## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Education**

### **Assembly Bill 471**

Relating to: the payment of state aid to school districts and payments to operators of independent charter schools and private schools participating in a choice program or the Special Needs Scholarship Program.

By Representatives Hutton, Horlacher, Katsma, Kolste, Kooyenga, Kremer, Murphy, Novak, Spiros, Vruwink and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Darling, Harsdorf and Kapenga.

August 14, 2017 Referred to Committee on Education

August 24, 2017 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (12) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Quinn, Duchow,

Wichgers, Pope, Genrich, Considine, Bowen

and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Zimmerman, Tusler, Mursau

and Hebl.

#### Appearances For

- Rob Hutton State Representative
- John Forester SAA
- Dan Rossmiller WASB
- Jim Bender School Choice WI
- Glenn Allgaier Elmbrook School District
- Fred Lautz St. Marcus Lutheran School
- Emily Koczak

#### **Appearances Against**

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Dee Pettack DPI
- Bob Solner DPI

#### Registrations For

- Scott Jensen American Federation for Children
- Justin Moralez American Federation for Children
- Luther Olsen State Senator
- Julaine Appling Wis. Family Action

### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 22, 2018 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Hariah Hutkowski Committee Clerk