Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Jobs and the Economy

Assembly Bill 589

Relating to: regulation of sign language interpretation services, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and providing a criminal penalty.

By Representatives Brostoff, Skowronski, Kleefisch, Crowley, Bowen, Vorpagel, Stuck, Subeck, Rohrkaste, Anderson, Spiros, Spreitzer, Genrich, Sargent, Hintz, Zamarripa, Ripp, C. Taylor, Sinicki, Kolste, Riemer, E. Brooks, Hebl and Goyke; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Johnson, Vinehout, Larson and Carpenter.

October 24, 2017 Referred to Committee on Jobs and the Economy

November 30, 2017 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Neylon; Representatives E.
		Brooks, Tittl, Macco, Kleefisch, Ballweg,
		Ohnstad, Stuck, Fields, Crowley and Sinicki.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Zimmerman, Kulp and Snyder.

Appearances For

- Rep. Jonathan Brostoff 19th AD
- Sen. Pat Testin 24th SD
- Rep. Joel Kleefisch 38th AD
- Rep. Ken Skowronski 82nd AD
- Katy Schmidt WI Association of the Deaf
- Stephanie Zito Wisconsin Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
- Taylor Keenan student
- Brittany Mitchell student
- Audrey Navine student
- Grace Mildebrandt student
- Brandon Radke student
- Richard Myhre student
- Samantha Barker student
- Monica Corner student
- Jessica Ryback
- Sara Kay Granger student
- Christina Destrampe President of Wisconsin Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
- Pamela Sue Conine UW-Milwaukee, WAD, WisRAD

- Teresa Baumgartner self
- Liliana and Matt Morgan self, business owner
- Joel Mankowski Member of DSPS Sign Language Interpreters Council
- Michael Maffucci WI Association of the Deaf
- Marika Kovacs WI Association of the Deaf
- Katie Voss WI Association of the Deaf/ WI Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
- Gregory Heyrman self
- Erin Wiggins Wisconsin Association of the Deaf
- John Heyrman self
- William Humphrey self
- Justin Vollmar WI Association of the Deaf
- Charles Grote self
- Theresa Schmechel self
- Eve Dicker Eiseman self
- Melissa Armstrong self
- Jonathan Thomm self
- Andrea Jones self
- Shel Gross Mental Health America of Wisconsin

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Jon Hoelter WI DHS
- Amber Mullett WI DHS
- Jana Mauldin self

Registrations For

- Colleen Keating self
- Amy Devine Disability Rights WI
- David Binning Wisconsin Association of the Deaf
- Ron Byington self
- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers
- Karen Dishno self
- Jaimee Larson student
- Ariel Baeseman self
- Kelsey Tolar self
- Aadrianna Murphy UW-Milwaukee ITP
- Bill Smith NFIB
- Lindsey Bauer UW-Milwaukee ITP
- Graciella Rodriguez UW-Milwaukee ITP
- Jon Turke WI Bankers Association

- Monica Groves American Family Insurance
- Thomas Hanson Andrea Jones
- Jane Cerutti WI Association of the Deaf
- Deloris Eulaudson Wisconsin Association of the Deaf
- Meta Cucinotta Wisconsin Association of the Deaf/WisRID
- Tammy Muraszewski self
- Jim Burton self
- Jim Gatz self
- Roberta Muraszewski self
- Brad Muraszewski self
- Dennis Buchhoilz Andrea Metzger
- James Jones Andrea Metzger
- Layla Merrifield Tech College District Boards Association
- Sofia Gonzalez UW-Milwaukee ITP
- Sarah LeCavalier South Wisconsin Interpreting & Translation Services
- Andrew Damon UW-Milwauke ITP
- Kathleen Clemens UW-Milwaukee ITP
- Allegra Rowland UW-Milwaukee ITP
- Richard Beal Andrea
- Roger Claussen self

Registrations Against

• Jenny Buechner - self

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 25, 2018 Executive Session Held

 Present: (12) Representative Neylon; Representatives E. Brooks, Zimmerman, Kulp, Tittl, Macco, Kleefisch, Ballweg, Ohnstad, Stuck, Fields and Crowley.
Absent: (0) None.
Excused: (2) Representatives Snyder and Sinicki.

Moved by Representative Tittl, seconded by Representative Stuck that **Assembly Bill 589** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representative Neylon; Representatives E. Brooks, Zimmerman, Kulp, Tittl, Macco, Kleefisch, Ballweg, Ohnstad, Stuck, Fields and Crowley. Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Joe Zapf Committee Clerk