Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 54

Relating to: seed potato certification and use and providing penalties.

By Representatives Spiros, Felzkowski, Kulp, Tauchen, Vruwink and E. Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Petrowski, Testin, Cowles and Olsen.

February 06, 2017 Referred to Committee on Agriculture

May 16, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12) Representative Nerison; Representatives Novak, Tauchen, Ripp, Tranel, VanderMeer, Mursau, Edming, Horlacher, Considine,

Kessler and Spreitzer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives E. Brooks, Kitchens, Fields

and Vruwink.

Appearances For

- Representative John Spiros 86th Assembly District
- Amanda Gevens University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Alex Crockford
- Steve Diercks Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Jerry Petrowski 29th Senate District
- Kara O'Connor Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Paul Zimmerman Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

May 30, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Nerison; Representatives Novak, Tauchen, Ripp, VanderMeer, Mursau,

Edming, Horlacher, Considine, Kessler,

Spreitzer and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Tranel, E. Brooks, Kitchens

and Fields.

Moved by Representative Ripp, seconded by Representative Novak that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Nerison; Representatives

Novak, Tauchen, Ripp, VanderMeer, Mursau, Edming, Horlacher, Considine,

Kessler, Spreitzer and Vruwink.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Rep. Kitchens would have voted Aye on adoption had he been present.

Moved by Representative Spreitzer, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Bill 54** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Nerison; Representatives Novak, Tauchen, Ripp, VanderMeer,

Mursau, Edming, Horlacher, Considine,

Kessler, Spreitzer and Vruwink.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Reps. E. Brooks and Kitchens would have voted Aye on passage as amended had they been present.

Sandra Smith-Loomans Committee Clerk