass and Roys; cosponsored by Representatives Rettinger, Donovan, Allen, Behnke, Dittrich, Duchow, Goeben, Maxey, Melotik, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Palmeri, Penterman, Sapik, Sortwell, Jacobson and Steffen.

Assembly Bill 637

Relating to: removing a catalytic converter without consent and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Rettinger, Donovan, Allen, Behnke, Dittrich, Duchow, Goeben, Maxey, Melotik, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Palmeri, Penterman, Sapik, Sortwell and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Knodl, Ballweg, Carpenter, Marklein, Nass and Roys.

Senate Bill 890

Relating to: emergency communications device location information. By Senators James, Ballweg, Jacque and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Kitchens, Dittrich, Donovan, Gundrum, Murphy, Mursau, O'Connor and Penterman.

Deadline for responding: 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, February 8th.

Senator Van Wanggaard Chair