Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary

Assembly Bill 778

Relating to: appellate procedure in proceedings related to termination of parental rights.

By Representatives Doyle, Katsma, Subeck, Neylon, Kitchens, Novak, Rodriguez, Ballweg, Pronschinske, Snyder, Anderson, Berceau, Born, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Considine, Felzkowski, Kolste, Krug, Kulp, Mursau, Ohnstad, Petersen, Petryk, Quinn, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Schraa, Sinicki, Steineke, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Darling, Ringhand, L. Taylor, Vinehout and Wanggaard.

December 27, 2017 Referred to Committee on Judiciary

January 30, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher,

Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, Kerkman, Wachs,

Hebl and C. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Elizabeth Mueller Milwaukee County DA
- Judge Jason Rossell Kenosha County Circuit Court
- Megan Devore LaCrosse County
- Rep. Steve Doyle, bill's author

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rep. Terry Katsma
- Sen. Luther Olsen, bill's author
- Deanna Willis Legal Aid Society Milwaukee Children's court center

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 31, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher,

Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, Kerkman, Wachs,

Hebl and C. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Horlacher, seconded by Representative Hebl that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Ott; Representatives

Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, Kerkman, Wachs, Hebl and C. Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hebl, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Bill 778** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Ott; Representatives

Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, Kerkman, Wachs, Hebl and C. Taylor.

Retrinuit, Whens, Treof and C. 1

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Virginia Mueller Committee Clerk