Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources and Sporting Heritage

Assembly Bill 61

March 15, 2017

Relating to: rules that prohibit feeding deer in certain counties.

By Representatives Jarchow, Quinn, R. Brooks, Edming, Felzkowski, Gannon, Kleefisch, Mursau, Skowronski, Stafsholt, Tauchen, Zimmerman and Fields; cosponsored by Senators Moulton, Craig and Harsdorf.

February 06, 2017	Referred to Committee on Natural Resources and Sporting
Heritage	

Present: (14) Representative Kleefisch; Representatives Quinn, Tittl, Edming, Nerison, Mursau, Ripp, Tusler, Stafsholt, Milroy, Hesselbein, Spreitzer, Stuck and Brostoff.
Absent: (0) None.
Excused: (1) Representative Skowronski.

Appearances For

Public Hearing Held

- Rep. Jarchow
- Rep. Quinn
- David Toftness
- Mark Dean
- Byron Bird, Jr
- Brandon Whidiker
- Jerome Donohue

Appearances Against

- Al Shook WI Conservation Congress
- Gary Dieck
- Tom Hauge
- Ralph Fritsch
- George Meyer WI Wildlife Federation

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Moulton
- Sen. Vinehout
- Scott Meyer

Registrations Against

- Jennifer Giegerich WI League of Conservation Voters
- George Borchent

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 29, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Kleefisch; Representatives Tittl,
		Edming, Nerison, Mursau, Skowronski, Ripp,
		Tusler, Stafsholt, Milroy, Hesselbein, Spreitzer,
		Stuck and Brostoff.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Quinn.

Moved by Representative Stuck, seconded by Representative Brostoff that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(5)	Representatives Milroy, Hesselbein,
		Spreitzer, Stuck and Brostoff.

Noes: (9) Representative Kleefisch; Representatives Tittl, Edming, Nerison, Mursau, Skowronski, Ripp, Tusler and Stafsholt.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 9

Moved by Representative Skowronski, seconded by Representative Nerison that **Assembly Bill 61** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(8)	Representative Kleefisch; Representatives
		Edming, Nerison, Mursau, Skowronski,
		Ripp, Tusler and Stafsholt.

Noes: (6) Representatives Tittl, Milroy, Hesselbein, Spreitzer, Stuck and Brostoff.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 6

Katie Scott Committee Clerk