Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 660

Relating to: the age at which a person is subject to juvenile court jurisdiction and making appropriations.

By Representatives Born, Nygren, Kessler, Berceau, Billings, E. Brooks, Crowley, Genrich, Goyke, Hintz, Kolste, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Mursau, Novak, Quinn, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Shankland, Spiros, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor and Tittl; cosponsored by Senators Petrowski, L. Taylor and Johnson.

November 22, 2017 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 11, 2018 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer,
		Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Krug, Goyke,
		Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Bernier.

Appearances For

- Representative Mark Born
- Representative Fred Kessler
- Adam Plotkin State Public Defenders
- Robin Dorman State Public Defender
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf Wisconsin Counties Association
- Gil Halstad MOSES
- Jim Moeser
- Marc Herstand National Assocation of Social Workers
- Chris Rogers State Bar of WI
- Nancy Kosseff MOSES
- Ann Lacy MOSES
- Kathy Markeland WAFCA
- Phyllis Greenberger Disability Rights WI
- Barbara Sella WI Catholic Conference

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Jerry Petrowski
- Mickey Beil Dane County
- Pastor Cindy Crane Lutheran Office for Public Policy in WI
- Lynne Davis State Bar of WI
- Crystal Hester NAMI Wisconsin
- Ken Taylor Kids Forward
- Mishelle O'Shasky Wisconsin Council on Mental Health
- Joanne Juhnke Wisconsin Family Ties
- Alice O'Connor Fresh Start Coalition

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 25, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Kremer,
		Ott, Jacque, Horlacher, Novak, Bernier, Krug,
		Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Kessler, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 660** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Jacque, Novak, Bernier, Krug, Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Crowley.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Kremer, Ott and Horlacher.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 3

Erin Clark Committee Clerk