Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 114

Relating to: registration and regulation of pharmacy benefit managers, drug pricing transparency, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Schraa, Kolste, Riemer, Anderson, Born, Bowen, Brooks, Brostoff, Considine, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Felzkowski, Fields, Goyke, Gundrum, Hebl, Hesselbein, Horlacher, Hutton, James, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, B. Meyers, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Petersen, Plumer, Quinn, Ramthun, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Sortwell, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spiros, Snyder, Spreitzer, Stafsholt, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Shankland, L. Myers, Tusler, Billings and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Erpenbach, Roth, Bernier, Darling, Feyen, Hansen, Johnson, Larson, Marklein, Olsen, Ringhand, Smith, L. Taylor, Tiffany, Wanggaard and Wirch.

March 25, 2019 Referred to Committee on Health

February 05, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski,
Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski,
Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson
and Vining.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- State Senator Roger Roth 19th District
- State Rep. Michael Schraa 53rd Assembly District
- State Rep. Deb Kolste 44th Assembly District
- Chirstine Schraa
- Anwalise Schraa
- Leah Vukmir National Taxpayers Union
- Jess Ward National Taxpayers Union
- Matthew Magner NCPA
- Dr. Taraneh Mehrani Alliance for Transparent Affordable Prescriptions
- Jacob Blazkovac
- Alexandra Krajewski Hayat Pharmacy
- Dean Gruber AllScripts Pharmacy

- Matthew Mabie Pharmacy Society of WI
- James Engelmeier Hayat Pharmacy
- Dan Strauss Hometown Pharmacy
- Nicole Sandberg
- Hashim Zaibak
- Gary Boehler Dakota Drug, Inc.
- Janet Frisch Hometown Pharmacy
- Matt McGowan Hometown Pharmacy
- Tim Stocks
- Dan Taparo
- Jason Schwager Hometown Pharmacy
- Cliff Schuett
- Abbi Linde Hometown Pharmacy
- Larry Krueger
- Kent Udulatch Hometown Pharmacy
- Tessa Sain Hometown Pharmacy
- Becky Conder Hometown Pharmacy
- Rick Conner Hometown Pharmacy
- Mike Zagelow Hometown Pharmacy
- Stephanie Hollander
- Trenton Thieder PAAS national
- Heather Walker Hometown Pharmacy
- JJ Allen Hometown Pharmacy
- Thad Schumacher Fitchburg Family Pharmacy
- Kaska Watson National Infusion Center Association
- Rob Gundermann Coalition of Wisconsin Aging and Health Groups
- Dave Schultz Tobin Drug Oconomowoc
- Douglas Schultz Tobin Drug Oconomowoc

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Steve Spitzer
- Tim Lundquist WI Association of Health Plans
- Pat Cory Quartz Health Solutions
- Alan Lukezewski WEA Trust/ Health Tradition Health Plan
- Amanda Borleske Dean Health Plans
- Chuck Rynearson Network Health
- Steve Baas MMAC
- Chris Reader WMC
- Mary Haffenbredl America's Health Insurance Plans

- Rebecca Hogan The Alliance of Health Insurers (AHI)
- Don Nelson Magellan Health
- Heather Cascone PCMA

Registrations For

- Laura Chastain MS Society
- Monique Whitney
- Jason Buenger Hometown Pharmacy
- Erin Orth Hometown Pharmacy
- Patricia Hafermann Hometown Pharmacy
- Denise Ross Hometown Pharmacy
- HJ Waukau WI Medical Society
- Ken Bressers Omro Pharmacy
- (Probie) Nick Probst Independent Pharmacy Cooperative
- Teri Welter-Knoke Hometown Pharmacy
- James Knoke Hometown Pharmacy
- Bill Keeton AIDS Resource Center of WI
- Jessica Haufschildt Hometown Pharmacy
- Reid Schwagel Dakota Drug
- Barry Johnson Hometown Pharmacy
- Steve Nilson Hometown Pharmacies
- Tyler Wallenfang Hometown Pharmacy
- Randy Edge
- Dixie Edge
- Aaron Edge
- Betty Elbert
- Amy Schulz

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 13, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski, Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Rodriguez that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (10) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski and Magnafici.

Noes: (5) Representatives Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 INTRODUCTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Kurtz, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski and Magnafici.

Noes: (5) Representatives Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski and Magnafici.

Noes: (5) Representatives Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Kurtz, seconded by Representative Rodriguez that **Assembly Bill 114** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski, Magnafici, Kolste, Riemer, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Joshua Hoisington Committee Clerk