The conditions and requirements of this subsection are in addition to, and not in lieu of, the conditions and requirements of subs. (1)
If any law or regulation of any state specifies uniform or substantially uniform requirements with respect to any ingredient of fermented malt beverages produced in such state and fermented malt beverages produced outside thereof but sold within such state and if such state or its officials or agencies enforce or give effect to such provisions as against any malt beverage produced outside of such state without concurrently and to the same extent enforcing and giving effect to such provisions as against all malt beverages produced and sold within such state, and if the foregoing is found and determined by the secretary after a public hearing, it shall thereafter be a misdemeanor for any person with knowledge of such finding and determination to ship into or receive or sell within this state any malt beverage produced in such state unless and until the secretary finds and determines, after a public hearing, that such discriminatory treatment has been discontinued.
Liquor tax returns; exceptions. 139.06(1)(a)
The taxes imposed under s. 139.03 (intro.)
on intoxicating liquor at the rates under s. 139.03 (2m)
shall be paid to, and a monthly return filed with, the department of revenue on or before the 15th of the month following the month in which the tax liability is incurred. An administrative fee of 11 cents per gallon on intoxicating liquor taxed at the rates under s. 139.03 (2m)
is imposed, shall be paid along with the taxes and shall be deposited in the appropriation under s. 20.566 (1) (ha)
Liability for taxes at the rates under s. 139.03 (2m)
on intoxicating liquor is incurred by a shipper when intoxicating liquor is shipped into this state, except that liability on liquor produced or bottled in this state or imported directly from a foreign country into this state by a Wisconsin permittee is incurred at the time of the first sale in this state and except that liability for liquor under sub. (3)
is incurred when a Wisconsin permittee receives that liquor.
Each person subject to the tax under s. 139.03
shall file an information report on the dates prescribed by the secretary.
The taxes on wine containing not in excess of 21 percent of alcohol by volume shall be paid to and a monthly return filed on or before the 15th of the month following the month in which tax liability is incurred. Tax liability is incurred by the shipper when wine is shipped into the state. In the case of wine produced or bottled within the state and wine imported directly from a foreign country into the state by a Wisconsin permittee or winery licensee, tax liability is incurred by the permittee or winery licensee at the time of first sale within the state.
All persons required to file a return and pay intoxicating liquor taxes shall first provide security in the amount, at the time and of the type required by the department or enter into a surety bond with a corporate surety to secure payment of the tax with bond and surety to be approved by the department. Such bond shall be twice the department's estimate of the taxpayer's maximum monthly tax liability but shall not be less than $1,000 nor more than $100,000. The bonds shall be filed.
Further to secure the payment of the taxes at the rates under s. 139.03 (2m)
on intoxicating liquor, the department shall require all persons liable for the return and payment of such taxes in either of the 2 previous fiscal years to maintain a deposit of the department's estimate of tax liabilities in an amount equal to 20 percent of the estimated tax liability for fiscal year 1985-86 or an amount specified by the department. Such deposit payment shall be paid to the department on July 15, 1986, or according to an arrangement specified by the department. This deposit shall be deposited in the general fund. On August 15, 1987, the department shall credit 25 percent of the deposit against taxes due for the quarter beginning on the first day of the month before the month when the taxes are due or a later quarter. At the end of each succeeding 12-month period the department shall credit 25 percent of the original deposit until 100 percent of each deposit has been refunded. If any permittee has an unpaid tax liability at the time that a credit would be allowed the permittee, the department shall not allow the credit until the liability is paid in full.
In shipping intoxicating liquor in bulk for the purpose of bottling or rectifying to a rectifier located within the state, the manufacturer shall securely affix thereto a label or statement, in such form as is prescribed by the secretary, reciting that the shipment is made for the purpose of bottling or rectifying. Each manufacturer making such shipments shall file an information report that shows the dates and quantities of shipments and the name and address of each consignee.
When intoxicating liquor is stored in an alcohol beverage warehouse for which a permit has been issued under s. 125.19
, by a manufacturer or rectifier holding a permit under s. 125.52
as a pledge for the loan of money, it is not necessary to affix front labels to the containers until the liquor is sold or removed from the warehouse. When it becomes necessary for a pledgee to sell such intoxicating liquor in good faith pursuant to the terms of the pledge, and not for the purpose of avoiding ss. 139.01
or ch. 125
, it shall be sold to a manufacturer, rectifier or wholesaler holding a permit under s. 125.52
for the purpose of affixing front labels. All such sales shall be reported to the secretary by the pledgee.
See also s. Tax 8.01
, Wis. adm. code.
