Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Mental Health

Assembly Bill 631

Relating to: creating a nonrefundable individual income tax credit for certain expenses incurred by a family caregiver to assist a qualified family member.

By Representatives Skowronski, Brostoff, Rohrkaste, Novak, Kulp, Horlacher, Anderson, Kitchens, Subeck, Considine, Nygren, Ripp, Tusler, Kolste, Meyers, Sinicki, Tittl, Mursau, Berceau, Doyle, Sargent and Bowen; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Wirch, Carpenter, Johnson, Bewley, Larson and L. Taylor.

November 10, 2017 Referred to Committee on Mental Health

December 12, 2017 Public Hearing Held

Present: (10) Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler, Ballweg, Novak, Sanfelippo, Snyder,

VanderMeer, Considine, Sargent and Brostoff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Spiros.

Appearances For

- Representative Ken Skowronski
- Senator Pat Testin
- Helen Marks Dicks AARP
- Rob Gunderman Alzheimer's and Dementia Alliance of Wisconsin
- Tim Harrington Alzheimer's Association
- Janet Zander Wisconsin Aging Advocacy
 Network/Greater Wisconsin Agency on Aging Resources
- Noreen Holmes AARP
- Jim Turk Multiple Sclerosis Society
- Laura Chastain M/S Society GRAC

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Carol Greene AARP
- Jackie Scherrer
- Sybil Better

- Richard H. Crary AARP
- Patricia Evans AARP
- Carrie Glover AARP
- Gary A. Glover AARP
- Wilmer Lamont
- Carol Martell AARP
- George Sentency AARP
- James Lamont
- Robert Wilkinson AARP
- Deloris O'Laughlin AARP
- Susan Fadness AARP
- Nancy Koch AARP
- Tami Jackson WI Board for Peoplewith Developmental Disabilities
- Margaret Hrncirik AARP
- Lisa Lamkins AARP
- Judith Hirsch AARP
- Patrick Meier AARP
- Doloris O'Laughlin AARP
- Richard H. Crary AARP
- Kim Wadas Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Ben Van Pelt American Heart Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 09, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler,

Ballweg, Novak, Sanfelippo, Snyder, VanderMeer, Spiros, Considine, Sargent,

Brostoff and Stuck.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Brostoff, seconded by Representative Snyder that **Assembly Bill 631** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler, Ballweg, Novak, Sanfelippo, Snyder, VanderMeer, Spiros, Considine, Sargent, Brostoff and Stuck. Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Steve Hall
Committee Clerk