The owner of a residential building the initial construction of which is commenced before, on or after May 23, 1978, shall install and maintain a functional smoke detector in the basement and at the head of any stairway on each floor level of the building and shall install a functional smoke detector either in each sleeping area of each unit or elsewhere in the unit within 6 feet of each sleeping area and not in a kitchen.
Whoever violates this section shall forfeit to the state not more than $50 for each day of violation.
(6) Department inspection and orders.
The department may inspect all residential buildings, except the interior of private dwellings, as may be necessary to ensure compliance with this section. The department may inspect the interior of private dwellings at the request of the owner or renter as may be necessary to ensure compliance with this section. The department may issue orders as may be necessary to ensure compliance with this section.
Contractor regulation. 101.1472(1)(a)
“Construction work" means construction, renovation, improvements, remodeling, installations, alterations, repairs, or demolition activities.
“License" means a license, a permit, or a certificate of certification or registration.
The department may not promulgate or enforce any rule that requires that a person who is engaged, or who offers to be engaged, in a business to do construction work hold a license issued under this chapter or ch. 145
unless the rule relates to a license specifically required by this chapter or ch. 145
History: 2013 a. 20
Contractor notices. 101.148(1)(a)
“Consumer" means a person who enters into a written or oral contract with a contractor to construct or remodel a dwelling.
“Contractor" means a person who enters into a written or oral contract with a consumer to construct or remodel a dwelling.
Depositing the document or written notice in the U.S. mail or with a commercial delivery service, addressed to the applicable person.
Giving the document or written notice personally to the applicable person.
“Dwelling" means any premises or portion of a premises that is used as a home or a place of residence and that part of the lot or site on which the dwelling is situated that is devoted to residential use. “Dwelling" includes other existing structures on the immediate residential premises such as driveways, sidewalks, swimming pools, terraces, patios, fences, porches, garages, and basements.
“Remodel" means to alter or reconstruct a dwelling. “Remodel" does not include maintenance or repair work.
(2) Notice required at time of contracting. 101.148(2)(a)(a)
Before entering into a written contract to construct or remodel a dwelling, or, if the parties enter into an oral contract, as soon as reasonably possible, but before commencing any work to construct or remodel a dwelling, the contractor shall deliver to the consumer a copy of the brochure prepared under s. 895.07 (13)
and a notice worded substantially as follows:
NOTICE CONCERNING CONSTRUCTION DEFECTS
Wisconsin law contains important requirements you must follow before you may file a lawsuit for defective construction against the contractor who constructed your dwelling or completed your remodeling project or against a window or door supplier or manufacturer. Section 895.07 (2)
of the Wisconsin statutes requires you to deliver to the contractor a written notice of any construction conditions you allege are defective before you file your lawsuit, and you must provide your contractor or window or door supplier the opportunity to make an offer to repair or remedy the alleged construction defects. You are not obligated to accept any offer made by the contractor or window or door supplier. All parties are bound by applicable warranty provisions.
The notice required under par. (a)
shall be conspicuous and in writing and may be included within the contract between the contractor and the consumer.
History: 2005 a. 201
Carbon monoxide detectors. 101.149(1)(am)
“Carbon monoxide detector" means an electronic or battery-operated device that sounds an alarm when an unsafe level of carbon monoxide is in the air.
“Residential building" means a tourist rooming house, a bed and breakfast establishment, or any public building that is used for sleeping or lodging purposes. “Residential building" does not include a hospital or nursing home.
“Unit" means a part of a residential building that is occupied by one or more persons as a home, residence, or sleeping place.
Except as provided in par. (b)
, the owner of a residential building shall install a carbon monoxide detector in all of the following places not later than the date specified under par. (c)
In the basement of the building if the basement has a fuel-burning appliance.
Within 15 feet of each sleeping area of a unit that has a fuel-burning appliance.
Within 15 feet of each sleeping area of a unit that is immediately adjacent to a unit that has a fuel-burning appliance.
In each room that has a fuel-burning appliance and that is not used as a sleeping area. A carbon monoxide detector shall be installed under this subdivision not more than 75 feet from the fuel-burning appliance.
In each hallway leading from a unit that has a fuel-burning appliance, in a location that is within 75 feet from the unit, except that, if there is no electrical outlet within this distance, the owner shall place the carbon monoxide detector at the closest available electrical outlet in the hallway.
If a unit is not part of a multiunit building, the owner of the residential building need not install more than one carbon monoxide detector in the unit.
Except as provided under subd. 2.
, the owner of a residential building shall comply with the requirements of this subsection before the building is occupied.
The owner of a residential building shall comply with the requirements of this subsection not later than April 1, 2010, if construction of the building was initiated before October 1, 2008, or if the department approved the plans for the construction of the building under s. 101.12
before October 1, 2008.
Any carbon monoxide detector that bears an Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., listing mark or similar mark from an independent product safety certification organization satisfies the requirements of this subsection.
The owner shall install every carbon monoxide detector required by this subsection according to the directions and specifications of the manufacturer of the carbon monoxide detector.
The owner of a residential building shall reasonably maintain every carbon monoxide detector in the residential building in the manner specified in the instructions for the carbon monoxide detector.
An occupant of a unit in a residential building may give the owner of the residential building written notice that a carbon monoxide detector in the residential building is not functional or has been removed by a person other than the occupant. The owner of the residential building shall repair or replace the nonfunctional or missing carbon monoxide detector within 5 days after receipt of the notice.
The owner of a residential building is not liable for damages resulting from any of the following:
A false alarm from a carbon monoxide detector if the carbon monoxide detector was reasonably maintained by the owner of the residential building.
