Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 54

Relating to: farmland preservation implementation grants, agreements, and tax credits and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Oldenburg, Novak, Spreitzer, Anderson, Baldeh, Bowen, Cabrera, Considine, Drake, Emerson, Hebl, B. Meyers, Moses, Mursau, Rozar, Shankland, Skowronski, Subeck, Tranel, VanderMeer and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Testin, L. Taylor, Pfaff, Ringhand and Smith.

February 10, 2021 Referred to Committee on Agriculture

March 10, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Tauchen; Representatives
		Oldenburg, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer,
		Mursau, Novak, Pronschinske, Plumer, Moses,
		Spreitzer, Vruwink and L. Myers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Considine and Shankland.

Appearances For

- Rep. Loren Oldenburg 96th Assembly
- Sen Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- Rep Mark Spreitzer
- Debi Towns Wis Farm Bureau

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- John Cronin Wisconsin Bankers Association
- Jolene Plautz Wisconsin Towns Association
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative Network
- Tom Bressner WI Agri Business Assoc
- Matt Krueser WI Land & Water Conservation Assn
- Sen Brad Pfaff
- Daniel Bahr Wisconsin Counties Assoc
- Jordan Lamb Wis State Cranberry Growers Assn

- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Assn
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Soybean Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Cattlemen's Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Pork Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Association of Professional Agricultural Consultants
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Farm Credit Services
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Corn Growers Assocation

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 08, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Tauchen; Representatives
		Oldenburg, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer,
		Mursau, Novak, Moses, Considine, Spreitzer,
		Vruwink and L. Myers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Pronschinske, Plumer and Shankland.

Moved by Representative Oldenburg, seconded by Representative Kitchens that **Assembly Bill 54** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (12) Representative Tauchen; Representatives Oldenburg, Tranel, Kitchens, VanderMeer, Mursau, Novak, Moses, Considine, Spreitzer, Vruwink and L. Myers.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

From Rep. Shankland Office

"For the executive session of the Assembly Committee on Agriculture on April 8, 2021, Had I been present, I would have voted aye on AB 54 and aye on AB 77."

Craig Arrowood Committee Clerk