Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Benefit Reform

Assembly Bill 501

Relating to: FoodShare healthy eating incentive pilot program and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Rohrkaste, Jarchow, Zimmerman, Stafsholt, Tranel, Petryk, Horlacher, Quinn, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Goyke, Berceau, Genrich and Kolste; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, L. Taylor, Darling, Olsen, Tiffany, Johnson, Petrowski, Cowles, Wirch and Vukmir.

September 20, 2017 Referred to Committee on Public Benefit Reform

October 17, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa, Kremer, Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Petersen.

Appearances For

- Senator Sheila Harsdorf State Senate
- Senator Mike Rohrkaste State Assembly
- Ben Van Pect American Heart Association
- Catherine Kolkmeier American Heart Association
- Pat Remington, MD UW- School Of Medicine and Public Health
- Jodeen Hetlenvach SSM Health
- Scott Nordstrand Solutran

Appearances Against

• Brandon Scholz - Wisconsin Grocers Association

Appearances for Information Only

 Nicholas Heckman - Public Health Madison and Dane Co.

Registrations For

- Chase Tarrier End Domestic Abuse Wi.
- Connie Schulze UW Health
- Maureen Ryan Survival Coalition
- Peter Bakken Wi. Council of Churches
- Lisa Pogh The Arc Wi.

- Jodi Bloch Children's Hospital of Wi.
- Sara Sahli American Cancer Society Action Network
- Dan Carpenter School Nutrition Association of WI.
- Dan Carpenter Wi. Public Health Association
- Dan Carpenter Wi. Association of local health Dept. and Boards
- David Lee Feeding Wi.
- Maureen Fitzgerald Hunger Task Force
- Dr. David Allen Dance Cty Healthy kids
 Collaborative/ UW American Family Children's Hospital

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 24, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Kremer, Petersen, Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Schraa.

Moved by Representative Petersen, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Bill 501** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Kremer, Petersen, Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Hannah Gibbs Committee Clerk