# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Natural Resources and Sporting Heritage**

### **Assembly Bill 82**

Relating to: an exemption for resident disabled veterans and for recipients of the purple heart medal from the cumulative preference system for issuing wild turkey hunting licenses and tags.

By Representatives Hesselbein, Kleefisch, Kolste, Weatherston, Sinicki, Tittl, Anderson, Hebl, Novak, Berceau, Ohnstad, Goyke, Doyle, Milroy, Edming, Tusler, Mursau, R. Brooks, Wachs, Ripp, E. Brooks, Macco, Spreitzer, Petryk, Hintz, Kremer, Zamarripa and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Vinehout, Bewley, Olsen, Wirch, Lasee, Petrowski, Carpenter and Hansen.

February 22, 2017 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources and Sporting Heritage

# March 15, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kleefisch; Representatives
Quinn, Tittl, Edming, Nerison, Mursau, Ripp,
Tusler, Stafsholt, Milroy, Hesselbein, Spreitzer,
Stuck and Brostoff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Skowronski.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Diane Hesselbein
- Doug Alderton
- Steve Acheson WI Veterans
- Mike Furgal Foreign Wars (VFW)
- Matthew Tennessen
- George Meyer WI Wildlife Federation

#### Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Sen. Testin
- Jason Johns Military Order of the Purple Heart-Dept of WI
- Scott Meyer

• Jennifer Giegerid - WI League of Conservation Voters

# **Registrations Against**

• None.

# **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

# March 29, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kleefisch; Representatives Tittl, Edming, Nerison, Mursau, Skowronski, Ripp, Tusler, Stafsholt, Milroy, Hesselbein, Spreitzer, Stuck and Brostoff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Quinn.

Moved by Representative Brostoff, seconded by Representative Stuck that **Assembly Bill 82** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kleefisch; Representatives
Tittl, Edming, Nerison, Mursau,
Skowronski, Ripp, Tusler, Stafsholt, Milroy,
Hesselbein, Spreitzer, Stuck and Brostoff.

Committee Clerk

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Katie Scott