Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Workforce Development

Assembly Bill 326

Relating to: employment of minors as lifeguards.

By Representatives Kooyenga, Ballweg, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Fields, Horlacher, Jacque, Kleefisch, Kremer, Kuglitsch, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Rohrkaste, Skowronski, Spiros, Subeck, Tusler and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Craig, Cowles, Kapenga, Marklein, Vinehout and Vukmir.

May 16, 2017 Referred to Committee on Workforce Development

June 20, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Petryk; Representatives

Weatherston, Murphy, Ripp, Allen, Katsma, Brandtjen, Snyder, Billings, Spreitzer, Riemer,

Ohnstad and Crowley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Kulp and E. Brooks.

Appearances For

- State Representative Dale Kooyenga
- Tom Mooney American Red Cross
- Brandon Schindler Wilderness Resort
- Jeff Kaminski Chula Vista Resort

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

 Legislative Liaison Andrew Evenson - Department of Workforce Development

Registrations For

- Kathi Kilgore WI Hotel & Lodging Association
- Eric Knight Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- State Representative Warren Petryk

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

September 12, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Petryk; Representatives

Murphy, Ripp, Allen, Katsma, Kulp, Brandtjen, Snyder, Billings, Spreitzer, Riemer, Ohnstad

and Crowley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Weatherston and E. Brooks.

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Petryk; Representatives

Murphy, Ripp, Allen, Katsma, Kulp, Brandtjen, Snyder, Billings, Spreitzer,

Riemer, Ohnstad and Crowley.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kulp, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Bill 326** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representative Petryk; Representatives

Murphy, Ripp, Allen, Katsma, Kulp, Brandtjen, Snyder, Spreitzer and Crowley.

Noes: (3) Representatives Billings, Riemer and

Ohnstad.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 3

Anna Watson
Committee Clerk