# Senate Record of Committee Proceedings

## **Committee on Agriculture, Small Business and Tourism**

#### Senate Bill 311

Relating to: closing hours for retail sales by wineries.

By Senators Harsdorf, L. Taylor, Moulton, Petrowski, Testin, Vinehout, Olsen, Bewley, Vukmir, Marklein, Nass, Stroebel, Cowles and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Nygren, Tauchen, Ballweg, Petryk, Zimmerman, Ripp, Allen, Kremer, Spiros, Kooyenga, Tittl, Meyers, Quinn, Considine, Kleefisch, Subeck, Thiesfeldt, Stafsholt, Hutton, Vruwink, E. Brooks, Bernier and Shankland.

June 15, 2017	Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Small Business and
Tourism	

## June 28, 2017 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Senator Moulton; Senators Tiffany, Harsdorf,
		Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, Larson
		and Vinehout.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

- Senator Sheila Harsdorf 10th Senate District
- Representative Shannon Zimmerman 30th Assembly District
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity
- Julie Coquard Wollersheim Winery
- Laura Roessler Elmaro Vineyard
- Tom Nye The Blind Horse
- Doug Jackson Studio Winery
- Jon Hamilton White Winter Winery
- Joshua Zimmerman Bell Vinez
- Angel Zimmerman Belle Vinez
- Frank Peregrine Cambridge Winery
- David Danzinger Danzinger Vineyard
- Tom Tohland Munson Bridge Winery
- Gary Johnson Sunset Point Winery
- Brad Schmiling Door County Wine Trail; von Stiehl Winery; Captain's Walk Winery
- Ric Joranlien Wisconisn Winery Association
- Amanda Stefl Wisconsin Winery Association
- Todd Kuehl Bailey's Run Vineyard

- Ryan Prellwitz Wisconsin Winery Association
- James Neuser
- Tracy Sommer Solo Estate Winery
- Randy Hartung Wisconsin Grape Growers Association
- Alwyn Fitzgerald Wisconsin Winery Association
- Anna Maenner Wisconsin Winery Association

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## **Registrations For**

- Senator Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Representative John Nygren 89th Assembly District
- Representative Ed Brooks 50th Assembly District
- Representative Dale Kooyenga 14th Assembly District
- Representative Joan Ballweg 41st Assembly District
- Rob Richard Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Kathryn Johnson Wisconsin Winery Association
- Bill and Christine Bluhm Dancing Dragonfly Winery
- Steve Danner Cedar Creek Winery
- Timothy Guild
- Kathy Jackson Studio Winery
- Donald Patten
- Teresa Joranlien Hawk's Mill Winery; Wine Haus; Wisconsin Winery Association
- Anne Sommer
- Sheryl Rohland Munson Bridge Winery
- Gail Nordlof Northleaf Winery
- George Scovronski
- Ervin Paczkowski Wisconsin Vintners Association
- Kate Fitzgerald
- Colleen Bos Bos Meadery
- David Sample
- Melissa Lake
- Yannique Purman Island Orchard Cider
- David Andruczyk
- Ann Scott
- Kaylin Helm
- Connie Scott
- Jim Miller

**Registrations Against** 

• Matt Phillips - Tavern League of Wisconsin

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

#### October 10, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(9)	Senator Moulton; Senators Tiffany, Harsdorf,
		Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, Larson
		and Vinehout.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator Taylor, seconded by Senator Harsdorf that **Senate Bill 311** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (9) Senator Moulton; Senators Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, Larson and Vinehout.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Scott Nelson Committee Clerk