Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 598

Relating to: eligibility for physician, dentist, and health care provider educational loan assistance programs.

By Representatives Kleefisch, Riemer, Bernier, Anderson, Berceau, Born, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Considine, Genrich, Goyke, Horlacher, Kolste, Knodl, Mursau, Novak, Pope, Spreitzer, C. Taylor and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Bewley, L. Taylor and Vinehout.

October 27, 2017 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

December 12, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Quinn, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug,
Stafsholt, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings,
Hebl. Vruwink and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Zimmerman and Summerfield.

Appearances For

- Rep. Daniel Riemer
- John Eich WI Office of Rural Health
- Sara Nichols Open Arms Free Clinic
- Matt Rossetto WI Dental Association
- Peter Geiss Lake Area Free Clinic
- Dr. Katherine Gaulke WAFCC
- Heidi VanKirk Health Net of Rock Clinic

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rep. Joel Kleefisch Author
- Rep. Amy Loudenbeck
- Jan Witt Health Net of Rock County

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

December 20, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Tranel, Quinn, Summerfield, Petryk, Stafsholt, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl,

Vruwink and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Zimmerman, Ballweg and

Krug.

Moved by Representative Billings, seconded by Representative Berceau that **Assembly Bill 598** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Quinn, Summerfield, Petryk,

Stafsholt, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk