Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 835

Relating to: sparsity aid, the revenue limit ceiling for school districts, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Nygren, Felzkowski, Mursau, Kitchens, Ballweg, Bernier, Born, Edming, Katsma, Kulp, Krug, Loudenbeck, Nerison, Novak, Petersen, Petryk, Pronschinske, Quinn, Rohrkaste, Spiros, Steffen, Summerfield, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Rodriguez and Steineke; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Olsen, Testin, LeMahieu, Moulton and Tiffany.

January 12, 2018 Referred to Committee on Education

January 25, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich, Considine Hebl Bowen and Vruwink

Considine, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Absent: (1) Representative Zimmerman.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Howard Marklein State Senator
- John Nygren State Representative
- Dee Pettack DPI
- Andrew Chromy Oak Creek Franklin Joint School District
- Craig Gerlach Stevens Point Area School District
- Michael Gerlach Fond du Lac School District
- Shawn McNulty Mukwonago Schools
- Tom Karthausser Mukwonago Schools
- Mike Trimberger Randon Lakes/Sheboygan Co.
- Kevin Bruggiuk Oostburg School District
- Tanya Olson Waupun Area School District
- John Stellmacher School District of Hartford
- Brian Walters School District of Marinette
- Bryce Bird Riverdale School District
- Ron Saari Potosi School District
- Kim Kaukl Wis Rural Schools Alliance
- John Forester SAA
- Dan Rossmiller WASB

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Patrick Rall - School District of Bonduel

Registrations For

- Mary Felzkowski State Representative
- Jeff Mursau State Representative
- Devin LeMahieu State Senator
- Terri Phillips SE Wi Schools Alliance
- Carrie Dassow Plymouth School District
- Alberta Darling State Senator

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 01, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Considine.

Moved by Representative Pope, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Pope, Genrich, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Noes: (10) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Duchow and Wichgers.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Hebl, seconded by Representative Bowen that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Pope, Genrich, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Noes: (10) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Duchow and Wichgers.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Rodriguez, seconded by Representative Tusler that **Assembly Bill 835** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich, Bowen and Vruwink.

Noes: (1) Representative Hebl.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Hariah Hutkowski

Committee Clerk