The plaintiff in this case bought various distilled spirits in bulk from a distillery and mixed the distilled spirits with soda, water, and various flavorings to produce bottles of premixed cocktails that the plaintiff sold to liquor wholesalers, who sold them to retailers. In this case, the first taxable sales of intoxicating liquors under sub. (1) (b) were sales by the plaintiff of its bottled mixtures to the plaintiff's wholesaler customers. Section 139.04 (4) excludes from consideration all transactions between the plaintiff and its distiller. Also, the entire volume of each bottle was an intoxicating liquor, each liter of which was subject to the intoxicating liquor occupational tax. Arty's, LLC v. DOR, 2018 WI App 64
, 384 Wis. 2d 320
, 919 N.W.2d 590
Powers and duties of the secretary of revenue. 139.08(1)(1)
The secretary of revenue shall administer ss. 139.01
and collect and keep a record of all taxes collected.
The secretary of revenue shall adopt rules necessary to carry out the secretary's duties under this chapter.
(3) Police powers.
The department of revenue shall enforce and the duly authorized employees of the department shall have all necessary police powers to prevent violations of s. 134.65
, this subchapter and ch. 125
(4) Inspection for enforcement.
Duly authorized employees of the department of justice and the department of revenue and any sheriff, police officer, marshal, or constable, within their respective jurisdictions, may at all reasonable hours enter any licensed premises, and examine the books, papers, and records of any brewer, brewpub, manufacturer, bottler, rectifier, wholesaler, or retailer, for the purpose of inspecting the same and determining whether the tax and fee imposed by ss. 139.01
have been fully paid, and may inspect and examine, according to law, any premises where fermented malt beverages or intoxicating liquors are manufactured, sold, exposed for sale, possessed, or stored, for the purpose of inspecting the same and determining whether the tax imposed by ss. 139.01
has been fully paid, and whether ss. 139.01
and ch. 125
are being complied with. Any refusal to permit such examination of such premises is sufficient grounds under s. 125.12
for revocation or suspension of any license or permit granted for the sale of any fermented malt beverages or intoxicating liquors and is punishable under s. 139.25 (10)
Every brewer, brewpub, bottler, manufacturer, rectifier, wholesaler, or retailer liable for payment of the occupational tax imposed in ss. 139.01
shall hold a valid certificate under s. 73.03 (50)
. The secretary shall assign the person a registration number.
Audits; additional assessments; refunds.
Sections 71.74 (1)
, 71.75 (2)
and 71.80 (12)
as they apply to the taxes under ch. 71
apply to the taxes under this subchapter, except that the period during which notice of an additional assessment shall be given begins on the due date of the report under this subchapter.
History: 1985 a. 120
; 1991 a. 39
Failure to file.
If any taxpayer required to file any return fails to do so within the time prescribed, the taxpayer shall, on the written demand of the department, file the return within 20 days after the department sends the demand and at the same time pay the tax due on its basis. If the taxpayer fails within that time to file the return, the department shall prepare the return from the department's own knowledge and from the information that the department obtains and on that basis shall assess a tax that the taxpayer shall pay within 10 days after the department sends to the taxpayer a written notice of the amount and a demand for its payment. In any action or proceeding in respect to the assessment, the taxpayer has the burden of establishing the incorrectness or invalidity of any return or assessment made by the department because of the failure of the taxpayer to file a return.
Refunds by secretary of administration. 139.10(1)(1)
On the certificate of the secretary, the secretary of administration shall refund to any purchaser or any banking institution in Wisconsin the tax paid on intoxicating liquor or on whole cases or full kegs of fermented malt beverages which are spoiled or unfit to drink and the tax paid on fermented malt beverages sold to the U.S. armed forces or the secretary may make allowance of the amount of the tax.
When the tax has been paid on intoxicating liquor supplied to hospitals for hospital or medicinal purposes, or on alcohol supplied to institutions of learning or museums for nonbeverage purposes, the purchaser shall, upon application to the secretary, be entitled to a refund of the tax.
The secretary shall prescribe the method of proof and the forms of application for refund or allowance.
See also ss. Tax 7.01
, Wis. adm. code.
Records and reports. 139.11(1)(1)
Preservation of records.
Every person who manufactures, rectifies, distributes, imports, transports, stores, warehouses, or sells intoxicating liquor or fermented malt beverages shall keep complete and accurate records of all such liquor or malt beverages purchased, sold, manufactured, rectified, brewed, fermented, distilled, produced, stored, warehoused, imported, or transported within this state. Such records shall be of a kind and in the form prescribed by the secretary and shall be safely preserved to ensure accessibility for inspection by the secretary. A person required to keep records under this subsection may keep such records in electronic form only.
