# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

# **Joint Survey Committee on Tax Exemptions**

The committee will hold an executive session on the following items at the time specified below:

Thursday, February 8, 2024 10:00 AM 115 W

Pursuant to Senate Rule 25 (4) (am), the Joint Committee on Tax Exemptions will vote by paper ballot on tax exemption provisions included in the following item:

## **Assembly Bill 353**

Relating to: creating a sales and use tax exemption for the sale of certain memberships to a real estate broker.

By Representatives Steffen, Wittke, Allen, Dittrich, Donovan, Gustafson, Magnafici, Murphy, Moses, Nedweski, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Penterman, Rettinger, Vos, Wichgers, Jacobson and Rozar; cosponsored by Senators Bradley, Ballweg, Marklein, Roys, Wanggaard and Spreitzer.

## Senate Bill 351

Relating to: creating a sales and use tax exemption for the sale of certain memberships to a real estate broker.

By Senators Bradley, Ballweg, Marklein, Roys and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Steffen, Wittke, Allen, Dittrich, Donovan, Gustafson, Magnafici, Murphy, Moses, Nedweski, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Penterman, Rettinger, Vos and Wichgers.

## Assembly Bill 658

Relating to: a sales tax exemption for road-building equipment; increasing the income tax withholding threshold for nonresidents; modifying the certification requirement for a qualified opportunity fund; prohibiting certain lottery games; and extending the capital gains exclusion to family members who inherit certain farms organized as a partnership or limited liability company.

By Representatives Katsma, Born, Dallman, Edming, Kurtz, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Plumer, Schutt, Steffen, Wichgers and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Pfaff and Tomczyk.

#### Senate Bill 616

Relating to: a sales tax exemption for road-building equipment; increasing the income tax withholding threshold for nonresidents; modifying the certification requirement for a qualified opportunity fund; prohibiting certain lottery games; and

extending the capital gains exclusion to family members who inherit certain farms organized as a partnership or limited liability company.

By Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Pfaff and Tomczyk; cosponsored by Representatives Katsma, Born, Dallman, Edming, Kurtz, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Plumer, Schutt, Steffen, Wichgers and Jacobson.

## Senate Bill 281

Relating to: exempting from taxation the pension benefits of certain federal employees.

By Senators Wanggaard, Wirch, Hesselbein, Nass, Spreitzer, Taylor and Ballweg; cosponsored by Representatives Armstrong, Ohnstad, Brooks, Cabrera, Dittrich, Doyle, Green, Joers, Kitchens, Mursau, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Shankland, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Spiros, Stubbs, Subeck and VanderMeer.

## **Assembly Bill 1021**

Relating to: increasing and expanding the retirement income subtraction.

By Representatives Steffen, Kitchens, Allen, Armstrong, August, Behnke, Binsfeld, Born, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Goeben, Green, Gundrum, Hurd, Katsma, Krug, Kurtz, Macco, Magnafici, Maxey, Melotik, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Myers, Nedweski, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petryk, Plumer, Rettinger, Schmidt, Schraa, Schutt, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Tranel, Wichgers, Wittke and Swearingen; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara, Wimberger, Ballweg, Bradley, Jagler, Felzkowski, Feyen, Marklein, Nass, Quinn, Stroebel, Testin, Wanggaard and Tomczyk.

#### Senate Bill 978

Relating to: increasing and expanding the retirement income subtraction.

By Senators Cabral-Guevara, Wimberger, Ballweg, Bradley, Jagler, Felzkowski, Feyen, Marklein, Nass, Quinn, Stroebel, Testin and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Steffen, Kitchens, Allen, Armstrong, August, Behnke, Binsfeld, Born, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Goeben, Green, Gundrum, Hurd, Katsma, Krug, Kurtz, Macco, Magnafici, Maxey, Melotik, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Myers, Nedweski, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petryk, Plumer, Rettinger, Schmidt, Schraa, Schutt, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Tranel, Wichgers and Wittke.

Paper ballots will be available in 8 South at 10:00 AM, Thursday February 8, 2024, and will be due in 115 West South no later than 1 pm, Thursday, February 8, 2024.

Senator Patrick Testin	Representative Tyler August
Senate Chair	Assembly Chair