# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Ways and Means**

### **Assembly Bill 387**

Relating to: property tax assessments regarding leased property.

By Representatives R. Brooks, Steffen, Hintz, Berceau, Bernier, Billings, Considine, Doyle, Duchow, Gannon, Hebl, Horlacher, Katsma, Kessler, Knodl, Kolste, Kooyenga, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Macco, Mason, Murphy, Mursau, Ohnstad, Petersen, Quinn, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stuck, Subeck, Tauchen, Tittl, Wichgers, Zepnick and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Roth, Bewley, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Hansen, Larson, LeMahieu, Marklein, Miller, Olsen, Petrowski, Ringhand and Wirch.

June 14, 2017 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

June 29, 2017 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives

Katsma, Kerkman, Novak, Steffen, Jacque, Bernier, Petersen, Sargent, C. Taylor, Ohnstad

and Doyle.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

### Appearances For

- Duey Stroebel
- Rep. Rob Brooks
- Rep. Peter Barca
- Steve Cummings City of Oshkosh
- Rep. Gordon Hintz 54th Assembly District
- Rocco Vita Wisconsin Association of Assessing Officers and Village of Pleasant Prairie
- Kraig Sadownikow City of West Bend
- Jerry Deschane League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- David Schowalter Town of Grand Chute Town Board
- Jeff Nooyen Outagamie County Board of Supervisors
- Burt McIntyre Village of Howard
- Paul Evert Village of Howard
- Joe Moore Fond du Lac
- Executive Dir. Christian Tscheschlok Economic Development, Washington County
- Amy Seibel Seibel Law Firm

- Police Chief Walter Ostrenga City of Monona Police Department
- Jolene Plautz Wisconsin Towns Association
- Shannon Krause City of Wauwatosa
- Kathy Ehley Cityof Wauwatosa
- Mark Clear City of Madison
- Mark Hanson WAAO Wisconsin Association of Assessing Officers
- Mayor Mike Vandersteen City of Sheboygan
- Deann Brosman City of Appleton
- Josh Schoemann Washington County Adminstratior
- Chairman Rick Gundrum Washington County Board
- Supervisor Tim Michalek Washington County Board Supervisor
- Robert Lorier City of Brookfield
- Steven Ponto City of Brookfield
- Mayor Dan Devine City of West Allis
- Jason Williams City of West Allis
- Mark Luberda City of Franklin
- Kyle Ellefson Village of Johnson Creek
- Marty Krueger Sauk County Board Chairman
- Kurt Gibbs Marathon County Board Chairman
- Steve Miner City of Milwaukee
- Peter Krystowiak City of Kenosha
- Blaine Oborn City of Lake Geneva
- Ryan McCue City of Janesville
- Chris Leitz City of Janesville
- Dan McHugh Village of Mt. Pleasant/Waterford
- Gaylene Rhodin Town of Rib Mountain
- Jeff Yoder City of West Bend
- Jay Shambeau City of West Bend
- John Hewitt Mount Pleasant Trustee
- Tom Haige Town of Brookfield Administrator

#### Appearances Against

- Rep. Scott Krug 72nd Assembly District
- Jason Culotta Wisconsin Manufactures and Commerce
- Don Hartman
- Jeff Hoffman Jeff Hoffman, Boerke Company
- Adam Strasser Walgreens
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Susan Quam Wisconsin Restaurant Association

### **Appearances for Information Only**

- Nicole Kuehl Department of Revenue
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association

#### Registrations For

- Rep. Josh Zepnick
- Rep. Mark Spreitzer 45th Assembly District
- Stacy Dodge Assessor's Office of Madison
- Debra Crary City of Madison Assessor's Office
- Sarah Spaeth Waukesha County Board
- Steven Shepro City of Stevens Point and City of Wisconsin Rapids
- Rick Manthe Wisconsin Towns Association
- Scott Matthews
- Darrell Rogers
- Scott West City of Madison
- Ken Seifert City of Madison
- JoAnn Terasa WAAO Assessor
- James McHugh
- Ian Sullivan
- Jaimie Sutfin Self/WAAO
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee
- Michael Welsh Wisconsin Economic Development Association
- David Edge City of Madison
- Dan Rossmiller Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Robert Lange
- Lee Schlenvogt Ozaukee County Board Chairman
- Jason Dwinzel Ozaukee Co. Administration
- Kyle Christianson Wisconsin Counties Association
- Bob Welch League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Mayor Justin Nickels City of Manitowoc
- Mayor Paul Esser City of Sun Prairie
- Debbie Mason City of Sun Prairie
- Jeffery Flaws Village of Wales
- Mayor Shawn Reilly City of Waukesha
- Mike Schlaak Calumet County Treasurer
- James Schneider Village of Waterford
- Laura Doherty WAAO Assessor
- Patrick Wetzel Town of Lawrence
- Joel Gregorzeski Town of Buchanon

# Registrations Against

- Matt Phillips Alliance of Wisconsin Retailers
- Trisha Pugal Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Association
- Kathi Kilgore Outdoor Advertising Association
- Jerry McNicholas Walgreens
- Casey Cesnovar Walgreens
- Ryan Murray CVS Health
- Steve Baas Milwaukee Metropolitan Area Chamber
- Michelle Kussow Wisconsin Grocers Association
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity
- Terrence Wall
- George Steil Blain's Farm & Fleet

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

March 22, 2018 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Nicholas Bures
Committee Clerk