Each brewer, brewpub, bottler, manufacturer, rectifier, and wholesaler shall on or before the 15th day of each calendar month or the dates prescribed by the secretary file a verified report of all fermented malt beverages or intoxicating liquor manufactured, received, sold, delivered, or shipped by him or her during the preceding calendar month, except that the department may allow wholesale, winery, and out-of-state shipper permittees whose tax liability is less than $500 per quarter to file on a quarterly basis. Quarterly reports shall be filed on or before the 15th of the next month following the close of the calendar quarter.
(2m) Timely filing.
The provisions on timely filing under s. 71.80 (18)
apply to the tax under this subchapter.
(3) Secretary's powers.
When the secretary finds that the records kept by any brewer, brewpub, bottler, manufacturer, rectifier, wholesaler, or retailer are in such condition that an unusual amount of time is required to determine therefrom the amount of tax due, the secretary may give notice of such fact to such person and may require the records to be kept in such form as the secretary prescribes. If such requirements are not complied with within 30 days after the date of the notice, the brewer, brewpub, bottler, manufacturer, rectifier, wholesaler, or retailer shall pay the expenses reasonably attributable to the determination of tax at the rate of $30 per day for each auditor. The secretary shall render a bill therefor by registered mail to the person charged with payment at the conclusion of the audit, which bill shall constitute notice of assessment and demand of payment thereof. The brewer, brewpub, bottler, manufacturer, rectifier, wholesaler, or retailer shall, within 10 days after the mailing of the bill, pay its amount, and such payment shall be credited to the appropriation made in s. 20.566 (1) (a)
(4) Confidentiality and publications. 139.11(4)(a)(a)
Sections 71.78 (1)
, and (4)
and 71.83 (2) (a) 3.
, relating to confidentiality of income and franchise tax returns, apply to any information obtained from any person on a fermented malt beverage tax return, report, schedule, exhibit, or other document or from an audit report relating to any of those documents, except that the department of revenue shall publish the following:
A current list, available on paper and on the department's Internet site, providing detailed information regarding every person issued a wholesalers permit under s. 125.28
, brewers permit under s. 125.29
, brewpub permit under s. 125.295
, or out-of-state shippers permit under s. 125.30
. The information provided under this subdivision shall include the name and address of the permit holder and the date on which the department issued the permit.
Sections 71.78 (1)
and 71.83 (2) (a) 3.
, relating to confidentiality of income and franchise tax returns, do not apply to any information obtained from any person on an intoxicating liquor tax return, report, schedule, exhibit, or other document or from an audit report relating to any of those documents. With the information provided to the department by any person, the department of revenue shall publish at least once each month:
Statistics on the total number of liters of the types and brands of intoxicating liquor sold in this state.
A current and regularly updated list, made available on paper and on the department's Internet website, of permit holders that minimally includes detailed information on the name, address, contact person, and date of permit issuance for every manufacturer's and rectifier's permit issued under s. 125.52
, winery permit issued under s. 125.53
, direct wine shipper's permit issued under s. 125.535
, wholesaler's permit issued under s. 125.54
, and out-of-state shipper's permit issued under s. 125.58
A report summarizing the identity, quantity, and price of all products sold under each winery permit issued under s. 125.53
and each direct wine shipper's permit issued under s. 125.535
A report summarizing the sales quantity and product data available for all products sold under each wholesaler's permit issued under s. 125.54
See also ss. Tax 7.01
, and 8.81
, Wis. adm. code.
History: 1991 a. 39
Presumptions from possession. 139.18(1)(1)
The possession of any fermented malt beverages on any licensed premises, other than upon the premises of a brewer, brewpub, or bottler, shall be deemed prima facie evidence that such products are kept with intent to sell and that such products are subject to the tax herein imposed.
The possession of intoxicating liquor on which a tax has not been paid except upon the premises of a manufacturer, rectifier or wholesaler, or any licensed public warehouse shall be deemed prima facie evidence that such liquor is possessed with the intent to sell it contrary to law.
History: 1985 a. 120
; 2007 a. 20
Compulsory testimony. 139.20(1)(1)
Any person may be compelled to testify in regard to any violation of this chapter of which the person may have knowledge, even though such testimony may tend to incriminate the person, upon being granted immunity from prosecution in connection therewith, and upon the giving of such testimony, such person shall not be prosecuted for or because of the violation relative to which the person has testified.
The immunity provided under sub. (1)
is subject to the restrictions under s. 972.085
History: 1989 a. 122
If a duly authorized employee of the department of revenue or the department of justice or any sheriff, police officer, marshal, or constable, within his or her respective jurisdiction, discovers any fermented malt beverages upon any premises other than the premises of a brewer, brewpub, or bottler, or any intoxicating liquor upon any premises other than the premises of a manufacturer, rectifier, winery, or wholesaler, and upon which the tax has not been paid or which was possessed, kept, stored, manufactured, sold, distributed, or transported in violation of ss. 139.01
and ch. 125
, the employee or any such officer may immediately seize the fermented malt beverages or intoxicating liquors. Any such fermented malt beverages or intoxicating liquors so seized shall be held by the department of revenue and disposed of under s. 125.14 (2) (e)
Interest and penalties.
