Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 594

Relating to: outdoor advertising signs that do not conform to local ordinances and that are affected by certain transportation-related projects.

By Representatives Vorpagel, Allen, Ballweg, R. Brooks, Considine, Felzkowski, Fields, Horlacher, Jacque, Kulp, Thiesfeldt and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Feyen, Olsen and Wanggaard.

October 27, 2017 Referred to Committee on Transportation

December 05, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representatives Ripp and Spiros;

Representatives Thiesfeldt, Weatherston, Kulp, Sanfelippo, Vorpagel, E. Brooks, Skowronski, Macco, Meyers, Wachs, Kolste, Billings and

Crowley.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Tyler Vorpagel 27th Assembly District
- Sen. Daniel Feyen 18th Senate District
- Kathi Kilgore Outdoor Advertising Association of WI
- Jason Saari Adams and Fairway Outdoor Advertising
- Don Snyder Lamar Outdoor Advertising
- Brad Yarmark Lamar Outdoor Advertising

Appearances Against

• Vernie Smith - Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- David Curtin Lamar Advertising of Central WI
- Trisha Pugal WI Hotel and Lodging Association
- Ryan Savasta Adams Outdoor Advertising
- Romy Snyder WI Dells Visitors and Convention Bureau
- Gary Manke Midwest-SouthEastern Equipment Dealers Association

- Jeffery Knight Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Brandon Scholz WI Grocers Association
- Eric Krieghoff Fairway Outdoor
- Susan Quam WI Restaurant Association
- Jeanne Nowinsky Northern Advertising, Inc.
- Bill Mitchell Lamar Advertising Central WI
- Barbara Campbell Lamar Advertising
- Kurt Weis Lamar Advertising
- Jerry Falvey Clear Channel Outdoor

Registrations Against

- Gary Goyke Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Nicholas Zavos
- Rich Eggleston

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 15, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Weatherston, Kulp, Vorpagel, E.
Brooks, Skowronski, Macco, Meyers, Wachs,
Kolste, Billings and Crowley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Sanfelippo.

Moved by Representative Billings, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Meyers, Wachs, Kolste, Billings and Crowley.

Noes: (8) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Weatherston, Kulp, Vorpagel, E.
Brooks, Skowronski and Macco.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Meyers, seconded by Representative Billings that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Meyers, Wachs, Kolste, Billings and Crowley.

Noes: (8) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Weatherston, Kulp, Vorpagel, E.
Brooks, Skowronski and Macco.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Vorpagel, seconded by Representative Weatherston that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Weatherston, Kulp, Vorpagel, E.
Brooks, Skowronski, Macco and Kolste.

Noes: (4) Representatives Meyers, Wachs, Billings and Crowley.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Weatherston, seconded by Representative Macco that **Assembly Bill 594** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Weatherston, Kulp, Vorpagel, E.
Brooks, Skowronski, Macco and Kolste.

Noes: (4) Representatives Meyers, Wachs, Billings and Crowley.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Matthew L. Rohrbeck Committee Clerk