# **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Constitution and Ethics**

#### Assembly Bill 758

Relating to: University of Wisconsin research contracts.

By Representatives Murphy, Berceau, Rohrkaste, Anderson, Ballweg, Kuglitsch, Sargent, Barca and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators Feyen, Risser, Miller, Olsen, Bewley and Cowles.

December 19, 2017 Referred to Committee on Constitution and Ethics

January 11, 2018 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (7) Representative Allen; Representatives

Thiesfeldt, Jagler, Kremer, Wichgers, Kessler

and Berceau.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Jarchow and Wachs.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Dave Murphy Assembly District 56
- Professor Emeritus Richard Burgess University of Wisconsin Public Representation Organization of the Faculty Senate
- Professor Carol Hirschmugl UW-Milwaukee

#### **Appearances Against**

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Senator Dan Feyen Senate District 18
- Jamie Weichert Radiology-University of Wisconsin
- Professor Thomas Mackie University of Wisconsin Advocacy Consortium for Entrepreneurs/Public Representation Organization of the Faculty Senate
- Jack O'Meara University of Wisconsin Public Representation Organization of the Faculty Senate
- Senator Fred Risser Senate District 26
- President Ray Cross University of Wisconsin System
- Crystal Potts UW-Madison

- Kathi Kilgore Academic Staff Professionals Representation Organization
- Jordan Lamb BioForward

## Registrations Against

• None.

## **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

## January 30, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (7) Representative Allen; Representatives

Thiesfeldt, Jagler, Kremer, Wichgers, Kessler

and Berceau.

Absent: (2) Representatives Jarchow and Wachs.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Berceau, seconded by Representative Thiesfeldt that **Assembly Bill 758** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Representative Allen; Representatives Thiesfeldt, Jagler, Kremer, Wichgers,

Kessler and Berceau.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Dan Hubert

Committee Clerk