Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Revenue, Financial Institutions and Rural Issues

Senate Bill 292

Relating to: property tax assessments based on comparable sales and market segments.

By Senators Roth, Stroebel, Bewley, Cowles, Erpenbach, Hansen, Harsdorf, Larson, LeMahieu, Marklein, Miller, Olsen, Petrowski, Ringhand, Wanggaard and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives R. Brooks, Steffen, Hintz, Allen, Bernier, Berceau, Billings, Considine, Doyle, Duchow, Gannon, Hebl, Horlacher, Katsma, Kessler, Knodl, Kolste, Kooyenga, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Macco, Mason, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Ohnstad, Petersen, Quinn, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stuck, Subeck, Tauchen, Tittl, Weatherston, Wichgers, Zepnick and Zimmerman.

June 02, 2017 Rural Issues Referred to Committee on Revenue, Financial Institutions and

August 30, 2017

Public Hearing Held

Present: (5) Senator Marklein; Senators LeMahieu, Tiffany, Ringhand and Vinehout.

Absent: (0) None.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Sen. Roger Roth 19th Senate District
- Rep. Robert Brooks 60th Assembly District
- Kathy Ehley Mayor, Wauwatosa
- Shannon Krause Assessor, City of Wauwatosa
- Rocco Vita WI Assn of Assessing Officers
- Tim Hanna Mayor, City of Appleton
- Jerry Deschance League of WI Municipalities
- David Schowalter
- Mark Luberda
- Jolene Plautz WI Towns Assoc.
- Steven Ponto Mayor, City of Brookfield
- Bob Lorier City of Brookfield
- Mike Palm Mayor, City of Baraboo
- Karen Kurt City of Platteville
- Dave Schowalter Town Chairman, Town of Grand Chute

- Rep. Gordon Hintz 54th Assembly District
- Steve Cummings Mayor, City of Oshkosh
- Jason Williams City of West Allis
- Kurt Gibbs WCA
- Gaylene Rhoden Town of Rib Mountain
- Josh Smith Rock County
- Mark Clear City of Madison
- Dan McHuh Village of Mt. Pleasant
- Mark Hanson President, WI Assoc of Assessing Oficers
- Adam Gallagher WI County Treasurers Association
- April Little City of Monona
- Jennifer Kuhr City of Monona
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee
- Jay Shambeau City of West Bend
- Sarah Spaeth Waukesha County
- Kevin Lahner City of Waukesha
- Michelle Laube City of Janesville
- Joel Gregozeski Town of Greenville
- Paul Evert Village of Howard
- Peter Krystowiak City of Kenosha
- Russell Schwandt City of Green Bay
- Pat Burns City of LaCrosse
- Alex Young City of Rhinelander
- Rep. Peter Barca 64th Assembly District

Appearances Against

- Robert Gordon
- Scott Manley WMC
- Lucas Vebber WMC
- Jeff Hoffman Cushman Wakefield Boerke Real Estate Co

Appearances for Information Only

• Tom Larson - Wis Realtors Assn.

Registrations For

- Jeff Yoder City of West Bend
- Michael Welsh WI Economic Development Assoc.
- Eileen Nickels Platteville Common Council
- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Bob Welch League of WI Municipalities
- Christopher Leitz City of Janesville
- Debbie Mason City of Sun Prairie & WAAO
- Pat Burns

- Rick Manthe WI Towns Assoc.
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County Board of Supervisors
- Paul Esser Mayor, City of Sun Prairie
- Dan Rossmiller Wis, Assn. of School Boards

Registrations Against

- Casey Cesnovar Walgreens
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Scott Stenger Alliance of WI Retailers
- Kathi Kilgore Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Steve Baas MMAC
- Andy Engel Walmart

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 11, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Marklein; Senators LeMahieu, Tiffany, Ringhand and Vinehout.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator LeMahieu, seconded by Senator Ringhand that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Marklein; Senators LeMahieu, Tiffany, Ringhand and Vinehout.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Ringhand, seconded by Senator Vinehout that **Senate Bill 292** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senator Marklein; Senators LeMahieu, Tiffany, Ringhand and Vinehout.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Vincent Williams
Committee Clerk