Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 567

Relating to: a Public Defender Board student loan payment pilot program and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Tusler, Quinn, Goyke, Anderson, Berceau, E. Brooks, Considine, Crowley, Doyle, Edming, Genrich, Horlacher, Mason, Mursau, Pope, C. Taylor, Subeck and Kessler; cosponsored by Senators Testin and Vinehout.

October 19, 2017 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

December 12, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

> Representative Murphy; Representatives Present: (14)Tranel, Quinn, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Stafsholt, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings,

Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.

Absent: (0)None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Zimmerman and Summerfield.

Appearances For

- Sen. Patrick Testin Senate author
- State Public Defender Kelli Thompson SPD office
- Adam Plotkin SPD office
- Paul Swanson Stae Bar of Wisconsin
- Kimberly Haas Wisconsin Judicare
- Anthony Cotton attorney
- Vicky Selkowe Legal Action of Wisconsin

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Rep. Ron Tusler author
- Lynne Davis State Bar of Wisconsin
- Karen Lueschow

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 18, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Tranel, Quinn, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl,

Vruwink and Anderson.

Absent: (2) Representatives Zimmerman and Stafsholt.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Billings, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Quinn, Summerfield, Petryk,

Ballweg, Krug, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hebl, seconded by Representative Petryk that **Assembly Bill 567** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Quinn, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs,

Billings, Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk