## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Agriculture**

#### Assembly Bill 796

Relating to: creating a pilot grant program for farmers to reduce nitrate loading, funding research for nitrate loading reduction methods, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Kitchens, Shankland, Tranel, Krug, Summerfield, Novak, Kurtz, Pope, Hebl, Felzkowski, Anderson, Ballweg, Cabrera, Considine, Dittrich, Doyle, Edming, Emerson, Gruszynski, Horlacher, Kolste, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Milroy, Mursau, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Petryk, Plumer, Quinn, Sinicki, Skowronski, Sortwell, Spreitzer, Steffen, Stubbs, Subeck, Swearingen, C. Taylor, Vining, Vruwink, Zamarripa, Zimmerman, Billings, Tusler, Born and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Cowles and Petrowski.

January 24, 2020 Referred to Committee on Agriculture

### February 04, 2020 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Tauchen; Representatives
		Novak, Kurtz, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer,
		Mursau, Edming, Pronschinske, Considine,
		Vruwink, Kolste and Spreitzer.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Plumer and L. Myers.

#### Appearances For

- Rachel Mueller WAPAC WI Assoc Professional Ag Consulting Info
- Kara O'Connor WI Farmers Union
- Doug Debout Wis Corn Growers Assoc
- Sen Rob Cowles 2nd Senate District
- Rep. Katrina Shankland
- Scott Mericka Wisconsin Farmers Union

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Sara Walling DATCP
- Bradford Steine DATCP

Registrations For

- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- Erik Kanter WI Public Health Association
- Debi Towns WI Farm Bureau
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin State Cranberry Growers
- Jordan Lamb WI Soybean Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Potato and Vegetable Growers
- Jordan Lamb WI Pork Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Cattleman's Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Association of Professional Agriculture Consultants
- Carly Michiels Clean Wisconsin
- Rep. Todd Novak
- Cindy Crane Lutheran Office for Public Policy in WI
- Brandon Scholz WI Wetlands
- Bob Welch WI Corngrowers Association
- George Meyers Wis Wildlife Federation
- Allison Werner River Alliance of WI
- Jennifer Giegerich WI Conservation Voters
- Michael Engleson Wisconsin Lakes
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County Board of Supervisors
- Erik Kanter WI Public Health Assocation
- Erik Kanter WI Association of Local Health Departments of Boards
- Brian Dake WI Independent Businesses
- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Assocation
- Matt Krueger
- Michael Dolan Seven Seeds Farm
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative Network
- Terry Loeffelholtz LaFayette County LCD
- Melissa Schlupp Sauk County Land Resources and Enviroment
- Lynda Schweikert Grant County CSZD
- Katie Abbott Iowa County Land Conservation Dept

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

- Amber Radatz Discovery Farms
- Carrie Laboski UW

February 06, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Tauchen; Representatives
		Novak, Kurtz, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer,
		Mursau, Edming, Pronschinske, Plumer,
		Considine, Vruwink, Kolste, Spreitzer and L.
		Myers.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative Novak that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

> Ayes: (13) Representative Tauchen; Representatives Novak, Kurtz, Tranel, VanderMeer, Mursau, Edming, Pronschinske, Plumer, Considine, Vruwink, Kolste and Spreitzer.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative Spreitzer that **Assembly Bill 796** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representative Tauchen; Representatives Novak, Kurtz, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer, Mursau, Edming, Pronschinske, Plumer, Considine, Vruwink, Kolste, Spreitzer and L. Myers.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Craig Arrowood Committee Clerk