Unpaid taxes bear interest at the rate of 12 percent per year from the due date of the return until paid or deposited with the department, and all refunded taxes bear interest at the rate of 3 percent per year from the due date of the return to the date on which the refund is certified on the refund rolls.
(1m) Order of application.
All nondelinquent payments of additional amounts owed shall be applied in the following order: penalties, interest, tax principal.
(2) Delinquent returns.
Delinquent beverage tax returns are subject to a $10 late filing fee. Delinquent beverage taxes bear interest at the rate of 1.5 percent per month until paid. The taxes imposed by this subchapter shall become delinquent if not paid:
In the case of a timely filed return, no return or a late return, on or before the due date of the return; or
In the case of a deficiency determination of taxes, within 2 months after the date of demand.
(3) Incorrect return.
If an incorrect return is filed and upon a showing by the department under s. 73.16 (4)
, the entire tax finally determined is subject to a penalty of 25 percent of the tax exclusive of interest or other penalty. A person filing an incorrect return has the burden of proving that the error or errors were due to good cause and not due to neglect.
(4) Failure to file return.
In case of failure to file any return required under s. 139.05
by the due date, and upon a showing by the department under s. 73.16 (4)
, there shall be added to the amount required to be shown as tax on that return 5 percent of the amount of that tax if the failure is for not more than one month, and an additional 5 percent of the tax for each additional month or fraction thereof during which that failure continues, not exceeding 25 percent of the tax in the aggregate. For purposes of this subsection, the amount of tax required to be shown on the return shall be reduced by the amount of any part of the tax which is paid on or before the due date prescribed for payment of the tax and by the amount of any credit against the tax which may be claimed upon the return.
(5) False or fraudulent return.
If a person fails to file a return when due or files a false or fraudulent return with intent in either case to defeat or evade the tax imposed by this subchapter, a penalty of 50 percent of the tax shall be added to the tax required to be paid, exclusive of interest and other penalties.
(6) Furnish data or return.
Any person who fails to furnish any return required to be made or who fails to furnish any data required by the department may be fined not more than $500 or imprisoned for not more than 30 days or both.
(7) Report or return verification.
Any person, including an officer of a corporation, who is required to make, render, sign or verify any report or return required by this subchapter and who makes a false or fraudulent report or return or who fails to furnish a report or return when due with the intent, in either case, to defeat or evade the tax imposed by this subchapter may be fined not more than $500 or imprisoned for not more than 30 days or both.
(8) Assisting false or fraudulent return.
No person may aid, abet or assist another in making any false or fraudulent return or false statement in any return required by this subchapter, with intent to defraud the state or evade payment of the tax, or any part thereof, imposed by this subchapter. Anyone who violates this subsection may be fined not more than $500 or imprisoned for not more than 30 days or both.
(9) Failure to keep records.
Failure to comply with s. 139.11 (1)
shall carry a penalty of revocation by the secretary of revenue of the license or permit.
Any person who violates any provision of ss. 139.01
for which specific penalty is not provided shall be fined not more than $500 nor less than $50, or imprisoned not more than 90 days nor less than 10 days or both, and any license or permit issued to that person shall be subject to revocation. The license or permit of any licensee or permittee convicted of evading payment of the tax on intoxicating liquor, or any attempt to evade payment of such tax, shall be deemed forfeited immediately upon conviction.
(11) Second offenses.
Any person convicted of a 2nd offense under the provisions of ss. 139.01
shall, in addition to the penalties provided in this section, forfeit all rights conferred upon him or her by any license issued to him or her by any city, village or town, without notice.
Prosecutions by attorney general.
Upon request by the secretary of revenue, the attorney general may represent this state or assist a district attorney in prosecuting any case arising under this subchapter.
History: 1985 a. 302
Subch. II of ch. 139 Cross-reference
See also ch. Tax 9
, Wis. adm. code.
Cigarette tax; definitions.
In ss. 139.30
, unless the context otherwise requires:
“Bonded direct marketer" means any person who acquires unstamped cigarettes from the manufacturer thereof, affixes stamps to the packages or other containers, stores them and sells them by direct marketing to consumers for their own personal use and who may also acquire stamped cigarettes from manufacturers or distributors for such sales.
“Cigarette" means any roll of tobacco wrapped in paper or any substance other than tobacco.