## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Public Benefit Reform**

## Assembly Bill 236

Relating to: waiting lists for housing choice vouchers.

By Representatives Pronschinske, Rodriguez, Snyder, Steineke, Ballweg, Bernier, E. Brooks, Edming, Gannon, Jagler, Katsma, Kitchens, Krug, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tusler, VanderMeer and Felzkowski; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Olsen.

April 13, 2017	Referred to Committee on Public Benefit Reform			
April 18, 2017	Public Hearing Held			
	Present: (7	<ul> <li>Representative Krug; Representatives</li> <li>Vorpagel, Schraa, Kremer, Petersen, Subeck and Riemer.</li> </ul>		
	Absent: (0	)) None.		
	Excused: (2	Representatives Brandtjen and Kolste.		
	Appearances For			
	• Rep. Patrick Snyder - State Leg			
	• Julie Bock - Pathfinders MKE			
	• Eric Peterson - Milwukee County Exec Abele			
	• Carrie Poser - Wi. Bos COC			
		ette Petts - Balance of State CO C		
		i Elliott - Community Advocates		
		Treig Pronschinske - State Leg.		
	-	sha Jordan		
	Appearances Against			
	• Non	-		
		for Information Only essa Kuettel - Legal Action of WI.		
	Registrations	For		

- Joseph Volk Wi. Coalition against Homelessness
- Mickey Beil Dane County
- Jim Farrell Hope house of Milwaukee
- Rep. Jessie Rodriguez State Leg
- Rep. Jim Steineke State Leg.
- Sen. Alberta Darling State Leg.

- Pam Anderson Marathnon County Housing & homeless coalition
- Jean Fisher -
- Housing First Coalition Housing First Coalition -Housing First Coalition
- Milwaukee Continuum of Care Milwaukee Continuum of Care Milwaukee Continuum of Care
- Milwaukee Shelter and Transitional housing task force Milwaukee Shelter and Transitional housing task force -Milwaukee Shelter and Transitional housing task force

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

### April 20, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(8)	Representative Krug; Representatives	
		Vorpagel, Schraa, Kremer, Petersen, Subeck,	
		Kolste and Riemer.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(1)	Representative Brandtjen.	

Moved by Representative Subeck, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (3) Representatives Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.
- Noes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Schraa, Kremer and Petersen.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Petersen, seconded by Representative Vorpagel that **Assembly Bill 236** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Schraa, Kremer, Petersen and Riemer.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Subeck and Kolste.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 2

Randy Thorson Committee Clerk