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raising the legal age for sale, purchase, and possession of cigarettes and nicotine and tobacco products,
providing a legal age for sale, purchase, ‘and possessnon of vapor products, and providing a penalty.
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Fiscal Estimate Narratives
DOR 6/2/2021

LRB Number 21-0724/1 Introduction Number SB-355 Estimate Type  Original

Description .
raising the legal age for sale, purchase, and possession of cigareties and nicotine and fobacco products,
providing a legal age for sale, purchase, and possession of vapor products, and providing a penality.

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate

Currently, no person under the age of 18 may purchase, attempt to purchase, possess, or falsely represent his
or her age for the purpose of receiving any cigarette, nicotine product, or tobacco product with certain limited
exceptions. Current law also prohibits any person from purchasing cigarettes, tobacco products, or nicotine
products on behalf of a person who is under the age of 18 and subjects that purchaser to a penalty.

Current law also prohibits a retailer, manufacturer, distributor, jobber, subjobber, or independent contractor or
an employee or agent of any of these persons from selling or providing cigarettes or tobacco or nicotine
products to an individual who is under the age of 18 and from providing cigarettes or tobacco or nicotine
products to any person for free unless the cigarettes or products are provided in a place where persons under
18 years of age are generally not permitted to enter.

This bill changes these ages from 18 to 21. The bill similarly prohibits the purchase of vapor products by or on
behalf of a person who is under the age of 21.

The federal minimum age for the sale or purchase of tobacco products was raised from 18 to 21 on December
20, 2019, Effective that date retailers were prohibited from selling any tobacco products (cigarettes, cigars and
vapor e-cigarettes) to anyone under the age of 21. This new federal minimum age applies to all retail
establishments and persons with no exceptions. '

The Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS) launched a new campaign educating retailers that
Federal law now requires tobacco purchasers to be 21 years old. Their website says that, "Wisconsin retailers
are verifying age on tobacco purchases to make sure those buying are at least 21"

It appears that major retailers in Wisconsin are enforcing the federal age limit of 21 years. To the extent smaller
retailers are not enforcing the federal minimum and changing the state requirements results in better
compliance, this bill would result in a minimal decrease in tax revenues.

The department can absorb administrative costs related to this bill with existing resources.

Long-Range Fiscal Implications