The failure of a carbon monoxide detector to operate properly if that failure was the result of tampering with, or removal or destruction of, the carbon monoxide detector by a person other than the owner or the result of a faulty detector that was reasonably maintained by the owner as required under par. (a)
(4) Tampering prohibited.
No person may tamper with, remove, destroy, disconnect, or remove batteries from an installed carbon monoxide detector, except in the course of inspection, maintenance, or replacement of the detector.
(5) Exceptions. Subsections (2)
do not apply to the owner of a residential building if the residential building does not have an attached garage and any of the following applies:
The residential building does not have any fuel-burning appliances.
All of the fuel-burning appliances in the residential building have sealed combustion units that are covered by the manufacturer's warranty against defects.
All of the fuel-burning appliances in the residential building have sealed combustion units that are inspected as provided in the rules promulgated by the department under sub. (6) (b)
or in the rules promulgated by the department under s. 97.625 (1) (am)
The department shall promulgate rules establishing a procedure under which the owner of a residential building may apply to the department for a waiver of the requirements under sub. (2)
The department shall promulgate rules, in consultation with the department of health services, under which the department of safety and professional services shall authorize certified heating, ventilating, and air conditioning inspectors to conduct regular inspections of sealed combustion units, as required under sub. (5) (c)
, for carbon monoxide emissions in residential buildings other than hotels, tourist rooming houses, and bed and breakfast establishments. The rules shall specify conditions under which it may issue orders as specified under sub. (8) (a)
. The rules may not require the department of safety and professional services to authorize inspection of sealed combustion units during the period in which the sealed combustion units are covered by a manufacturer's warranty against defects.
To ensure compliance with subs. (2)
, the department, or a building inspector certified by the department, shall inspect the common area of residential buildings other than hotels, tourist rooming houses, and bed and breakfast establishments and may inspect a unit within such buildings at the request of the owner or occupant of the unit to be inspected.
If the department of safety and professional services or the department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection determines after an inspection of a building under this section or s. 97.625 (1g)
that the owner of the building has violated sub. (2)
, the respective department shall issue an order requiring the person to correct the violation within 5 days or within such shorter period as the respective department determines is necessary to protect public health and safety. If the person does not correct the violation within the time required, he or she shall forfeit $50 for each day of violation occurring after the date on which the respective department finds that the violation was not corrected.
If a person is charged with more than one violation of sub. (2)
arising out of an inspection of a building owned by that person, those violations shall be counted as a single violation for the purpose of determining the amount of a forfeiture under par. (a)
Whoever violates sub. (4)
is subject to the following penalties:
For a first offense, the person may be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned for not more than 9 months, or both.
For a 2nd or subsequent offense, the person is guilty of a Class I felony.
Mines, tunnels, quarries and pits. 101.15(1)
If any shaft or workings of a mine, or any tunnel, trench, caisson, quarry, or gravel or sand pit is being operated or used in violation of the safety orders of the department applicable thereto, the owner or operator upon receiving notice of such violation from the department shall immediately cease such operation or use. The operation or use of such shaft or workings of a mine, or of such tunnel, trench, caisson, quarry or gravel or sand pit, shall not be resumed until such safety orders have been complied with.
“Excavation" or “workings" means any or all parts of a mine excavated or being excavated, including shafts, tunnels, drifts, cross cuts, raises, winzes, stopes and all other working places in a mine.
“Mineral" means a product recognized by standard authorities as mineral, whether metalliferous or nonmetalliferous.
“Shaft" means an opening made for mining minerals, for hoisting and lowering persons or material, or for ventilating underground workings.
No excavation of a shaft may be commenced unless a permit is first issued therefor by the department. Permits for such excavation shall be issued upon fee payment and application filed with the department, if the department is satisfied that the shaft or the excavation and workings will be in compliance with the safety orders adopted by the department and applicable thereto. Application shall be made upon forms prescribed by the department and shall be furnished upon request.
(c) Paragraph (b)
does not apply to shafts which will be less than 50 feet in depth wherein persons are not employed, or which are not equipped with power driven hoists used for hoisting persons in and out of the shafts, or which are not covered with a flammable building.
Employ additional mining inspectors, who shall have had at least 10 years experience in underground mining or be a graduate of a recognized college with a degree of mining engineering.
Cause the inspection of all underground mines, quarries, pits, zinc works or other excavations.
The department shall promulgate rules to effect the safety of mines, explosives, quarries and related activities. Such rules shall provide for the establishment of uniform limits on permissible levels of blasting resultants to reasonably assure that blasting resultants do not cause injury, damage or unreasonable annoyance to any person or property outside any controlled blasting site area.
The department shall cause the inspections of underground mines and similar establishments at least once every 2 months and shall cause the inspections of surface mines and similar establishments at least once each year. In the making of the inspections the owner and the labor union identified as the bargaining representative of the employees of the mine or establishment shall be permitted to accompany the inspector engaged in the tour of inspection. The department shall cause a report of any inspection so made, to be submitted to representatives of the operator and of the employees.
The department may apply to a court of record for the closing of any underground mine, quarry, pit, zinc works or other excavation where the same is being operated in violation of any of its rules or orders, and the owners or operators have failed within a reasonable time to correct any unsafe methods of operation. The failure of any owner or operator to comply with the order or judgment of the court subjects the party or parties to contempt proceedings.
See also chs. SPS 307
, Wis. adm. code.
When an inspector determines that there is a violation of safety orders and a condition of extreme and imminent danger to a worker's life exists, the inspector may seek the assistance of a local law enforcement officer. The local law enforcement officer has a duty to render assistance unless in the officer's opinion other priority assignments take precedence. 59 Atty. Gen. 12.
Liquefied petroleum gas.