Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Benefit Reform

January 2018 Special Session Assembly Bill 10

Relating to: photo identification cards for FoodShare recipients.

By committee on Assembly Organization, Representatives Kremer, Ott, Bernier, Born, Brandtjen, Felzkowski, Horlacher, Hutton, Jacque, Jagler, Katsma, Kerkman, Kitchens, Kleefisch, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Murphy, Petersen, Petryk, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tusler and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Nass, Kapenga, Stroebel, Wanggaard, Craig, Darling, Feyen, Marklein and Vukmir, by request of Governor Scott Walker.

January 26, 2018 Referred to Committee on Public Benefit Reform

January 31, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Krug; Representatives

Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa, Kremer, Petersen,

Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Steve Nass 11th Senate District
- David Lee Feeding Wisconsin
- Representative Jesse Kremer 59th Assembly District
- Chytania Brown DWD, Division Administrator Employment and Training
- Jennifer Malcore Assistant Deputy Secretary,
 Department of Children and Families
- John Nothdurft The Heartland Institute
- Senator Chris Kapenga 33rd Senate District
- Representative Robin Vos 63rd Assembly District

Appearances Against

- Kevin Runnie Hunger Relief Federation of WI
- Tami Jackson WI Board for People with Developmental Disabilities
- Maureen Fitzgerald Hunger Task Force
- Bianca Shaw
- Vicky Selkowe Legal Action of WI
- Jonathan Bader WISCAP
- Lisa Pugh Survial Coalition of Wisconsin

- Amy Devined Wisconsin Disability Organization
- Pastor Cindy Crane Lutheran office for public policy
- Chase Tarrier End Domestic Abuse WI
- Peter Bakken WI Council of Churces
- Reverend Michael Rehak WI Faith Voices for Justice

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Dorothy Tambornino
- Jean DeGuire
- Loren Arends
- Jamie De Guire
- Juliya Gabrielle
- Kayla Gabrieke
- Lindsey Fillian
- Scott Smith
- Caty McDermott Opportunity Solutions Project
- Stephen Kappes
- Chris Reader WI Manufacturers and Commerce

Registrations Against

- Amy Devine Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Erin Miller
- Charisse Danielis
- Sarah Shatz
- Laurie Rudie
- Leslie McAllistor
- Adrienne Ramirez
- Chris Nyland
- Elizabeth Klons
- Emily Lassiter
- Norm Littlejohn
- Ernest Stefenfeld Society of St. Vincent de Paul
- Becky Schigiel Worker Justice Wisconsin
- James Penczykowski
- Stacia Connedy
- Amanda Meloy
- Mickey Beil Dane County
- Elise Buchbinder
- Diara Parker
- Michael Goodman
- Lauren Gerger

- Karen Tredwell Food Pantry of Waukesha County, Inc.
- Representative Melissa Sargent
- Michelle Kussow WI Grocers Association
- Marsha Mansfield UW family Court Clinic
- Karen Banaszak
- Jeff Rainke
- Andrea Kaminski League of Women voters

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 06, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives

Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa, Petersen, Subeck,

Kolste and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kremer.

Moved by Representative Vorpagel, seconded by Representative Brandtjen that **January 2018 Special Session Assembly Bill 10** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa and Petersen.

Noes: (3) Representatives Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Hannah Gibbs Committee Clerk