## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Workforce Development**

#### Assembly Bill 625

Relating to: competitive integrated employment of persons with a disability and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Edming, Anderson, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Steffen, Berceau, Katsma, Kolste, E. Brooks, Krug, Genrich, Loudenbeck, Spiros, Crowley, Riemer, Macco, Vruwink, Pope, Considine, Petryk, Ripp, Fields, Sinicki, Mursau, Knodl, Allen, Horlacher, Weatherston, Petersen, R. Brooks, Jacque, Kooyenga, Shankland and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Senators Tiffany, Feyen, Johnson, Hansen, Miller, Ringhand, Olsen, Petrowski, Cowles, Moulton, Darling, Marklein, Risser and Testin.

November 09, 2017 Referred to Committee on Workforce Development

## January 10, 2018 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(12)	Representative Petryk; Representatives
		Weatherston, Murphy, Allen, Kulp, E. Brooks,
		Brandtjen, Snyder, Billings, Spreitzer, Ohnstad
		and Crowley.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Katsma and Riemer.

### Appearances For

- Representative Jimmy Anderson 47th Assembly District
- Senator Tom Tiffany 12th Senate District
- Lisa Pugh Arc Wisconsin
- Beth Sweeden Board for People with Developmental Disabilities (BPDD)
- Amy Divine Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Jeff Kaphengst Disability Service Provider Network
- Amber Fallos Black River Industries
- Joseph Greget Medford Schools
- Lead Instructor Bethvander Berg Medford Schools
- Dave Fleegel Medford Schools
- Hunter Hill Medford Schools
- Colten Ruppel Medford Schools
- Kody Schultz Medford Schools
- Kim Firnstahl Medford Schools
- Haley Peterson Medford Schools
- David Pinno
- Ashley Mathy

- Dallas Kerzan A TEAM Advocacy
- Yael Kerzan A TEAM Advocacy
- Valerie Triggs A TEAM Advocacy
- Mark Brieman A TEAM Advocacy
- Kristine Hale A TEAM Advocacy
- Andy Hale A TEAM Advocacy
- Lauren Becker Two Rivers Public School District
- Stephanie Mueller Lucky Paws Pet Boutique
- Casey Mueller Lucky Paws Pet Boutique
- Jeff Kaphengst Disability Service Provider Network
- Nicki Vandermeulen

### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

- Legislative Liaison Andrew Evenson Department of Workforce Development
- DVR Division Administrator Delora Newton -Department of Workforce Development
- Rob Buettner Beyond Vision
- Jim Kerlin Beyone Vision

### **Registrations For**

- Jennifer Neugart
- Steven Gebert Jr
- Nikki Gripentrog
- Karen Kirnstahl
- Bette Gebert
- Janet Jurgens
- Connor Keefe
- Lori Haas Taylor Credit Union
- Brianna Schefflre
- Wearey Baker
- Starla Dohrwardt Medford School
- Pam Peterson
- Haley Peterson
- Chris Boveden Medford Schools
- Michael Bevden Medford Schools
- Sawyer Erikson Medford Schools
- Cindy Robide Weather Shield
- Ann Goodrich Medford Schools
- Katelyn Ruppel Medford Schools
- Colton Hill Medford Schools

- Heidi Hill Medford School
- Jennifer Quirniel Medford Schools
- Carly Harder Weather Shield Mfg. Inc.
- Jamie Iskerka-Dutton Headwaters Inc
- Allie Felty Headwaters, Inc.
- Billy Dippel Headewaters, Inc.
- Sheryl Maxson Headwaters, Inc.
- Linda Hau A Team WI
- Pat Gasch A Team WI
- Senator Rob Cowles 2nd Senate District
- Representative Warren Petryk 93rd Assembly District
- Carol Aerts Northwoods Inc. of Wisconsin
- Jo Duchrt A Team
- Cindy Coughlin A Team Wisconsin
- Kayla Oschmann A TEAM Wisconsin
- Robin Kennedy A-Team Wisconsin
- Christopher Wilson
- Julie Smith
- Betsy Nelson
- Jodell O'Saughnessy Northwoods, Inc. of WI
- John Kerzan A TEAM Advocacy
- Scott Lewis Disability Service Provider Network
- Jimmy Nelson
- Representative James Edming 87th Assembly District

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

#### January 16, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Petryk; Representatives Weatherston, Murphy, Allen, Katsma, Kulp, E. Brooks, Brandtjen, Snyder, Billings, Spreitzer, Riemer, Ohnstad and Crowley.
Absent: (0) None.
Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Weatherston, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 625** be recommended for passage.

> Ayes: (14) Representative Petryk; Representatives Weatherston, Murphy, Allen, Katsma, Kulp,

E. Brooks, Brandtjen, Snyder, Billings, Spreitzer, Riemer, Ohnstad and Crowley.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Anna Watson Committee Clerk