Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 568

Relating to: a statewide urban search and rescue task force and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Rohrkaste, Kolste, Edming, James, Milroy, Loudenbeck, Kitchens, Billings, Stuck, Subeck, Tusler, Petersen, Gruszynski, Dittrich, Anderson, Vruwink, Spreitzer, Sortwell, Considine, Ohnstad and Felzkowski; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Wanggaard, Feyen, Shilling, Cowles, Bewley, Carpenter, Tiffany, Jacque and Testin.

October 25, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 09, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer,

Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Debra Kolste
- Michael Luckey Representative Mike Rohrkaste
- Tim Bantes Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs Association
- David Litton Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Ken Gilliam La Crosse Fire Department
- Ryan Hart Cambria Fire Department
- Cody Doucette Cambria Fire Department

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Representative Mike Rohrkaste
- Art Price City of Madison Fire
- Tom Fonfara Wisconsin State Firefighters Association
- Mahlon Mitchell Professional Fire Fighters
- David Bloom Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs

- Carrie Meier
- Victor Voss Neenah-Menasha Fire Rescue
- Josh Kowalle Reedsburg Ambulance
- Jon Frederickson Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- David Lucier Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Jordan Waack Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Cody Krusick Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Ryan Gibbons Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Benedict Felckowski Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Christopher Garrison Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs
- Representative Amy Loudenbeck
- Rob Goplin Green Bay Metro Fire Department
- Representative Mary Felzkowski
- Senator Roger Roth

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 06, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,
Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer,
Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow,
Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer,
Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Bill 568** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (1) Representative Steffen.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Erin Clark

Committee Clerk