# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Rural Development and Mining**

#### Assembly Bill 730

Relating to: student loan reimbursements for certain individuals domiciled in rural counties, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives E. Brooks, Quinn, Tranel, Kulp, Bernier, Edming, Krug, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Pronschinske, Ripp, Spiros, Summerfield, Tauchen, Tusler, Zimmerman and Horlacher; cosponsored by Senators Tiffany and Marklein.

December 07, 2017	Referred to Committee on Rural Development and Mining			
January 04, 2018	Public Hearing Held			
	Present:	(10)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Kulp, Quinn, E. Brooks, Kuglitsch, Pronschinske, Spreitzer, Milroy, Shankland and Vruwink.	
	Absent:	(0)	None.	
	Excused:	(2)	Representatives Novak and R. Brooks.	
	Appearances For			
	• Representative Ed Brooks - 50th Assembly District			
	• S	steve Pe	terson - Monroe County Economic Development	
	Appearances Against			
	• 1	None.		
	Appearances for Information Only			
	• None.			
	Registrations For			

- Jeremy Levin Rural WI Health Cooperative
- Senator Tom Tiffany 12th Senate District

## **Registrations Against**

• None.

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

## January 18, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Kulp, Novak, R. Brooks, Quinn, E. Brooks,

		Kuglitsch, Pronschinske, Spreitzer, Milroy,
		Shankland and Vruwink.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Spreitzer, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (4) Representatives Spreitzer, Milroy, Shankland and Vruwink.
- Noes: (8) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Kulp, Novak, R. Brooks, Quinn, E. Brooks, Kuglitsch and Pronschinske.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Brooks, seconded by Representative Kulp that **Assembly Bill 730** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (8) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Kulp, Novak, R. Brooks, Quinn, E. Brooks, Kuglitsch and Pronschinske.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Spreitzer, Milroy, Shankland and Vruwink.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Jesse Johnson Committee Clerk