Senate

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Committee on Transportation and Local Government

The committee will hold an executive session on the following items at the time specified below:

Thursday, February 15, 2024 10:00 AM 310 South

Pursuant to Senate Rule 25 (4) (am), the Senate Committee on Transportation and Local Government will vote by paper ballot on the following items:

Senate Bill 525

Relating to: tinting windows on government-owned vehicles.

By Senators James, Marklein, Ballweg, Carpenter and Feyen; cosponsored by Representatives Novak, Plumer, Behnke, Brandtjen, Brooks, Dittrich, Goeben, Gundrum, Kitchens, Magnafici, Mursau, Ortiz-Velez and Spiros.

Senate Bill 617

Relating to: indicia of registration for electric vehicles.

By Senators James, Testin, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Cowles and Marklein; cosponsored by Representatives Pronschinske, Dittrich, Duchow, Emerson, Goeben, S. Johnson, Michalski, Moses, Ortiz-Velez, Penterman and Schmidt.

Senate Bill 521

Relating to: identification of the Mount Horeb Veterans Memorial on state highway maps.

By Senators Hesselbein and Carpenter; cosponsored by Representatives Bare, Edming, Novak, Baldeh, C. Anderson, Conley, Joers, Michalski, Palmeri and Subeck.

Senate Bill 539

Relating to: county assistance to certain nonprofit organizations.

By Senators Tomczyk, Hesselbein, Ballweg and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Representatives Krug, Armstrong, Baldeh, Dittrich, Magnafici, Nedweski, O'Connor, Palmeri, Snyder, Spiros, Penterman, Donovan, Goeben, Schmidt and Kitchens.

Senate Bill 625

Relating to: town clerk and treasurer appointments, publication requirements for proposed budget summary and notice of public hearing, and discontinuance of highways.

By Senators Quinn, Ballweg, Cowles, Marklein, Pfaff, Spreitzer and Hesselbein; cosponsored by Representatives Dallman, Kurtz, C. Anderson, Callahan, Considine, Green, Katsma, Kitchens, Moses, Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Rettinger, Schmidt and Wittke.

Senate Bill 826

Relating to: town withdrawals from county zoning and the effect of a jurisdiction change on zoning provisions.

By Senators Ballweg, Jacque, James, Quinn and Tomczyk; cosponsored by Representatives VanderMeer, Armstrong, Hurd, Krug, O'Connor and Schmidt.

Senate Bill 624

Relating to: method for establishing proof of financial responsibility for municipal solid waste facilities; payments for closure, long-term care, and corrective action costs for certain solid or hazardous waste facilities; extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures; providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures; granting rule-making authority; and making an appropriation.

By Senator Jacque; cosponsored by Representatives Mursau and Schmidt.

Senate Bill 654

Relating to: modifying administrative rules of the Department of Transportation relating to applications for vehicle titles by nonresident insurance carriers.

By Senators Quinn, Ballweg and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Callahan, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Dittrich, Doyle, Edming, Moses, Rozar, Schmidt and Jacobson.

Assembly Bill 569

Relating to: the location and operation of driver schools.

By Representative VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senator Testin.

Assembly Bill 669

Relating to: a liability exemption for motor vehicle sellers after sale.

By Representatives Duchow, Armstrong, Behnke, Dittrich, Emerson, Kitchens, Magnafici, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Rodriguez and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Felzkowski, Ballweg, Nass and Taylor.

Senate Bill 964

Relating to: authorizing physical therapists to make certifications for acquiring disabled parking plates and cards.

By Senators Ballweg, Cowles and Testin; cosponsored by Representatives Tittl, Behnke, Conley, Dittrich, Murphy, Myers, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Stubbs, Subeck and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 916

Relating to: requiring local governments to designate an individual for consultation required under a federal program regarding refugee resettlement and assistance.

By Senators Tomczyk, James, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Jacque, Nass, Quinn and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Hurd, Summerfield, Pronschinske, Petryk, Armstrong, Gustafson, Behnke, Bodden, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Goeben, Green, Magnafici, Maxey, Murphy, Mursau, Penterman, Rozar and Schmidt.

Paper ballots are due back to Senator Tomczyk's office (310 South) by 3:00 PM on Thursday February 15, 2024. Those not returning their ballots by that time will be recorded as not voting.

02/13/2024: SB676 was removed from the list of items to be heard.

Senator Cory Tomczyk Chair