Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 78

Relating to: lead service line replacements.

By Representatives Thiesfeldt, Krug, Genrich, Crowley, Barca, Bowen, E. Brooks, Brostoff, Fields, Goyke, Horlacher, Jagler, Kitchens, Kolste, Mason, Novak, Ohnstad, Ripp, Schraa, Spiros, Spreitzer, Steffen, Stuck, Subeck, C. Taylor, Tauchen, Tusler, Zamarripa, Zepnick, Anderson and Allen; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, L. Taylor, Bewley, Carpenter, Darling, Feyen, Harsdorf, Johnson, Lasee, Miller, Olsen, Petrowski, Risser, Vinehout, Vukmir, Hansen, Wanggaard and Larson.

February 21, 2017 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

April 18, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(15)	Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives
		Steffen, Rodriguez, Weatherston, Petersen,
		Tauchen, Tranel, Jarchow, Petryk, Neylon,
		Zepnick, Sargent, Genrich, Stuck and Meyers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt Assembly District 52
- Robert Cowles State Senate District 2
- Ed St Peter City of Kenosha
- Rep. Tod Ohnstad Assembly District 65
- Dr. Elizabeth Neary UW Health & UW School of Medicine & Public Health
- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Cori Lamont Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Rep. Peter Barca Assembly District 64
- Keith Haas Racine Water Utility
- Frank Miller Cudahy Water Utility
- Joe Moore Fond du Lac Water Utility
- Nancy Quirk Green Bay Water Utility
- Jennifer Giegerich WI League of Conservation Voters
- Amber Meyer Smith Clean Wisconsin
- Jennifer Gonda Milwaukee Water Works
- Laura DeGolier Park Watch of Fond du Lac
- Ellen Nowak Public Service Commission

Appearances Against

• Lucas Vebber - Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

Appearances for Information Only

• Steve Baas - Milwaukee Metropolitan Association of Commerce

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 13, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives
		Steffen, Rodriguez, Weatherston, Petersen,
		Tauchen, Tranel, Jarchow, Petryk, Neylon,
		Zepnick, Sargent, Genrich, Stuck and Meyers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Petersen, seconded by Representative Jarchow that Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (3) Representatives Petersen, Tranel and Jarchow.
- Noes: (12) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Rodriguez, Weatherston, Tauchen, Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick, Sargent, Genrich, Stuck and Meyers.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 12

Moved by Representative Petersen, seconded by Representative Tauchen that **Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Petersen, Tauchen, Tranel, Jarchow and Petryk.

Noes: (10) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Rodriguez, Weatherston, Neylon, Zepnick, Sargent, Genrich, Stuck and Meyers.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Weatherston, seconded by Representative Neylon that **Assembly Amendment 4 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- /	Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives
	Steffen, Rodriguez, Weatherston, Tauchen,
	Petryk, Neylon and Zepnick.
	8)

Noes: (7) Representatives Petersen, Tranel, Jarchow, Sargent, Genrich, Stuck and Meyers.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 4 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Weatherston, seconded by Representative Rodriguez that **Assembly Substitute Amendment** 1 be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (10) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Rodriguez, Weatherston, Tauchen, Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick, Stuck and Meyers.
- Noes: (5) Representatives Petersen, Tranel, Jarchow, Sargent and Genrich.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Weatherston that **Assembly Bill 78** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (12) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Rodriguez, Weatherston, Tauchen, Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick, Sargent, Genrich, Stuck and Meyers.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Petersen, Tranel and Jarchow.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 3

Garrett Huffman Committee Clerk