Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

Assembly Bill 436

Relating to: reducing the eligibility threshold to claim the veterans and surviving spouses property tax credit.

By Representatives Jacque, Skowronski, Crowley, Brandtjen, Kulp, Mursau, Tranel and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, L. Taylor and Johnson.

July 14, 2017 Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

November 16, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12) Representative Skowronski; Representatives

VanderMeer, Petryk, Allen, Edming,

Summerfield, Ott, Tittl, Weatherston, Sinicki,

Goyke and Riemer.

Absent: (3) Representatives Nerison, Hesselbein and

Milroy.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Mike Hanke Amvets Dept. of WI
- Kyle Nyseth Veteran Sub Officer
- Paul Fisk American Legion Dept. of WI
- Jason Johns VFW Dept of WI
- Al Weix VFW DVA
- Al Labelle Disabled American Veterans of Wisconsin
- Daniel Russell Eau Claire Vets Council
- Former Senator Dave Zien VFW, Am Vets, DAV
- Representative Andre Jacque 2nd Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rock Larson CVSO Association if WI
- Stacey McCarthy
- Jason Johns Military Order of the Purple Heart, WI
- Senator Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District
- Wayne Jensen American Legion

- Rock Larson CVSO Association of Wisconsin
- Rick Talford AVVA Ch 5
- Preston Johnson American legion
- Megan Guiness
- William Boyea

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 04, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Skowronski; Representatives

VanderMeer, Petryk, Allen, Edming, Nerison, Summerfield, Ott, Tittl, Weatherston,

Hesselbein, Milroy, Sinicki and Goyke.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Riemer.

Moved by Representative Weatherston, seconded by Representative Tittl that **Assembly Bill 436** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Skowronski; Representatives VanderMeer, Petryk, Allen, Edming, Nerison, Summerfield, Ott, Tittl, Weatherston, Hesselbein, Milroy, Sinicki

and Goyke.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Justin Phillips

Committee Clerk